You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

TDs question whether there will be public buy-in for the new restrictions. Leon Farrell

'High degree of anger': Concerns over compliance as 'arbitrary' county boundaries used to impose local lockdown

Local TDs have been reacting to the latest restrictions imposed on Laois. Offaly and Kildare.

THERE IS A high degree of anger in County Kildare, Social Democrats Kildare North TD Catherine Murphy said yesterday evening.

Yesterday, the government confirmed regional restrictions for the three counties following an increase of Covid-19 cases over the past two weeks. 

From midnight residents in either of the three counties were advised not to travel outside of their county. People were asked to only undertake essential travel.

Under the new restrictions, which will last for two weeks, pubs and restaurants are to operate as takeaway only. Childcare facilities will remain open as will retail outlets.  

Murphy questioned the reasoning behind the county lockdown stating that the spike in cases is primarily focused on either food processing plants and Direct Provision centres in the counties. 

She said there is a lot of anger among the general public due to the problems in those sectors “not being dealt with”. 

“For months we have known about the issues related to those working in these factories and centres, and the living conditions these people are living in,” she said.

She said the county boundary is being used “arbitrarily” in this instance, stating that there are some areas in other counties that are actually a lot closer in distance to the meat factories than some areas that are in North Kildare.

She said it makes no sense that one pub can remain open just over the Kildare border and one inside the county, such as in Leixlip, must shut down.

“Why didn’t they use a map.” That is one of the questions Murphy said she would be asking the experts at last night’s briefing for local TDs.

Murphy said geography must be at the heart of any lockdown measure, adding that businesses that are no where near where these clusters have occurred are now facing the repercussions.

She said this will now be the template for any future lockdowns in other counties, and she wants an explanation about why such a blunt tool was used.

Compliance

Compliance with the first national lockdown was high, but Murphy said she has concerns about whether citizens in the three counties will adhere to the measures. 

“People will comply with what they see is sensible, good, sound, scientific evidence and where they don’t see it, they won’t,” she said.

Reacting to the news yesterday, Fine Gael TD for Kildare South Martin Heydon said it is a “very disappointing day for all residents and businesses across Kildare, Laois and Offaly”.

However, he agreed that all measures being taken are based on public health advice and “to ensure the safety of our citizens both here and across the country”.

“I’m working closely with my colleagues in Government and the public health advisory team to ensure all of the practical implications for local residents and businesses are understood with these developments today,” he said.

Kildare North TD Bernard Durkan said the measures had to be taken to contain the virus, stating the he agrees using the county boundaries is an “arbitrary tool” but added: “What else can you do?”

He hoped that people would comply with the measures. When asked about his constituents who had staycations planned, he said it was “unfortunate”.

“It’s tough and very disappointing for them,” he said, adding that hotels should look after their customers who are looking for flexibility with their cancellation policy.

‘Not thought out’

Another TD, and former Justice Minister, who is not happy with the actions taken by government is Charlie Flanagan. 

The Laois/Offaly TD told TheJournal.ie that the public health officials know where the clusters are and what caused them.

He said entire communities must not be penalised or punished for the failure to take action in the Direct Provision centres and meat factories.

“Local lockdown is an extreme response and seems not to have been thought out,” he said.

Speaking about residents in those counties who must now cancel their staycations, he said people who are denied a holiday in Ireland and who have already booked must be compensated by government.

Flanagan said local businesses will not survive a second lockdown and added the meat factory issue was well known and should have been addressed weeks ago.

While some politicians were quick to point out that Flanagan was in government until only recently, those in government circles acknowledge that these localised measures will be a lot harder to sell to the public.

In his speech last night, Taoiseach Micheál Martin spoke about the need for “solidarity”, but with some counties living under different rules from the rest of the country, perhaps even their neighbours down the road, public buy-in is key concern.

One minister said he had serious concerns about the public support in the three counties, adding that enforcement will be “community-led” like with the national lockdown. 

“Local lockdowns are better than a national lockdown,” said another minister. 

While they said the decision was a tough one, there is a real concern that the virus has seeped out into the community from the factories and centres.

More spikes predicted

There will be multiple spikes of this kind, said one minister, who added that this has been well-flagged, but the key is to ensure they are localised and shut down as soon as possible. The spikes do not necessarily represent a second wave, they pointed out.

