You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach announces entire country is now on 'Level 2' of new Covid plan - here's what that means

Level One will mean the least severe of the restrictions with Level Five the most serious.

LAST UPDATE | 15 Sep 2020

THE GOVERNMENT HAS announced its five-level plan for ‘Living with Covid-19′ over the next six months.

The plan, which has been well-flagged in advance, was confirmed by Taoiseach Micheál Martin at a briefing at Dublin Castle this morning. 

The plan sets out five different levels of restrictions that can be in place in different counties depending on the levels of Covid-19 in each area. 

Level 1 will mean the least severe of the restrictions with Level 5 the most serious. 

Martin said the plan is about ”protecting health, strengthening employment and supporting communities”. 

Martin said: “We are not yet able to make Covid-19 a part of our past. But we have a lot more clarity about how we can get to that point.

Today I want to talk with you about the direction of our country over the next six months. This is not just about how we will live with the Covid-19 virus but also how we will work towards a new social, economic, and cultural life. 

Martin said that he understands there has been “frustration from people in businesses in particular” but that, until there is a vaccine, “we must continue to live with the reality that Covid-19 is potentially deadly and causes long term illness”.

The Taoiseach said that every county in the country is currently at Level Two

This means that a range of restrictions are in place, including restrictions on social and family gatherings.

Under the current Level 2, visitors from 1-3 other households up to a maximum of six people can gather in another household. 

This is different in Dublin which is facing “additional measures”. In the capital the six-person limit is also in place but visitors can be from just one other household only. 

Dubliners are also encouraged to limit travel outside the region.

At a national level, under Level 2, bars, cafes and restaurants may remain open as under the current restrictions and ‘wet pubs’ may reopen around the country from next week.

PastedImage-59418 gov.ie gov.ie

However, Tánaiste Leo Varadkar said at the briefing that pubs in Dublin that do not serve food would remain closed for now. Nightclubs, discos and casinos must also remain closed across the country.

People are being advised to work from home where possible across the country. The plan explains:

If you can work from home, you are advised to only attend work for essential on-site meetings, inductions and training.

Up to 50 people can attend weddings and the same restriction applies to funerals. 

For other indoor gatherings, such as events in theatres or cinemas, up to 50 patrons are permitted and in pods or groups of up to 6 people. 

Up to 100 patrons are permitted for larger venues where strict two-metre seated social distancing is maintained. 

Foreign travel

On the issue of international travel, the Taoiseach said that the government will broadly support the European Commission approach on travel going forward.  

When adopted, the Europe-wide system will mean a significantly different approach to the current guidelines on air travel in and out of Ireland. 

The EU’s system would see zones classified as green, amber or red, with travellers returning from green countries not required to quarantine. Ryanair has been among those lobbying for Ireland to immediately adopt the European Commission’s approach. 

In late July, the government agreed a so-called Green List where people could travel to and from without the advice to restrict their movements for 14 days afterwards. 

The government was criticised for its messaging on the Green List, and this was encapsulated by a remark from the Tánaiste that “it may not be simple, but it is straightforward”. 

Until the new EU system is in place, the government will amend the Green List from Monday to include countries with an incidence rate of less than 25 cases per 100,000 in the past fortnight. This should include countries like Germany. 

Health Minister Stephen Donnelly confirmed to RTÉ’s News At One that the Green List would be expanded to include other countries this Monday. 

Today’s announcement was made following a Cabinet meeting this morning that signed-off on some of the final decisions.

“This is a plan which gives clarity of each of our responsibilities. It includes concrete measures and shows how we can limit impact of the virus while keeping schools open and protecting and expanding employment,” the Taoiseach said.

“The plan is broad and comprehensive. Protecting public health remains an absolute priority.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

223 Comments
    Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:08 PM

Posted this on another article just released but makes more sense for this one:

They should use the Administrative rather than Traditional counties for their list. That way, you could split Dublin into 3 and Cork/Galway into 2. Why would an outbreak in Cork City for example justify closure of every day life in rural west cork? Similarly in Dublin, you could take more action on a localised fashion.

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:12 PM

@LangerDan: Good point Dan

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell

@LangerDan: that’s a very good point. Would the same apply for Limerick?

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:14 PM

@Brian Farrell: Limerick, Tipp and Waterford now share the one county as of a few years ago. So not strictly within this idea unfortunately, but if you can progress the idea of localised lockdowns, no reason why they couldn’t extend it to more localised subdivisions like electoral DEDs. That would probably require a competence far and beyond Stephen Donnelly though.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:15 PM

@LangerDan: forget that. Just build a wall around Dublin

Mute donal bigley
    Favourite donal bigley
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:17 PM

@LangerDan: you do realise Dublin has a smaller land mass than most counties so therefore a new way of looking at boundaries is needed.

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:19 PM

@donal bigley: Yes. Which is why I am suggesting they use the 3 existing administrate counties rather than just the traditional County Dublin to avoid a lockdown over the entire country.

