You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

All lanes reopen following five-car morning collision on M50

A five-car collision occurred on the northbound side of the motorway at Firhouse before 7am.

90399630_90399630 File photo Eamonn Farrell Eamonn Farrell

Updated 7.52am

A MAJOR ACCIDENT on the M50 in Dublin has now been cleared.

A five-car collision between junction 12 Firhouse and junction 13 Ballinteer before 7am initially blocked two lanes on the northbound side of the road leaving just the middle lane free to traffic.

All lanes have now been cleared and traffic is beginning to return to normal.

Emergency services attended the scene. It is unclear as to whether or not there were injuries.

M50 Google Maps Google Maps

While traffic is beginning to clear, delays can still be expected. Currently, Google’s traffic maps facility is showing traffic at a crawl between Sandyford and Knocklyon northbound.

Read: Three men to face court over €350,000 Kinahan cash seizure

Read: Woman found unconscious and with serious injuries outside Carlow castle

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:43 AM

Indiciators when changing lane seem to be optional for some drivers

Mute David Vaughan
    Favourite David Vaughan
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:49 AM

@Niall: Some drivers? I’d say 75%.

Mute Mia Ryan
    Favourite Mia Ryan
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:58 AM

@Niall: Oh c’mon now Niall. It’s none of your business where people are going. And it’s a lovely surprise when they suddenly pull into your lane forcing you to brake. They are generously ensuring that your brakes and reflexes are both in working order……

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Jun 26th 2017, 8:03 AM

@Niall: look lads in Monday – obviously left my mystic meg talent in bed and I really should be able to know when your going to pull in

Mute Leadog
    Favourite Leadog
    Jun 26th 2017, 8:32 AM

@Niall: Now now Niall, don’t be getting on to drivers who don’t indicate. We all know that they don’t have the brain power to move a little plastic stick up and down.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jun 26th 2017, 10:57 AM

@Niall: Flashing lights are for life, not just for Christmas!

Mute Derek Moean
    Favourite Derek Moean
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:23 AM

Wats new it’s every day .just very bad Driver’s what else could it be….

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:29 AM

@Derek Moean:
    Yea, I’m here now and the amount of people texting on their phones is ridiculous!

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:32 AM

@Tweety McTweeter: Ye u one of them

Mute Meekus
    Favourite Meekus
    Jun 26th 2017, 8:45 AM

@Tweety McTweeter: lol :D

Mute Duggie B
    Favourite Duggie B
    Jun 26th 2017, 7:42 AM

Drivers at fault need to be penalised. Penalty points and a hefty fine.

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    Jun 26th 2017, 9:41 AM

Well we all know what causes daily incidents like this on the M50..

Driving Too Fast, Too Close, Constant lane changes just to get one car ahead of the next, careless merging on and off the M50, merging over hatched lines…

What we need are Traffic Gardai on the M50 and average speed cameras, otherwise these incidents will just keep on happening…

Mute Niall Ó Muirthile
    Favourite Niall Ó Muirthile
    Jun 26th 2017, 9:54 AM

@Dub_Right: Moreso the traffic gardai. You can’t speed on the M50 at rush hour so it’s not speed causing most of these particular accidents. Of course everyone jams on when the see a guard, regardless of what speed they’re doing.

Mute Soupy Norman
    Favourite Soupy Norman
    Jun 26th 2017, 11:06 AM

@Dub_Right:

Average speed cameras all the way, would instantly reduce these collisions by more then half.

Mute Darren Tully
    Favourite Darren Tully
    Jun 26th 2017, 9:39 AM

Thanks to all the rubberneckers slowing down for a good gawk traffic was backed up on the southbound side too

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    Jun 26th 2017, 9:42 AM

@Darren Tully: Rubbernecking should also carry penalties, if only we had traffic police!

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jun 26th 2017, 12:31 PM

@Dub_Right: If the car in front slows down then you have no option but to do same.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jun 26th 2017, 8:20 AM

Any good rubberneck shots ?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 26th 2017, 12:15 PM

This is too regular a thing, charge onto the M50 and get the hang of it as you go. Should qualified drivers not be better at this by now?
    Am I the only one beginning to feel that every driver should pass an advanced driving test to use our motorways?

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jun 26th 2017, 12:53 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: If you can drive on a dual carriageway then you should be well able to drive on a motorway.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 26th 2017, 4:55 PM

@Shawn Rahoon: Wouldn’t you think so? Five-car collision though? I’m sure you’d pass, but there’s no motorway test for anyone. Sure anybody can drive on an empty road. It’s driving in heavy traffic that’s too much for them without training. It’s always the other driver’s fault too.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jun 26th 2017, 6:01 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: Technically, motorways are dual carriageway with no right or left turns, traffic lights, zebra crossings pedestrians, cyclists, are just a few to mention. The five car collision could happen on any road and is mainly due to driving too close to vehicle in front, and that could happen on any road. Because of these restrictions, motorways are the safest roads to drive on. The UK are considering driving lessons to be carried out on these safest roads.

Mute A H
    Favourite A H
    Jun 26th 2017, 8:14 AM

Ridiculous carry on of a Monday morning. Wakey Wakey drivers….

Mute Alan O'Rourke
    Favourite Alan O'Rourke
    Jun 26th 2017, 9:29 AM

You’re all shit drivers! Every one of you!