You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/El Nariz

Unions and meat processors agree safety protocol for workers in the industry

Siptu division organiser Greg Ennis said that serial testing must be maintained at meat plants going forward.

REPRESENTATIVES OF SIPTU and Meat Industry Ireland (MII) have agreed what is being described as a “wide-ranging safety protocol” for workers in the meat processing industry aimed at suppressing Covid-19 outbreaks.

The protocol includes a commitment to maintain serial testing of workers at meat plants, ongoing health screening, temperature testing, the mandatory use of PPE and stringent hygiene controls.

A joint employer/worker forum will be established in a number of areas to ensure full compliance with these measures, Siptu said. 

Meat plants have been a significant source of Covid-19 outbreaks since the onset of the pandemic, and in excess of 1,500 cases have been linked to outbreaks in such settings. 

When localised restrictions were brought in for Kildare, Laois and Offaly in early August, the surge in cases in these areas were linked back to outbreaks in the likes of meat plants and Direct Provision centres. 

Siptu had long called for greater protections for workers in such settings, and the HSE recently implemented serial testing of workers at these plants – although that was postponed for a period last week

Its manufacturing division organiser Greg Ennis said today: “The fact that this protocol has been completed in conjunction with MII demonstrates there is a coherent approach by employers and workers’ representatives in the industry which places the health of workers, their families and the wider community as its main priority. 

The work of HSE testers in implementing the programme of serial testing at meat plants has also been outstanding. Such serial testing of workforces in the industry must be maintained if we are to minimise the occurrence of outbreaks at processing plants.
It must be remembered that with this virus, no one is safe until everybody is safe.

In a statement, MII said that the new code of conduct will formalise the existing suite of measures in place at meat plants. 

Its director Cormac Healy said: “We are pleased to have worked with Siptu to agree this set of safety protocols to protect employees in our sector. It formalises a wide range of measures that have already been put in place and will provide reassurance that the industry is 100% committed to taking all appropriate steps to mitigate the risk posed by Covid-19.

“The sharp reduction in clusters in meat plants and the low rate of positive test incidence shown by the ongoing serial testing is indicative that the efforts being made are working. However, there is no room for complacency. Given the wider community trends in Covid-19 cases, continued vigilance and rigorous enforcement of mitigation measures and testing, track and trace is essential.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:26 PM

How about we drop the senior teacher’s pay to get pay equality? After all wasn’t it the senior teachers that voted for lower pay for new recruits to protect their own pay?

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:32 PM

@Mary Murphy: it’s as simple as that really. The teachers voted for this, here’s your pot of money and spread it between you as you will. We’re €200bn in debt and €250m doesn’t grow on trees.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:36 PM

@Sean @114: It grew on a tree overnight when the Gardai threatened to strike.

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute louise finnegan
    Favourite louise finnegan
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:39 PM

@Mary Murphy: new TDs don’t have to deal with pay inequality so why should teachers.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:48 PM

@louise finnegan: exactly…so cut the senior teacher’s pay to the same level as the new recruits. Then they will all be on the same pay with no inequality

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:52 PM

@The Risen: I don’t remember gardai voting for entrant gardai to be on lower scales. Aren’t you the person who once claimed that all public service increments were performance based? I got a great laugh out of that one.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:53 PM

@louise finnegan:

I acknowledge that new public-sector workers should get the same starting salaries as their longer-serving colleagues.

However, even if the unions had not accepted the Croke Park deal, the government probably would have cut new entrants’ starting salaries anyway.

As for new TDs, the following constitutional detail might answer your question:

The present members of Dáil Éireann, although they are in the same building and the same hall as previous members and, presumably, have the title “Houses of the Oireachtas” on their payslips, are technically under a new employer, the 32nd Dáil.

