You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Keith Srakocic/AP/Press Association Images

McDonald's hires bouncers after anti-social behaviour from schoolchildren

The teenagers reportedly caused thousands of pounds worth of damage.

A MCDONALD’S BRANCH in Manchester is hiring bouncers after months of anti-social behaviour from young people.

Staff at the fast food outlet in Chorlton told BCC Newsbeat there has been “thousands of pounds worth of damage” done to the premises.

As a result, only two teenagers will be allowed to enter the restaurant at a time during peak hours of 3-6pm on weekdays.

A McDonald’s spokesperson said the measures were introduced following consultation with the police, local council and two nearby schools.

“[It's] after a series of incidents in which a large group of young people caused thousands of pounds worth of damage to the restaurant and threatened and abused staff and customers.

The safety of our employees and customers is of the utmost importance and we take a zero-tolerance approach to any activity that puts this at risk.

A local businessperson told Newsbeat: “There’s always a fight happening or they’re deliberately disturbing the public. They’re just loud and rude all the time.”

Meanwhile, yesterday afternoon police in Manchester were called after a fight between pupils from a number of schools got out of control at a new McDonald’s branch in Piccadilly Gardens. Up to 200 schoolchildren ended up gathering outside the outlet.

The Manchester Evening News reports that four police vans and around 20 police officers were sent to calm the situation, with a number of scuffles breaking out.

Read: Photos: Trump forced to cancel rally after violence broke out between protesters and supporters

Read: Sharapova denies receiving five warnings about meldonium

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Dexter Gordon
    Favourite Dexter Gordon
    Sep 17th 2012, 9:42 AM

What was she thinking about going topless – she surely should have known that his kind of thing could happen.

Mute Joy Herron
    Favourite Joy Herron
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:44 AM

I know!! the cheek of her thinking she could sun bathe topless in privacy like thousands of women around the world do without peeping toms with zoom lenses taking her photo. completely her own fault.The Damn paparazzi are why I shower with Knickers on.

Mute James Lawlor
    Favourite James Lawlor
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:23 PM

Well if you take your clothes off in private this is what happens!!! NEVER NEVER remove your clothing.

Mute Andrew P
    Favourite Andrew P
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:36 PM

what about when u have a bath?

Mute James Lawlor
    Favourite James Lawlor
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:50 PM

NEVER I SAID!!!!

Mute Peter Nolan
    Favourite Peter Nolan
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:04 PM

Ha, reminds me of the outraged Sam the American Eagle routine: “All these people walking around when, under their clothes, they’re NAKED! Yes, NAKED!”

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:06 PM

I agree Dexter, As the future Queen of England and Knowing what happened with Diana she must have realised that long lens can be used to try get pics like this. Nobody is questioning her decision to go naked or not its irrelevant. But she should have realised that some papparazzi will go to any lengths to get these pictures. She ahould have had something in front of her. a wall, a partition, a hedge, anything so that a long shot like that would have been impossible. She should have known better. These people do NOTHING all day but have an entourage follow them around like lap dogs yet not one of them had the brain to make sure she did not let herself open to this kind of exposure. She needs to wake up and it will happen again, and again, Its irrelevant what we think. The reality is there is demand in the media for all these pics and it will continue whether we like it or not and to deny this is unrealistic.

Mute James Lawlor
    Favourite James Lawlor
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:17 PM

True Christopher it’s not like she can’t afford the bring a good hedge with her on holidays.

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne
    Sep 17th 2012, 2:07 PM

The bould Kate had knickers on too Joy, they are were after her lady lumps

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Sep 17th 2012, 6:34 PM

Now if Kate had been a Muslim there’d be riots over these photos…

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Sep 17th 2012, 10:07 AM

Ah here, — Eddie would hardly come on and say the paper is screwed considering he works with them.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 17th 2012, 10:27 AM

With your track record Eddie? I guess the Star is gone now.

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:26 AM

Let’s get some quality back into Irish journalism and leave publications like the star in the gutter where it belongs

Mute Raymond Connolly
    Favourite Raymond Connolly
    Sep 17th 2012, 10:42 AM

Paper should be closed down,as for Eddie Hobbs don’t start me

Mute Gary Mason™
    Favourite Gary Mason™
    Sep 17th 2012, 10:44 AM

no it shouldnt, sure the man trying to close it down once owned a publication called Asian Babes

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:15 AM

Enlighten us as to why it should be closed down, Raymond.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:57 AM

Enlighten us about Asian Babes, Gary!

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:48 PM

That’s all very well but the “Asian Babes” had agreed to having their photographs taken. The photos of Kate were taken illegally – they are in breach of France’s very strict privacy laws – and should never have been reproduced in the Star. If Desmond does pull out the Star will lose a large amount of it’s content, though if INM keeps it open I guess they can always make it up from that other dreadful rag the Irish Independent.

