You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Large crowds as March for Choice takes place in Dublin

This was the seventh annual March for Choice and the first since the Eighth Amendment was removed from the Constitution.

5994 Abortion March_90555206 A participant in the march today. Sam Boal Sam Boal

LARGE CROWDS TURNED out today in Dublin for the March for Choice, organised by pro-choice groups. 

The event was notable as it was the first pro-choice march to take place after the Eighth Amendment was officially removed from the Constitution.

6022 Abortion March_90555215 Sam Boal Sam Boal

Leaders of the Abortion Rights Campaign told the crowd: “This has never been a quiet revolution – do not get quiet now.”

In May of this year, the Irish people voted to remove the Eighth Amendment from the Constitution, paving the way for the legalisation of abortion. Legislation is set to be enacted to allow abortion up to 12 weeks, and also in specific circumstances up to 24 weeks or viability.

6094 Abortion March_90555213 Sam Boal Sam Boal

However, Abortion Rights Campaign said it held the event today to show supporters that although the Eighth Amendment has been repealed, it believes there is still a need for campaigning by pro-choice activists.

“We will continue to campaign for all girls, women and people who need abortion. Abortion on demand and without apology,” Abortion Rights Campaign co-convenor Denise O’Toole told the crowd. “Let’s continue to make 2018 the year of an unstoppable wave of people power. Real change must come from below.”

5949 Abortion March_90555203 Sam Boal Sam Boal

Present at today’s event were Health Minister Simon Harris, Children’s Minister Katherine Zappone, Senator Catherine Noone and Amnesty Ireland’s Colm O’Gorman, who all campaigned for a Yes vote in the referendum.

Social Democrats candidate Evie Nevin told the crowd that currently at least one person with a disability travels from Ireland for an abortion every week. Another speaker was Zanele Sibindi of the Masi group which supports people in Direct Provision.

In a blog post explaining the reasons behind the march, the Abortion Rights Campaign said:

Even though the referendum has finally been won (by a huge majority of 66.4%!) nothing practical has changed in Ireland. 10 people still travel for abortion care every day, while at least 3 more take pills at home that are safe but still illegal under our laws.
We’ve waited a very very long time for change, and now we’re still waiting for the government to pass legislation and introduce real abortion services.

It said this is why the theme of the seventh annual March for Choice is “Free, Safe, Legal”.

We’ve marched behind this slogan for years but now, more than ever, it’s vital we show our support for stigma-free abortion access for anyone who wants or needs one, regardless of their financial or legal status.

The group also said that it is also holding the event to “make a promise that we will continue to fight until abortion is available for all people on the island of Ireland, including our comrades and siblings in Northern Ireland, and those whose circumstances will not fall within the bounds set by the new law”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

87 Comments
    Mute Ross Fehily
    Favourite Ross Fehily
    Sep 29th 2018, 4:16 PM

Any reason for an old’ gathering and piss up. Next week; insect lives matter. See you then

Mute The Truth
    Favourite The Truth
    Sep 29th 2018, 4:25 PM

@Ross Fehily: idiots do what idiots do

Mute The Truth
    Favourite The Truth
    Sep 29th 2018, 4:36 PM

@Michael Allen: noted snowflake

Mute David Craddock
    Favourite David Craddock
    Sep 29th 2018, 5:40 PM

@Ross Fehily: What an ignorant comment to make

Mute Jennifer Mann
    Favourite Jennifer Mann
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:46 PM

@The Truth: Only an insecure arsehole would call themselves “The Truth”

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 29th 2018, 8:10 PM

@Jennifer Mann: Hiding behind misguided words

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Sep 30th 2018, 12:06 AM

@The Truth: Ha, snowflake! Classic! Come up with that yourself?

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:04 PM

How anyone can celebrate the destruction of human life is beyond me ,,its not free the taxpayer will have to fund it ,its legal for now ,and nothing safe about it for the unborn child .what a circus .