The preceding employer of those TDs who were in office before the 2016 general election was the 31st Dáil, which ceased to exist (i.e. dissolution) before the 2016 election. The dissolution of the 31st Dáil meant that its members were no longer TDs and those who were re-elected now had a new employer, the 32nd Dáil.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:53 PM

@louise finnegan: they would if sitting TDs voted for lower scales for newly elected TDs. That’s exactly what the teachers did. Shame on them.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:58 PM

@The Risen:

No money “grew on a tree” at all.

The number of gardaí is much smaller than the number of teachers who are paid by the government. More importantly, a garda “strike” would have led to anarchy but a teachers’ strike would not. In the case of a teachers’ strike, the worst case scenario would be that the unions would suspend it after a fortnight because teachers do not want to endanger their pupils’ prospects or their own families’ welfare.

It is with good reason that government security employees – police and the military – are treated differently from other public-sector employees, i.e. not having the legal right to strike.

Mute eric nelligan
    Favourite eric nelligan
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:00 PM

@Mary Murphy: you are incorrect, senior teachers did not vote to cut younger teachers pay, it is part of the gov spin to discredit anyone who considers going against them.

The vote was that pay levels would be held stable, part of the LRA agreement was that strike or any form of industrial action was then illegal. A few Months after the was passed by ICTU the gov cut pay for all new entrants.

It must also be noted that the ASTI were the last union into LRA after many efforts to alter its contents. Also the ASTI were bound by the overall majority within ICTU, since the larger unions, impact and siptu had accepted all other unions were forced into the LRA whether they liked it or not

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:18 PM

@Mary Murphy: You really don’t understand what’s going on, do you? They are not looking for a senior teacher to be paid the same as a new recruit and would you really think that would happen anywhere else? I’ll explain it simply for you and hopefully you’ll understand.
    Example: A senior teacher that started in the year 2000 started for example on say €30,000.
    A new recruit today starts on maybe €26,000. New recruits want to start on the same money that more senior teachers started on years ago. Concentrate hard on that one now please. It’s quite simple really. I’m not a teacher but can easily see what they’re looking for.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:21 PM

@Mary Murphy: Lololol. So a teacher with 30 years experience in their 50′s should be paid the same as a new recruit fresh out of college in their mid 20′s? Wow, you’re thick.

Mute louise finnegan
    Favourite louise finnegan
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:35 PM

@Mary Murphy: or we could pay them all to the original pay scale just like the TDs

Mute SheelB
    Favourite SheelB
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:04 PM

@Mary Murphy: No, they did not vote for lower pay for younger teachers. That’s wrong. The government made these decisions.

Mute Kate Ní Bhriain MhicAodha
    Favourite Kate Ní Bhriain MhicAodha
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:09 PM

@Mary Murphy: No we never did. Government brought it in no consultation then we voted on Haddington or Croke park or one of them and that consolidated it….we also took a 20% decrease at that time between cuts, increments and USC

Mute shits ville
    Favourite shits ville
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:09 PM

@The Risen: yeah but we need the Gardai to keep your ilk in check

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:20 PM

@shits ville: And what, pray tell, is my ‘ilk’?

Mute shits ville
    Favourite shits ville
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:49 PM

@The Risen: those who applaud murderers of Gardaí and prison officers

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:55 PM

@Gary: it seems for the vast majority I don’t explain in detail. They can read between the lines….but just for you. WHY DON’T WE DROP THE SENIOR TEACHERS ON TO THE SAME PAY SCALE AS THE JUNIOR TEACHERS? Or maybe meet in the middle so the newer teachers on the lower scale get brought up to a higher scale which is funded by the senior teachers getting a pay cut. This will bring pay equality as requested by union leader Joanne Irwin.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:57 PM

@Kate Ní Bhriain MhicAodha: the same cuts, increments and USC that pretty much every worker in the country took? USC wasn’t just for teachers you know.

