You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tourism Minister Catherine Martin said she is 'cautiously optimistic' that live outdoor events might return this summer. Shutterstock/Irish Drone Photography

Minister 'optimistic' fans will be able to attend test sporting events during the summer

Minister of State for Sport Jack Chambers says Ireland can learn from what other countries are doing.

SPORTING TEST EVENTS could be held during the summer, according to Minister of State for Sport Jack Chambers. 

Tourism Minister Catherine Martin has also stated that she is “cautiously optimistic” that live outdoor events could return this summer.

Speaking at an Oireachtas committee this afternoon on the impact of the pandemic on tourism, hospitality and sport, Chambers said:

“I would be optimistic we would be able to run test events and get some of our spectators back during the summer.” 

He said there were plans in place to hold test events earlier this year, but given the landscape at the time with the virus, those plans could not proceed.

Sport Ireland and sporting bodies have done a lot of work behind the scenes, said Chambers, adding that he would be optimistic that through the summer “we will be able to have test events”, subject to government decisions.

Fianna Fáil senator Shane Cassells asked if Ireland will see similar events that the UK are planning, such as Sunday’s FA Cup semi-final between Leicester and Southampton at Wembley which will have 4,000 fans in attendance.

Fans will have to have a lateral flow test at a test centre no more than 24 hours before the game.

On arrival, attendees will have to show the text or email message with their result. Ticket holders have also been requested to take a PCR test – which has to be processed in a lab – both before and after the match to help the research programme work out whether there has been any impact on infections from the pilots, reports the BBC.

Chambers said fans and spectators “are really important and we can learn from what other countries have done”.  

Tourism Minister Catherine Martin told the committee today that “bespoke sectoral supports” are required to ensure the recovery of the tourist and hospitality sector. 

She said a  “survival, stabilisation and recovery” programme is to be established for the tourism sector. 

Stay and Spend Scheme under review 

Speaking about the Stay and Spend Scheme – which was launched in a bid to boost the sector in the off peak season last year – Martin said that the unpredictable nature of the pandemic has meant that the scheme was “completely under utilised”. 

The scheme, which is due to end this month, is currently being reviewed, with Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe expected to take stock of the scheme once it ceases.

The tourism minister said she is in favour of a new scheme to provide a boost to the industry in the off peak season again. 

Speaking about outdoor performances, she said it is “still too early to say when that would happen”, but said she is “cautiously optimistic for the summer”.

On the Arts and Culture Taskforce Report, which outlined in its recommendations a mechanism for a three-year basic income pilot for the arts sector, the minister said she will continue to explore the opportunities of such a trial.

Martin said from 26 April, young people will be able to return to outdoor non-contact sports and dance training, which will provide a much needed well-being dividend.

“While we are guided at all times by the health advice, we are looking forward to returning to in-person cultural and sporting events and being able to visit galleries and museums and libraries. The prospect of being able to eat in a restaurant or café, or go on holidays within Ireland is on the horizon, if the epidemiological situation continues to improve,” she said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:13 PM

The longer it takes the more interest AIB will have to pay won’t they?

Mute Plantation Watch
    Favourite Plantation Watch
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:29 PM

The bailout is bigger than 21 Billion, the low interest rates and DIRT @ 41% are not taken into account.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:38 PM

True Martin but the more interest they have to pay , the longer it will take for them to get back to profitability.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Nov 13th 2014, 5:05 PM

Future tax on profits written off against taxpayer covered debts.

Mute Mark Lillis
    Favourite Mark Lillis
    Nov 13th 2014, 5:30 PM

Profits earned for a large part by charging crazy customers fees to those that bailed them out.

Mute Looky here
    Favourite Looky here
    Nov 14th 2014, 12:03 AM

Investment ?!! More like theft !!

Mute KimJong-unDotCom
    Favourite KimJong-unDotCom
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:14 PM

Woohoo we’ll all be rich again. I’ve an option on some apartments in Bulgaria if anyone’s interested?

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:40 PM

Bulgaria is old news Kim, Cape Verde is where its at, the new Canaries!… Ryan Air will be flying there soon. Yer man from Cork that knows about the money is selling them!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:52 PM

Brendan oil own fake is it ?

Mute KimJong-unDotCom
    Favourite KimJong-unDotCom
    Nov 13th 2014, 4:01 PM

I like your style Ronan, just for that I’ll throw in a hot tub.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 14th 2014, 1:59 AM

Brendan Investments …come on now people keep up ….

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:19 PM

The Irish taxpayer paid out €21 Billion to bail out the Bank, then the senior bailed the pension fund with over €1.5 Billion, they retired on huge Pensions. Then they closed the pension to new members. The tax payer is paying 1000 staff salaries of over €100,000. Tax payers are taken to the cleaners by the AIB. You would want to be a gxxxxxxe to Bank with them.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Nov 13th 2014, 4:11 PM

In 1984, AIB was bailed out, at a cost of £400 million to the Irish taxpayer, when its subsidiary (ICI) collapsed. The following year AIB paid out a dividend to its shareholders, while still in-hoc to the taxpayer.

