You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The €12 million main prize was the 11th biggest in the history of the Lotto, and the highest in over 2 years.
It’s been rolling over since Saturday 12 April.
Those all important numbers:
13, 14, 24, 31, 35 and 43. The bonus number: 21
The winning ticket was sold in the North West of the country. No further geographical details have been confirmed.
The last time the jackpot was at a similar level was in March of 2012. On that occasion it was won by two ticketholders: Giustina Macari from Kildare town and a Co Meath couple shared the jackpot, each taking home over €5.7 million.
Next Saturday’s jackpot will be back down to a paltry €2 million.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Nathan Hayes: Funny, you never complained for the 71 years previous when the banner was presented and FF and FG Taoiseach marched in front of it to get votes. Funny old world.
@Cal Mooney: You do know that it is one of only 2 banners of its nature formally approved by New York City to be paraded every single year since 1948. Why do you suddenly have a problem with it. You gave to admit that it does come across as hypocrisy.
@Cal Mooney: the reason he didn’t have a problem with it before now is because nobody knew about the banner. The banner became public knowledge here when the leader of SF decided to act stupid and March behind it. Let’s be honest if Leo or mehole were there instead of Mary Lou, you’d be singing the riot act to.
@Cal Mooney: As a person who’s half English, I have a problem who tells anyone my mother to leave, including ff and fg, or anyone else for that matter.
@Nathan Hayes: Your mis-interpreting the banner, its directed at single people its directed at the occupation of the island of Ireland by the british. I have english friends and family but still dont agree with the occupation
@Will Thompson: In the modern republic, there isn’t an occupation. So the leader of the SF party in the republic shouldnt hold up such a banner, it has super negative connotations, regardless of what it truly means.
@Nathan Hayes: Exactly why I said Island. Negative connotations. How about the countless number of soldiers that fought and died for their right to occupy their own land who are now classed as terrorists but as soon the brits or yanks stick their nose in somewhere they’re called an army. Get a grip, its an 800 year occupation and as long as they’re there they will meet resistance!
@Nathan Hayes: but that’s not what it’s saying, I don’t support SF,but I haven’t met an Irish person that doesn’t want the English establishment out of Ireland,it’s nothing against your mother or you.
@Nathan Hayes: please open your eyes son,out country still has 6 counties occupied by England,our 26 counties is only temporary, just cause your happy to forget about 6 counties of Ireland, doesn’t mean I do or the leader of an Irish republican party
@Daniel Roche: that’s a very sweeping statement, which doesn’t take much to disprove, like just one person out of the 4.7 million from the 26 counties, let alone those up north who identify as Irish. Odds aren’t in favour of you being right
@Nathan Hayes: I understand your concerns however what is meant by England out of Ireland means the establisment having any say on the island of Ireland and it certainly does not mean english people in general whom we are friends with are related to and most definately love. The ties between the English and Irish people goes far beyond a sign held at some parare.
@Nathan Hayes: nobody is telling your mother or any British person to leave. We are clearly telling the British establishment to get out of our country.
@Nathan Hayes: You should re-evaluate your understanding of the English word; the banner says England get out of Ireland NOT English get out of Ireland .There is a difference and the SF objective is for a united Ireland ergo England should not be Governing any part of Ireland . We still are living the effects of the plantations .
Fine Gael going nowhere, they’ve never had a Dáil majority and they never will. They do no represent the majority of the Irish people. Ireland’s Tory party out
@John Somers:
I can assure you John I will not be voting for either but after the next election we will most likely either have a continuation of the existing government or FF SF. Can’t see anything else happening.
@P Quinn: applying your logic means FF did represent the majority of Ireland.
But yet FF basically opposed marriage equality and repeal 8th referendum s, both of which passed by a landslide majority. Repeal 8th had the biggest landslide of any ref.
So it’s a bit much to claim or even suggest that just FF held a majority in the Dail that the represented a majority of Ireland.
I’m no fan of FG and they’ve made a balls of a good few things, but they’ve handled numerous things including Brexit far better then FF ever could.
@P Quinn: sinn fein is far too toxic to be attractive as a coalition partner for any of the mainstream parties, although if the figures added up for FF, who knows what would happen?
Good good for Sinn Fein, who want to tax me 62% so I’ll work for the state until 9.45am Thursday to pay for benefits for the 5.1% not doing any work or making any contribution to the public finances.