Mute Melissa O'Callaghan
    Favourite Melissa O'Callaghan
    Sep 15th 2017, 5:32 AM

@Mary Murphy: I think they have forgotten that they sold out their younger teachers. It is so unfair and I’m sure creates a great deal of disharmony in the staff room. They should acknowledge their wrong doing and any pay increase should be weighted in the younger teacher’s favour and gradually undo the wrong. It’s not the state’s fault that teachers struck a selfish deal.

Mute misterG
    Favourite misterG
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:23 AM

@The Risen: it shouldn’t have considering what we have discovered since.

Mute Darragh McCormack
    Favourite Darragh McCormack
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:50 AM

@Gary: That’s not the argument at all. Its about pay scale. A teacher who started in 2000 would start on 30,000, whereas a new recruit would start on 26,000. The next year teacher qualified in 2000 increases to 31500, but the new recruit goes to 27500, so over the course of a career, they’re losing out on thousands. Is that simple enough for you?

Mute Mark Edwards
    Favourite Mark Edwards
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:05 PM

@Mary Murphy: Fully agree.

Mute Jim Hartnett
    Favourite Jim Hartnett
    Sep 16th 2017, 11:30 AM

@Sean @114: It grew overnight to save private gambling banker vermin who, like AIB when given the first tranche of billions, shored up their own private pension fund with barely a ripple from our esteemed politician types.

Mute Dave J
    Favourite Dave J
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:29 PM

so the education purse is cash strapped. Like the housing. And the health.

Strangely though, TD’s were able to have their pay restored, yet haven’t performed in any of the several crisis the country is facing.

One would almost think you are laughing at us in Dail bar with your mates. Have another one lads, we’ll pick up the tab.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:34 PM

@Dave J: the TDs are public sector too. In fact a lot of them are teachers with careers on hold while they cash in on their dail seat. Sure they can then draw down on both pensions.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:37 PM

@Sean @114: Exactly, sure Enda’s was on hold for over 40 years.

Sep 14th 2017, 11:10 PM

@Sean @114: wasn’t that practice banned about a decade ago? They can no longer hold dual roles I think

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:34 PM

@Kate Ní Bhriain MhicAodha: they can claim their multiple gold plated pensions. They can also claim their career break, term time, bank time and whatever other time they can make up to avoid being productive.

Apr 7th 2018, 8:57 AM

@Dave J: cut the corrupt, overpaid, underperforming, overfed TDs salary by 50% for starters

Mute Kevin Foley
    Favourite Kevin Foley
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:31 PM

This is a horrible comment from Minister Bruton.Our young teachers do equal work to all other teachers and are entitled to equal pay.They are unable to secure mortgages and are caught up in the high rent culture.Our young teachers remained in Ireland during the recession and did not emigrate to brighter prospects abroad.
    At least they deserve a fair and equal wage.
    Kevin

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:38 PM

@Kevin Foley: take it from their senior colleagues who voted to put them in that situation. Bruton is right to hold firm or the unions will walk all over him and further bankrupt this country.

Mute PeteMcC
    Favourite PeteMcC
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:46 PM

@Sean @114: There was no choice given. All teachers had a gun put to their heads by Union leaders who were being pressurized by the Govt to accept whatever was offered. It was a no win situation which many choose to forget.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:01 PM

@PeteMcC: ah would ye stop. So there was no ballot then. Union leaders, elected and paid by union members, put a gun to members’ heads and forced them to shoot their junior colleagues? I’ve heard it all now. But sure look those members can now make amends by negotiating a pay freeze with funds to be used to push entrance to the higher scales. Job done. Let’s have a vote on it. It should pass as senior colleagues are now so concerned for the new entrants.

