You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of the feet of a man with leprosy in East Timor. Leprosy is still relatively common in east Asia, with over 150,000 new cases a year diagnosed in India. Wong Maye-E/AP

Ireland records first known case of leprosy in decades

The HSE says the victim was a man from outside Ireland who did not contract it in this country.

Updated, 17:40

THE HSE HAS confirmed Ireland’s first known case of leprosy for several decades.

The agency has confirmed that a case was reported to its Health Protection Surveillance Centre by the HSE’s Dublin North East division earlier this year.

The victim is a man who is believed to have contracted the disease outside of Ireland. It is thought he had suffered from the condition in the past and that the latest episode was a recurrence of this.

IrishHealth.com, reporting on the development, said it understood the victim to be a native of South America aged in his 30s.

The HSE said the man had been treated in hospital in Dublin, and that there was no cause for public concern, as the condition is not highly contagious.

The bacterium that causes the condition multiplies so slowly that the first symptoms can often only appear around five years – and sometimes up to 20 years – after a person first comes into contact with it.

The disease is transmitted by small droplets from the mouth and nose “during close and frequent contacts with untreated cases”, the HSE said – adding that it can be cured, and early treatment can prevent disability or any other long-term health concerns.

While the condition is relatively common in the developing world, new cases are exceptionally rare in this part of the world – and it is not known when the last case was formally recorded in Ireland.

HSE data suggests no cases were officially reported between 1981 and 2012.

Contrary to popular conception, the disease does not result in the loss of body parts, and mainly affects the skin and outer nerves. However, in secondary cases, fingers and toes can shorten and eventually reform.

Read: Superbugs evolving faster than medicine, worried experts warn

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute shpudz2@gmail.com
    Favourite shpudz2@gmail.com
    Jun 7th 2013, 3:23 PM

Where’s Jesus when you need him eh?!

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    Jun 7th 2013, 3:26 PM

Is he on a club 18/30 holiday in Majorca?

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Jun 7th 2013, 3:28 PM

Ah lads its Podge and rodges long lost cousin he’s alright let him be.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jun 7th 2013, 3:31 PM

The right hand of God , silly Billy

Mute Jeff Kennedy
    Favourite Jeff Kennedy
    Jun 7th 2013, 3:32 PM

He’s busy on the abortion thing

Mute Ailbhe Ardiente
    Favourite Ailbhe Ardiente
    Jun 7th 2013, 5:10 PM

In Australia, apparently. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Divine_Truth

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:03 PM

Money for an ex leper?

Mute PJ Walsh
    Favourite PJ Walsh
    Jun 7th 2013, 7:07 PM

Playing poker in a leper school. Just threw his hand in.

Mute Mark Noble
    Favourite Mark Noble
    Jun 7th 2013, 9:00 PM

did you say an ex leper?

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Jun 7th 2013, 10:15 PM

On tour in Oz at mo! Plays the Opera House tomorrow night or is it in the morning?

Mute Charles MacFarley
    Favourite Charles MacFarley
    Jun 8th 2013, 1:34 AM

Leprosy,
    Bits and pieces falling off of me,
    I’m not half the man I used to be,
    Oh I believe in leprosy.

Mute Gary Maxwell
    Favourite Gary Maxwell
    Jun 8th 2013, 3:33 AM

What did the Leper say to the pr0st1tute?

Keep the tip ;)

Mute Niall Waters
    Favourite Niall Waters
    Jun 7th 2013, 5:02 PM

I had a dose of leprosy there after the long weekend but you didn’t see me crying to the media about it.

Mute Paul Curley
    Favourite Paul Curley
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:52 PM

Did ye hear about the leper who failed his driving test? He left his foot on the clutch!

Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Favourite onlybuzzinwitcha
    Jun 7th 2013, 8:05 PM

Ha ha priceless. I just failed the test yesterday cos apparently i overused the clutch.

Mute Larry Ryan
    Favourite Larry Ryan
    Jun 7th 2013, 8:53 PM

@paul tayto, that’s my joke posted earlier word for word!!! Why did the journal delete my post???

Mute Paul Curley
    Favourite Paul Curley
    Jun 7th 2013, 10:05 PM

Ah it’s the way you tell em larry.

Mute Mikey
    Favourite Mikey
    Jun 7th 2013, 11:34 PM

My post too!!!

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Jun 7th 2013, 8:04 PM

This is nonsense. There have been several cases of leprosy ( called Hansen’s disease by most medics) treated by hospitals around Ireland in recent years. They just don’t report it because it would end up on gossip sites and as its always diagnosed in people entering the country and it’s almost non- infectious in our climate. Leprosy was however present in Ireland until the mid 19th century.

