You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Luas strikes planned for tomorrow and Friday have been called off

Good news for commuters, students – and fans of Bruce Springsteen.

STRIKES ON THE Luas system in Dublin planned for tomorrow and on Friday have been cancelled.

The planned stoppages have been cancelled after Siptu accepted an invitation to talks tomorrow at the Labour Court.

Stoppages had been planned for four hours tomorrow and all day on Friday.

A series of four hour stoppages have also been planned for six days in June, as the long-running dispute between drivers and management continues.

Those strikes are still scheduled to go ahead, according to the Luas website.

Tomorrow’s talks have come about after the Labour Court initiated an approach which is believed to have been facilitated by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions.

This morning’s development is good news for Bruce Springsteen fans, as well as commuters. The New Jersey singer is due to play the first of two Croke Park concerts on Friday evening.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

116 Comments
    Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    May 25th 2016, 11:49 AM

This better not be because Transdev have upped their offer…

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy
    May 25th 2016, 12:04 PM

I’d reckon it was of mutual benefit as the drivers know damn well public support is not on their side. There may have been no deal apart from agreeing to work through the Springsteen concerts to avoid the public backlash for both drivers and management.

Mute Una Dunphy
    Favourite Una Dunphy
    May 25th 2016, 12:49 PM

Of course they have , this is how trade disputes work, are you a shareholder?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Sam McCormack
    Favourite Sam McCormack
    May 25th 2016, 1:04 PM

Fúck off Una.

Mute Sam McCormack
    Favourite Sam McCormack
    May 25th 2016, 1:05 PM

I really hope it isn’t because Transdev upped their offer. They should not be giving in.

Mute Assel Dannourah
    Favourite Assel Dannourah
    May 25th 2016, 1:09 PM

I hope trannydev have gone all the way in order to get this wage transformation done and that the looooser drivers like the new changed boss they have after all this is said and done God help them all

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    May 25th 2016, 1:13 PM

Drivers realised that they’re not going to be paid for working half-days BUT they can’t change the half-day strikes to full-day strikes as it would interfere with the Leaving Cert

So they’re stuck between a rock & a hard place. And now they’ve been giving an option to cancel the immediate strikes, including a bunch of half-days (I can guarantee next week’s strikes will be cancelled also) and to spin it as giving the appearance of them being giving some leeway.

From Transdev’s comments to date, nothing is going to be tabled above the 13% agreed with the other bands of employees. And let’s not forget that Transdev operate in something like 20 countries. There’s a lot more in the message they’re sending to other countries, than what’s actually riding on the Luas deal here itself.

I can’t see Transdev offering anything like 20%, 18% again, or even 15%.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    May 25th 2016, 1:21 PM

Where’s Wally? I want to set him up on a date.

Mute Alex Murray
    Favourite Alex Murray
    May 25th 2016, 1:42 PM

solidarity with transdev

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    May 25th 2016, 2:30 PM

If i was a shareholder Una i’d take great pleasure in working night and day to put you and your comrades on the dole.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    May 25th 2016, 3:25 PM

Fair play Una. You’ve gotten right up the noses of the neo liberal gimps that prowl the Journal.

Solidarity with the Luas drivers, the Tesco and Cadbury workers, the 999 operators, the nurses, the teachers and all workers struggling to obtain a greater share of the wealth which we create. As the data clearly shows, the trend over the past few decades has been overwhelmingly in the opposite direction with greater and greater wealth accumulating to capital owners and less and less to the workers. This has disastrous consequences for society and it’s long past time we reversed the rotten system which sees 62 individuals now holding the same wealth as the poorest half of the globes population, 3500 million people.

Paying all workers a decent wage is in the interests of the vast majority. Business in general wants its customers to have as much money in their pockets as possible to purchase their products and services and generate revenue and profit. In contrast, each individual firm wants to pay their workers as little as possible to reduce costs in order to maximize profit. In the macro economy, the workers ARE the customers and this glaring contradiction is lost on the slavering neo liberals eternally demanding wage cuts and ‘flexibility’ such as zero hour contracts in the labour market.