Mute Sean Hannon
    Favourite Sean Hannon
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:20 PM

@LangerDan: Nice point Dan. You’re no langer really.

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:23 PM

@LangerDan: Yes good point Langer!

Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:25 PM

@LangerDan: Maybe the DEFCON number will be by county, but the Red, Amber, Green status will be by HSE Local Health Office (LHO). Just to make it less ambiguous…

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:31 PM

@LangerDan: I’d agree on most counties but not Dublin. It’s very easy to get on a dart or bus to another part of Dublin so if your pubs are closed it’s not very hard to get to one. Could be a good shout in other counties though.

Mute Gillian O'Coinne
    Favourite Gillian O'Coinne

@LangerDan: good point why should an outbreak in co. Galway affect city.

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:36 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: That does make sense, I agree, but the numbers are telling a different story. Apparently the Dún Laoghaire area has a lower rate than the country average. Cork, the second most populous county has the second lowest level in the country. You need to attack the areas most present with the virus. Localised lockdowns would probably make more sense to do this.

Mute Bigbaby
    Favourite Bigbaby
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:46 PM

@LangerDan: agreed

Mute Bigbaby
    Favourite Bigbaby
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:48 PM

@LangerDan: agreed!

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:56 PM

@LangerDan: LangerDan, Dublin counties of which there are 4 are two close together. Its not like down the country where there’s plenty of space between settlements. Lock Dublin south and they just head next door to Dublin city or Dun Laoghaire Rathdown. You could litteraly have three households from a lockdown region cross the street and congregate in the house of someone isn’t in lock down.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:57 PM

@Declan McArdle: and don’t forget yellow, orange and red for the weather !

Mute nivek
    Favourite nivek
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:55 PM

@LangerDan: stop speaking so much sense ;-)

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:08 PM

@LangerDan: I mentioned that recently and was lambasted for it. Take cork for example. If there was an outbreak in a sausage factory in mitchelstown, it would make more sense to lockdown parts of Tipperary and Limerick i.e. areas within a 30km radius where there is a lot of movement between those particular areas rather than locking down castletownbere which is almost 200km away

Mute Ken Coldrick
    Favourite Ken Coldrick
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:51 PM

@LangerDan: absolutely the thing to do

Mute Áine Foley
    Favourite Áine Foley
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:11 PM

@LangerDan: Dublin has four counties, Dublin City, Dunlaoire Rathdown, South Dublin and Fungal.

Mute RogerRamjet
    Favourite RogerRamjet
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:18 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Yeah I’m much more in favour of a KM radius lock-down but they didn’t do that with the previous lockdown counties so would be surprised if they change tact.

You had outbreaks in very localised areas in Kildare where the cluster was closer to Enfield in Meath but the whole county of Kildare was locked down nonetheless.

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:21 PM

@Áine Foley: Yes Aine. I forgot about one of them while writing the comment. Point stands.

Mute Terry Fagan VO
    Favourite Terry Fagan VO
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:44 PM

@LangerDan: Good point but that would only make sense wouldn’t it? These boys and girls defy logic.

Mute paul
    Favourite paul
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:35 PM

@LangerDan: Dan, that makes complete sense so obviously it will not be considered by this government!

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Sep 15th 2020, 5:39 PM

@Áine Foley:
    True – Fungal by name and Fungal by nature!

Mute Thisguy
    Favourite Thisguy
    Sep 15th 2020, 5:41 PM

@Terry Fagan VO: It would, but what about Mayo, Donegal or Tipperary, Kerry or Wexford for example. These are all large counties in overall area and an outbreak in one part of them doesn’t justify locking down the entirety of the county.

Similarly if an outbreak happened in Gort then it wouldn’t make sense to shutdown all of Connemara, Tuam or Ballinasloe even though they’re in the same county and outside of Galway city.

I believe Anne Marie’s suggestion of a radial lockdown is more effective and less intrusive (not to mention it would be easier to police).

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:13 PM

All counties are on level 2, except Dublin which has more restrictions than level 2 but is on level 2 but has more restrictions but it’s the same as other counties but it has more restrictions than other counties but is on the same level as all other counties.

It’s not simple but it is straightforward

Mute Alan Kenny
    Favourite Alan Kenny

@Aaron: yes it makes total sense. Haha

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:22 PM

@Aaron: think its level 2 and a half. Cant be sure.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron

@Seaniecp: How they think it was a good idea to announce 5 levels: 1-5 and then put dublin on 2.5 when thats not defined as a level. Oh this government

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:30 PM

@Aaron: I think Level 5 is Zombies gnawing at your leg. Nom nom nom

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:33 PM

@Vin: I’m very uncomfortable with the idea of Michael Martin gnawing at my leg

Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:37 PM

@Aaron: Sir Humphrey would be proud.

Mute frank gibney
    Favourite frank gibney
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:59 PM

@Aaron: brilliant

Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:09 PM

@Declan McArdle: Brilliant

Mute Berkieahern3
    Favourite Berkieahern3
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:23 PM

@Vin: no elections on the horizon, so should be no reason for them to be out canvassing.

