You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Undated photograph of Melanie McCarthy McNamara Photocall Ireland

Inmates poured boiling water and sugar down throat of Melanie killer

It was the second time in four weeks that Keith Hall has been targeted by inmates in Mountjoy Prison.

Updated 23:18

INMATES IN MOUNTJOY Prison poured boiling water and sugar down the throat of the man in jail for the killing of Melanie McCarthy McNamara.

Keith Hall, who is serving a 20-year sentence for his role in the killing of the 16-year-old in Tallaght last year, was rushed to hospital after the attack in his cell last week.

The addition of sugar to boiling water forms a paste, which sticks to skin and intensifies burns. It is a tactic commonly used in prisons, where it is described as “napalm” due to the way it attaches to skin and burns.

It was the second time in several weeks that Hall had been targeted by other inmates. He was stabbed repeatedly about 4 weeks ago. A source with knowledge of the situation said that a bounty of €10,000 has been offered by people outside of the prison for any inmate who kills Hall. “He’s afraid of his life,” the source said.

Hall was released from hospital in the past two days and has been moved to a solitary 23-hour lock-up in Mountjoy in a bid to protect him from other inmates.

The 24-year-old was sentenced to 20 years in prison in July in connection with the killing of Melanie McCarthy McNamara, who was shot in the head as she sat in the back of a car in Tallaght in February 2012.

Gardaí said that the teen was not believed to be the intended victim of the shooting.

First published 11:14

Previously: Man charged over killing of 16-year-old girl in Tallaght >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

248 Comments
    Mute The Cynic
    Favourite The Cynic
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:53 AM

Two wrongs?

What on earth is wrong with the commenters here? This guy is a drug addict and gang member, who killed another drug gang member. All involved known to gardai. She was due to marry the intended victim (another drug gang member) in a few days, and was sitting in his car with him. While she wasn’t the intended victim that day, she was not exactly walking past with no links to this criminal whatsoever.

And now someone else in a drug gang has paid to kill this man in prison.

Neither the girl, nor this guy should be dead. It is not improving matters to keep killing, one after another. What happens next, this guys family take out a hit on whoever murders him, perhaps in his daughters name? And yet another bystander gets hurt.

I fail to see how perpetuating this kind of barbarism helps our crime problem in this country.

Mute Dee Reilly
    Favourite Dee Reilly
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:57 AM

I agree

Mute James Meehan
    Favourite James Meehan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:17 PM

i know its not the exact quote but evil men prosper while good men sit idly by

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:24 PM

According to the article there’s a 10 grand hit out on him. I wonder where that money came from?

Mute yip
    Favourite yip
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:27 PM

Totally agree with the cynic. Spot on

Mute Aaron Burns
    Favourite Aaron Burns
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:55 PM

well maybe its just karma….. he was a shite now hes paying for it…. painfully…… you may not see it as justice but alot of people will. Myself included.

Mute Paul Walsh
    Favourite Paul Walsh
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:56 PM

You say you fail to see how ‘ Perpetuating this kind of barbarism ‘ will help out our crime problem. Currently prison is not a deterrent to crime and in fact, there’s huge investment being made to make life inside even cushier. If a person felt maybe that there would be nasty consequences to be endured should you kill someone they might be less likely to go out and do it.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:08 PM

Well why are there consequences? As Niall Sullivan asked above; where is the money coming from? There’d be no such bounty if he killed someone with no criminal links so there’d be a lesser punishment. Is that just?

And that’s before we look at the morality of torture, which is something a lot of people here seem to be ok with

Mute Margin Roffee
    Favourite Margin Roffee

Prison alone does not stop killers nor kiddie fiddlers, they should all reap the reward of prison justice…

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:16 PM

Regardless, the life he lead, this is kharma… whether or not for killing this girl is immaterial. Its not right I know that, but he probably inflicted misery on innocent people the way he lived his life…. As for the bigger criminals? Well the bigger guys are the ones keeping the little ones in jail….

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:17 PM

Well you don’t hear about the ones it does deter

Mute Jim Butler
    Favourite Jim Butler
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:04 PM

Jesus why do people keep throwing out the Karma argument, what a completely senseless argument. Even if you do want to look at this from a ‘Karma’ perspective then lets expand that line of thought. The guy was tortured in prison, karma was at work, he murdered this girl…hence Karma has dished out punishment to him. The girl was shot dead, if we believe in Karma then this dictates that Karma was punishing her for something she has done…but oh no, that doesn’t fit into my simplistic way of looking at the world!

So in conclusion, STOP shiteing on about bloody Karma!!

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:12 PM

@ Niall the intended target of the shooting was a gang member, the girl who was killed was his girlfriend. Gang money was most likely where the 10 grand was coming from.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:14 PM

@ Paul By that logic countries with the death penalty should have lower crime rates, right? Well thats not the case….the USA for example.

Mute Richard O'Gorman
    Favourite Richard O'Gorman
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:46 PM

Interesting.

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:13 PM

Agreed. Typical kneejerk response from the usual members of the Journal lynchmob.

Mute Niall Walsh
    Favourite Niall Walsh
    Sep 12th 2013, 7:38 PM

This is going to happen for the rest of this Guys life…..Every Anaversery this will happen….. Scanner’s

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Sep 12th 2013, 7:42 PM

And it’s a massive misunderstanding of what karma means too..

Karma is the law of cause and effect, that your actions create the reality you live in eg, if you are a violent thug, then chances are you will end up surrounded by other violent thugs.
    If you do something wrong then you do deserve to be punished, but with the view toward learning the lesson from the situation so that you can become a better person – not revenge which is about wanting to inflict the pain felt upon another (and is an ugly side of human nature). Which is, as the Buddhist saying goes – “holding onto hatred is like swallowing poison and expecting the other person to die”.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Sep 12th 2013, 10:11 PM

Its kharma that this gets you mad… Did you do something bad? Own up…. C’mon! :)

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:42 PM

Legal aid?

Mute Kate O'Connell
    Favourite Kate O'Connell
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:55 PM

All the research points to the contrary. Harsh prison regimes like hard labour, harsh sentences or three strikes dont deter offenders.

