You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Shutterstock/Derick Hudson

Man (40s) rushed to Beaumont hospital after assault in Tuam

The man was seriously injured during the incident.

A MAN IN his 40s has been hospitalised with serious injuries after he was assaulted in Tuam last night.

The incident occurred at Foster Place in the north Galway town shortly after midnight.

The man received a number of injuries in the attack. He was taken to Beaumont Hospital in Dublin where he is currently being treated for serious injuries.

No arrests have been made and investigations into the incident are ongoing.

Gardaí are appealing for any witnesses to the assault to come forward to them.

“Gardaí are also appealing to any road users (who may have camera footage) that were travelling in the Tuam town and Foster Place area between the hours of 11:50pm on Saturday 10th July, and 12:15am on Sunday 11th July, 2021, to make this footage available to Gardaí,” the force said in a statement.

Anyone with information is asked to contact Tuam Garda Station on 093 70840, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111, or any Garda Station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

9 Comments
    Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:35 AM

I cannot believe residents have to pay for developers poor workmanship. At least meet them half way!! Gangsters

Mute Paulo mclawlor
    Favourite Paulo mclawlor
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:51 AM

Screwed !

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:28 AM

Whoever built them and whoever signed off on them should be paying…

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:11 AM

Why isn’t the developer’s name dragged through the media like Tom Mcfeely.. No doubt the developer wasn’t an ex hungerstriker and is in the ‘click’..

Mar 16th 2017, 11:32 AM

@Paulo mclawlor: welcome to Ireland, must be great buying property there, lots of hidden costs coming down the line.
    Damn council should cough up, gangsters!

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:02 PM

More to the point Peter, the Law that permits it. Whoever is accountable, let them pay the full whack.

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:17 PM

Landmark developments built by John Paul construction as far as I remember

Mute dannyboy
    Favourite dannyboy
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:34 PM

I would jail them once they payed up first…

Mute Brendan Coyne
    Favourite Brendan Coyne
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:57 PM

@Peter Cavey:
    Where is the engineer that the council through the planning process would have sent out to sign off on this building,I guess it was a hefty brown envelope

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:22 PM

It’s not as simple as that . John Paul would have used designers & engineers etc. John Paul just built it

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Mar 16th 2017, 8:11 PM

Don’t worry lads plenty if updates from Shane Ross saying he is all over this! Handy bunch of votes if he sorts it out

Mute James Doyle
    Favourite James Doyle
    Mar 16th 2017, 8:27 PM

@Peter Cavey: Only in this corrupt to the core so called Republic could this be allowed happen. No one was held to account for the Banking melt down (except the Anglo bosses.) Developers, Regulators, HSE, Garda, Public servant’s from top to bottom, and of course our political classes some who have been found guilty, by Tribunal’s of breaking the law’s they introduced for the rest of the citizen’s. Ireland does not do accountability in the public service and state apparatus, and if you are a Banker Developer, or a speculative bond holder, you cant go wrong in Paddy fairy land, sure the establishment gombeen political classes will socialize your debt’s, onto the citizen’s.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Mar 16th 2017, 8:27 PM

@Peter Cavey: Why meet the developers half way? They were in no way responsible for the rotten workmanship and paid IN FULL for the appropriate inspections by those ‘experts’ who signed-off on it.

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:40 AM

If this were a council owned property the residents would have to pay nothing. Discrimination?

Mute Alan Brogan
    Favourite Alan Brogan

@Tom Molloy: wally will be along to give out about jackboots or something soon

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:56 AM

Tom molloy. But it’s not council owned is it.

Mute Bob Murphy
    Favourite Bob Murphy
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:57 AM

@Tom Molloy: When people choose to buy rather than rent I’m afraid it goes with the territory. Blaming council house dwellers because home owners have to pay for their own maintenance makes no sense.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:54 AM

Ok, so it’s prople in council houses fault that those who built the houses did a bad job? That’s some warped logic.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:35 AM

@Alan Brogan: That’s all you’re worried about Alan?

