You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

ESPN wrote a big feature on Conor McGregor and its depiction of Dublin is getting torn to shreds

“Crossing the wrong street has traditionally been reason enough for an ass-whipping.”

ESPN MAGAZINE’S ‘FIGHTING Issue’ comes out on August 21 and – unsurprisingly given his bout against Floyd Mayweather is just five days later – Conor McGregor is gracing its cover.

The splash talks about his “dangerous road” to Mayweather:

The longread cover story is written by renowned American sportswriter Wright Thompson and delves into the Dublin gym scene, McGregor’s mood in the run-up to the fight and his roots in Crumlin.

The rather hyperbolic depiction of Dublin has come under fire since the article appeared online yesterday. Particularly this passage:

The Crumlin Road sounds like it’s the setting of a hip hop rivalry that would beat out the Tupac/Biggie feud for sheer brutality:

It’s a clannish, parochial place. Crossing the wrong street has traditionally been reason enough for an ass-whipping.
Men have had to drop dates off at bus stops instead of walking them all the way home. About 60 boxing clubs still dot the city, training kids to defend themselves and their block, each gym a world unto itself.
The neighboring, rival communities of Crumlin and Drimnagh are within the gritty Dublin 12 postcode, separated only by Crumlin Road, which runs on an east-west diagonal.

The piece itself is over 5,000 words long and is being widely praised outside of Ireland.

However, for Irish readers, this portrayal of Dublin as a war-torn gangland has been coming in for some criticism.

ESPN themselves shared the article on Twitter and the replies were telling.

One Dubliner said they found the article to be “offensive” and “inaccurate”.

While another said it was “hilarious”, adding that the area is in no way like a “war zone”.

crossing ESPN ESPN

Phrases like “turf” and “projects” are littered throughout, and many of the sections about McGregor’s hometown have raised the eyebrows of some readers.

Any mysteries about him can be solved on his home turf: an area named Crumlin, built in the 1930s just south of Dublin’s centre, when the government tore down the inner-city tenements and needed a new place to house the poor. The Irish revolutionary writer Brendan Behan was one of those moved there, and he described his new home as a place ‘where they eat their young.’

There’s been no response from Wright Thompson to the controversy as of yet.

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Written by David Elkin and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2017/08/img2-thejournal-634.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3536286" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:38 PM

Lived in the Bronx for a couple of years in an area run by the Bloods. Had to walk through Crips territory on the way to the subway (undergound). In my local park you had the Gorilla Brims, the Mac Ballers, Latin Kings, Trinitarios, MS-13 and the Gangster Disciples, the Mexican Mafia ran the corner shop and the Colombians cast a long shadow over the hood, but let me tell you nothing ever prepared me for that summer spent in Dublin. Many’s the night I lay awake in my Dalkey apartment wishing I was back in the safe environs of Throgs Neck, but what the heck, I lived to tell the tale.

Mute mark kenny
    Favourite mark kenny
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:40 PM

@Emmet Dillane:

Haha good one.Sounds like the Warriors cult classic movie set in New York – The Baseball Furies,The Orphans and trying to make it back to Coney Island via the Subway.Great movie.

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:47 PM

@mark kenny:
    Great movie. Reminds me of negotiating my way up Ballybeg High Street after the pub on Saturday night.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:06 PM

McGregor projects the image himself that he is victimised for being Irish so I wouldn’t be surprised if this claptrap came from him.

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Favourite Michael Geraghty
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:56 PM

@gjpb: in some of Dublins most notorious fueds, feuding families have literally lived across the road. Constant fighting for just crossing the street. The article is more accurate than you think.

Mute Philip King
    Favourite Philip King
    Aug 8th 2017, 10:11 PM

@Michael Geraghty: have to call bullshit in that comment.

Aug 8th 2017, 10:18 PM

@Michael Geraghty: ye I think you’re talking about when the kids have a fight and the mothers are screaming back and forth from their front doors at each other …

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Favourite Michael Geraghty
    Aug 8th 2017, 10:45 PM

@Philip King: the sheriff street gangland fued was neighbouring families of only a few house separating them with a garda car literally parked between the two. Different families in the area aligned to each other. There was around 7 gangland murders from that.

Mute Simon Dottcom
    Favourite Simon Dottcom
    Aug 9th 2017, 6:39 AM

@Michael Geraghty: you misspelled feud

Mute Geoff
    Favourite Geoff
    Aug 9th 2017, 12:24 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: The Crumlin/Drimnagh feud was a thing. 16 murders between 2000 and 2012. It was gang on gang though so didn’t really impact uninvolved locals, it wasn’t like living in a housing project in the US. Maybe a bit of a transatlantic cultural misunderstanding by the author?

Mute moore house
    Favourite moore house
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:11 PM

It’s a bit over the top but fact is most of it is correct. Rocket launchers have been seized and many young man have been killed in dublins workig class areas due to gang violence . Sure the lad they were writing about frazer was nearly killed yesterday .

Mute Metempsychosis
    Favourite Metempsychosis
    Aug 8th 2017, 10:05 PM

@moore house: Really? That was probably that Mayweather shower, trying to drum up publicity for the fight.

