You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of Marty Morrissey. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Marty Morrissey to stand in for Tubridy with August Bank Holiday show despite car controversy

He will also commentate on tomorrow’s All-Ireland hurling semi-final and on Sunday’s All-Ireland camogie quarter-final.

MARTY MORRISSEY WILL stand in for Ryan Tubridy with the August Bank Holiday edition of his show next month despite controversy surrounding his use of a Renault car for a number of years.

He will also commentate on tomorrow’s All-Ireland hurling semi-final and on Sunday’s All-Ireland camogie quarter-final.

In a statement this morning, RTÉ said that the “matter” is being “addressed by RTÉ management”.

Yesterday, Morrissey apologised for an “ad hoc arrangement” that saw him secure the loan of a car for a period of five years.

This loan was not approved by RTÉ and in a statement yesterday, Morrissey apologised and said he would assist the broadcaster with any issues that arise.

Morrissey explained that he was offered the car during work at Renault garage where he was conducting interviews with GAA “personalities”.

“I did not seek a fee for this engagement. I saw it as GAA-related, interacting with former players who I knew well. Many of the GAA-related engagements I do, I do at no cost,” said Morrissey.

“As I hadn’t sought a fee, Renault offered me the use of a car. I accepted this offer. The situation carried over informally for a number of years.

“I ended up MC-ing about 12 such events. Since the recent controversy within RTE arose, I reflected on this matter. I concluded that it had been an error of judgment on my part to accept the use of the car. I returned it voluntarily to Renault on 23 June,” he explained.

In a statement to The Journal, RTÉ confirmed that Morrissey “will be commentating on the All-Ireland Senior Men’s Hurling Semi-Final on Saturday and the All-Ireland Senior Camogie quarter-final on Sunday on RTÉ2 as scheduled”.

RTÉ added that he will “present his August Bank Holiday radio programme as planned on RTÉ Radio 1”.

Oireachtas hearing

At the Oireachtas hearing on Wednesday, Fianna Fáil senator Timmy Dooley asked RTÉ’s interim deputy director-general Adrian Lynch whether any personalities were in possession of a car as a result of being brand ambassadors for motoring companies.

Lynch revealed one RTÉ staff member had secured the loan of a car for five years and that the loan period was “not approved”.

Lynch said the car was handed back on Tuesday – however Morrissey said he handed back the vehicle on 23 June.

In his statement yesterday, Morrissey said that he, “like many RTÉ staff and contractors” was this week asked to supply RTÉ with information about any commercial engagements, gifts and potential conflicts of interest.

“I have never been appointed a brand ambassador for Renault. There was no expectation or requirement that I publicly endorse or promote Renault on air, on social media or otherwise while I had the use of a car.

“As far as I was concerned, my use of the car was always a very ad hoc arrangement which did not affect my work with RTÉ. I wish to be clear that I have never had a car allowance from RTÉ,” he added.

Speaking today on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Dooley said he was “somewhat confused as to why RTÉ management decided to create a situation for Marty that required him to come out and clarify the situation”.

Dooley said he wanted to know if there were people in RTÉ who had a car allowance despite not having a driving licence.

“The reality is that none of that applies to Marty Morrisey, but for some reason RTÉ management decided to create this notion about an individual who had a car loan etc, etc, creating a level of hype, and it required Marty then to effectively clarify the situation,” said Dooley.

“In his case, he’s not getting a car allowance so his situation didn’t relate to the question that was asked, and neither is he a car ambassador, so I’m sort of somewhat confused as to why RTÉ management decided to create a situation for Marty that required him to come out now and clarify the situation.”

Dooley added that Morrisey has been “pulled into this controversy unfairly and unnecessarily” as there is “no license fee or RTÉ money involved”.

“He (Morrissey) has identified the practice as being unwise; who amongst us haven’t done things that were unwise and with the benefit of hindsight, might have done things a little bit differently.

