You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Interactive map: The price of a Big Mac all around the world

Attention fast food enthusiasts…

WE JUDGE COUNTRIES by a number of indices – quality of life, satisfaction with life, cost of living – but perhaps our favourite index is the global Big Mac index, which is used to explain the relative values of currencies.

We like to think of it more as a guide for fast food enthusiasts in their quest for good value burgers. With that in mind, we compiled this nifty map you can explore. You will see the most expensive Big Mac can be found in Switzerland, though we have seen nothing to indicate it contains anything more spectacular than your run-of-the mill Big Mac.

The average price in Ireland is €3.64, which is slightly lower than the average in the Euro area of €3.84. Head over to Russia if you are looking for the cheapest in the world – they cost just €1.23.

Read: They’ve done it. They’ve deep fried a Big Mac>

Read: McDonald’s forced to deny it’s getting rid of Big Mac after hoax article goes viral>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute tony murphy
    Favourite tony murphy
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:07 PM

No WAY

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:22 PM

@tony murphy: I totally agree but then why give 50 million to rte. Is it not the same thing

Mute Kieran Doherty
    Favourite Kieran Doherty
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:37 PM

@aidan mccormack: well said. Exactly

Mute Kieran Daly
    Favourite Kieran Daly
    Dec 18th 2019, 4:49 PM

@aidan mccormack: Correct RTE haven’t won a World Cup or a European championship either

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Dec 19th 2019, 11:33 PM

@aidan mccormack: or 16m every year to greyhound racing

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan

This article should have a canned laughter soundclip attached.

Mute Dav Nagle
    Favourite Dav Nagle
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:17 PM

I listened to Shane Ross speak after his meeting with the FAI. He is not a soft touch and we need way more of this in Irish politics.

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:26 PM

@Dav Nagle: 12 months ago he was saying what a great guy Delaney is! He’s playing to the crowd.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:37 PM

@Dav Nagle: We need him gone from politics. Just because he does one thing right it doesn’t make him a good minister.

Mute Mike Keane
    Favourite Mike Keane
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:55 PM

@Rehabmeerkat: A lot of people were saying Delaney was a great guy. Healy-Rae said it only a couple of months ago. Along with a few football association’s, Clare included.

Mute TheHospitalPass
    Favourite TheHospitalPass
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:02 PM

@Dav Nagle: what a crock of €€€€ Dav. He’s not strong, he’s incompetent and pathetic with a complete disregard for his position

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:08 PM

@Peter Hughes: so anyone who is opposed to Shane Ross is pro drink driving? I think we’ve found the clown who went missing from the circus.

Mute Dav Nagle
    Favourite Dav Nagle
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:45 PM

@TheHospitalPass: I am not judging his previous attitude, I am just saying a more hardline approach to spending is always welcome!

Mute Fr Chewy Louis
    Favourite Fr Chewy Louis
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:54 PM

@Ed: makes him better than most

Mute Eoin Murphy
    Favourite Eoin Murphy
    Dec 18th 2019, 5:02 PM

@Dav Nagle: remember the Olympic ticket scandal a few years ago? What ever happened there to those guilty

Mute Rhomas Teddy
    Favourite Rhomas Teddy
    Dec 18th 2019, 5:25 PM

@Dav Nagle: You are seriously having a laugh. This guy is just as bad if not worst than all those idiots in the FAI. The government, Garda force, banks and FAI have destroyed this country and its very unlikely we’ll recover with these muppets still in charge.

Mute Fergal O'Leary
    Favourite Fergal O'Leary
    Dec 18th 2019, 6:18 PM

@Dav Nagle: shane Ross ? Ha!

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Dec 18th 2019, 8:08 PM

@Dav Nagle: Grandstanding. He hasn’t a clue. A fool of a minister.

Mute John Flynn
    Favourite John Flynn
    Dec 18th 2019, 9:59 PM
    Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Dec 19th 2019, 11:34 PM

@Dav Nagle: Shane Ross is a one time political mess who has no hope of being re-elected

Mute Marianne
    Favourite Marianne
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:56 PM

Under no circumstances should they get a bail out

Mute TheHospitalPass
    Favourite TheHospitalPass
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:03 PM

@Marianne: they should you know. Start afresh and go again

Mute Peter Govan
    Favourite Peter Govan
    Dec 18th 2019, 7:32 PM

@Marianne: if they dont get one , everything goes belly up. The league of ireland . All international teams the lot. So they definitely should .

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Dec 18th 2019, 11:14 PM

@Peter Govan: nope

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:08 PM

Are the Government allowed to interfere here..did FIFA not suspend some countries for government interference in the past?

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:34 PM

@dublindamo: state funding is allowed but not with politicians as board members

Mute Sam Cairns
    Favourite Sam Cairns
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:04 PM

Money to fund their golden handshakes before they go

Mute Fred the Muss
    Favourite Fred the Muss
    Dec 18th 2019, 4:29 PM

@Sam Cairns: And what was Shane Ross doing as the Minister when all this was going on? Nothing, as usual.

Mute silentbob2012
    Favourite silentbob2012
    Dec 18th 2019, 8:04 PM

Let it fail, clear out the deadwood and start again. Not a cent of our taxpayers hard earned cash should go to these idiots.

Mute Clancy
    Favourite Clancy
    Dec 18th 2019, 2:10 PM

Can we just ask the IFA, the Football Association of Northern Ireland, to take it over?
    Unify the sport under an administration that is financially continent.
    One Island, One Team, HQ in Belfast.

Mute SéamusMouse
    Favourite SéamusMouse

Insane.

