You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary Lou McDonald at Arbour Hill today. PA

McDonald makes case for Sinn Féin candidates in June elections during 1916 commemoration speech

The Dublin TD’s speech covered history, domestic politics and foreign affairs, with a strong emphasis on the upcoming June elections.

SINN FÉIN LEADER Mary Lou McDonald appealed to voters to back her party’s candidates in the upcoming local and European elections during a speech at a 1916 Rising commemoration event at Arbour Hill Military Cemetery in Dublin today.

She described the leaders of the Rising as “the change-makers” of their day and said, “That mantle of change-maker falls to you, to this generation, to make change happen in our communities, to make change happen right across Ireland.”   

The Dublin TD’s speech covered history, domestic politics and foreign affairs, with a strong emphasis on the upcoming June elections. 

McDonald said that while Ireland’s place “is within the European Union”, the party would only support EU policies “when they are good for Ireland”.

“For far too long Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil have been far too deferential to the European Union. Sinn Fein is different,” she said. 

She also said that electing as many Sinn Fein councillors as possible in June’s local elections was part of the solution to the housing crisis.  

She praised Sinn Féin vice president Michelle O’Neill for “(proving) herself to be true to her word” when she promised to be a “First Minister for all” in Northern Ireland, while also saying that the “destiny of the Irish nation is on the horizon”.

She also said she believes the public would “relish” a general election. 

Local elections

McDonald told the crowd she believes the June local elections are the most “for a generation”. 

She also said: “The work done by local authorities is so important and takes on an even greater importance because of the housing crisis. Electing as many Sinn Fein councillors as possible is part of the solution.”

McDonald also criticised independent TDs who plan to approve newly appointed Fine Gael leader Simon Harris as the next Taoiseach, as she repeated her calls for a general election, something opposition parties called for in the wake of Taoiseach Leo Varadkar’s surprise resignation. 

She also called for Moore Street, where 1916 leaders met before the Rising, to be protected and restored, “not torn down in the name of profit”

“The streets, laneways and buildings touched by rebellion belong to our history. Arbour Hill is the final resting place of the leaders of the rising. 

“The terrace at Moore Street was their final meeting place.It must be protected and restored as the birthright of future generations, to drive exciting regeneration of Dublin’s north inner city, not torn down in the name of profit.

“We will never surrender our revolutionary history and we will keep fighting for Moore Street,” she said. That line received applause from the gathering. 

Europe 

McDonald, a former MEP herself, set out her party’s position on the European Union. 

“We need to leave it all on the pitch,” she said of the upcoming campaign.  

“Ireland’s place is within the European Union, but we also know that the Irish people are best placed to make the decisions that affect them, particularly on issues such as foreign affairs, taxation and investment in public services,” she said.

“We believe passionately in the independence of Ireland’s foreign policy, in defending our military neutrality, in standing up for a Common Agricultural Policy that delivers for family farmers.

She touted the candidacy of two Sinn Féin politicians running for a Dublin constituency seat in the EU Parliament. 

“Lynn Boylan and Daithi Doolan are not afraid to stand up for Ireland,” she said.

“That is why we must leave it all on the pitch to get them elected to the European Parliament.”

Gaza

McDonald also said Israel should “end its slaughter” in Gaza.

“The struggle for freedom and peace in Ireland has always connected with freedom struggles throughout the world. Today, our thoughts are with the people of Gaza who have, over the last seven months, endured genocide,” she said.

“Israel’s onslaught on Gaza is the gravest human rights violation of our time, broadcast live across television and social media.

She said the Israeli government “must be held accountable”. 

“We call for an immediate, full, and permanent ceasefire. We know from our own history that no conflict is intractable.

