You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The bike scheme in Dublin has been hugely successful so far with over three million journeys recorded since its launch. Nancy Pineda/Photocall Ireland

Limerick bike scheme to be launched next autumn

The scheme is styled on the Dublin Bikes Scheme, which has recorded over three million journeys since its launch.

THE PROPOSED PUBLIC bicycle share scheme for Limerick’s city centre will be up and running by autumn 2014, the body responsible for the proposal said today.

The scheme will feature 23 docking stations, housing 400 individual docks across the city for 200 bikes. It is styled on the Dublin Bikes Scheme, which has recorded over three million journeys since its launch. Following the success of this scheme, the National Transport Authority initiated the introduction of similar schemes in Cork and Galway, as well as Limerick.

Limerick Smarter Travel – an initiative started by both the city and county councils, made the announcement today ahead of a public information session that is due to be held in Limerick this afternoon in relation to the scheme.

Pat O’Neill, project manager at Limerick Smarter Travel said the project “aims to develop an environmentally-friendly means of public transport that is healthy, relatively inexpensive, brings jobs closer to where people live, and ensures an improved quality of life in the City’s natural and built environment”.

He said the NTA has recently commenced the tender process for the supply, installation, operation and maintenance of the scheme.

Related: Public bikes scheme may be rolled out in four Irish cities>

More: Great Southern Cycleway to open in Limerick>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:48 PM

Have to admit I was one of the first to say it wouldn’t work in Dublin but I am delighted to eat my words.
    Seems very successful.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:54 PM

It will always work when you have city with civilised people

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Favourite Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:55 PM

thank fully most of the people living in Dublin city are not Dubliners.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:05 PM

I have been visiting Limerick for over 30 years and apart from the odd drunken boyo I have had great craic.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:08 PM

People like matt and scar come out of the poisonous woodwork when something good comes out about limerick.

Be prepared for two separate jobs announcements for limk over the next few weeks that will reverse all the jobs lost in dell.

General motors and regeneron………….come on down.

matt and scar will go ballistic.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:14 PM

Duke…. If your theory is right then most road crashes in Dublin are not caused by Dubs!

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:19 PM

raglan, sure there are no dubs, dubs are all culthies.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:20 PM

lol culchies………..ahem

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:22 PM

Were civilised culchies in Dublin… Once we discovered toilet paper and knives and forks there was no stopping us lol…

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:23 PM

If it means less boggers with a chip on their shoulder, on the rob in the capital, then I’m all for it. #culchiesout #jobs4boggers

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:24 PM

Dublin = culchies with manners lol

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:26 PM

scar lmao

‘on the rob in the capital’

ye don’t need culthies to go ‘on the rob in the capital’,

there’s more thieves on the boardwalk than there are in munster.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:29 PM

This is the first time i have ever commented about Limerick. You need to lay off the smoke!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:31 PM

As you said yourself ‘most of the people living in Dublin are not dubliners’ ergo they’re boggers, particularly the ones on the rob on the boardwalk. Can’t have it both ways. FYI -,You can tell they’re culchies by their bad clothing and shifty appearance.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:32 PM

Don’t forget the smell.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:13 PM

Bad clothing and shifty appearance? You’re dead right Scar. They should embrace the “locals” dress sense of hoody, trackie, baseball cap and very cheap but very white trainers. They are bound to blend in and look less shifty then. Clown!

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:15 PM

Oops I forgot about the daily tub of wet look gel. I can’t believe the catwalks off NY and Paris haven’t been inspired by the local Dublin look

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:17 PM

Mammy buys your clothes Niall

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:21 PM

Wow comeback of the day Matt. Impressive!! :)

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:37 PM

The burning question. Are you a Dunnes or Penneys man?

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Aug 19th 2013, 4:42 PM

Look at niall writing his reply on his stolen phone. Those people you describe – they’re all boggers hanging out in their dodgy gear. Thanks for the limerick fashion updates all the same. Limerick, known more for perp-walks than catwalks. :)

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 5:12 PM

lol,
    ‘Limerick, known more for perp-walks than catwalks’

lmao
    the boardwalk in Dublin is the perpwalk.

|Catwalks? that would be limerick school of art and design,

48th best art college in the world, I think Dublin art colleges are in the 500′s.

Mute Michael Roughan
    Favourite Michael Roughan
    Aug 19th 2013, 5:53 PM

Since hurling don’t suit them… On yer bike

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 6:37 PM

mike,
    we have the rugby to look forward to……

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:49 PM

Wil they still leave their horse outside?

Mute Usawadee Wannapho
    Favourite Usawadee Wannapho
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:38 PM

They’ll all get nicked.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:40 PM

that’s what they said about Dublin.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:43 PM

But this is LIMERICK we’re talking about!

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:49 PM

exactly,
    Dublin has 5 times the population of limerick and 80 times more crime.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:52 PM

Dublin actually has just over 6 times the population of limerick.

Are you typing from the boardwalk?

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:52 PM

Did you just pull those figures out of your head?

