You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal via RollingNews.ie

Elderly man killed and 10-year-old boy injured in Cork crash

A 10-year-old passenger was taken to Cork University Hospital but his injuries are not life-threatening.

A 80-YEAR-OLD man has died after a crash in Cork last night.

It happened on N71 at Bawnshanaclogh, Ballydehob at around 9.50pm.

The elderly driver was fatally injured and his body was removed to Cork University Hospital where a post-mortem will take place today.

A 10-year-old male passenger was injured and taken to Cork University Hospital but his injuries are not life-threatening.

The other male driver (42) was the sole occupant of the vehicle and received minor injuries.

The road is currently closed and local diversions are in place. Garda forensic collision investigators will conduct their investigations this morning.

Gardaí are appealing to anyone why may have witnessed the collision or has information to contact Bantry Garda Station on 027 – 20860, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111 or any garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Kevin Andrew
    Favourite Kevin Andrew
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:31 AM

Yes. Ryanair has always been operationally reliable but it came at a cost and their luck was bound to run out eventually. It’s been handled terribly and I’m not sure management will learn from this mistake in the long term.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:42 AM

@Kevin Andrew: you make a valid point on the learning aspect. With tunnel vision and arrogance current Ryanair management has been highly effective in building the airline and engaging in aggressive expansion. It’s unilateral p, iconoclastic and forceful, always right attitude may not be felexible enough quickly enough to respond to what is a crisis.

Under estimating the scale of the crisis, initially giving an unrealistic short time frame of 6 weeks, threatening the staff and contractors, then engaging in a massive campaign of aggressively sellling new tickets show a maladaptive response and an inability to contain a crisis.

When tickets no longer secure flights, there can only be a justified crisis of confidence. People can’t afford to be stranded when they have made travel commitments.

This problem showed signs of emerging last February but Ryanair just kept selling tickets because it did not want ticket sales revenues to decline. It is a form of pre-selling but pre-selling is a very bad idea if the service is not going to exist. It is a form of booking revenues which are unreal. This needs to be investigated at a Corporate enforcement level by the ODCE in Ireland and by corporate enforcers in other jurisdictions.

Mute Declan Doyle
    Favourite Declan Doyle
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:32 AM

@Kevin Andrew: booked flights last week and went with aer lingus. Can’t risk flight will be cancelled. I’m sure I’m not the only one. Love to see their sales graph for for the last few weeks. I’d say there is some dip.
    “Do you want to play and book flights on the Ryanair lotto ! You’ll probably get there, maybe, well we’re really not sure to be honest “

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:28 AM

@Declan Doyle: Booked flights yesterday and went with FR as AL was almost twice the price. Gambling a bit I suppose.

Mute Declan Doyle
    Favourite Declan Doyle
    Sep 28th 2017, 2:04 PM

@lavbeer: no difference in my case really so easy decision. Hope it work out for ya

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Sep 28th 2017, 2:41 PM

@lavbeer: Aer Lingus always expensive despite all the waffle about sales. Don’t expect them to decrease now with one of their main competitors out of the market. why would they reduce prices now.

I worry about Ryanair’s continual cost cutting. The next obvious failure due to cost cutting will probably be at 30,000 feet. Thats what happened with other cheap airlines. you can only cut so much before quality is affected.

Mute Rand Al Thor
    Favourite Rand Al Thor
    Sep 28th 2017, 4:09 PM

@Declan Doyle: Until Aer Lingus go on strike.

Mute Declan Doyle
    Favourite Declan Doyle
    Sep 28th 2017, 4:31 PM

@Rand Al Thor: didn’t see the strike in the news?
    Saw the flight cancellations though. If you look at tomorrow news you might see more flight cancellations and the day after and the day after

Mute Travel Young
    Favourite Travel Young
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:30 AM

Yes….. uuuuuuuntil they launch an O’Leary Super Sale. Can’t argue with the fact that it’s cheaper for me to fly to the UK for a weekend break than get a bus or train home to the south.
    As the man himself said: “the European consumer will crawl naked over broken glass for cheap flights”.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:44 AM

@Travel Young: for cheap,flights, yes, but not for non existent flights. A cheap ticket for which a flight does not materialise is less than useless.

