You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
AROUND TWO IN five of Irish adults watching TV last night tuned into Whistleblower: The Maurice McCabe Story, RTÉ has said.
An average audience of 509,000 watched the first part of the documentary last night, which saw McCabe and his wife Lorraine detail their experiences over the past decade and beyond.
Last month, after almost 100 days of Tribunal sittings, Mr Justice Peter Charleton determined that there had been a “campaign of calumny” directed against McCabe by then-garda commissioner Martin Callinan, that was “actively aided” by his press officer Superintendent David Taylor.
The judge said McCabe was “repulsively denigrated for being no more than a good citizen and police officer”.
On the first part of the show last night, McCabe said that after an allegation of sexual assault was made against him over a decade ago, he wouldn’t wash or bathe his own children, or be around if friends brought their own children over.
In tonight’s second part, McCabe will say that he was “annoyed” with himself for shaking Martin Callinan’s hand in Dublin Castle during a hearing of the Disclosures Tribunal.
Maurice McCabe retired from An Garda Síochána last week, after over 30 years of service. He is currently engaged in High Court proceedings Martin Callinan, the Department of Justice, the office of the garda commissioner and the attorney general.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Teach Irish in secondary schools the same way other languages like German are taught or watch it slide further and further into irrelevance.
13 years of Irish in school, got an honours in the leaving – Can barely string a conversation together
I know much more German than I do Irish, but no the education system here would rather you learn really poor and complicated essays and short stories as opposed to actually understanding anything.
Teaching of irish should be optional. Teaching either german, french or mandarin should be mandatory. Teaching of a foreign language should begin at prtmary level.
Compulsory irish is total waste of resources.
I agree Donal, they way irish is thought is absolutely ridiculous, most just leave school with the very basics. There’s to much pressure to learn pointless poems etc for the leaving cert rather than actual speaking it
Teach it to people who choose it instead of holding onto this notion of every one should have to endure and waste so many hours learning a language that is basically dead. I studied French for the leaving and with it I was able to move to France for a summer, work in a pub and immerse myself in a different culture. What could I do with my irish? Nothing! Having a foreign language opens up great opportunities all over the eu and beyond but instead we waste so many hours and resources cramming pre learned essays down disillusioned student’s throats. It is so backwards.
So your saying our unique language is a waste of time? You’d be surprised the amount of foreigners and Americans who are intrigued and love the language, it should be embraced. The Welsh are proud of theirs
Maybe they should introduce a new optional leaving/junior cert subject called Irish Culture and Heritage. You could learn about the poems and stories and traditions and the history of Ireland and Irish folklore.
Then they could concentrate Irish class on teaching people to speak the Irish language.
People seem to only look at the commercial benefit of a language. The passing on of Irish is the maintenance of a cultural heritage – we are the keepers of the language, which is as culturally important as any piece of ancient architecture. Imagine if someone said there’s no (monitary or other) point to Newgrange and decided to level it! That said we really do need to look at the process of passing on this ancient language!
Of course Kenny is oblivious to the Gaeltacht crisis – he lives in his own magical fantasyland where Ireland has now returned to prosperity, his party NEVER raised taxes in ANY way, where men holding two pints frequently engage him in conversation about Irish Water only to be eloquently put in their place by His Excellency, and mystery callers ring his office to profess their amazement and delight at all the extra cash sitting in their wallets thanks to his and Noonans budgetary genius.
Don’t bother asking him about hospital trollies, evictions, homeless families or child poverty – these things don’t exist in Endaland.
It should definitely be optional after Junior Cert. There are enough people enthusiastic about it to keep schools going but stop forcing it on students who feel they don’t need it or need the time and effort for the core subjects that are important to them.
You have highlighted the problem very well. The problem is the lack of future opportunity to speak Irish in a natural everyday setting. Anyone who learns a foreign language looks to use that language with a native speaker. We all have the latent capacity to speak and use Irish but we do not have a way of knowing that the other person will respond in Irish. The Irish language is learnt by a minority for cultural reasons only. The majority regard it as a chore. Language is spoken out of need to speak it, not so much out of an outside imposed obligation to learn it. The imposition of the Caighdán style Gramadach Oifigiúil was destructive in that it turned Gaeltacht native speakers into second class Irish speakers. I never forgot the discomfort of native Irish speakers in teacher training college in the 1970s being told that their written Irish was not ceart de réir an Chaighdán. Each canúint had its own intrinsic way of writing Irish and this was being present by authority as being not good enough. Standardisation while well meant actually marginalised the Irish language even further in the Gaeltacht areas.