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:54 PM

matt,
    no, I pulled them of the http://www.cso.ie website.

How’s that grab you?

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:59 PM

Limerick has the highest crime levels in the country for criminal damage done to property. Lets hope they leave the bikes alone.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/special-report-crime-analysis-reveals-meanest-and-safest-streets-234001.html

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:59 PM

They won’t get nicked,
    These are big heavy bikes, very very easy to spot and they have next to no resell value.

Fools said the same thing about the scheme in Dublin saying all the bikes would be robbed or end up in rivers, this didn’t happen and infact off hand I believe two were stolen but later recovered.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:01 PM

Dublin has 6’6 times the population of Limerick.

I would ask the dubs to get a tutorial on how to divide a big number by a small number before ye attempt the question. Go yo ucd and ask them to do it for you.

http://www.cso.ie/en/statistics/population/populationofeachprovincecountyandcity2011

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:02 PM

lmfao,
    you’re quoting the cork examiner………….rflmfao…..lmao…lol……………I have to lie down, he’s quoting the cork examiner. lol

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:05 PM

matt,
    the cork examiner gave it away when they said that cork is the safest city in Ireland. Cork city is a dangerous kip. limerick is the safest city in Ireland.

MATT, DON’T BELIEVE WHAT YOU READ IN THE CORK EXAMINER OR INM OR THE IT OR THE TABLOIDS.

BAAAAAA BAAAAAAAAAAAA BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:08 PM

Irish examiner!! What are you on? Get back to school with your lmfao, rflmfao, lmao. Lol. Very S.A.D

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:11 PM

You can’t realistically compare Co Dublin and Co Limerick when both contain some element of rural population who has no link to the city.

Working out the population of Irish towns is a difficult thing to do with so many having spilled over their official borders and no formal definition of what constitutes the built up area as you get in some other countries.

Your best bet is to compare the figures for Dublin City and Suburbs and the combined figures for Limerick City, Limerick Suburbs and Limerick Suburbs in Clare in the table below

57,106 + 29,975 + 4,021 = 91,102

So you’re looking at 1/12 of the population

http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/census/documents/census2011vol1andprofile1/Table,5.pdf

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:12 PM

matt,
    that rag was never an irish examiner, it doesn’t report cork crime, it ignores the hundreds of burnt out houses in knockneheeny/mayfied/togher/guarnabraher etc, it ignores crime in cork and manipulates figures to make limerick look bad, something they learnt from inm.

Seriously, it’s a rag, it’s the cork examiner, it’;s not worth the title of irish examiner.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:15 PM

That duke of limerick lad is coming off a bit of a nutter.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:18 PM

chris,
    not true.
    That census is out of date, limerick has got a boundary extension which has brought the population of the city upto 100,000, add to that the 15,000 in clare who are part of urban limerick = 115,00.

The population of urban Dublin is 1,000,080 (rest is rural)

so to compare two urban areas, 1,000,080 divided 115,000 = 8.6

urban Dublin is 8.6 times the size of urban limerick.

Thank you.

Mute sluazcanal
    Favourite sluazcanal
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:56 PM

Its the 80 times more crime statistic that really caught my eye. I never knew that.

Mute Fran ner
    Favourite Fran ner
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:19 PM

Limerick is smelly pie ball ridden kip

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Aug 19th 2013, 4:06 PM

Makes little sense. Limerick is one of the counties that bike usage has gone backwards? Should have been Galway and then maybe Cork.

Mute Winston Teardrops
    Favourite Winston Teardrops
    Aug 19th 2013, 4:31 PM

Ooh easy with the facts Barry. The naysayers don’t like that.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 6:40 PM

lamb,
    why would you need a commuter bike in galway?

Lots of offices/clinics/shopping centres/colleges/cinemas etc in suburban limerick, same with cork, galway is too small.

If you can cycle to salthill you can walk to salthill.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 19th 2013, 11:23 PM

Cut em up for scrap metal no bother Boss!

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 19th 2013, 11:33 PM

.There hasnt been a fatal shooting in Limerick since 2011.How many in the greater Dublin area in that time span??

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 20th 2013, 12:18 AM

Greater Dublin 1.8 million people.

Mute Denise Houlihan
    Favourite Denise Houlihan
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:38 PM

Woo-hoo!!

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:48 PM

Looking at the date on the other article, it’s around 2 years since this was last announced.

How many of those cities have a bike scheme in place? None

If the government and local authorities had the same number of people in place implementing things as they seem to have devoted to announcing things, a hell of a lot more would get done.

Mute Réidín Corbet
    Favourite Réidín Corbet
    Aug 20th 2013, 1:24 AM

I personally know the team working on this solidly for the past two years to get it to this point- a combined effort with the School of Architecture and the City Council. The biggest challenge is connecting the University and city, and creating a safe environment. It also created jobs for graduates. Leave it to the qualified professionals who have studied, analysed and surveyed it rather than making sweeping statements about something you don’t really know about, these things don’t happen over night.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 20th 2013, 2:07 PM

Err connecting UL to Limerick…
    WATER TAXI on the canal,which was revamped at great cost and is now overgrown again….???
    How many millions wasted by the council,and UL and waterways Ireland on this project???
    This is what happens when “experts” get to play with public money…Grandiose ideas,much tarting up of walkways and a canal,that not one single boat has sailed on sofar.