“But that of itself does not target the person as being responsible for what’s actually happening at management level within RTÉ,” said Dooley.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

135 Comments
    Mute john christopher
    Favourite john christopher
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:22 AM

Not fit for purpose, who are they trying to kid. Had a car for 5 years which was benefit in kind, which is taxable

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:26 AM

@john christopher: ah don’t be like that, sure wasn’t it an ad hoc situation that was never signed off by Montrose.

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:56 AM

@john christopher: How do you know he hasn’t paid tax on it and if it turns out he has will that satisty you?

Mute socheallaigh
    Favourite socheallaigh
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:57 AM

@john christopher: behave

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:10 AM

@Stanley Marsh: do you think he declared tax on an ad-hoc arrangement??

Mute Camio 55
    Favourite Camio 55
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:13 AM

@john christopher: there are two issues to address : did he inform RTE of the arrangement and did they sign off on the arrangement ie no conflict of interest… did he pay BIK , it is a criminal offense to not declare a specific benefit.

Mute john christopher
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:35 AM

@Stanley Marsh: no

Mute john christopher
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:36 AM

@Stanley Marsh: if itvwasnt sanctioned how did he pay tax through the payroll.

Mute john christopher
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:37 AM

@socheallaigh: never

Mute john christopher
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:44 AM

@Stanley Marsh: one has towonder who was paying the road tax and insurance, and maintenance costs if it was only a loan car.

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:47 AM

@Stanley Marsh: he has already admitted he didn’t

Mute Charles Mc Carthy
    Favourite Charles Mc Carthy
    Jul 9th 2023, 1:26 PM

@Stanley Marsh: No such word as “ad hoc” in revenue lingo. Open to correction though. :-(

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:35 AM

They really are laughing at us

Mute Declan Shanahan
    Favourite Declan Shanahan
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:55 AM

@Jp Cleary: RTE (and Morrissey) giving us the finger. This announcement comes within hours of the new DG promising reforms, transparency, etc. Absolutely taking the piss.

Mute Jim O'Sullivan
    Favourite Jim O'Sullivan
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:32 AM

@Jp Cleary: This whole mess is actually serving some good—it is shining a light on those we pay handsomely to represent us. Sen. Tim Dooley was on the radio this morning defending Marty saying he was “unfairly” dragged into the controversy. This gives us clear insight into the values and standards of Dooley. Did he even bother to ask would Marty have gotten a car if he was working for anyone other than RTE? Did he bother to ask why Marty was “given” a car by Renault? Out of the goodness of their hearts??? Did he ask has Marty paid BIK taxes due etc? And of course, Dooley has never asked why the Minister is not taking responsibility for the total lack of oversight that allowed all this stuff to happen in the first place. That would turn the spotlight right back to Fianna Fail.

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:39 AM

Did Marty get travelling expenses from rte for driving his free Renault to matches?

Mute Jim Connolly
    Favourite Jim Connolly
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:59 AM

@Pato: And also to judge the lovely gerdles contest?

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:19 AM

@Pato: No. This is a non story. He travels the country most weeks of the year with his commentating.

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:25 AM

@Pato: the answer to your question is in the article!!

Mute Shane Leonard
    Favourite Shane Leonard
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:20 AM

He was only sorry he got caught. The public aren’t idiots and won’t swallow it.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Favourite GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:50 AM

@Shane Leonard:

but they are swallowing it , Do you have any idea how different they are online now its the GAA who got caught and not ryan tubridy ?

Mute BarryH
    Favourite BarryH
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:14 PM

@Shane Leonard: When the likes of flip flops and cars cloud the real issues of bad management and slush funds, then you know their PR machine is winning and the public are heading for another dust gathering report.Some showboating politicians, ask trivial questions and are more interested in making a name for themselves, than holding people to account, esp themselves. Scrapping RTE and the TV licence are also massive distractions, because we all know that that will never happen. Disclosures from RTE ground staff are non existent. Whistleblower legislation needs to be updated and the bar lowered to hold people more easily to account, so the problems across Govt orgs are detected earlier. Presently, orgs are rubbing their hands with glee because the focus is only on RTE. They are motivated by greed, so massively fine them and make them pay for their junkets and jail them. We are being treated like idiots and falling for it and there is no one there to shout ‘ FIRE’.