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:28 PM

@Berkieahern3: HAHAHAHA very good

Mute Lad_The
    Favourite Lad_The
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Aaron: couldn’t agree more. Another disastrous attempt at communicating clear guidelines.

Mute Andrew Giles
    Favourite Andrew Giles
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:56 PM

@Aaron: thanks for clearing that up.

Mute sean conway
    Favourite sean conway
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:26 PM

@Aaron: exactly what i was thinking! Whats the point in the different levels if theres going to be variations within those levels?

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:51 PM

@Aaron: the government were never good at mathes unless it going into there own pockets.

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:46 PM

@Aaron: Irish solution to an Irish problem. Would of been simpler just to make Dublin level 3

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:28 PM

@Aaron: I just laughed out loud, thanks!

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:41 PM

@Paul Cahoon: Our founders didn’t kick the brits out to have mehole in charge

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Sep 15th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Aaron:You know I could never figure out how the man got up on the surfboard after forty pints of stout.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:11 PM

So Kildare had a smaller transmission rate than Dublin but Dublin restrictions will be less harsh? Is Culchie Covid worse than Dublin Covid?

Mute PMG
    Favourite PMG
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:16 PM

@John Walsh: Culchie Covid lol (no disrespect)

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell

@John Walsh: yes

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@John Walsh: kildare was over 100 at one stage no?

Mute Pol Mac An Sionnaigh
    Favourite Pol Mac An Sionnaigh
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:44 PM

@John Walsh: yeah I heard covid is worse if your parents are cousins, culchies need to be careful!

Sep 15th 2020, 12:54 PM

@John Walsh: yeah, culchie Covid has the additional symptom of a chip on the shoulder

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:08 PM

@John Walsh: is red neck one of the symptoms??

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:37 PM

@John Walsh: Dublin is really on level 2 1/2 .

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor

So pubs open everywhere barring Dublin, but no restrictions for the people of Dublin to travel to any other county.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB

@Fergus O’Connor: proper order

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp

@Fergus O’Connor: I think they are thinking of constructing a wall around us so dont be fretting. As for me in the mean time I’m busy working and I wont have time to be travelling to neighbouring counties for the all important sesh. So that’s one less dub that wont be giving you nightmares.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson

@Fergus O’Connor: Dart to Bray will be full.

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Fergus O’Connor: In fairness do many travel now from the border counties to the North?

Mute Ross Dunne
    Favourite Ross Dunne
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:29 PM

@Fergus O’Connor: don’t worry, we won’t travel there but we’ll keep sending our property tax money for your GAA clubs! Is that alright with you?

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X

@Seaniecp: unfortunatly, there will be those that will travel outside Dublin to have the sesh as you put it, as there would be from any other county if it happened there. It would be easy to spot them. They are the people who are already flouting the guidelines.

Mute michael macken
    Favourite michael macken
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Joe Johnson: there a wet pubs open already in dublin, IE you are not forced to buy food

Mute Barry Lynch
    Favourite Barry Lynch
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:34 PM

@Fergus O’Connor: I think there should be a wall around Dublin and make the Dubs pay for it.

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Favourite Stephen Gaffney
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:36 PM

@Joe_X: Damn right I will be travelling outside Dublin Joe. And there’s not one thing you can do about it

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:42 PM

@Stephen Gaffney: except ignore you when you arrive!

Mute Joe Vlogs
    Favourite Joe Vlogs
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:45 PM

@Ross Dunne: Property tax goes primarily to the local authority. Not sure if council houses need to pay it though, so Dublin probably doesn’t collect that much in fairness

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:14 PM

@Fergus O’Connor: Publicians of Leixlip, Celbridge Newbridge etc loving this rule

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:16 PM

@Joe Vlogs: Dublin collects the highest property tax and gets the lowest back percentage wise in the country.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:24 PM

@Joe Vlogs: what an ignorant assessment

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:26 PM

@Seaniecp: I don’t mind building a wall as long as the Mexicans pay for it

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:29 PM

@Seaniecp: aw Sean, was gonna invite you for a bbq this weekend :(

Mute Paul Potts
    Favourite Paul Potts
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:38 PM

@Fergus O’Connor: There will be a fleet of charter flights from the capital to Shannon and Cork to support their local pub businesses.

Mute Laura Mulholland Weatherwax
    Favourite Laura Mulholland Weatherwax
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:19 PM

@Fergus O’Connor: I have a week holiday booked air bnb small village nearby (in Kerry) live in Dublin didn’t want to stay in hotel was planning to eat in mostly go for walks. Been working throughout the pandemic (nurse) and as the government haven’t came out and said we need to stay in own county wont get money back if we dont go.
    I’ll be honest I’m 50/50 about going still for various reasons

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:01 PM

@Aaron: cheers, maybe next week if the offer stands

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:02 PM

@Laura Mulholland Weatherwax: go laura. I’d say you have earned it. And you clearly plan on being sensible in any case.

