You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IRELAND’S VACCINE ROLL-OUT has slowed down, with continued delivery shortfalls hampering the health service’s progress.
During the week HSE chief Paul Reid expressed his frustration in particular with AstraZeneca, stating that repeated and sometimes last-minute reductions to deliveries had “rocked” confidence in the company.
Officials have stressed that Ireland is, by European Union standards, working its way through the population at a decent pace, ahead of some of the bloc’s big players like France and Germany.
But a small number of countries in the EU have steamed ahead, despite the fact that they are part of the same vaccine pool, with an entitlement to doses proportionate to their population.
Malta
Although there have been criticisms in some countries of the European Union vaccine strategy, Malta’s health minister Chris Fearne has said the pooled purchasing of vaccine doses prevented competition that would have left Malta out in the cold.
“Imagine the situation had we not done this together,” he said in an interview last month. “Had member states gone their own way… there would have been a race between member states, so the larger member states would have probably had access to the vaccines, while the smaller member states would have lagged behind, possibly not even having had access at all.”
At that point the country had given at least one jab to 10% of the population of 515,000 people – now around 20% of the population have received a first dose.
The country had ordered two million doses in total through the EU procurement scheme – enough to immunise its population twice over. The government in Malta also ordered any additional doses that the European Commission put up for availability.
Some countries opted not to take up their full population-based allocation and officials in Malta have said their decision to order as many doses as they possibly could has helped them with the steady progress they have been making.
Malta has also used a network of community health centres to dispense doses as quickly as they arrived.
Hungary
In Hungary, around 1.5 million people – around 11.9% of the 9.8 million-population have received at least a first jab so far. All those who have registered on the government’s website can be vaccinated by early April, officials have said.
The only EU member to be administering both the Chinese Sinopharm and Russian Sputnik V jabs, Hungary has blamed Brussels for slow deliveries of western-developed vaccines.
Prime Minister Viktor Orban’s chief-of-staff Gergely Gulyas this week said Hungary’s vaccine success is “thanks to the Chinese vaccines”. He was speaking as he announced the arrival in Budapest of a new batch of 450,000 Sinopharm doses from China.
Along with Hungary, the United Arab Emirates, Cambodia, Peru and Zimbabwe have all started administering the Sinopharm vaccine, which its makers say is 79% effective. It has not been approved by the European Medicines Agency.
Hungary is one of just three countries in the EU to begin administering doses of Russia’s Sputnik V vaccine ahead of approval by the European Medicines Agency.
This vaccine works in a similar way to the AstraZeneca/Oxford jab, but has a 91.6% efficacy, according to trial results.
More than a dozen nations have authorised its use, including Belarus, Armenia, Iran, Algeria, Argentina, South Korea and Venezuela.
In the midst of its steady vaccine progress, Hungary is still dealing with record numbers of Covid-19 cases and patients requiring hospitalisation.
Officials said coronavirus hospital patient numbers reached a record high of 8,329, while a record 8,312 new infection cases was also posted.
Around 16,500 Hungarians have died in total due to the coronavirus since the pandemic began. A strict lockdown, including school closures, began Monday.
Denmark
Denmark has been a leader in Europe since the start of the year. By 15 January it had given vaccines to 2.2% of its population of 5.8 million.
Early on in the roll-out this was, in part, due to a decision not to set aside half the vaccine allotment to ensure patients got their second dose. The country’s officials decided to delay the second dose of the Pfizer vaccine by up to six weeks, rather than the recommended three.
In a similar strategy to the one taken in the UK, as soon as the vaccines came into the country, as many people as possible were given their first doses.
The country has been credited with well-oiled logistics and a swift campaign in nursing homes, where almost everyone who wanted a vaccine had received one by the middle of January.
The country also attributes the strong start to its universal healthcare system, governed by easily-mobilised local regions.
Denmark has a centralised national register which assigns each resident a personal identification number linking them to government services.
Health records are linked to a person’s ID number and this has helped the health service to categorise residents into different priority groups, with an accompanying app that allows health officials to communicate with people.
How does Ireland’s approach compare?
Ireland does not have an integrated and centralised system such as the one in Denmark.