Well Paul we like to market ourselves as a country of ancient traditions with a history of resistance, if we ditch the ancient Irish language for the sake of convenience it’s going to be quite difficult to market ourselves in quite the same manner, we’ll have lost an ancient linguistic tradition and showed no resistance to the erosion of a large part of cultural heritage.
People like to go and experience a different culture when they travel abroad, we’re becoming more and more Anglo-American and less Celtic it’s going to be difficult to entice American and British tourists here if they feel Ireland offers nothing different from their own countries, and they aren’t going to come here for the weather now are they. Likewise people from other countries aren’t going to be interested in travelling to a mini England/USA.
I’ve lived in Wales/Cymru on Anglesea/Ynys Mon. The older folks speak Welsh most of the time but the younger ones just do not use it. They use the language and phraseology of English to communicate. But unlike in Ireland, it is not compulsory in other schools in Britain. So it sits and burbles away in the backwaters like a little stream which is grand. Lovely language. It is wrong to use Welsh as an example to promote Irish Supernova. It too is gradually expiring.
So force it down every child in the nations throat to please tourists!!! We should start breeding leprechauns as well. Nobody is stopping people who want to learn it. If its as popular as some make it out to be it will thrive of its own accord
Paul I never said force it down children’s throats, I was mainly referring to your point “So what if Americans like it, what has that got to do with anything” the perception other countries have of us is very important to our tourist industry and the brand of this country in general, so yes Americans and foreigners in general liking our language and culture is quite important and if we totally disregard that language and culture it will reflect very badly on us as a country. Hence I think its preservation is important but with different methods.
There should be more a focus on enabling the Gaeltacht communities to speak Irish as a focus for the language, but how can they when the government has only provided services to them in English and has done so for decades and also English speakers moving into the area are putting more and more pressure on them to assimilate. I also think the Government should cut spending on the Irish education system in school and more on subsidising Irish classes for adults who actually want them.
Also that cheap leprechaun remark is just typical of the condescending attitude a lot of Irish people have for their own culture.
I am shocked at some people’s comments on this thread.
The Irish language is OUR culture, PRIDE and our HISTORY.
just because you can’t get a job in southern France with it or a tech job in Germany when you leave school does not mean we should not be concerned its dwindling.
My daughter attends a Gaelscoil and I’m telling you now her ability with other languages is amazing. She’s taught Irish based sports and musical instruments and understands the language is a part of us as Irish people. But I do agree it should be optional in secondary school.
Shame on all you people who call yourselves Irish who’ve just slammed your national language.
Sam, I am as Irish as you, and I disagree. Are you saying I must be forced to accept a language I don’t want in the interests of YOUR concept of “Irishness “. I want someone to come out and admit it – we are seriously entertaining ‘degrees ‘ of Irishness.
Rashers, I didn’t say anything about forcing it on people. My beef is mainly with the attitudes of some people towards it.
We have a national language I just don’t see why it should be left to rot because people don’t see any use for it after school.
You hit the nail on the head. Making Irish compulsory in school and giving it a special emphasis in society HAS NOT WORKED. Neither has the way it is taught. And the elitism of Irish speakers claiming they are more Irish then those who don’t speak Irish is nonsense and has added to the demise of the language. A new appoach is needed – I would like to see people take an interest in their language, history and culture _ but you won’t achieve it by ramming it down peoples’ throats or by perpetuating the myth that we speak two languages.
My only issue is it being compulsory. Fair play and good luck to those who speak it and they should have option to learn it in school but to force it on people is terrible. If its lived and people want it then it will survive and thrive surely? I think a lot of people come out with things like people live it etc but deep down they know it’s not that many
let’s be honest here , how many of you would not allow your kids to learn the language if it wasn’t compulsory ? most of you would opt out because of your feelings and your views of the language and that’s where it would be lost forever . children still need to be taught it and then later on in secondary school maybe give them the option to opt out then.
no because again the Parents wouldn’t bother to bring them and then the kids lose out . it should be a child’s decision not the Parents . some kids take to Irish and love learning it .
@Suzie,. Apologies, but that makes no sense at all. The parents might choose not to bring them and the child should ignore that and make their own choice. Do you advocate a choice for children as to whether to do math, or learn geography or history? It should be their decision, after all.
@ supernova – it is a waste of time for those with no interest in it. For everyone else I’m sure it’s great. But forcing it on people is counter- productive : and the state of the language proves it. The reason Irish music and dance flourish is….because it’s elective. ….but as for making it compulsory to access 3rd Level education : nothing short of discrimination that is. ..
