You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

"Never say never" ... Michael McDowell hints at possible return to politics

McDowell made a definitive statement upon losing his seat in 2007 that his time as a public representative was now over.

FORMER TÁNAISTE AND Progressive Democrats leader Michael McDowell hinted at a possible return to politics this morning, although he stopped short on speculating how that might occur.

Asked by Miriam O’Callaghan on RTÉ Radio 1 this morning whether he would rule out a return to representative politics, he said:

“Like Charles Stewart Parnell I will never say never.

“I do believe that people who actually like their State, like their Constitution like their democracy should never say ‘I will never do anything’.

“The odds of my being able to play any useful part in the future are diminished from what they were at one stage but I would love to do whatever I can in public life in whatever way I can to make this country work.

And if I have something to offer and if the opportunity came up I would avail of it.

The former Attorney General and justice minister, who has returned to a successful private legal career in recent years, made a definitive statement upon losing his seat in 2007 that his time as a public representative was now over.

The former PD lost his seat to John Gormley of the Greens in that year’s general election.

Earlier in this morning’s radio interview, he said he had had “no part whatsoever” in the formation of either Lucinda Creighton’s Renua Ireland party or the alliance of independents being put together by TD Shane Ross.

Read: Michael McDowell doesn’t think much of the government’s plans to reform the guards

Read: McDowell’s big book and 17 tweets from last night’s Seanad referendum debate 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Jun 1st 2017, 10:55 PM

It was the state’s choice to waste that money, but then they’re good at that

Mute abcyz
    Favourite abcyz
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:02 PM

No money to house homeless individuals & families but lots to waste on setting up Irish Water and eircodes while Labour & FG cut rent allowance and medical cards off the most ill children during their 5 regressive budgets

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:07 PM

@stephen kavanagh: I used to see one guy on here, stating how they were offered a more simple geographical based system called loc8 for free. You have to wonder was it all a political backscrarch or even a brown envelope issue.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:12 PM

@Greg Blake: Definitely, it’s just Irish Water in another form, huge investment for very minimal return

Mute Richard Cronin
    Favourite Richard Cronin
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:52 PM

@Greg Blake: is that loca8 thing the same as the UK cause even though my neighbours haven’t lived in Birmingham for years they still know there Dudley postcode

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:31 AM

@Richard Cronin: i dont know the format but I assume because he said its based on the physical map, like the UK, it would start with an area/city/or grid reference code and break down further to the exact location, so the numbering is in a sequenced grid and you could easily guess a code if you knew a nearby one. In Germany any address can be found in an orderly six digit numerical code, and they’re massive.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jun 2nd 2017, 3:56 AM

@stephen kavanagh: The buck always ends up with the leader?

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:26 AM

@Alois Irlmaier: I still use LOC8 it works beautifully with my Garmin and other satnavs. Those lovely people have amended their site to allow you to enter an Eircode and get the LOC8 code back.

EIrcode ONLY works for buildings. LOC8 works for anywhere in Ireland, south and north, you could be at the top of a mountain and be able to give your LOC8 code.

It’s logical and mathematical. Unlike the Eircode system, if you get a digit wrong, you are still going to be very close.

If you’ve never used it, check it out, it’s brilliant.

http://www.myloc8ion.com/

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:10 AM

@Greg Blake: In Germany, the postal codes do not give an individual address but an area.

Mute Sandra Conway
    Favourite Sandra Conway
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:50 PM

@Kevin Dillon: Exactly right, and in most cases this is a very large area. The town I grew up in has the same postcode for all areas in it, and they have about 25,000 inhabitants.

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky
    Jun 1st 2017, 10:56 PM

I’m really not sure what people’s reluctance to use these is?

Why would you not want your address to be more accurate?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jun 1st 2017, 10:58 PM

@Abbi Cranky: I agree. When you live in a rural area it can be very handy.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jun 1st 2017, 10:59 PM

Cus the gubberment came up wit it!!!
    Rabble, rabble….

