You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Andrey_Popov

Man aged in his 50s dies of suspected drug overdose

The Ana-Liffey Drug Project says it sees a rise in overdoses at this time of the year.

GARDAÍ ARE INVESTIGATING the death of a man in Tallaght on Sunday.

The man, aged in his 50s, was discovered in the morning.

It’s believed he died as a result of a drug overdose.

Director of the Ana Liffey Drug Project, Tony Duffin, said, “Overdose is a constant presence – on average, about one person per day dies of overdose in Ireland – and Christmas and New Year are, understandably, an emotional time for many of our clients.

“We typically see an increase in both fatal and non-fatal overdoses during this period.”

Gardaí say they are not treating the death as suspicious.

Read: Many of us will celebrate (or cope) this Christmas by using drink or drugs to excess>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Jun 15th 2019, 8:14 AM

Boris is a career politician who has always had an eye on the top job. He has been waiting patiently in the wings, watching while others fail, so he can present himself as some sort of saviour from the mess he was greatly responsible for.
    Boris will do what is right for Boris, whilst telling everyone in the UK that he is doing what is right for them. Whether you love or loath him (I can’t stand the man) he has played an absolute blinder regarding the unholy mess that is Brexit.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Jun 15th 2019, 8:37 AM

@Brian McDonnell: yes, Boris is for Boris and nobody else. So odd the other Tories do not see through this … but they are all self serving really, so who offers them the biggest tax cuts wins.

Mute William Campbell
    Favourite William Campbell
    Jun 15th 2019, 8:50 AM

@Brian McDonnell: I disagree. I think he has been forced to go for PM now, when he would prefer to have allowed TM to own the crash-out disaster, and then take credit for any improvements while blaming TM for everything that goes wrong. As it is, he won’t be able to deny responsibility for either the fact of brexit or the handling of the exit.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:40 AM

@Brian McDonnell: Any leader elected by media cheerleaders as with Leo and Boris is doomed to implosion

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:45 AM

@William Campbell: I think you’re right. The timing and circumstances are not what BJ would have wanted. Part of me thinks that his own party are handing him the leadership on a silver plate as if to say “You made this mess Boris, now you clean it up.”

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Jun 15th 2019, 11:08 AM

@William Campbell:
    So he has still been looking out for himself but just pushed to act before he wanted to?

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    Jun 15th 2019, 11:35 AM

@WoodlandBard: just like any TD this country has ever elected.

Mute Jenny Boyle
    Favourite Jenny Boyle
    Jun 15th 2019, 7:38 AM

Well done to all the Far-Right fools who are anti-EU, pro-Brexit and ultimately, anti-Irish. Slow handclap for all.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Jun 15th 2019, 8:37 AM

@Jenny Boyle: Hail Victory!

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Jun 15th 2019, 12:33 PM

@Jenny Boyle: So by your calculation, people who are anti EU (The ideology) but pro Europe, pro Brexit (Against Federalism) but pro Sovereignty who voted to leave the EU are all right wing. The anti Irish is nonsense. Similarly I’m sure you would agree there is no anti British sentiment in RoI. To paraphrase Varadkar, Ireland is the EU. Isn’t what the UK is doing now similar to what the founding fathers of Ireland desired 100 years ago?

Mute Derek Butcher
    Favourite Derek Butcher
    Jun 15th 2019, 1:23 PM

@wattsed56: You’re seriously comparing British colonialism, imperialism and exploitation of Ireland to the downsides of being a member of the EU? You have just proofed that Anti-Irishness is not nonsense.

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Jun 15th 2019, 2:19 PM

@Derek Butcher: Not what I suggested. The right to self determination. There are many in the UK who had previous generations suffer at the hands of exploitation in various forms by UK politicians and institutions. Many still do. My point was missed by you, just as the population of a democratic country has the right, by a majority of either elected political leaders or a democratic vote to join a Union, or remain, so be it they can decide to leave it. RoI was previously occupied by a foreign administration, you decided by a majority, but not all, that you wanted independence and sovereignty. I don’t understand the anti Irish interpretation by you in my comment. Explain?

