You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Martin McGuinness Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

McGuinness 'would now be open to meeting Queen'

The Sinn Féin figure said the Queen’s behaviour during her visit to Ireland had “made an impact” on him.

MARTIN McGUINNESS HAS said he would not rule out meeting and greeting Queen Elizabeth II in future, despite refusing to attend events when she visited Ireland.

He told the BBC today that he “wouldn’t rule anything out” and would “ponder” meeting the Queen.

McGuinness was speaking after taking part in a promotional event for Northern Ireland this week at St James’s Palace, one of the royal residences.

When Queen Elizabeth visited Ireland last May, McGuinness declined invitations to attend official events. Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams even raised the issue in the Dáil, asking Taoiseach Enda Kenny to respect the party’s right to abstain.

But McGuinness said today that the visit had “made an impact” on him, the Press Association reports.

He cited the fact that “she was prepared to recognise the importance of the Irish language; that she was prepared to stand in a very dignified way to honour those patriots who struggled in 1916 to bring about a free and independent 32-county Irish Republic”.

While campaigning for Ireland’s presidency last year, McGuinness said he would be prepared to meet any head of state, including the Queen, if he was elected.

More: Gerry Adams: I’m not quitting as Sinn Féin leader>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Eoghan MacLochlann
    Favourite Eoghan MacLochlann
    Jan 22nd 2012, 6:40 PM

Times are a changing for the better…Martin & the rest of Sinn Fein are really going places…

Mute Simon Power
    Favourite Simon Power
    Jan 22nd 2012, 7:20 PM

I passed the Sinn Fein office in Dublin today and noted that they still had the “Queen not welcome to Ireland” banner still above the door. Will this now change?

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Jan 22nd 2012, 8:04 PM

Yeah, they’ve caught up with the rest of the country… Some “leaders”…(!)

Mute Daithí Byrne
    Favourite Daithí Byrne
    Jan 22nd 2012, 8:08 PM

Sounds like you walked passed RSF office Simon..

Mute Jones Frank
    Favourite Jones Frank
    Jan 22nd 2012, 7:13 PM

I bet the queen is thrilled

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Jan 22nd 2012, 9:35 PM

Given her last encounter with a Guinness, if they ever meet she’ll probably just stand there looking at him awkwardly.

Mute hughsheehy
    Favourite hughsheehy
    Jan 22nd 2012, 6:57 PM

Once more, the remedial element in Sinn Fein starts to understand things well after they’ve been obvious to everyone else for a while.

And they’ll call this “leadership”.

Mute Gerry Hannan
    Favourite Gerry Hannan
    Jan 22nd 2012, 8:33 PM

I never even knew that he disliked the band in the first place. Somebody should tell him that Freddie Mercury is dead and the rest of them are just tossers anyway so don’t worry about it.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Jan 22nd 2012, 9:01 PM

He’s more of a led zeppelin fan of say.

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Jan 22nd 2012, 8:09 PM

Wow big of him. Time to realise marty: you and gerry are “has beens” – with blood covered hands.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 22nd 2012, 9:45 PM

And the British royal family’s hands are spotless??? [Throws eyes to heaven]

Mute Paul McCluskey
    Favourite Paul McCluskey
    Jan 23rd 2012, 12:38 AM

A bit of cop on there Bruce. I don’t think you can call the deputy minister of the northern assembly and the leader of the only party with representation both sides of the border ‘has beens’. I’m no sinn fein supporter but I think it’s obvious the power that these two men hold. To suggest otherwise is ignorant on your part.

Mute Conal
    Favourite Conal
    Jan 22nd 2012, 7:10 PM

Wait a few more minutes and the anti sinn fein people will be having a field day on this.

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Jan 22nd 2012, 8:06 PM

I think all people will welcome Sinn Féin moving in this direction.
    Just took them an awfully long time, & at what cost?
    Legitimate question, no?

Mute Rocky Dennis
    Favourite Rocky Dennis
    Jan 22nd 2012, 10:34 PM

How big of him, “ponder meeting the queen”. Not fooling anyone with his “kind” words…murdering gangster….

Mute Fiachra KME
    Favourite Fiachra KME
    Jan 22nd 2012, 11:09 PM

If you know hes a murderer i suggest you report your evidence to the Gardai or PSNI…

Mute Rocky Dennis
    Favourite Rocky Dennis
    Jan 23rd 2012, 7:26 AM

Fiachra, you are either naive, foolish or both if you believe that man never killed or was involved in the killing of innocent people…

Mute Alan Murphy™
    Favourite Alan Murphy™
    Jan 23rd 2012, 8:31 PM

Rocky, if she comes back he could pick her up from baldonnel in Martin ferris’ taxi

Mute Darren Swan
    Favourite Darren Swan
    Jan 22nd 2012, 8:25 PM

@ Bruce,the blood covered hands are what got this country to where it is today

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jan 22nd 2012, 9:42 PM

Well now! Those are even creamier!!

Mute Paul Houston
    Favourite Paul Houston
    Jan 22nd 2012, 8:22 PM

I’m sure plenty of West-Brits and Fine Gaelers will positively cream themselves if the English queen comes back over.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jan 22nd 2012, 9:41 PM

Nice creamy head on that pint Paul!

Mute Colm Mooney
    Favourite Colm Mooney
    Jan 22nd 2012, 10:50 PM

anybody ask the Queen.if she wants to.meet him?

Mute Eamonn Connaghan
    Favourite Eamonn Connaghan
    Jan 22nd 2012, 11:06 PM

No, because one cannot talk to the queen unless she speaks to one first.

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Jan 23rd 2012, 12:59 AM

Sinn Fein missed the boat on the Queen’s visit and this ridiculous comment by McGuinness shows why they just don’t quite turn us on in a political sense.
    I listened to Mary Lou McDonald tonight giving fiscal advice to Leo Veradkar on RTE and shuddered to think that anyone might actually believe that she knew what she was talking about.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Jan 23rd 2012, 2:29 AM

These guys held us back for years and stopped so much inward investment by their terror tactics and now they want a clap on the back for stopping criminal behaviour. I find it insulting and find Adems and his fellow terrorists am embarrassment to the Irish people. Go back to your caves and ditches. Hide in shame for your history and stop telling people of Ireland how to behave – it is insulting.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Jan 23rd 2012, 7:40 AM

Totally agree with frank on this one. Mcguinness smug arrogant little man. Who gives a damn about his ‘ponderings’

Mute micktwatter
    Favourite micktwatter
    Jan 23rd 2012, 8:39 AM

The queen has been paying his wages for long enough

Mute Sean Mc Avinue
    Favourite Sean Mc Avinue
    Feb 7th 2012, 11:27 AM

And who is paying her wages? Yes McGuinness, the tax payer.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Jan 23rd 2012, 2:33 AM

The only thing Leo cares about is getting his smug little face on the news.
    This man is anti Irish people( unless of course they have a camera)

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Jan 23rd 2012, 10:04 AM

Jaysus Martin – I would say Buckingham Palace is awash with joy and delight and searching the royal diaries for a free date to meet up !!

Mute Sean Mc Avinue
    Favourite Sean Mc Avinue
    Jan 28th 2012, 2:14 PM

McGuinness shaking hands with a bigot who won’t allow Catholics marry into her family? Would it be acceptable to have anti Protestant schools?