You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mitchell arriving before the debate Stephen Kilkenny – LightCurvePhoto.com

McGuinness brands Gay Mitchell comments 'pathetic' after Áras debate

McGuinness criticised the Fine Gael candidate over his suggestion that we could rejoin the British Commonwealth for Irish unity.

GAY MITCHELL HAS come under fire from his presidential rival Martin McGuinness after suggesting that he would take join the British Commonwealth in exchange for Irish unity.

At this afternoon’s seven-way presidential debate, Mitchell said he would be “disposed to the idea” of rejoining the Commonwealth “if it was the price of a united Ireland”. He added that we have to stop thinking about the issue with “blinkers on”.

But speaking to reporters after the Today FM debate, McGuinness hit out at Mitchell’s words, branding them “pathetic”. He added: “We’re a Republic, we’re very proud to be a Republic, and I don’t think we want to have our President be subservient to any king or queen from anywhere else in the world.”

Mitchell was also criticised afterwards by Independent candidate Mary Davis, after speaking about his ambitions to bring the Olympics to Dublin and appearing dismissive of the Special Olympics which were held in Ireland in 2003.

Davis, who was director of Special Olympics Ireland at the time, said Mitchell’s words were insulting. “I felt it was an insult to many of the 30,000 volunteers and family members,” she said. “The pride that we brought to Ireland during that time – even President McAleese herself said.”

Davis added that the Special Olympics “wasn’t about the big event that would have been Gay’s interest at that time. It was about the impact of those games in terms of providing opportunities to those with intellectual disabilities.”

Catch up on all the debate action with TheJournal.ie’s run-down of events as they happened>

Read more: Mitchell would join Commonwealth in exchange for united Ireland>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:06 PM

Gay is pathetic alright – But moreso because how ironic it is that Gay hates Gays.

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Oct 11th 2011, 11:54 PM

Your dead right there Sean, no chance of him being question of the sexuality issue to the exyent Norris was.

Mute Political Bypass
    Favourite Political Bypass
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:10 PM

McG is proud to be a republic.
    -is that the same republic he didn’t recognise a couple of months ago?

Mute Cillian de Búrca
    Favourite Cillian de Búrca
    Oct 12th 2011, 9:54 AM

He has done since 1986 actually. But don’t let facts get in the way of your ignorance.

Mute Patrick Coffey
    Favourite Patrick Coffey
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:15 PM

Mitchell is such a shmuck.

Mute Tony Stamper
    Favourite Tony Stamper
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:10 PM

I had to check if it was Mairead McGuinness, calling Gay pathetic will certainly strike a chord with many FG voters. He has to be the worst candidate I have ever come across.

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:06 PM

I think they are both pathetic.

Mute Stíofán Ó Spealáin
    Favourite Stíofán Ó Spealáin
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:15 PM

McGuinness shows ignorance here. Republics can be members of the Commonwealth. Of 54 members, sixteen of the member states are Commonwealth realms with the Head of the Commonwealth also as their head of state, five others are monarchies with their own separate monarchs (Brunei, Lesotho, Malaysia, Swaziland, Tonga) and the rest are republics.

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:27 PM

I am pretty sure McG KNOWS that about the feckin commonwealth! It is more the suggestion, after all the violence and bitterness and struggle, that an Irishman could be so flippant about the course of hard wrought freedom and specifically the last 100 years, that galled him! It was an unbelievably stupid and insulting comment to a great many more Irish people than Mitchell thinks. God almighty. I had no idea just how much of a moron mitchell was until now.

Mute Stíofán Ó Spealáin
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:34 PM

Then why did he show ignorance to how the commonwealth works? Shows yet again that he is not fit to be President.

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Oct 11th 2011, 11:29 PM

ANY1 WHO WANTS TO JOIN THE COMMONWEALTH I`LL GLADLY PAY UR BUS FARE JUST BE SURE TO BRING ALL THE FG MUPPETS WITH YOU

Mute Stíofán Ó Spealáin
    Oct 11th 2011, 11:46 PM

ahh accepting as always

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Oct 11th 2011, 11:57 PM

I’m sure that The Brits would do cartwheels to have us join their stiff upper lip club , so that the can put us back in line , to become their second class citizens again !
    Shame on you Mitchell !
    The British Empire is finished.Thankfully!

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:00 AM

They all sound like banana republics to me, not that were trailing far behind. The Free State was part of the commonwealth anyway..Britain basically subcontracted the running of Ireland to Costello because they couldnt have been arsed trying to run the place. Maybe Gay is harking back to those halcyon days of cricket and cucumber sandwiches.

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:00 AM

They all sound like banana republics to me, not that were trailing far behind. The Free State was part of the commonwealth anyway..Britain basically subcontracted the running of Ireland to Collins because they couldnt have been arsed trying to run the place. Maybe Gay is harking back to those halcyon days of cricket and cucumber sandwiches.

