You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/RollingNews.ie

These two apps could really help you in a medical emergency

Hopefully, you will never need to use them but you never know.

NONE OF US would like to think we would get into an accident or be in a situation where we have to help someone quickly.

But it can happen and if it does, it’s a good idea to have yourself prepared in some way. While there are many ways of doing so, some are more useful than others.

One handy app to have on you at all times is First Aid by Irish Red Cross (iOS, and Android). While it helps if you have taken a first aid course, those who haven’t will have enough information here to help them out in an emergency.

As well as instructions, using text, images and video, it will also go through advanced preparation ideas and test you on your knowledge. The fact that it’s free means there’s no excuse not to have it.

First aid First Aid / Google Play First Aid / Google Play / Google Play

If you end up in an accident, having important information like medical data and next of kin contact details handy is very important. This can really help first responders like paramedics, firefighters, and police officers as it can tell them information like blood type and allergies.

That’s the basis for ICE (In Case of Emergency) and it’s easy to set up on your phone.

If you own an iPhone, the Health app allows you to do this. Setting it up will allow anyone to get your details via Medical ID – found by going into the Emergency section on the lock screen.

Some Android phones include a similar feature so check first but if it isn’t there, there are a few apps out there that you can download.

One example is ICE: In Case of Emergency (Android) which creates a permanent notification on the lock screen. Setting it up is straightforward and as as long as you don’t mind it appearing on your notifications, it serves its purpose well.

ICE in case of emergency ICE / Google Play ICE / Google Play / Google Play

Read: You should take down this smartphone code when you get the chance >

Read: Somebody is trying to sell almost 33 million Twitter passwords on the dark web >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:50 PM

Don’t trust you Shane either

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:10 PM

@Rory Mackle: Shane thanks for telling us something we didn’t know already.

Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:08 AM

@Joe Johnson: hilarious

Mute John Fahy
    Favourite John Fahy
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:57 PM

He has been the Minister for Sport for over three years. This all came to a head on his watch, he needs to go himself.

Mute Patrick Fitzgerald
    Favourite Patrick Fitzgerald
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:02 AM

@John Fahy: how does that work??. Im no shane ross fan but they fact that his watch are sorting it finally is a good thing id say. Tis the previous “watches” who turned a blind eye were the problem champ

Mute James Moran
    Favourite James Moran
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:10 AM

@Patrick Fitzgerald: unpopular, but true

Mute Adhamh M
    Favourite Adhamh M
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:18 AM

@Patrick Fitzgerald: he was on record last November saying how great a job John Delaney is doing? Yes previous ministers have a lot to answer. But just listen to Richie Sadler on second captains, he says anytime in the past when he’s been writing a piece on the FAI legal teams had to ok it because JD and the FAI were known to challenge anything slightly spurious. It’s been obvious for years something was up, none of us knew the extent of which but any sports minister over the last 15 years is complicit for failing this

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Dec 10th 2019, 1:27 AM

@James Moran: no choice at this point, a bit like introducing rent freezes when they’re unaffordable

Mute John Fahy
    Favourite John Fahy
    Dec 10th 2019, 7:55 AM

@Patrick Fitzgerald: it’s only being dealt with now because it’s blown up in their faces. Previous ministers can’t resign because they’re already gone but this one should go now

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Dec 10th 2019, 11:43 AM

@Patrick Fitzgerald: Don’t like Ross either but on this I would agree.

Mute Karl Charlie
    Favourite Karl Charlie
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:02 PM

Funny the govt dont trust fai with money but the entire population of ireland dont trust the govt with money

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:15 PM

@Karl Charlie: The Irish people should probably ask themselves why they’re electing untrustworthy candidates then.

Mute Michael Graham
    Favourite Michael Graham
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:38 PM

@Karl Charlie: the entire population ?

Mute Misty Eyed Mutton
    Favourite Misty Eyed Mutton
    Dec 10th 2019, 7:42 AM

@Karl Charlie: I trust the government a lot more than the alternatives. Fianna fail must never govern again.

Mute Niall Bourke
    Favourite Niall Bourke
    Dec 10th 2019, 7:59 AM

@Misty Eyed Mutton: Fianna Fáil have been governing by abstaining. Their fingerprints are all over the Fine Gael mess.

Mute Fergal O'Leary
    Favourite Fergal O'Leary
    Dec 10th 2019, 9:56 AM

@Misty Eyed Mutton: Fine Gael: a government of the people!
    Irish tories.

Mute Karl Charlie
    Favourite Karl Charlie
    Dec 10th 2019, 9:02 PM

@Misty Eyed Mutton: so you trust a party that has destroyed this country over a party that hasnt been given a chance to show what they can do yet? brilliant were in for another ffg govt next year

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:53 PM

Pot… Kettle!