@Sam. What condescending rubbish – and clearly indicative of exactly why Irish is loathed as much as loved. This attitude that your appreciation of it somehow makes you better than me is reason alone for Irish to be consigned to the bin. The fact that the concept of Irish as – taught is a complete fabrication from the heads of few enthusiastic founding members of this State escapes you. English was the language then, as now. Heck the GAA is barely a century old – English has been on this Island for 800+ years.
John, i wasn’t being condescending.
You have your opinion on it and I have mine.
I shall continue to hope the Irish language does not diminish (in a non condescending way of course).
@Sam. I hope it flourishes too. But forced rote -learning something that can’t be used daily is dooming it to ultimate failure. Encouraging it electively would be infinitely more successful. For now my German, French and maybe some old Latin is I find something to cherish.
If I had a kid in secondary he or she would have a mind of their own and pick whatever subjects they wanted. I would tell them my view that German/French/Spanish would be of much more use to them but they would pick whatever they wanted. In primary an hour or 2 a week is done kids might like it if thought in a fun way. When I was in primary half the morning every day was taken up with it. Barbaric
I would suggest you take your daughter out of gaelscoil and put her into a multi-denominational school. The reason why is communication…. she will be a better communicator, understand the world better and not be part of a myopic pretentious Irish clique.
Sean that makes no sense to me at all.
I do not want my daughter in a class room, where sad to say, the Irish kids would be the minority.
There’s kids down my way who have no English going into primary school so the Irish kids are suffering because basic English has to be taught to some kids before Irish is even introduced!
Because the kids have no irish(most kids) when they begin gaelscoil, their ability with other languages flourishes. My daughter has a great concept of Spanish, French and German.
I really do not see any down side to gaelscoils unless a child really can’t hack it.
My worst nightmare would be for my daughter to end up in a school like educate together, sorry but that’s just my view.
Well everyone does indeed have a different experience in life and your daughter and you seem to have a positive experience with the Irish language.
For myself it has been mostly negative. My reasoning is this, as an Irishman who has lived 33 of his 38 years in Ireland I have never once used the Irish language in a meaningful conversation.
The way Irish was shoved down my throat and my unsuccessfulness at mastering the language resulted in a mental block from learning other languages.
In the previous year I have spent significant amounts of time learning dutch, danish and spanish and really enjoy learning them and using them in practical way.
So despite considerable continued financial and legislative support, along with the mandatory teaching of irish in schools, the language continues to fade. Perhaps it’s time to face reality and take this dead language off life support?
Nothing is going to work in my opinion. This issue will simply continue limping on, sucking in our money and the time and joy of the nations children in the name of heritage and culture. God forbid we take a bold decision and just move on.
It really annoys me when individuals take an issue that is clearly more complicated than ‘it’s broken, f***k it in the bin’ and assume that their opinion is automatically the correct one. Like, if you don’t want it, it’s automatically useless and a waste of money. I’m currently healthy- should I therefore object to money being spent on healthcare? I don’t drive- why do we need so many roads?
What is it going to take in this country for people to stop effing whinging and complaining and start trying to solve problems?
‘Bold’, ill-considered decisions aren’t worth the time it takes to make them- we’ve seen it time and time again at every level in Ireland, including in this area. Chuck it in the bin! Let’s start again! This way is easier- I won’t have to do anything!
Yeah that’s just a rant really isn’t it. As a realistic alternative to English as a first language Irish is dead, dying, pushing up the daisies, and any other month pythonesque description one wishes to apply. There’s a difference between looking for new solutions and facing up to the fact that a cause is lost. The real question is how much do we wish to invest in this sentimentality. For me I think it should be optional in school at best. Perhaps a referendum will be needed before this is settled.
I suspect you would be greatly disappointed by the results of a referendum. Trying to stamp out sentiment in Ireland… have you just moved here? Have you one Irish friend?
No-one is even suggesting that Irish replace English as a first language, just that we continue to support it’s use and facilitate people to learn it as best we can (whatever that way might be). Maybe it’s hard for you to imagine a country where people can speak more than one language, but your problems are you own. Thankfully.
I agree, though, that there is a difference between searching for solutions and knowing when a cause is lost. Maybe it’s all that sentiment talking, but I think our definitions of ‘lost cause’ vary wildly. How can any cause be lost when it generates this much commentary on a dry, summer’s, Saturday afternoon?