Mute Fluich Go Craicean
    Favourite Fluich Go Craicean
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:36 PM

The article is simple using American adjetives and as a whole is fairly accurate. Projects are the basically council estates.

The phrase “what you looking at?” Has started many a fight in Dublin.

To be honest I stopped reading the above article when I saw Roisin Ingle being quoted.

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:16 PM

I’d say that’s a mellow enough depiction of Dublin giving the amount of gangland killings lately.it should read you could get shot dead if you’re seen talking to a certain family from Dublin

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    Aug 8th 2017, 10:41 PM

Also no mention in the article about him attending a Gaelscoil in Dublin 6w. Wouldn’t fit the narrative.

Mute Jensen Vhrin
    Favourite Jensen Vhrin
    Aug 9th 2017, 5:32 PM

@Mark Nolan: he attended a public gaelscoil in Tallaght, Dublin 24, a public one made up mostly of working class kids until he left to start his apprenticeship.

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:35 PM

Crumlin didnt have the adequate planning to be considered a project.

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Aug 8th 2017, 10:17 PM

In fairness I wouldn’t walk the streets of Crunlin at night

Aug 8th 2017, 10:24 PM

@Jamie: perfectly fine to walk through Crumlin at night. .

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:43 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: I walked out of The Gate on Friday to the sight of 4 squads, a police van, and a helicopter overhead on the Old County. It’s nothing to see heavily armed police all over Crumlin. Though strangely enough, I love and feel safe there.

Aug 8th 2017, 11:50 PM

@Philip Gerard: exactly ! . Very rarely anything would happen to you. .The gate was a good spot when the Dillons had it .. not sure what it’s like now though .

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Aug 9th 2017, 1:12 AM

@Suzie Sunshine: Still a solid pub with a solid pint and a salt of the earth crowd. I was a lounge boy there back in the day.

Mute AJ
    Favourite AJ
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:40 PM

He says hes from the streets but from what i remember he lived in what i would call a palatial home in that documentary before he made any serious money, far from the streets, i call BS

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:51 PM

It sounds like a very accurate description of inner city Dublin to me.

Mute John Mc Grath
    Favourite John Mc Grath
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:20 PM

Growing up in the working class areas of any city in Ireland will make it sound like a completely different city to those who did not, although some poetic licence can be seen here.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Aug 8th 2017, 10:52 PM

@John Mc Grath: sounds like a seventies scropt.
    Warriors, … come out and play-eh … Warriors, … come out and plaaay-eh

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:51 PM

Embrace the guy and what he has done
    He’s Irish and proud

Mute Brian Mardle
    Favourite Brian Mardle
    Aug 9th 2017, 9:01 AM

@Quentin Moriarty: he’s also a fraud in how he depicts in where he comes from. I embrace sports people from Ireland who keep it real and are true about where they came from not frauds. And don’t give me that bulshit begrudger line. McGregor isn’t going to be hiding behind that tired line.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Aug 9th 2017, 7:54 PM

@Brian Mardle: who cares
    He has drummed up great interest in the sport made bucketloads of cash and above all is Irish

Mute Metempsychosis
    Favourite Metempsychosis
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:52 PM

Best sports article I’ve read in ages, despite the exaggerations. And, what do people think a project is? Project = Public Housing Project. It doesn’t mean ‘Sao Paolo favela’. In one of the Michael Moore documentaries, he went to (world famous) south-central LA, and it was quiet residential streets, with neat lawns and no hassle. He was asking, “where’s the no-go area we’ve been seeing in news & film’. I’ve no doubt most US ‘projects’ are the same.

Mute moore house
    Favourite moore house
    Aug 8th 2017, 10:03 PM

@Metempsychosis: a lot nicer than Dolphins Barn just more guns

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:08 PM

Yeah I was in crumlin yesterday and I saw two of the most notorious old age pensioners,paddy the axe man rielly and Seamus one eye Murphy giving out stink to each other at the bus stop.
    I was so scared I crossed to the other side of the road.Its worse than the Bronx I’m telling ye!
    No wonder Conor left for LA.

Aug 8th 2017, 11:25 PM

@gerry fallon: Crumlin’s not safe with those two hanging around the bus stops .. can’t even get the bus nowadays ..

Mute Derek Moean
    Favourite Derek Moean
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:50 PM

He is so full of s##t.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Aug 9th 2017, 6:45 AM

Lets be honest, we all avoid Sheriff street where possible. Crumlin and Drimnagh do have a gang issue. Just because because we don”t like people saying it doesn’t mean its not true.

Mute Covfefe MAGA
    Favourite Covfefe MAGA
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:14 PM

ESPN is Fake News!!

Mute Ryan Boyle
    Favourite Ryan Boyle
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:16 PM

@Covfefe MAGA: your gimmick is boring.

Mute Owen Ball
    Favourite Owen Ball
    Aug 9th 2017, 1:25 AM

They do eat their young though, in fairness.

