You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Riot police detain a person as they attempt to disperse activists Emrah Gurel AP/Press Association Images

Police fire rubber bullets at crowd to stop Istanbul Pride parade

Local authorities have banned the parade for the third year in a row, but organisers said they’d march anyway.

Updated 5.15pm

POLICE IN ISTANBUL fired rubber bullets to prevent Gay Pride activists from going ahead with a planned march that had been banned by authorities.

Rubber bullets were fired by police at a group of around 40 activists, an AFP journalist reported.

Small groups gathered at Taksim Square but witnesses said a heavy police presence outnumbered the activists, and at least four people were detained.

At Taksim Square, some nationalist groups opposed to the march shouted verbal attacks at LGBT activists who were singing in a show of protest, with one man telling a protester to “Shut up!”.

But they were taken away by the police.

“We represent the colours of the rainbow and will definitely defeat the darkness,” activist Deniz Tunc told AFP.

Bans, violence cannot intimidate us. We will continue to defend peace, equality and co-existence and that’s why we are on the streets.

“We stay”

Earlier, organisers of the Gay Pride parade in Istanbul vowed to press ahead with the event a day after officials in Turkey’s largest city banned it, citing safety and public order concerns.

Activists had called the parade for this afternoon at Istanbul’s Taksim Square, but the city governor’s office banned it after threats from far-right and conservative groups.

It is the third year in a row that the march has been banned.

Organisers denounced the decision and said the march would go ahead as planned.

“We are not scared, we are here, we will not change,” the Pride Committee said in a statement today. “You are scared, you will change and you will get used to it.

We are here again to show that we will fight in a determined fashion for our pride.

An AFP journalist said small groups had begun gathering at Taksim Square but a heavy police presence outnumbered the activists.

Several roads leading to Taksim had been closed.

‘Governors change, we stay’

In one of the biggest LGBT events in the mainly Muslim region, the 2014 Gay Pride parade in Istanbul drew tens of thousands of people.

Last year, with the city on the edge after bombings blamed on Islamic State group and Kurdish militants, organisers were denied permission to march.

Riot police fired tear gas and rubber bullets to disperse protesters who defied the ban.

Eleven activists went on trial in Istanbul this week for having defied last year’s ban on the Gay Pride march, but they were all acquitted.

This year, the parade coincides with the first day of a festival celebrating the end of the holy Muslim fasting month of Ramadan.

Critics accuse President Recep Tayyip Erdogan of having overseen a creeping Islamisation since he came to power, first as prime minister in 2003 and then president in 2014.

He has repeatedly infuriated activists with his conservative comments on sex and family planning, but has generally steered clear of commenting publicly on gay issues.

But in 2010, former family minister Aliye Kavaf, a woman, described homosexuality as a “biological disorder” and a “disease”.

Homosexuality has been legal in Turkey throughout the period of the modern republic but gay people in Turkey regularly complain of harassment and abuse.

“We are not alone, we are not wrong, we have not given up,” the Pride Committee’s statement said today.

“Governors, governments, states change and we stay. Threats, bans, pressures will not deter us … We will not give up on,” it added.

© AFP 2017

Read: Why is Pride in June? The Stonewall riot started the whole tradition… here’s how

Read: Pictures: The sun was shining as tens of thousands flocked to Dublin Pride today

View 118 comments
118 Comments
    Mute Damien McDaid
    Favourite Damien McDaid
    Jun 25th 2017, 3:15 PM

Please never allow this country into the EU.

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:18 PM

@Damien McDaid: …but not because it doesn’t allow gay parades. Think there just might be one or two more important issues to be out on the streets for.

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:23 PM

@Warthog: unlike human rights?

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:31 PM

@john Appleseed: recognising genocide maybe is a start.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:57 PM

@Damien McDaid: The French were never going to allow them in.

Mute Katie
    Favourite Katie
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:55 PM

@Damien McDaid: erm…gay rights are human rights so no I think you may be a touch wrong there..