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Jul 9th 2023, 10:09 AM

@Shane Leonard: yep

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:30 AM

The neck on Marty.-too many parties.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jul 7th 2023, 1:48 PM

@Willie Marty: Wonder how much ad revenue has been generated in the last two weeks with every media outlet in the country banging a constant drum? They must love breaks in the usual supply of content. imo, the money made from this story easily doubles the amounts being talked about.

Mute Connie o reilly
    Favourite Connie o reilly
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:38 AM

⚠️ alert Renault are giving away new cars the make is “ad hoc” they come highly recommend by rte I’m. On my to get one all you need is a smiley face and a brass neck and there are any questions say you did nothing wrong and drive on wish me luck

Mute donal cusack
    Favourite donal cusack
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:35 AM

No coincidence that RTE is situated in Dublin 4 is it ? They deserve each other.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:48 AM

@donal cusack:

but this marty morrissey scandal only comes out the weekend before tubs is coming to the PAC

timing ..

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald

@donal cusack: Sure at least Marty drove himself, all over Ireland, to support and encourage loads of young sports clubs. Plus while some TDs may have been driven to venues outside Dublin, weren’t they doing that to meet voters? Whereas Marty wasn’t even charging fees. I say more power to him for his efforts.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:13 PM

@F Fitzgerald:

“more power to him”

if marty morrissey was a TD instead of GAA would you split hairs like that?

Mute Neal Ireland
    Favourite Neal Ireland
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:35 PM

@donal cusack: Well it used to be situated in the GPO in the Radio Eireann days but there were some mysterious structural problems with the building..

Mute Frank Kelly
    Favourite Frank Kelly
    Jul 7th 2023, 3:49 PM

@F Fitzgerald: If Marty was loaned a car by Renault what has this to do with RTÉ. Also as the car was not supplied by his employer BIK should not apply.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:41 AM

How many more Ad Hoc deals went on.

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:40 AM

Rubbing salt into the wound now…priceless

Mute Ed Brennan
    Favourite Ed Brennan
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:17 AM

No, 5 years is not an error of judgement.

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:48 AM

I know this is a little unkind but after his recent debacle, I cannot help but see Marty as a used car salesman. Look at that smile!

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:43 AM

@Injustice Cop:

what Paul Galvin did was dismissed as “hand bags at dawn”

now you’re dismissing marty morrissey as a used car salesman

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop

@GERARD KENNELLY: I don’t know too much about Marty as I don’t watch RTE yet for some reason pay a telly licence. All I know is he benefitted in a way that seems embarrassing and I couldn’t help but chuckle when my mind made the connection to a salesman. I don’t know who Paul Galvin is but whoever he is and whatever he done, he’s not Marty. How about we stick with the topic at hand?

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:22 PM

@Injustice Cop:

“stick to the topic at hand”

I’m sorry and ashamed to say the irish people know their place

They make excuses for the GAA when the GAA get caught .
    Marty Morrissey is GAA ,
    Paul Galvin was GAA not so long ago.

when a TD gets caught .. we’ll never vote for them again
    when Tubridy got caught .. we’ll never watch him again
    but when the GAA get caught .. cowards trying to laugh it off

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Jul 7th 2023, 4:49 PM

@GERARD KENNELLY: I agree with you.

Mute Monty Carlow
    Favourite Monty Carlow
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:03 AM

Their hands in our pockets, and it’s us that go to prison for their theft?

