You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
This piece was first published on 11 January, following Lucinda Creighton’s official announcement. It is republished here on the day she launches Renua Ireland.
A FORMER GOVERNMENT high-flyer takes a career leap-of-faith by setting up her own tiny political party — teaming up with a financial guru who may or may not run in the upcoming general election.
The launch of the grouping dominates the political news agenda.
But after an initial, fleeting surge of interest, serious doubts are raised over whether nascent movement (which describes itself as neither ‘left nor right’) can make any significant impact on the polls.
You may well have noticed that we chose to highlight certain salient facts in that truncated description of Lucinda Creighton’s Renua Ireland.
The broad strokes of the story, you see, have some striking parallels with events that played out in the fictional corridors of power stalked by Birgitte Nyborg in critically-lauded Danish TV show Borgen.
Like The Killing and The Bridge before it, the series garnered a huge following outside of Scandinavia (it was shown on BBC4 and TG4 in this part of the world) including quite a few fans inside Leinster House.
At the start of the third and final series, former Prime Minister Nyborg is a political has-been, sitting on the odd board and delivering the occasional lecture.
But after becoming concerned about the current direction of her old party (the Moderates) she publicly challenges its leader. Her career relaunch doesn’t go quite to plan, however — she ends up losing the leadership vote, before deciding to strike out on her own.
Birgitte
So.
With a general election on the cards over the next 12 months — what’s in store for Lucinda and co, as they go toe-to-toe with the big boys of Irish politics?
Obviously, its anyone’s guess. While there’s been criticism over a lack of detail from the Renua camp until today, polls have shown there’s clearly an appetite for a new political party.
Writing in the Irish Times, Fintan O’Toole called them “a solution in search of problems”. We’ve decided to expand on that theme by seeking an answer to a question almost nobody has been asking…
What can the country’s newest political party learn from series 3 of Borgen?
Review of Borgen return to our screens last night: wonder if Lucinda was watching? http://t.co/8q4CnsFSQv
Birgitte gets off to a thumping start as she goes about setting up her centrist ‘New Democrats’ — but after picking off a couple of middle-ranking ex-Moderates, the recruitment process starts to go a little pear-shaped. Can the defiant politicians land a big hitter from the other side of the aisle, in order to truly stake a claim for the middle-ground of national politics?
Well, yes. Yes, of course they can — sure there’s nine more episodes left to go.
After much tension and intrigue, the deputy leader of the New Right makes a last minute appearance at the group’s big media launch, having fallen out with his old party over immigration.
While all this is going on, the ex-PM’s oldest political ally Bent Sejrø (above) crops up occasionally to try and stop Birgitte from “breaking up the old band” (we’re trying to remember direct quotes from memory — never a good idea) but in a surprise twist, decides to get on board with the new venture at the tail-end of episode two.
Everybody’s got an opinion
Birgitte’s plucky but cash-strapped start-up leases what looks like a former meth lab in an unfashionable part of town as its new HQ, and sets about business.
Soon the office is swamped with eccentrics, single-issue activists and political fan-boys — hoping to hitch their own their own idiosyncratic wagons to the former premier’s star.
After arguments break out over who should pay for the coffee, Birgitte decides to assert her leadership, by telling them all, essentially, to feck-off.
In typical Borgen fashion, she tells them via a lovely speech.
Will the finance guy run?
The Birgitte gang scores a further coup when economist Søren Ravn (above) agrees to run as a candidate (he’s the financial guru we mentioned at the start of this — although we should point out that aside from being a well-known face making his first steps in the political arena, the similarities with Eddie Hobbs pretty much end right there). The media begin to scrutinise his past as soon as the announcement is made, and before you can say ‘Vladimir Putin’ suddenly people are speculating that Ravn could be a former KGB agent.
In an act unlikely to be replicated by any Leinster House press officers in the near to medium future, the New Democrats’ head of communications Katrine Fønsmark (also above) tracks down an ex-KGB boss who says the economist never worked for them, even though his best friend did.