Mute Katie
    Favourite Katie
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:56 PM

@Katie: sorry that should be to wartog

Mute Polly Dolan
    Favourite Polly Dolan
    Jun 25th 2017, 10:03 PM

@Warthog: moronic response

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Jun 25th 2017, 3:29 PM

Balls of steel to march in that hellhole for civil liberties. Well done but I fear for your safety.

Jun 25th 2017, 3:17 PM

Now that takes a lot of guts .. full credit to them .

Jun 25th 2017, 3:36 PM

Look at how gay people are treated here and look at what the people of that country have to go through. . Looking through the comments over the last few days and there was talk of rights and discrimination and all sorts .. if gay people in Ireland think they have it bad then they should read this article. . No comparison at all .

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:22 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: things being worse somewhere else doesn’t mean people here can’t point out wrongs

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:38 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: no comparison at all NOW you mean. Wasn’t that long ago gay men were being actively prosecuted and locked up. Homosexuality was only legalised here in 1993, up till then you were a criminal.

See 38 more replies ▾
    Mute tismeself
    Favourite tismeself
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:40 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: ridiculous way of thinking.

Mute Mícheál de Burca
    Favourite Mícheál de Burca
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:50 PM

@Paul: In fairness there seems to be no record of any prosecution against anyone for being gay. Still wasn’t right that it was illegal to be yourself.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:58 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: we still have 90% schools controlled by an organisation, which is headed by a man who describes them as intrinsically disordered and details their actions as a sin. In the last few years we have had a referendum, which although passed, had some very adverse discussions about homosexuals and homosexuality on the national broadcaster including the fact they did not make ideal parents and should not be allowed to adopt. I could go on, but hopefully you will see the error of your comment.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:15 PM

@Paul Fahey: instead of focus attention on the treatment of LGBT population in a exclusive Islamic country on the edge of Europe in 2017 like all liberals and far left and Republican socialists where back to the same bashing of the Catholic Church in Ireland.. North Belfast Nationalist and proud….

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:41 PM

@Paul: Can you give me the last example of people being prosecuted here in Ireland for being gay .

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:52 PM

@Paul Fahey: Unfortunately people will always have an adverse opinion to someone elses , do you want to beat it out of them ?
    The law makes it clear that you can’t discriminate against Homosexuals , the vast majority of people have always been against discrimination .
    Suzie is trying to point out , like I have many times , that the real danger to our hopes of progression as a civilization is the introduction of islamic ideology .

Mute Noj Nikrub
    Favourite Noj Nikrub
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:57 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: you’re comment is stupid.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:14 PM

@Noj Nikrub: How is her comment stupid ? She has stated a fact . She even posted that they have shown courage to do what they have done .

Mute Polly Dolan
    Favourite Polly Dolan
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:15 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: suzie you know nothing!

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:23 PM

@Polly Dolan: Perhaps you can expand on your comment ?

Jun 25th 2017, 7:24 PM

@Noj Nikrub: explain how ?

Mute Paul Quirke
    Favourite Paul Quirke
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:31 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: I grew up in tipp. It was relatively without incident, but can’t compare situations. It was still tough and suicides are uncommon for this reason. You comment is at best ignorant and insensitive

Jun 25th 2017, 7:31 PM

@Paul: when was someone prosecuted in this country for being gay ? We have many stupid laws in this country . Did the Gardai act on this law ?

Jun 25th 2017, 7:34 PM

@Paul Fahey: no Paul I stand by my comment. .

Jun 25th 2017, 7:45 PM

@Paul Quirke: where you treated the same as these people are ? Had you got bullets fired at you ?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:46 PM

@Ken Hayden: schools can discriminate against homosexuals, oh dear, that kind of scuppers your whole point.

@Ken Hayden: of course he can’t. ..

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey

@Suzie Sunshine: not a surprise, never one to be too supportive of the gay community are you.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:52 PM

@Ken Hayden: sorry, I might answer for the other Paul if I may. Hundreds of men were prosecuted in 1954 and 1955, but under different legislation, namely indecency with males, gross indecency and indecent assault as detailed by Diarmuid Ferriter. The number of men arrested for indecent with males was 435 between 1927 and 1961. It has also been stated that many men were arrested and harassed by the Garda for homosexuality, but never charged, so no record exists.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:55 PM

@Paul Fahey: Can you give me a link please , I can give you this one from the journal .
    http://www.thejournal.ie/dail-teachers-section-37-bill-2480209-Dec2015/
    Kind of scuppers your whole point i would say , but I stand to be corrected if you can provide a link .