“Peace is a question of will.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

102 Comments
    Mute Keith Byrne
    Favourite Keith Byrne
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:06 AM

Brilliant stuff Christine – looking forward to seeing how this pans out over the coming hours/days :)

Mute Damien Dineen
    Favourite Damien Dineen
    Mar 28th 2016, 2:11 PM

This is a brilliant read! Thanks guys!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 2:48 PM

Thanks Damien, much appreciated.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:10 PM

Policeman has just been shot outside Dublin Castle. This is getting serious. I’m going down to the GPO, my brother works there as a messenger,he might know what’s going on in the city.

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:01 PM

Me and my sister are heading to the Jacobs factory. Heard all the shops close by are vacant. We haven’t eaten in a few days . Mam told us to stay away bu she’s looking after our little brother now and I don’t think she will be angry when we bring back food. She looks so sad recently. We really can’t wait to put a smile on her face. I’ll let ye know how we get on

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:20 PM

We’re standing on bishop’s street now. The shops aren’t vacant they are all smashed up. There is food we could never imagine eating just sitting there. Come on Mary let’s get it. “That’s stealing christy, mam will kill us for doing that”. Look if we don’t take it someone else will,and look at all that bread and cakes. Jesus we could eat for a week on that stuff. I know it’s missus murphys shop but she’s always been good to us and I think if it’s going to be taken shed like us to have it. You wait here Mary I’ll go and get it yiu just let me know if anyone comes ok? “OK christy but be careful the army are everywhere “. I’ll be grand , just imagine the feed we are going to have tonight

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:32 PM

Mary here. Here come christy now . I’ve beverage seen such a smile on his face . Look at all that food he has . He was right we will eat for a week on what’s in his arms. …why has he stopped running? “Chrisy get up your after dropping all the food” “CHRISTY ….CHRISTY … CHRISTY”. he’s not moving. I have to go and see what’s wrong . I’m coming christy … Jesus what’s that pain … I can’t stand . Mam is going to be really angry with us now I think

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:31 PM

I really hope the rebels help achieve freedom. Can you imagine if in 100 years time we have streets full of British shops, buy British goods, support British football teams and watch British TV….what a travesty that will be! ;)

Mute Noah Wilson
    Favourite Noah Wilson
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:39 PM

And a bunch of Tories running the country.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Mar 28th 2016, 1:11 PM

I was just talking to one of the rebel fighters, I found a pistol on the ground and I’m joining them. I see what they are trying to achieve,I couldn’t before but she made me see it has to stop. I want my grandchildren to live as Irish citizens and in control of their own destiny. Shots are being fired now, this is madness. I’ve never used a gun before but if anyone believes in a free Ireland, join us. This is our chance.

Mute monkeysocks
    Favourite monkeysocks
    Mar 28th 2016, 10:35 AM

Bugger….I was all set to go

Mar 28th 2016, 11:48 AM

Great idea , this will be interesting . well done TheJournal. !

Mute Lucy Legacy
    Favourite Lucy Legacy
    Mar 28th 2016, 2:11 PM

What a great idea Christine and the Journal. On bus into town and half expecting to hold witness

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 2:48 PM

Thanks Lucy, appreciate that. Be careful out there :)

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:50 PM

Christine, a man named Pearse read out a Proclamation outside the GPO over 40 minutes ago. He was declaring Ireland a Republic,whatever that is. People don’t know what’s going on, my brother was evacuated from the GPO but I can’t find him. Now Davy’s pub at Portobello has been stormed.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 1:17 PM

Be careful if you go out looking for your brother. There are British troops around Sackville Street trying to get close to the GPO and there’s a good bit of gunfire between the two sides right now. You might want to leave it for a while and see if he can make it home by himself.

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Mar 28th 2016, 1:22 PM

I’ve just spoken to your brother, He said meet him down by the five lamps.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Mar 28th 2016, 1:24 PM

Me Ma is looking for us both, she s going around the city. I think my brother is sending messages to other rebels in the Jacobs factory…

Mute Welshhibby
    Favourite Welshhibby
    Mar 28th 2016, 3:37 PM

I hear there were Boos and jeers when he read it out. This seems very unpopular.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Mar 28th 2016, 10:47 AM

I don’t see how these fellas are going to change anything. Not against the might of the British. Sure what advantages will we have by being separate anyway?