Mute Laurie
    Favourite Laurie
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:59 PM

Hear hear but as this is true it will fall on deaf ears

Mute Barry Fahy
    Favourite Barry Fahy
    Sep 13th 2013, 12:20 AM

‘kharma’ indeed

Mute Daniel O'Keeffe
    Favourite Daniel O'Keeffe
    Sep 13th 2013, 1:35 AM

Painful adolescent comment to read Aaron!

Mute sheelagh quinn
    Favourite sheelagh quinn
    Sep 13th 2013, 3:31 AM

Karma , which you clearly don’t understand , keeps the world in balance , it doesn’t punish wrong no more Than it gives fish bicycles we are all accountable for our own actions

Mute Maria Clery-Breen
    Favourite Maria Clery-Breen
    Sep 13th 2013, 6:26 AM

Well said

Mute stacey
    Favourite stacey
    Sep 13th 2013, 8:22 AM

This girl was not an innocent child as they are making out… An innocent child is playing on the street with her friends. Not in a car with her husband to be selling drugs around the estate. Although she wasn’t the intended target , being in a relationship with someone like that and helping them do their dealings is asking for trouble. Nobody in innocent in this. Keith hall did wrong but he has been given time to serve and he is doing that, should he subjected to be tortured every day? No. The people that are torturing him are probably the same people you have called dirt bags and child killers in recent months/years. Anyone related in gang land crime are not innocent. This was tragic that she was so young but she was also very very silly. What a great family she has offering money to torture someone, isn’t these the same
    People who have very high morals by tv3 standards? Pfffft.

Mute John king
    Favourite John king
    Sep 13th 2013, 11:07 AM

Well if karma was to strike than we probably wake up one morning finding nothing more than rubble and ash left, where once places such as parts of Tallaght , some parts of Dublin northside and mountjoy prison once stood…

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:20 AM

The way of the jungle.

Mute Ping Pong
    Favourite Ping Pong
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:26 AM

Revenge is sweet as they say

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:27 AM

The pain of that must be excruciating.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:47 AM

So must be the pain of losing a loved one

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:51 AM

I reckon it was nothing compared to the pain that poor girl felt just before She drew her final breath.
    **** him.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly

@ping pong. I thought it was supposed to be best served cold?

Mute Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Favourite Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:18 PM

Isn’t karma sweet! Especially considering he’ll probably be released after 5 years because of our ridiculous system….he deserves every day of torment and torture he suffers

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:21 PM

Live by the boiling sugery water, die by the boiling sugery water.

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:53 PM

It wouldn’t be news if they added a tea bag.

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:48 PM

@justin

You mean the Barry’s tea sugar boil down? I’ve heard of that. Myth has it, it was used around Cork in the old days for answering ‘what is the capital of Ireland?…. Correctly.

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:23 PM

You know it Captain.

Mute Spud Jones
    Favourite Spud Jones
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:26 PM

“Him off”

Mute big shmoke
    Favourite big shmoke
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:17 PM

Good enough for him; hopefully they don’t kill him too soon. A long & lingering sentence & hopefully serves every day of it. Bastard.

Mute sheelagh quinn
    Favourite sheelagh quinn
    Sep 13th 2013, 3:42 AM

I love you captain

Mute Michelle Philpot
    Favourite Michelle Philpot
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:56 AM

“An eye for an eye will only make the whole world blind”

Ghandi

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:30 PM

No, there will be one person left with an eye

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll

If we could isolate all the criminals and murderers I’d have no problem with the lot of them going blind but unfortunately there’s too much collateral damage because of gun and drug crime in Ireland.

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:35 PM

What’s with the thumbs down? How can the last person be blinded if no-one else can see him?

Mute John L'Estrange
    Favourite John L'Estrange
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:40 PM

And in the spirit of metaphors: in the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:46 PM

… and, home is where you live

Mute Chris Robinson
    Favourite Chris Robinson
    Sep 12th 2013, 3:53 PM

that is the land of the Bulgars

Mute Craig Ryan
    Favourite Craig Ryan
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:25 PM

I bet you were waiting for someone to say that :)

Mute Craig Ryan
    Favourite Craig Ryan
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:27 PM

But all his subjects wouldn’t know who he is

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Sep 12th 2013, 10:11 PM

Mr cyclops..

Mute judy burke
    Favourite judy burke
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:35 PM

Agreed Michelle ! The barbaric and horrific cruelty involved here makes me sick …. !

Mute Adrian quinn
    Favourite Adrian quinn
    Sep 13th 2013, 1:19 AM

In the land of the blind, its the one eyed man who’s king
    Tom Waits

Mute Daithí Ó'Céileachair
    Favourite Daithí Ó'Céileachair
    Sep 13th 2013, 9:01 AM

……and, no matter where you go, there you are !

Mute James Ó Cianáin
    Favourite James Ó Cianáin
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:43 AM

Regardless of this mans actions I think this type of abuse on anyone is morally wrong!

Some of you are absolute animals thinking that this is justice!

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:48 AM

Yeah should the guys,sorry animals who carried this out be subject to some torture for the crimes they were convicted for or even for retaliation for this one.

Mute James O Connor
    Favourite James O Connor
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:59 AM

You wouldn’t say that it was wrong if it was your daughter! Eye for an Eye!

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:14 PM

“An eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind” Ghandi

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:32 PM

Yes, the poor little murderous maniac.

He needs cuddles, not boiling water.

Mute Ian McPartland
    Favourite Ian McPartland
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:33 PM

No ..the last guy would have one eye left..

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:40 PM

kinda sucking the analogy out of the quote there, Ian. Well done!!

Mute Ian McPartland
    Favourite Ian McPartland

hey im all for quotes… but even gandolf got this one wrong…. but i suppose every cloud has a rock and a hard place…

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:23 PM

Gandolf?
    Did you mean Gandalf? But really mean Ghandi?

I don’t know where to start with that!