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:10 PM

@Paul Fahey: Without making light of the topic , I can remember as a kid in the 70′s in Dublin being harrased by the Guards , we used to think it was because they were from the countryside and they didn’t like us jackeens .
    There will probably be no record of that either .

Mute KerryBlueMike
    Favourite KerryBlueMike
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:11 PM

@Paul: Don’t remember all those “criminals”, your word not mine, spilling out on to the streets in ’93.

Mute KerryBlueMike
    Favourite KerryBlueMike
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:12 PM

@Paul Fahey: So they weren’t criminalized so?

Jun 25th 2017, 8:13 PM

@Paul Fahey: l have absolutely nothing against gay people .also I didn’t know you had to inform the school or college about your sexuality when you are enrolling ? What discrimination are you talking about?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:14 PM

@Ken Hayden: good question Ken, I’d a brief look and found 44 convictions in 1979. Can keep looking if you like?

Jun 25th 2017, 8:15 PM

@Paul Fahey: anything since 1961 ? Look at what is going on over there and this is how you compare it to Ireland?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:17 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: hey Suzie, yeh Ken asked the same question, I did a quick google and found 44 convictions in 1979

Jun 25th 2017, 8:22 PM

@Paul Fahey: plus they can’t discriminate against teachers any more either .. so still no comparison to what gay people are suffering with in other countries ..

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:29 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: and Ken Hayden – actually yes they can, the change in the legislation was certainly welcome, but issues certainly still arise, with gay teachers being asked to sign a declaration accepting the ethos of the school upon application, an ethos that goes against and teaches against their very identity. There is also a matter of gay teachers being routinely overlooked for promotion in church schools and if you believe this is not happening then you are just wilfully naive.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:30 PM

@Paul: Throw up a link please , I have looked myself , and just for comparison , I have looked at England as well , and I found this link below . That between 1967 and 2007 , 30,000 men were convicted . I in no way condone anti gay behaviour by the way , I’m just interested in facts being brought to the table , I have a gay brother myself , we argue about politics , but never about his right to his sexuality .
    https://www.theguardian.com/society/2007/jun/24/communities.gayrights

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:35 PM

@Paul Fahey: Would that Ethos that you haven’t mentioned , also be against male and female living in sin ? Would a man or woman who was divorced or using contraception also be signing something that went against their beliefs .
    And Paul , Links are always helpful , so if it’s not too much hassle .
    You have already made a false statement of fact which has been proven wrong .

Jun 25th 2017, 8:54 PM

@Ken Hayden: there was 44 convictions in a four year period between 1975 and 1979 but it is hard to tell whether it was down to consensual sex or non consensual sex with a male because it came under the same law . So no way of telling with the 44 convictions.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 25th 2017, 9:03 PM
    Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 9:03 PM

@Clever Jake: Not brushing aside the fact that two men have been killed since 1983 just for being gay , but I didn’t see where the judge in the Sligo case said , homosexuals were immoral. In the article it said .
    ”Judge Anthony Kennedy described the events of the case as “truly shocking,” saying that Drake had been beaten to within an inch of his life and left alone in that appalling condition for 15 hours.”

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 9:11 PM

@Paul: I have read the article , and nowhere does it say that anyone was CONVICTED of a crime , there’s a difference between a prosecution and conviction . It sounds like it could have been a problem with the individual Gardai who had their own personal bigotry and used an existing law , but when it got to court the system blocked it . A bit like our Blasphemy law .
    Like I say , I’m glad gay people don’t have to hide their sexuality anymore .

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 9:17 PM

@Paul: And thanks for finding that by the way , I realize I had asked when the last time anyone was prosecuted , but had failed to type ”prosecuted” and had typed ”convicted”

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 9:50 PM

@Clever Jake: Nowhere in those two links does it say the judge said anything of the sort , but it does say in the link I posted that he condemned the actions of the two men .