Mute Socrates Is Alive
    Favourite Socrates Is Alive
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:49 PM

Brilliant idea! I’m refreshing every few minutes. My poor battery

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Mar 28th 2016, 3:40 PM

Well done Christine and Co. Fascinating reading. I didn’t realise that there was a Finn and a Swede taking pot shots from the GPO as well. Great to read the minute by minute account though. Maybe the rebels will win this time.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:48 PM

Thanks Sean, appreciate it. The story of the Finn and the Swede is so interesting. They were both in the GPO all week. It seems the Swedish man made it home soon after the Rising, but the Finnish man was kept prisoner in Kilmainham afterwards. You can read more about it here, if you’re interested: http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/ordic-rebels-%E2%80%93-the-swede-and-finn-who-fought-in-the-gpo-1916-1230007-Dec2013/

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Mar 28th 2016, 7:25 PM

Thanks for that. Really interesting side story. A close relative was in the GPO fighting. I should imagine that they crossed paths at some stage. I’ll never know though. He was imprisoned in Wales though but was released at Christmas along with the others in Frongoch.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Mar 28th 2016, 3:30 PM

Just seeing this article now. Brilliant stuff Christine!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:49 PM

Thanks very much. There’ll be a good bit of stuff about your namesake to come over the week!

Mute I Pee Freely
    Favourite I Pee Freely
    Mar 28th 2016, 10:40 AM

But it wasn’t a hundred years ago today it was was only ninety-nine years and eleven months.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 10:54 AM

We had this discussion a lot about whether to do this on the actual date of the anniversary or on the date when all the State commemorations are taking place. In the end, we decided to go with the latter. We will of course still be doing a series of articles on the actual dates (24th April – 29th April) but this liveblog will be following events from when they began on Easter Monday 1916.

Anyone got any thoughts on this, feel free to throw me a mail. I’m christine@thejournal.ie.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:03 AM

How about a bit of coverage for events outside Dublin?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:04 AM

If you made a decision to follow events the events of Easter Monday, you’d be doing them on April 24th.

This is NOT the centenary.

Mute Pat Mangan
    Favourite Pat Mangan
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:17 AM

In 1916, was the day chosen because it was April 24th or because it was Easter Monday? Go for it Journal.

Mute I Pee Freely
    Favourite I Pee Freely
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:20 AM

Hi Christine some very valid points there can we discuss this further over dinner perhaps?

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:21 AM

Well it took place in Dublin, Why don’t you tell us what’s going on outside of Dublin?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:21 AM

@Jason: You can see all of our coverage here (including some events from around the country yesterday in the liveblog, and there’ll likely be some later today too): http://www.thejournal.ie/1916/news/

@OU812 I understand where you’re coming from on this, and as I said above, it was something we talked about a lot – but since all of the main commemorations are taking place this week, we decided to run the liveblog now to coincide with Easter Monday.

@Pat Mangan: Thanks, much appreciated!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:24 AM

Ciaran, Enniscorthy rose too; it’s why the state are holding a full ceremony here today. Enniscorthy rose and didn’t surrender until may 1st.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:25 AM

@I Pee Freely: Let me get through today’s liveblog first :)

Mute Gene Parmesan
    Favourite Gene Parmesan
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:20 PM

Well Christine…tis a work of fiction. I can clearly see trams working in those pictures.

Mute The IMF are here
    Favourite The IMF are here
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:25 PM

Out of curiosity, when did the State or indeed its people decide to commemorate Easter Monday’s rising every Easter Sunday?

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Mar 28th 2016, 1:07 PM

I call for a joint blog so, For the comrades of Enniscorthy to be included and be remembered for there brave stand with the Men and woman of the Dublin Rising. Their story is seldom told. Go Raibh Maith agat.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:37 PM

Hi Christine, The text in the article is almost unreadable in “night mode”, a lighter colour is needed.Thx.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 28th 2016, 6:02 PM

Yes but most of us will be at work that day.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Mar 28th 2016, 6:59 PM

Jeez,
    From reading the comments above you can see one of the reasons why the Rising was doomed to failure.