Sep 14th 2017, 11:11 PM

@Kevin Foley: well said. The brain drain will soon become clear. Pay peanuts get monkies

Sep 14th 2017, 11:12 PM

@Kevin Foley: *Monkeys

Sep 14th 2017, 11:12 PM

@Sean @114: No we never did. Government brought it in no consultation then we voted on Haddington or Croke park or one of them and that consolidated it….we also took a 20% decrease at that time between cuts, increments and USC

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:38 PM

@Kate Ní Bhriain MhicAodha: 20% decrease? Union spin. The Universal in USC means everyone. PRD is not a decrease, it’s a tax deductible pension contribution to preserve your €1m pension priced fund. You still get non-performance based annual increments which is unheard of in most industries.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:35 PM

“Won’t somebody please think of the children” cried the government which watched childhood poverty double and childhood homelessness hit record numbers, while they shovelled billions out of the country to cover bondholders gambling debts.

Was there not a back slapping photo op last week with a headline about Ireland repaying a €4,500,000,000 loan early??

Mute shits ville
    Favourite shits ville
    Sep 15th 2017, 12:19 AM

@The Risen: 1/4 of children in Northern Ireland living in poverty – it seems we’ve got a better social justice deal here
    http://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/24-of-children-in-northern-ireland-living-in-poverty-35196811.html

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:27 PM

Or alternatively they could just use the 13 billions from Apple!

Sep 14th 2017, 9:28 PM

@Jarlath Murphy: Or the €300 thousand given as a hand shake to the ex commissioner….

Mute Dave J
    Favourite Dave J
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:30 PM

@Jarlath Murphy:
    no jarlath. sure we will have to pay a few billion to fight the Eu to let apple keep it.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy

@Kerry Blake: Or the two billion they squandered on that Irish Water billing scam!

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:52 PM

@Jarlath Murphy:
    I have never seen so much whataboutery on a single thread.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:36 PM

@P.J. Nolan: Or the 280 million that Noonan wasted on leprechaun economics,

Mute Tom Hickey
    Favourite Tom Hickey
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:33 PM

But he had no problem restoring ministers pay.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114

@Tom Hickey: all public sector workers on those grades had their pay restored.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:26 PM

He is correct and if anything the older contract teachers should take a pay/pension cut to pay for any increases to new entrants. The spiral of wage increases and hours reductions in our education system must stop now.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:38 PM

@winston smith: Complete crap. Not allowing our country to be used as a tax haven would bring in multiples of what it would cost to meet the basic principle of equal pay for equal work.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan

@winston smith:
    It is spin and blackmail of the highest order.
    How can “Brutus” steep so low?

Mute PeteMcC
    Favourite PeteMcC
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:43 PM

@winston smith: that has been done. Its amazing how people forget. Schools are still as cashstrapped as ever before. The connection between salaries and resources is flawed. The next election will make Bruton think differently about pay equality.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:26 PM

Risen that tax haven rant is as ridiculous as the “whatever public money is spent in one area could have been spent better in this or that other area”…teachers are the pampered elite of the public service who feel more entitled at the public trough than others.

Sep 14th 2017, 11:15 PM

@winston smith: maybe investigate before typing… we took pay cuts, increment freezes, pay a pension levy on top of the super ann we were already paying. A pension levy is a great way to cut pay but leave it looking like the pay was never cut! Don’t try and pit the various entry levels against each other!

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:30 PM

@Kate Ní Bhriain MhicAodha: the PRD is not a pay cut, it’s a tax deductible pension contribution to a defined benefit pot of gold upon retirement. Anything stated other than that is union spin.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray

How come TD’s/Ministers can get pay restoration/increases? There’s money to be found for that, of course?

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:37 PM

@Dave Murray: everyone in the public sector on those senior grades did. The unions forced it through. It’s a separate matter to this where senior teachers ditched their junior colleagues.

Sep 14th 2017, 9:27 PM

” on resources for school children,” using children to play the poor mouth. Shame on you Richard…….

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd

@Kerry Blake: SHAME ON HIM?? shame on the teachers for blackmailing again , cop on, over paid like the rest of the public sector

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray

@Les Boyd: Nice sweeping generalisation there, classy.