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:56 AM

@Travel Young: just give Aer Lingus a quick look there. Seriously low fares at the moment.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Travel Young
    Favourite Travel Young
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:14 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: 98% chance my flight will not be affected… I’ll take that

Mute Larry Whelan
    Favourite Larry Whelan
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:17 AM

@Darren Bates:
    without Ryanair
    aer lingus would rip us off again
    like they did for years.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:21 AM

@Travel Young: but is it and will it be 98%? There’s the rub.

It’s the new Ryanair Lotto. Buy a flight ticket and then discover if you have actually won a flight to the place of your destination.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:22 AM

@Larry Whelan: without Aer Lingus, Ryanair will sell tickets but not necessarily deliver flights.

Ryanair mist feel no threat from Aer Lingus.

Mute Kevin Phipps
    Favourite Kevin Phipps
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:33 AM

@Travel Young: ask yourself the question why Is it so cheap

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:37 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: and all through the summer and winter last year and this year Aer Lingus were cancelling t/a and European flights left tight and centre due to not having enough capacity and technical faults with the aircraft but yeah don’t fly Ryanair because no other airlines encounter problems at all

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:45 AM

@Boeing Lover: you should give precise volume and figures on that. I have not encountered these problems with Aer Lingus. Were they on the same scale as Ryanair?

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:52 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: considering Aer Lingus only has 1/6 the amount of aircraft that Ryanair has, (Ryanair 360 – Aer Lingus 60) yes it would be on the same scale, as it would amount to about 2% of their passengers numbers.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:55 AM

@Boeing Lover: you say that it was on the same scale as Ryanair. So please give me a precise source for that factual assertion.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:11 AM

@Boeing Lover: I don’t think that was the bit Fiona was asking for proof of. I think it’s the claim of cancelled flights left, right and centre over a long period of time that you need to back up. I fly Aer Lingus several times a year, at all different times of year and have never heard of an Aer Lingus flight being cancelled. I saw Miami flights cancelled due to hurricane irma but that’s in no way comparable

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:11 AM

Tried to get compensation from Aer Lingus a few years ago the pilot didn’t show up. I brought it to the aviation authority I had to buy another last minute flight for over 400 bucks. Guess what I didn’t get a penny

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:13 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: So one example is last October, the cancelled 20 flights from SNN over a 2 week period to the states and their return flights, affecting over 7000 people, they also cancelled SNN – LHR the same weeks affecting more customers, then there’s also the Dublin ones that they cancelled, don’t have the exact figures on that but the most recent was Lanzarote when they abandoned all their passengers at the airport with no information, no food/water or hotel accommodation etc, all airlines do it, not just Ryanair. BA had cancellations a fee weeks ago out of LHR affecting 100’s of thousands of pax too but yet people still fly these airlines. They are no different to Ryanair.

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:23 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: I fly Aer Lingus and Ryanair several times a year too and have never had a cancelled flight with either or delays, doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen, as i’m trying to point out, the cancellations disrupt very few people on the large scale of both airlines operations, Ryanair carry 130 million pax per year, 400,000 peoples flights were cancelled (less than 1%), Aer Lingus carry 10 million pax per year, over the course of the year if 50,000 people lost flights due to cancellations it equates to less than 1%, so it’s on the same scale.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:35 AM

@Boeing Lover: I like the way above you say they’re just the same and now you’re saying “if 50,000 people lost their flights”. One thing worth noting is that as you’ve said the fleet is one sixth the size, even you’re 50,000 guesstimate is nowhere near one sixth of Ryanair cancellations.

