You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Nightclub revellers via Shutterstock

Mayor cracks down on Magaluf pub crawls by British and Irish tourists

Police are investigating a recent incident involving an 18-year-old woman from Northern Ireland.

THE MAYOR OF Calvià, the Mallorca region which covers the popular resort of Magaluf, has passed a new law giving authorities tighter control over controversial tourist pub crawls.

The move comes after a recent incident in which an 18-year-old woman from Northern Ireland was filmed performing sex acts on a group of men during a bar crawl organised by the company Carnage Magaluf.

Announcing the clamp-down yesterday, Calvià mayor Manuel Onieva took the opportunity to express his “total rejection and anger at the activities which were carried out in a video which is currently on the social media circuit.”

Onieva also confirmed that a police investigation into the incident is under way.

In a statement yesterday, he laid out the terms of the new restrictions:

Each pub crawl guide will have to wear a specific jacket so local police can monitor those operating in the region and identify those that have been approved.Pub crawl groups can now not exceed more than 50 people and if any operators exceed this legal capacity, they will be fined.

The law is set to come into effect later this month.

Despite attracting hundreds of thousands of British and Irish tourists each year, the image of the Calvia region has been hit in recent years by Magaluf’s reputation for binge-drinking and public disorder.

The region’s tourism board has even taken on the services of London-based PR company KBC, since 2012, in order to clean up its image in the UK.

Read: Canadian recruitment firm apologise for ‘Drunken Paddy’ newspaper ad>

Ireland has the second highest rate of binge drinking in the world>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:08 AM

Pub crawl groups can’t exceed 50, christ how many were on them before

Mute Eric Lensherr
    Favourite Eric Lensherr
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:32 AM

At least 25

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Jul 11th 2014, 7:19 PM

I worked in Gran Canaria for a summer, more often then not they are 100+ and more than one company running them.

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:08 AM

Magaluf Shagaluf! Do you really want your sons and daughters doing their post leaving cert break there?

Mute Eric Lensherr
    Favourite Eric Lensherr
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:22 AM

What a terribly graphic comment Mr Eye!

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:23 AM

Eye c u
    Wayyyyyy too much info ffs

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo

Sure I did. :)

Mute Joe Corleone
    Favourite Joe Corleone

Yeah all those doses of the Karsashuans and drunk Geordies getting STDs, teenage mommy dramas etc on the TV have done wonders for their IQs, that is not to speak for all of our youth but a good deal alright especially the ones going off to magaluf and the like.

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:24 AM

Fill a couple of hundred 18 year olds up with alcohol and let them lose on a holiday resort and see how smart they are

Mute Joe Corleone
    Favourite Joe Corleone
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:27 AM

*Kardashians
    At least James you’ve graduated to Vice news you’re a big boy now. :)

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:30 AM

Woohoo

Mute Joe Corleone
    Favourite Joe Corleone
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:38 AM

Not yourself Mr Murphy lol, that was for eye_c_u resident fruitbat has a couple of pseudonyms for his batshit crazy comments. :)

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:12 AM

Post leaving cert holiday? There are plenty of spuds that need picking, bedsits in Rathmines aren’t cheap

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:38 AM

When I was their age I went somewhere far more civilized. It was called santa ponsa …

Mute Joe_King
    Favourite Joe_King
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:18 AM

Classy Irish and British boys and girls as usual.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:16 AM

What would garth brooks do….

Mute Aiden Galvin
    Favourite Aiden Galvin
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:43 AM

He would phone bear grylls for advice on how to survive 5 nites in a row

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:45 AM

Tour groups would have to consist of at least 400,000 drunk 18 year olds or they’d be cancelled.

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Jul 11th 2014, 1:01 PM

Listen, a month in the saharah is far easier than a week in majorca for an 18 year old irish fella. That should be bear grylls next special.

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:51 PM

Who gives a shite about that Stetson wearing cry baby

Mute Gabrielle Rose
    Favourite Gabrielle Rose
    Jul 11th 2014, 3:15 PM

Re: the person above promoting the idea of name and shame. Only a month or so an Irishman living in Australia committed suicide after being publicly shamed in the reporting of an embarrassing incident and the following court case.

Mute Declan Riain
    Favourite Declan Riain
    Jul 11th 2014, 12:33 PM

Sad. She & Slane girl could have benefited from that selfiecop.com app :(

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Jul 11th 2014, 2:15 PM

“Mum, Dad; I’m off to Magaluf with 25 or so of my teenage mates for a week”

“That’s fine dear, behave yourself now you little rapscallion. If in doubt be sure to ask the Mayor of Magaluf or perhaps another high ranking public servant how you should behave.”

That is how parenting works I believe.

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Jul 11th 2014, 1:35 PM

Young people Drink too much & act inappropriately Shocker!!

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 11th 2014, 3:44 PM

They could do what the Dutch police have being doing off the books for ages. Give them the choice of being charged with everything on the books or be driven to the airport where they pay for the next flight home.