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin

@Les Boyd: Overpaid? Teachers are highly educated and have an incredibly important and difficult job in educating children, both academically and otherwise. Most people who spout such nonsense shy away from the offer of swapping jobs for a week, with the usual response being ” I wouldn’t have your job for love nor money”. Are you one of these individuals that view teachers as glorified childminders or are you just carrying a chip on your shoulder from your own years in school?

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:58 PM

@Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin: no Sorcha Im one of those people that has a view that just cause your teaching the future generation dosent give you the right to blackmail the government every time they want a pay rise, I work in the private sector in bio making drugs for you and your children working 12hr shifts nights and days, I dont expect a newbie coming in to be on the same money as me, as a matter of fact i would be seriously unhappy if they did cause unlike you l live in the real bloody world not some public sector bubble

Mute Ignorant Carbon
    Favourite Ignorant Carbon
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:47 PM

@Les Boyd: Unfortunately this doesn’t just affect the new entrants to the jobs market in second level teaching, the legislation also impacts third level teaching staff too.

For example, the Institutes of technology come under the same pay deal. In industry, an engineer could expect to earn 60k+ as a R&D engineer, Masters degree and about 10 years experience (Ref: Morgan McKinley – Engineering salary guide 2007).

Roles requiring similar qualifications are advertised at point 1 on the assistant lecturer pay scale (€35743, Ref: TUI teaching salary scales) some IoTs will not recognise the industry experience of new entrants so they have to start at point one on the scale.
    This means it could be 10-15 years before an engineer would even match their current earning potential, how are our educational facilities supposed to attract strong engineers/scientists to teach future professionals if this is the case?
    I’m not saying that there should be parity of pay with the private sector, but it’s not exactly an example of being overpaid?

Mute Patrick O'Dwyer
    Favourite Patrick O'Dwyer
    Sep 15th 2017, 7:19 AM

@Les Boyd: why don’t you become a teacher so if they are that well paid .

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Sep 15th 2017, 8:53 AM

@Patrick O’Dwyer: because l dont have the qualifications, why dont you you become a brain surgeon

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne

Thankfully residential rents are modest, non tracker mortgages are dirt cheap, housing is plentiful, transport is cheap, cost of living is cheap, taxes are low and the Republic of Opportunity has filled us all full of cash.

We have never had it so good. The Reckvery is booming.

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane

No problem finding millions to fight the Apple ruling against the express wishes of the electorate though Richard eh?

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:28 PM

In what sector does a new start come in on the same wages as a experienced person , another example of the public sector flaing it

Mute Andy Dwyer
    Favourite Andy Dwyer

@Les Boyd: Well you’ve missed the whole point of the story. Well done.

Mute SteveÓ
    Favourite SteveÓ
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:35 PM

@Les Boyd: no one is saying that. A teacher with 1 year experience isn’t going to be earning that same as a teacher with 20 years experience. They just want to be on the same scale, which is fair enough.

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:01 PM

@Andy Dwyer: no Andy i haven’t usual teachers, bus men we want more, only public sec that deserves anything our Nurse,s .

Mute Chemical Brothers
    Favourite Chemical Brothers

Older teachers pulled a stroke on those younger teachers who had yet to join. This is a regular tactic in public service. Young teachers, guards, nurses screwed by those above them who didn’t want to share any pain.

Mute PeteMcC
    Favourite PeteMcC
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:47 PM

@Chemical Brothers: absolutely not. Union leaders were pressurized to sell the deal to its members.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:57 PM

@PeteMcC: so the members didn’t vote then? It was all the unions fault and members were just following orders?

Mute Primusdeo
    Favourite Primusdeo
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:11 PM

Here’s a cash saving exercise. Drastically reduce td salaries eleminate the muti pensions they get after each dail and put them on the same pension the rest of us get. Eliminate their voucher less expenses. And only allow them take out the pension when they actually retire. That should help in getting some raises for young teachers.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:42 PM

@Primusdeo: only problem is THEY would have to vote these measures in and that would mean that all public sector workers would be subject to them. Do you honestly see that happening? Turkeys voting for Xmas.