Mute Jim Butler
    Favourite Jim Butler
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:53 PM

I’m sorry CPM, but nobody needs to have a boiling water/sugar combo poured down their throat, no matter what they’ve done. We do not live in the Middle Ages. Yes he’s a murder, but there are many murders in the country…you don’t find the families of all these victims offering rewards for the murder of another person.

Mute Allan O'Shea
    Favourite Allan O'Shea
    Sep 12th 2013, 3:35 PM

I agree. Two wrongs do not make a right.

Mute Alan Little
    Favourite Alan Little
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:31 AM

Does this mean he is entitled to compensation from the state, for failing to protect him while in custody of the state?

Mute Fix Ireland
    Favourite Fix Ireland
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:41 AM

Probably

Mute Joe Stodge
    Favourite Joe Stodge
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:29 PM

If he lives long enough.

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Sep 13th 2013, 7:36 AM

God, I hope not. He’s already costing a fortune.

Mute Gav Wilde
    Favourite Gav Wilde
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:50 AM

U are all morons, hes doin his time, if u agree with this sort of behaviour why dont yas all lobby to bring back corporal punishment. He got his punishment from a court of law, he should b left to serve his time in peace

Mute Andrew O'connell
    Favourite Andrew O'connell
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:12 PM

So people who are capable of pouring “napalm“ down someones throat are able to rejoin society? Wtf are you playing at?

Mute Michael Fallon
    Favourite Michael Fallon
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:31 AM

Prison officers???? Not nearly enough of them! Remember we don’t like paying for public services in this country, that’s why we voted in fine gael

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:14 PM

We might not “like paying for public services” but oh wow we’re paying alright.

Mute Ireland Uncensored
    Favourite Ireland Uncensored
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:23 AM

Where are the prison officers in all this, how can this go on. This man is serving his time, it doesn’t need to get worse

Mute Shaun Sweeney
    Favourite Shaun Sweeney
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:32 AM

prison officers cant baby sit every prisoner. there are 2 prison officers per 60 inmates on a landing with 40 odd cells,toilets and shower rooms.this attack would probabarly have taken less than 30 seconds and easily happened when the officers were attending to the day to day running of the landing. so to answer your question its fair to say that the officers were on the landing doing their job

Mute The Dr.
    Favourite The Dr.

That poor guy has feeling too!

Mute big shmoke
    Favourite big shmoke
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:23 PM

Shaun; are you accusing the prison officers of something? They have an incredibly difficult job dealing with mostly those who refuse to live by societies norms by & large. They have staffing issues & a recruitment moratorium which doesn’t help. Staff would have administered first aid regardless of how they feel about any inmate & would have had to escort him to the hospital, they do not pick & choose who enters their custody. They do an incredibly hard job which I wouldn’t do & do it well. I say the little bastard got what he deserved & hope he gets a lot more.

Mute Grainne T
    Favourite Grainne T
    Sep 13th 2013, 10:04 AM

Well said

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:25 AM

Hard to feel sorry for him…. Actually it’s impossible to feel sorry for him.

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:24 PM

How does it show that ‘Travellers’ are doing anything?

Mute Michelle Philpot
    Favourite Michelle Philpot
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:43 AM

Justice isn’t revenge

Mute Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    Favourite Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:42 AM

I can’t condone it but neither can I feel sympathy with him. He’s there because of his actions, no one forced him to go out and kill someone and the fact that young lady wasn’t the intended target doesn’t really come into it. He had about as much respect for human life and the people who attacked him. Horrific thing to have to endure though.

Mute Ivan Karpenko
    Favourite Ivan Karpenko
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:22 PM

the word on the street is that he used her as a human shield, grabbed her and held her in front of himself as they were driving by… you still have sympathy for him?

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:44 PM

A story about Muslims in Ireland on the Journal inevitably leads to collective shrieks about the abhorrence of sharia law. Yet, this article leads to collective gleeful shrieks of “an eye for an eye”. Ironic much!

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:58 AM

There must be a full investigation of this assault. It cannot go unpunished. The courts are the only authority to dish out punishment. The EU (that most Irish people seem to love) have outlawed any sort of torture, execution etc. so, in my opinion, if most of you commenting here believe this was ‘just’ you are as evil as the person who shot the poor girl. I consider these comments as incitement to hatred and should be deleted by the moderator

Mute Steven Fegan
    Favourite Steven Fegan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:10 PM

Obviously John Higgins Meade you have no children to defend such a monster” and if it was anyone belonging to me’ i swear he wouldn’t have made it to prison” but i would have..

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:27 PM

Steven
    With comments like yours is it any wonder that animals roam our streets and prisons. You should be thoroughly ashamed of yourself.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:09 PM

Revenge isn’t defence. That’s they they’re different words

Mute Dee Murray
    Favourite Dee Murray

He’s not defending what the guy did, he is condemning the torture that was meted out on him. I guess you’re ok with vigilante torture, personally I am not and people who condone it disgust me.

Mute nikki gorman
    Favourite nikki gorman
    Sep 12th 2013, 4:29 PM

Wish people would stop referring to these people as “animals”. Animals wouldn’t do to there own what these people are doing animals have more compassion

Mute Michelle Barry
    Favourite Michelle Barry
    Sep 12th 2013, 10:17 PM

Well said Stephen, cldn’t agree more.

Mute Dee Reilly
    Favourite Dee Reilly
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:56 AM

So now loads more evil people know how to torture the innocent if they dident already.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Sep 12th 2013, 7:43 PM

Good point Dee.

Mute karla carroll
    Favourite karla carroll
    Sep 13th 2013, 7:52 AM

You only have to turn on the tv, programmes like CSI are full of information. The use of Sugar water has been around for years.

Mute James Dunne
    Favourite James Dunne
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:23 AM

CAnt say I feel sorry for him, live by the sword!!