This lockdown, and any subsequent localised lockdowns are going to be a lot harder than first time around, said the government source.

The public buy in will not be the same, and the idea of ‘we are all in this together’ will be destroyed when one section of the country has measures imposed on them when the rest of the country can carry on as normal, they added.

There is also real concern at government level of the division this particular lockdown in Kildare, Laois and Offaly will have on the communities. 

The restrictions have been introduced after cases arose in factory workers, many of whom are migrant workers.

The same goes for the clusters in Direct Provision centres. There is concern that locals will blame others for why they can’t go to the pub, restaurant of local hurling match, and could stigmatise people.

Questions are being asked about why the government didn’t see this coming? Why they didn’t look to other countries such as Germany, that have had similar spikes in meat factories?

Concerns about workers living together in close quarters often in cramped conditions have been raised before, with some asking if the workers will want to self isolate in the Citywest complex (this is the guidance should a worker be a confirmed case).

The issue of many of these workers perhaps being too afraid to miss out on their pay if they come forward with symptoms has also been highlighted. The issue of surprise inspections of these plants has also been highlighted in the Dáil Covid Committee. 

While these red flags seem to have been largely ignored, the Acting Chief Medical Officer Ronan Glynn denies this is the case, telling reporters yesterday that HSE teams were put in place and have been dealing with 23 clusters in meat plants around the country.

Stepping up inspections

The Tánaiste is to meet with the Health and Safety Authority in the coming week to see if inspections can be stepped up.

Whether these workers are hearing the public health advice is also another concern, as is the worry that working practices and inspection rates at the plants themselves are not meeting the standards necessary to stop Covid-19 infections.

One minister said he was aware of one living quarters where Romanian workers were living together, but only had satellite Romanian television in the flat. 

“They are not getting our messages,” they said. Workers who get sick or have to self-isolate are entitled to a €350 payment per week, but they may not know that, said this source.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

127 Comments
    Mute Johnny Reynolds
    Favourite Johnny Reynolds
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:08 AM

Why does the journal keep saying the gardai “left” the talks when they were never “in” them to leave

Mute Falstaff Oldcourt
    Favourite Falstaff Oldcourt
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:43 AM

Correct Johnny.
    The Gardai left the room which they were being “briefed” in while the talks down the corridor were taking place.

Mute Falstaff Oldcourt
    Favourite Falstaff Oldcourt
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:45 AM

The journal.ie is continuing with Alan Shatters spin and lies

Mute Regonald Timpson
    Favourite Regonald Timpson
    Feb 28th 2013, 12:52 PM

Public sector workers average weekly wage is € 918.99 compared with € 611.66 in the private sector (at the end of June 2012), according to the Central Statistics Office (CSO):

http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/releasespublications/documents/earnings/2012/earnlabcosts_q22012.pdf

Mute Kieran Tubs Tobin
    Favourite Kieran Tubs Tobin
    Feb 28th 2013, 1:13 PM

for Regonald Timpson,
    Maybe you should read the link you posted. The average gross wage is €687.84.
    After pension, pension levy, tax, prsi, income levy and other deductions an average wage is 400-450 euro.
    Also how many people in the private sector wear a stab jacket to work or have people
    vomit all over them. The greats trick the government (FF/FG/Lab) ever pulled was blaming the crash of 2008 on the public servants. And now their spin doctors have both the Public and Private sector fighting between ourselves as Ministers/TDs/Councilors/ Senators sit back with their over payed wages and laugh at us all.
    KIeran

Mute Liam kelly
    Favourite Liam kelly
    Feb 28th 2013, 1:42 PM

Wouldn’t bother with Reginald, he posts the same links on all matters concerning the PS, tiresome at this stage. Anyone can quote figures, but short on facts..

Funny enough, he says the country’s broke, yet he is refusing to pay property tax and water charges… In reggies own words, ” should others pay?”

I await his ” don’t cut thee” quote.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Feb 28th 2013, 4:50 PM

Well put

Mute Conor Burke
    Favourite Conor Burke
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:00 AM

Could it be, finally the unions are starting to fight. About time

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:13 AM

Same Teaching unions who advised their members to allow the government pay new graduates less, in order to protect themselves. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Mute KarlMarcks
    Favourite KarlMarcks
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:32 AM

Like your avatar, Conor!