@The Risen: Sinn Fein would tax the life out of companies who create jobs, they would of course increase cooperation tax of multinationals who would in turn move to Eastern Europe taking jobs with them and also Sinn Fein would screw the farmers with tax hikes the back bone of this country.
@The Risen: pontificator of all things it appears. Amazing how such a talent spends his days trying to educate the masses on all things of your own opinion. Must be exhausting correcting people. Fed up being successful are we?
@Gee: Yeah, sorry SF are against things like not trying to solve the Health service and homeless crises. Sorry for being in support of holding ministers who manage to overspend 1.3 billion on a hospital. I know you are all for it. I could go on, but I don’t think you listen very well my friend.
@Cal Mooney: under Provisional SF homelessness in NI has reached a level that is six times worse per capita, than the disastrous level FG is responsible for here
@Stephen Kearon: If you knew anything about the North, you would know that how homelessness is measured is very different to the South. Everyone on HAP would be considered as homeless using your methodology. Using that metric down here would leave 800,000 homeless. You must try harder Stephen.
@Cal Mooney: if you knew anything you would know that homelessness there has increased by over 30%, jog on if you think anyone with a brain believes Shinner maths
@Chin Feeyin:
I think SF fiscal policies would be economic suicide but there is no doubt that “Pearce” Doherty nailed Noonan back in the 2016 GE and I believe contributed to the loss of seats FG took.
@SidNolan: Wow, this week of all weeks demonstrated that the ‘Conservative and Unionist’ party in England couldn’t even get their brethren in the North of this Island to come on board after 2 years and billion euro bribes .. but I like what you did there, make out that SF are the ones that are unreasonable. The rest of Europe is just open mouth aghast at how intransigent the DUP are, but you make it out that it’s SF that don’t want to share power?
@Stephen Kearon: Ireland just uses 3 Catergories of ETHOS Light typology re ‘official’ homeless figures and excludes most Catergories.
The UK just excludes 1 Catergory of ETHOS Light Categories!
Also Northern Ireland has compiled a Report using all 13/14 Catergories of full version of ETHOS typology!
Sinn Fein have badly let down their electorate up North and its probably having a domino effect on this pole.
Non participation and shouting abuse from the sidelines is that parties speciality and more people thankfully seem to be realising this.
@sean de paore: Up north, they won their seats on a policy of abstention. Amazing the amount of people so used to being let down post election, that still have a problem with politicians who actually stick to their word.
@iComment: SF taking there seats won’t make a slight bit if difference. And the fact there is more votes Next Week is an insult to democracy and another reason SF shouldn’t take there seats.
@Roy Dowling: Provisional SFs never ending support for IRA terrorists is real insult to democracy, such as them applauding killers of our Gardai at their Ard Fheis
@Stephen Kearon: Speaking of supporting the IRA, didn’t the former leader of your party, charlie haughey, get caught up in a scandal trying to import guns for them?
@Stephen Kearon: Funny, U have always objected to a proper public inquiry into the Dublin Monaghan bombings which killed 3 times more people in the South in one day than all the IRA activities. Do you deliberately pick sound bites to suit your argument? You are on another thread tonight saying that all the civilians murdered in Gaza, Men Women and a disproportionate number of children died from something other than a disproportionate military response by the Israelis and that the murdered and injured are too stupid to know what freedom they need.
@iComment: you do realize,they get elected cause they don’t take there seats, like I don’t vote SF,but you have to respect a party sticking to there election promises
@James Wallace: of course they want a hard no deal Brexit, increases the support for a border patrol. But, has anyone figured out what would happen if the North votes for unification but the south votes against accepting the £12 billion a year liability a year that the north is?
@Daniel Roche:
Election promises have little to do with elections in NI and everything to do with a sectarian head count.
Just over half the population vote DUP to keep SF out and the rest vote SF to try get DUP out.
@Vocal Outrage:Jaysus man, it was only 9 billion according to your estimates a year ago. Did Denis Oobrien get in contact with your party since the 2018 estimate? International and prize winning economists say that within 5 years it would be a 15 billion boon positive to thisIslands economy. But I should defer to your economic genius on this one. Why would I ever doubt your motives.
Mary Lou is not the right leader. She certainly hasn’t got her finger on the pulse over Northern Ireland and I’m not quite sure where she is on Brexit.
