You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Varadkar issued the apology yesterday. PA Wire/PA Images

Poll: Was Leo Varadkar right to apologise for his response to the Waterford mortuary controversy?

Varadkar had sought evidence for claims made by four consultants.

YESTERDAY, TAOISEACH LEO Varadkar apologised for his response to concerns over the mortuary at University Hospital Waterford (UHW).

Varadkar said he didn’t want to “jump to conclusions” after four consultants had claimed that dead bodies were being left on trolleys in the mortuary

The Taoiseach said he’d seen no evidence that the claims were accurate but his response was criticised for casting doubt on the claims of the consultants. 

In his apology, Varadkar said it was “one I got wrong”. So was he right to apologise?

Poll: Was Leo Varadkar right to apologise for his response to the Waterford mortuary controversy?

Poll Results:

Yes, but it came too late (6658)
Yes (4371)
No (1535)
Unsure (599)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

96 Comments
    Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 5th 2019, 4:01 PM

He’s a joke and he should resign. Came to limerick and didn’t even bother to go to the hosptial to see for himself how bad the crisis is. LEO OUT

May 5th 2019, 5:08 PM

@Mahuna: was it worth it all 1916 and the War of Independence ending up with dross for leaders? Ahearn, Brian Clown, Kenny and now this spin merchant Varadcar? Where did it all go wrong?

Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 5th 2019, 5:23 PM

@Gus Sheridan: those men of 1916 are turning in their graves. I have a very good opinion on that but I wouldn’t waste my time. Where did it all go wrong when the gravy trains were on route.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute lar keogh
    Favourite lar keogh
    May 5th 2019, 5:44 PM

@Mahuna: The whole lot, Flanagan hasn’t a clue whats going on in Dundalk.

Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 5th 2019, 5:56 PM

@lar keogh: in England to get Into a political party and go to college also to get your degree in politics. Here all you have to do is get a few votes and your in the door.

You couldn’t make it up. Flanagan stop sure look at Ming openly admits to smoking cannibis.
    Sometime they will make a film about them.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    May 5th 2019, 6:00 PM

@Mahuna: don’t think that’s true.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    May 5th 2019, 6:07 PM

@Mahuna: I think you are missing the point of how democratic elections work

Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 5th 2019, 6:29 PM

@john doe: I’m not missing the point maybe I wrote it down wrong which is an error on my behalf most of them do.
    Yes I know it’s above the vote. But the shower we have in fairness it’s hard to relax when your thinking if your child’s gets sick god forbid you havnt a healthcare system to rely on.
    And he’s an actual doctor like Leo vadick

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    May 5th 2019, 6:45 PM

I don’t think we should jump to conclusions regarding this poll as there is no evidence to its accuracy.

Mute Mark McGrath
    Favourite Mark McGrath
    May 5th 2019, 6:47 PM

@Mahuna: it all went wrong when people put more importance on which TD got their mother a medical card or what funerals they turn up at (Healy Reas a case in point). They say all politics are local and therein lies the problem. If everyone looked at what the party are doing rather than the local gombeen, we would be in a much better place.

Mute Shane Donnelly
    Favourite Shane Donnelly
    May 6th 2019, 12:33 AM

@Mark McGrath: Truth.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    May 6th 2019, 1:38 AM

@Gus Sheridan: If you’re feeling that bad about it, have a look at who’s in charge in Britain and the USA. It will make you feel a lot better.

Mute Brian Henoll
    Favourite Brian Henoll
    May 6th 2019, 3:16 AM

Ehhmm..

Get different claims from 2 different parties.
    Will not jump to conclusions before he has all the facts and then peps moans over that?!

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    May 6th 2019, 7:43 AM

@Mahuna: yeh and what great politicians they have in England.. they doing a great job aren’t they

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    May 6th 2019, 11:07 AM

@Mark McGrath: never happen mark … people wont vote for people who tell them what they dont want to hear ..