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:39 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: you obviously don’t understand simple mathematics.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:41 AM

@Boeing Lover: the reason for the twenty cancelled flights by the way was that one of their long haul fleet gotfore damage in Orlando. That’s not management’s fault. Nor is the flight. That got cancelled due to the arrest of cabin crew. Only 0.69 % of Aer Lingus flights are delayed or cancelled, therefore the cancellation number is lower and as delays happen more often than cancellations it fair to guess that Aer Lingus cancellations are below 0.5%

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:55 AM

@Boeing Lover: I find Dave’s explanations more compelling. It sounds like you are pushing an agenda and nit being objective. It is like you have personal skin in the game of supporting Ryanair.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:14 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: it sounds like you and ‘Dave’ are colleagues. perhaps even one and the same. Just like you and Tony Daly, you and Michael O Lainn

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:44 PM

@JimmyMc: check out my profile, it’s me and it’s the only one I’ve ever used here. You’re more than welcome to question that but please do a bit more than just guess that because two people have the same opinion on something they must be the same person

Mute Povl Thim
    Favourite Povl Thim
    Sep 28th 2017, 2:37 PM

@Darren Bates: don’t forget Aer Lingus is now only Irish in name and main base, the rest is alongside BA and Iberia. And they are not anymore reliable than Ryanair.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:36 AM

Now we have to call a spade a spade Michael o Leary brought us cheap flights love him or hate him people take flights now that would never dream they could afford to do.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:45 AM

@Donal Carey: that was the past. Can Ryairair continue to deliver not just a cheap service but a reliable service.

We are not getting full transparency.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:10 AM

@Donal Carey: Has everyone forgotten Fred Laker who was the original inventor of cheap flights, cheap flights allowed people to travel they could not afford before but staff could hardly afford many of the things they used to. They and other airlines won’t let anyone on board without a passport and yet to many arrive here and other European countries and claim they have no passport, surely this is a simple problem to be sorted out by fining airlines for this mockery.

Mute Julian Swann
    Favourite Julian Swann
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:45 AM

Had to get a quick flight home yesterday. Rarely if ever use Ryanair but had to on this occasion. There must have been over 30 Ryanair flights from Bergamo, all delayed by at least an hour and more, including ours.. There are clearly some serious issues with the manner in which this company is being managed at the moment and in a business where competition is so fierce and margins are incredibly tight, there just isn’t any room for this kind of error. I honestly think we’re witnessing the beginning of the end for this company..

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:22 AM

@Julian Swann: Ship is sinking ?

Mute Polly Dolan
    Favourite Polly Dolan
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:52 AM

Booked three European city breaks for 2018. None with Ryanair. Just can’t be trusted. The last thing I want to see is this airline goIng bust as they’ve kept all our flight prices down for numerous years.

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:25 AM

@Polly Dolan: Don’t mind city break with them – unless I book some expensive hotel which I never do. But if I have important trip like wedding or so, Ryanair is too risky.

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:29 AM

He’s a street hawker just his produce is cheap flights ,you pay your money and take your chance,.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:24 AM

@Brian O Reilly: it’s a Ryair Lotto,

You get a ticket but do you win an actual flight to your place of desired destination?

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:23 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: Irish people love gambling – Ryanair lotto, property lotto, banking lotto, Dail lotto…

Mute John Tierney
    Favourite John Tierney
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:04 AM

Ryanair kept us flying during the austerity years
    Will still be my first port of call when booking UK and euro flights

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:15 AM

@John Tierney: you pay your ticket. You take your chance. Nothing wrong with that.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:18 AM

It’s the new Ryanair Lotto.

Dj
    Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:46 AM

When I fly I like a bit of comfort and peace of mind. That’s why I avoid the cattle mart experience you get with Ryanair. Their flights are cheap, but so we’re Fiat Puntos. Doesn’t mean I’ll buy one.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:29 AM

Yes. Booked flights for next month and opted for AL, in case RA s*** the bed again.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:02 AM

@Honeybadger197:
    Tomorrows poll.- Do you think it will rain this winter?

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:40 AM

Answered no cus ive never had trust in them to begin with, every time ive flown with them i expected to be disappointed and they never let me down in that regard

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:54 AM

With Quinn Insurance you could buy a policy of motor insurance but it did not mean that you were actually insured.

Mute Me Darlin' Dublin
    Favourite Me Darlin' Dublin
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:43 AM

Does the fact that he offers cheapo flights give him a right to be rude and obnoxious?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:50 AM

@Me Darlin’ Dublin: in fairness his public persona is honest. He genuinely feels real contempt for the passengers. He is not faking it. That contemptuous attitude permeates senior management in Ryanair.

