You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GSOC headquarters on Capel Street. Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Retired judge to review GSOC surveillance claims and report “within eight weeks”

It comes as Sinn Féin prepares to table a motion calling for the establishment of an independent inquiry into claims that the Garda Ombudman’s headquarters was placed under surveillance.

Updated 11pm

A RETIRED HIGH Court judge is to review the issues surrounding claims that the offices of the Garda Ombudsman (GSOC) were placed under surveillance in an effort to bring clarity to the issue, the government announced earlier today.

The news follows a Cabinet meeting this morning. The terms of reference and the judge to be appointed to lead the review have yet to be finalised but a report is expected by April.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny said the terms of reference will be set by Justice Minister Alan Shatter with advice from the Attorney General and the judge will report their findings “within eight weeks”.

He confirmed that the inquiry will not take place under the 2004 Commission of Inquiries Act – legislation the opposition parties have said should be used.

During Leaders’ Questions, Kenny said that “all of the documentation, all of the technical reports” will be made available to the judge in addition to expertise.

He said: “Clearly, in the requirement of clarity about the sophisticated issues, of course he’ll have the opportunity to have expert personnel explain what those complex technicalities might be.”

Reaction

In addition, ministers have agreed that the Oireachtas Justice and Defence Committee is to review legislation concerning GSOC with a view to enhancing it.

In a statement this afternoon Justice Minister Alan Shatter said he has briefed the Cabinet “in relation to further information and documentation received from GSOC and further technical information I have received regarding the alleged surveillance of GSOC”.

“I will be addressing all of these matters in the Dáil tonight,” Shatter said, adding that he will also appear before the Oireachtas Public Oversight and Petitions Committee tomorrow afternoon.

The news has been welcomed by the Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan who said in a statement: “An Garda Síochána will co-operate fully with the Judge’s examination.”

But the Garda Ombudsman stopped short of welcoming the inquiry, saying: “In light of the Government’s very recent announcement of its intention to appoint a retired High Court Judge to inquire into recent events involving GSOC, the Commission wishes to make no further comment at this time.”

Political reaction

Reacting to the news this afternoon, Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald said the terms of reference, the identity of the judge and the scope of the inquiry need to be clarified promptly and said the government has been forced into a u-turn.

“Not alone Minister Shatter, I think the entire government has been dragged kicking and screaming on this issue,” she said, saying the inquiry is a “logical step”.

Fianna Fáil’s justice spokesperson Niall Collins (below) pointed out that it is day nine of the current controversy which he said has been “hugely damaging to the independence of GSOC” and said more details of the inquiry are needed.

He was speaking as his party published a Bill which it says will strengthen the powers of the Garda Ombudsman Commission, including giving it access to the PULSE system, making the garda commissioner responsible to it, and allowing it to investigate complaints made by serving gardaí against other gardaí.

Earlier...

Earlier, McDonald claimed that in the absence of an independent inquiry into claims that the offices of the Garda Ombudsman were placed under surveillance the truth is unlikely to emerge.

The Sinn Féin TD was speaking ahead of her party's plans to table a private members' motion this evening which calls for the establishment of an independent inquiry into the matter and prior to the government announcement.

"We’re convinced at this stage that as the story has rumbled on it becomes all the more evident day-by-day of the necessity of the inquiry," McDonald told reporters at Leinster House today, saying such an inquiry should take no more than a couple of months.

She said that the Oireachtas Public Oversight and Petitions Committee, which meets with Shatter tomorrow, is unlikely to to get to the bottom of the matter as it lacks the necessary expertise.

"I think anybody who imagines that the committee will be in a position to get to the bottom of these matters is very much mistaken," she said of a committee which her own party colleague Padraig MacLochlainn chairs.

She also accused the Justice Minister Alan Shatter of having misled the Dáil and of being selective in the information he disclosed to TDs about what GSOC told him about its investigation into the surveillance claims.

First published 12.21pm

Read: Surveillance company says Paul Williams report on GSOC was “wholly inaccurate”

Read: Human rights watchdog believes Shatter has been ‘editorial with the truth’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

127 Comments
    Mute Irish Revolution
    Favourite Irish Revolution
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:33 PM

We could do with an inquiry into RTE and its attempts to bin the scandal also.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:55 PM

‘Independent’ media, seems to have gone very quiet on the matter aswell.

