You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Luke 'Ming' Flanagan (top right) wearing the hemp suit in the Dáil this morning Screengrab

Luke 'Ming' Flanagan wears hemp suit in the Dáil

The TD had the suit specially made by Louis Copeland to highlight the ten year anniversary of his cannabis crusade.

LUKE ‘MING’ FLANAGAN wore a Louis Copeland suit made out of hemp in the Dáil chamber this morning to highlight the 10 year anniversary of his campaign to have cannabis legalised.

A spokesperson for Louis Copeland confirmed that it was the first time the high-end tailor had created a suit made out of hemp.

Speaking to theJournal.ie, the TD for Roscommon-Leitrim South said that he had bought the material outside of Ireland but that the suit had been made in Dublin. “If I could have purchased it here, I would have,” he said.

The hemp suit is “very comfortable, excellent material, and it’ll be my attire for many an occasion from now on,” said the TD.

Flanagan said that it is ten years since he posted joints to journalists and members of the Oireachtas as part of a National Legalise Cannabis Day – but that little has changed.

“In the 10 years that have passed, it is estimated that €7.5 billion has ended up in the pockets of the kind of people who had Veronica Guerin killed. 60,000 people have ended up with a criminal record and for what? What was the goal?”

“The idea was to reduce usage – that hasn’t happened. It was supposed to make life safer for people – that hasn’t happened”.

Flanagan emphasised the specific issue of cannabis being sold with adulterated substances which are seriously harmful to the health of the user,  noting that silicon, crushed up car tyres and “God knows what” is being added to cannabis. “Someone found dealing the substance with these adulterants in it should receive a stricter sentence”, he said.

Flanagan, who gave up smoking cannabis several years ago, said that the best way to guarantee that people know what kind of cannabis they have is to legalise it.

Flanagan will be modelling the suit at a fashion in show in Dún Laoghaire on Thursday evening in aid of the National Maritime Museum of Ireland. Fellow independent TDs Mick Wallace and Richard  Boyd-Barrett will also be taking part in the show.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

101 Comments
    Mute Donal O'leary
    Favourite Donal O'leary
    May 15th 2013, 4:30 PM

Poor reflection of the people of this country when clowns like ‘Ming’ can be backed or voted for in anything other than a dope smoking contest

Mute Mike Flynn
    Favourite Mike Flynn
    May 15th 2013, 5:02 PM

He’s a disgrace. Genuinely, in a country f notoriously bad politicians, he’s the worst.

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    May 15th 2013, 5:39 PM

Ming would win any dope contest.

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    May 15th 2013, 4:49 PM

Flanagan only revealed his quashed points because he was going to be exposed any way

Mute Mike Flynn
    Favourite Mike Flynn
    May 15th 2013, 5:03 PM

He’s a disgrace. Genuinely, in a country f notoriously bad politicians, he’s one of the worst.

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    May 15th 2013, 5:40 PM

Are you for real mike? The worst we have? Flynn?? No?? By all accounts he’s a bit of a moron IMO but he’s by no means the worse politician we have…..Reily is far worse IMO.

Mute Gerry Murphy
    Favourite Gerry Murphy
    May 15th 2013, 6:23 PM

Flanagan , Wallace etc etc etc – the question is what type of people voted for these looneys? Like what planet are they from?

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 15th 2013, 6:44 PM

As opposed to what other td’s in the dail?

Mute Gary Doolin
    Favourite Gary Doolin
    May 15th 2013, 9:20 PM

C’mon FF…isn’t that right Martin??!

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    May 16th 2013, 1:56 AM

When has a druggie ever told the truth?

Mute Gary Doolin
    Favourite Gary Doolin
    May 16th 2013, 9:31 AM

Red thumbs are from either FF supporters or journal readers that don’t get the sarcasm…

Mute Jackets Green
    Favourite Jackets Green
    May 15th 2013, 4:27 PM

it must be terrible for an upper class twit like shatter to have to deal with working class people.

Adam
    Mute Adam
    Favourite Adam
    May 15th 2013, 4:34 PM

Lol Mings working class?

I hate that muppet, has a position in stare governance and goes to work dressed like he’s chilling in his sitting room. Shows zero respect for the people he was elected to serve.

