You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
AN INVESTIGATION INTO anomalies regarding the reporting of Covid-19 cases at the Mater Hospital in Dublin has found that the hospital complied with legal obligations.
Controversy arose last month when it emerged that there was a delay in the official publication of some 244 cases at the hospital dating back to mid-March.
Covid-19 is a notifiable disease, and the reporting cases to health authorities is a statutory legal requirement.
The head of the Health Service Executive Paul Reid subsequently asked Chief Clinical Officer Dr Colm Henry to “establish the facts of the matter”.
At the HSE’s weekly Covid-19 briefing today, Reid confirmed that the report into the delay had found that the Mater carried out its legal obligations.
Reid said that the 244 cases were reported to public health teams at the time, and that contact tracing on confirmed cases had been carried out.
“That report has been concluded and forwarded to the department, and the secretary general and the minister,” Reid said.
He noted that the report “does conclude that the Mater Hospital did carry out its legal obligations in terms of reporting the positive cases; they were reported properly to the public health teams in the area; and it also found that the contract tracing was completed in the proper manner”.
Reid added that the report made recommendations about how the HSE would validate Covid-19 data in the future.
Over 350k tests completed in Ireland to date, including just over 21k last week - positivity rate is 1.7%. Of the 322 close contacts tested, 24 were positive - a 7.2% positivity rate - over four times higher, and 87% of these people were asymptomatic. #Covid19Ireland
Meanwhile, the HSE said that more than 350,000 Covid-19 tests has been completed in Ireland to date, including just over 21,000 last week. The positivity rate is 1.7%, but this jumps to 7.2 among close contacts of confirmed cases.
It is also hoped that the health service’s contact tracing app will be signed off by government and rolled out this month.
Reid says Ireland is first country that will have a contact-tracing app based on a fully decentralised model - ie where the data is kept on a person's phone, not a centralised system. He says some countries have seen an uptake rate of 60-80% of apps and he'd like similar here.
The app is currently being trialled by gardaí and a data protection assessment has been sent to the Data Protection Commissioner for review.
“No country to date has launched a fully decentralised model, where the data is held on a person’s phone, not on a centralised system,” Reid said, noting that Ireland will be the first country to do so.
With reporting by Órla Ryan.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
TheJournal.ie's Coronavirus Newsletter
TheJournal.ie's coronavirus newsletter cuts through the misinformation and noise with the clear facts you need to make informed choices. Sign up here
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
15 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
It will achieve nothing to develop prejudice against all Muslims. There are over a billion Muslims. Turning our hate on over a billion people will not just be futile, it will be a self fulfilling prophecy.
Living in hate can develop into dying in hate. It’s our choice between hate or rationality.
You can hate the religion without hating the believer. You can hate what religions have done and continue to do, and Islam and its followers are a very real threat. You can hate Islam itself. It’s the believers that give it its power and so it’s believers are fair game.
That’s just how many think it should be illegal, and who admitted it. Hundreds of millions probably think it should carry the death penalty. ‘Moderate’ Muslims probably aren’t in the vast majority as the media etc would have you believe.
Okay so when a lone gunman commits their supposed massacres, and this ain’t a Hollywood movie because almost no one kills another human being for pleasure and no one gunman can kill dozens of people unless he’s the feckin Terminator . Statistically, trained US policemen involved in a shooting have a hit ratio of about 30%, sometimes even less, way less – even less than 2%! So how come crazy or fanatical ‘homophobic Muslim’ gunmen are better shooters than professional cops? Moreover, any Garda or cop from just about anywhere around the globe will corroborate that 96% of all murders are committed by people who knew their victims, and that before the suspects are arrested, the police has to provide not only proof – which takes a long time to gather unlike the 9 O’Clock news that immediately hand you the suspect – but a motive as well, which itself is “how the suspects benefit from the alleged crimes”. So the first question to ask in these mass murder circumstances is Qui Bono or Who benefits? This crime serves the clash if civilisations narrative perfectly well.