Mute Derek Butcher
    Favourite Derek Butcher
    Jun 15th 2019, 2:34 PM

@wattsed56: As you said yourself “Ireland was occupied” Britain is not occupied nor are it’s citizens being abused, starved or robbed of their land by the EU. Therefore comparing the Irish fight for independence to the British wish of more sovereignty is a belittling of the Irish oppression by the British. Hence it’s anti Irish.

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Jun 15th 2019, 3:13 PM

@Derek Butcher: So for how many more years will this in your psyche?
    I guess it’s your choice, if you wish to remain in the time warp you’re currently in then so be it. Eventually, people will move on, and look more to the future instead of the bitterness of the past.

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 8:10 AM

The back-trap has got to go.
    Back-trap=continued customs union membership

You can’t vote to leave the EU and still be forced to adopt the trade policy of the EU.

A unilateral exit clause with notice ,or a sunset set clause is the only solution .

Agreeing to tie yourself into the customs union forever – is no solution and will never happen.

How on earth can Europe imagine that Britain would ever farm out it’s trading policy with the rest of the world to Brussels ????? Makes no sense at all.

Mute Karl Wallace
    Favourite Karl Wallace
    Jun 15th 2019, 8:31 AM

@jackbello: Well, you’ve certainly put forward the Brexiter point of view there. However that is about a million miles away from what is good for Ireland.

Mute Jenny Boyle
    Favourite Jenny Boyle
    Jun 15th 2019, 8:44 AM

@jackbello: Back-trap? It’s called a backstop, stick to the colouring books.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:00 AM

@jackbello: That’s up to your lot to sort out. The backstop isn’t going anywhere.

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:16 AM

@Mark Waldron: couldn’t agree more. The whole deal is no good – at most it’s two years of continued membership in all but name , only at the end if it we are no closer to any trade deal.

the chances of the likes of France etc agreeing with any UK solution to the NON ISSUE THAT IS THE BORDER , are zero – the back trap will all but certainly be applied and what then is Britain to do ???

. As a tory voter I’m only to happy that bojo has committed to leaving , deal or no Deal. – once we’ve gone if Germany want to continue supplying it’s overpriced cars yourselves , cheddar cheese …you’re welcome to do so …but on the understanding tarriffs will need to be applied.

Time will only tell whether after we’ve fully left , the EU would like to trade with us tariff-free . What’s sure tho , is were the UK ever stupid enough to accept that back-trap , then come two years it would definitely be activated no ifs no buts.

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:23 AM

@jackbello: If the British border is a non-issue then why does the backstop bother you so much?

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:31 AM

@Mark Waldron: it’s not that it bothers me – it’s the peculiar obsession of it by the EU and your good self’s. … of course making into am issue is totally understandable from the EU side – it’s a means (albeit artificial ) of trying to scupper the uk’s exit.

It ain’t working tho – as no deal will prove

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:39 AM

@jackbello: What’s peculiar about a country looking after its own interests? A hard border would be very bad news for all concerned. You might be right about a no-deal exit though. It’s difficult to see this situation being resolved otherwise and I think most people would rather get it done and deal with the consequences, whatever they might be.

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:57 AM

@jackbello: Just back from holidays in France and Spain. Talked to a lot of people about politics and of course brexit. The ordinary man and women on the street in those countries are happy to see the UK leaving, especially the French. I think after a period of chaos this will work out better for the EU. The UK doesn’t have to worry anymore as Trump loves you all. He’ll do the UK a wonderful deal, the best deal ever in history. This is perfect for a society that loves their class system. You don’t want that pesky EU telling you that unemployed steel workers have the same rights as the ruling classes of the tories.

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:58 AM

@Mark Waldron: who’s talking about a hard border? That’s just an EU construct – part of project fear. I would bet anything on the fact that in the event of no deal , there will be no hard border. The Irish government have consistently said that they will put up no ‘hard border’ (whatever that actually is ) and likewise the UK. Of course Ireland could be ordered to put one up by its masters in Brussels. ..but wouldn’t that violate the precious good Friday agreement ??

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:05 AM

@Manbackonboard: the ordinary man on the street …..in France ? I been watching the news from france these last few months …. and I see those” men from streets” out doing their thing every Saturday – about this sort of time right now .

i Didnt know that there were many pro eu yellow vest types among them.
    and besides since when in Europe did it ever matter what the man on the street ever thought ?