Mute Seosamh Mac Cionnaith
    Favourite Seosamh Mac Cionnaith
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:14 PM

@Laura Mulholland Weatherwax: to be honest, you sound very responsible, I see no reason why you shouldn’t go ahead with your holiday. I’ve said all along, it’s not Dublin that’s the problem, it’s a small minority of people in Dublin that are driving the numbers. Go, enjoy yourself, tomorrow is not guaranteed to anyone.

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:31 PM

@Laura Mulholland Weatherwax: Laura, just chirping in here…..go on your trip to kerry and enjoy yourself, relax unwind and refresh.

Mute Laura Mulholland Weatherwax
    Favourite Laura Mulholland Weatherwax
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:46 PM

@Seaniecp: thanks think I’ll go need time off and it’s not like I’m planning any wild parties (too old and responsible)

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

It’s great comedy writing to devise a plan with every county on 5 levels and then immediately announce Dublin on 2.5

Mute Lad_The
    Favourite Lad_The
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:40 PM

@Rochelle: they could even have helped themselves a little by officially calling it level 2.5 but no better to fudge it a bit and hope people don’t notice

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran

The speech was vague and confusing. Leo is a clearer speaker than the Taoiseach but neither of them were reassuring. Very unfair on pubs in Dublin.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:51 PM

@Gareth Murran: Unfortunately, getting COVID isn’t fair either.

Mute Handsome McWonderful
    Favourite Handsome McWonderful
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:01 PM

@Gareth Murran: No movie quotes either.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith

That’s not a very fair plan considering the local restrictions put in place in Kildare, Laois and Offaly. I know dublin is much bigger but as a dub I’d rather they stopped people coming in or out of the county except for essential work or medical appointments for the next 3 weeks, plus pubs and restaurants that are already open should be closed or only allowed to sell takeout. It should be a level playing field for all.

Mute Mags McKee
    Favourite Mags McKee

@Olivia Smith: they couldn’t use Croke Park then

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:28 PM

@Mags McKee: I live beside that kip and I’d very happily leave it closed.

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue

@Olivia Smith: what about all the free concert tickets tho?

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:32 PM

@Olivia Smith: It must have been terrible when they built Croke Park in your area and shattered the peace and quiet you had become accustomed to.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:41 PM

@Tony Donoghue: That’s done by a draw if you want to enter at the start of the year. And a lot more are won by people outside the area than in.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:42 PM

@Col de Gal: Yeah it was disgraceful, I’m getting a petition going to ol it down ;)

Mute Lad_The
    Favourite Lad_The
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:46 PM

@Olivia Smith: as a dub living in Kildare I agree with you’re first poinrt
    Ignoring your croke park rant tho.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith

@Lad_The: Live beside it and you’d understand. It’s like we are in lockdown every time there is anything on. Can’t drive in it out at times. Streets littered and people using outside your front door to piss. Yeah it’s a great place.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:37 PM

@Olivia Smith: inner city’s a kip agreed

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh

Not much of a ‘plan’, which should have designated milestones along the way, sort of like the phases we had a few months ago. Also it doesn’t even tell us how and when we can go from one phase to another.

Mute James Fox
    Favourite James Fox

@Stephen Walsh: anything to complain about

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh

@James Fox: yes there is plenty. Do you like the prospect of living in limboland for the next ‘6-9 months’?

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan

@Stephen Walsh: trying to give the impression Stephen for the sheeple that they are in control of this when they aren’t. Really all about keeping the virus as the bogey man so our health service and the politicians don’t get exposed for how under capacity it us and NEPHET kept on as someone to blame.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X

@Stephen Walsh: For once I have to agree with you. We need to know the conditions that need to be met that will allow us to move down a level and more importantly, what conditions we need to avoid so we don’t go up a level. No point in just saying what restrictions each level means.

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:39 PM

@Declan: it’s ridiculous. I was expecting to hear dates on when we can actually be let live of lives. E.g. when I can go watch a match(although increased numbers at games, it still means a majority cannot attend). When I can actually meet with more than a couple of friends enjoy a proper night out(no plan on putting opening hours to a later time if things got better). When can we actually live our lives again?

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:45 PM

@Joe_X: I was expecting at least a couple of dates thrown in. For example October 31st, if a county was at phase 1 – increase numbers allowed to meet up, increase pub opening hours, be able to meet more than a few people etc etc. Add in more easing of restrictions further down the line of things continue on the right path. I believe people need dates to aim for.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:54 PM

@Stephen Walsh: I think we all were. Now I do understand the numbers can go up and down and as such they can affect when we move to level one or down to level 3 but had they said something like numbers permitting, we should go to level on sept 16. And as you said give people something to aim for. But I don’t think they have even said what those numbers need to be to go up or down a level.which is what bothers me the most.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:25 PM

@Stephen Walsh: they want to keep us in limbo & unemployed without proper dates until March . It’s the only way they can hide the deficient test & trace , no increase in critical beds in hospital , waiting lists the size of the world. You are totally correct .