Mute James Dunne
    Favourite James Dunne
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:33 AM

It obviously wasn’t your innocent sister, daughter he killed, he deserves what he gets

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:02 PM

The 12th century called. They want their justice system back

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:07 PM

“he deserves what he gets”

He got 20 years in Jail. Anyone here condoning violence is no better than the murderer himself or the “heros” in the prison carrying out these actions. It’s highly likely that the prisoners who attacked him have long sentences for crimes involving violence and could also already be murderers or are at least capable of it.
    I’m sure the parents and family/friends of the girl who was killed, feel now they have justice and this incident has brought closure to them and they can get on with their lives etc.
    I doubt it. There is no closure just perpetual violence and retaliation.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:08 PM

The brutality involved in the attack itself is being reported more graphically elsewhere. In the stabbing attack a few weeks back he received 50 stitches after a gang of 5 men attacked him. It’s also reported elsewhere the bounty on his head is 20 grand, not 10.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Sep 12th 2013, 6:58 PM

In a strange turn of events I agree with you Peace for All :)

It’s mad.. Had this guy hit his intended target, the commenters baying for his blood would possibly be giving him kudos for having shot a gangland criminal (as these hits are usually based on revenge)..

Because he shot an innocent – this means that it is suddenly ok for everyone to act as though they condone the same sort of violence that they take issue with gang members committing?

If the guy pleaded guilty, and admitted it, I would hope that it is weighing heavily on his conscience, this in turn would hopefully spur him on to channeling that guilt into something positive – some way to give back and make amends – isn’t this what prison is supposed to be about? It may be failing miserably at present – but surely there is something we can do about that?

This primal urge to seek revenge while calling it justice is a perversion. Justice is about putting wrongs right, revenge is just about getting your pound of flesh, it never works, and all it does is cause escalation and more hurt.

Mute Patrick Jackman
    Favourite Patrick Jackman
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:20 PM

Irrespective of the mans guilt this absolutely cannot be tolerated otherwise we become no better than him. I would question why prisoners have access of boiling water in the first place, they could use it to burn prison officers etc.
    Also note the recent case of the murder of Rachel Manning in Milton Keynes. The man initially and wrongfully convicted of her murder was subjected to attacks by other prisoners until the BBC documentary challenging his conviction was broadcast.

Mute Rebecca Owens
    Favourite Rebecca Owens
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:43 PM

Totally agree. I just posted a similar comment. Plus why are inmates not supervised when in groups. Nothing more than a long term boarding school as far as I can see.

Mute executioner
    Favourite executioner
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:52 PM

Totally different case,this sub human admitted his guilt,and there was very strong evidence against him,also he has over 100 conviction’s. “a pillar of society”What do yo want ?give him the iron cross for his service to the state,he choose this path of crime and murder,he must deal with the consequences.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:09 PM

11 convictions I saw reported elsewhere.

Mute Rebecca Owens
    Favourite Rebecca Owens
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:17 PM

I never said he was a pillar of society. He is in prison for a reason and paying for his crime with time. This repayment in torture does nothing except stain the memory of that poor girl. She deserves to rest in peace.

Mute coincéar
    Favourite coincéar
    Sep 12th 2013, 10:53 PM

hmmmm lets me see….the landing he is on has on average 80 odd prisoners everyday…. and a total of 2 prison officers….. do you still wonder why they are not supervised………would you try to intervene and risk the chance of getting scared for life by boiling water and sugar……

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:40 AM

Gonna be a long 20 years for him, or 5 if sentencing in this country is anything to go by!!

Mute Ryan Prior
    Favourite Ryan Prior
    Sep 12th 2013, 3:08 PM

Going by the €10K offer from outside, I think he’ll wanna stay in prison for the long run!!

Mute Kevin Egan
    Favourite Kevin Egan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:11 PM

Thats a job for Gaviscon Extra!!!

Mute PJ Coogan
    Favourite PJ Coogan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:35 PM

There’s no justification for this. He may be (no, scratch that, he IS) a murdering thug, but he’s still entitled to serve his time in safety. This attack must be investigated and prosecuted like any other crime – it looks like attempted murder to me. And before anyone asks – I have a daughter not much younger than Melanie. I would do time myself if anyone harmed her – but that’s my human reaction as a Dad. It doesn’t make this attack right. I’ve heard of that “Napalm” trick before – I did a story on it many years ago. It’s barbaric. Effectively, if the mixture is thick enough, it’s like boiling toffee, and literally tears away a layer of flesh in its wake.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:53 PM

If you ever made toffee apples before by mixing boiling water and sugar in a pot, and were unfortunate enough to get even a tiny splash of it on you hand in the process, it burns like nothing else. It may as well be acid at that moment in time to the victim.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:57 PM

Toffee apples PJ. Toffee apples. If you’ve ever mixed boiling water with sugar in a pot to make same, you’d know only too well how long it takes to cool down afterwards and also how much damage it do even if you were splashed by a freckle sized blot in the process. To have it poured down your throat, on such soft sensitive skin, must be horrendous.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:58 PM

Sorry for double post. Second one appeared at the same time as first one.

Mute PJ Coogan
    Favourite PJ Coogan

Ah yeah, Niall I know. I recall an incident I reported on many years ago where a person was injured when a pot of if spilt in a kitchen..

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:13 PM

Did you do any stories on Africans or Russians lately PJ :}

Mute Sharon Dore
    Favourite Sharon Dore
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:18 PM

So because other prisoners (rapists, murderers, violent criminals etc) “attacked” this other murderer they should be let out????? Yea that’s so gonna work!! Silly comment on your behalf….. I do not condone murder but nor do I condone violence on any human being… If we all had the attitude of hurting those who’ve hurt others we would be forever doling out ” revenge attacks” What does it solve???? Nothing—- Won’t bring the victim back & makes you as guilty as the perpetrator!!!

Mute Aonghus Dwane
    Favourite Aonghus Dwane
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:05 PM

Does the Journal need to be providing this level of “how-to” detail for torturers?

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:13 PM

Ah yes because the journal readership is predominantly made up of ticking time bombs just waiting for the right information on how to torture their next victim.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan

@Fergal

The Journal’s next article will be 13 ways to kill your next victim……

And then 12 ways to dispose of the body.

It’ll run a series on the dangers of sugar and hot water.

