You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

General view of Arundel Square Google Streetview

Appeal as man armed with machete stages robbery and threatens staff at Waterford jewellers

The robbery took place yesterday evening.

LAST UPDATE | 11 Jan 2024

GARDAÍ ARE APPEALING for witnesses following a robbery that took place at a jewellers at Arundel Square in the centre of Waterford City yesterday evening.

According to gardaí, a lone male entered the business armed with a machete and began threatening staff around 5pm. He then fled the scene on a bicycle via Henrietta Street with “a quantity of stolen items”.

The machete and bicycle believed to have been used in the robbery have been recovered by investigating gardaí, this morning for technical examination.

Gardaí are asking for any pedestrians or road users who were in Arundel Square shopping district between 4.45pm and 5.45pm to contact them.

They are appealing for any camera footage, including dashcam footage. Gardaí said they are also interested footage taken in the surrounding areas of Spring Garden Alley and New Street around that time.

Anyone with information in relation to this incident is asked to contact Waterford Garda Station on 051 305300, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111 or any Garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 54 comments
54 Comments
    Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:05 PM

Perhaps they could give a physical description, no? “A lone male” isn’t very distinguishable.

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:25 PM

@Tríona Commode: Yeah. I saw a lone male with a machete that day but I’m not sure if it’s the one that talking about.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:39 PM

@Tom Dillon: Is he still carrying it?

Mute casio shock
    Favourite casio shock
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:47 PM

@Tríona Commode: I heard he had a head, two legs, two arms and was clothed. What more do you want? ;-)

Mute Arcadian Productions
    Favourite Arcadian Productions
    Jan 11th 2024, 3:20 PM

@Tríona Commode: Why? Are you going to try to catch him?

Mute Felicity McKenna
    Favourite Felicity McKenna
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:01 PM

Not to worry!!!! This must be fake news!!!Helen McEntee said the streets are SAFE and FFG and GP voted confidence in her.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:40 PM

Presumably the staff were able to give a good description of this man, yet the report just says man with machete. This is not very helpful if the Gardai wish to apprehend this man! Is there a reason why his description is not given?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 11th 2024, 8:41 PM

@Brian Hunt:
    It’s likely that he had hands and head covered so the staff couldn’t give a description beyond ‘male’

Mute Irish Axe
    Favourite Irish Axe
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:01 PM

A picture or a detailed description would be helpful.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jan 11th 2024, 11:51 AM

Machete! Jesus.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:31 PM

This piece was written by ‘Sadhbh Cox’. Is that a real person, or is someone at The Journal just having a laugh for once?

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:33 PM

@Tríona Commode: *Sadbh Cox

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:34 PM

@Tríona Commode: And you can’t even type it accurately.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:38 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: I immediately corrected my myself, even before you could snipe for trifling errors.

Mute Soundy Sound
    Favourite Soundy Sound
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:41 PM

@Tríona Commode: you do realise that Sadbh is pronounced “Sive” and isn’t uncommon, at all. Cox, also isn’t a very uncommon family name?
    What are you actually getting at? A childish giggle at Cox, is it? Making fun of people’s names is where the comments are at now!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:42 PM

@Tríona Commode: You corrected your yourself: well done. Sniping at someone’s name is what got you into this mess.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:47 PM

@Soundy Sound: Actually, it’s more like, ‘sy-iv’, if you know Irish at all. Also, I recall someone somewhere suggesting that ‘Sadbh Wang’ would be a good name for a spoof journalist.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:51 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: What mess?

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Tríona Commode: It’s one syllable. Stop incorrecting people.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:09 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: How is ‘my myself’ a correction? It’s a further error.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:53 PM

@Alan: So sorry typing errors upset you. It’s unfortunate one cannot edit one’s comments here.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:58 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: No. ‘-dbh’ would represent two syllables in most Irish dialects, just probably not in your playschool nursery rhyme equivalent.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Jan 12th 2024, 4:34 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: go back to sleep

Mute Pat Thornton
    Favourite Pat Thornton
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:51 PM

“A LONE MALE” if a recruit in Templemore, gave that, as the only description, of a suspect in an aggravated robbery, in a practical exam, he would be shown the gates.
    What garda rank is responsible for such ridiculous description?
    It would seem to me that the suspect is being given every chance to escape!@

Mute Iron Man
    Favourite Iron Man
    Jan 11th 2024, 3:28 PM

Where were the Guards when this was going on ? Main area in a busy city and nothing ? It’s nothing exactly a large city with miles of shopping areas ? Would it not be common sense to at least keep one guard in the main shopping area during daylight hours ?

Mute Tadhg Sebastian
    Favourite Tadhg Sebastian
    Jan 12th 2024, 11:09 PM

@Iron Man: To be fair – it’s not like the entrance to the jewellery shop is within view of the Garda Station front entrance and about 20 second drive down a short hill. Oh wait..

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:43 PM

All of you gagging for it to be a foreigner but what group of people are usually associated with machetes and slash hooks? No description of attackers for pharmacy robbery in artane either by the way.

Mute EMcD
    Favourite EMcD
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:59 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: who exactly is gagging for it to be a foreigner? You seem to be taking the higher moral ground whilst also insulting another minority….what a hypocrite!

Mute Kevi n
    Favourite Kevi n
    Jan 11th 2024, 4:25 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: gardeners?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:28 PM

How did he come up with that plan,did he hatchet himself.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 11th 2024, 8:37 PM

@Larry Betts: sharp wit as usual Larry

Mute GVR
    Favourite GVR
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:33 PM

New York Times names Waterford top place to visit in 2024, until that’s ruined by antisocial behaviour. Just like Dublin

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:37 PM

@GVR: New York Times nominated Waterford as a great place due to its rich history,it’s stunning scenery and because it is to the forefront of cutting edge technology. Unfortunately the idea of knocking off a jewelers with a machete is not what they meant by “cutting edge technology”

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Jan 11th 2024, 12:36 PM

I immediately corrected myself, even before you could snipe for trifling errors.

Mute Paddy Connolly
    Favourite Paddy Connolly
    Jan 11th 2024, 6:16 PM

Maybe they couldn’t give a description, because he was the invisible man without any identification, from an invisible country.

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Jan 11th 2024, 7:04 PM

@Paddy Connolly: was only a matter of time before someone threw the stone at immigrants, if you seen a man with a machete, what he looks like is irrelevant, if you didnt see a man with a machete then you are of no help

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Jan 11th 2024, 2:31 PM

Should be rewarded for a zero-carbon theft?

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Jan 11th 2024, 6:33 PM

The police are appealing for info on this thug? What will they do when/if the thug is brought before the courts, and, upon appeal, he’s given yet another suspended sentence. It is no wonder that the cops are scarce on the ground; they’re continually undermined so, I guess, they kinda bow out. I would.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:33 PM

People like him should be given the chop!

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:45 PM

I’d say it’s going to go down the charts in America now…..it was no 51 on their list of great places to visit.

Mute Carla O
    Favourite Carla O
    Jan 12th 2024, 2:35 AM

Where are all these machetes coming from .. you don’t go to Tesco and get a machete they must be being brought in by boat?

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:29 PM

@Tríona Commode: You need to further correct yourself in a whole manner of ways.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2024, 1:43 PM

@Tom Dillon: “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone”

Mute Kevi n
    Favourite Kevi n
    Jan 11th 2024, 4:48 PM

@Brian Hunt: let he who is without brain quote the bible

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jan 11th 2024, 10:49 PM

So many contributors are seeking extra information regarding the man’s description. There is only one thing they want to know. Is he foreign? They just don’t have the nuts to say it.