You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Irish fast food chain Supermac's. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Supermac's wins judgment cancelling trademark of most 'Mc' foods in Europe

The ‘Mc’ prefix can now only be legitimately used by McDonald’s for chicken nuggets and sandwiches.

IRISH FAST FOOD chain Supermac’s has won a landmark ruling against McDonald’s to cancel the ownership of the ‘Mc’ trademark in the EU.

The judgment from the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) revoked McDonald’s ‘Mc’ trademark on all foods except chicken nuggets and sandwiches. 

This decision was made on 31 July. 

The use of this prefix now has to go through a proof of use test, as requested by Supermac’s. The EUIPO is the agency through which trade marks and designs are registered in the European Union. 

Managing Director of Supermac’s Ireland Pat McDonagh welcomed the ruling and said the company is tired of “trademark bullying”. 

“McDonald’s tried to argue that because they had some products that started with Mc that the term Mc was so synonymous with them that they had the right to own and trademark,” McDonagh said in a statement. 

“We are delighted that the EUIPO found in our favour and that we can now say that we have rid Europe of the McDonald’s self-styled monopoly of the term Mc.”

A McDonald’s spokesperson said the company considers its ‘Mc’ products to be “among its most valuable assets” due to customer recognition. 

“This decision does not impact McDonald’s ability to use its Mc-prefixed trademarks or other trademarks throughout Europe and the world, and McDonald’s will continue to enforce its rights,”  the spokesperson said.   

The EUIPO ruled in January that McDonald’s had not proven genuine use of its Bic Mac trademark as a burger or as a restaurant. They cancelled the use of this trademark in Europe.

This decision was appealed by McDonald’s in March. 

Supermac’s had originally taken the case against McDonald’s after it was blocked from registering its name as a trademark in European countries outside of Ireland due to an objection by McDonald’s. 

“This latest decision by the EUIPO shows that just because McDonald’s has deep pockets and we are relatively small , it doesn’t mean we weren’t going to fight our corner,” McDonagh said. 

We had enough of this trademark bullying and thankfully a mechanism existed whereby McDonald’s will now have to cancel trademarks that they were warehousing as ammunition in a future trade war.

The businessman added that this judgment was a “vindication of small businesses everywhere”. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Karl Doyle
    Favourite Karl Doyle
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:01 AM

McLovin’ it

Mute Elizabeth Hourihane
    Favourite Elizabeth Hourihane
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:08 AM

Supermacs is superclass over Mc Donalds food any day.

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:37 AM

@Elizabeth Hourihane: A burger from supermac’s with fries from McDonald’s and a beer of your choice works well.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:52 PM

@Elizabeth Hourihane: absolutely

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:58 AM

To be fair to McDonald’s, they’ve upped their game in recently. Some of the special burgers aren’t bad at all. Supermacs is just McDonalds for culchies. And before anyone goes off on a huff , I’m a culchie.

Mute *The* Brendan Gordon
    Favourite *The* Brendan Gordon
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:40 PM

@John Quill: nothin culchie about it, supermacs uses better quality ingredients and is better food. There’s a certain subjectivity to taste but the only things Mcdonalds arewell ahead of everyone on are marketing and market presence

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Aug 6th 2019, 3:51 PM

@*The* Brendan Gordon: it’s the kinda place you see fellas falling out of after winning a county final match slobbering into a snatch box with half a carton on milk down their front .

Mute ronano
    Favourite ronano
    Aug 6th 2019, 4:14 PM

@John Quill: snatch box!!!

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Aug 6th 2019, 4:46 PM

@John Quill: McDonalds is just Supermacs for Jackeens

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Aug 6th 2019, 5:35 PM

@John Quill: that curry sauce after a few pints.

Mute Karl Charlie
    Favourite Karl Charlie
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:02 AM

Fair play, supermacs food is much nicer than the shite mcd’s sells

Mute Gary O'Brien
    Favourite Gary O'Brien
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:04 AM

@Karl Charlie: it’s all shite, let’s be honest. We just prefer our own shite over the Americans.