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:58 PM

Limerick could have done with the bikes to catch up with Clare yesterday.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:19 PM

I’m not sure what cycling in Limerick is like generally but a major issue would be how good the roads are re: cycle lanes, potholes and junctions. None of these issues unfortunately were addressed in Dublin by DCC.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:22 PM

the roads are pretty good, it’s the fcukin drivers that are dangerous.

Mute Jonathan McCoy
    Favourite Jonathan McCoy
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:31 PM

The roads in the city centre are generally good as most have been resurfaced in recent years. The terrain is generally flat enough with unchallenging inclines here and there. The traffic can be a pain, a lot of drivers are clueless and down right ignorant of other road users and cycle paths are few in the centre. Given a bit of investment this scheme will do good for Limerick.

Mute Winston Teardrops
    Aug 19th 2013, 4:29 PM

I’d say it’ll be as good a success in Limerick. I hope they don’t repeat the Dublin error of making the area covered by the scheme too small.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 19th 2013, 11:20 PM

Oh thats already installe all over the city…Much to the detriment of getting the TAX paying motorist efficent and clear routes thru and around the city…Trouble is no one uses them!Havent seen one person on a bike in weeks in Limerick.[Thats excluding scobes riding around on BMX bikes in the housing estates]

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 19th 2013, 11:40 PM

More like the I dont give a fuk stupid cylists who decide rules of the road dont apply to them at all.Its the FOOTpath morons!!Not a cyclepath.
    BTW Limerick pedisterians! The RED man means STOP!!! DO NOT CROSS the GREEN man means SAFE to cross.Seems everyone in Limerick has that bass ackwards,and BTW wearing a hoodie while fuking around on your Iphone does not make you impervious to being plasterd all over the road by a car coming around the bend at O Connell st/Sarsfield st which you have decided to dwadle over against the lights.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 19th 2013, 11:42 PM

Said the man who has never cycled up O Curry st. :}}

Mute Derek Hawkeye Byrne
    Favourite Derek Hawkeye Byrne
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:53 PM

You can f#%^ your Honda Civic. I’ve a bike outside.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Aug 19th 2013, 4:58 PM

Scheme is a good idea but the current proposals are not suitable. Limerick is not like Dublin, the city center is compact and you can walk it with ease. Current plans have all the bikes in the city center.

It would be a LOT more useful to put them in the suburbs, Castletroy/UL, Corbally, Caherdavin, Raheen, Dooradoyle etc. These suburbs are all within a couple of miles of city center.

Can’t see many people talking out a bike just to cycle across the city center, with traffic swapping lanes and jaywalkers it will be faster to walk.

Mute Nick Richards
    Favourite Nick Richards
    Aug 19th 2013, 8:53 PM

It’s quite a distance from Nancys to Tom Collins. Bring on the bikes

Mute David Dowling
    Favourite David Dowling
    Aug 19th 2013, 2:41 PM

Limerick is a fecking kip half of the county should be locked up!! Full of so called hard men intimidating other folk! The government should build a big wall around limerick and be done with it .

Mute Denise Houlihan
    Favourite Denise Houlihan
    Aug 19th 2013, 4:19 PM

Nearly as bad as Lucan then!

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 6:42 PM

David,
    calm down old boy, there’s bound to be a 24 hour pharmacy close to you or you could just go to the boardwalk.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 19th 2013, 11:26 PM

Can we build a bigger one around greater Dublin??And prefably buy of Angelica Merkel all the mines,sentry towers,machine guns and sniper rifles that were surplus when the wall came down in Germany to keep the Dubs IN there??

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 20th 2013, 12:21 AM

Dubliners pay to keep the country going simon. You would be 50 years behind without the Dubs.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 20th 2013, 2:10 PM

Rather be 50 years behind the times and developing ,than having a shower like ye ruining the rest of the country even further.Without the rest of the country Matt,you would be starving and dying .No great loss either.Always wonderd if we could convince the Brits to nuke Dublin!

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:40 PM

Always 12 months away, it’s only a few bike stands and a few bikes ffs.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Aug 19th 2013, 1:50 PM

No it’s not.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Aug 19th 2013, 3:49 PM

I hear they are setting up a knife rent scheme also.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 6:43 PM

Can’t get the knife rent scheme license off Dublin, ye greedy bsatrds.

Mute Winston Teardrops
    Aug 19th 2013, 4:34 PM

Well for some who fully own theirs – http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0720/463633-stabbing-dublin/

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Aug 19th 2013, 5:15 PM

that stabbing was kept very quiet.

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    Aug 19th 2013, 5:10 PM

Great, would love to see this happen!

Mute Winston Teardrops
    Aug 19th 2013, 4:35 PM

Start reading some news Carcu and keep up to date.