You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mel Gibson on sexual harassment scandal: 'Your heart goes out to the victims'

Gibson joined the co-stars of his new film to speak to Ryan Tubridy on the Late Late Show.

The Late Late Show / YouTube

IN A PRE-RECORDED interview for tomorrow night’s The Late Late Show, Hollywood star Mel Gibson said he is glad that the victims of sexual abuse and harassment in the industry have spoken up.

The Australian actor told Ryan Tubridy that “you heart goes out to the victims”, referencing the people who have come forward with allegations against Kevin Spacey and Harvey Weinstein.

He said: “I think it is unfortunate that they have to relive the whole thing in order to heal themselves.

The rest of us are subjected to the problem, I think we really need to look at it. But it is not just Hollywood, you don’t have to be in Hollywood to experience that kind of harassment.

Gibson, himself, has faced a string of scandals in the latter years of his career, the most infamous of which was anti-Semitic rant against a police officer in Malibu, California, in 2006.

In 2010, he faced renewed criticism after allegations he was racist and misogynist in a voicemail left with his former partner, Oksana Grigorieva.

He later reached a plea agreement over plans to charge him with battery against Grigorieva.

Stranger Things actress Winona Ryder also made allegations that Gibson made anti-semitic and homophobic comments to her and called her an “oven-dodger” in reference to the Nazi gas chambers, while it was alleged he shoved and verbally abused a photographer during an altercation in 2015.

“It is rampant everywhere”

As part of the promotion for the film Daddy’s Home 2, Gibson appeared alongside co-stars Mark Walhberg, John Lithgow and Will Ferrell.

Walhberg was asked about the re-shooting of a movie due to Kevin Spacey’s involvement. Christopher Plummer has replaced the disgraced actor in Ridley Scott’s upcoming All the Money in the World.

He said: “If you think about sexual harassment, it is obviously rampant in Hollywood, it is rampant everywhere.

In this particular case, we completely support Ridley’s decision to reshoot the movie and we want to make sure that we handle it, especially when it comes to the victims with respect and sensitivity. That is the most important thing.

Also appearing on the Late Late tomorrow night is comedian Peter Kay, musician Christy Moore, actress Alison Spittle, actor James Nesbitt with music from Ham Sandwich.

Read: Kevin Spacey accused of 20 incidences of inappropriate behaviour from his time at London’s Old Vic theatre

Read: Actress sues Harvey Weinstein for alleged rape in 2016

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

107 Comments
    Mute Lisa Ellen
    Favourite Lisa Ellen
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:17 PM

My heart goes out to Mel’s victims too.

Mute WynnnerZ
    Favourite WynnnerZ
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:20 PM

@Lisa Ellen: just thinking the exact thing myself

Mute GunsGerms
    Favourite GunsGerms
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:28 PM

@WynnnerZ: Yeah me too. He is such a meenie.

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Favourite Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:45 PM

@Lisa Ellen: What victims?

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:52 PM

@David Mc Nally: Being a vile anti-semitic drink-sodden loser isn’t a criminal offence, thankfully for Mel.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:59 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: the guy is a volatile, alcoholic,anti semetic looney

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:10 PM

@David Mc Nally: you’re so right David.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:24 PM

@Misanthrope: No he’s not, Mel Gibson is amazing. i love watching him act and i love watching the movies he makes. You are damning him for something that happened years ago, which he paid the price for. Mel has moved on, he has a new partner, he has another child, he’s making more movies, life is good. Mel has moved on, stop being such a hater and move on with your own life. Oh and by the way, don’t use the word ”alcoholic” like it is a dirty word, The world is full of wonderful reformed “alcoholics”.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:28 PM

@Malachi: Does that make you feel better? calling another person you do not even know horrible names. The only loser here is yourself, pathetic.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:31 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: Being an alcoholic says nothing about your basic personhood. There are alcoholics of all personality types, social backgrounds and moral fibre. The only thing they have in common more than they do with people generally is their dependancy on booze. Know hundreds both recovering and active. I’m one myself.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:56 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: Doesn’t make me feel better. In fact, knowing I share a planet with Mr. Gibson makes me quite nauseated indeed.