Mute Pornatologists
    Favourite Pornatologists
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:02 PM

It’s been on the news constantly! What are you on about!

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:35 PM

I’m talking about the Indo…I read an article or two last week about it but it doesn’t address the matter of WHO did the bugging.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:03 PM

Simon who owns the Indo (here’s a clue he also got the contract for water meters and is a close friend of Enda/FG).

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:05 PM

What about an inquiry into where SF get their funding, where all the missing bodies are buried

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:07 PM

I now await the red thumbs

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:17 PM

Sean thought the article was about an inquiry into the bugging claim at GSOC? ( but there should be an all inclusive inquiry up north, wasn’t just the IRA that made people disappear.) Stay on topic.

Mute McCarthy Kevin
    Favourite McCarthy Kevin
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:44 PM

You get what you deserve…
    Take it your a blue shirt fascist as well….

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:46 PM

Feeble attempt to change the story.. you pituful loser

Mute Ruadhán MacEoin
    Favourite Ruadhán MacEoin
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:37 PM

This week has been rather useful in terms of media deceivers exposing themselves. In being so apparent, they have done the nation no small favour.

Mute men in black hoods
    Favourite men in black hoods
    Feb 18th 2014, 5:45 PM

Sean you fool

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:32 PM

Mr McCarthy I’m not a fine gaeler I’d jump off a cliff before I’d vote FG, but I’m a republican not looser Kelly’s type of republican, ok Kelly you stupid mope.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Feb 19th 2014, 9:58 PM

I’d say me in black hoods I wouldn’t like to turn my back on you in a dark night

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:35 PM

This is the test for Kenny we’ve been waiting for, following troika orders for 2 years was very handy but has he the balls to give Shatter the nudge or is it really all about loyalty to your political friends.

Mute LiverpoolAwayDays
    Favourite LiverpoolAwayDays
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:44 PM

The shinners love a bit of fabrication

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:56 PM

So, a 4 hour old twitter account, trying to flip the story around against the people calling for an independent enquiry.

YFG out in force the last few days.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:36 PM

My word, Sinn Fein/IRA calling for enquiries into shady goings-on !!

Now the (jack)boot is on the other foot, the moral high-ground is such a smug place to live for them.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:45 PM

Aw yes Mary we are not going to find out what happened unless we have an enquiry! Things will just “Disappear”! If they don’t ! I can think of many many more sinister things you should seek an enquiry about! Double standards & hypocrisy from SF as usual!

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:04 PM

SF trolls out in greater numbers as usual!

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan

Kenny, Shatter, Callinan and FG/Lab have all failed the first tests.

All they can do now is make up for the damage down the GSOC, the Guards etc.

Is it so shameful for them to be straight with people?

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG

My word Larry, you’ll continue to ignore the new reality until you get a major shock at the local elections, when your world will turn upside down.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:18 PM

Oh the irony.lol

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:48 PM

Idiot

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:49 PM

You are the biggest troll on here @inktoner. Oh and a nasty piece of work also.

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:10 PM

At lot of credit due to Mary Lou and the Sinn Fein party for dragging Shatter, Kenny and their sidekick Gilmore into accepting an inquiry!

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:18 PM

Tom just because I don’t agree with SF I’m a nasty piece of work!!!! The biggest troll too! Anybody on this site who disagrees with SF is slagged off for one thing or another,grow up man & don’t be so nasty! We live in a democracy whether you & your fellow SF trolls like it or not!

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:20 PM

This democracy, Ink, will shortly have an opportunity to voice its opinion on the shower that you uphold to be a better alternative to Sinn Fein.
    I am not an SF supporter but I must say I have much greater admiration for them now as a result of their opposition of the travesty that is this government.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:06 PM

I’d chew my own fingers off before I’d vote Sinn Fein but Shatter must go. FG/Lab have turned out to be every bit as corrupt as FF.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:52 PM

The great thing about clowns like you Kelly I can delete your comment with a laugh and my small finger hee hee hee so long a–h-le.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 18th 2014, 11:21 PM

That would be even funnier if Sean Collins was the same personality as ink toner… Is he?

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Feb 19th 2014, 9:54 PM

Paul show your real identity

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 20th 2014, 2:28 AM

Funny you should say that.
    I’m waiting on an tÁrd-Chláraitheoir to clarify certain aspect of my real identity. Otherwise, what you see is what you get.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:27 PM

This may well be our Watergate. The same people tying to avoid a proper investigation are also the ones who had the motive and capability to carry out such an operation.