Mute John Thomas
    Favourite John Thomas
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:38 PM

Apologise and Fire the Editor! enough said! Leave the jobs alone

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:44 AM

Please! Kate has boobs , just like every other woman! She took risks when going topless as previous photographs of her honeymoon were already leaked. So I wish the media would get over it…. There are a lot more serious stories to report on ..

Mute rhonda o shea
    Favourite rhonda o shea
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:56 AM

I agree Mary …so fed up wit hearing about her and her boobs…

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:04 PM

So Mary and Rhonda, it would be OK for someone to snap you and your boobs are publish them online for all to see- in a public domain. And for tthen to make money out of those boobs of yours.

You wouldnt even be the tiniest bit upset then?

Don’t miss the main issue here.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Sep 17th 2012, 2:39 PM

Paul of course noone should have their privacy invaded like this. But I don’t think that’s the bones of the issue. The daily star is a rag and its only use as I see it is to toilet train my dog. but that’s my opinion.
    The issue here is why should Kate be treated any differently than any other of the daily stars subjects. I don’t agree with any of it, but In Ireland at least Kate Middleton is similar to other celebrities . They paper should not be shut down because of these particular pictures. The fact is its one guy who happens to own half if it all of a sudden seems to like some moral high ground (cause it might affect his wallet in the UK) and he says he’ll shut it down. if the reaction was different he’d be parading around for photo ops with o’kane..

Mute Mick Lennon
    Favourite Mick Lennon
    Sep 17th 2012, 10:10 AM

langer

Mute Linna Sonngay
    Favourite Linna Sonngay
    Sep 17th 2012, 10:56 AM

Paper should say sorry in gross error of judgement etc, a lot of jobs on the line etc and they’ll be ok I think, a joke of a newspaper tho

Mute toorkeel
    Favourite toorkeel

It’s a complete rag, always has been, worse than the Sun if that’s possible. It would be great to see it off the shelves….

Mute Ryan Allen
    Favourite Ryan Allen
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:38 AM

We all have a choice whether to buy the Star or not. If it is still going then it must sell pretty well and meet some kind of demand.

Getting rid of it as it’s a “rag” or “tacky” won’t mean its readers will start reading the Times, the Indo or even the Journal. But it will mean lots of jobs lost and given the small size of the Irish media industry, they won’t be able to find new ones that easily.

Mute Sean ORegan
    Favourite Sean ORegan
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:11 PM

What I think is wonderful about this episode is how it reminds us how much of the Irish media is actually British owned and how culturally confused so many are…

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:10 PM

Sean, after 800 years………….nah, wont go there!

Its worse if you bring in the Barney and iCarly-speak of the younger age group!

Mute Padraic Forde
    Favourite Padraic Forde
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:51 AM

Dammit, Friday was the only day i forgot to buy it. :)

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:55 PM

The star didn’t print the pics til Saturday. Just saying ;)

Mute Sean Browne
    Favourite Sean Browne
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:08 PM

What about all the actors for the problem page where will they find work keep it open

Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:54 PM

Im sure they could find room for their method acting style at Fair City.

Mute Peter Nolan
    Favourite Peter Nolan

From a purely business perspective, it doesn’t seem over the top at all. The money Desmond gets from the Irish Daily Star must be pretty farcically small-fry compared to the value of his Star/Express/OK! brand in the UK . Yet it’s demonstrated that – as he’s tied to it perception wise, but with no control – that it has the potential to cost him significant damage and lost revenue in the UK.

It’s a liability. To be honest, I’d be very surprised if the owners of the Daily Mail hadn’t spent the weekend pouring over their agreements with the Irish Daily Mail to see if they had a risk of a similar exposure to their British interests by potential Irish editorial decisions.

Mute Eoin Faz
    Favourite Eoin Faz
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:21 PM

Sounds like he just found a good excuse to shut the paper. It will not be missed.

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:38 PM

What a joke! The paper screwed up and deserve what they get. But in a less selfish world…. The person who made the decison to publish the picture would apologize and resign from their job…. However…. This is Ireand….. No one resigns from jobs for poor judgement or errors nor are individuals held accountable.

Mute Anne Kerins
    Favourite Anne Kerins
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:48 PM

Your comment is the only one that gave a proper overview, they were on a private holiday, can no one have privacy these days, once again great reply

Mute Slap'stick Ireland
    Favourite Slap'stick Ireland
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:10 PM

Rabbitte gives us his thumbs up to “more tits on Irish newspapers please”. As if we haven’t enough of that already. Up with that sort of thing

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:09 PM

And he has given the OK for some to make money from pictures taken without the owners consent.

Rabbitte is wrong on so many levels.