I suggest you do a little homework on some of the delightful things he’s said and done with over the years (whilst sober, may I add). I don’t need to personally know the man to know he’s trash. A despicable drink driving thug, a Jew baiter, a chauvinist and an all-out lunatic.

Not someone you should really be defending, but be my guest.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 8:28 PM

@Malachi: My Lord, you have it bad. Mel Gibson being on the planet affects you that much?, if you are being truthful , you should go talk to someone, there is help available. There you go with the name calling again, pathetic. Mel Gibson is far from trash, the man has a wonderful family, he has had, and is having an amazing career, not to mention how extremely wealthy he is.
    maybe that is your problem Malachi, maybe you are jealous of his success.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 16th 2017, 9:06 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: “is having an amazing career, not to mention how extremely wealthy he is.”

Oh yes, I forgot that being successful and rich excuses him for being a completely loathsome criminal. Roman Polanski must be a favourite of yours too.

Gibson’s movies are mostly great. He’s a deplorable excuse for a human being. It’s not jealousy – I can appreciate everybody else who makes great movies and gets rich off them. It might have something to do with his conduct, which should be universally repulsive. Obviously, good movies have twisted your moral compass and turned you into an apologist for a truly disgusting individual.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Nov 16th 2017, 9:21 PM

@Lisa Ellen: It’s a funny thing – among the multitude of historical inaccuracies in ‘Braveheart’ , where every possible attempt was made to make Edward I look like the Antichrist himself, there was curiously NO MENTION of something which Longshanks actually WAS guilty of – the expulsion of Jews from England (an edict was only repealed centuries later by Cromwell of all people). It MAY just have been coincidence…but the fact this was a Mel Gibson film makes it look mighty suspicious.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 16th 2017, 9:32 PM

@Harry Whitehead: Of course, because expelling the Jews and appropriating their land was a good move in Mel’s eyes. Sure they start all the wars in the world, according to (sober) Mel. Couldn’t fault Edward I for that.

We are of course talking about the guy who made a film dedicated almost entirely to Jew-baiting in The Passion. No coincidence.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 9:57 PM

@Malachi: No, I most definitely would not be an admirer of Roman Polanski, I am shocked to the core that you could equate Roman Polanski’s crimes against a child with anything that Mel Gibson was accused of. You know damn well you have stepped over the line with your hatred. All joking aside, you really do need help.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 10:14 PM

@Malachi: Having an amazing career and making oneself wealthy while doing so is obviously the rewards of a very talented successful man.
    How is he a loathsome criminal, please explain.
    I am beginning to think that you are a very sick person.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 10:22 PM

@John Cronin: Thank you John

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 16th 2017, 10:41 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: How is he a loathsome criminal?

Is this your idea of pleading ignorance? He was convicted of battery and drink driving, two loathsome crimes.

I’m beginning to think you’re not even aware of what the man has done and said, or else you’re blocking it out.

Mute Talleyrand Frye
    Favourite Talleyrand Frye
    Nov 16th 2017, 11:34 PM

@Harry Whitehead: Alternatively, it could be because the expulsion of Jews took place 7 years before Wallace’s rebellion, and had nothing to do with the political relationship between England and Scotland?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 17th 2017, 12:57 AM

@Malachi: a domestic abuser in a movie called ‘Daddy’s Home’. Seems Carmel didn’t even read the article. I wonder if she thinks he was acting in the voicemails he left for his ex-partner threatening to kill her

Mute Michael Casserly
    Favourite Michael Casserly
    Nov 17th 2017, 4:51 AM

@Malachi: Let he who is without sin cast the first stone

Mute Cagey75
    Favourite Cagey75
    Nov 17th 2017, 6:04 AM

@Lisa Ellen: the Irish are a bunch of hypocritical geebags, they’ll lap this s#*t up, fair play that woman bashing psycho Mel, he’s warmed them right back up

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 17th 2017, 8:39 AM

@Michael Casserly: I’m not without ‘sin’, but I’ve never in my life done anything that could be equated with Mel Gibson’s crimes.