Well it would be fairly rude to reply to someone in another language, wouldn’t it? I make an assumption when I communicate that I want that other person to understand what I’m saying, so I will do that in language they use whenever I can.
The Irish language should be thrown to the trash heap of history.
My reasoning is this, as an Irishman who has lived 33 of his 38 years in Ireland I have never once used the Irish language in a meaningful conversation.
The way Irish was shoved down my throat and my unsuccessfulness at mastering the language resulted in a mental block from learning other languages. In the previous year I have spent significant amounts of time learning dutch, danish and spanish and really enjoy learning them.
The only ones backing the Irish language are a bunch of hard core extremists who also belong to the ash heap of history.
Blueshirts tend be very pro European and are not very Irish! Their embarrassed by the 1916 rising sure, they tried to change the proclamation, so why should they care about our language?
They didn’t try and change the proclamation but don’t let the truth get in the way! You can’t change a historic document. What they asked was for a school project to come up with a modern version.
It’s a school project. It gets kids thinking about the original one and and interpreting it for an Ireland that is 100 years older. No harm in that at all.
It was a case of “the enemy of my enemy is my friend” in 1916 Diarmuid. The authors of the proclamation were about to put their lives on the line to gain Irish sovereignty which Kenny then gave up without a whimper.
Not like Imperial Russia, the British Empire or the French Third Republic (with it’s vast imperial realm in Africa and SE Asia) were that much different from Imperial Germany or Austria-Hungary. You swear the Allies were some force for good fighting against unadulterated evil, than again people often try to telegragh the second World War back to the first.
Tbh independence was probably the worse thing to happen to Irish language. If were in the UK still I imagine the Gaeltacht would probably be in better condition.
I completely agree- seems so simple and yet, it’s not done. If we can’t be confident trying out the cupla focal at the age of thirteen, how can we expect anyone to do it at forty three?
I think it’s time we all stopped blaming ‘the system’ and just pick up the can ourselves and learn the language if we want to. We have to, all of us, accept that if we want to keep it alive and relevant then we have to use it.
I’m not fluent by a serious stretch, but years in school have given me a vocabulary, at least, though I have no confidence in it and I don’t have the grammar bits. A couple of months ago I started switching over to RnaG when I’m driving- I was amazed by the difference that has made to my comprehension. So that works for me (though I switch off for the music bits) for now and I feel like I’m doing something to better my knowledge and my comprehension.
Anyway: it’s ours, if we want it, so use it or lose it.
Try Duolingo as well it’s free, won’t make you fluent but it gives a good grounding in the basic grammar of the language something I didn’t get at school.
Very well said ISC, im sending my Son to a Gael Scoil next year so wanted to introduce him to the language, I’ve used Cuala Caint a fee app and cartoons off tg4, Im enjoying getting back into it. Its our language and we have to drive it. There’s a good free lesson resource on Indo site by Liam O’M well worth a look at..
You want to get onto apps? Can we speak plainly here – the reason French, German, Spanish, Italian and hundreds of other languages still exist is that they are spoken in the home, in the street, in life generally as the mother tongue. The situation here is not the same. For reasons related to the former conquest, and for the convenience of communication with the outside world, our ‘mother tongue ‘ is English. To suggest otherwise is dishonest. Let those who have an historical or cultural interest in it work away – but I strongly object to the suggestion that it be constantly foisted on those who don’t want it.
rasher, what I’m saying is that if its left to the Parents then children won’t learn it all . I think they should learn it up to secondary school and then let them make the decision for themselves .
Joe McHugh should never have been given the post, you need someone with a passion for the Irish language to fight it’s corner….not someone to learn Irish because of his passion for a big paycheck.
Is mise Enda. Níl aon liathróidi agam.
Tá brón orm muintir na hÉireann as ucht as praiseach ceart a rinne mé as an tír. Níl aon meas agam oraibh!
Chomh fada is atá tuarastail mór agam & pinsean níos mó le teacht, tá gach rud ceart go leor. Anois, toddle along & ná bí ag cur isteach orm.
Outside of the manufactured and carefully choreographed narrative rammed down our throats through their media engine, there are many crises happening right now which have worsened since FG/labour entered office.
Was it? Last time I looked at the Eircode website you could see the address in English and Irish. Now whether it is accurate or not is another question!
Is there any chance at all ye might have the auld quote? You know, when ye say somebody said something, could we read the actual words that came of their mouth? I think it’s called journalism.