Mute macooper
    Favourite macooper
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:00 PM

@Abbi Cranky: couldn’t agree more
    Can’t understand why people won’t use them
    Particularly in rural Ireland where their use when an ambulance is required could literally be the difference between life and death
    It’s absolutely beyond me why people won’t use them
    I work with the public and when I ask for their eircode for their address verification they look at me like I’ve two heads .. just learn them and use them!

Mute The Thinker
    Favourite The Thinker

@macooper: it’s dead handy, when you live on a road with no house numbers. People are just whingers and always looking for something to complain about

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:15 PM

@Abbi Cranky: use them with every delivery. Have yet to find a courier that doesn’t ring for directions.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:51 PM

@Abbi Cranky: it’s not accurate. It’s a random number. How about a number for each road and a number in a sequence.

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:06 AM

@Abbi Cranky: A postcode is useful, but An Post paid a company to create an convoluted system, instead of utilising current place names.

Also why was it called Eircode and not just postcode, like everywhere else? Because they plan on selling that data to their ‘Eircode Providers’.

Mute Conrad Shields
    Favourite Conrad Shields
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:14 AM

@prop joe: It is great having a Post Code for each address, and for delivery companies with a package for a specific address it is perfect, but your Postman isn’t going to be delivering to a specific address, he had a route which follows a row of houses and he is not going to be checking if the Post Code matches the written address (An Post should have their automated systems do that).
    As an example, the Eircode for the building next to mine in City West, whem you change the last digit from 1 to 0 or 2, the other addresses are either 5 or 20 miles away.

Mute Noirin Kavanagh
    Favourite Noirin Kavanagh
    Jun 2nd 2017, 1:55 AM

@Abbi Cranky: happy to answer that one, Abbi, my Eircode says I live in Sligo when I am in Leitrim! Bringing in a system making houses easy to locate made sense for the likes of DHL, but was otherwise unnecessary as local postmen and women know their locality and who the householder is generally. Since DHL can’t use it without paying for a whole new system it was utterly pointless and yet another waste of taxpayer’s money. FG have a great track record of correctly identifying a problem, and then using the problem to make money for private enterprise without alleviating the problem in the slightest, or even making it worse. What might 40 mill have done in our health system, or to help the homeless, or to reduce queues waiting for treatment?

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Jun 2nd 2017, 7:16 AM

@Conrad Shields: It’s ridiculous not to have them in sequence. First number every area, then number every road. Then have a sequence of numbers. Odd numbers south and east, even numbers on north and west of the road. That way you can find an address easily. Not just some random number where a parcel or letter can be delivered to the incorrect address because it’s difficult to know which house is which.

Mute Rex Banner
    Favourite Rex Banner
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:11 AM

@Abbi Cranky: I would be happy to provide a reason.

The rural Eircodes are entirely inaccurate for a lot of rural homes. My eircode is entirely wrong and cannot be changed. I tried ordering a parcel at Christmas using my Eircode and a well known delivery firm. The package ended up on my cousins front lawn 15 miles away in another parish….

I receive 100+ parcels a year using my non Eircode address… all of which find me just fine.

Mute Anne Parsons Dunne
    Favourite Anne Parsons Dunne
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:51 AM

@Abbi Cranky: I memorized it when they came out first but no-one ever asked for it and I’ve completely forgotten it now

Mute James O Donoghue
    Favourite James O Donoghue
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:04 AM

@Abbi Cranky: I use it when ordering online.i think it’s great. Butmight just be ambulance that use it for addresses. I don’t think other emergency serviceshave access to it

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:51 PM

@Abbi Cranky: It’s pointless if you live in Dublin. It’s now just your old postcode plus 4 random characters that don’t actually help anyone find your door – I’m not going to the effort of updating my address for no benefit.