Unions fight? Never!

Their members fight? Yes, but they have to fight their own fat cat bureaucrats too.

It’s like fighting with no arms.

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:52 AM

Exactly Rodrigo , these teaching union are a disgrace , piping up now after willingly stitching up their new entrants for fear some of the very well paid mid career coasters would take any impact . try to talk out of both sides of their mouth now. Cue the 800 red thumbs Journal now being heavily patrolled by union members

Mute Liam Hogan
    Favourite Liam Hogan
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:09 AM

Unions start to fight now that the higher earners are being targeted? Not even pretending to be credible.

Mute John Moran
    Favourite John Moran
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:15 AM

I have my doubts.

Mute straight2pt
    Favourite straight2pt
    Feb 28th 2013, 7:59 AM

65k a year &5 months holiday… cop on.

Mute KerryID
    Favourite KerryID
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:04 AM

Dont forget iron clad job security regardless of performance.

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Favourite Lorraine Mac Rory
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:08 AM

I don’t necessarily disagree….but just want to point out that school leaders don’t get the same holidays. Also it’s been hard to recruit principals. No one wants to do it even with the higher salary! There has to be a reason it’s never been worth 65000!

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:12 AM

65k and 5 months holidays for whom ?. I would like to know ?

Mute Dietrich Död
    Favourite Dietrich Död
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:18 AM

I’m a junior lecturer represented by the TUI, I’m on between 20 and 30K. Between contact hours and preparation I am probably working 60 or 70 hours a week. I am on a 2 year contract, many of my colleagues – some of whom have over six years experience – are employed on an hourly paid basis with not contract let alone ‘Iron clad job security’ in sight

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:57 AM

why do we always get this union propaganda dribble out every public sector worker being on 20 -30 K like Dietrich below . laways they same rubbish folk we always haer about entrance salaries as if these guys wages didnt go up dramtically increase . Just go on these CSO and all the actual dat is there

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Feb 28th 2013, 10:02 AM

I graduated last year as a teacher and the only work I’ve had is 2 weeks substituting and a number of unsuccessful interviews. I know things are different nowadays and it wasn’t as tough years ago but the idea that there’s something out there in the public sector for those who have qualified for something like teaching/nursing/Gardai there is limited demand in the private sector for these jobs.

If there’s one thing from the private sector that should be learned by the public sector it’s the idea of what has been called above “iron clad job security”.

Now I’m not certain how it is achievable to put metrics on a lot of these jobs given there often is no “product” in the way there mostly is in private industry but I’m sure it’s possible.

People should be performing in whatever job they are in and so, if performance is measurable, so is underperformance – in which case the “coasters” should be kicked and/or fired.

If the metrics are demonstrable then there is little that a legal challenge could achieve.

I’m sure the bunch of classmates that went to England for work would love to be back in Ireland.

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Feb 28th 2013, 2:08 PM

Tomy… I’m very sorry to hear of your plight. After achieving a degree and not being able to find work is a real travesty. I know that this is no consolation. .. However, this is the way it has been in the US for years. For this reason, in the US, you will find people with several degrees, or working in a field that has little relationship to their degree, or a person at an age past 30 furthering their education. In the US we are use to reinventing ourselves. For example, if something doesn’t work out career wise… Then we try something new. There is no shame in this.

I am a prime example. I have three degrees, several certifications and have worked in 12 different industries. Furthermore, I have been employed since age of 12. Yes I did have a childhood. However, my parents decided early on… That they would give me the basics… If I wanted more, I would have to work for it.

It was tough with sports, school and a job… But I knew nothing different. My success or job was never guaranteed.

I’m not saying you are in tbis group… But there are plenty of people believe that tbey are owed something. Either from their parents, the state or their employer. This type of mentality doesn’t improve the life of the person or our country.

Good luck… Something will come if you take a broader look at your abilities and skills.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Feb 28th 2013, 2:32 PM

Indeed Marlon – I think though that the perception that there are a lot of people out there right now who believe they are “entitled” is overstated.

I never believed I was “entitled” to a job – only entitled to look for one. For my own situation, I’ve chased after this because it’s what I want to do (after working in private industry prior to going back to college) – given there is no work there right now, I’m already branching out to complete a course which has the double benefit of serving private industry and of being extremely relevant to technology teaching.

