You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
TIPPERARY TD MATTIE McGrath has said that people are “getting sick and tired” of former president Mary McAleese and that she should “get off the stage”.
The deputy was speaking to Newstalk’s Pat Kenny Show ahead of the visit of Pope Francis and said that people welcoming the visit should be able to enjoy it without the former president intervening.
McGrath said that McAleese’s regular criticism of the church has “gone beyond silly”.
“Obviously the lady has issues and she needs to deal with those issues. And if she wants set up her own church too, but just go away and let people who want to enjoy the Pope go and enjoy him.”
She was damn glad of the support of Irish people, bog standard Catholics as she calls them, when she was trying to get elected. She used them, so if she wants to form her own church go do so and get off the stage.
McAleese is an expert in canon law and a committed Catholic but in recent years has been increasingly critical of some of the policies of the church’s hierarchy.
As part of its coverage of the Pope’s visit to Ireland this week, RTÉ broadcast a programme called Mary McAleese’s Modern Family which explored her Catholicism and the place of families in the religion.
McAleese has spoken publicly about her son being gay and the fact that such marriages are not accepted by the church she is part of.
Asked about the ban on McAleese speaking at the Vatican conference, McGrath said that she has a public platform regardless.
I don’t know what she was banned from but she hasn’t been banned from RTÉ or your own programme because she’s hogging the airwaves. She’s some issues obviously that she needs to deal with herself.
“She used the Catholic Church to get where she is and she benefited greatly from it, she needs to examine her own situation and people are getting sick, tired and weary of her,” he added.
McGrath said that previous presidents like Mary Robinson “left the stage gracefully” and that McAleese should follow that example.
The TD acknowledged that McAleese “has a point” in some of the issues she raises but that she is no longer an elected representative.
“Of course she has a point and we all have to deal with it. But it’s pontificating and it’s day-in day-out she’s using her position, she’s no longer president. She had a good innings as president and her husband does a great job, but look like other former presidents they have sat on the Council of State meetings and they have respected the dignity of the incumbent.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
224 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Hey Mattie, I’m “people” and I’m not “sick and tired” of Mary McAleese.
I was pretty sick and tired of the sh!te you pulled during the Repeal the 8th referendum but I never suggested you STFU but then I’m generally fine with people saying whatever they want.
As a former President of Ireland Mary McAleese will have her comments reported, that’s kinda how it works.
Keep it up Mary, I support you and pretty much agree with everything you’ve said.
@Chucky Arlaw: yeah, especially when it’s constructive as her criticism was until she learned of the abuse her brother suffered. And even still she’s is giving suggestions on how they can improve.
@Irish Bob: you know it’s impossible to officially leave the Catholic church right? After baptism they will always use your name to lobby for their wants.
@Irish Bob: so you agree with an institution that demonises women and homosexuals as well as covers up the systematic worldwide rape of 1000s of children? Have a look at this in depth investigation of the churches abuses and cover ups https://youtu.be/6TgXzA0USjA
@Chucky Arlaw: Woh man more assumptions, I was raised a Catholic, I dont agrre with the Catholic Church so I have had noting to do with them since my teens. Thats my point ..
I wont join the Prostestant religion and then start giving out about their teachings will I, or become a Jew and give out that they dont believe in Jesus.
@Dave O Keeffe: Dave its easy, I’ve done it since my teens, havent been in Catholic Church in years .. last time it was it was at the back door due to friends weeding, but I didnt go in
@Tricia G: Here Here! the man is a thundering disgrace. He is nothing more than a hypocrite, if he was half the Christian he pretends to be, there would be a lot less BS and attitude coming from him. He just a contrarian happy to jump on a bandwagon to seak attention. He could do with showing some of the Christian attitude she has shown.
@John Shea Hen: This is the usual problem with comments in the Journal ..
One dissagres with a story on Russia and then one is accused of being a russiabot, or Putin lover etc .. same with dissagreeing with stories on trump, then you are accused of being pro everything Trump.
