You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary O'Rourke and Brian Lenihan with RTÉ's Miriam O'Callaghan. Photocall Ireland

“Bertie clearly wanted to get a lot off his chest"

Mary O’Rourke has revealed her thoughts on Bertie Ahern’s comments about Brian Lenihan.

FORMER FIANNA FÁIL minister Mary O’Rourke has given her verdict on Lenihan: A Legacy - a documentary aired on RTÉ last night.

The programme focused on the late finance minister Brian Lenihan, O’Rourke’s nephew.

She said watching the documentary was emotional.

“I was very nostalgic and I was filled with emotion, but I was lucky to have a family to go to and to be with them – that meant a lot to me.

“People say to me ‘How did you get so attached to him? Your nephew is your nephew’. I know that, but I worked for 16 years under the Oireachtas roof with him, so we were workmates as well as relations.”

During the course of the documentary, former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern described Lenihan as “difficult”, claiming he didn’t want to knock on doors other than in Castleknock.

“The more intellectual the are, the more work they don’t want to do,” Ahern said.

O’Rourke told The Ray D’Arcy Show: “Bertie doesn’t like intellectuals, seemingly.”

Bertie was a pint man, and your local man, and I know all that life myself. But I just think that he kind of feared things. He said that Brian liked poetry and things like that, but so what? Lots of us like poetry, but you can still knock on doors.

“Bertie likes to talk and clearly he wanted to get a lot off his chest. I never minded that he didn’t promote Brian, why should he?”

Brian Lenihans Book Launch Bertie Ahern holding a copy of 'Brian Lenihan: In Calm and Crisis'. sam boal sam boal

O’Rourke added that Ahern was “in his own way … fine”.

Lenihan battled pancreatic cancer in the latter stage of his career, something O’Rourke said really focused him, and made him think “I’ve got to mind Ireland, my job and my health.”

I dared to hope he would live … the world lay before him.
I like to think this, he’ll be regarded as a good guy… He was a patriot as well, but I don’t expect everyone to agree with me.

Lenihan died on 10 June 2011.

Overall, O’Rourke said she and her family found the documentary to be “very positive” and “very balanced”.

“There were lots of contrarian views but, sure listen, no one’s a plaster saint and life isn’t real if you are.”

Read: What we learned about Brian Lenihan from last night’s RTÉ documentary

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:10 PM

Regardless of Lenihans legacy, I believe must people would agree that he tried to do the right thing but was hamstrung by stupidity, incompetence and barefaced lies at a time when the country could have done without it. Hardly surprising that Bertie has no time for intellectuals, he’s more a read the News of the World while sitting in a cupboard, winning a few quid on the gee gees kind of lad.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jun 18th 2015, 12:06 AM

To little to late, Lenihan a lawyer was not equipped for the post he held in government. Just shows that in Irish politics it is who you know and not always what you know.

Mute Josephine Gallagher
    Favourite Josephine Gallagher
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:57 AM

Why to little if you can go to late?

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jun 18th 2015, 7:21 AM

On the contrary, the late Brian Lenihan was very well equipped for any senior role in Cabinet. Most Ministers nowadays are highly qualified in some field, experienced in life’s challenges, well educated, possess excellent inter-personal and communications skills.

Maybe in the old days, friendship trumped talent at Cabinet team selection time, but not anymore.

It was a great pity such a nice and talented man of integrity was taken away so young.

All current and future politicians could take a leaf out of the late Mr. Lenihan’s book on how to behave in serving the people.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:34 PM

I watched it yesterday I laughed at the rogues gallery every shot of Bertie had Ray Burke as his wingman and I’m a few had the present leader of ff standing behind smilling anybody who votes for these gang is insanne.lenihaan was absolutely clueless I’m his role as minister for finance sadly.

Mute Patrick Brennan
    Favourite Patrick Brennan
    Jun 19th 2015, 9:33 AM

Hahahah, remember that?

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:14 PM

Let’s be honest…a tennis ball has more intellect that Bertie ‘Infacta’ Aherne

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:37 PM

he was no ejit he’s living on our backs until he pops his clogs.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:42 PM

Bertie is from the Sepp Blatter school of ethics. He’s turned into a bitter little man in recent years.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jun 17th 2015, 11:31 PM

“Bertie is from the Sepp Blatter school of ethics. He’s turned into a bitter little man in recent years.”
    A bullet would not be wasted.
    The little snot.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jun 17th 2015, 11:51 PM

This was the snot who instigated the water tax concept that was so readily adopted by his other mates in Dail Eireann.
    Anybody remember the “Bertie Bowl” plan of his to spend billions on a football stadium, to be located in Finglas West.?
    https://youtu.be/ru-Kun7be6k

Mute Brian Reddy
    Favourite Brian Reddy
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:26 PM

Bertie….What a pr*ck

Mute beebop
    Favourite beebop
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:33 PM

Agreed

Mute James Sheedy
    Favourite James Sheedy
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:15 PM

Mr Lenihan seemed like a decent man, but was clearly out of his depth as Finance Minister, as are many Irish politicians. Bertie was borderline sociopathic when it came to his legacy within FF and the country; but was clever enough to fool almost everyone from grassroots to media. The Irish political system is seriously flawed and hasn’t really changed at all since the crash.

