You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Transdev confirm investigation underway after incident at Bluebell Luas stop

The altercation occurred at Bluebell Luas stop on Friday.

LUAS OPERATORS TRANSDEV have confirmed it is investigating an incident which occurred at Bluebell Luas stop on Friday. 

A video posted on social media shows an altercation between two uniformed Luas staff members and a young man.

The man is then pulled to the ground and restrained by both staff members at the side of the platform. 

“This incident is under investigation,” a spokesperson for Transdev confirmed. “Once  completed appropriate action will be taken.

“We are making no further comment at this time,” they added. 

A spokesperson for An Garda Síochána said: “Gardaí attended the scene of an incident at Bluebell Luas Stop that occurred at approximately 5.30pm on Friday 27th September 2019. As this matter is currently under investigation, it would not be appropriate for An Garda Síochána to comment further on this matter at this time.”

Gardaí and Transdev are also investigating another incident which saw an intending Luas passenger restrained on the ground for several minutes by staff members from the private firm tasked with providing security on the Luas system. 

Transdev has said it is investigating all of the facts associated with this incident, which happened on the platform of the city centre Jervis Street stop on Thursday evening last week. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute Rob LLoyd
    Favourite Rob LLoyd
    Sep 29th 2019, 1:42 PM

To be fair, when you see how some people at on public transport, i

Mute Rob LLoyd
    Favourite Rob LLoyd
    Sep 29th 2019, 1:45 PM

@Rob LLoyd: I am not surprised this happened , it’s time we had a dedicated transport police service,

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:38 PM

@Rob LLoyd: a dedicated transport police? Dublin is not a big place, we don’t need Garda sitting on the red line all day long.

Mute Dave.
    Favourite Dave.
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:44 PM

@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: I think you’ll find you actually might !

Mute Jen McCartney
    Favourite Jen McCartney
    Sep 29th 2019, 3:03 PM

@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: I can only think that you don’t use the red line Luas so. Transport is completely necessary. The Dart isn’t much better to be honest.

Mute Maria McGovern
    Favourite Maria McGovern
    Sep 29th 2019, 5:09 PM

@Rob LLoyd: do you have more than one ID and forget to sign out of Rob Lloyd to comment on the posting

Mute Kieran Henry
    Favourite Kieran Henry
    Sep 29th 2019, 5:17 PM

@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: maybe put them on the Blue Line. The thin one, that is.

Mute Rob LLoyd
    Favourite Rob LLoyd
    Sep 29th 2019, 6:15 PM

@Maria McGovern: No , I posted by mistake before finishing comment, Fat Finger Syndrome , my bad

Mute Al Madzer
    Favourite Al Madzer
    Sep 29th 2019, 8:25 PM

@Maria McGovern: you can clearly see he continued his comment…. You must have a pathetic life if that’s what you decided to comment on.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Sep 30th 2019, 12:08 AM

@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: Toronto brought one in with powers of arrest when trouble started on their metro

Mute Nigel Barlow
    Favourite Nigel Barlow
    Sep 30th 2019, 9:29 PM

@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: well they could also go onto the Green Line to make it less boring for them

Mute ginger tomcat
    Favourite ginger tomcat
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:11 PM

As a regular user, Some of behaviour by ‘passengers’ is criminal, as a regular user I’ve seen drug use, assaults, verbal harassment of passengers and staff.
    I’ve even seen gangs of teenagers jumping on luas to abuse security, shouting at them you can t touch us, to point I’ve seen security get off and leave passengers at kids mercy
    but I have also seen security see troublemakers on luas and wait for next one.do occasionally feel sorry for them.

Sad to say worst trouble makers never asked for ticket by inspectors either.

Security need some powers but also then need to be accountable via complaints procedure.

Mute Rosie
    Favourite Rosie
    Sep 29th 2019, 1:55 PM

Have any of you been on either Red/Green Luas s recently and seen what those guards and men in black have to put up with ?

Mute richard brogan
    Favourite richard brogan
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:06 PM

I’m from down the country. But every time I go to Dublin I need to use the luas and see some amount of lunatics on board.

Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:13 PM

So what. Don’t let the filth run this city. Run them out instead.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:49 PM

@Alan McArdle: Richest county by far…..chew on that bog boy, we pay for your services so kneel and pay due respect.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Sep 29th 2019, 3:14 PM

@Peter Hughes: Take care not to get shot.

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Sep 29th 2019, 3:22 PM

@Peter Hughes: Absolutely stupid comment !

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Sep 29th 2019, 3:31 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: FACT

Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    Sep 29th 2019, 5:32 PM

@Peter Hughes: Troll. Or stupid tribal Gom

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham
    Sep 29th 2019, 6:39 PM

@Peter Hughes: idiot

Mute ☘
    Favourite ☘
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:12 PM

i watched the video it was very heavy handed and the boy didn’t even raise a hand to the bullies

Mute Malachi Shanks
    Favourite Malachi Shanks
    Sep 30th 2019, 9:53 AM

@☘: they had taken his property and were bullying him before they assaulted him. Hope he sues the s hi te out of them

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:17 AM

@☘: U didnt see the whole situation that led up to that

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Sep 29th 2019, 1:55 PM

If they’re suspended or let go, I wouldn’t be surprised if their fellow ticket inspectors went on strike.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:42 PM

Shocked reading the comments here, has everyone lost rational thought??
    Yes we shouldnt have sc umbags and junkies intimidating people but equally we cant have private security acting like this, the security guards here should be sacked and possible charged with assault

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Sep 30th 2019, 7:16 AM

@Thomas Maher: I sometimes wait for a bus close to Red Cow luas stop. It seems luas security do change shifts there or something like that. I have always see them to go through ticket machines checking every change slots right after they get off the train. They do it right in front of all of the people there.

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Sep 29th 2019, 1:40 PM

Jaysus…this isn’t news

Mute Dan Skelton
    Favourite Dan Skelton
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:42 PM

Last time I went on the Luas, I had two men (where I say men I mean words I can’t say due to Journal filter) kick a pregnant woman in the stomach and there was a fight. I genuinely feared for my life as idk if the scrots were carrying or not.

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne
    Sep 29th 2019, 1:45 PM

These security firms seem to attract trouble

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Sep 29th 2019, 1:54 PM

@Tommy Byrne: They’re ticket inspectors

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Sep 29th 2019, 1:58 PM

@Tommy Byrne: To be fair, trouble is rarely dished out unwarranted.

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:03 PM

@Daniel Dunne: have you seen the video?? Look to me like he wanted to get his paperwork back off them

Mute Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Sep 29th 2019, 2:34 PM

@Tommy Byrne: Have you seen the video…oh wait half a video,there fixed your response.Two sides to every story we only see half a video here not the full story

Mute Tommy Byrne
    Favourite Tommy Byrne
    Sep 29th 2019, 6:40 PM

@Jim O Brien – TechBuzz Ireland: a half a story is better than a one sided story

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Sep 29th 2019, 10:27 PM

@Jim O Brien – TechBuzz Ireland: well last nights story when it broke had witnesses saying that the young lad why trying to defend a defenceless elderly person from being abused by the two LUAS thugs and they didn’t take kindly to it and attacked him after taking his phone of him of the recording he had of them, but sure it’s the journal, you never get the full story and proper news from them.

Mute Marty
    Favourite Marty
    Sep 29th 2019, 4:15 PM

Brute force is happening because people of sick the anti social behaviour by passengers this would not be tolerated in any other country… FFS the government knew this was eventually happen.
    Now they might take action and give power to security

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Sep 29th 2019, 3:29 PM

Imagine how scary it must be for the ordinary folk going about their business having to put up with and see this sorta thing on the Luas so regularly. Then the powers that be who will never have to use public transport to get to their ivory towers, want people forced from their cars and packed into public transport like cattle without any thinking of maybe some extra gardai or a dedicated transport police to try curb this sorta thing and the rest, where you have gangs of abusive youths or individuals on drink or drugs threatening people with it seems very little in the way of protection, unless these kind of security guards are around.