Enda does not think about a lot of things . at the banking crisis the other day he thought PayPal was a disaster . when it should have been ppars a HSE system that was a scandalous disaster. The Man is a puppet and not a good one at that.
I never understand people commenting on these types of articles in an almost gleeful way “time to let it die”, “get it off life support”, “drain on resources” etc. Why are you all so eager to kill off a part of our cultural identity? It baffles me that anyone could have such strong negative feelings to something that doesn’t adversely affect anyone.
Just take a look at the Welsh model, nobody in Wales is under any illusion about Welsh in their careers or businesses or whatever, but shock horror the Welsh government and people recognise that maybe there’s a bit more to a language than your paycheque.
Just a note as well that just because I’m defending the Irish language doesn’t mean I think it should be compulsory for everyone all the time. I think it’s important we preserve it as part of our cultural identity. I think it’s important that anyone who wants to would be able to learn the language. And I think the people of the Gaeltacht should be able to live their lives through Irish without barriers if they so wish. Why is that such a terrible thing?
It’s amazing that the article here is about the state of Irish as primary language of communities in the Gaeltacht…..In the west, where a decreasing number of people speak it as their main language…… and yet below the article (in good old Irish fashion) most of the comments are about the education system and whether Irish should be compulsory for the LC or JC and the methods of teaching.
Has it occurred to anyone that these might be two loosely related but different issues?
Its like:
Headline: “Irish music industry reports substantial losses”
Comments: “Sure I was taught music poorly in school”
I do see a lose thematic connection, but what the hell does that have to do with the specific issue and focus of the article?: What can or should be undertaken in the Gaeltachts?, ie. not the other 98% of the country the commenters seem solely focused on. I’m sorry, while the education debate outside the Gaeltacht is an important debate, it is a different debate – sometimes, dear readers it’s not “all about you” (or your incompetent teachers or questionable syllabus in secondary school for that matter).
In any event, I’m not at all surprised by Enda’s wilful ignorance to scientifically established facts. It’s comes across like the linguistic equivalent of a climate change denier. All the linguistics experts say one thing, all the graphs and statistics point in one direction, all the activist groups make the same arguments over and over and over again – but “no” says Ends – “the Gaeltachts are no more in rapid decline than the icecaps are rapidly receding”. Who needs empirical facts when you have a “feeling” for these things? Politics.
It’s rather puzzling given that he’s been a TD for 40 years in Mayo, which has a Gaeltacht that has for all intensive purposes collapse with only small pockets surviving (up by Shell pipeline), ye imagine if he was keeping an eye on his own constituency he would know how dire the situation was.
I did all my second level education through Irish (English excluded). I have found that it has no value to me when I completed the Leaving Cert. In my opinion it was a disadvantage in my further education and work – in fact it was a significant disadvantage as I had to look for the English meaning of specific words in later life.
I have no interested in killing Irish but I do think that it has been over-invested relative to the interest that the general population have in Irish.
Powerabbey. I have never agreed with you before, but my spouse had a similar education and was strongly of the belief that it was a disadvantage affecting other subjects.
The teaching of the Irish in schools in the Galltacht isn’t relevant to situation to Gaeltacht. Why do people keep on bringing it up it’s not relevant to the actual topic.
It is relevant however to the overall preservation of the Irish language though. An Ghaeilge can’t survive alone in the Gaeltacht. But I do agree, the gaeltachtaí are in trouble, and require a functional plan to tackle the ongoing decline of Irish as the daily language.
Remember the 20 year plan for Irish? What an utter failure that was. Complete lip service.
If there was an article on this website saying that unemployment in Iorras Aithneach was 40%+ (and high levels of proverty) and that government policies when it came to common European fisheries policy (spanish can have fish as long as our Blue shirted farmers get the grants!) was leading to population decline/language shift in the Cois Farraige Gaeltacht, ye’d still have some bunch of “Dort-speakers” from South Dublin moaning about how Irish was taught in their Bearloirí school.
And which subsidies would these be? Bearloirí like to go about subsidies but they ever seem to have figures to actually lay out. It’s amazing that with all these subsidies that the areas with the highest poverty rates in this state (outside of cities) are in the Gaeltacht. Sure 40% unemployment even during the boom years in parts, the government’s prefered option is they all clear out and than sites can be sold for holiday homes.
Then again the fact is that the state has systematically destroyed the economic base of several Gaeltachtaí by giving away fishing rights in EU negotiations so that the likes of Big farmers can get nice fat cheque from Brussels.