No i dont agree with the Catholic Church at all and it didnt take the 2 points you mentioned either, I was raised a Catholic and thats about it, havent been a practicing Catholic since my teens, years since I was in a Church and thats my point , if you dont like it then leave …
How can people be saying they want to be Catholic but dont like the rules ( no matter whether you agree with the rules or not ) join another religion or create one.
I wont be joining a soccer team tand then start complaining that I cant pick the ball up like in the GAA ffs.
@Tommy Berry: Can you read or what ? I was rasied a Catholic by no choice of my own, but no Im not a practicing Catholic as I do not agree with Catholism.
@Irish Bob: Joining a soccer team and then start complaining that I cant pick the ball up doesn’t really compare to being a member of an organisation who’s hierarchy/leaders deliberately, repeatedly and continually cover up crimes where you voice your opposition to it’s behaviour because you value the core tenets of the religion….
@Tom Purcell: Mary is a hyprocrite too , she wants to be a Catholic, but dosent agree with Catholic teachings, why would anyone want to be in a Religion they dont agree with.
@Irish Bob: Why should she leave if she doesn’t want to?
She believes she can do more good from within.
She’s perfectly entitled to do that.
Why is her opinion worth so much less than Mattie’s? Both are Catholics.
@Tricia G: What has your ‘thought’s’ got to do with Catholic Doctorine ?
The irony and hyprocricy in that statement of yours “Mary is one of the people and wants it to change to maintain it’s relevancy . ”
FFS one minute theyre evil and next min its maintain its relevancy.
If eveyone were just to leave the Cathoolic Church then maybe they would change
@Tricia G: I am going to strop now as you are making nonsense statement and then staing things i never said, i never said matties opinion was worth more .. to me both are equally useless
@Seamus Mc Meel: Yes you may, but you dont get to chose the rules of the game do ya, and if you decide I dont like having to eat healty food, i want to east junk food your out the door
@Irish Bob: they will still count us, that’s the point. You seem to be missing the fact that I do not agree with their agenda and do not want my name used to further it.
@Irish Bob: No she’s not, she’s being honest. There are millions and millions of Catholics who do not 100% agree with the Church’s position on various aspects. Rather than throw cheap insults about and whinge, she is actively working to improve the church.
No, a hypocrite is somebody who stands up and preaches the Gospel and then goes and rapes children.
@Irish Bob: there’s a difference between disagreeing with a position and trying to productively change it on one hand, and a person who claims to have certain values but only ever seems to show contrary values – look at all the cheap and nasty put-downs he comes out with, rather than constructive comments that might challenge but ulimately drive debate and change on particular issues
@Tom Purcell: i cant stand Mattie, but in this case i agree with him, that does not mean i agree with everything else he says. Most of the fundamental teachings of the Catholic Church, which i also disagree with, are what most people also dislike. I choose to have nothing to do with the Catholic Church
@Tricia G: What i am 100% on is that the journal comments and sm in general is no place to have proper debate.
Also i had thought in the past that Mary stated she was an atheist also or am I wrong on that ?
@Irish Bob: Following your logic there, if you don’t like Irish water or other aspects of living in Ireland you’re free to jog on and start your own country. Why would you stay in a country if you don’t like how it’s being run?
@Irish Bob: “no-one is forcing anyone to be a Catholic are they?” Thats where Catholics come from, children have no choice when they are baptised and sent off to school. Effectively their parents force them.
@Irish Bob: Not a great fan of Mary McAleese myself., mainly for political reasons. I back her 100% on the statements concerning the Catholic Church. As for your comment concerning a new religion.. The so called national religion the Catholic Church..is akin to the Nazi party…Utter belief and never question it’s methods or criminal actions.
@Tricia G: no longer an elected representative so she must shut up, are we supposed to do the same because of of us are not elected reps, tell that thug to mind his own business
@Tricia G: What a load of S###E mcaleese is a has been, just because she has a gay son doesn’t mean she has the right to be a real pain about it, So would mind shutting the F**k up.