It’s always aggregate demand and spending through the whole economy that ultimately creates and maintains jobs. Someone’s spending is always someone else’s job and income as the macro economy is circular. It is the aggregate spending of everyone in the economy, public, private, individuals and businesses that maintains and creates employment. We have seen the result of slashed government and private sector spending over the past 8 years of Austerity reflected in our massive dole queues, planes full of emigrants and mounting social problems such as the homelessness crisis.

Around half of any money that the Luas drivers get in a pay rise will end up increasing the government’s tax take which can be used to fund social services like health and education which benefit us all. The remainder of the pay increase will be spent in the local economy supporting other jobs and families. One person’s spending is another person’s income and job as the macro economy is circular. Transdev profits in contrast will be hoovered out of the country in dividend payments etc and will do nothing to support the local economy.

More money in the hands of the working class in beneficial for society generally. More money in the hands of the minority capitalist elite is bad news as they already have an obscene share of the world’s wealth and continue to hoard ever more.

It’s interesting to hear the majority here arguing against their own interests and for more money to accrue to those who already have too much.

Now I wonder who might benefit from keeping us in blind ignorance on the nature of the class divide and how the macro economy actually works? Possibly the kind of people who have accounts with Mossack Fonseca in Panama maybe?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 25th 2016, 3:44 PM

Broken Fcuking record.. No one is interested in your bullcrap Wally. Move on.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    May 25th 2016, 3:49 PM

Wally – are the Luas drivers going to be wearing nappies ?

And who is going to force them to wear them – the “banksters” or the “neoliberals”?

Or maybe you have backed down on that claim

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 25th 2016, 4:04 PM

Wally please show your workings how will 50% of the pay rise end up in local economy? Do drivers not take foreign holidays or use the Internet for shopping?

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    May 25th 2016, 4:10 PM

@Wayne – Pretty sure I just figured out why Wally never answers direct questions

If you take each individual paragraph above and Google it, it shows he says the **exact** same thing several times (word-for-word) in other Journal articles.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    May 25th 2016, 4:21 PM

and the guards wally?

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    May 25th 2016, 7:11 PM

David There’s certainly a job for you somewhere in the Guards with such startling powers of deduction. Though let’s hope you’re not too honest or the Commissioner will try to have you destroyed as in the McCabe case.

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    May 25th 2016, 8:41 PM

Wally, it’s because of the like of you, I hate the word “solidarity”.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 9:21 PM

Una, if you have a pension, your scheme may well have shares in transdev.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 9:22 PM

Solidarity with the worker commuters.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 9:26 PM

The driver will either spend their pay rise on holidays in Majorca, or the smarter ones will invest in stocks & shares.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    May 25th 2016, 10:06 PM

An original post, Wally? I feel so honoured.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 10:46 PM

Yawwwwwwwnnnnnn…

Mute Keith Flood
    Favourite Keith Flood
    May 26th 2016, 1:48 AM

Yawn

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 26th 2016, 8:45 AM

Don’t mind Wally. He can’t even answer such simple questions as ‘how much is a fair wage’ and ‘what is the dividing line between working class and upper class’ without throwing out some diversionary tactic or refusing to answer.

Just like the rest of the AAA communists.

Mute Bobby Neary
    Favourite Bobby Neary
    May 25th 2016, 11:47 AM

Aren’t they a fine bunch of lads calling it off..the smaller pay packet must be hurting them..

Mute OnTheOutside
    Favourite OnTheOutside
    May 25th 2016, 11:57 AM

The unions pay them while they are on strike IIRC

Mute Una Dunphy
    Favourite Una Dunphy
    May 25th 2016, 12:28 PM

They don’t pay us

Mute Paul Hughes
    Favourite Paul Hughes
    May 25th 2016, 1:41 PM

You and your colleagues are a joke Una

Mute OnTheOutside
    Favourite OnTheOutside
    May 25th 2016, 2:08 PM

You’d think that one of the 85 people have gave a thumbs down would have corrected me. Mandate pay there members while on strike BTW, so you LUAS lads might want to jump over there.