If there was respect for and appreciation by Ryanair if it’s passengers, this crisis would not have been left develop.

Ryanair was engaged in pre selling and pre booking of sales ticket revenues which would never materialise because of serious capacity issues.

Mute Hoggle
    Favourite Hoggle
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:25 AM

Hell yes!

Mute psychiatrist
    Favourite psychiatrist
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:28 AM

@Hoggle: No way! I will forever be devoted Ryanair customer, and I adore Michael O’Leary – he is Irish after all!

Mute Ken Loughman
    Favourite Ken Loughman

@psychiatrist: What has being Irish got to do with it? Would you have devoted yourself to Hitler if he was Irish? It’s telling that your handle suggests the type of doctor that you need to talk to if you think that O’Leary is God.

Mute Count Craicula
    Favourite Count Craicula

@Ken Loughman: Sarcasm is lost on u Kenny

Mute Ken Loughman
    Favourite Ken Loughman
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:16 AM

@Count Craicula: OK. Mea culpa. However, it doesn’t change my view on those people who will cheerlead for him no matter what.

Mute psychiatrist
    Favourite psychiatrist
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:49 PM

@Ken Loughman: No worries, your first session with me is free if you promise not to talk about Hitler :)

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:53 AM

I wouldn’t say it’s wavered, but I’ll be giving Aer Lingus serious consideration before booking more flights with Ryanair.

Murf
    Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Sep 30th 2017, 11:20 AM

@Darren Bates: Never been let down by aer lingus, But I have by ryan air, would never trust them again, they are just in for the quick buck, Just listen to o’ leary? its all about himself & fcuk the customers

Mute Philip Scanlon
    Favourite Philip Scanlon

Planning a trip for late in October and I can’t consider Ryanair as, it does not matter how cheap a flight is, if it is cancelled. It’s one thing having your flight cancelled on the way out, but another if your abroad and you can’t get home… I will go by a more trustworthy carrier..

Mute George McCarthy
    Favourite George McCarthy
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:02 AM

Refused to fly with them. I was pursuadded 3 years ago to fly with them. I did and our return flight was cancelled. I’d stay at home gladly rather than fly with them.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:52 AM

The idea that this was just a 6 week problem was laughable. It will be far more than a 6 month problem.

Mute Jordan Salanger
    Favourite Jordan Salanger
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:37 AM

Nothing but muppets on here. Ryanair, cheapest and on time. Most of you would never have been to another country without him. And truth be told, all of you have flown Ryanair and still do. Ye are all just moanyholes!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:49 AM

@Jordan Salanger: thank you for your contribution Michael and expressed in your own inimitable style.

Ne
    Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne
    Sep 28th 2017, 1:29 PM

@Jordan Salanger: I was in other countries when Michael O’Leary was barely put of nappies.

Murf
    Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Sep 30th 2017, 11:23 AM

@Jordan Salanger: I flew to another country with Ryanair & was left there lol lol, What a shambles of a company

Mute Tom Harpur
    Favourite Tom Harpur
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:41 AM

It’s a glitch folks Ryanair will get over it. We the public will get over it there maybe a bad taste for a while but time moves on.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:50 AM

@Tom Harpur: thank you for the reassurance that this is only a temporary glitch.

How long will this glitch last?

Mute Count Craicula
    Favourite Count Craicula
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:54 AM

Yes. But as long as they can get me from A to B cheaper than anyone else then I’m willing to take a punt.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:07 AM

@Count Craicula: as long as you win an an actual flight from your ticket.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:27 AM

Would not book Ryanair while the problems are going on

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:33 AM

No nothing’s changed as far as I’m concerned. Ryanair will always be that shitty company that treats it’s customers like crap. That will never change!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:16 AM

There is an exciting and new form of Ryanair lotto.

You pay for your flight ticket and later you find out if you have actually won a flight.

Mute Eamonn Farrell
    Favourite Eamonn Farrell
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:41 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: your ryanair lotto gag is getting stale !!! change the record !

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:51 AM

@Eamonn Farrell: thank you for highlighting it.