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Jun 27th 2017, 9:09 AM

@Suzie Sunshine:
    Can you please tell us what comment over the last few days are you referring to that claims gay people in Ireland think that the homophobia they experienced in Ireland is as bad as that experienced by gay people that this article is referring to? I can’t find one single comment that makes such a claim. I don’t understand how you can stand over your comment as it is factual incorrect.

You seem to be implying that just because gay people in other countries have experience far greater levels of homophobia than we do here in Ireland that we should shut up and put up with homophobia all be it mild homophobia in comparison. Is that the point you are trying to make?

Mute George Roche
    Favourite George Roche
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:28 PM

Takes some courage to do that there, fair play.

Mute Philip Brady
    Favourite Philip Brady
    Jun 25th 2017, 3:30 PM

Where’s Tony

Mute Turk Oneeighttwo
    Favourite Turk Oneeighttwo
    Jun 25th 2017, 3:43 PM

@Philip Brady: I’m not venturing anything here until Tony gives his babble, sorry lecture.
    Probably busy researching?

Mute Philip Brady
    Favourite Philip Brady
    Jun 25th 2017, 3:44 PM

@Turk Oneeighttwo: his too oppressed loves clashing. Should be interesting.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Philip Brady
    Favourite Philip Brady
    Jun 25th 2017, 3:44 PM

@Philip Brady: two

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jun 25th 2017, 4:46 PM

He’s in Riyadh getting some practical experience of the delights of Islamic society to back his theories about moderate Muslims.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:35 PM

Did ye miss the part where in a Muslim majority country homosexuality is legal and has been for over 150 years. Only 25% are against legal recognition of same sex relationships.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:52 PM

@Philip Brady: Tony is here as his alter ego , Dave O’Keefe

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:20 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Are there any laws to prevent discrimination against homosexuals ? ”The criminal code also has vaguely worded prohibitions on “public exhibitionism,” and “offenses against public morality” that are used to harass gay and transgender people. Turkish towns and cities are given some leeway to enact local laws designed to protect, “public morality”.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:30 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Perhaps you should do some research on this subject .
    For example in Homosexuality has been legal in Jordan since 1951 , However LGBT people displaying public affection can be prosecuted for “disrupting public morality”

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:07 PM

@Ken Hayden: I understand that Ken but you can’t have your cake and eat it darling. On another thread you’re arguing that Ireland has never prosecuted people for being gay and asking for links and sources but here you’re happy to accept that these similar and vague laws target lgbt people.

Mute KerryBlueMike
    Favourite KerryBlueMike
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:09 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: That’s thanks to Ataturk and the generals ruling Turkey with an iron fist against the Islamic nutjobs. Endogan has used democracy to whip up the numbers in the countryside and generally outside the great secular cities of Constantinople etc to get to power on an Islamist backed agenda. Lgbt rights are on borrowed time in Turkey.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:22 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: I never said Ireland NEVER prosecuted anyone , I asked for a an example of the last time someone was . And Paul Fahey replied with an example , although it was back in 1961 , which in anyones books is a long time ago . However I can find evidence of 30,000 men being convicted in England between 1967 and 2007 . What does that say about Ireland .
    https://www.theguardian.com/society/2007/jun/24/communities.gayrights

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:42 PM

@Ken Hayden: do show me the proof of men convicted of homosexuality in the UK from 1967 to 2007 please. Your link doesn’t show any convictions for homosexuality. If you’re going to compare try to compare the same offense.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 9:27 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: I have to assume the Guardian might have better resources than me , but I think I know why they were convicted of an act that men and women would not have been charged with . And that’s group sex .
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bolton_7

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 9:29 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: I hope that answers your question , as you seem to be the type of guy who answers an answer with another question , never mind answering a question with a question .

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 25th 2017, 10:27 PM

@Ken Hayden: homosexual acts were decriminalised in the UK in 1967. So yeah, like I said, you can’t have your cake and eat it. What makes you think it could only possibly be group sex? I’d guess it was more along the lines of the public indecency laws. But hey, whatever floats your boat. PS you haven’t asked me a question yet and why would anyone answer an answer?