Mute Killian Ryan
    Favourite Killian Ryan
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:10 PM

Council own 18 apartments. 70 were bought through affordable housing scheme.council washed hands of responsibility… but still want clawback if we sell within 20 years.

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:53 AM

How we ever came to the position that buildings were not inspected during construction and passed as safe and complying with regulations pre sale is just disgusting.
    And because this was not done the Council can sit back and vote to smugly pass on the cost to residents.
    This is just wrong on so many fronts.
    What do we pay taxes for.

Mute Bob Murphy
    Favourite Bob Murphy
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:00 AM

@Gerry Ryan: In Ireland, generally speaking, our taxes are paid to help keep the gravy train we call a government in the manner in which they are accustomed. High salaries and huge expenses for no return.

Mar 16th 2017, 10:14 AM

@Gerry Ryan: could they sue the government in a class action because I definitely would try that. Disgraceful the owners are made pay for something that is not their fault.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:29 AM

@Gerry Ryan: OMG You’re still alive ! I knew it

Mute Niamh Kenneally
    Favourite Niamh Kenneally
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:33 AM

@Deborah Behan: Doesn’t a fire-safety person have to sign off everything on new builds? Surely responsibility, at least for the fire hazards part, rests with them? This seem incredibly unfair! I hope they can sue the developers but I presume they’d have done that by now if they could :-(

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:36 AM

@Deborah Behan: If they were told about it when they purchased then they surely accounted for it in the purchase price, but if they were not told about the know issue then they were defrauded and should sue the person they bought from.
    I fail to see why the taxpayer should be packing up the bill for this.

Mute Pheilum Shannon
    Favourite Pheilum Shannon
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:04 PM

@Bob Murphy: as hard as it is to admit, this happens because we allow it to happen. We keep voting for a corrupt system that clearly doesn’t work. The Government works for us, and if we shouted loud enough, they would be out on their ear like what happened in 2010 when 160,000 people marched in Dublin, demanding Fianna Fail stand down. The people have more power, but we prefer to give out about it than do something about it.
    It is a disgrace that the residents have to foot the bill for the ineptitude of the Government, developers, engineers etc etc, but only the people can fix this situation by demanding that someone be accountable for this comedy of errors that is modern Ireland.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL

Where have red thumbs gone??

Mute Bob Murphy
    Favourite Bob Murphy
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:01 AM

@Buster VL: Green for St Patrick’s Day?

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:45 AM

@Buster VL:
    I know, the whole website is pretty pointless without them.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:50 AM

might I suggest that before any work is carried out the residents get a full breakdown of costs and exactly what is going to be done they should also request an invoice for their money furthermore get someone to sign off on the works so as not to be left in the same position again.

Mute Tony Hardwicke
    Favourite Tony Hardwicke
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:47 AM

Funny how the three gangs that voted to pay have no skin in the game

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:57 AM

@Tony Hardwicke:

How do u work out they have no skin in the game. They own over 250 apartments between the 3 of them. At 10k per apartment thats 2.5m worth of skin in the game

Mute Tony Hardwicke
    Favourite Tony Hardwicke
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:15 AM

@Nick Allen: skin in the game means your jonny on the spot and personally responsible. .not a company balance sheet to write off against tax at years end

Mute roy turland
    Favourite roy turland
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:11 AM

Where do the solicitors and surveyors come in all this? You pay for conveyancing and surveys for the motgage company for What? Surely residents have some recourse on them? It sounds a real mess

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:26 AM

@roy turland: Yep where were the engineers in all of this? If you hire an engineer and he tells you the building is sound then there must be recourse to the engineer on this.

Secondly how are they allowed to sale if the property wasn’t up to standards in the first place.

Unfortunately this is privately owned for the most part so the tax payers shouldn’t have to pay.