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:14 AM

@Monty Carlow: Well said Monty.

alan
    Mute alan
    Favourite alan

Poor Marty. At least Tubridy has a fall guy who will vouch for the fact that Tubridy knew absolutely nothing about his financial arrangements.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:45 AM

@alan:

Oh yeah poor marty , all he has is the GAA backing him up

the GAA who have their hooks into every county in ireland

alan
    Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:17 AM

@GERARD KENNELLY: unfortunate wording given what happened in Tyrone!

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:14 PM

@alan:

what happened in Tyrone ?

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:15 AM

After his fifteen minutes of Colombo fame it’s a bit amusing to hear Timmy Dooley squirming this morning because it turned out to be Marty that he inadvertently outed as the driver of the five year old banger! I guess he realises that Morrissey is more popular in Clare than he is……..

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:36 AM

@Mike Finnegan:

GAA Joe Brolly defended Marty

FG Seán Kelly deflected Marty

FF Timmy Dooley defended Marty

will SF defend and or deflect marty ?

will Labour defend and or defect marty ?

will PBP defend and or deflect marty ?

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:30 PM

@Mike Finnegan: is this the same Dimmy Tooley that presses buttons in the Dail lots ot times.

Mute Emmet Murphy
    Favourite Emmet Murphy
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:13 AM

Imagine being staff at RTE, seeing this Golden tent circus on going and not being able to say anything about it. Must be very frustrating, they should all be shown the door and promote that staff to those positions!

Mute P Martin
    Favourite P Martin
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:51 AM

@Emmet Murphy: I thought it was editorial decision not to have someone involved in a controversial on air? Double standards already! Is this tge new CEO? Debacle!

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:52 AM

@P Martin: exactly, GAA rules as well as RTE

Mute GERARD KENNELLY

@Margaret Deacon:

some TD gets caught .. we’ll never vote for them again

Tubridy got caught .. we’ll never watch him again

but when the GAA get caught .. cowards trying to laugh it off

Mute John arse
    Favourite John arse
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:57 AM

The smuggest little man in the country-needs to be taken down a peg or two!

Mute Oliver Curley
    Favourite Oliver Curley
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:47 PM

@John arse: yup anyone who succeeds,take him down a peg, sad

Mute Jimmy The Mink
    Favourite Jimmy The Mink
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:45 AM

By my back of a cigarette packet calculation, the car probably would have left him with a BIK bill of about €200 a month.

Whether he paid that or not, only he and Revenue know as it had nothing to do with RTE, and people assuming he didn’t pay don’t have a scooby doo whether he did or not.

As for whether he got travel expenses, he’d be daft not too given his job is to travel all over the country. That’s not considered income though and is fairly irrelevant. I don’t expect the postman to pay for his own petrol…

Mute donal cusack
    Favourite donal cusack
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:45 AM

Reply to Connie O’Reilly – they must get through a ton of Brasso keeping those necks polished…

Mute Adam
    Favourite Adam
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:22 AM

Such a grubby little country we live in,
    Look at all the support MM has in the comments,

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:27 AM

@Adam:

RTE Tubridy gets caught .. we’ll never watch him again

GAA marty gets caught .. Ah sur its only a car

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:25 AM

“So tell us Marty. What first got you interested in the free loan Renault from RTE. Did you think you could get away with it so easy?”
    “Ah sure lookit,I wasn’t so sure at the beginning,to be honest. But once I sat in the driver seat,I thought about it a bit more. I took out the key,turned the ignition,and it all took off from there”

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:00 AM

Brilliant photo capturing not the most flattering nor guilt free expression. That RTE are using Marty for said slot; one has to admit it is entertaining. Comedy Gold.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:38 AM

@Keth Tgi:

RTE’s spin doctors told them to drag the GAA into this and it would change overnight and it did ..

See how sympathetic and dismissive people are now its Marty and the GAA being scrutinized instead of Ryan Tubridy ?

Mute Dan Danny
    Favourite Dan Danny

All charges should be dropped, he should be charged for havin a noodle like a bag of spuds

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:40 AM

@Dan Danny:

you’re falling for their tricks

Mute socheallaigh
    Favourite socheallaigh
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:59 AM

@Dan Danny: What charges?