Mute Tricia Nolan
    Favourite Tricia Nolan

Integration with google maps have made them much more relevant and helpful. Spot on for finding addresses!

Mute DeeJay
    Favourite DeeJay
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:11 AM

@Tricia Nolan: I wouldn’t call it integration. It will show on a map the location of an eircode but it won’t give you the address.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:54 PM

@Tricia Nolan: I’ve found that Google maps doesn’t always get it right from an Eircode.

Mute james doyle
    Favourite james doyle
    Jun 1st 2017, 10:56 PM

I use it to fill something in for ordering online

Mute Susannah
    Favourite Susannah
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:12 PM

I still just use 0000

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:16 PM

@Susannah: funny?

Mute Susannah
    Favourite Susannah
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:19 PM

@Fank Pulman: Huh? Wasn’t trying to be funny, if that’s what you meant. I’m just used to the old 0000 post code. Old habits die hard. Plus, I have no idea what my eircode is.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:41 PM

@Susannah: I do the same – some websites require a postcode, but any code will do ..

Mute Susannah
    Favourite Susannah
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:48 PM

@EvieXVI: I don’t do a huge amount of online shopping, but you’re right, any code will do. I’ve never needed my eircode, but I suppose I probably should get off my backside and learn it :)

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Jun 2nd 2017, 2:09 AM

@Susannah: I only use it online also. Maybe, as an incentive to people to use it, they should introduce a Post Code Lottery like they have in the UK. People will always jump at the chance to win a few bob.

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:46 AM

@EvieXVI: I normally put in ar5e instead of 0000

Mute John003
    Favourite John003

Eircode seems to lack all common sense and logic….Code has little connection to where you live…… Missed opportunity to create a useful system….Not even Sat Navigation systems can use it…..

Mute Tricia Nolan
    Favourite Tricia Nolan

@John003: actually google maps uses them and they are really accurate. It’s a much quicker way of finding addresses

Mute Jason Pierce
    Favourite Jason Pierce
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:54 PM

@John003: that was the argument when they first came out. Now every courier is using them. I use it every day. For directions to my house and it works perfectly.
    In fact it is one of the best post codes systems in Europe. As it is specific to every house and not a cluster of houses like in most countries.
    We need to grow with this, it’s here for the future and will benefit from it.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:55 PM

@Tricia Nolan: if it is actually your house that the eircode matches up to that is…

Mute tomeenoldstock
    Favourite tomeenoldstock
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:56 PM

@Tricia Nolan: I use address finder app on my phone. It uses eircodes and then offers me the choice of using google maps or my installed sat nav to navigate. Really find eircodes useful

Mute Tricia Nolan
    Favourite Tricia Nolan
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:04 AM

@Stephen Devlin: Have you any examples of an Eircode that doesn’t doesn’t match a house on google maps?

Mute Phil Quinn
    Favourite Phil Quinn
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:44 AM

Ah Tricia dont be getting in the way of a good moan

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:54 AM

@Tricia Nolan: D08 XY00 – address 4 InnsCourt – points to a building 2 doors away – and there many reports of wrong/missing Eircodes

Also this Eircode cannot be found at all on Google
    P43 AK84

You should be aware that nothing to do with Eircode was ever checked so nobody knows if the right Eircodes were put in the right doors by An Post – this makes it clear that it is entirely likely that many were put in the wrong doors:
    https://soundcloud.com/cado-bell/cork-gary-eircode

Mute Steve Smith
    Favourite Steve Smith
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:11 PM

While I believe the system with out ANY doubt could have been implemented cheaper, it is becoming useful. The integration into google maps has made it a no brainier and should be part of all sat nav OS. I live in the sticks and the amount of time it has saved giving the ole “take the 1st left then very next right at the fork…” is great and brings people straight to the door! Speaking to the logistics drivers they agree it has saved them time and hassle by using the system for locating delievery addresses….

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:58 AM
    Mute Alfonso
    Favourite Alfonso
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:01 PM

I think it’s still in transition. Can see it being used more and more over the next 10 years.

