You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Basalt via Shutterstock

Ireland’s proximity to European and US markets lands 70 new jobs in Meath

Minister Bruton welcomed the news that a large manufacturing facility will employ people off the live register in a regional town.

MAFIC HAS ANNOUNCED the creation of 70 new jobs over the next three years in their new production facility in Kells, Co. Meath.

The Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Richard Bruton welcomed the announcement and said: “A manufacturing facility, which otherwise would have gone elsewhere in the world, is coming to employ people off the live register in a regional town which would ordinarily struggle to attract multinational investment”.

The jobs created will be in general management, shop floor managers, general operatives and administrative staff.

The Mafic Group has secured exclusive technology rights for the production of basalt fibre at Kells Business Park. It will be the sole production site of basalt fibre for Mafic SA and Mafic Canada will use the fibres produced in Kells in the manufacture for the North American markets.

Brian Dougan, director and secretary of Mafic SA and managing director of Mafic Ireland believes Kells is the perfect location for the new facility:

That coupled with the availability of workers and Ireland’s proximity to the European and North American markets was a huge draw for us. We are confident that Ireland, and specifically the historical town of Kells, offers us all the necessary components to help make our business a success.

The jobs announcement is part of the Succeed-in-Ireland initiative which forms part of the Government’s Action Plan for Jobs.

Read: 5 steps to tackle youth unemployment outlined by SFA>
More: Good news for Dublin: Telecoms company announces 70 new jobs>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

25 Comments
    Mute Seamus West
    Favourite Seamus West
    May 27th 2013, 4:39 PM

The headline “Ireland’s proximity to Europe…”, I alawys thought we were in Europe!!

Mute Gar.
    Favourite Gar.
    May 27th 2013, 5:29 PM

So what if its only one job. Every job created needs to be advertised to get people’s spirits up. Some moaners love doom and gloom.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    May 27th 2013, 5:30 PM

Nicely said Gar!

Mute stupidlambu
    Favourite stupidlambu
    May 27th 2013, 5:39 PM

Af for god sake people cop on and wake up this is nothing in the scheme of things and also it is over 3yrs and we dont know if they are well paying or not.

Mute Maria Farrell
    Favourite Maria Farrell
    May 27th 2013, 5:49 PM

@ Stupidlambu
    It’s not about how long they take to create all the jobs or how well they pay. I come from Kells and this will be a huge boost to the town. The loss of Quinn Insurance and the collapse of the construction industry was a massive blow to employment for young people in the town. I personally welcome any new employment opportunities for my friends and family.

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    May 27th 2013, 6:43 PM

You might call this negative, but as long as people in this country cant be bothered to get up off their a***s and provide themselves with employment by their own enterprising efforts ,they will continue to always rely on others to provide the jobs.

Mute Mgt Helena Byrne
    Favourite Mgt Helena Byrne
    May 28th 2013, 12:48 AM

So true!!

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    May 27th 2013, 4:37 PM

Next they will be announcing that the local chipper employed someone.

Mute Mark Garrigan
    Favourite Mark Garrigan
    May 27th 2013, 4:30 PM

Woo hoo!All them jobs over the next 3 years….Well done

Mute marcus de paor
    Favourite marcus de paor
    May 27th 2013, 4:27 PM

The government has an action plan for jobs ?…. now that’s news. .. though it was just an action plan for debt hobbling and emigration. … still good news for kells and it’s people…. lovely town

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    May 27th 2013, 4:46 PM

Don’t want to cynical but why must all employees come from the live register? Are these JobBridge positions? €50 a week jobs?

Let’s hope they’re real jobs but here’s another question. If its part of the Succeed-In-Ireland program who gets the €1,500+ reward per job? No problem if it’s a genuine effort on someone’s part to get this company here but would love to know if they have FG connections

Mute Hubert Morris
    Favourite Hubert Morris
    May 28th 2013, 10:56 AM

I will and I’m a member of FF party

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    May 27th 2013, 4:56 PM

Moan Moan Moan Moan Moan….now I feel like I fit in.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 27th 2013, 5:29 PM

You need to throw in a “unsecured bond holders” somewhere to truly belong…

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    May 27th 2013, 5:55 PM

If only 1 person gets to stay and live in the country of their birth…. It’s a start….

Mute Declan Hickey
    Favourite Declan Hickey
    May 27th 2013, 5:55 PM

Sweet Jesus where are the muppets in government when 70 jobs are lost at once? Oh wait…they couldn’t be arsed.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    May 27th 2013, 6:11 PM

Good news for the people of Kells that is if any of the people of Kells get the any of the jobs, and do you have any idea what year it is going to happen?

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    May 27th 2013, 6:50 PM

What is basalt fibre and what is it used for? Sounds like there will be manufacturing at the plant and thats a good thing..

Mute Jangles
    Favourite Jangles
    May 27th 2013, 9:13 PM

Its replacing the local hemp fibre industry recently busted by the Gardai.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    May 27th 2013, 9:58 PM

Put my name down for a job so. Ill bring me own lamps..

Mute Mark Copas
    Favourite Mark Copas
    May 27th 2013, 6:26 PM

Wondering here when next big business shuts will minister be there for photos. Ida is bankrolling all new business. Fecking joke

Mute Michael Lawlor
    Favourite Michael Lawlor
    May 28th 2013, 2:17 PM

Some people just love pissing and moaning about everything… probably why the country has always messed up to many whiners with negative outlooks.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    May 27th 2013, 9:11 PM

Anyone know what Basalt Fibre is?

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    May 27th 2013, 9:19 PM

I googled it. It’s a bit like fibreglass but has different properties.
    There is no basalt in Meath though, as far as I know. Antrim is the only place in the island you find basalt.

Mute Arbuthnot Fink
    Favourite Arbuthnot Fink
    May 28th 2013, 2:21 AM

BASALT!