Sep 29th 2018, 10:37 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: that is not at all what is being celebrated. Clearly you still don’t understand why a large majority of Irish people voted to repeal the 8th

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Sep 30th 2018, 1:16 AM

@: Why should abortion be free? That wasn’t in the referendum.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    Sep 30th 2018, 10:09 AM

@Denis McClean: Why should any medical procedure be free? Because of human decency and dignity, that’s why

Mute Myles Collier
    Favourite Myles Collier
    Sep 30th 2018, 10:38 AM

@Larissa Nikolaus: free is a non existent concept. Someone always has to pay

Mute Paula Middleton
    Favourite Paula Middleton
    Sep 30th 2018, 12:30 PM

@Denis McClean: If a woman wants to kill her own child, she should pay for it herself and not expect others to pay for her wicked, evil murderous deed.

Mute Cheapy Ryan
    Favourite Cheapy Ryan
    Sep 29th 2018, 4:20 PM

‘Comrades’.
    Wasn’t that a term used way back when by people of a certain political outlook?
    Surely these warm fuzzy feminists aren’t cold-hearted communists underneath it all.
    I’d be shocked if that was the case.

Mute Patrick Oshea
    Favourite Patrick Oshea
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:15 PM

@Cheapy Ryan: If you’ve never read “The Communist Manifesto” by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels, published in 1848, you should—especially right now.

“Abolition of the family!

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:47 PM

@Patrick Oshea: Bear in mind, our current concept of “family” is about 2000-3000 years old, less so in Ireland. Modern humans, however, have been around for approximately 200,000 years. In other words, the current definition of family encompasses only 1% of humanity’s existence. Indeed, the Irish language has no word for family in the Judeo-Christian sense of the word.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:11 PM

Clann

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:43 PM

@David Grey: Clann means children or offspring. It definitely does not mean family, or include parents for that matter.

Mute Cheapy Ryan
    Favourite Cheapy Ryan
    Sep 30th 2018, 8:09 AM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: I’ll try muintir?

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys
    Sep 29th 2018, 5:01 PM

You won, fare and square. Now how about some grace for those that disagreed. This arrogance will be the downfall of the liberals.

Mute Susan Adair Farrelly
    Favourite Susan Adair Farrelly
    Sep 29th 2018, 5:54 PM

@Tony Humphreys: Why?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 29th 2018, 5:59 PM

@Tony Humphreys: Hard luck lads on wanting to deny bodily autonomy to half the population but I respect your continued desire to deny me equal rights. Fair play to those who wanted to keep slavery and deny women voting rights as well, wouldn’t want to be a bad winner to suggest there was a problem with any of those beliefs!

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:11 PM

@Rochelle: slavery? You succeeded in sticking it to men (even though the majority of men voted yes). Abortion is needed but the cancer that is modern feminism doesn’t care about the unborn its all about me me me.

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:20 PM

@Keith Murdiff: I’ve actually seen women crying watching the Rotunda show on RTÉ when an unborn is lost before birth. I’ve been at scans, one recently, where female doctors refer to the fetus as “your baby” (this is standard) … This is mindless hypocracy. That’s feminism for you

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:52 PM

@Keith Murdiff: Don’t be speaking for me. I’d stand any day side by side with the women of my life until men stop thinking they can govern women’s lives, be that physically, psychologically or socially. And there’s nothing wrong with modern feminism. The only problem is when privileged men like yourself lose your privileges in favour of true equality and then cry about it. Get over yourself, grow up, and become a man who can respect himself and the women in his life, because right now you’re the definition of “me, me, me.”

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 8:13 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: I see no rebuttal to my points Brian but I’ll allow you gloss over.

Tell me this, what rights do I have that women don’t?

Who talks about the 8 years men die younger on average than women?

That discussion doesn’t happen because it doesn’t fit the narrative.