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jul 11th 2014, 1:42 PM

Enough of these wh@res!! Name and shame!! “Oh but we can’t because she might harm herself”!!!!
    I’m sorry but by this way of thinking you can do just about anything and get away with it scot free!! When I was in my teens we were fooling around but not in front of everybody at a bar!! Disgusting!! Every year the bar is being lowered and lowered.. Soon we’ll be in the gutter wondering how we got there.. Name and shame!!

Mute Adam Urwin
    Favourite Adam Urwin
    Jul 11th 2014, 2:11 PM

Name and shame? For what purpose? So she can be publicly harassed and demonised, or do you propose that the men involved are named too?

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jul 11th 2014, 2:51 PM

Of course name the guy involved!! This should never be tolerated! Under no exception!!
    We live in a society where it’s acceptable to get drunk out of your mind and be aggressive towards anyone in your path.. It’s ok to be off your face on class A drugs in public places day or night.. It’s normal to see someone shooting up on a bus..
    We did this to ourselves, we allowed this happen. It became a common occurrence and now it’s everywhere.
    So when I say name and shame I mean it otherwise Saturday night on the town will turn into a whole different animal. Instead of guys pissing at a wall it’ll be bjs in the corner. Enough is enough!!

Mute Adam Urwin
    Favourite Adam Urwin
    Jul 11th 2014, 2:55 PM

What exactly do you think that would accomplish? I agree with a lot of what you say in the post above but ‘shaming’ people isn’t the answer.

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jul 11th 2014, 3:03 PM

If you shame the culprits maybe that would be enough of a deterrent to stop anyone else trying. Kids are always pushing boundaries but there has to be a cutoff point that you just never cross!

Mute Adam Urwin
    Favourite Adam Urwin
    Jul 11th 2014, 3:11 PM

Not getting my point are you? Shaming does nothing other than demonise the people involved, it won’t address or change the culture that you’re talking about, which has little to do with shooting up on buses by the way. Because something doesn’t fit with your personal morality doesn’t mean that it’s either wrong or worthy of being opened up in a public forum.

Mute John Duncan
    Favourite John Duncan
    Jul 11th 2014, 3:39 PM

and you’ve never done anything embarrassing and stupid ever.

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jul 11th 2014, 3:47 PM

Of course I have but not like this.. Sorry but when I was a teen we went knacker drinking with cider in the back fields. We weren’t getting blow jobs in a bar by some drunk girl!!

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    Jul 11th 2014, 3:57 PM

Micheal you sound like a bleeden mullah!

You’ve some perverted outlook if you want to publish in public where people decide put a penis.

What then? Public stoning?

If they break public decency laws then we have things in place for those situations.

Mute Laurence Cavanagh
    Favourite Laurence Cavanagh
    Jul 11th 2014, 12:26 PM

Magaluf.Same as it ever was.

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Jul 11th 2014, 11:55 PM

Praise the gods there was no video recording phones when I was a teenager

Mute Truth Patrol
    Favourite Truth Patrol
    Jul 11th 2014, 12:25 PM

How the hell do they define a “pub crawl”? How do you distinguish between a pub crawl and groups moving from one pub to another not part of a pub crawl as such? Will be hard to argue.

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jul 11th 2014, 4:21 PM

Sorry Diarmuid I totally agree but it doesn’t seem to be getting through to the kids. No one seems to be shocked by this anymore. Why?

Mute beansy
    Favourite beansy
    Jul 11th 2014, 6:32 PM

I girl and 29 bjs has to spoil it for every1 else!

Mute GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Favourite GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Jul 11th 2014, 12:01 PM

“The region’s tourism board has even taken on the services of London-based PR company KBC, since 2012, in order to clean up its image in the UK”

Bet you they are a lot cleaner that our KBC.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jul 11th 2014, 12:23 PM

Cleaning up the image is nice – but ultimately pointless without cleaning up the actuality.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 11th 2014, 12:32 PM

I live in Cyprus for a number of yrs in Limassol . Cypriot men look down on British and Irish women . They where seen as easy and fair game . For 6 months of the yr during the tourist season Cypriot men would go down to the strip as it was call and take there pick of the girls . The girls of course where flatter by the attention of foreign men not realising that they where just the next one on the list . Cypriot women of course where never to be seen anywhere near the strip . The men would never let them near the place .

Mute whitesloe
    Favourite whitesloe
    Jul 11th 2014, 6:11 PM

Ah ffs :
    1)are the Cypriot men total pigs
    2)is it possible the Irish and British women wanted an easy lay?
    3)are Cypriot women unable to choose for themselves whether to visit the strip?

Seriously, examine your world view.

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jul 11th 2014, 3:22 PM

So what you’re all saying is we just ignore it? Turn a blind eye?

Mute DiarmuidMurphy
    Favourite DiarmuidMurphy
    Jul 11th 2014, 4:00 PM

Michael, naming and shaming will not work, this all has to do with parenting,kids need to be taught to have more respect for themselves, boys to be taught to treat girls with respect, and girls to have more respect for themselves. pier pressure today is huge so parents should also be teaching their kids that it’s ok not to follow the crowd, not to drink if you dont want to, and to walk away from a situation if your not comfortable, while also educating them on the dangers of alcohol and how a picture instantly gets uploaded for the World to see.