Mute Aire Dezamba
    Favourite Aire Dezamba
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:52 PM

Fran Rooney on radio said he left FAI with €12mil in bank. So where did the €67mil go? We need to get an answer….

Mute Fred the Muss
    Favourite Fred the Muss
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:51 PM

@Aire Dezamba: Think some of that is a residual loan from the stadium build.

Mute Forest Hump
    Favourite Forest Hump
    Dec 10th 2019, 7:25 AM

@Fred the Muss: Delaney has to go to a mate’s wedding in Ayia Napa didn’t he. Couldn’t let him go with a 90k dollar suit and a 50k dollar Rolex could we? He doesn’t do planes either so the FAI had to strap two of the fastest Irish players together and attached them to a golden cart, think that set them back a couple hundred money dollars. He also tips 5000% on every purchase cuz he’s such a lovely lad.

Mute Danger
    Favourite Danger
    Dec 10th 2019, 8:33 PM

@Aire Dezamba: Fran Rooney….the house of cards he built with Baltimore technologies ….

Mute devotional
    Favourite devotional
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:07 PM

Ross pontificating yet again , the man with the ego – does he stand in front of the mirror every night thinking of a new way to make the headlines or come up with a new law
    Yes the FAI are a basket case but so is this government

Mute Ian O'Rourke
    Favourite Ian O'Rourke
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:00 PM

Bit disrespectful to basket cases in fairness

Mute Camacsaint
    Favourite Camacsaint
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:30 PM

Sport Ireland have a lot of questions to answer.
    Why was John Delaney let run unchecked over the last number of years?
    Would love to hear what checks and balances are in place?

Maybe Kieron Mulvey could answer this when he appears?

Mute Getaldine Byrne
    Favourite Getaldine Byrne
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:13 PM

Where was the Govt and Shane Ross when tax payers money was being squandered

Mute Sean O' Donovan
    Favourite Sean O' Donovan
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:20 PM

@Getaldine Byrne: Busy claiming expenses.

Mute Fergal Pigat
    Favourite Fergal Pigat
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:46 PM

True That Ross

Mute DaMoons
    Favourite DaMoons
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:59 PM

@Fergal Pigat: We saw a FG TD resign after being found out, but not before he cast a final vote in favour of the FF FG Coalition. Multiple FF and FG members submitting or encouraging spurious claims. The FAI didnt get away with what they did for years by accident.

Mute DaMoons
    Favourite DaMoons
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:01 PM

@DaMoons: Who remembers I WON IT on The HORSES, or the FG calamity of a 200 million euro Tribunal against he who will not be named and no actions taken in response to the Tribunal findings.

Mute Kieran Daly
    Favourite Kieran Daly
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:51 PM

Where’s Delaney? Reno, Rio or Rosslare? £€$¥

Mute Camacsaint
    Favourite Camacsaint
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:10 PM

@Kieran Daly: maybe Kerry?

Mute Camacsaint
    Favourite Camacsaint

I wonder will Healey Rae be there to support JD once more.

He is a major basket case as well as being a disgrace.

Mute Kieran Daly
    Favourite Kieran Daly
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:47 PM

@Camacsaint: Mick Healy Rae nearly died today from smoke inhalation ; busy burning Delaneys ledgers. Three sets of accounts!

Mute Jim O Connor
    Favourite Jim O Connor
    Dec 10th 2019, 1:41 AM

@Kieran Daly:
    Not a nice comment. The man had to be brought to hospital

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Dec 10th 2019, 11:23 AM

@Jim O Connor: When a fire breaks out, the people involved are routinely brought to hospital as a precaution. There was nothing wrong with Healy Rae (nothing that can be blamed on the fire anyway).

Mute Kieran Daly
    Favourite Kieran Daly
    Dec 10th 2019, 2:19 PM

@Jim O Connor: Brought to hospital

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:44 PM

Sport Ireland have questions to answers,they are supposed to oversee this funding etc,but this has been going on for years in the FAI and they kept giving them public money.

Mute Alsy
    Favourite Alsy
    Dec 10th 2019, 2:13 AM

Soccer gets 2.9 million funding from the government. It is the most played sport in the country.
    I could be wrong, maybe football has more but my point is 2.9 million is nothing compared to what the greyhound board get annually.
    It’s 16 million.
    Why do they get so much? Imagine the facilities Ireland could have with 16 million a year?
    Soccer certainly gives more people joy than greyhound racing.
    I’ve been telling people for years about the IGB and how corrupt they are. Races are fixed. Dogs abused. Nobody goes to the track!