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:04 PM

Next week, bomb making for dummies.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:11 PM

Poor Aonghus will be horrified Fergal. Best not tell him about the anarchists handbook, or how to turn your excrement into chemical weapons volume 2 available at all good bookshops near you.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:52 PM

Now that we’re on the subject, anyone know how to get rid of the dead burglar in my shed? I almost forgot until now.

Mute Natalie May
    Favourite Natalie May

Surely the prison services knew he’d be a target? He can now take a case against the state for the prison’s negligence in failing to protect him. Wonder how much that’ll cost..

I’m not having a go at the prison services or their staff.. I’m sure they’ve been hit by cutbacks like everywhere else. Yet again it’s a prime example of the government cutting back in areas that should be invested in: policing, nursing etc

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:02 PM

Natalie. He was on protection. It was another prisoner on protection with him that did it. Monthly is not a designated Protection Prison so protection spaces are limited. And as such most protection prisoners are doubled up with others that are felt to be no threat to them. The money put up to get him changed the dynamics of his situation.

Mute Rísteard Ó Muineacháin
    Favourite Rísteard Ó Muineacháin
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:36 PM

Nice to see the people if ireland believe in rehabilitation and not the torture of prisoners.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:46 PM

So who’s offering this €10,000 bounty then? Anybody questioning that?

I think we can assume that anybody offering cash for violence to be carried out in a prison and with the capacity to engage prisoners to do that is probably not the best themselves.

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:05 PM

I believe it is the relatives of the Dead Girl.

Mute PO
    Favourite PO
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:35 AM

Boiling water and sugar, Napalm, never heard of this one

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:49 AM

Hot and sticky..wont just slide off or down the throat

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor

It also is hotter as the sugar has a higher boiling point. Could easily have been 140 C

Mute Mark Govern
    Favourite Mark Govern

Animals. Hope they charge those involved.

Mute Diego Perrozzi
    Favourite Diego Perrozzi
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:59 AM

Serves him right anyway i think even if the shooting was a mistake.people should suffer for crimes like this not jus get put in a cell,given loads of priveleges they shouldn’t and living and befriending with hundreds of others just like them and worse.would be great if the prisons here were like the prisons in south america there would literally be zero crime because people would be too shitless of being sent there..

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly

No crime in South America? Jesus, someone must ring them and tell them to stop sending all of those innocent murderers and gang bangers to prison.

Mute Holly Hanlon
    Favourite Holly Hanlon
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:20 PM

Because there’s definitely zero crime in south america…

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy

@Diego….so the prisons of South America are empty, are they?

Mute Diego Perrozzi
    Favourite Diego Perrozzi
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:00 PM

Ye pack of dopes.i meant leave the prisons be run like they are in south america where gaurds control the perimeter and the inmates control the prison and are let free to do what they want n walk around free with weapons etc in awful conditions killing each other day in day out.not many people in this country would have the balls to commit crimes if they knew they were being sent to a place like that.

Mute Diego Perrozzi
    Favourite Diego Perrozzi

And ok ya i might have been exaggerating a bit with zero crime but there most certainly would be a lot less.especially in a country like this.poverty in them countrys is rife hence the high crime rates.things arn’t so bad here even without a job you get nearly 200 quid a week for god’s sake ha

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:12 PM

Well, apparently they ARE sent to a place like that

But if we implemented your idea, what would be the deterrent for gang leaders? They’d be fine in a prison like that

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:14 PM

You wouldn’t say that Diego if you ended up in prison, especially if you were a victim of a miscarriage of justice.
    Prison is to remove people like that from society not encourage a culture of violence and murder and savagery that can be continued back out on the streets when the criminals finish their sentences.

Mute Diego Perrozzi
    Favourite Diego Perrozzi
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:18 PM

Your right i suppose i have to agree with ya there..

Mute Rob Mackey
    Favourite Rob Mackey
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:06 PM

Just stop talking diego or typing, whichever.

Mute Adam Gill
    Favourite Adam Gill
    Sep 12th 2013, 4:48 PM

hahaha diego been watching a bit too much prison break season 3 have we? you do realise that’s what they refer to as ‘fiction’, yes?

Mute Dainéal Cushen
    Favourite Dainéal Cushen
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:28 PM

Doesn’t Columbia have the highest unsolved murder cases in the world?

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Sep 12th 2013, 8:03 PM

Haven’t there been incidents where the prison guards just opened fire on a herd of prisoners because the prison was so overcrowded somewhere in South America?

Mute Frank Nolan
    Favourite Frank Nolan
    Sep 13th 2013, 7:14 AM

All guessing and shite talk

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Sep 12th 2013, 6:06 PM

Regardless of what he did, only savages would condone such vicious behaviour. Are you all under the illusion that the prisoners who carried out this attack did so because they cared about the victim?

To think how people in Norway were so dignified after the callous attacks two years ago. There didn’t seem to be this lynch mob retaliation from the public. It was nice to see and very commendable. (Not meaning to equate these two incidents with each other) But, two wrongs don’t make a right.

Mute Keith James O'Connor
    Favourite Keith James O'Connor
    Sep 12th 2013, 3:14 PM

Some sick in the head commenter’s on here to think human torture is acceptable. The girl in question involved her life in gang culture and she paid the ultimate price. This man has been given his punishment in accordance with the law by the Irish state. To torture this man is completely wrong. What are the people who tortured him in prison for anyways MAYBE RAPE MURDER OR CHILD ABUSE. By some peoples logic they should also be tortured. By my logic they should not be tortured. I do believe that the death penalty should be introduced again in ireland however for cases of severe rape torture of an individual child abuse and murder but the facts abut the case would need to be fully comp and a full understanding of exactly what happened followed by a secret jury vote on whether the death penalty should be used for each individual case. Some people deserve nothing more then to rot in hell.

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:26 PM

Barbaric

Mute John Corcoran
    Favourite John Corcoran
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:54 PM

Those crazy cats up in the joy!!! what mad scrapes will they get themselves into next!!!!

Mute Rebecca Owens
    Favourite Rebecca Owens
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:41 PM

I am curious as to how the inmates had easy access to food supplies outside of mess halls including the ability to boil water. Plus why are social interactions not supervised. These guys are in there for a reason.