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    May 26th 2016, 8:17 AM

@on the outside

They do get paid by the unions on strike days.

But only €40/day.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 25th 2016, 12:00 PM

Much like the Bricklayers strike at the height of the Celtic tiger, which lead to precast construction and job losses, the greed of the Unions will ultimately see the Luas automated and no drivers in 5-10 years

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 25th 2016, 12:16 PM

The Luas will be automated with or without strikes/unions/gerry madden just as soon as the technology is ready…

Mute joey Reilly
    Favourite joey Reilly

No chance that will ever happen on roads and pedestrian crossways

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh

Peter, you mean like the systems that systems that exist in Lausaunne Switzerland, Holland, Edinburgh (next year). Technology is not the problem

Mute Una Dunphy
    Favourite Una Dunphy
    May 25th 2016, 12:30 PM

So the populist angle continues, the unions are greedy and bad and the multinational is the people’s friend, what nonsense.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    May 25th 2016, 12:38 PM

@Una “[...], the unions are greedy and bad”

In this case, yes.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 25th 2016, 12:45 PM

Una, in this particular example yes, the demands, versus the skill set requires, the companies operating profits and inflation over the time period were extortionate.
    Much like the previous example of bricklayers a militant Union, making unreasonable demands, will in the long run lead to the loss of these jobs as technology advances

Mute Una Dunphy
    Favourite Una Dunphy
    May 25th 2016, 12:59 PM

If the technology was there there would be no workers regardless of how they act, let’s not be naive.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    May 25th 2016, 1:07 PM

@Una – “If the technology was there”

It is there, take your pick of the “fully automated examples”:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/People_mover#Examples

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    May 25th 2016, 1:09 PM

Una – the unions are on huge salaries , and the apple pushers dont deserve a 53% pay rise.

Mute HowUdoin
    Favourite HowUdoin
    May 25th 2016, 1:43 PM

Una is it you or someone from your family that is driving the Luas today….. or is that you Wally Mooney….

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    May 25th 2016, 2:09 PM

It is in the interest of the majority that the tram service in Dublin continue to operate daily and not at an increased price.

Mute AJ McLaughlin
    Favourite AJ McLaughlin
    May 25th 2016, 2:28 PM

Regardless of which side is right or wrong, let’s all show our support to Walley, now known as Una, following their successful gender realignment.

Mute ads20101
    Favourite ads20101
    May 25th 2016, 3:26 PM

@Una

Quite the opposite.

I strongly believe in the power of a union and of getting a fair deal by collective bargaining but these greedy unskilled muppets have damaged this process for us all.

By siptu taking such a deranged position they have managed to get the vast majority of the general public behind a private multinational company.

Taking into account that they managed this feat at the backend of a recession is just ineptitude of the highest order. Most people would not even thought it possible to get a negotiation this tragically wrong.

As an educated public servant I feel that these drivers have damaged future legitimate negotiations.

They are an embarrassment and deserve to feel the full consequences of their actions.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    May 25th 2016, 3:29 PM

Wayne,

I was there in the middle of those strikes in the early naughties. The militant BATU Union were an unbelievable mafia. They negotiated silly rates for a few city bricklayers which indeed ultimately led to alternative construction systems being introduced and brick layers getting laid off. That was the happiest day of my career as I waved good-bye to that shower of useless wasters. The Union subsequently crumbled due to the fraud of its own senior Union officials. Tut tut…..!

Mute Geoff Gray
    Favourite Geoff Gray
    May 25th 2016, 4:11 PM

@ ads20101 Exactly. SIPTU have been trapped in an unwinnable position by the drivers after securing a reasonable offer above expectations and having it rejected. There’s no room for maneuver left so ICTU have essentially had to step in. The LUAS debacle is hurting the credibility of Unions to act where they are genuinely needed. Look at Tesco trying to pull worker’s contracts for worse ones, zero hour contracts, rolling annual contracts (followed by the boot after the second one normally) Jobbridge slavery. There’s a lot that the unions could be doing for Irish workers that is badly needed without wasting time on a small group of transport workers who greatly overvalue themselves.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 9:39 PM

Find out what happened to coal miners and car workers in Britain, in the mid 70′s when the unions were at the heights of their power. Then find out what the print unions did for the workers in the Wapping dispute. Without multinationals ireland would be back in the 1930′s, dev’s eutopia. Question, to all you WallyNomics enthusiasts out the….. which of the world’s Marxist countries would you pick as a model for Ireland?