Mute Stíofán Ó Spealáin
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:03 AM

You do realise two members were never ruled by the UK, but joined because they saw the value of being in the Commonwealth. I think its about time we thought the same. (Rwanada and Mozambique were both ruled by France but are full members of the Commonwealth of Nations)

Mute Emmet Galvin
    Favourite Emmet Galvin
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:19 AM

Stiofan,
    Pull your head out of your ass and move to the U.K. If you are so keen on being part of the Commonwealth. My ancestors and many many more did nt die fighting off foreign invaders for the day to come when we would join ‘the former British empire slaves club’ and wave at Liz thanking her for all she has done for us. Dream on.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:43 PM

What really gets me is the comment he made “if it was the price of a united Ireland”. I didn’t realise that we would have to pay to have a united Ireland. For us to have a 32 county Republic we have to pay for it!. If anyone is paying anything for a united Ireland it should be the Queen of England and the British Government. 850 years of war reparations should pay of our debts nicely!

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 12th 2011, 8:43 AM

I think if Ireland was ‘united’ you’d find we would be paying for it, higher taxes etc. Why should there be a ‘united’ Ireland anyway?

Mute Michael Hegarty
    Favourite Michael Hegarty
    Oct 11th 2011, 11:31 PM

Mary D is pathetic. She keeps waving the disabled card and how marvelous she is as a champion of the disabled….. She earns ?3,000 a week for Special Olympics Movement, Disability Allowance is ?188 per week.

Mute David Dempsey
    Favourite David Dempsey
    Oct 11th 2011, 10:04 PM

It’s mind boggling how Gay Mitchell,a professional politician, could have made such an colossal haims of his campaign! Everytime he speaks I have an image of Alpha-Inda with his head in hands worried about what gaff will come next.

Mute Johnny Campbell
    Favourite Johnny Campbell
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:27 PM

Because he’s a politician . Plus he got off very lightly by the media.. Plenty of skeletons in old Grays closit…

Mute Reada Quinn
    Favourite Reada Quinn
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:50 PM

Gay really did Cameron a favour dropping this today. Takes the notice off Cameron telling pat Finucane family there’ll be no public enquiry into his murder. I wonder why gay isn’t pursuing the truth here. Seeing as he’s seeking the truth from MMcG. Wouldn’t he like to show the commonwealths collusion in murder. Oh yeah They mightn’t let him in.

Mute Alan Conroy
    Favourite Alan Conroy
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:11 PM

ah matry you’re just a blow in to southern politics, back to norn iron with ya

Mute Philodub
    Favourite Philodub
    Oct 11th 2011, 11:19 PM

How did Gay Mitchell last so long in politics with his "foot in mouth" disease? He seems to find new categories of the electorate to alienate each day. Had he expressed any views on euthanasia yet?

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Oct 11th 2011, 11:22 PM

mitchell can move to the commonwealth if he wants and he can bring the rest of the blue shirts wit him wot a muppet to even suggest such a rediculous move

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 12th 2011, 8:45 AM

Does anybody here actually know what the commonwealth is? Do a bit research before making comments based on badly remembered history schoolbooks

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:36 PM

Emmmmmmmmmmm …. One last one, does anyone understand where the term “West-Brit” comes from ? I do not think for one second, it refers to the people of Dublin with the exception of those who want to reunite with the UK ….??? but i could be wrong. Kevin Meyers, Eoghan Harris, Hogan, Gay Mitchell …. I really and honestly believe there is no other term to describe these “Patriots”

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:46 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_Brit Mitchell ticks a lot of the boxes. :-)

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 12th 2011, 8:41 AM

In wiki it says the term can be used for followers of English football clubs… Also the guy who started using it seems like a wee green bigot, but there you go…

Mute Tony Stamper
    Favourite Tony Stamper
    Oct 12th 2011, 11:09 AM

@Donnacha.
    So you think that Daniel o’Connell was a “wee green bigot”. I suppose that nasty catholic emancipation turned you off him.

Time for you to go back to the 1600′s.

Mute JeasusBigBalls
    Favourite JeasusBigBalls
    Oct 11th 2011, 10:55 PM

Is there anythin to be said for another mass :D

Mute Silent P
    Favourite Silent P
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:04 AM

If we re-joined the Commonwealth we would be a laughing stock. Stupid old Paddy can’t run his own affairs and runs back to the Motherland as soon as things get a little tricky. The British would forever more see us as fools, and rightly so. We should be concentrating our efforts on proving to our Unionist friends that we on this Island are capable of establishing a flourishing Nation for all our people. For once I’m totally in support of the Shinner.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 12th 2011, 8:48 AM

Canada is in the commonwealth – they seem to be doing alright. In fact most of the previous empire territories are in it. Rejoining is the next logical step following the Queens visit.