It’s a stupid saying anyway. Are you saying no one can criticise Charles Manson for being a murderous lunatic unless they’re perfect?

Normal people are absolutely entitled to give out about Gibson and his vicious history.

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Nov 17th 2017, 11:16 AM

@Talleyrand Frye: that still didn’t stop Gibson making up other anachronisms. Isabella of France was 3 years of age at the time of the events depicted in the film.

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Nov 17th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: this is the transcript of a tape released in 2010 where Gibson hopes that his girlfriend gets gang raped and otherwise uses extreme racist and misogynistic language. https://www.salon.com/2010/07/16/mel_gibson_tapes_complete_transcript#.WgPs7Il4jD8.twitter. I think you’re blinded by your adulation of the guy. No doubt Gibson is a fine actor but as a human being, he leaves an awful lot to be desired.

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Nov 17th 2017, 11:45 AM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: seeing the racist anti-immigrant bigotry you’ve posted elsewhere describing immigrants as “foreign invaders”, no surprise then your adulation for this odious anti Semitic bigot. Ironic given that Gibson was brought up in the US, moved to Australia and now lives in the US, but hey, it’s okay for rich white people to freely roam around the planet.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 17th 2017, 1:25 PM

@Conor Kennelly: I am a racist because i call immigrants coming here, “foreign invaders” what would you call them?. it is outrageous that people cannot talk and speak freely, without being attacked and called names. I have a right to speak my mind, tough, if you don’t like it.
    Mel Gibson committed no crime against you or anyone else on here,
    I don’t personally know Mr Gibson,, but i like his work.. Don’t damn the man over things he said in the past, He fell from Grace, paid the price and he is back making more great movies. Get on with your life and be happy for him.

Mute Michael Casserly
    Nov 17th 2017, 4:25 PM

@Malachi: You referenced Passion hence my quote/paraphrase! What makes Mel any less normal than you and I, he still has faults like the rest of us!

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 17th 2017, 6:02 PM

@Conor Kennelly: People of all colours can roam freely around the planet if they have the money to, i did not know it was just a WHITE persons privilage.
    I am not a racist or a bigot, but you are definitely from the name calling brigade, throwing labels about, with the intention of shutting people up.
    I happen to like the whole human race, what a boring world it would be if we were all the same colour and culture. I also think it is nice to have a mixture of different ethnic groups living here among us. What i object to very strongly is the flooding of our country with migrants, bringing with them their dangerous religion and ideologies, changing forever the face of this small Island. If that makes me a racist then so be it.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 18th 2017, 1:05 AM

@Lisa Ellen: You can not make an accusation like that , without elaborating, what victims are you talking about, explain, otherwise your comment is rubbish.

Mute Aoife Wade
    Favourite Aoife Wade
    Nov 18th 2017, 2:50 AM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: Very true Carmel,well said

Mute Aoife Wade
    Favourite Aoife Wade
    Nov 18th 2017, 2:57 AM

@Talleyrand Frye: lol I was thinking the same and 2 hours of a film on scottish independence…

Mute Gerry Peyton
    Favourite Gerry Peyton
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:22 PM

Not a bad lineup of guests on the show. Makes a change from asking random ‘celebs’ in the rte canteen.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:25 PM

@Gerry Peyton: Makes a change from Daniel O’Donnell, Linda Martin, Twink and Vogue what’s her name?

Mute Leadóg
    Favourite Leadóg
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:30 PM

@Dave Murray: Vague Williams.

Mute Morgan Freeman
    Favourite Morgan Freeman
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:51 PM

@Leadóg: I believe it’s Vogue Whatsherface actually

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:04 PM

@Dave Murray: You can also count on Francis Brennan to pop his head in from time to time.