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 9:44 PM

Una, it is the capilalist system that invented, developed, financed, invested in, and installed the trams. The Irish taxpayer contracted private companies to lay the rails. The drivers contribution to the success of the luas is miniscule.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 9:47 PM

Bah, una seems to write her own posts, unlike our cut’past WallyNomics idiot.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 9:50 PM

Ahh, a public servant, Una, that explains a lot. Out of interest, have you ever worked in the private sector.?…. I would hazard a guess … no.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 10:00 PM

Luas divers already get paid double what they do in the UK. https://nationalcareersservice.direct.gov.uk/advice/planning/jobprofiles/Pages/TramDriver.aspx Greed greed greed! Like true capitalists, they want their snouts in the trough.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 10:05 PM

Una, it is workers, backed by capilalists who invent, develop and produce technology. Out of interest, una, do you have a motor car, a mobile phone, a tv set or a laptop? If YES, you support multinationals.

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan

They’ve fired the lot, bringing in new hires – monkeys from Dublin Zoo. More capable and less demanding, perfect.

I can’t wait for them to automate the Luas with cameras and sensors, operated from a remote operations centre. The tech is there, the need is proven to exist.

Mute Una Dunphy
    Favourite Una Dunphy
    May 25th 2016, 12:31 PM

Because it’s better that multinationals make money and don’t hire people or treat them well, right on comrade!

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 25th 2016, 12:37 PM

The multinational has treated them very well Una, even offered them a 13% wage increase for no extra work which is a lot more than most can expect. If the drivers are so greedy that they can’t live with a 13% wage increase for nothing then that’s their problem.

Mute Brenda
    Favourite Brenda
    May 25th 2016, 12:57 PM

They were requested to do extra work.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 25th 2016, 2:14 PM

Yeah Una, Only €42K a year for unskilled labour.. The inhumanity of it!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 25th 2016, 2:44 PM

Hi Brian, how long has it been since the monkeys took over your job?

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    May 25th 2016, 12:19 PM

Transdev are an inspiration to all employers who have to deal with the scourge of unions

Mute Michael Fallon
    Favourite Michael Fallon
    May 25th 2016, 12:26 PM

So Tommy should we ban all unions and trust that every employer will treat their workers in a fair and just manner?
    or maybe are in favor of exploitation, I suppose there are plenty out there like you

Mute joey Reilly
    Favourite joey Reilly
    May 25th 2016, 12:29 PM

You are a terrible troll

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 25th 2016, 12:30 PM

Perhaps having a legal requirement for genuine justification for strike action is in order? Holding national holidays, events, examination periods and general workers to ransom for a 50% pay rise should simply never be possible.

I can get strikes because a few of your co-workers were sacked by text. I can’t get 50% wage increases for no extra work just because you’ve watched one too many L’Oreal ads.

Mute Michael Fallon
    Favourite Michael Fallon
    May 25th 2016, 12:36 PM

how would you legislate for what is a justified strike and what is not? holding people to ransom is a bit over dramatic, people are being inconvenienced at most

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 25th 2016, 3:51 PM

I’m not a fan of unions myself but I don’t think they should be gotten rid off just because of a few greedy luas operators.

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    May 25th 2016, 12:05 PM

Good news indeed…maybe Bruce Springsteen phoned Luas strikers to tell them to lift the strike or they wouldn’t be refused to enter concert!

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill

Alex Turner too, Springsteen isn’t the only show in town tomorrow :)

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan

Maybe he wanted to take a ride.. cross the river to the Southside…

Mute Ned Shaw
    Favourite Ned Shaw
    May 25th 2016, 12:41 PM

Who’s Alex Turner? I may need to consult Google….