Mute Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Favourite Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:20 PM

A letter was delivered to the wrong house, despite having the Eircode on it? How can the Eircode help put a letter throguh the right letterbox? That’s what house/apartment numbers are for. A postman cannot be expected to read these nonsensical codes to figure out which house is which.

They’re great for SatNavs and Google Maps, but no use for the postal system as they make no sense to human eyes.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jun 2nd 2017, 6:00 AM

@Donncha Ó Coileáin: also the article doesn’t tell us if the letter had an error in the house number or the postman was human and made a mistake. Or if the letter was registered or not.

Had the eircode been 1 digit out he never would have seen the letter.

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:10 AM
    Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:03 PM

The fact that the national postal service simply refuses to use a method to make addresses more accurate is actually quite disgraceful

Mute colin duffy
    Favourite colin duffy

@Dean: you’d want too get your facts right Dean!

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:47 PM

In fairness it was embarrassing that we didn’t have post codes, however as per normal in this country, they managed to take something that works extremely well in most other countries, and make a complete bags of it.

Mute Ian Murphy
    Favourite Ian Murphy
    Jun 2nd 2017, 1:01 AM

@Aging Lothario: No, it actually works better than other countries. It’s more accurate.

Also, people complaining it’s not sequential.

Why do they need to have their neighbours code to be similar to their own? The fact that it is individual to house means it is ideal for sat navs and phones and that would not be the case in other countries’ system.

Mute Gary Rowe
    Favourite Gary Rowe
    Jun 2nd 2017, 7:35 AM

@Ian Murphy: care to back up any of that tosh with facts?

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:12 AM

@Ian Murphy: No it does not – it was designed as a POSTcode to sort mail to the exclusion of other working and proven codes but it is NOT usable as a POSTcode – listen:

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:02 AM

@Ian Murphy: unfortunately what you suggest is the opposite from the truth – an experts opinion:
    http://www.globaladdress.org/wp-content/uploads/downloads/2015/06/Eircode-Final-Rev-11.pdf

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns

Ive never used it & if I order something online I put ” none” for my postcode & it arrives “postcode none” just another ripoff of the taxpayers!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:14 PM

38 million euros wasted but I suppose it was small fry compared to Irish Water debacle and a figure that can’t be quantified for offloading state assets by Noonan and his bagmen.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jun 1st 2017, 10:54 PM

No

Mute James Keane
    Favourite James Keane
    Jun 1st 2017, 10:57 PM

40 million? Jeeze

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:15 PM

A pointless system, your next door neighbour has a totally different number! Designed to fail? Slow Clap, well done! Might as well track their mobile numbers, on a positive note I hear suspenders for men’s socks are making a comeback!

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:47 PM

Can I get an ambulance for the house with the blue door? It’s light blue now not dark blue. If you get to the crossroads you’ve come too far. There’s a brown horse in the field opposite who normally looks over the wall. You can’t miss it. He’s white around the head. The last time we’d a delivery the guy was driving around looking for a brown horse and didn’t realise he wasn’t totally brown.

Mute Rose
    Favourite Rose
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:41 AM

I find them brilliant. If u trying to find house in rural area. Put the eircode into Google on ur phone and it will direct u to the house .

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:14 AM

@Rose: as long as you’re only going to the mathematical middle of properties where a postman calls and are prepared to drive through walls and ditches to get there….

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham

Wasted the opportunity to have a system based on GPS and grid area, instead giving numbers jumbled out of a hat for all the thought put into it. Waste of money.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jun 2nd 2017, 6:51 AM

@Paul Cunningham: exactly. Your average can pinpoint you to a room in your house with GPS.

Not to mention the annual costs to administer this system.

Mute Mary Mary
    Favourite Mary Mary
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:56 AM

It’s the best invention ever for the countryside with no house numbers so that couriers can deliver online shopping parcels.