The main component of “toxic masculinity” is a hormone called testosterone which is the reason we have a life span op 10% less. Here’s the truth about your unmeasurable claim for male privilege. Talk to anybody with a terminal diagnosis and see how far they would go to get 1 more day, even hour to spend time with their loved ones. But that’s OK because we’re (men) all on the gravy train

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 8:20 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: I’m not speaking for myself Brian, expressing opinion in the interest or debate and diverges opinion. Debate and respect for views

Mute Corb John
    Favourite Corb John
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:01 PM

@Rochelle: Slavery to your nature

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:51 PM

@Keith Murdiff: You literally said, and I quote, “sticking it to men”. Now, either you meant some men, or all men. What I did was say your views don’t represent me, also a man. Secondly, the age men die at is completely irrelevant to the topic at hand. Thirdly, women have been dominated by men for millenia. We have a system – socially, economically and politically – created by men, for men and populated by men. We, only in the last few decades, have decided to allow women into that system. But, it is still a male system. Shoehorning women into it is still just saying “you are equal, as long as you play by male rules”. In other words, us males still have the upper hand, even if some men feel like female equality is somehow hurting them. It’s not. As I said before, get over yourself.

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 10:09 PM

@Keith Murdiff: my last point was admittedly incoherent, my intention was not to speak for you. I’m not clear on how you came to that conclusion

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 10:15 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: nothing to do with my initial point pal, you haven’t sddresswd 1.

What rights do I have that women don’t? Name one and I’ll help you to make the change.

Live in the past If you want.

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 10:35 PM

@Keith Murdiff: the statement “sticking it to men” wasn’t directed at you. The point wasn’t direct, it requires reading between the lines. Now, new wave feminism, as apposed to the hiroines of the first two (feminism waves) which didn’t employ the anger and vitriol you and the modern fems do is devicive. You can hit me with your rhetoric all you want and your keyboard tactics are impotent.

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 10:39 PM

@Keith Murdiff: now stop whinging there’s nothing worse than a male feminist

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 11:07 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: you’re talking about equality pal, I’m pointing out the nuances of gender. I’d you want tremue equality, as I do. You need to consider all ills (hence the reference to life expectancy) this is the tragic irony of feminism, they take a buffet view on equality.

Big Jobs, I’ll take that

Power in government, take that

Dangerous jobs, nah

Bin collection, nah..

Board of directors (yep)

Construction in winter.. Nope

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 11:12 PM

@Keith Murdiff: buffet equality.
    How many women have died in comparison to women on the job in the least year, (multiply it out over decades)

How many women are homeless in the street in comparison to men (have a look on any trip to work)

Who gets automatic rights to children ina divorces court

Who gets more lenient sentences in court.

Equality mu bum pal

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 30th 2018, 12:16 AM

@Keith Murdiff: Yeah, you’re still referencing a society built by men, for men, and I sincerely doubt you have the brain capacity to think beyond that, so there’s not much point in talking any more. I also did address your original question, but that, too, seems to have flown so far above your head that you’re obviously living on quite a different planet.

Mute Rei
    Favourite Rei
    Sep 30th 2018, 1:01 PM

@Tony Humphreys: lol so many whinging men here. “bawww women won’t live the way I want them to! Bawww”
    Poor things, losing control. Must be hard x

Mute Paula Middleton
    Sep 30th 2018, 1:03 PM

@Keith Murdiff: women have never had it so good, I feel sorry for men, they’re often treated worse than dogs. If these aggressive feminists don’t change their tune, then their daughter’s won’t be able to find a man to marry them, the men will look for more traditional, family oriented women, not these rabid mutts.

Mute Bobby mcgee
    Favourite Bobby mcgee
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:20 PM

Congrats ireland 700000 people on hse waiting list and now abortion will be offered for free… at least the next generation will have less people on any lists to worry about

Mute Patrick Oshea
    Favourite Patrick Oshea
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:28 PM

But science, of course, has established that the unborn—though physically dependent on and inside of the mother—is a distinct, self-developing individual with his or her own DNA, brain, arms and legs, etc. Abortion attacks and kills the body of someone else.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:23 PM

@Patrick Oshea: it’s all over,lad..

Mute Patrick Oshea
    Favourite Patrick Oshea
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:32 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: It is all over for every baby that is killed.

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:46 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: savage response Francis.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:53 PM

@Keith Murdiff: thanks,that means a lot to me

@Patrick ; i’ll get my mother to pop into our local church tomorrow, & get her to light a few candles for all of those ‘babies’ that are killed..
    getting very emotional…

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Sep 29th 2018, 8:50 PM

@Patrick Oshea: I got called a murderer twice today, change the record!