@Murf: you clearly got up on the right side of the bed this morning. McAleese has a qualification in Law as well as Canon Law, she is probably the most qualified lay person that would be given a platform to speak in the issue. Yes, her son is gay, yes, her brother was abused. Why are you so eager to silence her?
Low life patriarchal thug Mattie McGrath thinks he can tell women to stop “hogging the stage”.
Especially Mary McAleese, an uppity woman with too much to say.
Meanwhile, Mattie, a convicted bully and a supporter of stag hunting and drink-driving, pontificates in his role as a member of the International Catholic Legislators Network. They’re the sort of people who make religion look nasty.
@Adrian: McGrath is a reactionary; but what of McAleese?
She platforms on the question of ‘diversity’ in the ‘family’.
Does that mean, like the good Catholic McAleese is, she thinks those outside a ‘family’ are of no worth?
Although the Catholic church in Ireland is not formally an established church, in effect it is. Regardless of McAleese’s selective concerns, all religion in Ireland need to be removed from any influence, control or power over any activities of the state. Coupled with that, the great bulk of church wealth should be appropriated by the state. McAleese, former President, RTE hack and Queens University pro-vice chancellor wanders the land finding pious families who are nevertheless ‘diverse’, to her essentially conseravtive and patronising eyes. McAleese is no disestablishment promoter. She is a sort of MeToo catholic, not really concerned at lot about the lot of common man/woman; but is greatly exercised about the ‘right type’ (nice comfortable middle-class set) not getting into the catholic club because of their identity politics. She will use some ‘diverse’ innocent and naive types to push her case, off course. McGrath isn’t at the the races with the likes of McAleese.
@Tyler Williams: eh, her brother was abused at the hands of the church and she has been talking about ways the church can improve ever since her presidency ended.
@Tyler Williams: sick of her now. Let interested people enjoy the Pope’s visit you’ve made your point that many agree with . She’s like an extreme version of all those pro-abortion extremists at this stage, screaming look at me.I Very quiet while president too on anything meaningful, same as Michael D.
@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: the presidents role IS not to get involved. It’s the job. A president of Ireland must represent all people at all times. They’re seen and not heard basically.
@Tyler Williams: Unbelievable stupidity and willful ignorance to believe her motivation is for “attention” rather than seeking justice for her abused brother, her son who the church regards as sinful and herself who has been labelled incapable of leadership because she is a woman and outlawed from the organisation for delivering hard truths.
Be honest to yourself, you find what she’s saying uncomfortable to your beliefs and you desperately want to discredit her so you don’t have to accept it.
@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: ‘pro abortion extremists’ <- still hurting ?
"Please God Gemma ODoherty will be a change." <- she won't be able to do zilch…her hand will be sore like the rest of them from signing bills…but i'll say that the pay-check & the perks that will go with it will be niiiiiice…
@Michael Allen: everyone knows our presidents role is to be impartial, that doesn’t mean it’s pointless. The president represents us at state events, signs bills into law and acts as supreme commander of the defense forces among other duties. I never said there was no work involved. How is it hypocrisy? How many children has she abused? How many promotions has she denied based on gender? How many LGBT people has she denigrated? For it to be hypocrisy she’d have to be engaging in the acts she is criticising them for. It’s best to know the meaning of a word before using it.
@MickNev: the son the church condemns based on his sexual orientation? Or maybe it’s for his brother that they abused? I’d expect a mother and sister with standing to speak out on those issues. She has been critical of the church since her presidency ended.
@Dave O Keeffe: She only found out about the abuse lately did she? Did she know about it when she used 10s of thousands of taxpayers money visiting the vatican during her presidency..
So let me get this straight , her brother was abused by someone in the church,her son is gay and she feels that the churches attitude to gay people is awful,and she reckons that the church is an “empire of misogyny”.Most people would just call it quits and leave,but not her,sure there’s no publicity out of that.Take a hike Mary.