Mute FinglasAgainstTans©
    Favourite FinglasAgainstTans©
    May 15th 2013, 4:39 PM

Ming is working class now is he?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Kevin Connolly
    Favourite Kevin Connolly
    May 15th 2013, 5:32 PM

I genuinely think that that comment is a gross insult to all working class people.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 15th 2013, 5:44 PM

Doesn’t Ming give a large chunk of his salary to charity each month …anyone else here do that. Does Shatter ? yet the ego with the Dessie O’Malley hair calls Ming self serving. Hilarious !!

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 15th 2013, 5:56 PM

Mick Wallace was also very vocal about the same subject to-day but Fine Gael won’t pick on Wallace because his tax evasion would have to be brought into the discussion, and Fine Gael don’t want a light shone on that after $hatters party was caught for 9 years of evasion themselves (Now thats what I call self serving)

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 15th 2013, 6:04 PM

Martin- you’re like white noise…..just droning on…..

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 15th 2013, 6:11 PM

I was wondering what little FG puppy would turn up. And look who it is, must be short of staff up in Merrion sq today. Maybe you’d like to comment on your parties tax evasion this time, you always seem to try your best to avoid the topic once its brought up.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    May 15th 2013, 6:17 PM

Tax evasion you say Martin. It was actually theft on a massive scale Mick Wallace confessed to. And the very fact that, not only is he still at liberty, He’s still a sitting TD, FFS! If this particular situation doesn’t convince the rest of the civilised world, Ireland is a corrupt, little, third world backwater, then nothing will!

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 15th 2013, 6:22 PM

…..on and on……..

Mute Kevin Cooney
    Favourite Kevin Cooney
    May 15th 2013, 6:24 PM

Shatters diversion plan is working like a treat!

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 15th 2013, 6:27 PM

I agree both him and Fine Gael got off practically scott free without another word said. Now its all forgotten about.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 15th 2013, 6:36 PM

Vincent, you were noticeably absent when it was admitted that the troika would be here for another 20 years. Amazed you even decided to show yourself.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 15th 2013, 7:44 PM

Jason- I can but aspire to have nothing else to do but read your musings day in, day out….Nice that you missed me, though. Touching.

Mute Denzil
    Favourite Denzil
    May 15th 2013, 8:04 PM

Ming Flanagan is an ass hole

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 15th 2013, 8:31 PM

Don’t flatter yourself too much Vincent, I missed the opportunity to watch you swallow your own words in front of those who told you the troika will be here for a long time much more than I missed you. But I’m sure you will be willing to admit that the FG line which you happily repeated was completely wrong, yes?

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 15th 2013, 9:39 PM

Jason, I’m not sure what is more disturbing- you’re incredible desire to talk down the country, your strange interest in guns on Facebook or your stunning naïveté when it comes to international finance. Probably the gun thing, in fairness. I will say its pretty pathetic that you feel the need to extract some type of vindication from something that’s been common knowledge for an age. The Troika will be out of Ireland in real terms by the end of this year. Ongoing monitoring and advice is a quantum leap away from the status quo now, whereby the Troika basically sets our budget. As long as you owe someone money they’ll be watching your finances. I’ll also remind you that it was FF who brought the Troika in in the first place. So I’m interested as to where your sad triumphalism comes from? You need to grow up, a bit. And best move on from the guns, thing. A bit juvenile, y’know?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 15th 2013, 10:03 PM

I will give you one thing Vincent, you would fit in quite well in the Dáil among the FF/FG benches. You lack an argument of any real substance so instead you try to smear those who oppose you by bringing irrelevant personal information into the discussion. I have to admit that I am quite disappointed in you.

You called it wrong when you obsessively championed the idea that we would be saying goodbye to the troika at the end of the bailout. Now you’re singing a different tune and won’t admit that you called it wrong and resort to personally attacking your opposition for deflection. You’re slipping Vincent.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    May 15th 2013, 4:45 PM

Ming must apologise publicly for his unfounded allegations and his double standards…

Mute johnr
    Favourite johnr
    May 15th 2013, 5:14 PM

Get Flash to sort him out. Flash HA Aaaaa. Bet ye kids dont remember Flash.

May 15th 2013, 5:21 PM

He saved everyone of us

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    May 15th 2013, 5:37 PM

Go flash go. Go flash go.