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:45 AM

@jackbello: You do understand how WTO rules work don’t you? Under the WTO system the UK will be obliged to impose tarrifs on all goods and services into the UK and likewise will have those tarriffs imposed on all exports unless the UK has a Trade Deàl in place with the other country/trade bloc.
    Now the UK can choose to take the zero tarriff approach, but that opens a “Pandora’s Box” for the UK’s Farmers and Business. Because under WTO rules, Zero Tarriffs must apply equally to every country/trading bloc in the WTO that the UK wishes to trade without exception. So if the UK chose to sell widgets in say Brazil then the UK market would then be open to tarriff free Brazilian beef. That would destroy UK Beef farmers. Similarly trade with the US would see cheap grain being dumped on the UK driving grain farmers out of business. Australian and New Zealand Lamb and mutton likewise. Chinese consumer goods would flood the UK market unhindered by tarriffs. Thus under cutting many UK domestic firms. And the worst thing is those countries do not have to have reciprocal agreements in zero tarriffs as it would be the the UK’s choice alone to go Zero Tarriff.
    So back to WTO tarriffs. If the UK choose to keep them then they will be obliged to impose them and that means Custom Posts at the point of entry where the Goods can be checked to see if the tarriffs have been paid or to accept payment if they have not. And that means Permant Customs posts on the border with the associated Security Structures for the PSNI and Army to protect them. Which would be in breach of the Good Friday Agreement.

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Jun 15th 2019, 11:01 AM

@jackbello: A hard border might contravene the GFA in spirit but it’s actually quite a vague document so it doesn’t absolutely rule out a hard border. Also, I was under the impression that one of the main points of Brexit was taking back control of your borders. If NI isn’t to become a wide-open back door to the UK then border controls will be necessary, unless there were to be customs and immigration checks on the British mainland for all goods and people coming from NI. The DUP won’t allow that of course because it represents an ‘existential threat’ to the Union, so the border will have to be between NI and the Republic. If there is to be no substantial difference in regulations and laws between the UK and the EU, allowing free movement of goods and people then Brexit is effectively meaningless.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jun 15th 2019, 12:34 PM

@jackbello: you really havent thought this through now have you

Mute Martin Horan
    Favourite Martin Horan
    Jun 15th 2019, 4:22 PM

@jackbello: Is English your first language?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jun 16th 2019, 1:14 AM

@jackbello: idiot

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:00 AM

I think you’ll find that Boris will be a headache for everyone

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:20 AM

@Jake Kelly: he is just an ache with no head

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jun 15th 2019, 11:48 AM

@Jake Kelly: He will be a full on car crash but its nothing less then they deserve over there, he will sell the UK to the yanks for buttons because he actually held a US passport not so long ago……..the UK are going to feel pain they have not felt since WW2 after this kicks in proper…….

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    Jun 15th 2019, 5:24 PM

@Peter Hughes: Boris obviously wants to be Winston Churchill but unfortunately he’s got none of Churchill’s gravitas, strength, or leadership and all of Churchill’s racism

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jun 15th 2019, 7:58 AM

Bungling Boris

Mute Fred Speech
    Favourite Fred Speech
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:18 AM

The EU. Won’t allow Ireland to let its unemployed build accommodation for homeless men and women sleeping under bushes in the streets of Dublin. Roll on Boris. We will follow your example eventually.

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:56 AM

@Fred Speech: You know the EU recently suggested declaring our housing crisis an official crisis and offered to directly fund our county councils to build, they are actively offering support we have not taken up. It’s not the EU government telling us not to build its ours.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:17 AM

@Edmund Murphy: is that the truth

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:51 AM

@FlopFlipU: I looked a bit deeper into it. It’s very much still suggestions at this stage. Something they want to put through the new parliment. So I was wrong when I said it was active support. It’s not yet. Thanks for reminding me to double check what I post.

Mute sean mcgee
    Favourite sean mcgee
    Jun 15th 2019, 6:36 PM

@Edmund Murphy: There are other options on the table funded and supported by the EU that dont incur direct funding btw;
    http://www.housingeurope.eu/
    The Journal just did pithy an article on alt housing for Limerick but doesnt say where the money comes from.

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 15th 2019, 7:43 AM

Train is leaving the tracks no matter which deluded, moronic toff is driving. It’ll suck for all concerned but unlikely to be boring.

