You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The deceased was a passenger in one of the vehicles Alamy Stock Photo

Two killed in separate collisions in Dublin and Donegal yesterday

A man in his 30s and another man in his 60s died after being involved in separate crashes.

LAST UPDATE | 19 Dec 2023

TWO PEOPLE HAVE been killed in separate road collisions in Dublin and Donegal.

Shortly after 6pm yesterday in Dublin 6, a low impact collision occurred between two cars on Grand Parade.

The driver of one of the cars involved, a male in his late 60s, was treated at the scene by emergency services personnel and removed by ambulance to St. Vincent’s University Hospital where he was later pronounced deceased.

The driver of the second car did not require immediate medical treatment.

Gardaí are appealing for any witnesses to this incident to come forward. Any road users who were travelling in the Grand Parade area at the time and may have camera footage (including dash-cam) are asked to make this available to investigating Gardaí.

In Donegal, a man in his 30s died after a two-vehicle collision yesterday evening at around 7pm.

The incident occurred on the N14 in Manorcunningham.

A male passenger, aged in his 30s, was fatally injured and his body has been removed to the mortuary of Letterkenny University Hospital, where a post mortem will take place in due course.

Both drivers were removed from the scene to Letterkenny University Hospital where they are being treated for injuries which are believed to be non-life threatening. 

The N14 at Carrickballydooey, Manorcunningham is currently closed pending a technical examination of the scene by Garda Forensic Collision Investigators.

Local traffic diversions are in place.

Gardaí in Letterkenny Garda Station are appealing to anyone who may have information in relation to this collision to contact them.

Any road users who were on the N14 yesterday evening between 6:30pm and 7pm and who may have camera footage, including dash cam, is asked to make this footage available.

Anyone with information about either fatal collision can contact Letterkenny Garda Station on 074 916 7100, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111, or any Garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Boris Blank
    Favourite Boris Blank
    Dec 19th 2023, 1:11 PM

Pity, I was really looking forward to building a snowperson

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Dec 19th 2023, 2:05 PM

@Boris Blank: maybe it doesn’t to be identified as a “snow person”

Mute Ceann Cac
    Favourite Ceann Cac
    Dec 19th 2023, 3:40 PM

@Boris Blank: Same, although it disgusts me that all snow persons are white. The lack of diversity even in 2023 is awful

Mute Boris Blank
    Favourite Boris Blank
    Dec 19th 2023, 4:01 PM

@Ceann Cac: excellent point!

Mute Boris Blank
    Favourite Boris Blank
    Dec 19th 2023, 4:01 PM

@Dave Barrett: true, Dave

Mute casio shock
    Favourite casio shock
    Dec 19th 2023, 4:44 PM

@Boris Blank: its only a snowwoman if there’s snowballs

Mute Boris Blank
    Favourite Boris Blank
    Dec 19th 2023, 8:49 PM

@casio shock: lol

Mute Pete Murray
    Favourite Pete Murray
    Dec 20th 2023, 12:05 AM

@Ceann Cac: it’s ok to be white and proud :)

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Dec 20th 2023, 12:58 AM

@Ceann Cac: privileged White snow person

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Dec 19th 2023, 12:28 PM

We’re lucky so. The UK met are warning of serious snowfall across the water over Christmas.

Mute downburst1
    Favourite downburst1
    Dec 19th 2023, 4:47 PM

@honey badger: The UK Met are not warning of serious snowfall in the UK at all over Christmas. I suspect you are a tabloid reader?

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Dec 19th 2023, 12:51 PM

So if it doesn’t snow on a certain date at a certain time it’s because of climate change, I know met eireann didn’t say that nonsense. Idi ot journalists.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Dec 19th 2023, 1:31 PM

@brendan C5: Do you understand the concept of trends?

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Dec 19th 2023, 2:39 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: I do indeed. Like violence, specifically in Dublin, is trending higher.

Mute Ann Nugent
    Favourite Ann Nugent
    Dec 19th 2023, 1:16 PM

Last week it said white Christmas this week it says no white Christmas. ???

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Dec 19th 2023, 1:26 PM

@Ann Nugent:
    I know they change their mind like the weather.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Dec 19th 2023, 2:24 PM

@Ann Nugent: Eh…… no they didn’t.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Dec 19th 2023, 2:30 PM

Blame it on Dickens! Between 1815 abd 1825 there were about 6 ‘Whute Christmases’ in London. Dickens reflected his childhood experiences in his novels, and literally ‘invented’ the so-called ‘traditional’ Christmas beloved by many. Turkey, Pudding, Snow, Carols, all featured strongly and still do. Though white Christmases are an actual rarity the scenes on Chrustmas cards would have you believe otherwise! All thanks to Dickens.

Mute Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Favourite Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Dec 19th 2023, 3:10 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: Theres me thinking it was Coca-Cola, but thats the Santa Claus connection thingymajig whatchamacallit

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Dec 19th 2023, 1:07 PM

That’s a shame. Hopefully we get a bit in the new year.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Dec 19th 2023, 6:24 PM

Heavy snow = no visiting inlaws

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Dec 19th 2023, 11:31 PM

@Shane O Mac: sounds good

Mute Gerard Hayden
    Favourite Gerard Hayden
    Dec 19th 2023, 3:16 PM

Way back in ’74 Greg Lake was using the lack of snow at Christmas for one of the reasons he no longer believed…

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Dec 19th 2023, 4:18 PM

@Gerard Hayden: Possibly one of my favourite ‘Christmas’ songs, even if it is about rejecting Christmas.

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Dec 19th 2023, 1:34 PM

There no longer is a white so it will be a no, a yellow or a red Christmas.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Dec 19th 2023, 4:21 PM

@Pato:
    Cheer up Cracker….you and the scooter looters can always cheer yourselves up with some supremely white ‘Aryan’ chavwear, some fire accelerant cara matches and the piece de résistance, some>50% ‘pure’ rat poison infused gak/crack for that proper 12 /10 skanger’s shite Crim-bo!! Keep her/him/it lit….while yee can yet! ;@}

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Dec 19th 2023, 6:22 PM

Must be that ol climate change again

Mute jiminybillybob
    Favourite jiminybillybob
    Dec 19th 2023, 9:06 PM

Shocker there.