Mute Proudly Italian
    Favourite Proudly Italian
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:24 AM

As one of many expat living here, I have always relied in Ryanair, to get a flight at the price of a bus to get out of here (or go ‘back home’) whenever I wanted. Particularly now that I have kinds and I need 4 tickets.
    I’m not sure if the Irish government realizes the impact of this. How many companies settled in Ireland, who often blame the lack of proper infrastructures, will put this into weight as such? It’s already difficult to get workers from abroad for the housing crisis… the lack of an easy and cheap transportation system will just add fuel to the fire….

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:27 AM

No because the way staff are treated it only needed a reasonable size competitor with some deep pockets (like Norway oil fund) to start recruiting significant numbers of staff on slightly better terms and conditions for this to happen.

john
    Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:11 AM

Ryanair is a great airline they helped a lot of families to go on holiday with low cost flights and people to visit family abroad and yes I was on one flight from spain that was cancelled and I will still book whit Ryanair

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:48 AM

@john: and will you continue to do so if the crisis deepens and return flights are uncertain? In other words, is your support unconditional and unquestion8ng?

john
    Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:14 PM

@john: yes why not and so will a lot off people

Mute Cathal Leonard
    Favourite Cathal Leonard
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:33 AM

Live them of hate them. They badly need a Quality person that has a pair. How much would it cost to treat people decently? A lot less than their PR NIGHTMARE and stock price drop.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:01 AM

In fairness, most Ryanair customers will remain entirely and devotedly loyal to Ryanair regardless of how let down they are.

Ryanair has a de facto dominant position in the market place at its cheap price point and it can get away with ticket cancellations and flight cancellations, even though it will aggravate some customers.

Other airlines can’t take up the competitive slack, they can’t take on extra capacity. When Ryanair eventually achieves a true monopoly situation, it will have its passengers just where it wants them, loyal or not.

Mute Tony Hogan
    Favourite Tony Hogan
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:37 AM

O Leary should be before the court breach of contract

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:31 AM

Never flew with them, just seemed to be a brand that you avoided.
    Similar to dutch gold or Tesco home brand, cheap tacky crap.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:32 AM

@Trevor Hayden: I take it you haven’t tried their version of crunchy nut cornflakes.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:34 AM

@Honeybadger197: No I’d imagine that its the bird droppings on the wings that give them their crunch.

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:40 AM

@Trevor Hayden: While we all know your aversion to this particular brand is simply snobbery, let’s just be clear here. What you consider cheap and tacky is the non essential aspects of aviation, not the actual machanics like the aeronatical science behind it, right? Afterall, they do what they are supposed to do, the same as every other brand, correct? FLY! I’m just so happy that they do and i’m happy to pay for that essential requirement. Being concerned about the lack of fluff that comes with it is a privalage not all of us can afford.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:25 AM

@Trevor Hayden: I just found out that Dutch gold isn’t actually brewed in the Netherlands, and is only sold globally from a warehouse in Tallaght! Shocked at how successful Ireland is at making another brand synonymous with shyte quality. How are digicel doing?

Mute Ian McGrath
    Favourite Ian McGrath
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:38 AM

Glad I have never flown with tgem. Never will.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:08 AM

Why isn’t there an option for ‘Never trusted them in the first place’?

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:17 AM

Only at an absolute last resort would I fly with Ryanair.

Mute Anita OGalligan
    Favourite Anita OGalligan
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:54 AM

I’m disappointed about Ryanair crisis. No, I don’t often fly Ryanair but when I do, I was quite satisfied with them. However, I’m worried that if Ryanair goes down,competition
    Will cease on the airlines and we’ll all go back to the boats which hardly offer cheap fares. We are an isolated country, we need to be able to get out of Ireland cheaply.

Mute Padraic Courtney
    Favourite Padraic Courtney
    Sep 28th 2017, 1:12 PM

@Anita OGalligan: Has it occurred to you that Ryanair keeps other budget airlines out of the country? If Ryanair stopped flying in the morning, EasyJet would be “in like Flynn” to offer cheap fares, as would have a dozen other budget airlines. At present they can’t enter the Irish market because Ryanair would drop fares to near zero to force them out.