@Ciaran: you can’t leave the church. And as a person people pay attention to she felt the need to speak out since her family isn’t the only one affected.
@Jim Ni Suilleabhain: If you knew anything about the constitution, which obviously you dont. You would realise your hero can make no impact on the laws of the country because of her own beliefs. Funny I was never abused by Yes canvassers but was by No when I would not tell them how I was voting
@Tyler Williams: are you saying you are a non Irish Catholic who is not an active member of the church? How can you be relavent to what Mary has to say?
Ah yes, Mattie ‘we can’t be lettin the wimmin have notions’ McGrath. We saw your true colours during the debate to remove the 8th and exactly what you think a womans place is….
@Hellenize Dublin: amen to that…the ‘risen’ sure does be a one for the ol grudge holding…he still harps on about Hillary not getting elected in the US.as the song from frozen goes…” let it go”
@Dave O Keeffe: did you read the comment I’m replying to? He obviously holds a huge amount of disdain for anyone who was anti choice despite the matter being settled. Seems a bit odd to lambast someone for holding a specific opinion on a single topic while simultaneously commending another person who holds the same view. I’ll go ahead and assume it’s because one is a man and one is a woman.
@Peter Denham: Y’see, I’m capable of taking her platform and various views into consideration, and making an informed decision about whether to vote for her or not. It’s how grown ups deal with the world, rather than binary, black and white, thinking.
@The Risen: funny, someone holding anti choice views was enough to write them off as a decent human being before. “You showed your true colours during the referendum.” Is it safe to assume that you didn’t do your research on a candidate and are now embarrassingly trying to save face?
@Peter Denham: I always do my research. It’s unlikely that there will be a candidate who shares 100% of my positions running in this election. As things stand, Gemmas platform is worth supporting, despite the fact that I hold differing views to her on other matters.
Like I said, it’s how grown ups deal with the world.
@Peter Denham: couldn’t possibly be anything at all to do with Mattie’s comment about Catherine Noone? That’d be a very good reason to suggest he has repugnant views on women. Also, it’s unfair to say he is opposed to all anti-choice campaigners when he made a comment about one person only.
@Dave O Keeffe: so it was this comment that suggested he has repugnant views rather than his stance on abortion. So being pro life doesn’t constitute having a repugnant view on women? The narrative has shifted dramatically recently.
@The Risen: you just used mcgrath’s stance on the referendum as an argument.so it’s in done & dusted only when you want to bring it back up.a bit hypocritical there risen but when your views on the rc church are the same as the Orange order when you claim to be a republican what should we expect.
@Dave
I don’t think that comment was a reference to Catherine No one ( won’t allow me type the proper surname’ maybe google knows more than I do !) it’s a comment that has been used for decades but in these politically correct days people take offence for any reason
@Mary King: “until the fat lady songs and I’m not referring to the previous speaker” the previous speaker was Catherine Noone. He mentioned her himself. It’s a common phrase that nobody would think was about her unless he drew the comparison himself.
@Dave O Keeffe: I don’t think so, The Risen never mentioned the comments, only you have. Why do you keep speaking for him anyway? Are you his assistant?
@Peter Denham: now you’re just being silly, he said that Mattie made his views on women known, I’ve given you an example. I’m not speaking for him I’m speaking to you because you’ve clearly misinterpreted the comment.
Mary McAleese speaks nothing but sense in regard to the church. She speaks intelligently on the matter and can speak as someone who has loved ones who have suffered first hand. She is absolutely correct when she says that there is no one in the churches hierarchy, at this time, that is qualified to deal with the awful atrocities and crimes that have been committed and covered up.
It beggars belief with me that the likes of Matti McGrath can think that an intelligent argument on such serious acts of misconduct should not be voiced.