The absence of a database for the various cohorts in society has been a clear problem throughout the roll-out, with the health service relying on GPs to compile names and contact details from their own records when vaccination of the over-70s began recently.
Now that the programme includes people at very high risk of severe disease, the HSE is depending on hospital groups – and again GPs in some cases – to identify patients who fall into this category and to contact them.
An entirely new IT system had to be built in order to manage and track the roll-out. This is currently being used, with further updates to be added as the health system moves through the various cohorts.
In terms of orders, the Irish government, like Malta’s, has not held back, ordering the full allocation (1% of the EU’s total pool of vaccines) of each vaccine approved for use in the EU.
When it comes to the accessing of further stocks of vaccines, the government has said it will take surplus doses from other countries if they are offered – but only if they are EMA- approved vaccines.
Officials have been wary of commenting on vaccines such as the Sputnik V one before the regulator has given them the green light. It is unlikely they would follow the Hungarian government’s lead and source vaccines that have not been approved by the EMA.
The EMA recently launched a rolling review of the Russian vaccine, but there is no indication of when this will progress to a formal marketing authorisation application.
Unlike Denmark, Ireland has been focusing on following the two-dose schedule with vaccines. As of 9 March 396,089 first doses had been administered and 157,072 people were fully vaccinated.
Just over 8% of the population has received a first dose and 3% are fully vaccinated.
More than 66,000 residents of long term care facilities are fully vaccinated and over 87,000 frontline healthcare workers have received both doses.
The health service has said Ireland has the infrastructure in place; vaccinators are trained, mass vaccination centres are opening up and expanding, additional staff are being recruited. The sticking point, it says, is the unreliable supply of vaccine doses.
Despite this uncertainty, the government is still confident it will be able to deliver almost one million vaccines in April, 1.2 million in May and 1.68 million in June.
- With reporting from AFP.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
TheJournal.ie's Coronavirus Newsletter
TheJournal.ie's coronavirus newsletter cuts through the misinformation and noise with the clear facts you need to make informed choices. Sign up here
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
59 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
As horrific are the other nights attack on the bus was, there is a rise of attacks on everyone. Years of ineffectual policing and government policies has made this.
@Alan Wright: About to post a very similar thing. Attacks on the gay community is just an example of the general lack of law and order that unfortunately is in abundant in the last few years. Presence of policing is badly needed in most of our towns and cities and when they do get caught, suspended or light sentencing is not a solution unless there is an imposise on rehabilitation.
@Jen Mc: But is that actually the case? Or is it just that an attack on someone from a minority group makes for a bigger media impact, which is why such an attack might gain higher profile level of reporting and online discussion, but a similar attack without a minority victim, is just a regular Saturday..
Unprovoked attacks on anyone are horrendous and if someone is targeted because they are from a minority, or for any other specific reason its awful, but unprovoked attacks are usually just on anyone that looks like an easy victim, that’s the primary selection criteria.
@Jen Mc: I personally feel we need to stop diluting ourselves into minorities and begin to stand together again rather than individually.
Violence has become a huge problem over the last 30 years, manners are out the window, respect is pretty much non-existent. It’s every man/woman for themselves! We all cannot tolerate whats happening. We need to take a very good look at ourselves (old and young). What was changed all those years ago in legislation re discipline has gone to the extreme and now look.
@David Van-Standen: 5 bus drivers attacked last week and nothing about it .. I guess bus drivers are not minority enough for the like of Jen.. No virtue signalling to be gained from that angle
@Alan Wright: As an example, a few weeks ago I protected a young lady (early 20′s) from a jünķie mugger up by Jervis Street (Dublin 1). During that incident when I fought the guy off, he called me a “gáý fág”. So, I am straight, is that a homophobic attack? Crime on everyone, especially in the city centre is getting way out of control. Look at this link from last week: https://www.newstalk.com/news/georges-dock-luas-attack-up-to-ten-teens-involved-in-serious-assault-1370789
@Alan Wright: could be worse. This is the Chair of PAC. How are comments from clowns like this helpful in the struggle against homophobia and homophobic attacks? This is potentially the voice of the next government. Can you imagine?