Mute Patrick Jackman
    Favourite Patrick Jackman
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:01 PM

This is a very serious point. Boiling water with or without sugar could be used on prison officers or anyone else or even in a suicide attempt. Where were the prison officers?

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:59 PM

I think they have kettles in the cells, for making tea. Well, not anymore I’d imagine.

Mute Shaun Sweeney
    Favourite Shaun Sweeney
    Sep 12th 2013, 4:16 PM

patrick ive never heard of anybody boiling themselves to death in a kettle

Mute Shane Hartnett
    Favourite Shane Hartnett
    Sep 12th 2013, 9:27 PM

Rebecca theres no such thing as mess hall in Irish Prisons that’s only on t.v . Prisoners collect their food from a service area and dine in their cells. They are allowed kettles in their cells so as they can make a cup of hot chocolate before they go to sleep after their finished playing with their playstations or watching sky

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:47 AM

sugar and boiling water? how did they ever figure that out? To be fair its kind of smart thinking – scary!

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly

It was in Oz anyway, but it’s an older trick than that. Sugar was being added to petrol bombs in the north in the 60s

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Sep 13th 2013, 7:02 AM

Sugar as been used for decades as an additive for a lot of home made weapons ( so to speak) molotov cocktails spring to mind, makes the cocktail more adhesive to the person or building/car its being thrown at…. Sugar itself is also extremely flammable, so double whammy.

Mute Mick Humphries
    Favourite Mick Humphries
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:22 PM

Revenge is as old as the hills. You can argue about its morality until your blue in the face you really don’t know how you would react until faced with awful circumstances such as this.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan

This is true Mick. We’re it my daughter he killed I’d make sure with every ounce of my being he paid in more ways than 1.

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Favourite Brian O Cinneide
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:25 PM

Do I suspect that the letter “T” is involved?

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan

T for Tarmacadam?

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:55 PM

Mr. T?

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan

No Brian there was no T involved, just water and sugar.

Mute Dee Murray
    Favourite Dee Murray

Torture? Yep.

Mute BroadSideSkid
    Favourite BroadSideSkid
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:35 PM

It’s a fact that most people on death row in America are poor-black-men.

That doesn’t mean that poor black men commit the most murders, it just means that white people can afford better lawyers.

The death penalty is not the answer.

Our prisons should NOT be ‘nice places’ , they should be just *barely* humane.
    And a ‘Life Sentence’ should mean just that…

Mute Peter Redmond
    Favourite Peter Redmond
    Sep 13th 2013, 7:28 PM

What does barely humane mean??? Barely feed them, barely rehabilitate them?? Who are we to be inhumane to prisoners? Prisoners are people too, there only punishment is their liberty has been taken away from them for a specified length of time, it’s our duty as a country to rehabilitate every prisoner so that they can live law abiding lives upon release and give back to the country.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:58 AM

This is why we need the death penalty in Ireland

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:05 PM

Would anyone who decides to red thumb like to give me a good reason as to not have a death penalty in Ireland

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:16 PM

I’ll give you three. It’s barbaric. Two wrongs don’t make a right. It’s too easy for the perpetrators to get to forget their crime and simply pass away.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:22 PM

There crimes are barbaric …I’m Still not convinced its a bad idea to have a death penalty in Ireland It would save the tax payer money and be a deterant against murder

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:25 PM

because of the possibility of executing the wrong person.
    Check out the documentary “West of Memphis”

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:28 PM

I could be that wrong person ,although rare it’s a chance I would be willing to take …. Still not convinced

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:28 PM

it’s not a deterrent against murder!
    People still getting killed in America where it’s been in place for decades!

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:29 PM

so if you were on death row for a crime you did not commit you’d STILL defend the death penalty?

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix

@ Gavin
    I’m talking about Ireland here which is tiny in comparison too the USA population wise also who said there would be a death row

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:38 PM

well if you had a bunch of convicts who were sentenced to death, while they wait on appeals and such. The place where they are kept until their appeals process has run out would colloquially be called “death row”!
    Talking about a smaller sample size still does not support the idea that a death penalty would be a deterrent!

Mute Amy gaffney
    Favourite Amy gaffney
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:45 PM

I’d like the death penalty for crimes such as the rape and murder of that child April Jones. BUT the guilt would have to be proved. An avalanche of evidence and a conviction by a jury wouldn’t be enough, in that case a life sentence should be handed down. The death penalty should only be used when DNA or CCTV or whatever proves the person is guilty. There are crimes that are just so sickening that the person in my view doesn’t deserve to live.

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly

Who decides what crimes are sickening enough though?

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan

Copstix. On many things we have our disagreements but on this I agree 100% with you. We should have the Death Penalty for Capital Murder, Child Murder/Rape, Murder for Hire and Gang related Murder.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly

So you think raping an adult deserves the death penalty but murdering an adult doesn’t??

Mute Load O' Cobblers
    Favourite Load O' Cobblers
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:13 PM

I red thumbed you Chopstix. Firstly, the Irish People have already overwhelmingly voted to remove the death penalty and this is protected by the constitution, so the people have already spoken. Secondly, even if it wasn’t formed out of a weak society and moral cowardice, you could never trust the legal system to be 100% infallible in its use.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored

So you’d give the people who run this country the power to sentence somebody to death … and you would have no worries at all about that? Really?

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix

@ Gavin
    Who said there would be an appeals process

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:19 PM

Nobody has the right to intentionally take anyones life unless in proportional self defence.

As for Death Penalty for rape etc as called for above, I’m sure everyone who agrees with the Death Penalty would’ve been happy to see Michael Le Vell hung from the scaffold for the crime he didn’t commit.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All

Based on the word of someone else….

Mute Dee Murray
    Favourite Dee Murray
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:26 PM

Actually, death penalty costs more in the long run.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:27 PM

There’s always an appeals process.
    Maybe you should read up about this before you say you’re in favour of it!!