I do think there is some management that could come from government on PS jobs though. To stick to teaching, there are a bunch of fresh, willing new entrants who’s morale is being sapped before ever getting to the work. While they search for work, they are getting JSB/JSA. Addressing areas where there are poor teachers or teachers near retirement is not, to me, unreasonable. And I’m not talking about forced retirement – just incentives which, while they may cos a little extra, would overall reduce the public pay bill as the retiree is replaced by someone on the lower end of the pay scale who would also not then be claiming social welfare.

Mute Christopher Kelly
    Favourite Christopher Kelly
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:52 AM

This Government has brought to life the meaning of ” Death By A Thousand Cuts ” . What’s worse again is the sublime arrogance in their methods. I’m tired of hearing the Private/Public sector arguments over and over , the fact is the normal everyday man and woman are doing their best to make ends meet and just get by from day to day. I think as a people we have been robbed of a decent standard of living in general by the very people we elected on the basis that they understood and actually cared about its citizens. Is there anybody out there that can actually say that they don’t go from one end of the week to the other without worrying about where they will find the money for the next bill or expense. Isn’t it a sad day in Ireland when we have our disabled people , our most vulnerable people , who receive very little general help as it is getting their allowances cut overnight at the whim of a Minister. The same Minister’s may I add that claim thousands in expenses a month . They then treat with utter distain the frontline workers by cutting into their pay over and over and over till eventually they bring morale to an all time low and have people going into work in many cases hungry and with no money in their pockets to get a cup of tea. What I will say is the Private Sector better heed warning , as when they are done tearing apart the Public Sector I can only imagine that they will be coming after the Private enterprise . Get these overpaid clowns out once and for all .

Mute Regonald Timpson
    Feb 28th 2013, 11:25 AM

The target with Croke Park 2 is €1bn

Perhaps that could be increased to €4 bn ?

Can the country even afford the public sector payroll?

Did you see what we pay compared to other Eurozone countries?

Mute jenny rosen
    Favourite jenny rosen
    Feb 28th 2013, 11:36 AM

Reg simple question you might answer,you keep mentioning other countries notably Greece and Lativia,can you tell everyone the cost of living in these countries.Be honest because i have been to both these countries,Riga is especially beautiful in the autumn.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Feb 28th 2013, 12:28 PM

Yeah you’re right there troll. Get rid of the public sector.We’ll outsource the lot.
    Get the Gardai from Greece. A bit of corruption wouldn’t be out of place.
    Some teachers from Texas. The have a great ethos there and the exam results should skyrocket.
    Some big scary Russian nurses would sort out the health system. Just chop off that arm it’ll be quicker than stitching.
    Some Eskimo firemen would help too with all their experience.

The one group we should keep though are the politicians. They’re running the country perfectly and with great passion and sobriety.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Feb 28th 2013, 12:37 PM

Greece and Latvia reg, Greece and Latvia

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Feb 28th 2013, 12:54 PM
    Mute hsianloon
    Favourite hsianloon
    Feb 28th 2013, 1:32 PM

So you’re saying don’t pay them? That’s very nice of you regi. I guess their value of work is lower vibe than yours since you’re a private worker and all.

Mute Liam kelly
    Favourite Liam kelly
    Feb 28th 2013, 1:44 PM

As already stated reggie, but u choose to ignore..

Ireland cost of PS playbill is 11.2% and the euro average is 11.1% OECD figures… But the again reggie, couldn’t be bothered with actual facts…

Mute Liam kelly
    Favourite Liam kelly
    Feb 28th 2013, 1:49 PM

Yes reggie, occording to OECD we pay 11.2% of GDP for the PS and the euro average Is 11.1%, I’ve already pointed this out to u on other threads, but because its a FACT, you will ignore it as usual…

Mute sean parker
    Favourite sean parker
    Feb 28th 2013, 7:14 PM

Regonald is some banter in fairness,
    Gets me every time

Mute Regonald Timpson
    Feb 28th 2013, 7:57 PM

Reported abusive comment.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:36 PM

Loads more deductions in the public sector wages than in private sector…

Mute sean parker
    Favourite sean parker
    Mar 1st 2013, 1:10 AM

‘Abusive comment’

Haha good man reg, if that’s your idea of abuse , than thank god your bit one of our frontline workers.