@GrumpyAulFella: Wow, who could’ve seen this coming, GrumpyAylFella taking any opportunity to bash SF. You and that Bri person never add anything to the discussion except “SF are bad”. The grown-ups here are actually talking about the rise in violent attacks (under FF & FG rule btw) and you bring up SF from behind your anonymous account.
@Alan Wright: Alan – So it is clear…you did not suffer a homophobic attack as you are not a homosexual. Sad they use the term to mean a negatitive thing still. But well done helping her, not many would and something needs to be done in Ireland asap for crime (all crime asap).
@Alan Wright: wow. No Alan, you’re harping on about years of ineffectual government policies and I’m just pointing out what’s in store with the next government. Why are you getting so uptight over somebody pointing out facts and providing links? Here’s another one for you.
@GrumpyAulFella: And your imaginary “what if” scenario continues. Crime and violent crime is on the rise right now (under FF & FG), that is the fact. But you are clearly blinded to the real facts that our government is completely inept.
@Darren Norris: And that’s my point Darren. It clearly wasn’t homophobic on me but an example of the rampant and open crime in our city against anyone regardless. I pointed out on another article about the girl getting pushed under the DART in Howth Junction and the scrote who did it getting off scott free. Varadker should be talking about crime on everyone as he’s a leader of this country and not segregate. Afterall, it’s his government that’s soft on crime.
@Alan Wright: yes and this article is specifically about attacks on the gay community. How do you think the commentary and views from the largest party in Ireland are likely to influence would be homophobic attackers? If people in positions of authority espouse homophobia then some of their cheerleaders and average citizens are probably likely to do the same. We all know that we need more visible policing and tougher sentencing but that’s not going to stop homophobia.
@GrumpyAulFella: Yep, and the article is about a “feeling”. Feelings aren’t facts, being you love facts so much. Lets get the real stats, concentrate on the known hot spots for crime and then hold criminals accountable for their crimes, but you dont get any of that from our current hug-a-thug government. Im also surprised you haven’t resorted to calling me a sinner-bot yet!
@Alan Wright: I don’t call names Alan. Again you are off point and off the topic of the article that concerns homophobic attacks. You’re harping on about the governments “hug a thug” policies but you don’t comment on SF’s homophobic comments. Why not? We are talking about homophobia here. This is the next government. Are you condoning their homophobia? Attempting to disband the SCC, attending terrorist funerals and having councillors up in front of the SCC on charges of organised crime doesn’t do much to suggest that SF wouldn’t have a “hug a thug” policy so I don’t know where you’re going with that. ALL parties/politicians need to their utmost to kill-off homophobia and not promote it so while kicking the govt might get you thumbs it’s not addressing the point.
@GrumpyAulFella: Ah grumpy insults where? When you can reasonably respond to comments or posts on The Journal without dragging S.F into you might be taken more seriously. Your never ending S.F bashing comments truly are the preserve of the unintelligent.
@Franny Ando: aw are you offended by facts being posted about SF Franny? Sorry I’ll make up some fiction about how great they are just to keep you happy. I seem to remember commenting on your Covid anti vaccine posts during the pandemic without mentioning SF. Perhaps you missed those ones. Somebody mentioned ineffectual govt policies in relation to the topic. I agree but I just referenced the alternative government’s record on the topic supported by links for some balance. Totally relevant I would have thought.
@GrumpyAulFella: Jesus man. There is no “alternative government”. SF are not in power they are an opposition party. You’re basing your opinion of a record that’s never even existed (I.e. SF have not been in government). Thats the fact for you there friend. There is only the coalition of FF/FG/G. Your hatred of SF blinds you to all the folly of the actual government.
I’ve been targeted in a similar attack on a bus a couple years ago, though fortunately wasn’t badly injured. I don’t think we can look at these attacks in isolation, yes they are motivated by homophobia but the people who do it more often than not also engage in petty crime and all kinds of antisocial behaviour. There’s a deeper issue behind it and needs to be addressed. Varadkar and his buddies have done sweet f all to address those issues, though. Legislation is good but won’t fix everything, the causes of this behaviour need to be addressed
@Rui Firmino: not the government’s fault. It’s the little scrotes parents. Blame the government. The government is not the daddy, go to any social housing estate and this is common behaviour. It’s the little darlings parents you need to target
@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: It is the government’s fault letting whole sections of society be uneducated and unemployed and free to engage in petty crime without consequence.