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Favourite wierdo varadkar
    May 15th 2013, 4:48 PM

He cited the Constitution, which says that members of the Oireachtas have immunity from arrest, but not for less serious offences.
    am I reading this correctly… they have immunity from arrest for serious offences?

Mute Colin Lawton
    Favourite Colin Lawton
    May 15th 2013, 5:31 PM

Hi Weirdo, this comes from the civil war era when it was feared people may be arrested on spurious charges in an effort to prevent them taking part in a crucial Dail vote. Why it is still required in this day and age is completely beyond me.

Mute john clarke
    Favourite john clarke
    May 15th 2013, 5:34 PM

my understanding is that at the time that the constitution was written this was a safeguard that was written into it to prevent the Minister for Justice/Gardaí interfering with the democratic process by preventing any TD(s) going to vote in the Dail by arresting them while on their way to vote. It actually makes sense when you think about it particularly given the era in which the constitution was written.

The real issue as ever is that the good intention has been completely twisted by its abuse by Oireachtas members who see it as a route to get off drink driving, speeding charges etc. Now we need to review the laws on abuse of position and power but I guess any review of that would be unpopular in certain circles.

Mute Mark Salmon
    Favourite Mark Salmon
    May 15th 2013, 5:36 PM

Because they still trade in civil war politics I presume!

Mute Brendan Greene
    Favourite Brendan Greene
    May 15th 2013, 5:54 PM

The current constitution dates from 1937, a full fourteen years after our Civil War, so that excuse isn’t valid.

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    May 15th 2013, 6:09 PM

The constitution is designed to maintain the rule of law in good times and bad.

Nevertheless, it’s not immunity for everything – just when a member of the Oireachtas is travelling to and from the house. It doesn’t keep you from getting penalty points, and there have also been several Oireachtas members sent to prison in recent memory. Joe Higgins during the bin charge protests, for example.

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Favourite wierdo varadkar
    May 15th 2013, 8:59 PM

thanks guys
    all very informative answers

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    May 15th 2013, 4:42 PM

A justice minister with a personal grudge against the Gardai VS a stupid dope smoking hippie. Our public representatives. No wonder the Dáil is a shambles

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    May 15th 2013, 4:54 PM

Leaving aside my opinion of Shatter in respect of his handling of certain other matters, I completely agree with him on this one. Flanagan should be pursued on this one.

Mute Sharon Larkin
    Favourite Sharon Larkin
    May 15th 2013, 4:43 PM

Seems like all they’re all the same. Self serving

May 15th 2013, 5:20 PM

Hooks and crooks the lot of them

Mute Sharon Larkin
    Favourite Sharon Larkin
    May 15th 2013, 5:53 PM

It’s looking like that alright. It’s getting to the stage where I don’t believe a word out of any of them

Mute Skip Goose
    Favourite Skip Goose
    May 15th 2013, 4:39 PM

Two Clowns who won’t be re-elected

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    May 15th 2013, 4:55 PM

Amazing that Shatter can lash out at a person over penalty points but is unwilling to say bugger all about a top current priest in Ireland that for 13 years enabled sex perverts to run riot on kids while saying nothing to the Gardi!

Convenient blindness and convenient silence when Shatter and his government to boot, feels like it!
    …And they are still letting the top priest in Ireland get away with his disgusting past, allowing him to lecture the rest of us – while still wining and dining him, shaking his had occasionally!

Absolute sickening!

Mute Gearóid O Machain
    Favourite Gearóid O Machain
    May 15th 2013, 4:57 PM

it never ends Biggins :(

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    May 15th 2013, 5:06 PM

The double-standards?
    Your dead right!

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    May 15th 2013, 5:17 PM

@biggins, he can only lecture you if you choose to listen.

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    May 15th 2013, 5:42 PM

This article is about penalty points, take your agenda elsewhere.

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    May 15th 2013, 5:52 PM

The point about Shatter, is the double-standards.
    That clearly has gone over the head of some here.
    No wonder these FG fools still get elected with such short-sightedness still around!

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    May 15th 2013, 4:40 PM

Do you think he’s wearing fake tan in that photo?

Mute Philip Farrelly
    Favourite Philip Farrelly
    May 15th 2013, 4:34 PM

Alan shatter, is that his porn star name?