I’m fed up with the likes of Mattie McGrath telling education women, of integrity what to do. If we have to listen to his old-world nonsense then he should have the decency to listen to people who know what they are talking about. The next election will resolve “themattieproblem”
From the independent:
“Mr McGrath is a member of the International Catholic Legislators Network which is meeting with the Pope ahead of his visit to Ireland on Saturday.”
@Kevin Moylan: She earns her pension with her non-stop work defending the abused and the vulnerable. From her position of influence she promotes their rights – she could be living a sweet lazy life but she believes in continuing her service to those of us who need an influential voice speaking on our behalf.
Her son is entering politics and that is why she is making noise,why didnt she speak about these things when president and 1 of her trips to the vatican cost the public over €20,000,the hotel room 1 night cost over €3,000.
@@mdmak33: Just two particular points, the President is not allowed to talk about what ever they like, public statements need to be aproved by the Govt. Also accomodation for the President is sorted by the Dept of Foreign Affairs, they don’t have any real inputs.
Mary McAleese is a formidable highly educated woman and. Canon Lawyer. She is rightly speaking out about all that is wrong with the Catholic Church and the changes that are need ed. She may be a voice in the wilderness but anyone who has the courage to take on the Curia in the Vatican has my support. Since the Church is 200 years behind the times she has her work cut out.
As for Mattie McGrath zzzzzzz
She has become unbearable, shes everywhere at the minute and is using this for political reasons, where was she on this 10years ago or when she was president, hiding saying little.. Now the son is soon to run for crocked FF she needs the name back out there… Just more politicians using peoples lives to advance their own personal political career or of those close to them… As per usual the country falls for it..
@All Aboard To China:
Tipperary and its elected representatives are fast becoming a byword for corruption and backwardness, must be something in the water..
@All Aboard To China: The people of Tipperary elect the politicians who will listen to them and fight their corner in a Dublin dominated society. The people of Kerry and indeed the constituencies of Dublin do the same. Don’t hate the player….
Well, that is about as much respect and tolerance as I would expect from this man. I am sure Mattie could use a healthy dose of grace and dignity himself
Well TG for free speech! Mattie might be a tad of a loose cannon from time to time, but boy( ( or girl or whatever yer havin yerself), he’s spot on in his comments! Ms. McAleese loves the camera and shur, why wouldn’t RTE indulge her. After all, she is from that stable !
She’s a Catholic… She’s entitled to say what she wants about her religion and who the f is Mattie Mc Grath to tell her otherwise. That’s the problem with the RC cult. First silence the dissenters outside the fold then silence those within. A couple of more generations and this nonsense will be gone thankfully.
Typical tactic from the brainwashed. They want those challenging their irrational beliefs to stop talking since they struggle to engage with their points from a position of blind belief they cannot justify.
I’m sorry Mattie but we no longer live in a country where people speaking uncomfortable truths can be hushed.
She is brave enough to discuss her own family situation, a brother abused and a child gay ,these are issues that need to be talked about .sticking our heads in the sand does not work in our brave new world .all these children were baptised catholic ,now the church wishes to ignore and wash their hands of them .sorry, the church is the congregation carrying with it all problems of humanity .Deal with it
Once she started talking about “fake hetero homophobes” and being “utterly terrified” of the clergy I just presumed she was either attention-seeking or had lost the plot. Possibly both.
@Dave Slater: She wasn’t wrong in what she said. It is terrifying that priests, who are gay, are so warped by church teachings that they preach that homosexuality is wrong and is “intrinsically disordered” to other gay Catholics. Can you not see how fked up that is?
@Ian Walsh: in my area most of the priests are gay and so what? however they nee€ to come out, if this sample is representative of the countr6 as a whole then the church would have to group the remaining straight priests in a centre and fly them out to the various parts of the country for emergency spiritual first aid
Mattie takes his lessons from the hierarchy very seriously and it seems he’s a keen student.
His answer to this problem, as he sees it, is to Transfer her, Move her and silence her.
Very good Mattie, you’ve learned well, here’s a weekend in Rome for yourself and the missus.