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    May 6th 2019, 11:37 AM

@Gus Sheridan: and be replaced by? Who would you like to see in charge?

May 5th 2019, 4:15 PM

Yes, and there’s plenty more for him to apologise for too.

May 5th 2019, 4:21 PM

And its more like the party forced him into apologising because there’s an election coming up. He would never do it if he had the option because its bad for his image.

Mute Raymond Westlake
    Favourite Raymond Westlake
    May 5th 2019, 4:15 PM

The only thing that matters to Varadkar is self image and his personal spin Dept, a propaganda machine more in keeping with banana republics than legitimate democracies. When he starts putting the people of Ireland and democratic principles before his ego, perhaps then he could be taken seriously. The only reason he has apologized to those consultants who put their necks and career on the line in the interest of doing what’s right, is that his image could have been tarnished. Varadkar is out for himself, and himself alone. Irish Politics are simply a stepping stone to his future career in Europe where he’ll undoubtedly sell us down the river in his bid for personal political enrichment.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    May 5th 2019, 4:20 PM

Consultants put their necks on the line to expose the ever increasingly disastrous state the health system has crumbled to under FFG governance, Leo tried to demonise them, implied they were lying- even tried to get the hospital admin to double down with him… it backfired massively when people *gasps* actually believed the doctors who have to work there so he took time out of his busy, pet projects, fawning on famous people and photo-op schedule to say *sorry*….

May 5th 2019, 5:10 PM

@Sarah: Kylie would be disappointed in him

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 5th 2019, 4:45 PM

That qualified apology he gave only succeeded in digging a bigger hole for himself and FG. FG under Kenny and Varadkar have done,
    and continue to do, huge damage to Irish society in their obsession to privatise and commodify all aspects of life in the country. No amount of apologies will ever fix that.

Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 5th 2019, 4:45 PM

It’s actually so wrong I went to the hosptial 3 years ago with a pain in my side this will tell you how bad it is. They put me on a trolley for 38 hours then I got a bed I was told afyer having a xray scans with dye every scan you can imagine. They told me I had to get my left kidney out just imagine been told that and your a young man it devastated me. 18 hours after been told that I signed the waiver for the anaesthetic. Brought down for the operation crying I will admit. They were just going to put me to sleep and a consultant ran in and stopped it.

There was noting wrong with my kidney fast forward to the 6th of January this year 27 admissions later. They diagnosed me with having fibermoilgia. I have written to Simon Harris minister for health and other ministers to get to meet him.
    My point being also the consultant saved my kidney. The HSE are a joke and he’s the top of the pile Leo.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    May 5th 2019, 4:03 PM

Only passing book and very poor effort for an apology. When public sentiment = pee’d off.. Spin required the FFG way..

Mute Finbarr Barry
    Favourite Finbarr Barry
    May 5th 2019, 4:20 PM

When will he realise that the HSE constantly lies and tries to perform Cover-up after Cover-up… This organisation needs to be disbanded and a new Health organisation needs to be formed that puts the patient first based around hospital trusts and boards of management from the cummunities they serve.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    May 5th 2019, 4:22 PM

@Finbarr Barry: Ideally yes, but let’s be real…In Ireland, under FG….
    Hospital trusts = private investors, foreigners and vulture funds
    Boards of management = politically well-connected 1%ers

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 5th 2019, 4:24 PM

@Finbarr Barry: There is no ideal world for us to wait around for.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 5th 2019, 5:20 PM

I wonder do the FG faithful realise how much damage Leo is doing to the party.
    They were all over this story defending him at the begining.
    No proof, no need for it to be investigated, even though the truth was pretty obvious.
    Now we have the climbdown and they have disappeared.
    Doesn’t say much for the type of support the party has.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 5th 2019, 6:11 PM

@Logan Shepherd: They were teaming up attacking anyone who disagreed with Leo’s stance on the issue. I got a few lectures along with the usual name calling.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 5th 2019, 6:36 PM