Assault rifle with cyclic rate approx 600 rpm….5.56mm high velocity…several magazines and total familiarity with the weapon….and a desire to please Mohammed and become a martyr….
Some people have an unhealthy monomania with the details of lethality of guns. Some people get into the very specific details.
I think that hate was a more probable motive than a specific desire to please Mohammed but you will believe what it suits you to believe.
Obviously such powerful killing instruments should not be sold to other than law enforcement authorities. These are guns designed to kill human beings.
Michael why is your main concern Muslims not being treated with kid gloves anymore rather than a concern for the treatment of the lgbt community by Muslims.
You do know who massacred who, right?
Being gay doesn’t make you go out and murder 50 people. Being a gay Muslim who has been thought to hate himself by his holy book, his father who supports a Muslim group that publicly executes homosexuals and by Islamic scholars at your mosque who say killing gays is the compassionate thing to do just might push you to slaughter innocents.
RTE and other media are sensibly and accurately presenting this as an anti gay hate crime as that description most closely fits the facts of what happened.
It is pointless and potentially destructive to try to use Orlando as tinder fir hate between the West and Islam. Proportionality and objectivity are needed.
Trying to pump up hate and provocation will just escalate the problem and leave moderate Muslimscas targets.
In addition, the security services don’t want or need to be swamped by false positives from an alarmed public.
Had he been born a couple of decades sooner he would have said he was soviet. Little before that viet cong before that he would have said he was a nazi. Thing is the media and public opinion is right this was a very ill man. A very sick man who had access to weapons of war. As long as America has these silly laws then more will die. Just take columbine for example you can be sure if they did that today they would for $hits and giggles would have said they were isis. Every country has nut jobs but not every country’s nut jobs can get guns.
The perpetrator was a Muslim,a gay Muslim,who was angry,unstable by all accounts from his ex wife..he carried out this atrocitie through anger, not because he was a terrorist..if you can’t understand that..then there’s no point even engaging with you.
”Omar Mateen, reportedly called 911 during the rampage and “pledged loyalty to the Islamic State.” Jihadists everywhere quickly celebrated the carnage on the internet and, “…the al-Amaq agency — which functions as ISIS’s propaganda and media wing — claimed that ‘the attack … was carried out by an Islamic State fighter.’”
So let’s see. He joined ISIS 5 minutes into his first mission, and suddenly that means his anger at his own latent homosexuality must be completely ignored because it might raise awkward questions about gun control.
It’s not that big of a stretch to believe that a violent homophobic Muslim would join a violent homophobic Muslim terrorist group. It’s obvious he had personal issues but to detach him completely from a terrorist group that he declared allegiance to and that share so many of his disgusting ideas is naïve.
An Imam in Orlando recently stated in an interview that killing gays ‘out of compassion’ was an entirely appropriate thing to do (can link to the video if people want).
Sure, this guy obviously had anger management issues etc., and it’s now looking increasingly likely that he may have been gay himself, but it’s also a distinct possibility that his actions were influenced by imams like the one above.
Terrorism attacks are carried out for one reason they are terrorist’s,this was carried out solely because of his own insecurities.If the gun laws in the us, were more strict this wouldn’t have happened.
What inspires someone to become a terrorist though Sparky? Sure, it may have had nothing to do with Islam in this case, but equally well it just might. You certainly can’t tell either way.
How can one have faith when they believe they were spared death by the same source everyone else died. And to answer your question, I will never stop mocking religion because it deserves it.
Loneliness, heartbreak and exhaustion: Parents begin sleepout to demand special education places
Jane Matthews
2 hrs ago
Oval Office
Zelenskyy leaves White House summit after Trump claims he's 'not ready for peace'
Updated
34 mins ago
New Mexico
Police 'keeping everything on the table' in deaths of Gene Hackman and wife Betsy Arakawa
Updated
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 152 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 104 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 136 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 77 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 37 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 33 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 43 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 25 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 86 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 96 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 68 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 50 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 84 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 64 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say