Mute Alan Brazil
    Favourite Alan Brazil
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:13 AM

There won’t be a no deal brexit because Mp’s will have to vote, and they will block a no deal Brexit again.

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:28 AM

@Alan Brazil: they can vote for anything they like…. doesn’t mean it will happen tho. There are only 3 options .accept the deal , revoke or require the executive to go to Europe and request an extension.

France had already said it won’t allow an extension. …so that’s that one out

Revoking is possible – but only if in 2022 you fancy total electoral defeat by farage.

Or except the deal – and that’s been voted down 3 times already …. what makes u think it be accepted this time (at least without the removal of the backtrap? )

The default is no deal – in the absence of any extension that’s what will happen

Mute Alan Brazil
    Favourite Alan Brazil
    Jun 15th 2019, 9:32 AM

@jackbello: Couldn’t care less anymore sick of them, EU should kick them out.

Mute Karl Charlie
    Favourite Karl Charlie
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:05 AM

@Alan Brazil: i agree kick them out now, demand the divorce bill be paid by the end of the week, give them 3 weeks to build a border and watch NI completely crumble

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:07 AM

@Karl Charlie: aren’t you missing the point ? Post Brexit the eu can’t be ordering anything from the UK – ifs there’s any direction towards building a border …it will be from Brussels to Dublin.

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Jun 15th 2019, 11:58 AM

@jackbello: Do you really think the UK will leave their only land border with the EU wide open? They absolutely won’t. A hard Brexit means a hard border. The only other option is border checks on the UK mainland for anything coming from NI to prevent a back door into the UK. Should that be the case then your problem is not Ireland, it’s Unionists.

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 12:46 PM

@Mark Waldron: yes i really do. The UK is a whole lot more relaxed about customs imports than euroland. Brussels does seem to have a fetish about anything coming in from outside the guilded cage. If it comes in …….It must be taxed ( never mind the fact it’s your consumer who ultimately pays that tax) . I can’t remember who it was – possibly David Davis … he was on lbc last week and made the point that as far as he UK is concerned, the uk can live with low level customs evasion. The big boys r another story and will be targeted – which can be done with random /intelligence led customs inspections away from the border. The idea of completely sealing the border (like the one between Poland and Ukraine or Bulgaria and turkey) is a very European way of doing things…. expected i suppose , since all of that lovely customs duty exercised on the imports ….. ….. goes direct to Brussels , hence they really want their pound of flesh regardless of cross border friction

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Jun 15th 2019, 1:13 PM

@jackbello: David Davis can say what he likes – he’s no longer in any position of power and has never understood the real issues. The UK has been relaxed about customs for the past 40+ years because it has been a member of the EU.
    When the UK leaves the EU that will have to change. The UK will become a ’3rd country’ and will quite rightly be subject to EU customs and regulatory checks. Otherwise the integrity of the European Union is compromised in a similar way that the integrity of the British Union is compromised by any regulatory divergence between NI and the rest of the UK. This is the quandary.
    Read this…
    https://www.rte.ie/news/analysis-and-comment/2019/0614/1055418-double-whammy-a-no-deal-brexit-and-northern-ireland/

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jun 15th 2019, 8:42 AM

No he is a Headache

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:37 AM

When the Russians come calling where does Britain turn for help ? EU of course

And remember it’s Britain not UK as NI voted to stay

Boris is just a chancer who wants publicity but never worked a day in is life

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 2:30 PM

@trebloc01: the Russians do come calling … a few times a year – sometimes closing in on Irish airspace in one of their cold war ‘blackjacks’…. thing is tho – who’s sent in to ward em off every time ??? I give u a hint – It ain’t the Irish air corps

Mute Martin Horan
    Favourite Martin Horan
    Jun 15th 2019, 5:26 PM

@jackbello: Just a couple of points:-

1. The British and Northern Irish people live in a group of countries/regions known as the U.K. which is a much larger, more powerful country than Ireland. It is as much in the U.K.’s interest to not have the Russians transgress on our airspace as ours.

2. As a former World Power, the U.K. finds it difficult to accept they are no longer such, and not used to being answered ‘No’ by the world’s largest economic area.