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:29 PM

The vote has been passed but under no circumstances should abortion services be funded by the taxpayer or free as some call it.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 29th 2018, 4:21 PM

Brilliant! Fair play to all involved!!

Next up, the six counties. The noting that availability on this island depends on which side of an invisible border you are on is completely unacceptable.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Favourite We Love Katamari
    Sep 29th 2018, 4:31 PM

@The Risen: i see your muppet stalker is back with a brand new twitter account

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 29th 2018, 4:59 PM

@The Risen: I thought you were against foreign interference in other countries abortion issues?

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:02 PM

@The Risen: Let the Brits keep their counties. We have a fine country. Who would want that basket case up north?

Mute Patrick Oshea
    Favourite Patrick Oshea
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:14 PM

Certainly not free. Certainly not safe. Certainly legal as the penal laws were in slavery. Costly to the taxpayers. Unsafe for murdered baby. The laws of humanity are broken.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:49 PM

@Patrick Oshea: No baby being murdered, despite your inflammatory rhetoric.

Mute Patrick Oshea
    Favourite Patrick Oshea
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:20 PM

@The Risen: Trust science

Mute Rocky Stefan
    Favourite Rocky Stefan
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:51 PM

People will look back at abortion the same way we look at slavery now. A disgusting practice that has no place in a civilized society.

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Sep 29th 2018, 5:47 PM

Free, Free, Free…it would be some country to try to sustain these Free- wheelers in their Free- doom- ed agendas..

Mute Thomas Rowe
    Favourite Thomas Rowe
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:25 PM

Personally I think this entire subject and the change to the law is s complete disgrace, those who voted yes should hang their heads in shame…

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:30 PM

@Thomas Rowe: why, when we are not ashamed? And there’s 64% of us who are unashamed to give or women bodily autonomy.

Mute Patrick Oshea
    Favourite Patrick Oshea
    Sep 30th 2018, 4:55 AM

@Joey Navinski: Call the baby whatever you want to call him — fetus, clump of cells, zygote — but you cannot call him your body. Whatever he is, he certainly is an entirely separate and distinct entity. His body is the body at issue here.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Sep 30th 2018, 7:12 AM

@Patrick Oshea: Nope! The body that is at issue here,is the woman’s body.She is protecting herself from the dangers that that other ‘body’ can and does cause her…by the way,have you ever thought of getting a womb implanted into your body ?

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 30th 2018, 5:06 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: what dangers Francis?

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:28 PM

Vote No.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:30 PM

@Paul Whitehead: im voting no

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 29th 2018, 6:30 PM

@Paul Whitehead: so am i

Mute Fergus Sheahan
    Favourite Fergus Sheahan
    Sep 29th 2018, 5:09 PM

Both sides are really embracing “humble in victory gracious in defeat” mantra…nice way to alienate each other forever

Mute Corb John
    Favourite Corb John
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:11 PM

@Fergus Sheahan:
    Totally incompatible positions on the dignity of human life eternally.

Mute Rei
    Favourite Rei
    Sep 30th 2018, 1:08 PM

@Fergus Sheahan: the loud minority of pro-birthers who want to control women’s bodies can f off. Idc if I’m alienated from them, most of the country isn’t like them, thankfully.

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Sep 29th 2018, 11:08 PM

Human Life at its new and most vunerable and we want to just demolish it like it never existed. They call this moving with the times apparently.

Mute Patrick Oshea
    Favourite Patrick Oshea
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:01 PM

If you’ve never read “The Communist Manifesto” by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels, published in 1848, you should—especially right now.

To be sure, reading this awful screed against human nature can be confusing, let alone unsatisfying and thoroughly unedifying. What do the authors mean, for example, when they screech: “Abolition of the family! Even the most radical flare up at this infamous proposal of the Communists”?

They are following the blueprint of the communist manifesto.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Sep 29th 2018, 8:57 PM

So rubbing pro life faces in it, is that not called bad winners? Something to show the pro choicers as???