Its blatant, its obvious. Its a cover up. Lets see who doesn’t want the Irish people to know the truth by seeing who votes against this motion.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:47 PM

Absolute bulls…!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:01 PM

Ink… if it’s bs, can you provide proof of what did happen. Btw “nothing to see move along” doesn’t work.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:07 PM

Norman it was caused by interference from a free Wi-Fi system in adjoining coffee shop! Great scoop ! Move on & debate some real issues & don’t be such a clown!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:13 PM

So you have proof.Thats what I asked you, ,repeating the claims from the indo is not proof.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:14 PM

Btw name calling? Grow the fcuk up.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner

O Norman calm down…. “So you have proof”? The usual SF defensive sound bite!

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:23 PM

Shinnerbots out in force defending the mike Tyson lookalike, same people defended their comments regarding the rape of children also, that’s all you really need to know about these animals

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:31 PM

Ink…usual tactic of your ilk is calling anyone who doesn’t follow the offical a “shinner”.Play the ball not the man.btw not that its any of your business but I never have and probaly never will vote for SF.

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:16 PM

@Ink
    As I posted on another article:
    Even if you discount the first and third anomalies, the second still remains: A test carried out at 1am in the morning to check if a line is bugged. If the line is bugged, the phone rings. When they conducted the test, the phone rang, at 1 am from an untraceable number. There’s 3 possibilities: 1. The line is bugged 2. Someone decided to ring up the GSOC office at 1am. 3. Someone is taking the p*ss and knew the test was being conducted and rang the number from an untraceable phone.
    Which is it?

Mute A-rse hat wear
    Favourite A-rse hat wear
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:17 PM

I think it’s been blown out of all proportion. Some on here, need to get a life, Norman relax yourself there you will give yourself a heart attack. You must have commented about 2o times on each article about this, chill out, you are not alone mind you. Before ya say anything I’m not a FG/shatter supporter. I can’t stand them. I don’t see what an independent inquiry will achieve either. The company that ran the checks can’t say what the cause of the anomalies were so how will some enquiry magically reveal who or what they were! What you will just get is there opinion. Waste of time!!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:30 PM

Arse I counted less than ten, but if my comments annoy you please accept my humble apology and suggestion, don’t read them so.:-)

Mute A-rse hat wear
    Favourite A-rse hat wear
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:02 PM

Felt like 20!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:09 PM

I’m supposed to care? Really.

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:20 PM

Norman stop stooping to Ink’s level and feeling obliged to put him at peace by telling him you probably may never vote Sinn Fein, that will surely appease Ink’s bullying mentality!

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:20 PM

Right “Norman”!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:31 PM

Mike I don’t care wether he believes me or not gaining the acceptence of someone hiding behind a twitter account is not that high on my list of priorities.

Mute Michael Allen
    Favourite Michael Allen
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:44 PM

@Norman, Ink has an identity crisis and has used many names like David Thompson etc. ink is just a bigoted Unionist cringing at the rapid rise in support for Sinn Fein.

Mute A-rse hat wear
    Favourite A-rse hat wear
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:53 PM

For some reason the rest of my comment did not appear after I put a smiley face. So apologies Norman you comments don’t annoy me. Anyway what I said after was no inquiry will get to the bottom of this. If the company that did the sweep can’t say who it was how will an inquiry get the answers? The guards will just say not us and then what happens? Drag on for a few months costing the taxpayer money. What has ever come out of an inquiry in this country?? They are all a sham. Will the government do anything arising out of it? No, they are all the same!

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:41 PM

Youknowimright you are dead on the the shinners are very sensitive about graves I expect it’s their consciences in overdrive, at least the public house shinners are anyway don’t know about the following how they feel when sober, Plenty of red thumbs after that I’d say hope the red isn’t blood of innocents.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:25 PM

There won’t be an enquiry because if the truth came out it would topple the Government..

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:26 PM

Any chance of SF calling for an inquiry into the “disappeared” while they are at it…?

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:30 PM

Sinn Fein have repeatedly called for inquires into the past. It’s the unionist parties that refuse to cooperate.

Mute everlast mccarthy
    Favourite everlast mccarthy
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:31 PM

Wtf has that got to do with the story at hand????