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:12 AM

@Karl Charlie: agree with you totally, in some cases there’s a bit of a wait…but it’s worth it.

Mute thephantomshit
    Favourite thephantomshit
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:13 AM

@Karl Charlie: really? Supermacs food is pretty dodgy.

Mute Leadóg
    Favourite Leadóg
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:14 AM

@Karl Charlie: Relatively speaking.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:06 PM

@Karl Charlie: yes it’s a better class of shite in supermacs. But it’s still shite.

Mute Phil Schueler
    Favourite Phil Schueler
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:32 PM

@Karl Charlie: I agree! And that’s coming from a ‘Yank’ too! The burgers at Supermacs actually taste like real meat.

Mute SilexFlint
    Favourite SilexFlint
    Aug 6th 2019, 2:04 PM

@Sean Leonard: With McDonalds new system there’s a wait too. Used to be be able to go in with a euro, ask for a hamburger and they’d turn around, pick one up and hand it to you. Now you have to get a receipt with a number and wait for them to make it for you.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:11 PM

Yet another fine example of an EU office defending the rights of small (by international standards) Irish businesses against the might of Global Players.

Hopefully, a majority of our friends across the water realise the incredible benefits of EU membership for a country’s overall mental wellbeing, population and economy, before it’s too late!

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:50 PM

@Rory J Leonard: the same eu who want to push through a deal to buy South American beef at the expense of our farmers so the French and Germans can sell cars there?

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:39 PM

@Hardly Normal: Well, given that most of the expenses of our beef farmers are paid by the EU through subsidies, I’m not sure what the problem is.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Aug 6th 2019, 4:49 PM

@George Salter: No, they are your expenses, not the Farmers’. Those subsidies keep the cost down for the consumer.

Mute Adam Hernes
    Favourite Adam Hernes
    Aug 7th 2019, 5:59 AM

@Hardly Normal: When I last checked farming was small percentage of Irish export. Beef production is 1% of that. Ireland is not a farming country anymore! It’s worth to catch up with reality from time to time.

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:07 AM

the only thing in supermacs I like is the chips. .The chicken is tasteless &all the burgers are covered in thousand island dressing

Mute Jesse James
    Favourite Jesse James
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:35 AM

Mc Donald’s Food is far superior to Supermacs any day.

Mute munsterman
    Favourite munsterman
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:02 PM

@Jesse James: Macdonalds is superior to dog food, that’s about it

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:03 PM

@Jesse James: MC Donald’s cardboard food

Mute Karl Charlie
    Favourite Karl Charlie
    Aug 6th 2019, 5:28 PM

@munsterman: ah here dont be insulting dog food now thats not nice

Mute Nial D
    Favourite Nial D
    Aug 6th 2019, 6:11 PM

@Jesse James: you clearly dont like food mate. McDs is horse manure.

Mute Mark Mccormack
    Favourite Mark Mccormack
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:11 AM

Mcdonagh, the clown killer.

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:52 AM

I remember when Supermacs opened in Kilkenny and they started selling ” Doner kebabs” . It was actually a chopped up burger put in pita bread with some sauce and lettuce. Mighty though after a few scoops !

Mute JeremiahMcDonagh
    Favourite JeremiahMcDonagh
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:06 PM

Food they serve is top quality. Higher standard that it’s corporate rivals. Different class! Proud to be Irish

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:40 PM

@JeremiahMcDonagh: U Pat’s brother or something?

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:53 AM

Coming home from The cinema Sunday night popped into McDonald’s, daughter ordered some sort of double cheese burger, I got veggie wrap and fries for take away as store was closing in 30 minutes. When she bit into her burger she noticed that there was no beef patty at all just a salad sandwich! Fries were limp and crap and I was on the jacks at 2:30am after wrap!

Mute Cayde
    Favourite Cayde
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:13 PM

@Michael: I asked for a Seedless bun as I’m allergic to sesame seeds. They gave me a pancake box with a burger and salad and sauces all separate and a knife and fork. No bun to be seen!