Less than 25 years later AIB was back, cap in hand, for another draw down.

As from the last budget, it would appear, the government will, now, be incentivising even greater incompetence and negligence through its revised taxation policy.

http://m.independent.ie/business/irish/why-one-irish-bank-wont-have-to-pay-tax-until-2034-30391556.html

Mute John McCormack
    Favourite John McCormack
    Nov 13th 2014, 6:44 PM

I despise that bloody bank, really actively despise it, I have more respect for a junkie thief than I have for anyone working for it.

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Nov 13th 2014, 9:20 PM

Saw that in the paper today, Martin. I nearly choked on me sandwich. 1000 AIB staff on over €100,000. Nothing has changed, these people live in a different world, on our money and nobody seems to care.

Mute John McCormack
    Favourite John McCormack
    Nov 13th 2014, 11:08 PM

All the sheeple red arrowing me- the type that doff their cap to their “betters”
    A bankrupt state in tatters because of AIB- generations enslaved to paying for this God awful mess and these sad sacks red arrow someone pointing out how despicable this bank is- third time being bailed out by the tax payers and it’s these clowns attitude will see them bankrupt us again.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:36 PM

Anybody that owes the AIB money shouldn’t pay it until they give all that money back to the taxpayers

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Nov 13th 2014, 4:21 PM

jaysus!

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Nov 13th 2014, 5:28 PM

yep – this is a brilliant idea and will definitely help the borrower, the lender and the State finances all in one go.
    I look forward to the next economic marvel from you Denise.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:28 PM

Well we’ll keep it so until you do – all of it ! not 75% ……” there’s a big bonus for ye lads and a few share options Isn’t the Irish public really stupid”,
    ALL OF IT !

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Nov 13th 2014, 6:29 PM

A fraction of this €21b would fix our water system and therefore no need for any Irish Water charges

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Nov 13th 2014, 5:56 PM

That’s like €4.5k for each citizen. That would give the local economy some boost. Can I expect a cheque in the post?

Mute x
    Favourite x
    Nov 13th 2014, 6:31 PM

Too f***ing late AIB the people have already had to suffer from your mess

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 13th 2014, 10:34 PM

Well they could start by returning the €18 they stole from my account, which f***ed up a direct debit payment.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:39 PM

If we get double digits billions back from the bank we will be doing well. AIB isn’t worth 21 billion.

The big swing is the taking back the provisions for bad loans which were the worse worse case. That’s why they made big losses as they had to put huge money aside and now they don’t need it so they can take some and call it a profit.

But that’s a short term thing as the economy improves and losses reduce. They still haven’t shown they can make money long term.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:45 PM

IF I was a sausage I’d dance at the crossroads with a pink tutu on, while reciting the government ignored out of copyright amhran na bfhiann backwards on a bicycle !

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Nov 13th 2014, 7:02 PM

What about some decking Kim, a hot tub and some decking and im in!! I already have one in Kusadasi.

Mute Kenneth Clifford
    Favourite Kenneth Clifford
    Feb 6th 2015, 3:15 PM

DO YOU NEED A LOAN TO START UP OR EXPAND YOUR BUSINESS? Zion financial services is a sincere and certified private Loan company approved by the Canadian Government, we give out international and local loans to all countries in the world, Amount given out $5000 to $10 Million. We offer loans with a dependable guarantee to all of our clients. Our loan interest rates are very low and affordable with a negotiable duration.

Available now are
    MORTGAGE LOANS, STUDENT LOANS, PERSONAL LOANS, START-UP & EXPANSION OF BUSINESS LOANS AND NEW ARE UNSECURED & SECURE LOANS, CONSOLIDATE LOANS

Apply for a loan today with your loan amount and duration, Its Easy and fast to get 3% interest rates per annum and monthly installment payments. email us now to apply: zionloanfirm.ltd@aol.com

TO APPLY TO APPLY:
    Regards
    Peter James
    General Manager
    Zion capital investment, Canada
    Email: zionloanfirm.ltd@aol.com

Mute Alan Clinton
    Favourite Alan Clinton
    Nov 14th 2014, 10:13 AM

It’s about time we took our fingers out of our holes and marched on the banks think about what they done to this country and how easy they got away with it . FFs Ireland’s paying 42% of the over all debt of the eu, so how dose the smallest end up paying the most

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 13th 2014, 4:01 PM

Bing!

Mute Michael Flannery
    Favourite Michael Flannery
    Nov 13th 2014, 4:32 PM

So how much will my bank shares be worth by then…??

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 13th 2014, 5:13 PM

As Paul said they will be worth “Bing”

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 20th 2014, 7:36 PM

I have got to be the worlds lousiest fairy.