@Dave Doyle: Ha didn’t we all. Not big enough to supply any Leoesque apologies though.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    May 5th 2019, 4:48 PM

It’s an apology based on political advice to diffuse a situation he’s better backing away from since the public weren’t buying his spin. It’s an empty apology but it’s really against the point to care whether he apologises for this or not, what the public want is action on the health service not finger pointing or a “mea culpa”.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    May 5th 2019, 9:52 PM

@Rochelle: A mea culpa suggests a sense of personal responsibility or culpability. It’s a completely empty gesture like Simon Harris’ little “whoops maybe I mismanaged a billion euro in taxpayer money but I sure as hell am not getting off this gravy train”. Public apologies by Irish politicians are completely insincere, empty, and yes, insulting, apologies have lost all meaning when our elected representatives believe that they can get a free pass and wipe the slate clean with an “I’m sorry” and continue on as is – any self-respecting public servant with an ounce of integrity or credibility would step down as well as apologize – but not here… here the parties circle the wagons to protect their pals and further foster this legacy of corruption and mediocrity .
    It must be nice to live in a world where actions have no consequences except to us “little people” who suffer because of their incompetence…

Mute liam ward60
    Favourite liam ward60
    May 5th 2019, 4:32 PM

And he should also apologise for his useless government in power and promise they’ll never run for power again

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    May 6th 2019, 11:10 AM

@liam ward60: you obviously dont support FG

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    May 5th 2019, 4:00 PM

Is someone desperate for clicks?

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    May 5th 2019, 6:06 PM

He’s a spin merchant with zero empathy

Mute kevin mc cormack
    Favourite kevin mc cormack
    May 5th 2019, 6:14 PM

I think it’s game over for him.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    May 5th 2019, 5:36 PM

Nearly 300 people think he should not have apologised. Why on earth would they think this? It was clear that Varadkar inferred that they were not telling the truth as nobody else had raised the issue. It now transpires that plent of people had.

Mute Christine O'Reilly
    Favourite Christine O'Reilly
    May 5th 2019, 6:23 PM

What’s worse is he is a qualified doc, he knows full well that they wouldn’t lie!

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne

Had the pleasure of him knocking on my door during the 2011 election, I asked him about him wanting to sell off the ESB &ESBI and if he knew what they did globally.
    And if they sold it off the jobs lost here would be huge he hadn’t an answer and his cronies pulled him away from the door.

Mute kevin mc cormack
    Favourite kevin mc cormack

I think it’s game over for him

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    May 6th 2019, 12:03 AM

@kevin mc cormack:
    Hope you’re right !

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    May 5th 2019, 6:42 PM

He should never have put himself in a position to have to apologize.he should have known the facts before he commented .He has failed .he is NOT fit for office. Thank you for your service we wish you well in your future endeavours.

Mute Red Hen
    Favourite Red Hen
    May 5th 2019, 7:25 PM

Leo had to apologise. He said that no letters or complaints were received, yet the CEO of the South/South West Hospital Group had replied to these letters:
    https://twitter.com/deisesupes/status/1124405086262894592?s=21
    Leo was talking out of his arse without knowing what he was talking about again.
    He’s not fit for office. Anyone who votes FFG again should have their vote taken off them.

Mute Jim O Connor
    Favourite Jim O Connor
    May 6th 2019, 2:25 AM

@Red Hen:
    We are entitled to vote for whoever we choose to vote for

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    May 6th 2019, 11:11 AM

@Red Hen: in your humble opinion … where are the alternatives?

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    May 5th 2019, 4:04 PM

Was he right to apologise? Come on journal, he did apologise, don’t try to take it away from us, what’s seldom is wonderful…

Mute Norman Cameron
    Favourite Norman Cameron
    May 5th 2019, 4:33 PM

Just a shame Callan’s Kicks is on leave. Leo might just have got the wrong kind of ‘roasting’!

Mute Redhead
    Favourite Redhead
    May 6th 2019, 11:05 AM

@Norman Cameron: was only thinking the same thing…! Finished a week too soon.