Mute Ian Moloney
    Favourite Ian Moloney
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:42 PM

When pat Spillane said they could find him by addressing letters to “Bollix” co Kerry, or words to that effect, who needs post codes?

Jun 1st 2017, 10:57 PM

Ridiculous system. Another waste of money.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:26 AM

@Deborah Behan: maybe, but the biggest obstacle to normalising it is an post – every other delivery company is using it ok, and while the code is convoluted and non-sensible, it is accurate. I wouldn’t have picked it, but it does what it is supposed to do.

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:20 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: truth is in many cases it is not accurate. For instance the company that claims to have designed Eircode gave themselves D08 XY00 as their code. Their office is 4 InnsCourt, Wintavern Street but the code points to a point in the middle of a building 2 doors away. And more than that – if you navigate to it by Google you are brought to a road at the back from which there is no entry even to the wrong building.
    There are many examples of this – Eircode was never tested – check yourself!

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:24 AM
    Mute Paul O'Flynn
    Favourite Paul O'Flynn
    Jun 2nd 2017, 3:08 AM

Watched on the an post tracker as a parcel with correct Eircode but missing townland sent all around the country and then back abroad to sendee. When I rang An Post they said they don’t recognise Eircodes and there was nothing they could do! Imagine trying to explain to a foreigner that Irish post don’t recognise post codes

Mute James Butler
    Favourite James Butler
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:50 PM

Very easy to find the correct address especially in business parks and industrial estate’s.

Mute Morizy
    Favourite Morizy
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:51 PM

If they delivered my post more quickly Yes! But at the moment it serves absolutely no purpose like the people who run this kip.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

38 million euros wasted but I suppose it was small fry compared to Irish Water debacle and a figure that can’t be quantified for offloading state assets by Noonan and his bagmen.

Mute Gordon Nash
    Favourite Gordon Nash
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:11 PM

What about these new stamps with no value on them? If there’s an obvious way to decipher how many you need on an envelope then I’ve missed it.

Jun 1st 2017, 11:32 PM

@Gordon Nash: ye I noticed that .. what’s that all about ?

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:38 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: so they can raise the price without having to print new stamps…

Jun 2nd 2017, 12:59 AM

@Nick Caffrey: makes sense I suppose. .

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Favourite eastsmer #IRExit
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:52 AM

Unfortunately Eircode is only suitable for buildings.
    That is a big drawback, the opportunity was there to make or use a universally
    useable locator code which could have been used for many other purposes including safety of life at sea for example.
    As it turns out it is now only used for taxing purposes with a database of houses that are being taxed by the ‘local’ ‘property’ tax.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jun 2nd 2017, 6:53 AM

@eastsmer #IRExit: only of course they took years thinking about it. Revenue just did it

Mute databackup
    Favourite databackup
    Jun 2nd 2017, 1:48 AM

it’s actually a fantastic system, anpost say they dont need it. however their “blackbox” method of finding houses was a monopoly, other operators can now deliver mail in Ireland a lot easily, parcel operators are currently cannibalising anpost market share. Tom http://www.citymarketing.ie/

Mute Brianán McBride
    Favourite Brianán McBride
    Jun 2nd 2017, 2:52 AM

The Eircode is brilliant, each house has their own code, I know both my own and parents off by heart and have used it in emergency, makes life a lot easier for ambulance and other emergency vehicles, even the app wave recognises eircode and brings you right to the door.

Mute Brianán McBride
    Favourite Brianán McBride
    Jun 2nd 2017, 2:52 AM

@Brianán McBride: Waze

Mute RiainOg
    Favourite RiainOg
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:13 AM

An post doesn’t use them? Really? Well then what the F was the point then!!

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:50 PM

Where’s I did until an important letter was delivered to my neighbour. The post codes are not in sequence time to scrap them or follow a sequence.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jun 2nd 2017, 7:34 AM

So the main bulk of the positive comments are around finding houses in rural areas. But loc8 had offered that for free and were illegally removed from tender because of their turnover.