Mute Brian Kelleher
    Favourite Brian Kelleher
    Aug 8th 2017, 10:17 PM

Had to stop reading that, what a load of shit! Granted McGregor is from Crumlin (originally) His family moved out of there about 13/14 years ago to Laraghcon in Lucan. Houses going for €500,000, a very middle class area. McGregor would want to ditch the “I came from nothing “, “I’m from the streets” act.

Aug 8th 2017, 10:27 PM

@Brian Kelleher: but he did originally come nothing no ?

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:37 PM

@Brian Kelleher: Oh look! A begrudger!

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Aug 9th 2017, 8:08 AM

@Brian Kelleher: well said Brian.hes going on like ur man Frank McCourt selling a very bad image of his country that he used to sell his image.
    I’m very disappointed with him.
    He should be promoting his home country not denigrating it.

Mute Brian Mardle
    Favourite Brian Mardle
    Aug 9th 2017, 10:39 AM

@Brian Kelleher: Perfectly said

Mute Brian Mardle
    Favourite Brian Mardle
    Aug 9th 2017, 10:42 AM

@Brian Mardle:
    lmfao I knew it wouldn’t take long for someone to come out with that tired old ‘begrudger’ line.
    If the truth hurts they’ll always fall back on the old reliable.

Mute Brian Mardle
    Favourite Brian Mardle
    Aug 9th 2017, 7:27 AM

McGregor will love this garbage article. Crumlim being misrepresented as one of the poorest and roughest places in western Europe to elevate McGregors self proclaimed rise from rags to riches. If McGregor wants to push this untrue fantasy story let him at it. But leave Crumlin out of it. And don’t tell me McGregor has nothing to do with the writing of this article. This rags to riches theme has been pushed by him from day one. McGregor is a fraud. Plain and simple.

Mute Dermot Quinn
    Favourite Dermot Quinn
    Aug 9th 2017, 6:03 AM

Leaving aside the depiction of Dublin it’s actually a very interesting look into McGregors mind. He’s clearly a fairly fragile guy from a mental standpoint, not a criticism btw, and Kavanagh clearly knows what makes him tick . Personally I won’t be watching the fight as it’s a total farce but as insight into the motivation to do what he does it’s a brilliant read.

Mute Eoin Madigan
    Favourite Eoin Madigan
    Aug 15th 2017, 11:55 AM

@Dermot Quinn: You’re spot on, it was a brilliant look into the chasm between his public and private selves, post-apocalyptic Dublin sensationalism aside. Genuinely makes me like McGregor more knowing that he can be that fragile, or that he’s worried about getting jumped (not sure how true that is, though, a few left hooks and there’d be bodies sprawled around him). That he surrounds himself with coaches and trainers who know him that well is a testament to his intelligence, never mind his fantastic media manipulation.

Mute Paddy O Rourke
    Favourite Paddy O Rourke
    Aug 9th 2017, 12:50 AM

Straight outta crumlin is a brother that’ll smother your mother

Mute Ronan McKeon
    Favourite Ronan McKeon
    Aug 9th 2017, 7:56 AM

They got the parochial part right anyway.

Mute Paul O'Connor
    Favourite Paul O'Connor
    Aug 9th 2017, 6:38 PM

Hilarious! Where was the outrage in the decades your organisation amongst others were seriously damaging Limerick’s reputation with misinformation ?

Mute Jay Coleman
    Favourite Jay Coleman
    Aug 9th 2017, 8:24 AM

Awww the poor dub’s don’t like what a magazine has written about their city

Mute Jay Coleman
    Favourite Jay Coleman
    Aug 9th 2017, 8:26 AM

@Jay Coleman: obviously the journal has decided we can’t mention “junkies and drive by shootings” in Dublin as my original comment got edited

Mute mark kenny
    Favourite mark kenny
    Aug 8th 2017, 9:26 PM

Haha,even the writing about this nonsense event is make-believe.What a load of horse manure.

Mute Maurice Murphy
    Favourite Maurice Murphy
    Aug 9th 2017, 12:26 AM

More fake was by the less than credible espn.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Aug 9th 2017, 7:36 AM

McGregor has a big mouth, I dunno where he gets some of the crap he comes out with, I hope Mayweather boxes the cauliflower ears off him.

Mute Michael alder
    Favourite Michael alder
    Aug 9th 2017, 6:02 AM

Long After he escaped dublin….ah here you’d think he was an immigrant…da f**k is he escaping from?

Mute Cathal Leonard
    Favourite Cathal Leonard
    Aug 9th 2017, 1:49 AM

What a pile of stereotypical last century bull. Shit we are so scared the cross the road we go piggy back on a pig from the parlour.
    Places like Stockton where Dias is from now thats rough… bullet holes on ever slum corner. Every traffic stop is life threatening, no money and thats the city the schools the everything. That place makes Dublin look like Diseney Land, in fact most of America does. As rough at the back end on a bear.

Mute Lorcán Ó Broin
    Favourite Lorcán Ó Broin
    Aug 9th 2017, 11:05 AM

Roisin ingle? F*ck off

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Aug 9th 2017, 3:17 PM

Haha, I’m pretty sure they do eat their young out that way… lol