@Rui Firmino: the government is not responsible. If the parents stop procreating vermin we might get somewhere. the govt have zero obligation to tell these youths how to act. The government are not youth club leaders ffs
@Rui Firmino: your absolutely spot on. People fail to realise when blaming the parents, for many, the parents are jst as bad and don’t actually care what their kids are at, so relying on them to bring change is useless. Kids need intervention and education and people just have to admit that a major part of that comes from government services, ones they refuse to provide. So if we want our society to change on a whole it needs to be a collective effort and not looking to parents who have the same attitude as their kids to fix this. I think your point is 100% correct.
@Christine Hanway: that is the left wing approach. Reeducation my hoxe. We need extreme right wing policies to deal with these scrotes. my nephew came home black and blue after a few grey tracksuits decided to attack him. he spend nearly a week in hospital. What did the judge do?? F ALL. All they got was community service. There should be a law for scrotes procreating scrotes. And their usual yup Tallaght when they get away with it.
boot camp is what’s needed, like the majority of the EU. Ireland and it’s liberal approach to anti social behaviour is embarrassing actually.
@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: I dont disagree with you, my point it they need intervention and as you say, the right discipline and sentencing but you jst said the problem isnt the government, the parents arent going to overhaul the justice system or set up bootcamps.. Im not interested in the left/right wing… the government is where what your requesting be implemented so how are they not responsible for fixing it. And ur right to, our anti social behaviour esp in Dublin is an absolute embarrassment
@Rui Firmino: yeah, it’s always the government’s fault. How convenient. How about the inconvenient persuasive evidence that both genetic and environmental factors contribute to antisocial behavior? Maybe CRISPR technology is the answer to converting those wanton thugs into angels? In the meantime threw them in jail.
One of the contributing factors in the increase of unmeditated or spontaneous violent crime is the lack of social accountability. Ireland is now a country of communities where a person can commit an offence and never have to face the social backlash that would have followed him/her for life. Everybody doesn’t know everybody anymore.
@Dave Wave: I tend to agree – while the JLO scheme tries to keep youths without a record we also need to consider things like 7 day custody orders for repeat offenders… We need to use the tools available and not have people in court on their 59th offence. Not liking the US model of three strikes – but there must be consequences for antisocial and violent crimes as they are an assault on everyone’s feeling of safety and security and not just the victims.
Ask him about his defense of Robert Troy. Another crooked profiteering Government minister exploiting his position in Government to take advantage of the housing to exploit those caught in the rent trap in order to enrich himself…. oh wait? Are we not supposed to pay attention to that?
Society has become more dangerous for everyone it’s not a safe little country for old, young, gay, straight. Attacks murders drugs all everyday news now.
@Alan Richard Scott Jr.: No, straight people aren’t attacked for being straight, but the scrotes just use something else, your clothes, your accent etc. These violent criminals just use anything as an excuse to attack.
This is cultural and has been allowed to happen through a complete breakdown of law and order over the last 20 years. Whilst great strides have been made in many areas there is a generation whose thug and yob element (and every gen had one) are behaving as they please with no fear whatsoever of any consequence.. it’s been allowed to happen (not just here but in many other countries also, look at the UK..) by a lack of balance and discipline and pandering to a snowflake mindset… a lot of this happened on your watch , Leo…
@Stuart Doherty: I was in agreement with you until you tried to blame Leo’s watch. This is happening, by your own words, in many countries and it must therefore be something beyond just Leo’s control. It probabipy would be happening no matter who was in the dail.
@Niall Ó Cofaigh: I’m absolutely not blaming Leo at all… it’s just they were in charge for some of this timeframe and he’s back in the hot seat soon enough… he has the ability to at least get the ball rolling if he wants to tackle anti social behaviour and violence
@Stuart Doherty: stop encouraging dead beat parents to have kids by financially supporting them. Parents who never worked a day in their lives getting tax payers money to support as many kids as they want is a joke. Just encourages exponential growth in free loading drop kicks
Get rid of Drew Harris and invest money in the force. New uniforms should be way down on the “must have” list. 22 million euros would be better spent on man hours.