3. The only way you find relevance in today’s world order is to cling on to the coattails of the U.S.A. …..when America say ‘jump’, the U.K. says ‘how high’.

4. Too arrogant to admit Brexit was an ill-conceived, stupid idea for the Conservatives to keep UKIP at bay.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jun 16th 2019, 1:16 AM

@jackbello: they do it to annoy the UK and Nato we are neutral oh waot facys are not your specialty

Mute Bailey Sexton
    Favourite Bailey Sexton
    Jun 15th 2019, 4:48 PM

Im genuinely amazed at the lack of common sense reading these comments. Whether we like it or not the UK doesn’t have to care about Ireland at all. If we wont budge on the backstop then the UK has go for a no deal, which will be far worse for us than them. It may seem unfair but that’s the reality. People who think Ireland has to be the UKs top priority are living on another planet.

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Jun 15th 2019, 7:22 PM

@Bailey Sexton: When you say ‘we’ who are you referring to?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jun 16th 2019, 1:19 AM

@Bailey Sexton: That’s the mistake. we are Ireland a part of the Eu. Your not fighting us your fighting the EU Hell you could never really beat us anyway

Mute Gerry Cuddy
    Favourite Gerry Cuddy
    Jun 15th 2019, 12:18 PM

When you have a circus who better to lead it than a clown.

Mute Peter Govan
    Favourite Peter Govan
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:17 AM

Why anybody ever thought the Tory government had nothing but contempt for Ireland is beyond me .
    Johnson is a stupid more stubborn version of Thatcher , don’t be surprised to see the pen replaced.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jun 15th 2019, 12:44 PM

@Peter Govan: Ohhh Boris is not stupid…. he’s an utter rotten selfish bustard alright but he is clever enough.

Mute Cobh Rebel Walking
    Favourite Cobh Rebel Walking
    Jun 15th 2019, 11:30 AM

Jackbello, Im afraid one way or the other, you guys are going to be left with your rat-trap!

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 12:54 PM

@Cobh Rebel Walking: no deal =no trap

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Jun 15th 2019, 2:08 PM

@jackbello: Maybe you’re right Jack. It’s possible that all the negative opinions are wrong and the UK will manage just fine on its own with Boris in charge. If that’s the case then I’ll be delighted for ye. You can say “I told you so”. But have you considered the possibility that you’re wrong? What then? What if the experts are right and your whole country is effectively economically destroyed? The idea of the backstop was in part to deal with that issue. If everything went tits up there would be a chance to save the country. A hard brexit means there’s no way back and it requires a tremendous amount of arrogance to believe that there’s no way you could be wrong and you have no need of a safety net. I really do hope it works out well for ye because if ye do go down it will hurt us too

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello
    Jun 15th 2019, 4:08 PM

@Mick Murphy: i think you misunderstand what the vote to leave was all about. I didn’t vote to leave because I thought it would definitely make the UK economically better off. In fact all the warnings were there that gdp would drop. I don’t know anyone who voted to leave cos it would make us all richer – in fact apart from the arguments about the annual payments to the EU , I reckon money didn’t even come into it.

The fact is …had we voted to remain , you could be 100 per cent sure that no referendum would ever be allowed again – had that vote gone the other way , we’d have been in the EU forever, and no farage like party could do anything about it. I might have considered voting differently had I known there would be another vote in 5 years time and 5 years after that and so on. But it was a one time only vote – leave now or forever be trapped….

Mute Martin Horan
    Favourite Martin Horan
    Jun 15th 2019, 7:44 PM

@jackbello: I’m sure you’re aware that as the U.K. has not a written constitution (Magna Carta notwithstanding), a referendum is merely an indication of how the British and Northern Irish people feel about a given proposition at any given time for Parliament to note. Just like a general election, it can indeed be reviewed every five years. The difference being, you will need the ascent of 27 other countries should you leave and wish to rejoin.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Jun 15th 2019, 10:45 AM

Noris still had to get it through parliament

Mute Carmel O'Brien Mulreany
    Favourite Carmel O'Brien Mulreany
    Jun 16th 2019, 2:43 AM

Leonard Cohen’s quotation comes to mind ‘There is a crack, a crack in everything that is how the light gets in’ The Tory party think Boris is’ the light’ I on the other hand think he is ‘The crack’