Lads, its only makey-uppey, it isn’t really happening so suspend disbelief for a while and just go with it ffs.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:26 PM

It was mad to go digging trenches in the Green, they should have taken Dublin Castle instead.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 28th 2016, 10:53 AM

Enniscorthy is the place to be today. Full state service and air corps flyover. Community based events. Weather great, gonna be a great day for an old historic and proud town.

Mute Ciadhra
    Favourite Ciadhra
    Mar 28th 2016, 1:28 PM

Ah Jason you’re ahead of our time.

Mute Dermot Bohan
    Favourite Dermot Bohan
    Mar 28th 2016, 2:52 PM

Great idea.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 28th 2016, 2:59 PM

Thanks Dermot, much appreciated. Solid surname you’ve got there by the way :)

Mute Ghandi
    Favourite Ghandi
    Mar 28th 2016, 3:33 PM

Mayhem! I’m gonna cycle into town via the backstreets now and help myself to that cutlery in Clery’s that I couldn’t afford yesterday. WOOHOO!

Mute Ian Begley
    Favourite Ian Begley
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:59 PM

Balls, I slept it out! Next time around I’ll be there, lads.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:29 PM

I’m still looking for me brother. Mr Doyle from Great Britain street says that he saw him running from the British soldiers at Kingsbridge Railway station. I hope he’s alright, he was carrying messages for the Rebels. If they catch him,he’s in for it. I made my way back to the GPO, one of the soldiers left me in through the boarded up window so I can wait for him. The mood is so tense now. The Rebels know the Lancers are going to want revenge for the killings outside.

Mute Garry J
    Favourite Garry J
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:44 PM

This is great stuff, proud Irishman following along here from Canada

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Mar 28th 2016, 4:42 PM

Great stuff

Mute NiallD
    Favourite NiallD
    Mar 28th 2016, 11:51 AM

They took the GPO at 11.45. Think that’s import.

Mute Supremo
    Favourite Supremo
    Mar 28th 2016, 12:10 PM

They were freedom or resistance fighters

Mute Patricia Ryan
    Favourite Patricia Ryan
    Mar 28th 2016, 8:55 PM

Have been following this all day… Just fantastic. Looking forward to tomorrow’s updates. Safe home……

Mute Trevor Weafer
    Favourite Trevor Weafer
    Mar 29th 2016, 2:41 PM

Really gives a sense of what went on back then. Thanks for the live blog Christine.

Mute Ghandi
    Favourite Ghandi
    Mar 28th 2016, 5:03 PM

Bumped into The O’Rahilly there across from Rotunda. He’s late to the party as usual. Muttered something about an alarm clock before congratulating me on my haul from Clery’s front window.

Mute Alec Byrne
    Favourite Alec Byrne
    Mar 28th 2016, 10:42 PM

The man shot at 12.13 in GPO was John Kealy who was married to my mother’s first cousin. His brother-in-law Charles Donnelly was also in the group in the GPO . Charles Donnellys father and my grandfather were brother’s. John Kealy was the Volunteers first death.

Mute Pat O'Connell
    Favourite Pat O'Connell
    Mar 29th 2016, 12:32 PM

Very enjoyable.

No mention of the “first shot of the rising” which is claimed to have been fired in County Laois late on Easter Sunday night/Monday morning as the local Volunteers participated in the demolition of a section of the railway line at a location near Colt.

This was to prevent British military reinforcements from reaching Dublin via Waterford after the Rising had started.

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Mar 28th 2016, 6:19 PM

The awkward moment when people forget we invited the English over in the first place.

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Mar 28th 2016, 8:34 PM

No the king of Leinster did

Mute Happy Dude
    Favourite Happy Dude
    Mar 28th 2016, 6:20 PM

These terrorists must be stopped. #prayfordublin