Deciding he prefers not to have reporters trawling through his private life 24/7, Ravn decides not to run for office, and slopes off back to academia. However, Katrine manages to tempt him back* later in the series to act as an advisor.
*Yes, they have sex. This is a Scandinavian TV drama.
You can’t trust all of the people all of the time
As competition between the New Democrats and Birgitte’s old party, now led by Jacob Kruse (smug, wears a lot of polo-necks) intensifies, it soon becomes evident there’s a mole in the office… Someone from the ND inner circle is passing on policy plans while they’re still being worked on — and the Moderates are stealing a march on Birgitte and co by announcing them before the ex-PM has a chance to make it to a microphone.
But where is the leak coming from? Once again, it’s Katrine to the rescue — she hatches another cunning plan that involves stealing everyone’s phones.
Knowing when to hold ‘em, knowing when to fold ‘em
As the series hurtles to a close, Kruse finally shows his true colours in a live TV debate — revealing a nasty, irascible side that immediately turns-off floating voters, and clears the way for a New Democrat victory. Birgitte’s party has made huge gains from a standing start — and with an impressive 13 seats, she’s the star of Danish politics once again (hurrah?).
The poor woman’s on the phone non-stop as rival party leaders scramble to put together a workable coalition. But will she join the left-leaning ‘red’ group, or the right-leaning Blues?
After a series of clandestine meetings beside dimly-lit fountains, it appears, for a brief moment, that our heroine might once again have a shot at the prime minister’s office (it gets very complicated — particularly if you happen to be a purist and insist on watching the thing without the aid of subtitles).
Eventually, though, the deal is done. Birgitte settles for the ministry of foreign affairs, as her party enters government as a junior coalition partner.
“That’s the best gig going!” Bent Sejrø tells her (words to that effect, anyway).
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Whatever policies they come up with will need to be underpinned by banking reform,as the circulation of money touches every part of our society.They will need to examine closely an alternative way to secure our economy from the private banking system that has bled Ireland dry while our politicians look on with wilful blindness or maybe they’re just inept, as Nyberg highlighted in his report. Wait and see what’s being brought to the table ie banking in the public’s interest.
Spot on,you are thinking along the right line there,Many models of public banks exist that suit different countries/economies,and have many merits,two of which is ownership (by the people) and also the interest/Profit is returned to the economy.Globaly,40% of banking is public banking and compete successfully with the private banking system.
Big Willy: Separating savings from investment or merchant from retail banking only helps to protect a govt from having banks that are too big to fail. Bailouts are still inevitable.
It does not address the root problem that banks are in fact strategic infrastructure, and maybe we should consider keeping them nationalised.
However in this country we also need reform on the relationship between govt and semi-state. At the moment, a minister can appoint board members, but have no say in their remuneration, cannot fire them and can not influence policy.
The appointment to Semi-state bodies under the conditions you have set would suggest that the legislation was written to suit the boards and not the state – There may be a conflict with the constitution if that is the case. For the government are the link between the sovereign people(Article 6) and their property.
Furthermore it should be pointed out that the Independence of Judges guaranteed in the Constitution does not guarantee them independence from the law or the sovereign people.
Their word in law is subject to it being a good word as it were. Should there be sanctions against judges who have their decisions overturned in a Higher Court ? Should the same principle be applied to senior civil servants/politicians who may have steeped out side the bounds of the conditions of their employment ? Should minimum sentence be applied for certain breaches ? Embezzlement being one example where minimum sentencing might apply. I t is very easy to defraud the system if you know you aren’t going to jail. Law should also fullfill the function of deterrent within a society.
There is a very good argument for separating the Judiciary from the Dail and Cabinet. The same however should not apply to the relationship between Ministers and the commercial bodies they have responsibility for.
Yes – there are sanctions when a semi state board member breaks the law eg. fraud.
But what about when that body stops acting in the public interest? Or when they are found to be inept? Or when they vote themselves bonuses when the company makes a loss?
At the moment, the govt can do little about it.
I await with disinterest Lucinda’s declaration of what exactly she stands for…..yaaaaawwwwwn. just another jobbing politican looking to elbow into the trough.