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 12th 2013, 3:19 PM

Gavin
    We haven’t even got a death penalty so how can there be an appeals process

Mute Adam Gill
    Favourite Adam Gill
    Sep 12th 2013, 4:54 PM

im not going to even get into the million reasons why you’re wrong – everyone else seems to have corrected your misguided logic already, and I have a feeling that with an IQ smaller than your shoe size, it isn’t really going to sink in anyway

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:04 PM

Is that the best you can do come on I give you another shot

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:52 PM

Chopstix – at the end of the day, you continuing to say “I’m still not convinced” simply doesn’t matter.

In saying that – I’ll offer something as one of many reasons to not have a death penalty.

More innocent people die. It’s as simple as that. And no, I’m not talking about the perpetrator of a crime – I’m talking about innocent bystanders.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Sep 12th 2013, 8:00 PM

I red thumbed you..

When a gang member goes and kills a member of a rival gang, they know that the rival gang will put a hit out on them in retaliation, it doesn’t deter them.

So how exactly would the state handing out death penalties deter them? If anything, the state route is less of a deterrent – as you would have to be granted the right of appeal to ensure that innocent people were not murdered by the state.

Prison should be about the perpetrator rehabilitating. It should be about getting them to see the error of their ways and becoming a better person – this is justice, righting a wrong. Killing someone doesn’t fix anything. It doesn’t benefit anyone. It just reinforces the notion that killing someone is a valid punishment for your transgressions. And would continue to allow gang members to feel justified in their actions.

We need to get people to realise that justice is not about revenge. People always think revenge will ease their pain, but it never does. It’s just the anger stage of grief, and once they pass that stage they realise how foolish they were to seek it.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:56 PM

Chopstix
    I’m saying there WOULD be an appeals process if the state introduced the death penalty. Much like there is an appeals process against any verdict given already!
    This isn’t hard to follow chief!!

Mute Paddy Chambers
    Favourite Paddy Chambers
    Sep 13th 2013, 12:48 AM

The Birmingham Six.

Mute Cathal Donnellan
    Favourite Cathal Donnellan
    Sep 13th 2013, 6:38 PM

chopstix, i love the way that you argue for the death penalty as it would save the tax payer a few quid. first, i’d just like to point out how souless this arguement is. just do it for the sake of saving a few quid! second, its not necessarily true that it would save money either. if you look at the US, its is far more expensive to keep a convict on death row then it is to have them serve a life sentence. in california it costs $90,000 more a year for each death row convict.
    http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/costs-death-penalty

Mute Adam Gill
    Favourite Adam Gill
    Sep 12th 2013, 5:00 PM

I can only assume that everyone who posted comments about ‘karma;, ‘he deserves what he gets’, ‘live by the sword’ etc, think that they girl was asking to get shot because she was involved with a drugs gang, and the men who carried out this torture deserve now to be tortured in return, yes? otherwise you’d be a bunch of ragin hypocrites, and i’m sure that would never be the case….

Mute Oliver Golden
    Favourite Oliver Golden
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:04 PM

His pain will go away the pain of loosing a loved will never go away!!!

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All

So what is the point of the attack if the pain of a loved one will never go away?

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Sep 12th 2013, 8:06 PM

Exactly – it’s natural to feel anger when you experience grief. But seeking revenge never takes the pain away so why seek it? Once you pass through that stage you realise this, and if you went ahead and got your revenge then you have added guilt to all the pain and hurt you feel – so really it just makes you feel worse in the long run.

It’s hard not to become a slave to your emotions when the pain of grief is raw – but it’s extremely unhealthy to allow them control you.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Sep 13th 2013, 12:07 AM

“It’s hard not to become a slave to your emotions when the pain of grief is raw – but it’s extremely unhealthy to allow them control you.”

That’s a pro-life argument right there Shanti, now I’m starting to agree with you ;-)

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Sep 13th 2013, 1:06 PM

Not sure what you mean but sure hey – it’s good to find common ground :)

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Sep 12th 2013, 9:45 PM

Regardless of what he has done or whatever revenge fantasies we might have as a society, the state owed this chap a duty of care. Between the stabbing and the napalm, this fella will now get the salary of 5 or 6 prison officers. And that big wheel of austerity just keeps spinning around and around.

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:28 PM

Anything on the journal which involves a bad guy suffering horrendous agony brings the cretins out of the woodwork. His punishment is the loss of freedom. His torture is another crime. Those on here that glory in it support criminality and are therefore complicit in it

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:21 AM

What a waste.

Mute Sally Byrne
    Favourite Sally Byrne
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:27 AM

A waste of what?

Mute Dagda
    Favourite Dagda
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:29 AM

Sugar.

Mute Dagda
    Favourite Dagda
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:38 AM

This our taxes paying for that sugar begod, twud b better if they beat him to death with the kettle.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:39 AM

Sugar, Electricity, Water, a Kettle, Medical Treatment, Doctors pay, Nurses Pay, Hospital beds. Does that cover it?

Mute Owen Brady
    Favourite Owen Brady
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:36 PM

SHOCKING , what if he is innocent ?

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:11 PM

He plead guilty to the killing.

Mute Sean Patchworkveg
    Favourite Sean Patchworkveg

He deserved it but was it TV licence avoiders that did it? No they are “decent criminals with morals” that give you the empty wallet back. My arse.

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Sep 12th 2013, 6:57 PM

How can people condone things like this? Society genetics drug abuse etc can make people do terrible things. Free will isnt so free. Sorry folks no one deserves sh1t like that. If someone is a danger to society they need to be looked up but civilised people who are not savages should scorn this vile behaviour.

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Sep 12th 2013, 6:59 PM

Locked up even

Mute Irish Mule
    Favourite Irish Mule
    Sep 13th 2013, 12:57 AM

Jesus Cyril I’d love to take you out around the city for a spin on nights and meet some of their victims and see if you still want to nurture and care for these maniacs, I guess it’s easy to feel good about yourself and defend these thugs when you don’t have to get your hands dirty. Next time one of them headbutts me because I’m trying to stop the likes of your home being burgled il remember your thoughts on these poor tikes.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 12th 2013, 6:44 PM

It is disturbing Qwerty that so many would take glee from it. But if you noticed above it seems, broadly speaking, to be the more literate posters that don’t take glee from it.