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 25th 2016, 3:48 PM

Arctic Monkeys

Mute Alex Murray
    Favourite Alex Murray

What’s wally???

Mute Alex Murray
    Favourite Alex Murray

where’s wally

Mute Adam Brennan
    Favourite Adam Brennan
    May 25th 2016, 11:51 AM

Where’s Wally?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 25th 2016, 11:57 AM

Wednesday is dole day for a lot of people.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 25th 2016, 12:17 PM

Wally is prescient.

Mute Ned Shaw
    Favourite Ned Shaw
    May 25th 2016, 12:44 PM

He’s trespassing in some show house in a new private housing estate demanding it be given to the Welfare class!

Mute Dave Spier
    Favourite Dave Spier
    May 25th 2016, 12:53 PM

Wally is busy creating money through keyboard strokes

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    May 25th 2016, 1:12 PM

I think Wally is off helping the AAA create jobs.

Mute HowUdoin
    Favourite HowUdoin
    May 25th 2016, 1:47 PM

Wally is using his alter ego today…called Una Murphy

Mute Ned Shaw
    Favourite Ned Shaw
    May 25th 2016, 2:25 PM

Ahh David, we’re just having a bit of good old fashioned banter here, no need to go over the top! AAA creating jobs? I mean, come on now.

Mute Michael Donnelly
    Favourite Michael Donnelly
    May 25th 2016, 11:46 AM

I knew Transdev would bottle it. Power to the people.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 25th 2016, 11:50 AM

More strikes have been cancelled, you are aware of that right?

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    May 25th 2016, 11:58 AM

“First of all, they came to take the gypsies and I was happy because they pilfered.
    Then they came to take the Jews and I said nothing, because they were unpleasant to me.
    Then they came to take homosexuals,
    and I was relieved, because they were annoying me.
    Then they came to take the Communists,and I said nothing because I was not a Communist.
    One day they came to take me,
    and there was nobody left to protest.”

Bertolt Brecht.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 25th 2016, 12:00 PM

Great quote.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    May 25th 2016, 12:17 PM

Wasn’t aware “removing” the Luas drivers was an option… What the hell has a quote on one of the worst atrocities in human history got to do with a few dozen greedy feckers in Dublin not getting their own way ?

Mute Una Dunphy
    Favourite Una Dunphy
    May 25th 2016, 1:01 PM

Missing the point made

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    May 25th 2016, 1:19 PM

He’s comparing these idiots in Dublin to the plight of millions slaughtered. He’s a freaking idiot.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    May 25th 2016, 2:06 PM

What a disgusting comparison – comparing the Holocaust and slaughter of Jews and Gypsies to a bunch of overpaid tram drivers sitting on their cushions pusing a lever , expecting an additional pay rise of 53%.

Shame on you Jonny and Una

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    May 25th 2016, 2:16 PM

Just to clarify paddy, I didn’t write the poem. So I am not comparing any group to any other particular group. Take what you want from the peom, in essence it highlights the need for people from different belief systems, economic and social backgrounds to unite and not to practice the “mé Feiner” mentality seen in Ireland.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    May 25th 2016, 3:35 PM

Jonny you’re an idiot…. flat out.. The only ones practicing a “me Feiner” policy in this case are the Unions and the drivers.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 25th 2016, 3:46 PM

Tram Operators Jimmy, Not drivers.

Mute David Mooney
    Favourite David Mooney

I have no problem with any person trying to earn a better income for themselves ……….

Mute jane
    Favourite jane

David i don’t think anyone has a problem with someone trying to earn a better income, these lads are trying to extort a better income and thats not right.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello

“Earn”. Exactly.

Mute Leopold Dedalus
    Favourite Leopold Dedalus

“Earn” being the operative word.

Mute Michael Fallon
    Favourite Michael Fallon
    May 25th 2016, 12:13 PM

what industrial action have Irish people ever supported? I don’t recall. If there was a referendum held tomorrow on banning the right to organize in the workplace it would be passed in a landslide.