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:50 PM

@Joe_X: I wasn’t expecting dates set. In fact I thought the idea of the framework was to do away with deadlines. But i thought they would lay out the upper and lower limits for their decision making process, allowing people to know when they are close to new restrictions and make an extra push to avoid it. The criteria listed in the full document only sets out level one and 5 with 2-4 grouped together and all very vague.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:23 PM

@NotMyIreland: When we were told about a big plan for the next 6 months, I did. A kind of we will aim to do such a thing on such a date but terms and condtions apply. If not, why mention it was a 6 month plan. But that was how I interpreted it. But getting away from dates I do agree they should be releasing what kind of numbers should alert us whether or not we could find ourselves facing looser or tighter restrictions.

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh

@NotMyIreland: they are calling it a roadmap, which implies there are points to reach where things would ease as time goes on and targets are met. Why isn’t there a level 0? There’s no motivation to improve once level 1 is reached.

Mute Terrence Peterson
    Favourite Terrence Peterson

“Under Level 2, visitors from one other household only or up to 6 visitors from two other households or three other households are allowed.”

Can someone please explain this to me? I feel I’m having an aneurysm.

Mute Lad_The
    Favourite Lad_The

@Terrence Peterson: you can have 6 people over to your house. They can’t be from 6 different households tho. They can’t be from 5 different households either. Nor can they be from 4 different households.
    But they can be from 3 different households or less.
    Hope that helps with the ol aneurysm. Not sure if it can be broken down any better.

Mute David Geraghty
    Favourite David Geraghty
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:54 PM

@Lad_The: I don’t think you even got it 100%. Visitors from a single household don’t have the limit of 6 is my interpretation

Mute Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Favourite Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Sep 15th 2020, 5:05 PM

@David Geraghty: yes, an undefined number from one household can go to your household, presumably 6 but as it’s undefined in the sentence it may mean more

Mute Elaine Buckley
    Favourite Elaine Buckley

That had to be the most embarrassing briefing of the last 6 months, even the journalists were too confused to ask questions..

Mute Peter Coen
    Favourite Peter Coen
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:08 PM

@Elaine Buckley: Journalist’s???????

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Sep 15th 2020, 5:22 PM

@Elaine Buckley: questions???? Do you honestly think journalists at these briefings are not briefed on exactly what the can ask?

Mute PMG
    Favourite PMG

Anyone else scratching their heads snippets of information already know don’t you think.
    Bloody 3 of them had to remind us that the covid started 6 months ago (really) As if the country is not reminded daily.

Mute Fun Gerry :)
    Favourite Fun Gerry :)

Dublin should be treated differently. A friend of mine is up there for a month and she said SOME people are walking around there as if there is no covid. Pandemic worldwide but in Dublin it’s non existent

Mute Noel Healy
    Favourite Noel Healy

@Fun Gerry :): Not pandemic anymore…

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:27 PM

@Fun Gerry :): there’s allot more younger people willing to take more risk in Dublin. It’s unfair to say non existent as the vast majority are handling it the same around the country. I’d agree that they bottled it on putting Dublin at level 3.

Mute Bunny Johnson
    Favourite Bunny Johnson
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:49 PM

@Gareth Murran: just out of Ikea, around 10 people with no masks/around their chins. All young, 20-30. Selfish

Mute Sara Davis
    Favourite Sara Davis

So what is the plan? They just kept saying we have a new five level plan but no explanation of what each level is or what criteria are used to decide which level we’re on. The whole press conference told us nothing.

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:16 PM

Clear as mud

Mute Anne Linda Kinsella
    Favourite Anne Linda Kinsella
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:33 PM

@Mattress Dick:

Mute Karsten Brück
    Favourite Karsten Brück

Once again the government shines with incompetence, clueless-ness and inconsistency. Spending Taxpayers money on the wrong places. If more funds would be allocated to the HSE, improving COVID-19 testing faster responses. Plus all parties involved would play their part, meaning shoppers wear a bloody face mask, shops deny service to customer not cover appropriated. Reinforce public services and give them adequate power. On the spot fines and penalties for breaching the rules. People will and can adopt.

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:48 PM

@Karsten Brück: do you really think face masks that have no standard’s or not been tested are going to protect from fine spray. Not to mention shops who sell masks at over inflated prices

Mute Gazza Lazza
    Favourite Gazza Lazza
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:22 PM

So it’s now a “five level plan”, what happened to the colour coded system & all those crayons?

Better still what happened to all the money that went to set up that colour coded system?

Donnelly outlines colour-coding system to replace phases as Harris says Covid could be with us ‘a very long time’ https://jrnl.ie/5173647

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/letters/a-colour-coded-response-to-pandemic-1.4328645?mode=amp

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:49 PM

@Gazza Lazza: Mehole took the crayons back as the markers were destroying his fingers and wouldn’t wash off. Happy out now with his colouring books.