@Cal Mooney: they would probably take seats in Westminster also and go toe to toe over there for their cause. Abstentionism is a kop out and even suits the opposition. It’s not rocket science that given the situation over there SF could be very influential. Swear allegiance to the Queen (lie, after all, they are politicians) and get in the trenches.
Provisional SF’s magic beans economics and naked sectarianism has being exposed, they utterly bombed in Aras18 despite the huge money they spent. Wonder how long before real puppet masters in Belfast intervene, especially as Provisional SF always get less in real election than polls
@Stephen Kearon: magic beans economics of SF ?? FF ruined the economy 10 years ago and FG are giving us the absolute disgrace of the National children’s hospital which is coming in at least €800 million over budget. Saying SF economics are “magic beans” really doesn’t fly anymore,FF and FG have actually screwed the country’s finances to an unforgivable degree .
@The Risen: if it wasn’t our country it’d be funny seeing how bad things have to get before ff feel confident enough to withdraw support. The many crises we’ve had and they still know they have no chance.
@Adam O’Donoghue: Twit. The fact that FF/FG economics are dodgy, doesnt suddenly make SF snake oil valid. I have no particular issue with any party, but SF can’t do basic sums, let alone complicated stuff like compound interest
@George Salter: but SF can do sums,their budget submissions have all been tested by the Department for finance.FG do sums to deliberately screw the public purse in favour of their pals in business and to help their own business interests
Good. Flutes. Eternally in the oppositon with no real intent to lead because they haven’t got the ability to. How the leader acts in a very public settings is a good example of this.
ohn Mulligan: Through the Brexit process??? – are you telling me it is over???
when did the Brexit debacle finish?? what is the end result??
you are better off trying to peddle that book in Waterstones, because your non fiction here is crap
@John Mulligan: Isn`t Damien English another clown with the title of Minister for Housing and Urban Development.??
hows his portfolio working out?
Jesus, but you back some losers – i`d say you lost everything but your virginity at Cheltenham
@Willy: Even during the worst crash in our history, caused by FF, SF couldn’t become relevant. So you guys keep telling yourself they will come out on top, sane people not only don’t believe it, they don’t even waste time thinking about SF. Completely irrelevant.
Are people finally wishing up to the IRA?
Or will their popularity jump up a bit when they shake a few promises out of the magic Venezuelan money tree?
Wouldn’t it be wonderful if the politicians with some integrity from across all the party’s got together and formed a new one that actually put the people at the top of their agenda… oh wait. Never mind…
The Shinner abstentionist policy from Westminster, & their collapsing of the Stormont executive, has rendered them irrelevant in the current critical discourse, so they have only themselves to blame.
They have given the DUP a free hand on Brexit, & left the remain constituency in NI, both nationalist & unionist, with just 1 spokesperson in parliament.
This purist abstentionism had a mandate & justification in 1919, but it most certainly is nonsense today, when pragmatic politics is struggling to sustain & propagate the western style democracies that have served us well since 1945. Even more so in Ireland, where democratic politics succeeded in establishing a peaceful co-existence after 30 years of terrorism.
The people deserve representation from those they have entrusted with their votes.
@Johnny Conway: if you compare Red C polls with actual elections you will find them to be one of the most accurate polling companies. They also publish full details of the methodology of their polls for anyone bothered to read
Yould have to say she is not a great salesperson. It was a stupid thing to do and be photographed doing. With that attitude a united Ireland will never happen. And Cal you are deluded!!!
FF the puppets of FG.All these FF tossers in Fingal cant get a Garda station open in Malahide yet an independent muppet can. Remember the FF wasters in Fingal when it comes to election time. Fickle voters in Malahide or idiots blinded by family dynasties. Of course I forgot sure Malahide are all blow ins.
That poll is so stupid the power of media while the only Party that hold Fine Gael accountable for there actions every single day in the Dail .FF sit back and watch Fine Gael tear this Country a part and do absolutely nothing. I don’t think the people of Ire are going to be that stupid when it comes to the Elections.
Sweden tipped to beat Ireland's record and everything else you need to know about Eurovision
1 hr ago
The Morning Lead
'Woke Marxist Pope': Why MAGA Catholics aren't too happy about the election of Leo XIV
Diarmuid Pepper
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 187 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 126 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 165 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 129 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 91 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 92 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 44 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 41 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 150 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 69 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 88 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 95 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 40 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 56 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 107 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 111 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 79 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 60 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 100 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 83 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say