Typical FG/Labour diversionary tactic.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:36 PM

Shatter and Callinan are two of a kind, and if government TD’s vote against this motion , they are all guilty of condoning criminality by our security forces. So come on Gilmore and co. Man up and prove us all wrong!

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:00 PM

This Kris guy just can’t help himself, yada yada the disappeared, yada yada Gerry’s brother, yada yada IRA. A W@nkstain on every story.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:08 PM

No they haven’t. Surely Mary Loo Roll could have asked Comrade Adams at the Ard Fheis what his thoughts were on it? For closure etc…

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:09 PM

Unfortunately Roland, it’s a bit like the IRA….it just won’t go away.

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:12 PM

@Rodrigo

Well said, man. This is the oppurtunity for the reform, accountability they keep banging on about.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:08 PM

Garland your having a laugh! Funny though

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Favourite John O Chrualaoich
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:53 PM

Let the whitewash begin, probably need a pallet of paint and plenty of brushes

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:07 PM

How on the ball you are, David.
    Have you another conspiracy theory to replace your comment?

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Favourite Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí

Well, it would seem rather starkly apparent, that in order to ascertain what happened at any particular juncture, one would have to begin with an inquiry of sorts.

Such an obvious conclusion, however, may not be a convenient one for An Taoiseach to either countenance or to commit to.

Mute Thomas Francis Meagher
    Favourite Thomas Francis Meagher
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:09 PM

How very brave of you Taoiseach

Mute De Badger
    Favourite De Badger
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:49 PM

Amphroai have you been reading Mr . logic in the Viz?

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:53 PM

I concur. The decision would be more than controversial.

A controversial decision would cost him votes, whereas a courageous one would cost him the election.

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:56 PM

I regret my dear Badger, I do not take The Viz, nor have I ever heard of the publication. However any press medium conducted through the medium of Latin is surely to be commended and encouraged.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:31 PM

And Sir Humphrey,

Do you not think that the retired judge will be selected on the basis of the desired outcome .

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:45 PM

I believe, Mr. Barton, that to pursue any other avenue would amount to gross negligence on the part of the officials involved. It would be beginning of the end, the thin end of the wedge, a Bennite solution, and the end of civilisation as we know it!

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:48 PM

Amphroai, I believe the venerable Viz was created in Novum Castrum, Anglorum.

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:54 PM

Ah! I could not be more surprised, had you informed me that it consists almost entirely of lewd and rather graphic comic strips, and the use of vernacular latina is limited solely to medical terms!

Mute Noble Gas
    Favourite Noble Gas
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:10 PM

But of course. They will pick someone “sound” and ensure that the conclusions are known now and the report will then justify the conclusions.
    Clarifications of the laws to ensure that confusion cant happen again rather than focus on what was really going on. Where offices bugged by Garda, Irish Intelligence or other intelligence agency.
    Why does Shatter have two hats – head of defense and justice which makes him technically head of Garda and Intelligent and Army G2 intelligence.
    Why do RTE and Indo act as Garda mouth PR departments.

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:15 PM

It is not inconceivable at all for Minister Shatter to wear two hats, if he is in two minds. Or for that matter, if he has two faces.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:25 PM

Yes two faces either of which looks like a well slapped arse

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:44 PM

I have always found him to resemble Neil Diamond, had said colonial crooner taken to the bottle for five years following the critical reception for his acting skills in The Jazz Singer, and had he developed both an unfortunate habit of inhaling helium prior to making public utterances, and an uncharacteristic loss of charismatic endeavour.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:32 PM

Csoc need a new chairman. A rule about having no relationship with the commissioner. Better selection process so no ex guards end up in that building. Callinan should resign and apologise to the Irish people for misleading them and the same goes for shatter

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:33 PM

What about GSOC though?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:35 PM

Independent enquiry of course. I’m just outlining what can be done at present

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:15 PM

Shatter and Callinan,one hand washes the other.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll

Ah jeez Mary Lou, there’s no need for any enquiry, just ring Paul Williams, he seems to have the inside track on everything to do with the Gardai.
    If he doesn’t answer you could just bug him, there must still be some of the junk used at Harcourt Street knocking about.