Mute SquintEastwood
    Favourite SquintEastwood
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:02 PM

@Gazza Lazza: it was probably homophobic

Mute Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Sep 15th 2020, 5:13 PM

@Gazza Lazza: perhaps didnt want to use green as one of the 5 colours, apart from red, orange, yellow and blue…possibly couldnt agree on a 5th colour, purple or pink or brown perhaps were options, black too morbid, white sounds like surrender, but pink could be associated with gay, and purple with mourning…leaving brown meh?

Mute A d d y o u r n a m e
    Favourite A d d y o u r n a m e
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:40 PM

Has anyone pointed out that casinos, that aren’t supposed to be open at all, have been open since the end of June? And none of them have been closed even though the gardai are aware that they’re open?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:06 PM

@A d d y o u r n a m e: And have any covid clusters been attributed to any casinos?
    Any other businesses you want ruined?

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:36 PM

@A d d y o u r n a m e: Where are the casinos open?

Sep 15th 2020, 1:48 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: bray has 3 at the seafront and they’re all open, all the ones in Dublin CC appear to be open, there’s one at the Square in Tallaght that’s open.

Sep 15th 2020, 1:49 PM

@Will: oh no I’m not saying they should be closed, I just think it’s strange that they’ve been overlooked completely for so long since they’re always specifically mentioned as remaining closed.

Mute Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Sep 15th 2020, 5:15 PM

@A d d y o u r n a m e: yeah, I noticed the one on Dorset Street, near the Royal Canal seemed to be open when I passed in on the 4th August

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Sep 15th 2020, 6:42 PM

@A d d y o u r n a m e: I bet they aren’t……

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap

Clueless Leo and the donkey’s

Mute Radioska
    Favourite Radioska
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:18 PM

@dublinsnap: Micheal Martin is the current Taoiseach and he did the conference.

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:21 PM

@Radioska: Read the article

Mute Radioska
    Favourite Radioska

@Stephen Gaffney: the one that says Micheal Martin did the briefing with his picture at the top?

Mute Stephen Gaffney

@Radioska: Now read the part with Leo Varadkar. You’re welcome.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8UvFhIFzaac

The government should watch this

Mute Seamus Hughes
    Favourite Seamus Hughes

@Eamon: An excellent analysis of the data

Mute Kieran
    Favourite Kieran
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:30 PM

@Eamon: I don’t think they should be spending much time watching random YouTube “health” grifters.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon

@Kieran: I think they should. Strong statistical evidence that any lockdowns or restrictions are akin to pissing into the wind

Mute easy_money82
    Favourite easy_money82
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:48 PM
    Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle

@Kieran: Which scientific pieces of data do you disagree with and may we have your reasoning for disagreeing?

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake

@Eamon: Pretty rubbish analysis. It is littered with unsubstantiated “facts”. For instance How does he know that previous corona viruses give you immunity to COVID 19?

If you want to listen to rubbish analysis there are many more like this on YouTube.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:50 PM

@Eamon: Where is this evidence?

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:16 PM

@For Goodness Sake: They don’t. Its like saying the having the flu last winter protects you for the coming winter. Like the Influenza family, Coronavirus describes a family if different Virii

Mute Isabel Oliveira

@For Goodness Sake: maybe before dismissing things automatically you should try searching for them .

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/05/t-cells-found-covid-19-patients-bode-well-long-term-immunity

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:11 PM

@For Goodness Sake: the evidence is based on the trends using available data from 100s of millions of people. The models Irish government are seriously flawed. Leo stated back in March that if we didn’t lock down we would have 80k deaths by the end of this year. I believed it then now I know it is complete BS. Same way they are saying that if Dublin continues the way it is going it will have 5000 cases a day by mid October. That would be 2000 cases a day more than all of Spain had yesterday. Again that is never going to happen and the daily case numbers will level or over the next few weeks and then drop down.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:21 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: an interesting read I will admit, but filled with ifs, buts and maybes.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:55 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: Listen to it Isabel. More unsubstantiated “facts”.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:58 PM

@Eamon: “based on trends”. In fact it is based on nothing but unsubstantiated opinions. Listen to the doctors and scientists and ignore the fantasists.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Sep 15th 2020, 5:31 PM

@For Goodness Sake: is it really? Is that based your professional medical opinion?

Mute Edel O'Dea
    Favourite Edel O'Dea

How can Micheal Martin say it’s part of our past. It will not be we have to live with it that’s it. Let’s get on with our lives and address the HSE problem and it’s lack of staff, pay etc.

Mute jzT
    Favourite jzT
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:05 PM

So basically, they have shown us a slide with five circles, 1 to 5, with no explanationas to what each level entails. It looks like a page from a Junior Infants maths book. Clear as mud lads. Thanks for nothing

Mute The Wigster
    Favourite The Wigster

Lol the blind leading the blind, do you really think the Dubs will follow any of this lol #incomingdisaster

Mute Leo O' Leary
    Favourite Leo O' Leary

So its levels 1-5 going forward, yet just for Dublin its 2+, haha best i heard in weeks, what aload of tripe.

