You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Donegall Road Google Streetview

PSNI officer fires shot during loyalist paramilitary arrest

A shot was discharged by a PSNI officer during the arrest of four men on suspicion of loyalist paramilitary activity but nobody was injured.

FOUR MEN ARE being questioned by police in Northern Ireland on suspicion of loyalist paramilitary activity.

The suspects were detained on Donegall Road in south Belfast last night. The incident, which occurred after officers stopped their car, has been referred to the Police Ombudsman as a shot was discharged by a member of the PSNI.

The men are still being questioned at the Serious Crime Suite in Antrim. Detectives have issued an appeal for information and want anyone who saw any unusual activity in the area at about 8pm last night to contact them.

Read: Three pipe bombs found in Limerick house

More: Doherty has “no reason to disbelieve” Adams when he says he wasn’t in the IRA

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Nov 7th 2013, 1:57 PM

No doubt Unionist leaders will stay quiet.

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:18 PM

“Suspicious loyalist activity,” aren’t they the murder-squads controlled by Special Branch and MI5/MI6?

Mute Peter_Artnold
    Favourite Peter_Artnold
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:45 PM

Every time a loyalist paramilitary is charged it always comes out that they were working as an agent of the Special Branch or the military in the North. You can’t even become responsible for buying the Coffee for UVF meetings without being a Special Branch asset. It is also why the Loyalists never killed members for being informers, everyone one was on the payroll.

Mute pat mustard
    Favourite pat mustard
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:18 PM

It won’t be too long before Patrick Lyons is along to somehow blame SF for this!

Mute Seán Forbeis Ó Dobhailen-Osborne
    Favourite Seán Forbeis Ó Dobhailen-Osborne
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:12 PM

He’s not been bailed yet!

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Nov 7th 2013, 1:46 PM

A shot was fired not even a number “a” shot was fired ….. mean while in Murica “I was like … pew pew pew pew pew “

Mute Peter_Artnold
    Favourite Peter_Artnold
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:30 PM

The UVF and UFF between them have thousands of paramilitary members. In East Belfast alone there is over a 1000 members.

These are org’s signed up to the Good Friday Agreement.

Why is their no pressure or demand for them to stand down. I understand the Unionist politicians need them for getting the vote out and putting pressure on the streets but why no media demand, no demand from Dublin or London.

PIRA are gone 6 years why are the paramilitary forces of Unionism not doing the same.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:44 PM

Do you really believe PIRA are gone?

Mute Peter_Artnold
    Favourite Peter_Artnold
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:51 PM

Yes. The British believe, the Irish state believes it, the PSNI believe it, the Guards believe it, the DUP believe it. All international monitors believe it.

Loyalists do not but they are so paranoid and self-isolated that it is pointless to even convince them. How do you reason with them?

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Nov 7th 2013, 3:01 PM

Living on foreign land would make one Paranoid. The land they come from Scotland will become independent very soon. What will they do then. No Union…..No Flag.

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:48 PM

Guards?

Do you mean An Garda Síochána?

Mute Séamus Mc Allister
    Favourite Séamus Mc Allister
    Nov 7th 2013, 6:42 PM

You know what he meant, don’t be a sh1thead.

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Nov 7th 2013, 9:49 PM

It’s factually incorrect. But then after seeing your charming comment it’s hardly surprising that that’s lost on you.

Mute Peter_Artnold
    Favourite Peter_Artnold
    Nov 7th 2013, 9:56 PM

Aireach. Don’t be so socially maladjusted.

Mute Peter_Artnold
    Favourite Peter_Artnold
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:40 PM

In East Belfast a PSNI man is a rare sight. It has been handed over to the UVF and their 1000 members there under the Brigadier known as the “Beast from the East”.

It is time that Loyalist Paramilitaries are taken on and broken up rather than having a blind eye turned to them most of the time. This is great to see but it is quiet unusual for it to happen.

Mute John Mullen
    Favourite John Mullen
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:36 PM

They must need some new assets, therefore the arrests.

Mute Shane Mac An TSionnaigh
    Favourite Shane Mac An TSionnaigh
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:09 PM

Pity the bullet missed

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Nov 7th 2013, 3:35 PM

Good work by the police.

Mute Johnny Reynolds
    Favourite Johnny Reynolds
    Nov 7th 2013, 6:48 PM

Would the real Patrick Lyons please stand up

Mute Seán Forbeis Ó Dobhailen-Osborne
    Favourite Seán Forbeis Ó Dobhailen-Osborne
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:33 PM

More importantly, why isn’t more work being done by leaders in the Republic, convincing the Unionist community that a united Ireland isn’t the doomsday scenario they’ve all been raised to believe? Why don’t we use prominent successful Protestant people in the South to aid in this charm offensive? Whilst we’re at it the Dublin Government should be making provision in the Constitution of Ireland, safeguarding the Unionist people’s right to preserve their history & culture in a 32 County Ireland.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:47 PM

Probably because they cannot afford it right now.

Mute tankedfrank
    Favourite tankedfrank
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:19 PM

Shinners won’t like this the police are supposed to be colluding with loyalists- scratch the head time for the propaganda machine in SF. Just keep the heat of Gerry is the official strategy from the SF army council. Disgusting

Mute #Tag
    Favourite #Tag
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:02 PM

On behalf of the sane…what crap are you talking?

Mute Daniel.
    Favourite Daniel.
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:36 PM

No that was years ago. The psnira as the loyalists call them are all ‘taigs’ out to get the pul community. Give them pul lads a taste of heavy handed policing and rubber bullets for a few years.

Mute John Mullen
    Favourite John Mullen
    Nov 7th 2013, 4:38 PM

@tankthewank. G’wan outa that ya gombeen ya.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Nov 7th 2013, 6:03 PM

for once reading the comment section on the journal doesnt make me sick and ashamed to be irish,i was begining to think ye were all west brits !!!

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Nov 7th 2013, 2:14 PM

Shame