Mute Acedeuce
    Favourite Acedeuce
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:37 PM

@Gerry Peyton: but I guarantee Ryan’s going to make it unwatchable by asking about how Irish they are AGAIN!!

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 16th 2017, 11:31 PM

@Morgan Freeman: she’s a grand girl in fairness very pleasant even though I’m normally not a fan of these celebrity types we all have to pay the bills and she’s no different.

Mute Michael Casserly
    Nov 17th 2017, 4:38 PM

@Leadóg: At least she’s getting well paid for being vague!

Mute Noel James Doherty
    Favourite Noel James Doherty
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:03 PM

I like him

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Nov 17th 2017, 1:45 AM

@Noel James Doherty: alot?

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns

Useless. Not a bad line up IF it was live otherwise s”t as per usual. No contest between him & Graham Norton!

Mute sean conway
    Favourite sean conway
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:56 PM

@Colette Kearns: the graham norton show isn’t a live show so not sure what your point is

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:11 PM

@sean conway: yes but it’s not meant to be, but the late late show is!

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:01 PM

@Colette Kearns: no contest between tubs and a dead fish either.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 16th 2017, 10:37 PM

@Colette Kearns: Tubs fails to follow the interview to interesting places which is his biggest crime in my eyes. He just moves on to the next question on his card and it is normally something pretty banal. However Norton is very staged. He tees up the guests stories and it is obviously something they’ve practiced in rehearsal. “Okay now David you had an incident with a wet fish and a wardrobe. Why don’t you recount this amusing anecdote to our studio audience and the viewer at home which ends with you telling us how amazing you are for the next 15 minutes? Take your time now, unlike non-celebrities you story can be #boringlamemuch and your chair won’t be tipped over.”

Mute Counter Punch
    Favourite Counter Punch
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:21 PM

Good aul’ Mel.

Mute Robbie Farquharson
    Favourite Robbie Farquharson
    Nov 16th 2017, 8:30 PM

All the Band-wagoners hate Mel. I think he’s great ;) always did

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 16th 2017, 11:34 PM

@Robbie Farquharson: he was great. Back in the Eighties. Like Tom Cruise, Steven Seagal, Johnny Depp, Brad Pitt. Now they’re all seen as eccentric / obnoxious idiots.

Mute Smidgen Dublin
    Favourite Smidgen Dublin
    Nov 17th 2017, 11:19 AM

@Robbie Farquharson: Anti-Semite men who beat one of the mother’s of their nine children are great …

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:19 PM

Not exactly squeaky clean himself!

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:49 PM

@Colette Kearns: Nobody is perfect, nobody is squeaky clean.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:29 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: I am!! :-)

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 16th 2017, 8:23 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: “Nobody is perfect, nobody is squeaky clean.”

Right. We’ve all abused our spouses repeatedly at one stage in our lives, right? Everybody has given out about those filthy Jews from time to time.

I mean, who hasn’t been convicted of drunk driving these days? Nobody’s perfect – that’s why Mel decided it was something to laugh/brag about afterwards.

We’re obviously holding this man to a ridiculously high standard.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 8:35 PM

@Colette Kearns: if you are a small child, maybe, but if not, it’s not possible, being human everyone has faults, it’s just a fact.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 9:18 PM

@Malachi: You should be careful about making false allegations, Mel was married once and never abused his wife.
    People are stopped constantly for drink driving, i’s not good i will admit, and yes sometimes we say things with drink that we would not if we were sober, but hey, who’s perfect, we all have our faults.
    But your hatred for him goes a little deeper me thinks. It really should not bother you that much, do you know him personally? are you afraid he will run for president? whatever the problem is you should get it sorted. It’s not healthy to hate so much.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 16th 2017, 9:46 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: You’re right, it was his ex-girlfriend he was convicted of battering, wasn’t it?. My mistake.

“People are stopped constantly for drink driving, i’s not good i will admit”

How gracious of you.