Mute Neal Ireland
    Favourite Neal Ireland
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:39 PM

The charges for five years rental on a car, perhaps?

Mute Stoic Savage
    Favourite Stoic Savage
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:57 AM

Bit of eye candy for the ladies at least

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:42 PM

@Stoic Savage: crackin up at that

Mute john dennehy
    Favourite john dennehy

Sure he needed a car with a big boot to fit that box he stands on to do TV interviews. You couldn’t travel on the bus with that box.

Mute M M
    Favourite M M
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:10 AM

Lots of GAA and rugby stars get freebies too and no one questions it. RTE personalities are not alone in this one.

Mute Emmet Murphy
    Favourite Emmet Murphy
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:14 AM

@M M: Sporting organisations and publicly funded organisations, are two different animals.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:45 PM

@Emmet Murphy:

we stop giving them money and the organization dies

Mute BLD Games
    Favourite BLD Games
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:21 AM

RTE should do a musical pantomime for Christmas this year and call it “ the day Marty Morrisey’s car broke down in his garage” .

Mute Dermott Russell
    Favourite Dermott Russell
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:33 AM

‘Fire up the Laguna…’

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:39 PM

@Dermott Russell:

I’m going to centra later today , Your comment got me thinking about lasagna

I’m gonna buy some lasagna . LOL

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:33 AM

I Seriously don’t know one person who tunes into this show. I certainly never have and never will.

Mute Lorne Malvo
    Favourite Lorne Malvo
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:38 AM

@Mick Hanna: I don’t know one person that would refuse a free car and that probably includes all the Marty bashers here. We are a country full of hypocrites and begrudgers.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:01 AM

Honestly, I say fair play to Renault for lending him the use of a car to visit sports venues outside Dublin. It’s not as though he expected a personal driver and to keep the car!

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:53 PM

@Lorne Malvo:

No such thing as a free car

Mute BarryH
    Favourite BarryH
    Jul 7th 2023, 7:43 PM

@GERARD KENNELLY: Reading your comments, I wouldn’t be in the least bit surprised if you were aligned with Dee Forbes&Co. Each of your countless comments totally distracts from the real issues and aligns with the RTE board of ‘ distraction’ and now you are dragging the GAA into it. Even if you are genuine, which I doubt, by not focusing your opinion on the real issues of accountability etc etc, for all govt orgs, you give the board free reign. MM is brilliant at what he does and why wouldn’t he take advantage of a free car, given the amount of travel he does and that he does not have an RTE car allowance. Would you accept a free car?? BIK is a different matter. RT, legally did nothing wrong but morally he is empty.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:26 AM

was it RTE’s spin doctors who told them to drag the GAA into this ?

Expose dirt on a popular GAA figure and it would change overnight

See how sympathetic and dismissive people are online now its Marty Morrissey being scrutinized instead of Ryan Tubridy

Mute Lorne Malvo
    Favourite Lorne Malvo
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:50 AM

@GERARD KENNELLY: most likely and probably advised them to put him on the Tubs slot in August. Just to crank the drama up a notch. RTE can easily distance themselves from Martys dealings with Renault.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:56 PM

@Lorne Malvo:

it will never happen but I’d love to see the GAA exposed

Mute P Martin
    Favourite P Martin

Obviously the scandal is continuing – Ryan can’t do for editorial reasons but Mart can! He didn’t even disclose that he had a free car from Renault! Is there not a replacement that isn’t involved?can

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:05 AM

@P Martin: Hardly “free”, though. Not as though it was his to sell on, and by all accounts he made good use of it to support sports all around the country. Mind you, it would also be great if Renault could pass a few cars to young medical staff starting out, considering they’ve had to sleep in their cars at times!