Mute Hugh Fogerty
    Favourite Hugh Fogerty

At the moment travellers coming to Ireland (including Phil Hogan) are ignoring the quarantine advice, many people travelling home for Christmas to be with their families will ignore this advice as well, there needs to be a proper plan regarding travel and not wait until mid October when the EU are due to publish their guidance Which will be based mainly on economic criteria rather than medical. Dublin is and always was treated as a special case. I greet with Langer that if there is an outbreak in Cork City why should the residents of Schull have to be penalised. Ah yes I forgot, we are all in this together (except if you live in Dublin)

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:38 PM

@Hugh Fogerty: Not every one is ignoring the advice to quarantine. Several lads I work with did so. The thing I will point out is that they were all foreign lads that went home for a few weeks. It seems it’s more Irish people are not doing it, but I would presume not every Irish person is ignoring the advice. I wouldn’t ignore it if I were abroad and came back.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:54 PM

@Hugh Fogerty: travel accounts for a minuscule number of cases of around 1,78% What needs to happen is simple: ask for a negative test prior to passengers travelling back & reinstate freedom of circulation within the EU without penalties. People who travel are not infected people or even close contacts .

Mute Hugh Fogerty
    Favourite Hugh Fogerty
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:11 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: recirculating of people in the EU, have you seen the figures for Spain… no thank you. I live in a small rural town, every Monday a group of lads head to London working as electricians, plumbers etc. They come back on Friday and head to the pub (with food) for Friday Saturday and Sunday nights. There have been no cases in the area. For me these lads are a lot safer than people holidaying in Ibiza and coming back and not quarantining.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB

@Isabel Oliveira: Well said Isabela

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn

Nothing about restrictions or easing of restrictions for maternity wards???

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:27 PM

And what happened to the colour coding we were suppose to have for each county, is that now consigned to the dustbin? Trust politicians to make something simple into stupidly complex and confusing.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:21 PM

Positive on Travel by adopting commission guidelines , finally .

Desperate for pub owners and their staff in Dublin.

As for “ long term illness “ I wish authorities stopped referring to something that is hypothetical & not evidence based at all as a certainty.

Mute Jæ Zucula
    Favourite Jæ Zucula
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:01 PM

Yes thanks for the restrictions you asked us to abide! So can the government outline their plans to improved the health system or a backup plan in the health system if things go wrong? How much has been invested in the health system to tackle COVID-19.
    For now, I’m still relying on the pimp’ed private health insurance I pay for :/

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy

We are on defcon 2. It’s a beautiful thing.

Mute Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Sep 15th 2020, 5:17 PM

@paul mccoy: bigly

Mute Margaret Murphy
    Favourite Margaret Murphy

As clear as mud. This government has given a road map for confusion. Clearly cherry picking counties.

Mute Luke Windak
    Favourite Luke Windak
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:40 PM

So the levels are 1-6 but Dublin ended up on level 2.5 – makes so much sense…..

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50

I don’t get the confusion…pretty clear instructions and advice…the only people confused are the people choosing to confuse or be confused

Mute jzT
    Favourite jzT
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:39 PM

@Kevin50: ok, so what does each level entail? Which restrictions apply at level 3 for example?

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:12 PM

@Kevin50: drama queens Kevin. Dont think they could have dumbed it down any more to be honest!

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian

Entire state not country

Mute Berkieahern3
    Favourite Berkieahern3
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:25 PM

On level 2, is a developer still allowed accidentaly lodge cash into your wife’s bank account? Asking for a friend.

Mute Michael Waldron
    Favourite Michael Waldron
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:16 PM

What level would Prof Sam McConkeys prediction today that there will be 5,000 cases per day in Dublin very soon and 1,550 deaths per month be ?

Level 100 ?

Mute Colin Mc Hugo
    Favourite Colin Mc Hugo
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:35 PM

This is a disgrace, this is less dangerous than an annual flu as pointed out from real data & science https://youtu.be/dl_CIXjFb2M also why do we need a vaccine, Sweden didn’t need a vaccine. Irish mass Media & government are owned by big Pharma /Bill Gates

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:34 PM

@Colin Mc Hugo: Sweden has 2 times our population and 3 times our deaths. Now as was pointed out to me the other evening, Sweden has a much older population, which makes their government’s actions even worse, as they had access to the same figures we did from what happened when it first arrived in Europe, meaning to me at least, that they were more willing to sacrifice their vunerable.
    Also the average deaths attributed to Flu in this country is 300 to 500 annually. We have already exceeded the higher estimate by 3.5 times in 6 months.

Mute Derek Anderson
    Favourite Derek Anderson
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:05 PM

Another episode of keystone cops.

Mute Richie R
    Favourite Richie R
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:43 PM

They still haven’t gone much into people flying in and out regularly nothing much has been said about it. People could be coming in with it and not even knowing they have it and passing it on.

Mute David Gillespie
    Favourite David Gillespie
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:13 PM

Can’t “wet pubs” just order in food? Maybe have a deal with a local restaurant or takeaway?