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:52 PM

Callinan’s has to be scraping the bottom of the barrel getting Paul Williams to explain how it all went down. Surveillance expert now. His other nixer is painting targets on the backs of junkeys.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:42 PM

Shinners calling for enquiries when it suits – pathetic from the terrorists

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:20 PM

YFG could at least try a little harder, new twitter account opened yesterday, 0 following or followers. Enda tries to use these diversionary tactics in all Dail debates, they don’t work for him either.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:25 PM

I do pity you Shinnerbots striking similarities with the North Koreans :D

Mute men in black hoods
    Feb 18th 2014, 5:50 PM

Better than similarities with general franco

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:18 PM

More power for the GSOC? Will they actually use them properly if they get them?

Their track record to date leaves a lot to be desired. They need to clean up their act for the public to have full confidence in them.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:33 PM

Aireach,

I don’t think they are the only ones who need to clean up their act.

How about Callinan and Shatter ?

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:39 PM

Them too. But a lot of people like you seem to think the GSOC are whiter than white.

They are not.

Mute Irish Republican
    Favourite Irish Republican
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:10 PM

Ironic considering SF member who was caught spying with intention of subverting this State

Also if Mary Lou wants any credibility she needs to call for an inquiry into the murders and bombing committed by those who sit beside her

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:35 PM

They did try to subvert the state.

It does not change the fact that a subversion of the state was carried out here and that the only suspects in most peoples mind are the part of the state.

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:14 PM

You can try all the diversionary tactics you want, but this one isn’t going away – it gets worse for FG by the day.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:00 PM

“Irish Republican” – is one of the funniest actual fake Twitter sites around .
    It tries to depict itself as “Republican” – whilst it spews out constant anti-republican Blueshirt / FG type propaganda ! – its an amusing laugh really .
    It’s officially an “anti SF/Provo Site” – so amateurish – a bit like the bugging really ?

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:12 PM

Allowing the Minister for Justice, one of the people up to their eyeballs in this controversy, to set the terms of reference of the enquiry is a disgrace. When will Labour man up in this matter? There needs to be a full public enquiry that looks at the entire issue, including the Boylan investigation that led to this whole thing coming to light, it needs to call before it the relevant members of AGS to find out how they came into and made public evidence only known to GSOC.

Mute Steve Carter
    Favourite Steve Carter
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:57 PM

Anomalies schmanomalies. Coffee shop WiFi and BT signals? Give us a break. Diversionary tactics.
    Let us not forget that, long before any anomalies – sinister or not – were discovered, the reason the UK firm were called in was that Callinan let something slip that he simply wouldn’t have known had he not been privy to a conversation that took place in GSOC’s boardroom.

We need to discover how he came to be in possession of that particular information.

We also need to discover why FG/Labour moved very swiftly to try obfuscate and diminutise the matter.

Satisfactory discovery of these facts, however, will not emerge because of the following;
    A) If the true facts were to emerge it would surely bring down the government,
    B) The “independent” judge appointed to the ‘review’ will doubtless be anything but independent, and,
    C) The very terms of reference of the ‘review’ will be set by Shatter himself!

Mute Pornatologists
    Favourite Pornatologists
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:17 PM

Anyone actually know what this is all actually about? Because it sure looks like a load of moaning and groaning about something that nearly/could’ve happened.
    Slap on the wrist for whoever does the telecoms in the building, and get on with it, sick of hearing about it at this stage.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:05 PM

Well if you’re sick of it ,stop listening problem solved.

Mute Andrew Logue
    Favourite Andrew Logue
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:16 PM

Terms of reference for the enquiry 1. Who was bugging GSOC. No need for any others.

I have to say I laughed out loud when I read the story in the indo about the coffee shop etc causing the issue. Shows the establishment are running scared from this one. If Shatter survives this what does it say about our country. The govt has really has taken us for fools on this. Any halfwit could see through their BS and spin. Fair play to gsoc and the security firm for standing their ground. I think the insiders are clutching at straws…..

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:49 PM

Andrew, I’m afraid we are long past the stage of been taken as fools. Well before the point of been saddled with 80,000 million euro of someone elses debt. Well before the manufactured housing bubble that saw people been fooled into buying bricks and cement for 5 times their actual worth. Well before the 50 million e-voting. Well before the blue flu. Well before the dublin tunnel. Well before the toll links……………. it goes on and on…….

And we do nothing….

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Favourite Gearoid O Machain
    Feb 19th 2014, 12:03 AM

Ireland has a national debt of 176,000,000,000 now, i wonder how much of that is illegal debt??

