You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The scene of the crash this afternoon. Twitter/M50 Dublin

Woman in her 30s killed and man injured in multiple vehicle crash on the M50

Gardaí appealed to the public not to share images of the crash site online.

LAST UPDATE | 24 Jan 2019

GARDAÍ IN FINGLAS are appealing for witnesses following a fatal crash off the M50 in Dublin earlier today. 

Just before 11.30am this morning, gardaí and emergency services were called the scene of a multi-vehicle collision on a slip road just off the M50 at Junction 5 in Finglas. 

The driver of one of the cars – a woman in her 30s – was pronounced dead at the scene a short time later. 

The driver of the second car – a man in his 50s – was taken to Connolly Hospital by ambulance for treatment following the crash. His condition is not thought to be life-threatening. 

Minor damage was also caused to a lorry and a third car in the incident.

Garda forensic examiners were deployed to teh scene and have now fully examined the crash site and the vehicles involved. The body of the deceased has been removed Dublin City Morgue and the local coroner has been notified. 

Gardaí said that they are aware of images taken at the crash site are currently being circulated online. They asked people not to share or circulate the images out of respect to the family of the dead woman and anyone involved in the collision. 

Gardaí are liaising with the family of the deceased woman and an incident room has been established at Finglas Garda Station. 

The slip road from the M50 northbound at Junction 5 (Finglas) remains closed to traffic and will stay that way for the time being to allow a crash barrier to be repaired. 

All lanes on the M50 northbound are currently open to traffic. 

Investigating Gardaí are appealing for information, they are particularly appealing to anyone who was travelling on the M50 from Junction 6 (Blanchardstown) and Junction 5 (Finglas) between 11.15 am and 11.30 am to contact them.

Anyone with information is asked to contact Finglas Garda Station 01-6667500 or the Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111.

Warning 

At least three fire trucks and an ambulance were dispatched to the collision today after it occured. 

Gardaí earlier made two separate appeals for motorists passing the scene of the crash not to slow down but to instead focus on driving.

“Passing motorists on the M50 northbound at Junction 5 are requested to remain focused on their driving and not cause unnecessary delays,” gardaí said in a tweet. 

Another follow-up tweet from gardaí also made a similar plea:

Motorists slowing down unnecessarily while passing the scene of this incident are causing delays on the M50.

“Gardaí at the scene are requesting that motorists drive safely and avoid causing any further delays.”

With reporting from Cormac Fitzgerald

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute Camilius Woolbottom
    Favourite Camilius Woolbottom
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:54 PM

You take your life in to your own hands on the M50 with people cutting across multiple lanes at the last second to get their exit instead of getting in to the proper lane further back. So yes, the Gardai should be more proactive to take these dangerous drivers off our roads.People in this country are shite drivers & have absolutely no idea how to drive on a road with multiple lane.They have this fetish for driving in the centre lane for no reason.

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:00 PM

@Camilius Woolbottom: really? When was the last fatal accident on the M50. Traffic is relarely moving at speeds enough to cause fatal accidents at times when people are trying to get an edge by lane hopping.

Mute An bhearna
    Favourite An bhearna
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:33 PM

@thomas patrick: Nov 2015, and it happened at 7am in the morning during peak traffic volumes. There were over 1000 collisions between Jan 2017 and Oct 2018, not to mention motorists running out of fuel, falling asleep, debris on the road etc etc.

Mute Pascal Coleman
    Favourite Pascal Coleman
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:40 PM

@thomas patrick: Where have you been? Obviously not on the M50 or N7 as Camililius is dead right. There’s a serious obsession with middle lane driving in this country……and sitting in the “overtaking lane” when not overtaking anyone.

Mute coco akibu
    Favourite coco akibu
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:57 PM

@Camilius Woolbottom: Your so right it’s happened four times to me drivers changing lanes ,
    I’m getting a dash-cam…..

Mute EDun
    Favourite EDun
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:59 PM

@Pascal Coleman: yep. It’s ridiculous. Too many people don’t want to move lanes to make way for merging traffic and just sit in the centre lane, causing other drivers to undertake them or congestion in the right-most lane.