I’m a centre left atheist but I too am getting rather sick of the likes of Mary McAleese. All her virtue-signalling against the Catholic Church would have been very courageous 40 years ago but now … criticising the Catholic Church is a very easy target with minimal risk and even confers status for those who hobnob within chattering class circles. If Mary McAleese has such a conscience, why wasn’t she out protesting the recent visit of Hillary Clinton – a woman who has played an egregious part in every NATO war for the last 20 years, killing and impoverishing many more people than the pope, the church (or Mattie McGrath). I also think that MSM stories such as these are designed to stir the usual ‘outrage’ from young urban liberals at Mattie McGrath and his ‘backward’ ilk. My own opinion about Mattie McGrath is who cares, now can we concentrate on the real establishment approved menaces – like Hillary Clinton! But of course the media or many Official Ireland figures like McAleese continuously take the path of least resistance, creating distractions from real issues on their way. However, big kudos to the Journal.ie all the same – they’re still the only Irish media outlet that allow comments giving people like me a voice.
@Alan Harvey: As a Christian, I agree 100% with you on Hilary Clinton and other points you’ve made. There does not have to be this great divide between believers/non believers, I hate what has happened in this country to children, women, [never the fathers], and yes, Mary McAleese is only attacking the church now since her son is Gay and she wants that OKd by the church, she has her own Agenda, as she had back when she wanted to become president.
I’ve never liked her after her obsequious kowtowing to the queen. However what she says is right. It’s the old chestnut – most men agree with 99% of the feminist agenda, just not when women say it :)
@White Rhino: When the queen spoke the cupla focal and the camera flicked to President mccaleese and she mimes the word WOW twice . That grinds my gears
@deisecelt: that was a huge turnaround from what we came from.it was a big moment…..maybe u didnt hear morning news in 70s when all ud hear is who was killed prev 24hrs,catholics n prodestants.so with the queen speaking irish, it waa a wow comning from where we were.
Its very hard to get rid of all types of fookers in Ireland .
They are like the Undead . Always hanging about . Does Mary McAleese ask where was FF , Fg , Lab when a lot of this stuff was going on . First of all they allowed willingly and enthusiastically the Catholic Church to do so much stuff that they should have been doing . Turns out that has been a very handy scapegoat for them .
I am an atheist , so I have no particular axe to grind .
Soo sick of her. Mary try mindfullness, build a bridge and leave us alone.
To the journalists- please give us something other than Mary Macs grudge of the moment to read about.
@Pajo Mata: I among many want Mary to continue to out the Church and the damage the Religious have committed not only in Ireland but around the World to please continue and dont be afraid of a few who dont want the Church’s secrecy to come out. I would also urge people who are sickened to leave the Church and don’t be put off when they hear people saying you cannot leave that Church.
I never liked this fella Mattie Mcgrath from the very start long before the repeal of the eight and as I supported the no side in the Referendum when I seen this fella going off the subject in the Citizen assembly I had made up my mind that the no side had lost before they got started . Who in the name of Heaven’s would allow this fella to talk on anything and now when a Citzen of this Country want the truth to come out about the Church this fella is voicing his disapproval. Mattie I have two words for you but unfortunately I cannot use them here.
Matty, President McAleese is speaking out for long ignored survivors of church abuse & for the equality of the LGBT community. She is fighting for minorities so the future will be better for future generations.
What are you doing? Your closed mind belongs in the dark ages. Dont start me on your celtic tiger incompetence & the Fianna Fail culture of brown envelopes. You’re way out of your league. Put a sock in it…..
McAleese had her time in the spotlight why didn’t she speak out then? Because the situation at the time didn’t effect her family. But now things are different so she wants to speak now. #stayoffthestagemary
@John Doran: yet another ignorant clown who doesn’t understand the very limited role of the President and their capacity to speak their mind while in office. She also wasn’t aware of her brothers rape and abuse until after she left office.
Mattie people including myself are sick of you. I would rather watch paint dry on the outside of a house on a wet day than have to watch or listen to you. Why anyone would vote for you is beyond me.