Why doesn’t Lucinda consider an Alliance with Shane Ross, and his friends in the Dail, to assemble a true reform party? Both have been banging on for ages about need for reform within various aspects of Politics and Public Sector. Surely, there’s a chance of progress here if her numbers are strong and credible from the outset.
Lucinda, as a sincere thirty something idealist, needs to surround herself with experienced old hands for her new political game, otherwise she’ll be in the Political wilderness in jig time.
Her friend Eddie likes sitting on the fence, so where’s the momentum going to evolve from for progressing her plans?
The only policy Lucinda highlighted was the total Anti-Abortion policy with no exceptions. Most people of course are anti-abortion but we have been given enough info in the last couple of years that of course there are valid exceptions. Otherwise Lucinda has no policies. Her Financial partner seems unsure himself of what he’s getting into saying he doesn’t know if he will run. If he’s not sure there’s not much hope for others to be passionate. I think I’d give Shane Ross a go first.
Eugene- I agree about Lucinda , but disagree about Guinness.
I still feel that it’s a very high quality product, with a great flavour .
As for Lucinda, I have come to the conclusion that her “launch” of “her” Party was now just all about being ‘out of traps’ before other new Political Groupings , last week .
It reeks of pure panic, on her part and it shows .
Her choice of the ‘know all’ Eddie Hobbs as Co-Pilot ,was and is, a disaster already , as Eddie , as she is , all over the shop.
I’m delighted personally, as it’s likely really , that the only damage she will do, is to Fine Gael and Enda !
Eddie is just a face who some people like, without him no one would care… And tonight he pretty much said he has to run his business and will be hands off.., a cameo role…
If lucinda wants to get into government she should join the noisey neighbours Sinn Fein
How could we get John McGuinness, chairman of the PAC elected as Taoiseach? Since he was first elected he has been fearless in exposing and tackling waste and even his own party. A hero in my book.
McGuinness is the one TD despised by Bertie Ahern and kicked out by Brian Cowen.
He walked the streets of Dublin all friendless and alone that time, like a leper, the time they were selling Ireland to the bankers, he was the Voice in the Wilderness preaching time and time again about the way his own government was destroying the country , and devastatingly he was right
Yes, but if you go right back he has never been afraid to take on his own leadership or the establishment including the public sector, the real insiders, at the risk of being thrown out. Unfortunately since Sean Lemass the glickeens got hold of the party and they lost their way as the true Labour Party. There isn’t another TD in the Dail with that record. The blessed Lucinda followed all her party’s policies until their approach to abortion didn’t suit her and they wouldn’t allow a free vote. If they had she’d still be in there not tackling waste and reform like the rest of them. I suggest you go back to read up on McGuinness” record.
Daragh, was there not an article in very similar vein here just a short time ago? That article was also a thin attempt to wedge even more Lucinda into the forum :-(
I wonder will Mary Lou ever grow a spine and start her own party?
Whatever the reason, Lucinda exited FG based on her principles.
Mary Lou would still be brainlessly fawning over Sinn Fein no matter what skeleton falls out of the closet next, nor what victim comes forward next seeking some sort of accountability.
I wish her well; obviously she will not get enough votes to gain a seat but if it helps in reducing the vote for Fine Girl then Opus Gayle will be a ‘success’. Because support for her Tea and Scone party are only going to come from that portion of the electorate who would never vote for socialist Independents or Sinn Fein and would rely on the traditional right wing ‘traditional’ catholic (ah! sure you’re a lovely fine girl to your mammy) parties.
Quite easily – even after FF wrecking the country they will still get around 20% of the vote – so it shouldn’t be much of a problem for Lucinda to find a cohort of voters who share her 1950′s views.
‘Damning litany of failure’: Calls for investigation of governance at Children’s Health Ireland
2 hrs ago
trade war
'Welcome’ reprieve as whiskey, wine and dairy left out of planned EU counter-tariffs of up to 25%
1 hr ago
beaufort
Boy killed after being struck by tractor in Co Kerry this evening
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say