Mute Gary Lyons
    Favourite Gary Lyons
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:03 PM

@thomas patrick: I do a fair bit of driving every week and can say that the way a surprisingly high percentage of people drive on the m50 can only be described as lunacy. If you watched 1 weeks footage from my dashcam, your mind would be changed.

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:14 PM

@Gary Lyons: I drive it every day… I didn’t say it wasn’t bad for crashes but the comment “that you take your life in your hands when you use the M50″ isn’t exactly accurate. Last fatal accident was in 2015. There are plenty more dangerous roads.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:40 PM

@Pascal Coleman: It’s amazing the amount of people who think a “fast lane” exists.

Mute Bob Earner
    Favourite Bob Earner
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:45 PM

@Tommy Berry:It’s a figure of speech.

Everyone knows it’s for overtaking, they just call it the “fast” lane.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:48 PM

@thomas patrick: last fatal accident before today’s.

Mute Conrad Shields
    Favourite Conrad Shields
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:58 PM

@Gary Lyons: For the volume of traffic it handles, the M50 is extremely safe. Yes there are some instances of bad driving, but on the whole quite safe. Far more so than some country roads.

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin

There’s a vidio of the accident on Facebook. It should be removed from Facebook immediately

Mute Pat Byrne
    Favourite Pat Byrne
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:35 PM

RIP

Mute Ste Kelly
    Favourite Ste Kelly
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:37 PM

Most Irish can’t drive properly on motorways! doing 80km/h in the fast lane, cutting across multiple lanes with out indication, on mobile phones I’ve even seen people applying makeup.

In mainland EU people stick to the inside lanes unless overtaking.

Last summer it was like a crash every second day on M50, messes the while scheme up

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:24 PM

@Ste Kelly: there is no “fast lane” it’s called an overtaking lane

Mute Helen Maria
    Favourite Helen Maria

@Ste Kelly: fast lane? Which one is that? We have an overtaking lane , and lane(s) to the left of that.

Mute Bob Earner
    Favourite Bob Earner
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:50 PM

@Elaine Berigan Mates: WTF type of person videos that and then WORSE distributes it!

And then goes online to announce to the world they’ve seen it!

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:24 PM

R. I. P to the poor driver…

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:40 PM

Proper hi-vis policing of m50 would stop this nonsense. Unfortunately, the gov/gardai/TII/NTA etc are beyond doing things properly.

Mute Ken Byrne
    Favourite Ken Byrne
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:49 PM

@Fred Coloe: why is it up to the Garda for people not to be f***ing idiots on the road. People need to be responsible. Also accidents happen.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Jan 24th 2019, 12:51 PM

@Fred Coloe: Fred people need to concentrate a little bit more on the road than on the phone and being extracted from the driver

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:02 PM

@john: what?

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:17 PM

@Fred Coloe: and common sense.

Mute TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite TechBuzz Ireland
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:52 PM

@Ken Byrne: because they don’t police the road nor the M1/2/3 PEOPLE drive way over the limit.

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:55 PM

@Fred Coloe: they are on the motorways. But there isn’t the resources to have multiple patrols on all motorway routes constantly. Have u any idea the lack of guards there are in this country?

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:12 PM

RTE are reporting that one person has died in this crash…. RIP to them

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:27 PM

Another day another M50 crash unfortunately

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Jan 24th 2019, 3:40 PM

It’s a sad affair really that idiots have to be told not to slow down to look at an accident

Mute Nomad
    Favourite Nomad

Anyone actually know what happened?

Mute vfagan
    Favourite vfagan
    Jan 24th 2019, 2:21 PM

@Nomad: truck hit a car, driver of the car dies instantly. Unsure of truck drivers condition.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Jan 24th 2019, 1:27 PM

Road is wet and greasy and poor light give the accident time to get facts out before becoming a armchair commutator

Mute john
    Favourite john

@Gerard Heery: they are factors that add to accidents but the main point is drivers need to be more responsible. If it is greasy and wet then drivers should drive slower and be me careful. If there’s a fatal accident on a road with all those factors then someone was driving like an idiot.