There were 3 leper hospitals in Dublin during the middle ages, St James’s the Steyne which was on the Quays, ironically where Hawkins house, the dept of Health headquarters is now and St Stephen’s from which and it’s associated church from which the green gets its name. The third was in south county Dublin at Whites cross. The name Leopardstown has nothing to do with spotty cats!

Mute mcgrueser
    Favourite mcgrueser
    Jun 8th 2013, 12:09 AM

Am I right or wrong for saying Galloping Green is so called because they used to try race through there as fast as they could on their horses because of the fear of catching something off the lepers?

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Jun 7th 2013, 4:19 PM

Such cynicism from posters! Can ye not take these things a bit more seriously?

Now, will somebody ask the poor unfortunate whether he/she would like prayers or medicine for this?

Mute Frank Buffalo
    Favourite Frank Buffalo
    Jun 7th 2013, 5:14 PM

The way this country is gone it’s prayers FOR medicine.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Jun 7th 2013, 9:56 PM

@ Robin: given the choice one would imagine medicine to be a safer bet?

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Jun 7th 2013, 10:21 PM

You would have thought so, but all the people that sent prayers to Oklahoma must be ragin cos all god did was send more twisters!

Mute chloe coyle
    Favourite chloe coyle
    Jun 7th 2013, 7:13 PM

Feel bad but the jokes are funny I’m laughing my head off … No pun intended :)

Mute Yer auld one
    Favourite Yer auld one
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:27 PM

Spare a sheckle for an ex-leper!

Mute Colin McNamara
    Favourite Colin McNamara
    Jun 7th 2013, 7:56 PM

Beat me too it.

Mute Emma Cole
    Favourite Emma Cole
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:45 PM

Jaysus the poor man must be in bits.

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    Jun 7th 2013, 3:27 PM

Help him Mel Gibson or Tom Cruise

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jun 7th 2013, 7:07 PM

Never mind leprosy, what about the untreatable TB that’s doing the rounds.

Mute Larry T Bird
    Favourite Larry T Bird
    Jun 8th 2013, 2:15 AM

Ahh the old multiculturalism
    is great all the same….

Mute Monnie
    Favourite Monnie
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:14 PM

Wait hang on a second… So first signs can be between 5-20 years ? So you wait 5 years or another 15 years to get the “early treatment”? Surely by then your fecked ? Am Im lost or just read wrong?

Mute off my trolley
    Favourite off my trolley
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:22 PM

Your lost love

Mute Rebecca Byrne
    Favourite Rebecca Byrne
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:58 PM

I thought the same!

Mute Chief PP In TeePee
    Favourite Chief PP In TeePee
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:59 PM

22 comments all cracking jokes about someone’s ill health. . Fair play folks. Nice bunch

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jun 7th 2013, 7:06 PM

Hope he doesn’t laugh his head off.

Mute Colm McDonagh
    Favourite Colm McDonagh
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:04 AM

Leper in the bath? Porridge. I’ll get my coat…

Mute Colm McDonagh
    Favourite Colm McDonagh
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:06 AM

Did he come back and say thanks though?

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Jun 7th 2013, 9:04 PM

A friend of mine was told by his doctor he had leprosy, he fell to pieces.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jun 7th 2013, 5:54 PM

Does Leopardstown hospital still deal this, its is because of a leper hospital that the area got its name.

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:29 PM

It does as far as I know. Leopardstown hospital will never change it’s spots.

Mute Joe Read
    Favourite Joe Read
    Jun 7th 2013, 11:41 PM

NOT SURPRISED WITH ALL THESE FORIEGN NATIONALS HERE ITS NOTHING TO WHATS ON THE WAY WATCH FOR AN EXPLOSION MAINLY FROM AFRICA

Mute Ailbhe Ardiente
    Favourite Ailbhe Ardiente
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:52 AM

Nice xenophobia there. You must be a lovely person.

Mute off my trolley
    Favourite off my trolley
    Jun 7th 2013, 5:54 PM

Its no harm I have it for years on my big toe

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Jun 7th 2013, 10:04 PM

Had to throw my leg over the wall, couldn’t get over it.

Mute Francis Foran
    Favourite Francis Foran
    Jun 7th 2013, 6:04 PM

Johnny the lepper lynch could do a great 8 hand reel !

Mute Dearbhla Russell
    Favourite Dearbhla Russell
    Jun 8th 2013, 12:14 AM

i Hope he dosent do the hokey cokey.