Mute Jim O'Sullivan
    Favourite Jim O'Sullivan
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:30 AM

This whole mess is actually serving some good—it is shining a light on those we pay handsomely to represent us. Sen. Tim Dooley was on the radio this morning defending Marty saying he was “unfairly” dragged into the controversy. This gives us clear insight into the values and standards of Dooley. Did he even bother to ask would Marty have gotten a car if he was working for anyone other than RTE? Did he bother to ask why Marty was “given” a car by Renault? Out of the goodness of their hearts??? Did he ask has Marty paid BIK taxes due etc? And of course, Dooley has never asked why the Minister is not taking responsibility for the total lack of oversight that allowed all this stuff to happen in the first place. That would turn the spotlight right back to Fianna Fail.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:59 PM

@Jim O’Sullivan:

Dooley is from Munster .. hurting the GAA is suicide in ireland especially rural ireland

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna

5 years is a long time to have an “error of judgement!”

Mute Dan Dare
    Favourite Dan Dare
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:16 AM

None of these people will pay either in justice or in money.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 1:07 PM

@Dan Dare:

“Aww poor Marty .. Ah Sur its only a car”

where was our sympathy when Tubridy got caught ?

its only when this starts to hurt the GAA that the irish people know their place ..

Mute auben john
    Favourite auben john
    Jul 7th 2023, 1:46 PM

Public Service Broadcasters in Norway
    There average pay is between 70 and 140 grand max…this is a country about the same size population wise as ireland and more wealthy

Mute Robert Bradshaw
    Favourite Robert Bradshaw
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:21 AM

“The matter is being addressed by RTE management.” Oh well, that’s fine then, all is in order. Course in fairness to Morrissey, he didn’t receive a car allowance, so not as bad as first thought…and suggested by Lynch. How could he have gotten that important detail wrong? The core issue of corrupt accounting is in danger of being swamped by trivia.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts

Marty rings insurance company. I’m afraid I’ve found myself in a bit of a scrape with de oul Renno. A scrape? Is that the drivers side or the……..No,offside. It’s definitely offside.

Mute Declan Shanahan
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:45 PM

He apologises for an error of judgement, and then pulls this stroke within a day. He must have gone to the same Advanced Arrogance classes as Leaky.

Mute BLD Games
    Favourite BLD Games

All I can say is neck like a Giraffe …… (I appreciate the irony of this considering the article is on Marty Morrisey)

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jul 7th 2023, 9:36 AM

I bet there’s a small alien driving this one.

Mute brendan gl
    Favourite brendan gl
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:08 PM

But the car was just resting in my driveway

Mute Jon Smith
    Favourite Jon Smith
    Jul 7th 2023, 2:10 PM

Think Marty will be in for a shock when the bill for benefit in kind catches up – I know I was. And by the way Marty, you didn’t do the gig for free. You drove a free car for five years. If that’s not barter accounting I don’t know what is. Goes to the whole underlying culture within the organisation that doesn’t see anything wrong with this. Same as the arrogance in producing the flop late late toy show musical. No market testing or scaled down test run. Straight into production in one of the most expensive floor spaces in Dublin. Pure arrogance and contempt for tax payer.

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Jul 7th 2023, 1:35 PM

No other TV channel on this earth would give Marty a job on television. Mind you he has an ideal face for radio.

Mute Paul hennessy
    Favourite Paul hennessy
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:44 AM

Marty is a 5 year free car not a fee? Please do the maths “Loan”, “Service” etc..

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:49 AM

That’s an ecarumenical matter..

Mute Osprey
    Favourite Osprey
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:09 AM

More neck than a giraffe.

Mute Lorne Malvo
    Favourite Lorne Malvo
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:27 AM

I’m no fan of Marty but he did nothing wrong here. Don’t be fool by RTE’s deflection tactic.