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Favourite Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:11 PM

When an engineer surveys the property it is finished, all they can do is inspect for visible signs. There is no way for one to check if a fire barrier is present internally where it should be in the walls as it’s all covered up. Similarly with water these is all without voids and common areas this would not shown up on a survey, I believe. The issue has to come down to building to the drawings and the is usually a bond held for repairs. Difficult situation for the owners/residents.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:38 AM

We just don’t do regulation in this country. There is no accountability.

Mute Tom Warszawski
    Favourite Tom Warszawski
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:48 AM

Joke!

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:16 AM

Here are the rules that run Ireland:

1. Paddy always pays

That is all.

Mute Yenreit
    Favourite Yenreit
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:54 AM

No bail out here. Move along folks, nothing to see here.

Mute Matthew Handibode
    Favourite Matthew Handibode
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:50 AM

Hold on there is no way they can legally force residents to pay can they? Especially if they were not informed of the problems before purchase

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:05 AM

@Matthew Handibode: there is no way they can make the residents pay?

Are you making a statement or asking a question?

They absolutely can make the residents pay. It’s a joke, I know.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Matthew Handibode: The management company will just increase the fees to cover it

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Mar 17th 2017, 12:28 AM

Simply pay the “management” company nothing, as they clearly haven’t managed anything so are not doing their job. If everyone does this, problem solved. That will soften the parasites’ coughs.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:48 AM

Protecting developers,inspectors,again.country is rotten.

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:23 AM

If I own the property and refuse to pay what can they do?

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:49 AM

@Gary Keegan: Your apartment will be condemned and you will be force to leave the property.

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:20 PM

@B9xiRspG: but if my apartment is surrounded by those owned by the two big players mentioned sure what can they do?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:40 AM

Rather foolish of residents to thibk that someone else should pay for their oversight.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:30 AM

@Chris Kirk: Chris have you read the rules .. You have to be nice !

Mute Niamh Kenneally
    Favourite Niamh Kenneally
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:35 AM

@Chris Kirk: The developers oversight, not the buyers. And the engineers and the fire wardens who signed off everything.

Mute Mark Hunt
    Favourite Mark Hunt
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:07 AM

@Chris Kirk: To be fair, unless you actually witness what is hidden behind the walls by a builder you can’t be accused of an oversight. These apartments were bought in good faith. The oversight was the responsibility council appointed fire safety officers and building inspectors as well as the builders and architects who had to sign off that work was up to code. You can be guaranteed each would blame the other if questioned. Residents not at fault here.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:33 PM

Mark> They did away with building inspection of construction about 20 years ago. The building by law approval used to inspect at each stage. If you poured concrete on reinforcement without them there they would simply tell you to rip it all up and start again. A private hired inspector arrives now and the concrete is poured he asks if the reinforcement was put in and if they say yes he has to take their word and can’t tell them to rip it up.

Mute DReynolds
    Favourite DReynolds
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:42 AM

I think the developer went bust

Mute Ro Brett
    Favourite Ro Brett
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:46 AM

@DReynolds: I think there should be a law to make developers personally liable when their buildings aren’t built to code..

Mute OnTheOutside
    Favourite OnTheOutside
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:48 AM

@Ro Brett: True, but are these buildings not inspected independently?

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:19 AM

Back up the bus a bit there son, till we have a look and analyse another serious Regulation related failure in our fair land!

This time…the CIF; the body tasked with overseeing Ireland’s Construction Industry, and introducers in 1978 of the HomeBond scheme….visit http://www.homebond.ie for full details.

What exactly is this cover all about if not for events such as outlined in this article?

The 80% establishment bodies – property owners in this fiasco – close ranks, yet again, at the expense of the 20% ordinary joe soap!

Who messed up this time around, please tell us?

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:11 AM

@DReynolds: irrelevant. There is insurance cover from building stage, and probably a bond with the Council, not forgetting the PI of the responsible architects, engineers and yes, the officials in Council who signed these off. Nothing to do with the buyers at all

Mute Con O Connor
    Favourite Con O Connor
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:24 PM

Ok. So someone has been caught because someone else has not done their job/s. My big problem is that the government and regulatory bodies have done nothing to ensure it will not happen again. What about the next time this happens? Who is going to loose their job? Have a claim against their public liability insurance? It will be the same story again. The person who can least afford it will caught to pay. We have to make people accountable. The builder should be going to jail. And anyone who failed to do their job should be sacked, have their qualifications removed or join the builder in jail.