Good man

Mute sean parker
    Favourite sean parker
    Mar 1st 2013, 1:12 AM

Not *

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:06 AM

I have learned many things about the Irish cultural and people since relocating to Ireland. Generally, the Irish culture people are very curious in regards to visitors of this country. The average Irish person is compassionate. I’ve never seen such empathy, until I moved to Ireland. However, I’ve never seen such begrudgery until moving here. Further, the blatant amount of greed, entitlement, ignorance, ineffective and disorganization that exist with politicians, public sector managers, and union officials is astounding.

I guess as a blow-in, I see the obvious… And sadly, the obvious is continues to damage this country.

Ireland cannot afford to dwell on the old ways of yesteryear.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:39 AM

Can you elaborate!? What’re the ‘Old Ways of Yesteryear’??

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Feb 28th 2013, 10:08 AM

The old ways of yesteryear:
    • Lawyers, priests, doctors, politicians are above reproach.
    • Governmental decisions and processes are hidden by hind close doors.
    • The Church and State are and integrated entity that makes decisions for Ireland.
    • The Catholic Church is a deciding factor written the Irish Constitution.
    • Political and governing bodies self-regulation
    • Expensive tribunals
    • The difficult act of pursuing white collar crimes
    • Lack of accountability
    • Poor health care

The above are a number of points from yesteryear… I’m sure there are more.

Some of the points are being addressed to some degree. However, a complete make-over stops when any decision affects the pay of the ruling of our politicians.

Mute Declan Conway
    Favourite Declan Conway
    Feb 28th 2013, 10:11 AM

I think he means Nigeria.

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Feb 28th 2013, 10:13 AM

Declan Conway…. What does Nigeria have to do with anything?

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Feb 28th 2013, 11:42 AM

Marlon – I would say we have good healthcare but a poorly run system (which admittedly could be a LOT LOT better)

Other than that, I think Irish local communities think and vote on a local level and that’s not good overall.

To some degree, I think Ireland is changing and the more information that’s out there, the more people are demanding better. I think instead of a revolution type of action we’re slowly evolving into more action. That’s not to paint a picture of major national protest and upset – just that I think people are being more active about mobilising to inform their local representatives about what they want changed.

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Feb 28th 2013, 12:13 PM

Tomy… Unfortunately, I disagree with you regarding health care. The system is poorly managed and there is a major divide as to scientific advances. Please see article in Journal.ie yesterday:

http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/column-ireland-has-the-worst-managed-healthcare-system-in-the-developed-world-810328-Feb2013/

However, I do agree… Ireland is changing to some degree… However, it isn’t by choice. To be honest… I have yet to see an original thought or idea come from any of our politicians or government. If it weren’t for our membership to the EU, many of the laws that exist would not be in place. Ireland was forced by the EU to move forward. Further, changes also happened because of scandal (e.g. Banking, Priests, Laundries, Aherne, Haughey)

Please note… In no way is this attack on your opinion nor am I suggesting a revolution is required. However, I would suggest that an alternative choice must be made. Our representatives and politicians are not prioritising our needs before their own. They seek to insure their security without thinking of our country.
    Please remember… It was at Charles Haughey’s funeral that a speech was given as to how selfless, honest and hardworking he was. The speech also included the fact that Haughey was a patriot of this country. This was the same man who requested that the average hardworking Irish person tighten their belt as he was robbing the country blind.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Feb 28th 2013, 12:51 PM

Marlon makes a fair point in some respects!! I’ll give him his dues! However, on a side-note, your take on the Bloody Sunday massacre & U2′s subsequent tribute to it is ‘slightly’ off there fella!

Mute Randy Cecil
    Favourite Randy Cecil
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:26 AM

It’s time for Ireland to rewrite the lousy labor law and allow trade unionists to fully represent members with binding arbitration AND the right to strike.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:53 AM

I don’t think there is a need for a right to strike. What exists currently is a system which protects strikers provided sufficient notice is served. Personally, I don’t think that’s a bad system given that it allows time for reaction and intervention.