“yes sometimes we say things with drink that we would not if we were sober”

Have you ever seen the interview Gibson did where he laughed heartily at the fact he was caught drink driving? In that same interview, he was told he’d said to the police officer (while very drunk) that “the Jews are responsible for all the wars in the world”. The interviewer asked him about that statement and he simply reaffirmed it. Maybe it’s less to do with the drink than you thought.

“It really should not bother you that much”

Usually it doesn’t. However, I have to say, it’s rare that I see such brazen apologia for a criminal bigot based on the fact that he’s successful.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Nov 16th 2017, 10:56 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: we have a groupie on our hands lol

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 11:00 PM

@Malachi: NO, again you are wrong, He did not batter her, if you want to know the truth about her and the heavily edited tapes to make him look like the bad guy, go to Wikileaks and read.
    It is true that people still drink and drive, not my fault, but it’s the truth. Not very long ago it was acceptable in this country, and yes, people say things when drunk that they would not say when sober, it is a fact.
    Mel Gibson is a wonderful person, nothing you say will make me change my mind. By the way i have watched videos of interviews and saw a very humble man explaining his actions, I saw no evidence of what you say he said. I am thinking now that it is the Jewish Question that has you so riled, am i wrong?

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 11:09 PM

@Misanthrope: God, that’s so funny, thank you, i really needed to laugh, I was starting to feel so depressed about all the hate directed towards one man. Now that i have had a good laugh i feel really good again, thank you.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Nov 17th 2017, 12:29 AM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: “He did not batter her”

The LA courts said otherwise. They sentenced him for his crime after he plead no contest.

(http://people.com/crime/mel-gibson-sentenced-to-counseling-probation-in-battery-case/)

“heavily edited tapes to make him look like the bad guy,”

So the bit about hoping she’d be ‘r*ped by a pack of n-gg-rs’ and that she’d ‘deserve it’ is just out of context, yeah? Pull the other one.

“Mel Gibson is a wonderful person, nothing you say will make me change my mind”

I get that. The cult of personality around this creep will never fade in the mind of some, like yourself. It doesn’t matter what he’s done. It’s cognitive dissonance.

“I saw no evidence of what you say he said”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPQjHiVaDmE

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. It’s right there. As for the ‘Jewish question’ getting me ‘riled’, it’s one of the many repugnant things about the man, but really with a guy like Mel Gibson you’re spoiled for choice when it comes to vileness.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Nov 17th 2017, 12:31 AM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara:
    I’ve made a donkey of myself already today failing to spot sarcasm..I can’t tell if your winding me up or not FFS ha

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 17th 2017, 9:59 PM

@Misanthrope: No, i’m not winding you up, i am not being sarcastic i am very serious.

Mute Rowan Murphy
    Favourite Rowan Murphy
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:29 PM

Just keep making class movies like Apocalypto Mel.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:38 PM

@David Mc Nally: Really!? So you’ve excused his repeated antisemitism, his racism, his homophobia, threatening his ex-girlfriend. Now you only have to defend him punching her whilst she was holding their child.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:46 PM

@David Mc Nally: I didn’t realise I was…….

I wasn’t comparing him to anyone, I was judging him purely on his own (many many) words and actions.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Nov 16th 2017, 5:57 PM

@Tricia Golden: Thanks for the link .. , you don’t have to agree with him, but at least he speaks what he actually thinks and feels, which people cannot do now

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:04 PM

@Tricia Golden: People have a right to like or dislike certain races or creeds, it’s none of your business, we also have the right to like or dislike Gays or lesbians, it’s none of your business . Regarding the phone calls he made while drunk to his ex partner, she was taping the calls, so she was coming across as innocent, from what i understand, she lied to him about almost everything to do with her past, so yeah i’d say he was mad. She should have put the baby down if she knew he was going to hit her, that would have been the proper thing to do. personally i don’t believe it, Mel’s wife of 30 plus years says he was never violent towards her, and i believe her.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:09 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: WOW!

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:11 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: You’re aware he admitted ON TAPE punching her twice in the face, right?