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:12 PM

Barbaric .

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:49 PM

if it was me running the prison. The inmates would get no tea or coffee for a month. Look at that story in perspective we are paying for all that.

Mute david lydon
    Favourite david lydon
    Sep 12th 2013, 3:21 PM

What kind of savages have we become. It would be a fair guess if the poor girls killer read the journal he would be giving 90% of the comments thumbs up

Mute Mick Collins
    Favourite Mick Collins
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:31 PM

Live the way of the Devil, Die by the way of the Devil.

Mute Steven Fegan
    Favourite Steven Fegan
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:34 PM

Richie Rogers” why would you defend the murderer of a young girl? That was a mother and fathers daughter” anybody who defends that bastard should be ashamed of themselves and I stand by my comments… Hopefully he gets it worse next time..

Mute Laura Scanlan
    Favourite Laura Scanlan
    Sep 12th 2013, 1:15 PM

Omg the girl was 16 and in love with a bad boy.. She was nothing to do with the gang.. The only thing she was guilty of was falling in love with the wrong person..

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Sep 12th 2013, 8:10 PM

I don’t suppose it has escaped your attention that he is still a person, and likely has family too?
    What does hurting him achieve exactly? Does it bring her back? Does it heal the pain of her loved ones?
    All it does is hurt a whole bunch of new people too.. That’s not going to end well the more it goes on is it?

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:17 PM

Aw bless poor child killer gets bullied

Mute Mary Mcmahon
    Favourite Mary Mcmahon
    Sep 13th 2013, 1:18 AM

The Department of Justice is responsible for his health and safety while he is in prison ,he can now sue for the injuries he sustained .If there ‘s no law and order in a prison ,it show there ‘s even less on the street.

Mute Mike Micho Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mike Micho Fitzpatrick
    Sep 12th 2013, 3:22 PM

Tut tut, and sugar is the cause of so much obesity these days; will people ever learn? for the love of all things skinny, will they EVER learn??

I wonder how many times Apocalypse Now has been quoted in Mountjoy the past few days…

Mute Eamonn Colfer
    Favourite Eamonn Colfer
    Sep 12th 2013, 7:01 PM

Why only a 20 year sentence?

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Sep 13th 2013, 10:33 PM

He Wasn’t convicted of Murder Eamonn. Jury came back with manslaughter . Carny sentenced him to 20 years not life. Jury probably decided that on basis of fact that he intended to kill a different person, if so they decided incorrectly as definition of murder allows for the mistaken killing of another provided there was an intention to kill or cause serious harm.
    Bad jury finding.
    Should have been murder
    Murder mandatory life
    Manslaughter anything up to life..

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Sep 13th 2013, 10:49 PM

Actually might be mistaken .
    Also possible that no Jury and DPP offered manslaughter enabling him to plead to lesser charge. Not uncommon.
    Either way not convicted of Murder
    Hence 20 year sentence

Mute k diddy
    Favourite k diddy

Bring back caning
    I’d love that job

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:49 PM

Ohh you are awful..

Mute Henry Sellars
    Favourite Henry Sellars

He only has to go through another 19 years of this if the 10k offer isn’t taken up. He’ll spend the rest of his days there in solitary if he’s lucky.

Mute aboutallthethings
    Favourite aboutallthethings
    Sep 13th 2013, 7:26 AM

Just a note, they didn’t pour it down his throat, they poured the mixture all over his back, head and chest. If they had poured it down his throat, most likely out come would be a serious rupture of his stomach! Anyway, moral of the story, don’t be a murdering scrote and sh1t like this won’t happen you.

Mute Martin Hurley
    Favourite Martin Hurley
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:36 PM

His suffering may be a great deterrent for others thinking the gang life is a cool way to live.
    Lives may have already been saved but, saved lives don’t make the news, only taken ones.

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C

You don’t think the thugs who did this are in gangs? Or is it that you think the violent lifestyle is now a deterrent? Seriously?

Mute Kate Crotty Brett
    Favourite Kate Crotty Brett
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:06 PM

Feel sorry for him. Not a chance.

Mute MickT
    Favourite MickT
    Sep 12th 2013, 10:55 PM

I am at a bit of a loss to understand what happened, he was attacked in his cell while in solitary confinement.
    I am not interested about his conviction, but does this not raise some questions about the keys to his cell in confinement

Mute FREE STEPHEN MURNEY
    Favourite FREE STEPHEN MURNEY
    Sep 13th 2013, 3:04 PM

I wonder how much his compensation package will cost us!

Sep 12th 2013, 11:53 PM

God is the giver of life and only God can take it away.

Sep 18th 2013, 11:43 PM

If the red thumbs people are non believers in God they should be banned from this site because they should know that as God is the giver of life no one else has the right to end it.

Mute Richard O'Gorman
    Favourite Richard O'Gorman
    Sep 12th 2013, 12:07 PM

Stories from over the fence, who gives a toss.

Mute Aidan Swipe Gannon
    Favourite Aidan Swipe Gannon

You guys in Ireland get madder by the day

Mute Irish Mule
    Favourite Irish Mule
    Sep 13th 2013, 12:53 AM

Now that is justice, realistically he would only do a few handy years in prison eating well, plenty of sleep education and then back out to torment society and kill again. That poor girl went through an awful death at the hands of this evil thug. It is a befitting turn of events that he has now gone through.

Mute Lorcan Boulter
    Favourite Lorcan Boulter
    Sep 13th 2013, 9:32 AM

If a man has violence in his heart cloaked it with morality he is no better than the man who uses violence regardless. – Hannibal , the A-team

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Sep 12th 2013, 2:18 PM

And these are the intellectual giants whose library facilities aren’t up to scratch. Give me strength!! :-)

Mute Jerry Collins
    Favourite Jerry Collins
    Sep 12th 2013, 11:54 PM

Did he ask for sugar??

Mute Dulra Cork
    Favourite Dulra Cork
    Sep 13th 2013, 8:38 AM

Learn something new every day? Don’t think I’ll be looking to put it into practice anytime soon though – hopefully not anyway!