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Sep 29th 2018, 8:49 PM

Attending the march today just gave me a real feel of the change that’s sweeping through this country. So much power behind the speeches and chants. I feel lucky to have attended it. This generation of women who won’t allow the treatment of the past any longer are heroes.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Sep 29th 2018, 8:59 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: How does the lost generation feel, is the question as the right to life and human rights are taken away from them under the surgical procedure of murder?

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:01 PM

@TamuMassif2019: Calling us murderers is boring, think of a new one please.

Mute Corb John
    Favourite Corb John
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:17 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: Can’t find a word for a gathering of deluded self-genocidal persons.

Mute Alan Harvey
    Favourite Alan Harvey
    Sep 29th 2018, 9:45 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: Change is sweeping the country alright – in the guise of the neoliberal assault. Democracy is being eroded as the banks, corporations, and military take more control of people’s lives. The gap between rich and poor is growing and the EU is becoming increasingly militarised. Precious little consolation having abortion legal when you can barely afford rent or a mortgage.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Sep 29th 2018, 10:16 PM

@Corb John: Don’t forget that you lot are supposed to ‘love boats’…

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Sep 29th 2018, 10:41 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: Arent you great! Will you attend next ” choice” gig too? I’m impressed!

Mute Mairead Hilliard
    Favourite Mairead Hilliard
    Oct 1st 2018, 12:24 AM

@Keith O’Reilly: Did you also come out to condemn the people who tried to cover up the smear test scandal??

Mute Janina Schmae
    Favourite Janina Schmae
    Sep 29th 2018, 11:13 PM

The March was not to stick it to no voters or to celebrate abortion. It was to celebrate the result of years of hard work on the campaign and the successful Repeal and the March was also for putting pressure that we get the legislation and services that were promised. A changed constitution alone is useless as long as the criminal law PLDPA 2013 and relevant section of the Offenses against the Person Act 1861 are still in force. If a doctor performed an abortion on a desperate woman who cannot get to England tomorrow the doctor and the woman could still go to prison for up to 14 years. Though because of the changed constitution legal challenges similar to what happened in the US and Canada decades ago could theoretically happen. This is not a good way though and depends on interpretation. The Dail legislating as is their job is what needs to happen quick

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Sep 30th 2018, 12:46 AM

@Janina Schmae:
    Abortion is a horrible experience for any woman and certainly nothing to celebrate. A little more dignity would not go astray. Many who voted Yes did so for compassionate reasons mainly for situations like FFA , Rape /Incest victims . Many were uncomfortable with the decision to allow abortion for any reason in the first 12 weeks but voted Yes in solidarity for the small number of hard cases mainly.
    It is now emerging gradually that the estimated number of abortions will be 10,000 per year at a projected cost of 50 Million Euro to the taxpayer.
    The majority of the people who voted Yes are not out marching , they are getting on with their lives , they voted according to their conscience in good faith .

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Sep 30th 2018, 7:14 AM

@Aine O Connor: Every woman’s story is different & ,If she celebrates not being pregnant anymore,then that is her business..

Mute Paula Middleton
    Sep 30th 2018, 12:43 PM

These pro choice, pro abortionists wont be happy until a woman can murder her baby for whatever reason, right up to the moment of birth. Talk about a blood thirsty lot.

Mute Paula Middleton
    Sep 30th 2018, 12:47 PM

@Paula Middleton: oh! and then the pro euthanasia crowd will raise their ugly heads.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Sep 30th 2018, 7:58 AM

Very few women would think that having an abortion would be something to celebrate. A more apt description would be relief with the hope that they would not have to endure the experience ever again..

Mute Rei
    Favourite Rei
    Sep 30th 2018, 1:05 PM

Mmmh delicious tears from the pro-birthers, so yummy. Sorry you can’t try to control women’s lives anymore.
    Can’t believe people are still crying over losing still. Get over it like. To me you look like the snowflakes you like to call others. It’s not your life. Why not Foster or help the homeless if you’re so worried about life. Oh wait, you only care about what the pregnant woman does, once the baby is born youse don’t care.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 30th 2018, 5:09 PM

@Rei: wow

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Sep 30th 2018, 11:45 AM

uh the tax payer usually would of had to pay out social to a lot of mothers who would have otherwise gotten abortions so free abortions is cheaper?