Mute Lorne Malvo
    Favourite Lorne Malvo
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:29 AM

@Lorne Malvo: fooled

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:57 AM

@Lorne Malvo: how the hell is it an RTE deflection tactic? Marty had a private arrangement with Renault, ended it, Timmy Dooley raised the issue, rte board responded to Dooley. And somehow, it’s an RTE deflection tactic? Good grief.

Mute Lorne Malvo
    Favourite Lorne Malvo
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:15 AM

@Dermot Lane: who mentioned that a staffer had handed a car back “yesterday”? He knew what he was doing alright!

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Jul 7th 2023, 1:18 PM

@Lorne Malvo:

do you remember the night Claire Byrne discussed the Garth Brooks concerts?

she brought on a man who lost a court case with the GAA

Before the show even started people were like . “Ah yeah he would say that “

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Jul 7th 2023, 1:32 PM

Unbelievable. And he’ll probably get about 50k. for the show like Claire Byrne did for that quiz.

Mute Declan Shanahan
    Jul 7th 2023, 5:24 PM

@Tony Murphy: Its totally believable. He’s taking the heat and deflecting the publics gaze from the real RTE issues. You don’t think he’s doing that for free, do you ? He needs funds to buy a new car

Mute Denis Hourihane
    Favourite Denis Hourihane
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:13 AM

Give us a shout if you need a lift, Marty….

Mute Irish Sceptic
    Favourite Irish Sceptic
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:09 AM

Yet, people are daft enough to believe their “news”.

Mute Connie o reilly
    Favourite Connie o reilly
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:07 AM

Musical

Mute Chris O'Brien
    Favourite Chris O'Brien
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:19 AM

We get exactly what they deserve.

Marty sill make some dumb joke and the nation will be like… Oh well….

Mute Paddy Geoghegan
    Favourite Paddy Geoghegan
    Jul 7th 2023, 1:24 PM

Noel Lee. I know it’s annoying but the full facts need to be revealed what’s going on in RTE maybe it will end corruption in these large backed state corporations

Mute The rats are turning on each other
    Favourite The rats are turning on each other
    Jul 7th 2023, 2:22 PM

Tubridy probably got the car…

Mute Quinnladden1
    Favourite Quinnladden1
    Jul 7th 2023, 12:07 PM

The people have gone to far give Marty back his car… Sing it!!

Mute Niall Whelan
    Favourite Niall Whelan
    Jul 7th 2023, 10:20 PM

He should be removed from all TV and radio until this is fully investigated. Disgraceful that he is involved this weekend.

Mute Kane Taxis
    Favourite Kane Taxis
    Jul 7th 2023, 5:12 PM

And why not ? Has he now received another free car the Revenue are not interested in.

D
    Mute D
    Favourite D
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:31 AM

Why would he need to pay tax on this? Its not related to his RTE contract. So should have no impact on PAYE. Or am I missing something?

Mute Declan Shanahan
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:46 AM

@D: You are missing something. Go to the Revenue Commissioners website and look up Benefits In Kind (BIK). Not that the Revenue Commissioners will bother looking onto this one….

Mute daniel keane
    Favourite daniel keane
    Jul 7th 2023, 1:58 PM

I don’t think Marty Morrisey or Ryan Tubs done anything wrong, getting bonuses or side deals are all part of life for making a business successful and for the Politicians especially the current ones passing judgement on them is offence and the big LOL in all of this.

Mute Joseph Heinzberg
    Favourite Joseph Heinzberg
    Jul 8th 2023, 2:21 AM

@paul whitehead The difference is our taxes pay for this bs. Think before you speak next time perhaps.

Mute Paul whitehead
    Favourite Paul whitehead
    Jul 8th 2023, 12:17 AM

It’s a car. Give it a rest about Martie. Most of the working class hero’s on here have done undeclared nixers all their lives. Such Hypocrites. And I’d say 99% of them would happily avail of a barter ac arrangement if it were on offer. Look at the tree log in your own eye before you notice the tiny splinter in another’s. Hypocrites.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jul 7th 2023, 11:17 PM

Je suis Ryan