Mute Patrick O'Donnell
    Favourite Patrick O'Donnell
    Feb 28th 2013, 11:08 AM

It is one of the more interesting aspects of this great little nation that the usual suspects turn up in court or tribunals with a batch of lawyers, accountants, spin doctors and whatever to ensure that their ‘rights’ are vindicated but an individual employee has to fight his/her own corner if an employer chooses to not recognise a union.

That’s great if you have the wherewithall to stand your ground and good luck to you. But if you don’t you can be treated like dirt. You have the right to be or not to be a member of a union it should automatically follow that you have a right to be represented by a union if you so choose.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Feb 28th 2013, 11:37 AM

Kind of surprised to see such an amount of red thumbs. I’d love to hear from someone as to why a “right to strike” would be stronger than the current system of serving notice?

Would a “right to strike” not also be conditional of serving notice etc? I just don’t see what would change in that respect.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:28 AM

Ah here Dietrich Död, will you stop with your facts, you’ll upset the anti public sector brigade.

Mute Jay Thompson
    Favourite Jay Thompson
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:13 AM

Uniona can leave the talks all day want they know and everyone else know these cuts have to happen if they want to look like they are fighting them then so be it because they know only to well if the goverment just legislate for them

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:44 AM

I’d like to see them try and legislate it in. They started the fight and we’ll end it. Enough is enough.

Mute Jay Thompson
    Favourite Jay Thompson
    Feb 28th 2013, 8:57 AM

Ryan the know that people cant afford to strike and they are using the leglislation treat to force them to agree to the terms

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:33 AM

They can threat all they want, strike is inevitable if they legislate, we’ll call their bluff.

Mute Jay Thompson
    Favourite Jay Thompson
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:45 AM

We will see

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Feb 28th 2013, 10:21 AM

Then they just sit it out. No big deal. You can’t strike forever. The reason unions are leaving these talks is because they know they’ll be pushed through regardless, so it’s time to save a little face and look like they opposed them all along.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Feb 28th 2013, 1:52 PM

Kevin,

No one will be able to sit it out if the Unions stand together and implement widespread and prolonged industrial action. Doctors, nurses, gardai, teachers, civil service, council workers, electricity and gas utility workers , road, rail, sea and air transport workers and the list goes on. They can grind the country to a shuddering halt in a matter of hours if they choose to do so. That is the power of organised labour if the Unions are prepared to wield it and the government would be wise to tread carefully. We are governed by consent. It’s time the people remembered this truth.

Mute Geraldine O' Rourke
    Favourite Geraldine O' Rourke
    Feb 28th 2013, 12:03 PM

Every one went out on the austerity marched organised ny impact, so if they go for the vote yes in the upcoming ballot the will have thousands walking away from them and the other unions are currently recruiting and plenty are -impressed with the attitude of the others, walking away.

Mute A P Muldowney
    Favourite A P Muldowney
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:19 AM

700000 public sector workers in a population of 5 million ……

Mute Enda Story
    Favourite Enda Story
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:31 AM

300,000 public sector workers in a population of 5 million!

Mute jenny rosen
    Favourite jenny rosen
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:38 AM

A P if your gonna try and start an arguement,will you at least use correct figures.Both amounts are incorrect,Public Sector 292,000 i believe and 4.5 million population.

Mute Peter Govan
    Favourite Peter Govan
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:40 AM

Little off the mark there

Mute ekumen kelly
    Favourite ekumen kelly
    Feb 28th 2013, 11:03 AM

If people don’t want to work in the public sector they should get a job in the private sector it’s so much better.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Feb 28th 2013, 12:10 PM

the cartel need to see the light its “yes ” for people power now knows what the pay is as against what most of them earn

Mute hopefuloptimist
    Favourite hopefuloptimist
    Feb 28th 2013, 9:39 PM

Today as a therapist I’d half the wards where I work to check/work on. One person a few hundred beds… Yes a few hundred. Why? Well annual leave, mat leave and yes sick leave. I’m at the point of falling down tired. Did I get everything done No. Will I tomorrow No. Should I even get out of bed tomorrow? I’m beginning to wonder as I feel I’m getting more and more bogged down. I’ve a month if admin on my desk and yes next wk we still have the mat leave and annual leave…. Its a permanent cover saga as people are off. Is my salary worth this crap? My body doesn’t think it is. So I’ve clocked up 40+ hours and I have tomorrow to go. Should I accept impacts recommendation – I honestly don’t know.