Ask Pádraig O’Céidigh if you don’t believe me.

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Sep 28th 2017, 1:42 PM

The bus to London from Dublin is very cheap Anita but it’s a hell of a drive I did it years ago. Or just foot passenger on the boat is extremely cheap as well. Bringing the car can be incredible expensive alright but you were hardly bringing the car on the plane.

Mute Jim Numpty Clark
    Favourite Jim Numpty Clark
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:18 PM

What trust? I stopped using them years ago after they dropped us in the German countryside miles from Frankfurt which was a two and a half hour bus ride away and cost more than the flight itself. Of course, none of this information was in the advertising for the flight.

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Sep 28th 2017, 1:50 PM

@Jim Numpty Clark: that’s how they keep fares low Jim by using abstract airports in the middle of nowhere. For instance they don’t fly to CharlesDeGaul in France but go to Bouvais. It’s like a shed in a farmers field with a runway and a tiny shop with cold food.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 28th 2017, 4:38 PM

@Jonathan Power: But that’s what I like about city breaks with Ryanair. The first time I ever booked with Ryanair was to Paris.
    The only available Aer Lingus flight went to the multi-level shopping mall of de Gaulle airport, from where you could get an expensive taxi, or the RER B, to the city centre. By contrast, Beauvais was perfect. Literally a small hangar that we all walked through in five minutes, got onto the coach, slept for an hour; then we were in the centre of Paris. Completely uncomplicated, relaxing city break. I don’t enjoy enormous airports full of franchised shops, it’s not what I would fly to visit.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:27 AM

As long as Ryanair can cintinue to sell tivkets and customers are willing to accept that a ticket does nit necessarily mean a matching flight, the Ryanair model is totally safe.

If hitherto loyal customers can be persuaded to keep buying tickets without a reasonable assurance that they will get a matching flight Ryanair will continue to fly high.

Mute Niall Mac Giolla Phádraig
    Favourite Niall Mac Giolla Phádraig
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:57 AM

Credit has to be given to Ryanair, I remember when the boat was the budget option! But they’re no longer the only ones offering a budget option now and there’s openings for rivals to advertise as No Frills by not charging people on the same booking to sit together and by not cancelling flights.

I’d be happy with a airline that did away with the trolley and just left you alone for the flight.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:49 AM

@Niall Mac Giolla Phádraig: the trolley is a critical revenue generator in Ryanair’s model. It can’t do without it.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:09 AM

Any one flying over French air space is liable to get flight delays due to strikes or would that be Ryan air,s fault ?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:17 AM

@Peter donnelly: Ryanair is only responsible for its own internal lack of capacity to deliver on the flights it sold to its customers.

Sep 28th 2017, 9:19 AM

It will effect other airlines have not push prices up for 20 you can go Ryanair or 33 with aerlingus so for peace of mind.

Mute bigbrownduck
    Favourite bigbrownduck
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:50 AM

Where’s the never trusted him in the first place option???

Mute Thomas Byrne
    Favourite Thomas Byrne
    Sep 28th 2017, 1:26 PM

Ryanair changed the landscape of flying forever. That’s all that needs to be said

Mute Patrick Jones
    Favourite Patrick Jones
    Sep 28th 2017, 3:41 PM

@Thomas Byrne: If you were saving for a family holiday for 2 years and it was canceled, What would you think then…

Ne
    Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:02 PM

Until the next big sale and we can all conveniently forget what we’ve learned about how they treat their employees.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:59 AM

Rostering is the explanation but is rostering the real cause?

It sounds like a fundamental mismatch of capacity to gross overselling of tickets so as to pre book revenues and give a highly positive and even exaggerated set of financial metrics to investors.

Corporate enforcement and Stock Exchanges might assess if there is a serious financial presentation issue to examine.

Have Ryanair’s financial statements given a true and fair view?

