You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'You guys are awesome': Matt Damon congratulates students graduating from local Dalkey school

The Hollywood actor had a special message for the class of 2020 at Loreto Abbey.

DALKEY’S FAVOURITE ADOPTED son had a special message for the students at the local Loreto Abbey secondary school on their graduation day today.

Actor Matt Damon wished the girls at the school the best as he congratulated them on their big day. 

“Hey, this is Matt Damon,” he said. “I just want to say congratulations to the Loreto Abbey graduating class of 2020. You guys are awesome.

I’m sorry you have to do all this from quarantine. But congratulations, what an achievement. Good for you guys. I’m thinking about you.

The Oscar-winner has been staying in Dalkey in south Dublin for the duration of the pandemic after filming he was doing here stopped due to the lockdown. 

His presence in Dublin has been a bit of a curiosity during the Covid-19 outbreak and the New York Times reported that ‘A Seaside Irish Village Adopts Matt Damon’.

Damon was even pictured going to a local swimming spot with a Super Valu bag. 

He praised the area in an interview on Fully Charged with Graham and Nathan on Spin 1038 earlier this week, calling it “one of the most beautiful places we’ve ever been”. 

“So we feel guilty we’ve got this kind of incredible setup in this place which is, I mean, it’s just absolutely gorgeous,” he said.

“Even in the lockdown, you’ve got to stay within two kilometres of your house, I mean two kilometres of here there’s trees and forests and woods and ocean and I mean it’s just I can’t think of any place you’d rather want to be in a two kilometre radius of.”

With reporting from Rónán Duffy

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Paddy Flynn
    Favourite Paddy Flynn
    May 15th 2020, 7:26 PM

No D4 accent yet, stay strong!

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    May 15th 2020, 7:57 PM

@Paddy Flynn: Roight on !

Mute Conor Nolan
    Favourite Conor Nolan
    May 15th 2020, 8:10 PM

@Paddy Flynn: Or Folksrowk with it mony roindabites

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    May 15th 2020, 11:22 PM

@Paddy Flynn: Dalkey is 26km from D4. Not to split hairs or anything.

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    May 16th 2020, 6:59 AM

@Paddy Flynn: that’s cos it’s not D4, it’s Co. Dublin!

Mute Ro-your-nan
    Favourite Ro-your-nan
    May 16th 2020, 6:55 PM

@Conor Nolan: reverse classism – fantastic. Everyone should be like you.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    May 15th 2020, 7:32 PM

Can we just keep him?

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    May 15th 2020, 8:35 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: yeah.swap him for bono!

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    May 15th 2020, 10:16 PM

@Trish O’Leary-Dunne: I’m happy to have both.

Mute Dermot Quinn
    Favourite Dermot Quinn
    May 15th 2020, 7:54 PM

Fair play to him. He always comes across as being fairly sound. He stuck miles from home and knows he’s in a privileged position, so hes just rolling with it.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    May 15th 2020, 7:36 PM

Ah hes a class act

Mute tuco
    Favourite tuco
    May 15th 2020, 7:40 PM

He can grow spuds and get home from Mars by himself.his no chance in getting out of dublin with a supervalu bag.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    May 15th 2020, 7:53 PM

@tuco: that’s very good on the ball

Mute Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    Favourite Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    May 15th 2020, 8:07 PM

@tuco: no he didn’t!!! Jessica Chastain had to jump out of the space ship with a rocket pack on her back to catch him while they flew past.

Mute Stephen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Stephen O'Sullivan
    May 16th 2020, 9:38 AM

@tuco: hats off, actual LOL at that.

Mute Sean Dermody
    Favourite Sean Dermody
    May 15th 2020, 7:29 PM

Ah isn’t he only a great guy all the same..

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    May 15th 2020, 9:30 PM

I remember meeting Matt Damon , Tom Hanks and Stephen Spielberg during the making of Saving Private Ryan near Taghmon Co Wexford in 1997 where some scenes were filmed. Filming was mostly in Curracloe and took two months. Matt Damon played the part of Private Ryan.They were all very friendly and allowed us to take photos with them.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    May 15th 2020, 8:18 PM

Honorary Irish passport…

Mute kevin mc cormack
    Favourite kevin mc cormack
    May 15th 2020, 8:27 PM

Fair play to him he’s making an effort and well done class of 2020 every we’re

Mute Sean Dermody
    Favourite Sean Dermody
    May 15th 2020, 7:30 PM

Ah isn’t he only marvellous all the same..

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    May 15th 2020, 8:55 PM

@Sean Dermody: we got it the first time … still looking for attention ?

Mute Sean Dermody
    Favourite Sean Dermody
    May 15th 2020, 9:14 PM

@Jen Gordon: Really sorry Mammy, thought I didn’t post the first one so I did it again. How many lines are you going to give me. I must never seek attention…

Mute Sean Dermody
    Favourite Sean Dermody
    May 15th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Jen Gordon: Doesn’t let you delete posts which is strange

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    May 16th 2020, 7:02 AM

@Sean Dermody: I think you can hide posts?

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    May 15th 2020, 8:57 PM

Surely he’s calling himself Mattie by now, no?

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 16th 2020, 6:26 AM

@Johnny 5: or Damo

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    May 15th 2020, 9:59 PM

Fair play to actor matt damon

Mute Stan Kowalskis
    Favourite Stan Kowalskis
    May 15th 2020, 8:58 PM

Matt for President.get rid of the hobbit.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    May 15th 2020, 10:15 PM

@Stan Kowalskis: Well he’s a lovely guy no doubt about it, but he thinks that Leo is our president & he’s gone back to being a doctor on the “ front line “ . You have to wonder where he gets his info from!!

Mute SkepticalHippoEyes
    Favourite SkepticalHippoEyes
    May 15th 2020, 11:49 PM

Thinking about schoolgirls the dirty fecker

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    May 16th 2020, 8:46 AM

@SkepticalHippoEyes: He’s only wishing them well, it’s you who brought up (your own?) dodgy thoughts in relation to schoolgirls….

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    May 16th 2020, 12:05 AM

Totes awks why he’s still here?
    Kinda why not fukd off home loike?

Mute Atlas' burden
    Favourite Atlas' burden
    May 16th 2020, 5:28 AM

@Maurice Dodd: stop being a knob, they obviously can’t

Mute Neil Reilly
    Favourite Neil Reilly
    May 16th 2020, 4:08 PM

@Atlas’ burden: whoosh!