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:19 PM

You guys on here do know that there is going to be an enquiry. I do hope that the often used attic of limiting its term of reference will not apply. Also, kinda worried about this judge and how independent he might be, because as we know we do have the farcical situation in this country that many judicial appointments are political.

Shatter, Kenny, Gilmore, Quinn all were adamant all last week that a separate inquiry was unnecessary. It’s a big climb down.

Mute Joe Curran
    Favourite Joe Curran
    Feb 18th 2014, 5:18 PM

so let me get this right a member of the establishment is going to investigate “under the parameters set down by Alan Shatter” if anything untoward happened ….if you listen very carefully you can hear the tins of whitewash being opened as we type

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Favourite Gearoid O Machain
    Feb 19th 2014, 12:04 AM

yes and if we sit on our hands for too long they’ll get away with it too!!

Mute John Curry
    Favourite John Curry
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:42 PM

Id give her one……….an inquiry i mean.

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:04 PM

1. Who got to select the judge – the government? If so, I fear for full truth being informed to the people…
    2. How limited is the selected judge’s remit? How deep and in to what can he delve?

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:19 PM

Any inquiry into the 1600 innocent people brutally murdered by SF/IRA – absolutely pathetic

Mute men in black hoods
    Feb 18th 2014, 5:50 PM

Get shatter and callinan first.

Mute Dylan Dublin
    Favourite Dylan Dublin

Mary Lou jumping on the band wagon trying to promote herself

She has no interest in the topic , just getting her name in papers.

Wonder why she left all the other parties before Sinn Fein took her on ! !

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:11 PM

Terms of reference to be set by shatter with Callinan whispering in his ear no doubt. Kenny must snorting that coke that boylan lad brought in.

Mute Alison Corcoran
    Favourite Alison Corcoran
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:34 PM

I would not trust this enquiry ….

Mute Charles McCormack
    Favourite Charles McCormack
    Feb 18th 2014, 5:46 PM

“Enquiries”,Committees” “Investigations” etc.,etc.,all prob very costly,FGS,it’s all so easy…get the dummy,(“Senior Garda”,) under oath,with peril of imprisonment for perjury,and ask,”how and when did you acquire the information that you “let slip”, then compare the Meerkats

Mute Irish Republican
    Favourite Irish Republican
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:27 PM

Hopefully won’t be long before a judge is enquiring into some of Mary Lou’s comrades

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:06 PM

Have a nice long wait so pal. Lol

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:47 PM

I wonder is the judge doing this service for free considering he has a massive pension all kindly paid by us ignorant fools.

Mute Seamus Mcfinnigan O Reily
    Favourite Seamus Mcfinnigan O Reily
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:35 PM

‘its all mad Ted!’

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:30 PM

Public has lost interest in the story I think.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:06 PM

I think your wrong, I deal with the public alot and I have heard this mentioned alot even today.

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:21 PM

Bulls…!

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:47 PM

Not at all. i think the public are sick of all the detracting from the real issue the media are trying to blind side the public with stories of coffee shops and Verrimus bla bla that can be sorted easily.. i want to know who bugged gsoc and why? those are the questions we need to concentrate on. what will happen is the retired judge will get paid loads of money for his report on the report. that will then be ready to be shoved under for that big carpet we have reserved for inquiries involving government. done dusted forgot about the usual.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:07 PM

Ink I agree with you for a change David is talking bulls..

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:54 PM

It is bigger now than it was on Sunday and as for the transcript between the Whistleblower and the official recipient

No one in Ireland can joke about the carry on in Police forces in holes like Albania or Romania anymore.

I think that Policing and the level and depth of scandal that is bubbling up at the moment will be the biggest scandal this state has ever seen, by a very long shot.

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    Feb 19th 2014, 12:26 AM

Not nearly as big as the scandals perpetrated by Fianna Fáil in their heyday. Fianna Fáil dirt birds are responsible for most of the mess we find ourselves in today.

Mute Charles McCormack
    Favourite Charles McCormack
    Feb 18th 2014, 11:42 PM

On Vincent Browne, Sunday Times reporter says Callinan was the dope who made the gaffe about something he shouldn’t have known about, bye bye Commish,you arrogant creep,!

Mute stiofandebrun
    Favourite stiofandebrun
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:14 PM

Typo on the first line – A retired High Court?

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 3:20 PM

“tactic”