Mute Bernard Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard Kavanagh
    May 5th 2019, 8:37 PM

Gene Kerrigan: ‘Wanted: a Taoiseach grown-ups can trust’
    A politician addicted to spin was forced to retreat by concerned medics and good journalism, writes Gene Kerrigan

Mute Tony McCoy O'Grady
    Favourite Tony McCoy O'Grady
    May 6th 2019, 1:14 AM

I’m someone who was raised in an FG family. In the 50s and 60s when the civil war divisions were still fresh. As such it is still the party I look to first on a ballot paper. But they don’t always get my first, orveveb second preference.
    His apology over Waterford is small stuff,
    Much of what he does is small stuff, and merely the everyday stuff of politics.

What really got me about him, and his wrongness as the leader of a party, let alone holding the office of Taoiseach, was his glib statement on the cervical check issue to the point that no woman would have to go to, or through, the courts to get justice.

That gas been proven to be utterly wrong, and as a man, I’m disgusted by it.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 5th 2019, 7:47 PM

He is unfit for office.

Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 5th 2019, 8:05 PM

@@mdmak33: sure he had the body of a 50year old they told him on operation transformation hahahaha

Mute Bernard Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard Kavanagh
    May 5th 2019, 8:41 PM

The state the country is in and still the Dail is in recess. Unbelievable!

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    May 5th 2019, 5:15 PM

Who cares. He’s a caretaker Taoiseach until the next election. If he gets past that then he has a mandate.

Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 5th 2019, 5:24 PM

@Garry Coll: I’d say he’s been on plenty of mandates

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 5th 2019, 5:44 PM

@Mahuna: So bad I burst out laughing .. thanks for that.

Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 5th 2019, 6:31 PM

@Logan Shepherd: no problem haha

Mute _jamie
    Favourite _jamie
    May 5th 2019, 4:33 PM

Not a Varadkar fan, but why should someone have to apologise for stating the obvious? Of course there’s a requirement for evidence! It would be foolish to take every claim that was ever made at face value without some form of investigation

May 5th 2019, 5:13 PM

@_jamie: good old FG apologist…..

Mute Chemical Brothers
    Favourite Chemical Brothers
    May 5th 2019, 5:25 PM

@_jamie: Varadkar insinuated that the consultants were liars by saying there was no evidence to back up what they alleged.

Mute _jamie
    Favourite _jamie
    May 5th 2019, 5:47 PM

@Chemical Brothers: Was there evidence?

Mute _jamie
    Favourite _jamie
    May 5th 2019, 5:53 PM

@Gus Sheridan: You may have missed the first three words of my comment Gus

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 5th 2019, 6:13 PM

@_jamie: FG’ers all seem to suffer from St. Peter’s syndrome.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    May 5th 2019, 7:05 PM

@_jamie: the bloody evidence was clear but he chose to believe his 3million spin machine would never be wrong

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    May 5th 2019, 8:13 PM

@_jamie: Witness Testimony is evidence, Jamie. Leo tried to treat this like just another anti-establishment rant from a few of the unwashed.
    He said recently said, of the public disapproval of the €120,000 mayor salary:
    “Nobody likes the idea of politicians being paid…certainly not being paid more – and I understand why that is but you know if this is a real job with real power and influence then it should come with a salary that matches that and that’s why we decided to pitch it somewhere around the level of a Minister Of State…”

Seriously. “Nobody likes the idea of politicians being”. Really, Leo? Is that what you think of the general public? They’re nothing but a pack of begrudgers, isn’t that right?
    Proper man of the people alright.
    Check out his socks though. Aren’t they cool?!!

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    May 5th 2019, 8:14 PM

*…being paid

Mute Chemical Brothers
    Favourite Chemical Brothers
    May 5th 2019, 10:28 PM

@_jamie: Some families of deceased & undertakers also came forward.