Mute Sinead McCreary
    Favourite Sinead McCreary
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:55 AM

Shamfull a disgrace

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:23 AM

As there is a REIT company involved here is it safe to assume that this was a NAMA building sold of as part of a portfolio at knock down price. If so why was it not a condition of sale by NAMA that the purchaser must bring the building up to proper spec. As perfect building regulations???

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:16 PM

The comment section as it now stands is crap. Change it. It’s no longer user friendly at all.

Mute Aural Abuse
    Favourite Aural Abuse
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:08 PM

Remember homebond we all paid a few bob into when buying a property, that was a great idea wasn’t it?

Mute Ger Kelleher
    Favourite Ger Kelleher
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:39 PM

Protect developers at all costs, no accountability Ireland!

Mute Matthew Handibode
    Favourite Matthew Handibode
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:54 AM

This can’t be legal. I bet footing the bill must have been a tough decision for those greedy, cheap suits

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:16 AM

How can we allow residential construction without an inspection by fire officials? I’d bet electrical and plumbing get more review than fire safety. Banana republic crap… The definition of insanity comes to mind!

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:48 PM

Absolute joke, whoever installed it should be putting it right. They have done a half job on this, probably charged top dollar for the work and walked away scott free.

Mute Trac Gar
    Favourite Trac Gar
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:42 PM

A friend of mine paid €420,000 for one of these 2 bed boxes in 2006/2007 It’s tiny. His mortgage is €1,400. Where are people going to get €10,000 to add to the ridiculous cost!!!

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:49 PM

He will probably have to go to the bank and either ask for a break from his mortgage for a few months or ask for a top up. Really are the only options if you don’t have the money

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Mar 16th 2017, 2:13 PM

@Trac Gar: wonder what NAMA sold those boxes for to the vulture Funds so loved by Noonan and Co????

Mute Paul Lyons
    Favourite Paul Lyons
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:36 PM

Did there used to be a Homebond scheme that was supposed to cover these kinds of issues? Feel very sorry for the owner occupiers..that’s a huge sum to fork out.

Mute Justin Gabriel
    Favourite Justin Gabriel
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:30 PM

This is a disgrace.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:44 PM

Lots of people here are talking about how they think the system works but are mostly talking about a process that is long gone. They removed the building by law departments and made it independent regulation by a hired 3rd party. These inspectors have nowhere near the same control and do not stay on site as long. They maybe inspect one wall being constructed and sign off on the grounds all will be built the same. Then the main developer hires a contractor that builds the walls differently. Now who is to blame? The engineer didn’t cut any corners and did his job, th e main builder never suggested cutting corners and the contractor may not have known what he was doing was wrong. The quantity surveyor may have bought cheaper products than specified by the architect. This is why no cases are brought you can’t tell who did what. The various companies or people may not be around either. It is a legal nightmare that would cost a fortune and may not find whom is actually at fault.

Mute Lar Cooney
    Favourite Lar Cooney
    Mar 16th 2017, 2:14 PM

Lucky enough to have bought a property where the roofs are falling down they were built by a builder that’s bankrupt and running again, no home bond recourse nothing we were told cough up or nobody will buy your house, maintenance went up 250% great aul set up we have ourselves in ! First time buyers bumper mortgage dirty builders back in buisness !! Write downs for those who screwed us it’s disgusting!

Mute Michelle Dodd
    Favourite Michelle Dodd
    Mar 16th 2017, 5:54 PM

That is ludicrous. If I lived there I would definitely not be paying

Mute Pat Butler
    Favourite Pat Butler
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:37 AM

So unfair

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Mar 16th 2017, 5:50 PM

I notice none of them were asked to move out while work was being done.