The other main point being An Post not using them. Assume it would costs millions to update their systems for what benefit? The sorting office seems to work and to realistically enable the postman they would need to frank the actual address into each letter.

It will eventually gain acceptance but as usual we accept low standards.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:05 PM

I have just been told that my insurance company will not give me a renewal quote because the property does not have a eircode.

The funny bit is I have to apply to An Post to get one????

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:35 PM

@P.J. Nolan: What planet are you on. Just go to the eircode site and find your number. You don’t have to “apply” for It!

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jun 2nd 2017, 3:06 AM

@Nick Caffrey:
    Eh?? I did, it doesn’t have one! I emailed eircode and they told me I would have to apply to An Post to have my address, which is 15 years old, included on their geo- directory which is updated to eircode every 3 months.

Mute Stephen Kelly
    Favourite Stephen Kelly

Allianz insurance won’t insure a car without an éircode.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:23 PM

Boycott them so, they are not cheapest in the market!

Mute Nydon
    Favourite Nydon
    Jun 2nd 2017, 1:14 AM

@Stephen Kelly: can’t find my car’s Eircode – where would it be? :)

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:34 AM

@Nydon: there a problem with this: my eircode seems to have my estate associated with a nearby main road. Insurance company didn’t honour their online quotation on the basis we were not on the main road, but in a side estate – even though you need to validate the eircode. There is no option to update/correct the eircode database.

Mute astjan
    Favourite astjan
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:04 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: Actually there is option to correct the eircode. Check their website. You can call them and correct the location or address if it’s wrong.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jun 3rd 2017, 12:40 AM

@astjan:
    I tried that to get my house included (it didn’t have an eircode) and they sent me to An Post!

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Jun 2nd 2017, 6:16 AM

They’re a great job. Put the number into Google maps and you get the exact location.

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:28 AM

@niall: not always the case – put this Eircode into Google Maps and see where it gets you:
    P43 AK84

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:51 AM

Bahahahahah! Only in Ireland!

Mute Paul Kelly
    Favourite Paul Kelly
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:44 AM

2 letters in mine are “x” and “K” , not even in the Irish alphabet

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:51 AM

@Paul Kelly: Your point is?

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:08 AM

Not in the traditional maybe, but in the modern one we’ve words like xileafón.

Not that it matters either way.

Mute Brian Nagle
    Favourite Brian Nagle
    Jun 2nd 2017, 5:35 AM

I work in An Post and I use them when I need to

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:11 AM
    Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Jun 2nd 2017, 3:38 AM

Interesting poll. One option for yes, two options that are both no and one option for sometimes. The difference beteeen ‘yes’ and ‘no’ would be much different if the options were simply yes, no or sometimes.

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:10 AM
    Mute Sandra Conway
    Favourite Sandra Conway
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:52 PM

I refuse to use Eircode, because it “forces” us to provide an incorrect County (in Shannon). Every time Eircode is included in letters to use, Co. Clare (which we are clearly located in) is crossed out and Co. Limerick written on it.
    We were told, while geographically we belong to Co. Clare, for Eircode sorting logic, we belong to Co. Limerick.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:12 AM

Loc8 has my address correct, so that is what I use.

Mute Seamus Doyle
    Favourite Seamus Doyle
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:17 AM

I am a Postman if somebody sends a letter with a postcode alone we have no way of checking it.

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:12 AM
    Mute Vincent van Daal
    Favourite Vincent van Daal
    Jun 2nd 2017, 6:07 AM

Not too long ago had emergency services on the phone and even they didn’t have a clue…

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:47 AM

In the UK, you can address an envelope with just the house number or name and the Post Code and your letter will be delivered to the correct address.

Try doing that in Ireland with an Eircode. If your envelope arrives at all, it will take several months and be plastered with stickers saying incorrect address used.