Pádraig Pearse > Quotes Pádraig Pearse quotes (showing 1-5 of 5) “Tír gan teanga, tír gan anam. A country without a language is a country without a soul.” ― Pádraig Pearse
Exact same delusion as Donald Trump’s global warming denial… A vast body of research being produced to show the decline of the Irish Language in all Gaeltacht areas, and the ignorance of the Taoiseach is incredible… Fine Gael have a vested interest in the destruction of our native language.
there will likely be an upsurge in irish over the coming years due to the advent of gaelscoils………………..which offer smaller class sizes and in many cases better educational resources.
personally i think irish should be optional after junior cert.
i am not overly surprised kenny has little interest in protecting the language. his masters at the EU are out to destroy every bit of indigenous culture and ties from the EU member states and making the people more controllable.
Gaelscoileanna having smaller class sizes is a myth. Average class size in Mainstream schools is 24.9 pupils whereas the average class size in Gaelscoileanna is 26.6 pupils (this years statistics – education.ie).
Sur enda kenny thinks the world is gonna end if he doesn’t win the next election, because probably merkel and lagarde told him so, and the gullible fool believes them!
Tá an cheart aige, tá méadú tar éis teacht ar líon na cainteoirí laethúla Gaeilge sa Ghaeltacht. An fadhb ná, tháinig méadú níos mó fós ar líon na Béarlóirí sa Ghaeltacht le linn an tréimhse cheana. Mar sin, bhí laghdú ar céadatán na cainteoirí laethúla Gaeilge sa Ghaeltacht. (Bhí méadú i cúpla Gaeltacht, ar nós Gaeltacht na nDéise, ach ar an iomlán is laghdú a bhí ann.)
“He [presumably Taoiseach Kenny] is right. There was an increase in the number of daily speakers of Irish in the Gaeltacht. The problem is that there was an even bigger increase in the number of English speakers in the Gaeltacht over the same period. Therefore, there was has been a decrease in the percentage of daily Irish speakers in the Gaeltacht (there was an increase in couple of Gaeltacht areas, such as Gaeltacht na nDéise, but overall it was a decrease).”
Interesting, but as far as I understand the sociology/linguistics of it, as the people who compile the speaker number reports contend: if there is a dominant language with ability to be spoken by all, and a smaller language with ability to spoken by fewer: once the number of smaller language speakers drops below about two thirds, it ceases (based on studies elsewhere in the world ) to be used by the public at large in public for most public communication (local shops, sports clubs, school playgrounds etc.) and the dominant language takes over. The smaller language is thus relegated to a language spoken in kitchens and at dinner tables alone. This inhibits the overall development of the language and its overall level of usage: thus if the percentage falls enough regardless of overall numbers the language as a medium of public expression is put under further pressure and this can thus be considered “a crisis”. It’s not much of a Gaeltacht if people are only half the people are only speaking Irish in their homes and English is the language used everywhere in public. Therefore, I would say that a drop in the percentage is still in reality a “crisis” – albeit one of a less black-and-white sort (assuming you are correct).
Of course if the Government actually carried out the recommendations of the Linguistic study on Gaeltacht that was published in 2011 than most of the area termed “Gaeltacht” in Enda’s constituency would have been converted into Galltacht. Then again chunks of Mayo were added to Gaeltacht in 1956 due to political interferences from if I recall the local FG TD’s, even though these areas had already undergone language shift in the previous 20 years.
The problem with making it an option is that no one would take it. In my opinion, the syllabus should be altered to be more up to date, and make it exciting, and oppurtunities outside of school for it to be used!!! Like if the government told us that in 10 years that they could offer 1000 jobs to speakers of the Irish language…. And then make it an option! I wonder how many ppl who work in the Irish culture and heritage sector in Ireland can speak Irish?!
If we invested the €4 Billion spent annually and growing on Irish related activities in other things like jobs, tackling emigration etc we would be a really prosperous country. We are borrowing this money every year to do this and the people are being mortgaged for years on the debt. It’s immoral SF/IRA will spend more and are running the councils which need double the money to do everything in Irish and English. Even temporary Stop signs on roadworks are now in Irish — very few understand them but who cares about safety ?
Total state expenditure for 2015 is circa 50billion are you really try to claim that 10% is spent on the Irish language? If so can you please pass me your crack pipe so I can a toke of the good stuff.
Death toll from Myanmar earthquake rises to over 1,600 people as search for survivors continues
Updated
30 mins ago
Derby
Connacht's late rally comes up short as Munster hold on in Castlebar
The 42
32 mins ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say