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:22 PM

I sense a journal poll could be coming, judging by the comments.
    Which do you prefer, mcdonalds or supermacs?

Mute Cayde
    Favourite Cayde
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:10 PM

In Galway we call it Scuttermacs !) The Irish Mexican food!

Mute JeremiahMcDonagh
    Favourite JeremiahMcDonagh
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:11 PM

@Cayde: that’s great. Up Michael D. Sophisticated Galway….

Mute Daithi Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Daithi Ó Raghallaigh
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:11 AM

I thought I read that judgement a few months ago,

Mute Bob Earner
    Favourite Bob Earner

@Daithi Ó Raghallaigh: From the article: The EUIPO ruled in January that McDonald’s had not proven genuine use of its Bic Mac trademark as a burger or as a restaurant. They cancelled the use of this trademark in Europe.

This decision was appealed by McDonald’s in March.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:02 PM

@Daithi Ó Raghallaigh: you did in march but McDonald appealed it

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:38 AM

Just because they call their burgers sandwiches does the Journal have to?

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:12 PM

@Squiddley Diddley: Sangwidges actually.

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:08 AM

I love Supermac than McDonald’s are horrible chip thin

Mute Mick O'Shea
    Favourite Mick O'Shea
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:59 AM

@Brian Flavin: Thanks Yoda

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:01 PM

@Mick O’Shea: you silly Yoda that Star Wars LoL

Mute Felim O'Rourke
    Favourite Felim O'Rourke

Good senior hurling by McDonagh

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:04 PM

Had Supermacs once, it was alright but I prefer McDonalds.

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:42 PM

Went recently to an InAndOut in states – and thats how a burger chain should be done- Supermacs and McD have a lot to do to come close to making a good burger.

Mute John Hanrahan
    Favourite John Hanrahan
    Aug 6th 2019, 2:51 PM

Well done Pat McDonnagh.

Mute Cindy Brolin
    Favourite Cindy Brolin
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:19 PM

Supermac’s may have won this ruling, but they’ve lost me as a customer. Their latest delivery menu in Dublin has gone to the dogs completely, along with the prices.

Mute Steph Ní Dufaigh
    Favourite Steph Ní Dufaigh
    Aug 6th 2019, 4:19 PM

I just don’t get the fascination with Supermacs, really over priced. Only thing going for them is the dressed chips. Couldn’t eat the chips without sauce, much like their burgers& chicken, they’re dry and tasteless.

Now what’s really criminal is McDonald’s getting rid of the fudge sundae!

Mute Neil Farrell
    Favourite Neil Farrell
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:28 PM

Supermc shite wins against Mcshite…

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:27 PM

Glad to see McDonald’s no longer using plastic straws, but more needs to be done to combat climate change.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Aug 6th 2019, 12:37 PM

@Noel Martin: Even though the cardboard ones can’t be recycled and the plastic ones can?

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:10 PM

@Noel Martin: they will change back to plastic straws because it is easier to recycle than the paper straws. The sooner the better because using the paper straws with a milkshake is like drinking it through a sock.

Mute Damien Hawe
    Favourite Damien Hawe
    Aug 6th 2019, 2:35 PM

@John Scott: They can but in the vast majority of cases they won’t. The cardboard ones are biodegradable so they’re better.

Mute John O'Shea
    Favourite John O'Shea
    Aug 6th 2019, 11:28 PM

Give me a whopper any day

Mute John Cunningham
    Favourite John Cunningham
    Aug 6th 2019, 1:48 PM

Boora Bog is the oney man

Mute Colm Walsh
    Favourite Colm Walsh
    Aug 6th 2019, 7:59 PM

Delighted with this! I stopped eating in MacDonalds this year when I found out they employ companies who use prison labour in the US. They lack a moral compass and resort to exploitative business practices.

Mute Steven Smyth
    Favourite Steven Smyth
    Aug 7th 2019, 9:53 AM

If you go to the jacks afterwards is that a McShite?