I should think that most people are much more fed up with Mattie McGrath’s comments than President McAleese’s Christian and caring comments and motherly concerns.
IMO, it is preferable for her to criticise the Church rather than simply ignore it and go on her atheistic way. At least she is still interested in Catholicism! and she is presumably
still a theist.
Many ex-Catholics would like to see The Church reform and modernise rather than being fused on to primitive dogma texts whose origins are , to say the least, doubtful.
Mattie has let the keyboard terrorists loose.
Good on you Mattie stick it too then and he’s correct let her form her own church.
The greatest surprise is the same keyboard warriors hated her when she was president
During the gov investigation into the banking enquiry, they called in some fella to question him. They were given 15 minutes each. So Matties turn came, and he made a 15 minute speech, in his own cranky way!
What a lovely character Mr McGrath is. Criticism of the horrendous way the church treats people is fine as long as we don’t need to hear it and people can feel fluffy and happy while the pope is visiting. Obviously someone who is stuck in times gone by. Shame on you as a public representative.
I do think McGrath has valid points about McAleese relying on the votes of Catholics in her time, and in that context her relentless attacks on the Catholic Church seem a bit hypocritical and designed to help her son get elected to the Dail (which he won’t this time around given the arithmetic in the constituency he’s running in). Having said all that McGrath is a terrible windbag and a poor communicator and – as polls have shown – the majority of people agree with the views of our former president about the institutional church.
Some people (me) are already sick and tired of “people” like Mattie who crave a few headlines to boost their appeal?! to the electorate. In fairness to Mattie he promotes a few good agendas – on this one he is plain wrong because Mary is plain right. Blind faith, Mattie?
Thousands of children raped and abused. Babies buried in septic tanks. The Vatican and senior church officials covering it up, and continuing to do so. And Mattie has an issue with a former president speaking out about this. Unbelievable!! I really hope McGrath has to deal with abuse victims from his constituency in the future. Might give the total gobs**te some perspective.
@Beabad Bishop: We have a gay Taoiseach, a communist president, abortion, divorce and many other things in this country that the Catholic Church is dead against. What is this yolk you speak of?
I do not agree that keeping shtum is the way to respect the “dignity of the incumbent”. Irrespective of how she came onto her platform she is finally using her position to speak about what matters and hurts modern day Catholics. The church would be wise to listen to her and stop alienating such large proportions of prospective members. Adapt or die. I am just surprised that a clearly intelligent women gives any credence to such nonsense in the first place.
Mattie McGrath is part of the problem, not part of any solution. The sooner he leaves the stage the better. He is not fit to clean the boots of Mary McAleese.
Mattie McGrath – Why should our former President not have whatever stage she wants to? She was the President of our fine country after all. I’m FAR happier to listen to her wisdom than whatever it is you’re on about.
Anyone that knows me personally knows how hard I’ve been on the Catholic Church for decades, and but make a comment on the Journal dissagreeing with hollier than thou Mary Mc and suddenly I am a homophobic, padeophile Pope obeying Catholic ..
ALL RELIGIONS are BULL
@Irish Bob: In fairness I agree with you on almost nothing (actually probably fully nothing), but yes, I’ve never felt you come across as “homophobic, padeophile Pope obeying Catholic ..” etc.
You have been consistent in your views, generally misguided and wrong yes, but I admire your willingness to comeback and be educated daily :-)
McGrath is a Buzzard a sad sad excuse for a Representative of IRISH people,no wonder he is aligned with the Kerry Clowns. Possibly borders on being a BIGOT.
@James Donnery: she makes a lot of valid points and she speaks as an RC member and does have deep knowledge of their systems. Her input is welcome, but I’m still a little cynical that she didn’t press so hard while it didn’t suit her, she was a big part of the establishment once. Did she put state before victims just like the bishops did for the church?