Do you believe him?

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:16 PM

@Tricia Golden: He’s been back quite a while now Tricia, and i am so happy about that. Mel is an amazing actor, writer and director. “The Passion of the Christ” best movie ever made in my opinion.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:31 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara:
    “Mel is an amazing actor, writer and director. “The Passion of the Christ” best movie ever made in my opinion.”

“Maybe she had it coming”

Your words say far more than I could.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:43 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: are you being sarcastic? ?

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:52 PM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: Why would you think i am being sarcastic?

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:54 PM

@Tricia Golden: Thank you.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:10 PM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: then you’re either trolling or just pathetic with comments that .

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:50 PM

@Tricia Golden: Carmels a Mel groupie. Kind of sad really.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 8:50 PM

@Catherine Sims: No Catherine, i would say i am an admirer of a great talent
    People are not allowed to speak freely any more, we live in a fascist world where only one side can be heard and that of course is the voice of the fascist. Mel Gibson is an amazing talented man, his work is a testimony to that. He has done no harm to anyone. Nobody is perfect, you and the rest of you on here damning him should be ashamed of yourselves.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Nov 16th 2017, 9:18 PM

@Tricia Golden: It’s a funny thing – among the multitude of historical inaccuracies in ‘Braveheart’ , where every possible attempt was made to make Edward I look like the Antichrist himself, there was curiously NO MENTION of something which Longshanks actually WAS guilty of – the expulsion of Jews from England (an edict was only repealed centuries later by Cromwell of all people). It MAY just have been coincidence…but the fact this film was directed by Mel Gibson makes it look mighty suspicious.

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Nov 16th 2017, 10:19 PM

@Harry Whitehead: ?

Mute Eimear McKeown
    Favourite Eimear McKeown
    Nov 17th 2017, 12:43 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: ‘She should have put the baby down if she knew he was going to hit her, that would have been the proper thing to do.’ That is truly one of the most disgusting comments I have read this year. You have zero understanding of domestic violence. No one knows when they’re going to be hit. There is no ‘proper’ course of action because no one should ever experience violence from their ex or current partner, and it is never the victim’s fault. The blame always lies with the abuser. Your defence of a domestic abuser (never mind a racist, anti-Semite and homophobe) is abhorrent.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 17th 2017, 4:32 PM

@Eimear McKeown: Violence does not only come from the male side, many women are more than capable of violence against their husbands. I do not for one second condone violence from anyone, male or female. We don’t know the circumstances surrounding the incident, seems to me it was a deliberate set up to make him look as bad as possible, And yes if someone was coming toward me to hit me and i had a baby in my arms, i can assure you the baby would be put down somewhere safe, i think her story just sounds a bit better if she has the baby in her arms. At the end of the day , for her , it was all about money,

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 18th 2017, 1:25 AM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: No, i’m just saying the truth.

Mute Aoife Wade
    Favourite Aoife Wade
    Nov 18th 2017, 3:05 AM

@Tricia Golden: How was misdemeanor battery punching her, he slapped her because she was shaking the child. That was the back and forth on that accusation. He admitted he verbally abused her. I’m not saying he’s a great guy but after 12 years,serving a sentence,she’s €2 million and full custody of the daughter,he’s sobers and back making money to support 3 families.
    I’ve said horrendous things drunk,apologised and cleaned up my act…perhaps he has too. The divorce was a fiasco in the end no credible journalist writes on this because it’s fraught with he said-she said..both sides added up, he did wrong ….can we after 12 years just let him be asked a question…would it be better if he never worked again and said spacey is a great guy ?

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Nov 16th 2017, 6:37 PM

Mel is gas altogether isn’t he ?? He is fooling no one.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:03 PM

@Catherine Sims: What do you mean? who is he trying to fool?