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    May 15th 2013, 5:54 PM

doubt it couldnt imagine shatter getting anything up

Mute Aidan Molloy
    Favourite Aidan Molloy
    May 15th 2013, 4:46 PM

The report should have been carried out by the Ombudsman not the Commissioner.

Mute Mic Geraghty
    Favourite Mic Geraghty
    May 15th 2013, 5:32 PM

Who are these people who like Alan Shatter? The man is hated by Gardai, and is a terrible politician. He has nothing but his pay packet on his mind. Who are these red thumbers? Iona institute people? Or maybe youth defence? Hmmm

Mute Shane Mac
    Favourite Shane Mac
    May 15th 2013, 4:44 PM

Shatter by name, Shattered by nature.

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    May 15th 2013, 5:00 PM

Shaney I would give you a thousand thumbs up for that comment if I could. Sums him up completely!

Mute Mic Geraghty
    Favourite Mic Geraghty
    May 15th 2013, 5:29 PM

That muppet Shatter should be more worries about the crime epidemic on our streets, the lack of Gardai, the poor out of date law system and his attitude in general. Maybe legalise the weed while he is at it. Ming is one of the few politicians I like. Speaks sense 90% of the time. I would happily have my points cleared as would most people I imagine. I don’t agree with the points system anyway. Just another money earner with little substance.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    May 15th 2013, 4:36 PM

I had to read that in a nasely tone.
    Gist is, if you make trouble around here then we’ll focus on you.
    Got it.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    May 15th 2013, 5:16 PM

Cat calling dog hairyhole

Mute M O Sé
    Favourite M O Sé
    May 15th 2013, 5:22 PM

Shatter has 15 properties and is doing his best to keep the country filled with low skilled immigrants just to fill them. I consider that pretty self serving. Rents arent going up in dublin just becausevthe banks aint lending.

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    May 15th 2013, 6:13 PM

TD,s who commit crimes and breach the Laws of Ireland should be prosecuted!

In fact, anybody – TD,s or otherwise who break the Law who be prosecuted!

Minister Shatter needs to address the serious problems in the legal world in Ireland!

The fees of Barristers are far too high and need to be reduced substantially.

Does anybody support this point of view?

Will An Taoiseach explain what he intends to do with the Lowry tapes?

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    May 15th 2013, 6:28 PM

Legal fees ? Shatter’s fees for his family law practice….

“As a solicitor who also acted as counsel for clients in court hearings, he charged some clients an hourly rate of some €635 including VAT in 2007 at the height of the boom, according to engagement letters seen by the Irish Independent.”

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    May 15th 2013, 5:11 PM

Publish the full report names Ect we need more gossip

Mute Antóin O Cinnéde
    Favourite Antóin O Cinnéde
    May 15th 2013, 8:03 PM

Flanagan is nothing more than a schoolyard snitch. Got caught out over the penalty points then “whistle-blew” in an attempt to make himself look honorable. Should have just kept his mouth shut and apologized.

Mute Lee Jones
    Favourite Lee Jones
    May 15th 2013, 5:23 PM

this country just gets worse the people that voted for this clown and his ilk deserve everything they get unfortunately we all pay the price for these gombeens it’s about time people in this country woke up and voted for someone not because mammy or daddy voted for them or they promised to build a road they should not be voted in for local issues but for national issues until this changes we will continue to see these clowns in the Dail think of the bigger people when voting

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    May 15th 2013, 6:07 PM

This “independent” enquiry was conducted by the Gardai in relation to penalty points!

Gardai investigate Gardai!

Does Minister Alan Shatter expect us to believe this “inside” report?

Clearly there are many conflicts of interest in the administration of the Law in Ireland.

What about “chinese walls” in the administration of the legal profession.

One partner acted for a seller, another partner in the same firm acting for the buyer, another Partner acting for the developer and builder.

These “Chinese walls” are legally permissible by the Law Society!

Is this fact correct??

Mute PJ Walsh
    Favourite PJ Walsh
    May 15th 2013, 7:11 PM

Correct! Blackwash.

Mute Noel Farrell
    Favourite Noel Farrell
    May 15th 2013, 6:25 PM

Worst JM in history and that’s saying something.

Mute Rick MacRory
    Favourite Rick MacRory
    May 15th 2013, 5:05 PM

Gearoid
    I think its time for you to slip back into the gutter. Your contribution adds nothing but a reflection of your intellectual deficits and should be removed.