Mute Johnny Campbell
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:29 PM

Move there

Mute Emmet Galvin
    Favourite Emmet Galvin
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:13 PM

@donncha – nothing to do with Canada’s vast natural resources? It’s all to do with commonwealth membership is it?
    No wonder the Americans fear the day the queen of England visits because apparently the next logical step for them to take would be to join the commonwealth…

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:19 PM

I don’t understand why they have to get so personal.

Mute Derek Healy
    Favourite Derek Healy
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:42 PM

It all seems so very childish. Gay was acting very ignorantly last week, but he is entitled to his opinion and one where he only says he would consider something. I would hope that most politicians consider most things most of the time………Then Martin who was coming across quite well, starts throwing mud at Gay. Did he not know how that made Gay look last week? Sean G has moved from near bottom of my pile to top two!

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Oct 11th 2011, 9:39 PM

It’s our President. They are part of us and I don’t want somebody to represent us that is not on a par with the Queen of England and the Presidents of other countries. The only one who is of some pedigree is Norris. Best of a bad lot.
    If people want to elect a king of Dale Fard I suggest they vote for Mitchell or Mc G.

Mute Sheelagh Hanly
    Favourite Sheelagh Hanly
    Oct 11th 2011, 10:43 PM

David Norris, you have got to be joking – did you see the antics of him in Moore Street yesterday- he was anything but presidential. I would go so far as to say he was an embarrassment.

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    Favourite Shane Boyle-Simms
    Oct 12th 2011, 9:05 AM

ah Sheelagh..always harping on about Norris.
    Just vote for Dana who you seem to adore..or have you changed your mind seeing as she’s a sinking ship now.
    Were you on Moore street yesterday?..I was, and the people loved him there. A snippet on TV can be very misleading.

Mute Johnny Campbell
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:23 PM

Norris wants to b part of the commenwealth also.. Remember there running 4 IRISH president. He could at least sound like it. Not English gentry…

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    Favourite Shane Boyle-Simms
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:39 PM

Maybe Mary McAleese should have toned down the Northern accent then?
    How someone sounds should not rule them out – ridiculous comment

Mute Titus d
    Favourite Titus d
    Oct 12th 2011, 2:20 AM

Did Mary Davis have something to do with the Special Olympics?

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:06 AM

By process of elimination Michael D is the only one left. Campaign is about as interesting as watching the Box Set for the Angeles for the last year.

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Oct 12th 2011, 7:37 AM

On this day in 1984 (12th Oct) SinnFein/IRA attempted to murder the entire democratically elected cabinet of the British government.The event is called the "Brighton Bombing".Those creatures now deign to lecture us about peace and democracy.

Mute Richard Fennessy
    Favourite Richard Fennessy
    Oct 12th 2011, 8:19 AM

yes a day of celebration so seen you used the old unionist trick of calling provisional ira sinn fein/ira well done

Mute Paddy O Farrell
    Favourite Paddy O Farrell
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:36 PM

You do realise that a little bit of blood was spilt in the creation of this state,don`t you?

Mute Mr G
    Favourite Mr G
    Oct 12th 2011, 1:16 AM

Who ever becomes prez, they should demand as a right the 6 counties back. We should not have to pay for them gay. Idiot. Tony Blair said a number of years ago it was only a matter of time. 2016 is the time to reunite Ireland !

Mute Barra Ó Scannail
    Favourite Barra Ó Scannail
    Oct 12th 2011, 3:09 AM

Do you realise what Articles 2 and 3 of the Constitution say?

Do you know what they used to say?

Do you understand that it was the democratic will of 94% of those citizens who voted on the Good Friday Agreement referendum to give up any territorial claim to the six counties?

You DO realise that the democratic will of the people gave up this claim, right?

Thumb down all you like. This is what happened. These are facts.

Mute 8X6o6qTf
    Favourite 8X6o6qTf
    Oct 12th 2011, 10:09 AM

Tony Blair said a lot of things :/

Mute Mr G
    Favourite Mr G
    Oct 12th 2011, 4:09 PM

Barra to reply to you.
    Articles 2 & 3 say that a referendum needs to be held not only in Northern Ireland but also in Ireland before a united Ireland could be brought about, in other words we here in the south and the irish people living in the north must vote yes or no to reunify Ireland. The new prez can put pressure on the republic as we know it and the uk to hold this referendum. I.E demands this referendum.

Also “all like me” what’s that about, I am not a republican or part of any party, I just want to see a united Ireland.
    Get a life Barra

Mute Richard Fennessy
    Favourite Richard Fennessy
    Oct 12th 2011, 10:32 AM

no im not sean saying there seprate just pointing out thats what unionists always call ira.and i do have learning difficulties so i would describe myself as intellectuallty challanged.doesnt mean i cant comment