@Greg Blake: For all her bluster she too was a politician,whether she likes it or not,so it shouldn’t be a huge surprise to anyone that she is full of shite.
Dear moron Mattie…. you .. and by “you” I mean the church and it’s hangers on have a history of trying to silence those who challenge wrongdoingin the church… The ex Pres is a highly educated woman and Canon Lawyer…. way way above your station Mattie… so it is not surprising to hear a gud ol’ catlic boy trying to keep the “wimmen in their place”… she knows and understands more about the intricate workings of the church than you could ever conceive… it’s numpties like you that give politics a bad name… every time I hear you and your ilk I am immediately transported to Ballymagash….
@Kieran Brady:..and we see about half the comments supporting him. Says a lot about the state of the country and how far we have yet to go before reaching a more tolerant open society instead of this indoctrinated cult supporting hive mind still so prevalent and vocal in their distain for anyone to highlight their hypocrisy.
Wasn’t he one of the gang who signed the slash and burn legislation bills there recently. In my book that’s enough said about that imbecile. He should be burned!
i think this fecken eejit should get off the stage and ship himself to the artic with just the clothes on his back and he should be made stay there…he is of absolutely no benefit to the people of ireland…waste of space and air
This debate on the (increasingly powerless) Catholic Church has been done to death for the last 30 years and it doesn’t help us, it only create distractions from more important issues. I can think of other debates I would like McAleese to trail-blaze on issues that affect us all … like the illegal detention of Julian Assange for exposing 10 years government and corporate wars and corruption, the media vilification of Jeremy Corbyn for being a decent politician, Ireland’s continuing veneration of the wall street warmongering Barack Obama, the list is endless. But sadly I know that if McAleese had have raised these issues, she would be either ignored or derided by the media.
Blessed are the fools like Mattie, for they have facilitated the Church in its power mongering and cover-ups and making taxpayers pay for their misdemeanors.
Shut up Mattie at least mary is a voice fr the abused ..unlike any member of goverment..the best u lot did was squander 20 million on hosting the pope while irish people are being evicted on a daily basis and suck children are on 3yr waiting lists .?????
I cannot tell you how angry I am of Mattie McGrath and his ilk. If it’s not him its the Healy Rae dynasty pushing out local politics into an international arena and have no national agenda only local. If it’s local politics then be a councillor and stay away from the adults. Mary McAleese is untouchable by the likes of the Mattieiets and Healyites etc in the house. These people are unaware of our constitution and we are all equal. I an no stanch Republican but I do know the 1916 leaders proclomation tells us we are sll equal. That means men and women Mattie. All we ever wanted was to be free to make our own choices we did not gain our independence to give it away to another foreign power (who hates women homosexuals, LGBT and whatever you are having yourself) the Vatican. Mattie you will be long forgotten when your time comes unlike our amazing citizens new and old who stand up for what is right like Mary McAleese, Mary Robbinson, John Hume, Charles Stewart Parnell, Michael Collins, Peter McVerry, Michael D Higgins, our brave soldiers and navy our nurses and doctors our volunteers who help amazing charities do what they have to do and I could go on. Mattie I wish you well but you need to stop you aul rhetoric and leave our good people alone. Enjoy your Pope mind you he is a Jesuit and maybe not to your liking and he has a hard road ahead with the likes of you in his way with the 70s attitude. I am olds than you Mattie I experienced the pain of a young boy growing up in a world controlled by the church my church too and I felt an outsider in fear of it and growing up in a family of strong strong women watch them being made into second class citizens. Grow up Mattie you are out numbered we will win and I pray and hope to God one day a Women priest will celebrate mass until then I will not play any part in your sad sad world of grey and brown.
'Toxic brand': Irish Tesla drivers want you to know they don't all support Trump and Elon Musk
24 mins ago
Investigatesyour stories
Powering through and praying: Your stories of the GP crisis in Ireland
6 hrs ago
speaking time row
Michael Lowry says he was telling Paul Murphy 'to sit down with my fingers'
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say