Sack the editor then and leave the other staff in place. Feckin eegit O’Kane – got it all wrong, misread the decency of most of the Irish public.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Sep 17th 2012, 2:00 PM

While I agree with everything you have said Paul, Kate needs to cop on.

She is one of the most famous women in the world and she went topless on a balcony. The lowlife who took the pic was on a public road. You’d nearly think it was done on purpose.

Mute Derek Larney
    Favourite Derek Larney
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:47 PM

Rabbitte backs up tabloid in the hope they call the hounds off his Labour Party before the next election

Mute Hope Lasts
    Favourite Hope Lasts
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:49 PM

that doesnt look right either …i give up

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Sep 17th 2012, 2:14 PM

O’Kane got it so wrong. Totally misjudged the Irish public and showed himself up as a misogynist. Stupid man to say that it was no different than photos of Lady Gaga etc. I am fairly certain that Lady Gaga wouldn’t have been too pleased if it had been sneaky photos of her sunbathing either

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Sep 17th 2012, 2:05 PM

I am sure she knew very well that she would be seen. Anyway whats all the fuss for? Prince Harry showed off a lot more with less fuss.

Mute John the Baptist
    Favourite John the Baptist
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:30 PM

Ahh come on. She knew they were there. We’re lucky it wasn’t Camilla

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:33 PM

Of course she knew they were there, she was born with them. As for your knowing….shame on you!

Mute Mick Lennon
    Favourite Mick Lennon
    Sep 17th 2012, 2:20 PM

haven’t you more important issues to sort rabbite like broadband rollout?get the finger out and stop worrying about tabloid rubbish

Mute Giovanni Lucca
    Favourite Giovanni Lucca
    Sep 17th 2012, 4:38 PM

jail the person that took the photographs and the editors of the newspapers that publish them. They knowing took and paid for illegal photographs for greed. Would you like it if someone took an intimate photograph of any of your family and saw it in the newspapers the next day?? Bet you wouldn’t, so what’s the difference here? everyone deserves the right to privacy.

Mute seamus mckenzie
    Favourite seamus mckenzie
    Sep 17th 2012, 8:24 PM

It is pure elitism, The end of the day Kate is apparently going to be the future queen of England. Never seen pictures of Diana like that published in the papers. They are no different to any other celebrity in this country. No one objects when snaps of celebrities appear without consent in those rags. As for Desmond chasing his knighthood, and runs an empire built on sleaze and the degradation of women. The hypocrisy of all this stinks and how it has got so much media attention in the wake of tragedies in the north and the ten year old in Co. Offaly leaves a lot to be desired.

Mute FMA News
    Favourite FMA News
    Sep 17th 2012, 1:54 PM

Looks like Labour Government has succeeded in insulting another sovereign state – first the Vatican, now the UK. Would have thought we could do with all the friends we could get, at the momemt! … Parcochial, inappropriate and short-sighted response from Pat Rabbitte.

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne
    Sep 17th 2012, 2:08 PM

Perhaps Rabbite will include the Star in the licence fee?

Mute Hope Lasts
    Favourite Hope Lasts
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:48 PM

give all the profits for that day to charity, paper is shown no profit to be made in cheap sleaze and charitys win..

Mute Tony Blankley
    Favourite Tony Blankley
    Sep 18th 2012, 12:20 AM

When are the press going to realise that everyone is entitled to their privacy when they are “not on duty”. Yes, they are public property when they are working on state business or other public duties, but outside “work” they should be left alone, rather than be preyed on by vultures!

Mute Robert Lockwood
    Favourite Robert Lockwood
    Sep 17th 2012, 11:56 PM

“Irish Daily Star editor Michael O’Kane said he believed the images to be tasteful, and pointed out that the photos of Middleton – who, he said, would never be Queen of Ireland – had not appeared in the edition of the paper circulated in Northern Ireland.”

Ah but in Ireland it’s ok to invade one’s privacy but not in the North? Disgusting.

Northern & Shell has previously been the UK publisher of the adult magazines Penthouse and Asian Babes among others. hypocrisy?? No, I enjoy this stuff, the models volunteer and are highly paid. But publishing semi-naked pictures without permission is the same as sticking a hidden camera up someone skirt.

You disgust me.

Mute Joey Wagga
    Favourite Joey Wagga
    Sep 17th 2012, 9:45 PM

I prefer the club orange ads!!

Mute Hope Lasts
    Favourite Hope Lasts
    Sep 17th 2012, 12:49 PM

sorry charities

Mute Richie Mulroy
    Favourite Richie Mulroy
    Sep 17th 2012, 5:24 PM

Surely there are more important issues that could be getting covered by the media than some posh bints less than impressive boobage, bread and circuses

Mute Andrew Bowan
    Favourite Andrew Bowan
    Sep 19th 2012, 2:16 PM

The porn merchant is a social climber currying favour with the English Establishment in the hope of a knighthood.