Ok rant over.

Mute Now or Never
    Favourite Now or Never
    Dec 10th 2019, 3:01 AM

@Alsy: imagine how much they’d bank separately if u allocated €16 million per year to these cowboys? That’s the problem, absolute no guarantee the money would be invested in the correct way.

Mute Perlum Sprite
    Favourite Perlum Sprite

He’s right not to give them a penny, they e shown they’re beyond incompetent.

Any reasonable person’s concern has to be with the grassroots clubs, particularly under-age boys clubs. Those kids need to be supported, and those who support them need to be supported.

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:03 PM

The latter day St Paul; a bit late with his conversion.

Mute Dylan Moran
    Favourite Dylan Moran
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:46 PM

Shane, you honestly are an embarrassment

Mute Brendan Greene
    Favourite Brendan Greene
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:48 PM

@Dylan Moran: he’s not wrong about this. The FAI are the real embarrassment here.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:12 PM

@Dylan Moran: Show us your expenses

Mute Patrick Fitzgerald
    Favourite Patrick Fitzgerald
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:05 AM

@Dylan Moran: another bot

Mute Alan Biddulph
    Favourite Alan Biddulph
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:55 PM

He has a head like a chewed toffee that fell on the carpet.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:33 PM

@Alan Biddulph: ad hominem argument.

Mute Jason Higgins
    Favourite Jason Higgins
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:59 PM

@Alan Biddulph: a face on him like a bulldog after lickin p!ss from a thistle

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Dec 10th 2019, 1:20 AM

It’s not about Ross, it’s about the FAI and Delaney. Ross is the man who won’t take Ball locks on board in putting Soccer back on track. To the Clowns who knock him, You need mouth guards and Not shin guards.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Dec 10th 2019, 1:21 AM

its simple maths not trust 55m in debt you dont give anyone 2.9 m of a grant who are that badly in debt

Mute Gerard Kellett
    Favourite Gerard Kellett
    Dec 10th 2019, 8:08 AM

The tax paying public don’t trust the politicians with the tax that they collect either but we don’t have an option to withhold paying tax , do we!!!

Mute kenneth power
    Favourite kenneth power
    Dec 10th 2019, 4:41 AM

There is a lot more basket cases than the fai over the last ten yrs and yr pumped money in to them and we paid it back…election time will be pay back time for some of those decisions..ye should be ashamed of yer selves…this government may have improved the finances of the country but it came a major cost to its people

Mute The Combat Arena
    Favourite The Combat Arena
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:49 AM

Ross is a basket case too…so he should know
    https://combatarena.ie/paul-kimmage/

Mute Niall Bourke
    Favourite Niall Bourke
    Dec 10th 2019, 8:02 AM

Shane Ross said on TV the other night he wants to get a third party to distribute the money to the clubs. It will end up costing more to pay them than it will to distribute it.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Dec 10th 2019, 4:40 AM

The Simpsons comes to mind !

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:46 PM

Call in the IFA

Mute Kieran Daly
    Favourite Kieran Daly
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:50 PM

@trebloc01: The farmers or the loyalist football crowd from Belfast? # Ifa # Ifa

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Dec 10th 2019, 7:18 AM

What’s the difference between government money and taxpayers money?

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:23 AM

Pot calling the kettle black

Mute Ger Hanley
    Favourite Ger Hanley
    Dec 10th 2019, 10:00 AM

How come he never said the same about his mate Pat Hickey ?

Mute Niall Bourke
    Favourite Niall Bourke
    Dec 10th 2019, 1:47 PM

Who audited their accounts all these years?

Mute Batster
    Favourite Batster
    Dec 10th 2019, 6:49 AM

Pot kettle

Mute Trev
    Favourite Trev
    Dec 10th 2019, 3:01 AM

Is this the shortest article ever on the42?

Mute Getaldine Byrne
    Favourite Getaldine Byrne
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:16 PM

@Brendan Greene:

Mute Mick Gannon
    Favourite Mick Gannon
    Dec 11th 2019, 12:15 AM

He’s some neck saying he doesn’t trust people with money , the crooks he supports in fail can’t be trusted with money either. Scandal after scandal , financial irregularities, bogus claims for expenses failed health services,rising costs of children’s hospital, broadband and getting your new fancy printer in . Plus your a pompous shit

Mute Ned O Mahony
    Favourite Ned O Mahony
    Dec 10th 2019, 10:36 AM

Well done Shane Ross

Mute Jason Higgins
    Favourite Jason Higgins
    Dec 10th 2019, 12:58 PM

Wouldn’t trust you with money either Ross and you are a bit of a basket case too