Mute shits ville
    Favourite shits ville
    Sep 15th 2017, 12:23 AM

@Primusdeo: yes, reducing the wages of all of our 157 tds would give massive scope for pay rises for all of our essential public sector workers – great idea

Mute SheelB
    Favourite SheelB
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:00 PM

Such short term thinking. We need to attract lovely young people into this profession.
    Primary is more straight forward but some new teachers into secondary have such lousy contracts – for low hours, that cannot constitute a living….

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:15 PM

@SheelB: That sounds like ageism, now where is George Hook.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:10 PM

Didn’t td’s and senior civil servants already get there pay restored and nothing could be done to stop that. Funny world.

Mute Ciaran O Reilly
    Favourite Ciaran O Reilly
    Sep 14th 2017, 9:51 PM

Here we go again, teachers throwing their toys out of the pram, holding the country to ransom.

Mute Louise Dunne
    Favourite Louise Dunne
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:59 PM

Let’s unrestore the TDs pay and see if they notice, or are they still on holidays… They can debate it when they return to the Dail, we’ll have a couple of quid saved by then. Cut a few pensions here and there, no pay offs for Irish water executives or commissioners etc. easily get extra cash for the children and teachers too!!

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Sep 15th 2017, 1:01 AM

Hey look over here, focus on teachers pay, forget about the huge salaries and obscene pensions that Government ministers earn…. Look it up… Fact.

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:38 PM

how about the government stop paying teachers in private schools.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:16 PM

Close just 1or2 loopholes in corporation tax and you could give the whole public service a pay rise.APPLE have €300bn in a offshore account from profits to date, yeah,€300 bn.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:55 PM

What tree did Tierney’s payoff grow on?

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:18 PM

How much of a pay out, did Noreen get again?

Mute Fiachra Pollard
    Favourite Fiachra Pollard
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:46 PM

“..have to cut back on resources for children..”, what a load of shite! We are going to pay a few billion off our bailout debt, early, we’ve a homeless problem yet we can take in and house refugees, we were offered water meters FREE but we paid Denis O Brien over the odds for his, when water charges were scraped we heard refunds not possible yet because it would take away from something else! After all the crap in the Garda, the commissioner, who can’t find her phone, is allowed to retire early instead of being thrown out! We are being treated like fools, the money is there, if only our government could spend it properly! Ministers keep being moved to different posts, how the hell can they specialise in anything? They can’t ! If I wanted to watch a puppet show I’d go to see Punch and Judy!

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Sep 14th 2017, 11:50 PM

What a bullshitter. Minister for non education. Keep teachers down.

Mute John Power
    Favourite John Power
    Sep 15th 2017, 12:10 AM

Cut politicians pay down to industrial average , then see how good they are….!

Mute John Stafford
    Favourite John Stafford
    Sep 14th 2017, 10:02 PM

https://youtu.be/GtWA3jQN1Pg

The people who wasted the money got bailed out on the insistence of Fg Ff and Labour.
    Everything else is squabbling.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Sep 15th 2017, 1:08 AM

This is the usual rubbish from Bruton. Next he will be saying don’t pay the teachers at all. Sure it will free up resources for the children. That said the teachers themselves did themselves no favours by voting years ago to abandon the new teachers at the behest of the Government. I hope this time teachers have enough backbone to have a meaningful strike rather than bluffing because their bluff is being continually called.

Mute BigBear321
    Favourite BigBear321
    Sep 15th 2017, 12:46 PM

@Les Boyd: My friend. Please before commenting on an issue make sure you fully understand it. New entrants are not looking for the same wages as more experienced staff. They are looking to be paid the equivalent to what those more experienced staff were when THEY started. Your understanding of the issue is clearly limited and your arguments make no sense as a result.