@Mark Tallon: I don’t agree I think we should be able to do both / improve level of front line policing and be sure that the police are properly equipped and appropriately supplied suitable clothing and uniforms and equipment / always envious of most other countries where when police do show up they at the very least appear like they can command authority and get control of situation / showing up in skirts or shirt and ties and formal hats are not fit for purpose in this day and age / maybe stop obsessing about road policing and bloody tax discs and get the force much more focussed on in the harder stuff / try driving without an up to date tax disc and you come across nothing but police but if you’re getting hassled by scrotes police can’t be found for love or money
@Ron Collins: That is likely an extremist from a particular religious background who’s not from Ireland. I think that’s a different type of issue than dealing with ongoing homophobic attacks, if you get me.
Gardai on the streets and highly mobile, on scooters, bicycles, scrambler bikes and not so much in cars doing laps. Ohh and more Gardai on the streets with some more Gardai on the streets.. And I guess more Gardai on the streets.
With that add in proper sentences for any type of physical assault or hate related verbal abuse and absolutely no bail for anyone with previous conviction. See how simple it is when you put your mind to it.
@JG: the GRA would have to allow that first. They’re already complaining about new rosters and want more pay. Imagine asking them to get out of their cars and from behind a desk to walk the beat. Blue Covid would ensue.
@GrumpyAulFella: more pay and rosters that work are all part of a proper people management system. People who do 12 hour shifts are usually at the peak of their fatigue levels by hour 8…its the job of GRA to shout for its members but its the government job to look after the needs of the population This is not the point of this thread anyhow.. But has some relevance.
@JG: good people management is one thing pandering to their every whim under constant threat of strike and blackmail is another. Anyway we need high visibility boots on the ground in urban areas. There’s a great video on Youtube of two guys beating the living cr@p out of each other at Dr Quirkeys in O’Connell and a guy calling the police. 20m later and the lads are stilling beating each other up in broad daylight on the country’s main though fare. Eventual two gards turn up. The caller asks them what kept and one says “we were busy”. O’Connell St should have at least 2 foot patrols on it 24/7 with car patrol support from the immediate area. Policing in the city centre is shocking.
The closing of Garda stations and the decimation for Garda numbers by your party the past 15 years is a huge contributory factor to that Varadkar. But sure let’s not let the truth get in the way of another publicity opportunity.
Although the Catholic church is far from perfect, its greatest commandments are to love God and love your neighbour whether you like or disagree with them. The more the church is taken out of society, the more criminal behaviour you will get
How often do you think a mugger says to themselves, ‘ Oh there is a gay person, I must attack them’. My point is that, although it may happen on rare occasions, it is highly unlikely that, that is the real/ main reason. It is more likely to do with money, so they can get their next fix. Any attack on any individual is disgusting, regardless of their background and while the media sensationalise attacks on minority groups, to the detriment of the general population, which we are ALL part of, we all end up getting tagged as being a homophobic society, which we are not. Gay groups, who are ‘looking for equality’ who use the media to highlight these issues, do so at the expense of similar problems the rest of us suffer. The Gardai will never have enough resources to fully tackle this problem but the courts, by handing out longer sentences, without remission, may start to solve it. ‘ It’ being anti social behaviour, that we ALL experience.
I know lots of straight people who have received an unprovoked random kicking after a night out…Has any one ever that these attacks might just be random and the victims just happen to be Gay…?
Is this a problem in towns and cities outside of Dublin or is it just in the capital? I use public transport outside of Dublin regularly and see absolutely no hassle or trouble at all. There’s a lot about this in the media at the moment, as is right and proper, but I’ve never seen anti social behavior on my local transport, but I’ve seen plenty of it in Dublin.
'A stain on society': Homelessness hits another record of 15,286 people in emergency accommodation
Updated
23 mins ago
video calls
Microsoft retires Skype in favour of Teams
2 mins ago
New Mexico
Police 'keeping everything on the table' in deaths of Gene Hackman and wife Betsy Arakawa
Updated
17 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 153 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 105 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 137 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 39 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 43 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 25 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 51 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 85 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 65 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say