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    May 6th 2019, 12:05 AM

@_jamie:
    Can you count ?

Mute Redhead
    Favourite Redhead
    May 6th 2019, 11:08 AM

@_jamie: his response was smarmy, snide and audacious… his tone infuriated more than the words used. He is a self absorbed egotistical Dublin-centric snob! He got his answer when we did his whistle stop tour of the South/South East… he did more damage than good to local election and MEP candidates.

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    May 5th 2019, 6:45 PM

I think an extra two billion is being spent on the hse this year. Two billion and it’s getting worse. Varadkar is a disgrace !

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 5th 2019, 4:21 PM

Poor Leo gets such a hard time, get off his back lads, it’s tough at the top

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 5th 2019, 7:47 PM

@Tony Donoghue: It’s tougher when you’re at the bottom, lying on a trolley in a hospital corridor and the dead beside you on another trolley.

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 5th 2019, 9:56 PM

@Dave Doyle: No one person can rule the people alone, the people are ruled by an ideal of life held up by authority. Which constituency are you standing for election in?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 6th 2019, 6:41 AM

@Tony Donoghue: In case you’ve forgotten The country is a Republic and people are governed. Being ruled by a queen is against what a Republic is or should be.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    May 6th 2019, 9:48 AM

@Tony Donoghue: You’re an idiot

Mute Paul Kelly
    Favourite Paul Kelly
    May 5th 2019, 6:42 PM

He really owes apology to FG candidates in Waterford Council election.

Mute Redhead
    Favourite Redhead
    May 6th 2019, 11:16 AM

@Paul Kelly: why? They stood in for their photo opportunity and sung dumb. None of them challenged him or took him to task. Pity about them.

Mute Mark Mccormack
    Favourite Mark Mccormack
    May 5th 2019, 4:24 PM

Who cares

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 5th 2019, 4:46 PM

@Mark Mccormack: not the hse

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    May 6th 2019, 12:44 AM

Skumbag

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    May 5th 2019, 6:27 PM

If he spent a little less time doing other ministers work and not being such a camera slut he might have a little time to remember to shut his mouth. Still with a history of being a rent a quote as well what can you expect. Dimwit.

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    May 5th 2019, 8:24 PM

He a disgusting Narcissist.

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 5th 2019, 10:13 PM

@Ian James Burgess: nice socks though

Mute Socky Varadkar
    Favourite Socky Varadkar
    May 6th 2019, 8:36 AM

Another picture im not happy with, might have to go hard on the journal staff. I am absolutely beautiful, as for the apology, I done so on the advice of my image consultants. But considering the housing crisis idmsnt as big as its made out to be.. Hard to take people serious.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    May 6th 2019, 3:32 PM

Apology and resign

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    May 5th 2019, 8:21 PM

He made an ass of it

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 5th 2019, 8:59 PM

@Ian James Burgess: Couldnt agree more with you Ian ;-)

Mute Jim O Connor
    Favourite Jim O Connor
    May 6th 2019, 2:14 AM

Stop moaning about them and do something about it

Mute Irish Spider-Man
    Favourite Irish Spider-Man
    May 5th 2019, 10:48 PM

Arsehole

Mute Edmond Mc Grath
    Favourite Edmond Mc Grath
    May 6th 2019, 3:58 PM

There were more qualifications in that “apology” than the four consultants that made the complaints have together!

Mute Jack Creegan
    Favourite Jack Creegan
    May 6th 2019, 10:23 AM

Why should he apologise for the actions of senior managemant. He should have sacked the hospital manager for incompetence All he had to do was to hire a mobile mortuary while waiting for new building.
    Its about time managers started to manage..

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    May 6th 2019, 11:13 AM

@Jack Creegan: you cant fire public servants .

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    May 6th 2019, 2:19 AM

A vote for FF Fg is a vote for corruption

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    May 6th 2019, 2:20 AM

Why o why

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    May 6th 2019, 2:23 AM

Why are my comments not going up on the comments section??