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 26th 2017, 12:45 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: Did I say it was the only reason ? You really need to learn how to read Dave . And you need to re-read the other thread , as to why I haven’t asked you a question .
    You seem to be a bit selective in what you read , a clear case of Kitman if ever I seen one .
    I Debate with islamic apologists every evening who have the exact same way of debating as you , Misquoting , only using part of a statement , Answering questions with other questions , whataboutary , logic appears to be beyond most .

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:17 AM

@Ken Hayden: you’re talking from both sides of your mouth again. On one thread you’re saying Ireland hasn’t convicted anyone for homosexuality for decades, even while the law was on the books, which completely overlooks the public indecency laws etc and on the other you’re saying that men were charged with homosexuality in the UK after the law was repealed as you’re taking those public indecency laws as homosexuality charges. More taqiyya? You’ve an interesting habit of insulting people for not agreeing with you. You’re always here banging on about how all Muslims want to kill gay people, want to keep women subdued etc and if they don’t they’re not Muslim, Turkey, decriminalised homosexuality in 1858 and had a female Prime minister over 20 years ago. Are they not a truly Muslim country?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 25th 2017, 4:55 PM

Fundamentalists, usually of a religious kind, are hostile to homosexuality because it subverts and undermines their claim to moral infallibility and to absolutist right.

Hostility to gay people was a major problem in Ireland but, having made the journey to acceptance, we are now rightly horrified by those regimes which are so repressive of visible homosexuality.

The Western tradition now tends to be liberal and tolerant. The exception is a small minority of commenters on Social media but it is more of an excuse for thembto vent hate than anything else.

On a political note, Turkey is too authoritarian and repressive to be seriously considered for EU membership. In time, post Erdogan , that might change but not for now.

Turkey shows that Ireland has come a very long way from the Fairview Park murder and the leniency with which the killers were treated.

Mute Philip Brady
    Favourite Philip Brady
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:17 PM

@Tony Daly: hate?

Mute Philip Brady
    Favourite Philip Brady
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:45 PM

@Tony Daly: being a tolerant society and inviting the whole world we risk welcoming millions of people from other cultures “some who hold less liberal values than the majority of the people in these counties they go to. . . . . This might not matter if they are coming into a strong and assertive culture, but they are coming into a guilty, jaded and dying one. You Tony are one with great ideas, but when it all goes belly up, someone else has to save you and sort out the problem, that was foreseen.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jun 25th 2017, 5:59 PM

@Philip Brady: please tell me where are these millions of people from other cultures you talk of?

Mute Philip Brady
    Favourite Philip Brady
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:22 PM

@Paul Fahey: Paul there’s none I was joking, we absolutely don’t have a problem with clashing cultures and the RISK of Millons of people coming into Europe because we invite them. There’s also no asylum seekers or migrants in Europe i was lying. Everythings is going to be great. I just want to open my doors, and let everyone into my home, I’m sure once there’s a few random people in my home, everything will go really smoothly and we wont clash. No RISK at all, we can talk about our culture and stuff and are values.

Mute Philip Brady
    Favourite Philip Brady
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:44 PM

@Clever Jake: not so clever Jake, I could not care what colour people are, but as a country we have an obligation to protect our people, history, identity and culture. And it’s reasonable and sensible to think that way. Europe is dying and it’s going to get ugly, and you sir will be so full of confusion and regret you won’t know what day off the week it is. Fear has its place in human emotions as much as love. Love blinds as much as fear does, and love also has a sinister side. Also send all the illegal Irish in America back to Ireland , they broke the bloody law.

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:57 PM

@Clever Jake:

Yes, us Irish are so bigoted, we fear do much if a woman takes off her veil and reveals here hair, the thoughts of a woman driving, or leaving her home without a male guardian to visit her doctor, now the bigotry would go off the charts if one dared to leave our Irish cult and become an apostate.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 6:59 PM

@Paul Fahey: Their might not be millions here yet , but there are millions in Britain , who could all move here tomorrow if they wanted . If you are not aware of the dangers of that I could help enlighten you .
    Here’s a link to some ”average” British muslims , just watch from the 10.15 minute mark . Tell me if you could imagine that happening in a Catholic church .
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_eLglAovkcw&list=PLkqxdJDwUFJWNiVYXhWTCOct7qGOH8f9d&index=1&t=781s

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:13 PM

@Ken Hayden: your fear mongering is getting more and more desperate. One question,its a simple yes or no question. Do you believe that all Muslims are either supportive of Isis and/or other such groups or liars?