Mute Zx5vZulB
    Favourite Zx5vZulB
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:30 AM

Its this kind of ridiculous, backward, proprietory thinking which drives civilians all mad. What was goimg through the heads of the muppet civil servants who decided to introduce area codes which cannot be easily remembered or referenced? So much money wasted at the tax payers expense. Who is responsible for the FAILURE called eircode? Is anyone accountable for this horse sheet?

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:11 AM

I don’t use, because an post insists my correct address is wrong.
    Eircode has both my townland and county wrong.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Jun 1st 2017, 11:23 PM

When asked for it

Mute Paul Kelly
    Favourite Paul Kelly
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:50 AM
    Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

I don’t like repeating myself but I suppose sometimes my fat fingers let me down.

Mute Martina Keogh
    Favourite Martina Keogh
    Jun 2nd 2017, 2:30 PM

My aunt sent a letter to me with eir code as it was rural area. She got it back* return to sender* was never delivered to my eir code address. I use old system since as obvious an post doesn’t bother.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Jun 2nd 2017, 1:06 AM

If only they could be used on Sat Nav it would make them infinitely better

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:33 AM

@Tom Collins: it’s a longer way round, but you can enter the Eircode into

http://www.myloc8ion.com/

Get the LOC8 code and enter that into your satnav.

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:30 AM

@Jane Alford: also see http://www.loc8codeapps.com

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:59 PM

@Gary Delaney: Yes, I know about those, the website has them on the home page if that is your preferred method of access, you can download them

Mute Dermot Keogh
    Favourite Dermot Keogh
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:28 AM

I use the post code every day, best thing ever developed for finding addresses

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 11:21 AM

@Dermot Keogh: hardly – lat/long has more capability than Eircode!

Mute Stuart Wootten
    Favourite Stuart Wootten
    Jun 2nd 2017, 1:04 PM

I was living in the UK when they introduced them way back. They had a 2 tier postal system with 1st class letters set to arrive the following day. 2nd class letters took 2 – 3 days. Any letter without a post code automatically went 2 class regardless of stamp value. People soon learned to use the code.

Mute Conor Flynn
    Favourite Conor Flynn
    Jun 2nd 2017, 1:54 PM

I have to say I use them. Think they are brilliant for deliveries and that sort of thing now that it’s integrated with Google maps especially if you live in the country side.

Mute Daniel Scott
    Favourite Daniel Scott

Funny because Post Logistics requires the use of an Eircode but their insurance site doesn’t. It’s a case of having the funding to upgrade your systems to use them and An Post are losing money on traditional mail.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jun 2nd 2017, 3:42 PM

The irony is that An Post helped develop Eircode. An Post’s GeoDirectory address database, also used for TV licence inspection, contributed to the Eircode system.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Jun 2nd 2017, 5:38 PM

Works great in rural areas. Community First Responders find them essential for finding a rural residence in an emergency as with Google maps it directs you straight there. The alternative is “turn left after Connies Cross and then 2nd right after blue gate, drive half a mile and look for stone pillars then turn right, etc” Whatever flaws the eircode system have are nothing vompared to that alternative. MAKE SURE YOUR GRANNY KNOWS HER EIRCODE.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:22 AM

I only ever used it ordering a Domino’s.

Mute Ken Mac Intyre
    Favourite Ken Mac Intyre
    Jun 2nd 2017, 9:49 AM

i got a demand to renew my tv license last winter but the address was wrong ( and had no postcode) I phoned up to give the correct address and gave the lady who answered the phone my correct addesss and postcode , she said ” ah sure we dont use those” UNBELIEVABLE !

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:13 AM
    Mute Alan Rothwell
    Favourite Alan Rothwell
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:02 PM

I think anyone who lives in a rural area should know their EirCode. Stick it to the inside of your front door. It makes things so much easier for the emergency services to find you, so why wouldn’t you?!