Mute Frank Brennan
    Favourite Frank Brennan
    Sep 15th 2017, 8:44 AM

“All animals are equal but some are more equal than others “.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Sep 15th 2017, 7:37 AM

You took it away easily enough

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Sep 15th 2017, 7:48 AM

On the basis that we live in a republic, y’ know, Egalite, Fraternite, I reckon that the lower scale rates for young teachers is unfair, but maybe should be rectified by a progressive scaling to secure equal pay on a faster table.
    Meantime, give them the exam & marking incomes, which seem to be the preserve of retired, top scale teachers.
    That’s easy to do, surely, maybe, possibly, Mr. Bruton?

Mute The Journal TD
    Favourite The Journal TD
    Sep 15th 2017, 12:19 AM

Young teacher’s need to stop complaining, they’re paid enough clearly.

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Sep 15th 2017, 7:24 AM

@Kate Ní Bhriain MhicAodha: yes you did. You did nothing about it so accepted it.
    It’s the typical union trick, which only works in public sector long term. Take no redundancies, screw new entrants, claim to assist in wage bill reduction, then scream blue murder about new entrants a few years later.

Senior teachers are still on economic bubble level salaries and think that is the correct amount.

Where was benchmarking Vs private workers, on the way down?
    How many teachers were made redundant??

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Sep 15th 2017, 2:21 PM

Would he consider reducing his own pay and expenses

Mute Robert Artane
    Favourite Robert Artane
    Sep 15th 2017, 6:27 PM

Bruton wants to STEAL CHILDRENS EDUCATION YET AGAIN LIKE THEY DID THE INDUSTRIAL INSTITUTIONS This Party will never learn they even tried hard to constantly cover up the truth this Fine Gael party and its Labour chums BLOCKED all education funds from survivors young children claiming that all relatives were included in the 2002 Redress education bill, MR BRUTON KNEW THIS WAS A LIE and STILL REPEATED THIS STATEMENT over and over again when Survivors wanted to use their own compensation from the RELIGIOUS to fund theiryoungchilds schooling as dependants who were NOT EVEN BORN during the REDRESS OF 2002 what a LOWLIFE this Minister is for sureto repetely state knowing very well young children were noteven born during the Redress of 2002 and no ducumentation to allow any child born later than the 2002 redress bill was ever written. Here he wants to lay tha THREAT of CHILDrEN to LOOSE OUT ONCE AGAIN HOW SICK to even THINK after all the CULTURAL ABUSE this PARTY HAD COMMITED against the IRISH FAMILY. THEY and LABOUR must NEVER get in ever again afterthis HOW CAN ANYONE TRUST THIS FINE GAEL AND LABOUR party ever again with their CHILDREN ? HOW they WILL PUNISH CHILDREN to fix their BOOKS but they will want a fortune in wages pensions bonuses and all expences and raises in these too? NO WAY theFINE GAEL And LABOUR haveto END and NOw the THREAT is there from Minister Bruton make the TAX PAYERS CHILDREN SUFFER you have it you read it now get them out .

Mute Michael Bride
    Favourite Michael Bride
    Sep 15th 2017, 3:57 PM

The hypocrisy is just staggering-equal pay OR child-funding; not equal pay OR taxbreaks for hoteliers, OR mollycodding of multinationals, OR subsidies for greedy employers through wage top-ups from the public purse, OR R&D write-offs for anything a tax advisor can dream up, including his own fee, OR a tax-cut for ‘middle earners’ which will benefit high-earners mostly, OR etc. etc. etc…. There’s a special place in hell for FG members AND those who vote for them!

Mute Paul Kersey
    Favourite Paul Kersey
    Sep 15th 2017, 12:17 PM

Bruton is on his final tour of duty, never man enough to lead always quotes rules, useless

Mute Jim Hartnett
    Favourite Jim Hartnett
    Sep 16th 2017, 11:59 AM

Pathetic comment from a man who has never had to live for a minute according to the austerity principles he so willingly bestowed on the rest of mere mortals.