Mute Martin Scaldbag
    Favourite Martin Scaldbag
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:21 PM

@SéamusMouse: there’s plenty of money floating around soccer. 18 million is the salary of an average to good player

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:34 PM

@Martin Scaldbag: eh average players do not get paid 350k per week

Mute Tony Talbot
    Favourite Tony Talbot
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:54 PM

@Martin Scaldbag: stupid comment

Mute Robert Kennedy
    Favourite Robert Kennedy
    Dec 18th 2019, 2:09 PM

@Martin Scaldbag:

Great research

Mute Eoin Murphy
    Favourite Eoin Murphy
    Dec 18th 2019, 5:04 PM

@Martin Scaldbag: yes in England in Spain Germany Italy and the champions league but not Ireland there’s no interest from a fair amount of people

Mute Paul Crampsie
    Favourite Paul Crampsie
    Dec 19th 2019, 8:06 AM

@Martin Scaldbag: footballers in England are taxed at around 45% so to bring home 18 million they’d need to earn around 34 million. That’s over 600k a week…. so no.

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:35 PM

Ah the lads. Was 18million enough for a good party?

Mute BewaretheBeardies
    Favourite BewaretheBeardies
    Dec 18th 2019, 5:06 PM

When is Delaney going to be charged with fraud?

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:33 PM

That would house some familys.

Mute Decko Kelly
    Favourite Decko Kelly
    Dec 18th 2019, 8:44 PM

@Fran O’Keeffe: it would get me a rake of pints.

Mute johnny onion eye
    Favourite johnny onion eye
    Dec 18th 2019, 2:02 PM

I feel like Ross is enjoying this situation with the Fai. I’m not saying they are not a disgrace but would he be so hardline if it where rugby, Cricket or his hockey buds.

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:50 PM

Reports that FAI are meeting IRFU, guess the IRFU are going to get the FAIs share of lansdowne Rd very cheap.

Mute Kieran Graham
    Favourite Kieran Graham
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:22 PM

Tough love…

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Dec 18th 2019, 4:28 PM

Why bail out the banks who are owed this money. Why is the taxpayer expected to underwrite the banks. Liquidate the FAI and start afresh.

Mute Maurice Frazer
    Favourite Maurice Frazer
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:32 PM

If the FAI are dissolved, they will have to apply to FIFA for a licence, and in the meantime we could be banned from International, League of Ireland football.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:38 PM

@Maurice Frazer: The tax payer still shouldn’t bail them out.

Mute Alan Dillon
    Favourite Alan Dillon
    Dec 18th 2019, 12:50 PM

@Maurice Frazer: So what, it’s not as if we’re a top tier international side who stand to lose millions in sponsorship from companies queuing up to throw money at the team.

Mute Dave Lynch
    Favourite Dave Lynch
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:14 PM

@Maurice Frazer: Good. I dont think any1 will miss watching 0-0 draws with Montenegro or Gibraltar. RTE can just repeat Reeling in the Years to fill the space.

Mute Peter Govan
    Favourite Peter Govan
    Dec 18th 2019, 7:35 PM

@Alan Dillon: No it’s just the most popular team sport in the country, regardless what gaa people like to think. More people playing it then any other sport so it matters.

Mute @at
    Favourite @at
    Dec 18th 2019, 8:46 PM

@Peter Govan: you could be right but I would think the GAA is more popular ?

Mute John Redican
    Favourite John Redican
    Dec 18th 2019, 2:15 PM

Donal Conway has the cut of a man who has spent time on a greasy pole.

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Dec 18th 2019, 3:47 PM

Ah here lads hold on… we are bailing out RTE at the moment.

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Dec 18th 2019, 4:00 PM

Arrogance. That’s what got the FAI into this mess and now they’re arrogant enough to expect to be bailed out by the taxpayers.
    Not a penny…

Mute Terrence Edwards
    Favourite Terrence Edwards
    Dec 18th 2019, 1:19 PM

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Mute Jimmy Bennett
    Favourite Jimmy Bennett
    Dec 18th 2019, 3:34 PM

Lol, I probably shouldn’t have booked flights already for the Slovakia game. Ah well, more time for drinking there so.

Mute And_Helipad
    Favourite And_Helipad
    Dec 18th 2019, 8:19 PM

Just disband soccer in this country

Mute Seamus Mc Hugh
    Favourite Seamus Mc Hugh
    Dec 18th 2019, 7:48 PM

Not one Euro , it will be the death of any politician who hands over our tax payers money to fill the hole that this corrupt organisation has dug for itself

Mute Brian Hayes
    Favourite Brian Hayes
    Dec 18th 2019, 9:01 PM

Shane Ross is a gowl.

Mute Seamus Mc Hugh
    Favourite Seamus Mc Hugh
    Dec 18th 2019, 7:52 PM

Not one Euro , it will be the death of any politician who hands over our tax payers money to fill the hole that this dodgy organisation has dug for itself

Mute Michael Griffin
    Favourite Michael Griffin
    Dec 18th 2019, 6:59 PM

Will we organise a church gate collection for them.

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Dec 18th 2019, 7:51 PM

Could get complicated if John Delaney elected t d for Waterford Andy’s has balance of power in dail

The pink panther mick wallet owed millions to government in tax

Delaney must be in the running

Mute Seamus Mc Hugh
    Favourite Seamus Mc Hugh
    Dec 18th 2019, 7:52 PM

Not one Euro , it will be the end of any politician who hands over our tax payers money to fill the hole that this dodgy organisation has dug for itself .