Mute Rock Stoneballs
    Favourite Rock Stoneballs
    May 25th 2016, 2:35 PM

Dunnes Stores last year off the top of my head.

Mute Stiofain Murray
    Favourite Stiofain Murray
    May 25th 2016, 12:07 PM

I am no fan of he drivers who are punishing the public.

However Transdev must lose the operating contract immediately – a multi-billion euro multinational like Transdev is clearly not fit for purpose to run a public transport service – their loyalty is not to the Irish travelling public but to their shareholders,.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 25th 2016, 12:27 PM

The Luas, even with the current strike action, is still by far the most efficient and reliable public transport network in Ireland. The public-run busses and trains are woefully unreliable and generally in a poor state.

Public Ownership/Private Operation is simply the best model at this point.

Mute TheWalkingBread
    Favourite TheWalkingBread

Honestly i would give Transdev the running contracts to the rest of teh public transport system, they dont take any crap from the uppety unions, they run on time and they dont cost the tax payer a fortune.

Whats not to love ?

Mute Una Dunphy
    Favourite Una Dunphy

Just so we are clear, private companies who mistreat their employees while making millions in profits is your preference for public transport routes, the neo-liberal model wins here on the Journal ,hands down, or thumbs up as it were.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    May 25th 2016, 1:13 PM

Feel free to provide a source for your claims (regarding Transdev), Una. I’d certainly welcome it.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan

How are they mistreating their workers Una?

Mute TheWalkingBread
    Favourite TheWalkingBread

Why cant we pay low skill workers a reasonable amount? Why pay them more for being less capable than other workers?

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    May 25th 2016, 1:25 PM

Jason – Wally from the AAA thinks that “Banksters” are about to hand out nappies to the Luas drivers so that they can work harder . Or maybe the neo-liberals were handing out the nappies . Not sure , but either way they deserve 53% pay rise for the exploitation that they are enduring pushing the apple forward and back.

Mute Susan
    Favourite Susan
    May 25th 2016, 1:27 PM

Why should Transdev lost the contract? What have they done wrong other that run an extremely efficient mode of transport for 90,000 people on a daily basis. They do the job they are contracted to do.
    Have used Luas for 12 years and over that period of time only 4 times have I not been able to get a tram due to Tech fault and once during the snow.
    Why are people banging on and on about Multi-nationals exploiting workers because in this case Luas drivers are well paid and far from exploited. They have been offered an increase that most people would give there right arm for their employer to offer them. I know of at least three people who would Join transdev as a driver just to get what they are getting now.

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    May 25th 2016, 8:37 PM

Always the clown

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    May 25th 2016, 10:56 PM

Walking bread, so what do you consider a reasonable amount? Put another way, what is a reasonable amount to pay for a tram ride?

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    May 25th 2016, 11:47 AM

Money talks €1 million euro fine ?

Mute Oisin Kablamo
    Favourite Oisin Kablamo

This is hilarious, instead of working toward getting a better deal for myself, i’ll just make sure others have a worse one.

Mute Andrew S
    Favourite Andrew S
    May 25th 2016, 3:57 PM

Didn’t SIPTU cancel the strike today because they are in the WRC today?

Mute Mark Cleary
    Favourite Mark Cleary
    May 25th 2016, 5:03 PM

Transdev new contracts were bringing in new drivers at lower rates than current ones. Or did you all miss that info in your frenzy to parrot the media propaganda. Solidarity with the Luas drivers and any other workers looking to get their share of the profits they create. Fair play to Wally for being one of the few here with consistent arguments in support of the majority who have been savaged by the minority over the last number of years. Shame on the rest of the knee jerk red-thumbers tipping the cloth cap to the local lord in good old Irish fashion. William Martin Murphy is alive and well.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    May 25th 2016, 7:41 PM

I just red thumbed you there Mark – cheers

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    May 25th 2016, 8:36 PM

Ditto

Mute david mc nally
    Favourite david mc nally
    May 26th 2016, 1:25 PM

Everyone has the right to work for a decent wage unless you have sat down with a Luas driver you have no idea what is really going on