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:54 PM

@David Gillespie: A lot of them are already doing so to varying degrees. One pub where I’m originally from has a catering van run by a local restaurant outside, serving more than pizza and chips to it’s cutomers and have the bar staff bringing in the food and cleaning up and returning the dishes to the staff of the van. However, another pub in the same locality is just ringing in the orders to a local chipper and you have to go out and get the food yourself, then wait for the order to be done, so most the patrons there just pick it up on the way home and just told keep the recipt in case the gaurds call. I know which one I’d prefer to visit of those 2 when this is all over and done with. (Just in case people can’t figure it out, it’s the first)

Mute Patrick McConville
    Favourite Patrick McConville
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:53 PM

Any mention of stepping up track and trace to get on top of things? (6 months on.). Bolstering the health system longer term? Protecting wages of people so that they feel reassured enough to get a test? This is still not a plan.

Mute Brenda Walsh
    Favourite Brenda Walsh

The dart will be busy with people going to bray

Mute Ian McLeish
    Favourite Ian McLeish
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:12 PM

So the whole country is on level 2, but Dublin has special restrictions. So is Dublin level 2A or something? Are there not enough levels in the new scheme??

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:19 PM

Its not opening up anything really, its more of the same. Still following their wrong headed policies

Mute Dolphins
    Favourite Dolphins
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:23 PM

Another dance of propagandism.

Mute Deirdre Meredith
    Favourite Deirdre Meredith
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:14 PM

So if it goes to level five you have to stay at home but kids can still go to school so what are they to walk to and from school themselves ?

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:24 PM

More and more nonsensical rubbish, flocks of people from Dublin getting buses and trains down the country now, at weekends like the €9 corona meal is going to stop the virus.. Quite simply put the most clueless government in the history of the state.

Mute Looney Tunes
    Favourite Looney Tunes
    Sep 15th 2020, 1:49 PM

Pubs on the Dublin border will clean up

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:59 PM

Sweet baby jesus, they honestly can’t help themselves with the lack of clarity, it’s like a habit they have formed. This 5 level plan is/was meant to be comprehensive and detailed with concise information for each level to know exactly were we are at and what is allowed/advised/asked, at each level. The Martin announces the “whole country” is currently on level 2 and wet pubs may open next week, then leo says in dublin they will remain closed. So is dublin not at level 2? Oh and should we not know exactly were we are on international travel at each level? Because they are saying that they are looking to “adopt” going forward. That doesn’t sound like it’s clear on the subject. Seriously bad piece of work.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:01 PM

This makes ‘Tenet’ look simple.

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:39 PM

I can not understand why the levels 1-5 do not have corresponding cases/100k ppl linked to them, i.e., if you are in a county with 0-29/100k you are level 1 etc. At present Sligo (dont live there) has 3.05/100k over past 14 days is assigned the same level as Dublin 89/100k?!

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:39 PM

How can sligo and Dublin be on the same level. Makes a nonsense of the whole thing.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 15th 2020, 4:39 PM

This government are the political version of Covid-19, absolutely toxic

Mute vanc
    Favourite vanc
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:30 PM

The 2 worst effect areas in Dublin in HSPC are in Fingal West and Dublin South East. Why would you lock down swords as a result of increased incidence in blanchardstown. It needs to have better planning than county level implication….

Mute ℍ
    Favourite ℍ
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:25 PM

Wtf is level 2?

Mute michael macken
    Favourite michael macken

fpcon charlie, in our case fpcon martin

Mute Sara Davis
    Favourite Sara Davis

So

Mute Anthony Burke
    Favourite Anthony Burke
    Sep 15th 2020, 3:00 PM

So… No news then….

Mute Dean Cinnsealach
    Favourite Dean Cinnsealach
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:56 PM

Pints it is so & no 9€ chicken wings either.

Mute Lora McCabe
    Favourite Lora McCabe
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:59 PM

Despite not being ideologically in tune with the government I am grateful for their considered scientific judgements made in this unprecedented time.

Mute Tom TR
    Favourite Tom TR
    Sep 16th 2020, 1:30 PM

I see the government funded shills in the journal are hiding comments again.

Mute Davis Payne
    Favourite Davis Payne
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:25 PM

Science ain’t an exact science with these clowns but, they’re getting better.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Sep 16th 2020, 12:35 PM

yep, perfectly agreable!

Mute Deathwish
    Favourite Deathwish
    Sep 15th 2020, 12:53 PM

Just watched Martin giving this speech. He’s unlikeable, no sense of empathy and can’t read a speech properly. He should be managing a business, and not in politics.

Mute Barry Harrington
    Favourite Barry Harrington
    Sep 16th 2020, 9:52 AM

Covid does not recognize any border or political views

Mute Alan Carthy
    Favourite Alan Carthy
    Sep 15th 2020, 2:15 PM

Dublin should be split in two hehe

Mute Paul Rickie Joe T
    Favourite Paul Rickie Joe T
    Sep 15th 2020, 9:04 PM

Those cheltenham folk have created all this

Mute Paul Rickie Joe T
    Favourite Paul Rickie Joe T
    Sep 15th 2020, 9:04 PM

Those cheltenham folk have created all this!