Mute Tom Malone
    Favourite Tom Malone
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:25 PM

@Ken Hayden: “Oh no … not THAT video again?” (yawns)

Mute Philip Brady
    Favourite Philip Brady
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:39 PM

@Clever Jake: what are you doing for humanity

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:47 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: No I don’t think all muslims are supportive of isis , especially Shia muslims . As for the other groups , if you were a bit more specific I could answer you , but then I will ask you for a yes or no answer to a question , and would like a reply .

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 9:58 PM

@Tom Malone: Just the type of response I’d expect from someone who is sleep walking their way into danger .
    Good man Tom .

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 25th 2017, 10:34 PM

@Ken Hayden: the other day you stated that you didn’t believe there were any moderate Muslims and any that said they are not extremist are all engaged in taqiyya. Do you stand by that? Remember? It was right after you said you did believe there were moderate Muslims. PS if you don’t have to give a yes or no answer to a yes or no question why should I?

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 11:06 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: I think your deliberate obfuscation of my remarks shows you up for what you are . A Troll .
    Not every question can be answered with a simple yes or no , I explained to you that a ”muslim” who does not believe in the teachings of the quran is not a true muslim , and as such could be referred to as culturaly Muslims . And that the ones who believe what the ideology of islam teaches but don’t kill anyone , are not moderate , as it is not a moderate ideology .
    Now if you can’t keep up or understand what I say , I can’t help you anymore .

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:00 AM

@Ken Hayden: first, you’ve never helped me. Second this is the first time you’ve mentioned “culturally Muslim” to me. Third, you seem to be forgetting what you did that annoyed me in the first place. You clear as day stated that the problem wasn’t all Muslims and then a few minutes later had changed that to all Muslims are the problem, they’re either the problem or they’re not Muslim. So when someone changes their own opinion and lies so easily and quickly to defend a point, that is irritating and more than a bit taqiyya. The fact that o was trying to have a discussion with you that day and you just spent the whole time sending nonsense replies while trying to decide whether I was Muslim or Tony would you up. You have no interest in open discussion.

Mute lez ferguson
    Favourite lez ferguson
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:37 PM

A call for people to boycott Turkey for holidays.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:49 PM

@lez ferguson: I think the Irish pride parade should invite them here next year if they are still banned from having their own .

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:19 AM

@Ken Hayden: permanently?

Mute Richard Griffin
    Favourite Richard Griffin
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:30 PM

Phallic shaped rubber bullets…..

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Jun 25th 2017, 7:59 PM

@Richard Griffin: aren’t we a funny troll

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:18 PM

@Richard Griffin: lol

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jun 25th 2017, 10:37 PM

It wasn’t so long ago that we treated Gay people deplorably too. Just because we’re now enlightened and know better doesnt mean it’s going to happen everywhere overnight.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jun 25th 2017, 11:12 PM

@Ben Coughlan: Ben I think the problem with what’s happening in Turkey is that they used to allow the parade , but now ban it , which is clearly regression .
    The other Muslim countries are basket cases when it comes to gay rights .
    Turkeys’ secularism was strongly protected before Erdogan came along , and now he is bringing it back to a more conservative form of Islam .

Mute Dermot Keogh
    Favourite Dermot Keogh
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:16 PM

Sure most in turkey are into that but most are married

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jun 25th 2017, 8:32 PM

@Dermot Keogh: how did your holiday in Turkey go?

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Jun 25th 2017, 11:27 PM

Leo steer clear of that despot, Erdogan.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jun 26th 2017, 11:59 AM

Is it stopped because of possible bombing or because they’re against it?

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Jun 26th 2017, 11:43 AM

And theyre coming to the EU?

Mute Ollie Watson
    Favourite Ollie Watson
    Jun 26th 2017, 12:07 PM

Might as well fire nerf guns