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 12:40 PM

@Alan Rothwell: if they are to use it for emergency services they should not “know” it BUT
    1. Check that it is correct first (many are not)
    2. Check that if used in Google it brings someone to the right entrance/access point
    3. Don’t try and remember it as you will get it wrong under pressure. Place it where others have access to it if needed and make sure the correct address is written with it as a caller will be asked to verify that with the Eircode
    4. Think through how you will communicate your location if you are not at a place that has an Eircode (Eircode is only for buildings that a postman calls to and many rural buildings do NOT have one!)

Eircode was not designed for Emergency use – that’s just an after thought. The Emergency services were not involved in the design or in testing it before roll-out. No process of checking eircodes after they were delivered to buildlings by An Post was ever undertaken and this whole story emerges from the fact that An Post can deliver to the wrong building – Eircode or no Eircode!

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jun 2nd 2017, 11:56 PM

Apparently about E30 m was wasted on this fiasco, and that was by a F G outfit. Remember they gave out a lot about Martin Cullen and the Voting Machines one time. This along with Irish Water is the worst scandal of modern times.

Mute Colin Preston James
    Favourite Colin Preston James
    Jun 4th 2017, 2:26 PM

I still don’t understand how it cost 38E Million to assign numbers to each home and promote it, that being said i think it’s sad that An Post and other services won’t acknowledge the eircode as a genuine postcode/zipcode, we didn’t have a post code for many years and now we have one and it doesn’t even matter, it does make things easier for international purchases and signing up to things that require a post code instead of the generic 00000, but it’s not being implemented and it has the potential to be great, the reason many don’t even bother with the eircode is because it doesn’t matter for post, you will still get it regardless of if theres no post code or the eircode, if An Post had said that they will be only accepting post with the Eircode on it people would have had to remember theirs, which was mailed to every home and could be checked online in one minute.

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Favourite Andrew O'Beirne
    Jun 3rd 2017, 11:12 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: so you expect a postal worker to memorise everyone’s Eircode? Despite already having the local knowledge to deliver post accurately to about 99.5%.
    Eircode hasn’t been used to date by an post workers other than by machines in the sorting offices, and it never ever will be used by drivers. It’s fine for courier drivers who don’t know the people or the area, but not an Post who have the same route day in day out

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:34 AM

I did think it was a stupid concept – not any more.
    I have the Autoaddress App on my phone, absolutely brilliant!
    Trying to deliver something or go someplace you have never been to before – just key in the
    Eircode and it takes you to the door.

Mute Al Young
    Favourite Al Young
    Jun 2nd 2017, 8:29 AM

Eircode doesn’t work with Sat Navs but is super accurate using Google maps, so I reckon Google should have contributed to the development costs of the system.

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:14 AM

@Al Young: so where does Eircode P43 AK84 get you on Google?

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Jun 2nd 2017, 10:39 AM

@Gary Delaney: Good point there Gary. Google can’t find it so gives the best guess at Blanch. Eircode says Cork…..

I use Eircode for deliveries as it can’t hurt. The fact that Loc8 was offered for free and refused doesn’t surprise me. Same thing happened with water meters. Can’t give a brown envelope when something is offered for free.

Mute Gary Delaney
    Favourite Gary Delaney
    Jun 2nd 2017, 11:19 AM

@Reuben Gray: and in that case a visitor will not know the difference bwteen Blanch or Cork until starts to ask questions after about 30-40Km!

They are making it up as they go along BUT to cover their skins they have bounced 999′s into using it without any verification of codes or process to ensure new/wrong codes are put in/corrected on databases quickly.
    Also 10′s of 1000′s of 999 calls annually are to non Eircode locations & that is ignored. Some of those locations are buildings where people work/recreate/learn/are hospitalised but Eircode does not cater for them!

Mute Dermot Keogh
    Favourite Dermot Keogh
    Jun 2nd 2017, 7:59 PM

You seem to have a lot to say and all useless