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:35 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: totally agree can’t see how it’s a rostering issue . I would think you would only cancel 18000 flights if you didn’t have enough crews for those flights

Mute Pearse Bell Snr
    Favourite Pearse Bell Snr
    Sep 28th 2017, 3:35 PM

i got a bus to Derry it cost me 24 euros i flew to london with ryanair in june it cost me 29euro it took the bus 4 hours to get to Derry with no frills my flight took 1 hour approx i could buy refreshments on the plane arrived fresh so why would I complain about ryanair

Mute Justpassingthrough
    Favourite Justpassingthrough
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:28 PM

I flew over 40 times last year with Ryanair. 80% of the flights were delayed. It’s the first company I look at when I fly. I lower my standards, numb my emotions and arrive at the airport expecting to be delayed. That way I can’t be let down. But in saying that they still manage to raise my blood pressure in one way or another.

Even with that said I am not a huge fan. This claim that they are an Irish company is laughable. A huge portion of the company is spread out across Europe with only a small amount located in Ireland and Irish citizens employed. I would say it’s about 10% Irish at best.

I was once asked to attend an interview process with Ryanair and to say that I was shocked at their Russian Roulette still business process management would be an understatement. A real “Gung-ho” let’s give it a bash with our eyes closed type process is embedded in the company. With not a care in the world with who they upset.

The last time I was delayed was for 7 hours. I was given a food voucher for 5euro and relocated to the airports equalivent to Limbo, that had no restaurants. When I didn’t find sandwich stall. I did find it hard to buy a full meal as 5euro stated by the CAA. Any during that 7 hours I came to the realisation that Karma would deliver one day and I think it has arrived.

Passenger trust down, staff refuse to work in low paid and unappreciated work environment, massive costs in parked planes, sales down and with Norwegian low cost flights knocking on the door of Ryanair. It should be an interesting 12 months ahead.

Ger
    Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Sep 28th 2017, 2:19 PM

Have flown them many times and never had a bad experience but this has been badly handled.

Ger
    Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Sep 28th 2017, 2:23 PM

Their share price tumbled with this and they bought a load of them back. Gotta love their cheekyness.

Mute Patrick Jones
    Favourite Patrick Jones
    Sep 28th 2017, 3:35 PM

All down to Bad management,ill treating his employees and if you do that it is only a matter of time before they will fight back, As it can be seen. he is going to find very hard to get out off this one

Mute Martin Nygard
    Favourite Martin Nygard
    Sep 28th 2017, 1:14 PM

It is time for some good news from Ryanair. What about scrapping the automated middle seat allocator and getting back to the Always Getting Better way of doing things. At least the customers you still have left won’t be disapointed already at check-in seeing their nearest and dearest seated rows away. Then turned off by the musical chairs scramble after boarding. And people will be able to sit near their bags making for an easier exit.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:13 AM

The poll is running at 71% wavered confidence but it would be interesting to know what the wavered confidence level is amongst current Ryanair passengers dependent on Ryanair. Will devoted customer loyalty win out regardless of unreliable service?

The response of Ryanair seems aimed at just aggressively selling more and cheaper tickets even when capacity cannot be assured.

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Sep 28th 2017, 2:26 PM

I used to fly regularly to France every 3 weeks with work and the manager was so nervous about Ryanair and safety he used to write a letter to his wife. If we arrived safely he’d dispose of the letter and write a new one 3 weeks later when we’d go out again. Funny story

Mute Povl Thim
    Favourite Povl Thim
    Sep 28th 2017, 2:32 PM

There is far too many unfounded opinions on the Ryanair problem. They made a mistake, which were admitted, and some people lost out on flights booked. However the grounding of 25 planes for a period from late October till March 2018, is not anything which should cause problems. Other airlines also alter their routes as required, by cancelling flights, or abandoning routes they have flown for years. If Ryanair should be punished by British, then Aer Lingus and British Airways should also be punished as both are dropping routes and rescheduling as they go along.

Mute Rand Al Thor
    Favourite Rand Al Thor
    Sep 28th 2017, 4:08 PM

How we hate success,no one twists your arm to fly Ryanair,as a matter of interest how mane flights were cancelled by industrial action in Aer Lingus over the years bearing in mind they are a pigmy carrier in comparison to Ryanair.