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:47 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: You are obviously a Mel groupie so I’ll just say this once. Mel had proved himself to be a violent racist misognist plus he is homophobic and an anti Semite. No one believes he has any real concern for anyone but himself. But look go kiss his poster night and doodle Mrs Gibson on one of your copybooks lol

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 8:14 PM

@Catherine Sims: That’s pathetic. Mel Gibson is a wonderful actor, writer, producer and director, and from what i read he is also an amazing father.
    You are damning him for incidents and remarks he made in the past. He has paid the price for that. You of course are a member of the label calling brigade, you know, “racist’ “homophobic” blah blah blah. Does it not make you feel even a little bit silly constantly throwing those idiotic words at people.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Nov 16th 2017, 10:21 PM

@Carmel Diana O’Hara: I never throw those words at people actually apart from misognist. But I’ll tell you what genuinely is pathetic … a grown woman with this level of infatuation for an aging actor. As for feeling silly ? I refer you to all you comments on here. Don’t you feel ridiclous ????

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2017, 11:18 PM

@Catherine Sims: No, i don’t feel ridiculous, but you should. And no i am not infatuated with Mel Gibson, but i really do admire him and love his work. The man has moved on from whatever it is that grieves you all so much, you should do the same.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 18th 2017, 2:20 AM

@Catherine Sims: You are pathetic

Mute Brendan McLoughlin
    Favourite Brendan McLoughlin
    Nov 16th 2017, 7:01 PM

Not too often you see a Longford jersey on The Late Late Show…..

Mute David O'Connor
    Favourite David O'Connor
    Nov 18th 2017, 3:08 PM

Mel Gibson has always been and hopefully will always be a great actor and an awesome director. But he’s not flawless and plenty of the people running him down on this comments section aren’t either and wouldn’t be so high and mighty if some of the worst things they had said and done in their lives were splashed across the media. Gibson has been a recovering/struggling alcoholic and when you add this to the quite bizarre ultra strict upbringing he had it makes sense that he lost his way and said some dreadful things while angry and drunk. But I’m pretty confident that any Irish people that actually met him face to face and talked to him would find an interesting, intelligent and funny guy. Bottom line, everyone deserves a second chance, none of us smell entirely of roses and he hasn’t been in serious trouble for years – maybe time to cut the guy a break and stop dragging up the past

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 19th 2017, 2:13 AM

@David O’Connor: Best comment i have read so far, well done David.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 18th 2017, 1:42 AM

MEL, You are fabulous, continue to make great movies, do not listen to the haters, we love you. Thank you for all the entertainment you brought us. Great respect for you, congrats on your beautiful new girl and baby.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Nov 17th 2017, 10:41 AM

Looks like he’s turning into Saddam Hussein

Mute Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Favourite Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Nov 16th 2017, 10:51 PM

Not sure his heart was going out to his wife when he told her if she were “raped by a pack of n*ggers,” she would be to blame. That plus since when is it ok to have antisemitic people on TV? Or is that not a serious enough crime?

Mute thenightmancometh
    Favourite thenightmancometh
    Nov 16th 2017, 11:15 PM

@Pablo Rojas Coppari: I believe he meant to say “draped by a pack of naggers”. Irritating sales assistants in boutiques are the are the bane of Hollywood WAG’s lives.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 17th 2017, 5:02 PM

@Pablo Rojas Coppari: Are you serious, is it a crime to be antisemitic? By the way the woman in question was never his wife.

Mute Carmel Diana O'Hara
    Nov 18th 2017, 1:30 AM

@Pablo Rojas Coppari: Get the story right, she was not his wife.

Mute Adrian De Cléir
    Favourite Adrian De Cléir
    Nov 16th 2017, 11:31 PM

2 violent racists give their opinion on harrasment. Let’s not forget Walhberg was done for blinding for splitting a Vietnamese mans head open and half blinding in racist attacks. Who the hell do these two think they are commenting on this crap. And of course Tubridy would never have the balls to bring that up.

Mute purple rain
    Favourite purple rain
    Nov 16th 2017, 9:41 PM

watched the Mad Max trilogy the other day. god their crap. Still classics though.