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Sep 29th 2019, 3:01 PM

I’d pity anyone living up there

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Sep 29th 2019, 3:08 PM

Can the journal or anybody clarify the law here not their opinion of the law. Garda have the right to physically restrain people, event security eg at a concert Don’t. Do luas staff or those hired by transdev have the right to physically restrain people? Reasonable force is not an answer and not stated on the luas website T&C’s

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Sep 29th 2019, 4:10 PM

@gary mullen: The “ticket inspectors ” can ask you to leave with a calm open hand to the back to escort you off, that’s even pushing it, they can’t use any form of force unless directly attacked to defend themselves in self defence only. The young guy was a dick, but they broke the law and can be charged for assaulting him. Only the guards would have the authority to forcibly remove him if they believe he is causing a public disorder offence.

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Sep 29th 2019, 4:49 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: thanks, that’s what I thought. I know there is a lot of undesirable people using public transport in Dublin but under no circumstances should a hand be put on them, unless like you said in self defense.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Sep 29th 2019, 5:00 PM

@gary mullen: any restraint, garda or otherwise, has to be proportionate. Was this?
    https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2450701081633025&id=100000794719810&sfnsn=mo&d=n&vh=i

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Sep 29th 2019, 5:01 PM

@gary mullen: any use of force, garda or otherwise, has to be proportionate. Was this?
    https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2450701081633025&id=100000794719810&sfnsn=mo&d=n&vh=i

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Sep 29th 2019, 5:53 PM

@Matt Connolly: in my opinion Matt, no but like I said in my previous comments I can understand reasonable force being used in self defense if you are defending yourself from being attacked. From this video and again my opinion as I was not there at the time, this level of force was uncalled for and unjustified. I do not know what happened before this but there is no need for the luas staff to act in that way as the chap was not attacking them from that video. I suggest you look at my previous question / commet as I’m not quite sure what your point is?

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Sep 29th 2019, 5:53 PM

@Matt Connolly: @Matt Connolly: in my opinion Matt, no but like I said in my previous comments I can understand reasonable force being used in self defense if you are defending yourself from being attacked. From this video and again my opinion as I was not there at the time, this level of force was uncalled for and unjustified. I do not know what happened before this but there is no need for the luas staff to act in that way as the chap was not attacking them from that video. I suggest you look at my previous question / commet as I’m not quite sure what your point is?

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Sep 29th 2019, 10:31 PM

@gary mullen: Event security at concerts/events etc have PSA licences and have the absolute right to restrain you if you’re being aggressive towards them or other patrons at said events. Working the events and you’d know the Garda only step in when requested by Event staff, the Garda don’t usually get involved at all.

Mute Steven Moens
    Favourite Steven Moens
    Sep 30th 2019, 1:09 AM

@gary mullen: Law says any person in the jurisdiction of this country can use reasonable, proportionate and justifiable force to prevent a crime, stop a crime in progress in self defence and in defence of another. You’ll find it in the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Acts.

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Sep 30th 2019, 7:37 AM

@Steven Moens: thank you!

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:23 AM

@gary mullen: @ga wrong they do and can

Mute Den Sullivan
    Favourite Den Sullivan
    Sep 29th 2019, 4:49 PM

Good on em

Mute John Mack
    Favourite John Mack
    Sep 29th 2019, 6:52 PM

Bad behaviour is endemic among young elements in the lower socio-economic groups. It won’t be countered in the home and so society must battle parental neglect on an industrial scale. Education and fixing responsibility are key but how to deliver that? 3

Mute Patrick Murphy
    Favourite Patrick Murphy
    Sep 29th 2019, 8:46 PM

Transdev security or revenue protection have no authority whatsoever on platforms as it’s public property. Their jurisdiction is only onboard. Whereas I think we have all seen them detain people on the platform to get their details when it is completely unlawful.

Mute Paul Whelan
    Favourite Paul Whelan
    Sep 29th 2019, 7:24 PM

Jesus , there are some tie rags using that service , total animals , remove the security , let the animals win.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Sep 29th 2019, 7:38 PM

Dublins gone to Shite if your unlucky enough to live outside D4, Take the law into your own hands from now on, loads of people willing to sit & talk bollix but no one willing to help , its the Snowflakes/PC V’s the Upstarts, I know who my money’s on!

Mute Dermot Bohan
    Favourite Dermot Bohan
    Sep 30th 2019, 11:02 AM

test

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:15 AM

was a very professional control and restraint they seemed to remaim calm and in control