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:51 AM

His ignorant treatment of his staff finally caught up with him

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 8:56 AM

If Ryanair went into Examinership, it could then seek Court Protection and not have to honour any tickets sold and keep the customer money, no refunds and no compensation. It could then rely on its devoted customer loyalty to buy replacement tickets.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:21 AM

@Fiona deFreyne:
    Can’t see how they could go into examinership when they made a billion in profit last year.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 9:28 AM

@Avina Laaf: by overestimating liabilities and writing down capital values and delaying the booking of ticket revenues.

Mute Daniel Curtin
    Favourite Daniel Curtin
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:12 PM

I wonder what odds the bookie’s are giving on them being gone by this time next year

Mute Sean Dunleavy
    Favourite Sean Dunleavy
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:06 PM

I’ll be flying with Aerlingus for the foreseeable future.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 11:46 AM

Financial management in Ryanair will want to be extremely carefully about the next quarterly financial filings with Stick Exchanges and investor disclosures.

Institutional investors will not want to rock the plane at this crisis point but they will continue to be seriously concerned over how the crisis emerged and how it was not properly Trouble shooter.

There will also be a focus on the possibility of pre booking of revenues without the later capacity to deliver.

Investor and regulator scrutiny is inevitable.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne

Ryanair’s new theme song has just been selected.

Flying high in April; shot down in May.

Mute Gerry Murphy
    Favourite Gerry Murphy
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:03 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: Fiona you have also won a prize, of having the most comments on one topic on the Journal EVER, GO BACK TO WORK!!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 28th 2017, 10:08 AM

@Gerry Murphy: day off before I meet some friends for coffee. The joy of a 3 day week.

Mute Patrick Ingram
    Favourite Patrick Ingram
    Sep 28th 2017, 6:40 PM

The last 8 flights I have taken with Ryan Air have been late and never with an apology or announcement.
    Highly unreliable nowadays.

Mute Justpassingthrough
    Favourite Justpassingthrough
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:24 PM

I flew over 40 times last year with Ryanair. 80% of the flights were delayed. It’s the first company I look at when I fly. I lower my standards, numb my emotions and arrive at the airport expecting to be delayed. That way I can’t be let down. But in saying that they still manage to raise my blood pressure in one way or another.

Even with that said I am not a huge fan. This claim that they are an Irish company is laughable. A huge portion of the company is spread out across Europe with only a small amount located in Ireland and Irish citizens employed. I would say it’s about 10% Irish at best.

I was once asked to attend an interview process with Ryanair and to say that I was shocked at their Russian Roulette still business process management would be an understatement. A real “Gung-ho” let’s give it a bash with our eyes closed type process is embedded in the company. With not a care in the world with who they upset.

The last time I was delayed was for 7 hours. I was given a food voucher for 5euro and relocated to the airports equalivent to Limbo, that had no restaurants. When I didn’t find sandwich stall. I did find it hard to buy a full meal as 5euro stated by the CAA. Any during that 7 hours I came to the realisation that Karma would deliver one day and I think it has arrived.

Passenger trust down, staff don’t want to work under low pay conditions, being investigated by the CAA, planes being parked for long periods of time, massive decrease in sales…..the list is endless.

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Sep 28th 2017, 12:30 PM

Crash n burn Ryanair! I have a passion for hatred for you! Hopefully this will be the death of them fingers crossed

Mute Sharon Maguire
    Favourite Sharon Maguire
    Sep 29th 2017, 9:58 AM

I have a flight booked with Ryanair for next March. have fingers and toes crossed it wont be cancelled and if it us that i’ll be given sufficient time to make other arrangements. I’ve happily used Ryanair over the years for shorter flights like England and Spain. for longer flights I use aer lingus but I have to say I don’t think id risk booking with Ryanair again until this mess is cleared up. if it ever will be. Ryanair have done so much damage to their company. I don’t see how they can come back from this.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Sep 29th 2017, 8:29 AM

Do they accept the travel pass?
    Might try them if they do, & even buy a coffee if I can use the loo after.
    Jesting aside, I would have deep concern about an outfit that generates such antipathy from its own staff, never mind discommoded customers.
    Something has never been quite right about the personnel culture in the organisation, so personally, I prefer to travel with crews which are content in their work, & have strong loyalty to the job.