As for who was the biggest chancer, it’s not even close, Wayne S…

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:22 PM

He didn’t fool many in politics or many in FF.

Bertie never hid what he was or what he was at, no more that Brian Lenihan Snr did in the 80s.

Same as Brian Lenihan didn’t ask why his fathers cancer sick fund was looted by other FF’ers.

You knew but you didn’t ask or you were out.

The show is for the TV.

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 17th 2015, 11:05 PM

Civil servants and special advisors run the country ministers are only !!!!!!! Idiots

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jun 17th 2015, 11:42 PM

“Same as Brian Lenihan didn’t ask why his fathers cancer sick fund was looted by other FF’ers.
    You knew but you didn’t ask or you were out.”
    Too true.
    They eat their young.
    How in God’s name has Irish politics come to this low level.?
    Time to organize an annual pilgrimage to St Fintan’s Graveyard in Sutton.
    We all feel a need to piss on the grave of Charles J Haughey.
    https://youtu.be/pifibs_q7ec

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:26 PM

Bertie should be ashamed of himself, and should lock himself away so people cannot see or hear him.

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 17th 2015, 11:06 PM

He should have stayed in the cupboard

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:30 PM

All that’s needed in that pic to create the perfect FF viper nest is Miriam’s brother, FF councillor Jim o Callaghan. Legal advisor to FF and barrister to Denis o Brien, Irish Water and Siteserv. Conflict of interest anyone??

Jun 17th 2015, 10:40 PM

@Niall
    Suuusssshhh !!!

11th Commandment:
    Thou shalt not speak negatively of His Royal Highness, The Emporer Denis O’Brien.

Fair point about that s(umb&g Barrister though, not enough is made of his single handed crusade to destroy society in general, and the taxpayers in particular.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:12 PM

One was charming on the street level with the cunning of a crap house rat.
    One was charming at a dinner party level with the cunning of a lavatory rat.

Both believed the had a destiny to lead and an entitlement to be at the top.

The Irish people got flushed and they both played their part in it.

Mute beebop
    Favourite beebop
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:32 PM

Tripe

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:04 PM

Difficult to figure out which of them was the bigger chancer.

Mute beebop
    Favourite beebop
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:32 PM

How can you even compare the two ?

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Jun 18th 2015, 7:08 AM

Bertie is a repulsive liar. Lenihan wasn’t perfect but BOH was a reckless thieving cheat. He makes me sick to my stomach. He should be in jail.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Jun 18th 2015, 12:13 AM

Whether people like the expression or not I don’t care but Bertie more or less raped every man, woman and child in this country

His crooked dealings and back handers has this country in the state it is in today, he played the politics games to perfection, lined his pockets until they were overflowing with money then left cowen to face the music who himself was like a rabbit In the headlights hadn’t a clue what he was at

Bertie be hung for what he has done to the irish people, but it’s the same over and over with the do called irish parties being re elected time after time, when will there ever be a party were they genuinely have the interest of the people and the country at heart and are not corrupt through and through

I think it’s time for a complete reform
    With politics in Ireland because what’s here at the minute does not work for the normal folk

Jun 17th 2015, 10:18 PM

O’Rourke defending her nephew still haven’t recovered from the mental image of her in a bath tub talking to Mick…..

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Jun 17th 2015, 11:13 PM

That O’Rourke wagon has access to nearly every rte1 radio show except Ronan Collins, why doesn’t she just Fcuk Off she’s obsessed with the lenihan “legacy”

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:18 AM

De de de smart ones are always askin me question dat oi don’t wa wa want ta answer about me gold bouillon and Swiss francs stuffed down me 10 year old knickers. Statement from St Bartholomew the corrupt on the intellectual elite

Mute Barry Barrison
    Favourite Barry Barrison
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:17 PM

I reckon Mary looked well In her hay day.

Mute James Brown
    Favourite James Brown
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:19 PM

I love Orla’s articles.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:04 AM

Why doesn’t Mary tell the truth for a change. She was inside government yet never knew any of what was going on around her. She never comes across as stupid but she does make Joe Public feel stupid with her clever comments but no home truths. She is like the brass monkeys hear no evil seen no evil and say no evil. She should be spitting feathers at Bertie but typical a politician to her core. Don’t tell Paddy anything

Mute Philip Scanlon
    Favourite Philip Scanlon
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:07 PM

We all know Charlie was the grand daddy of corruption, Bertie was a very willing apprentice who also managed to screw the country and Biffo was the idiot left holding the baby. Most felt sorry for him but he is just as culpable, there is blood on the hands of many the FF government who so skilfully through stupidity and corruption to a point where so many cannot go on…..

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Jun 17th 2015, 10:05 PM

That Ahern chap is still quite delusional it seems .