You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

SIPA USA/PA Images

Billionaire tycoon Michael Bloomberg files papers in Alabama paving way for presidential bid

The former New York mayor has yet to formally announce his bid for the White House.

NEW YORK BUSINESS tycoon Michael Bloomberg has paved the way for a shot at the US presidency, registering as a candidate in the Alabama Democratic primary race before yesterday’s filing deadline. 

Although the billionaire has not publicly announced his run, his inclusion among a crowded field keeps his options open for mounting a concerted bid to topple fellow New Yorker Donald Trump.

His name was posted among 17 candidates on the Alabama Democratic Party’s website only hours before registration closed. 

US media yesterday reported that Bloomberg was gearing up for a run for the role as commander-in-chief but no formal papers had been filed. 

Bloomberg had said back in March he wouldn’t run, but has been toying for weeks with the idea of seeking the White House after all, according to an advisor, who was quoted as saying he had yet to make a final decision.

He sent members of staff to Alabama to gather the necessary signatures required to register for that state’s primary ahead of the deadline today in anticipation of a bid, the reports said.

Alabama is not one of the earlier primaries but it has one of the earliest deadlines.

“We now need to finish the job and ensure that Trump is defeated – but Mike is increasingly concerned that the current field of candidates is not well positioned to do that,” Bloomberg advisor Howard Wolfson said in a statement.

“Based on his record of accomplishment, leadership and his ability to bring people together to drive change, Mike would be able to take the fight to Trump and win.”

Bloomberg, the co-founder and CEO of the media company that shares his name, is one of the richest people in the United States.

His huge personal wealth would likely shake up the contest at a time when frontrunner Joe Biden’s fundraising is sagging.

Along with Biden, Senator Elizabeth Warren and former candidate Bernie Sanders are frontrunners to take the Democratic nomination and challenge Trump in next year’s election. 

- © AFP 2019

View 77 comments
77 Comments
    Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:26 AM

Trump for president
    He’s straight talking no bull and the US is booming now

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:31 AM

@John gaughan:
    https://www.bbc.com/news/business-50234626
    “US economic growth slowest this year”
    “The Trump administration’s trade war with China has eroded business confidence, while the fading stimulus from last year’s $1.5tn tax cut package is also casting a shadow “

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:34 AM

@John gaughan: and he hasn’t thank Obama once

See 41 more replies ▾
    Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:34 AM

@John gaughan: such big wisdom. Very strong guy. Such a great guy, big lollipops on fluffy milk grass pumpkin great.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:40 AM

@John gaughan: You need to talk to the farmers from Iowa.

Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:42 AM

@Rochelle: be will be returned to power for a second term what do that tell you

Mute Mark V
    Favourite Mark V
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:44 AM

@John gaughan: The only thing good coming from the trump presidency is the exposure of the hypocrisy of the GOP, Evangelics and the supporters of the two.
    They have problem dropping “core values” they claimed to be the key holder of to support a man who brakes all moral rules and laws. Bending over backwards to defend bigotry, white supremacy, adultery, nepotism, abuse of power, obstruction of justice and we can go on and on.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:47 AM

@John gaughan: pardon

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:54 AM

@GMCManning: how much is the deficit now?

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:54 AM

@John gaughan: that you no speak so good?

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:59 AM

@Joseph Lyons: just over 22 trillion, over 2 added by Trumpy. Who coincidentally promised to eliminate it but it’s not like him to lie and/or not deliver on a promise is it?

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:06 PM

@GMCManning: name me one politician from any country in the world from any period in history who has stuck to every election promise they made.

You are not happy because the US economy is booming and the rich are getting richer. Guess who else benifits from a booming economy? Everyone

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:24 PM

@Joseph Lyons: everyone benefits from a booming economy another lie

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:33 PM

@Joseph Lyons: Yet people still think that election promises are going to come true. Maybe most politicians actually hope they achieve what they promise, the problem is most won’t admit they failed.

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:34 PM

@bmul: of course they do. Directly or indirectly. Tell me the people that don’t?

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:47 PM

@Joseph Lyons: why ask for deficit numbers if you’re just gonna ignore them? Don’t fit your narrative or is it just that Google’s a bit he’d to figure out? Trumpy has lied (at times about some ridiculously inane waffle cos he just can’t help himself) more than any other US president in history, probably more than all of em combined. His promise v delivery ratio is just as atrocious. No idea why u think I’d be unhappy about a booming (exaggeration but meh) US economy? Do I take issue with rich people getting unjustifiably richer while the gap between them and everyone else widens? Yup, any non 1%er who doesn’t just isn’t that bright. As for trickle down economics? Debunked, google is your friend…oh wait

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:51 PM

@GMCManning: so you feel an economy in recession is better for everyone?

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:58 PM

@Joseph Lyons: It’s not a dichotomous situation. Obviously an expanding economy is better than a recessing economy but you can have a expanding economy where the wealth of the few is growing while those at the other end are becoming poorer which is the case at the moment.

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:59 PM

@GMCManning: you keep making half points and waffling on about me checking Google. Ramblings of someone who has no idea what they are talking about. Speak up young man

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:01 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: how? Tell us how

Mute Pickles
    Favourite Pickles
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:01 PM

@FannyPadFanning: Have you not read the label of your bi polar medication? Do NOT mix with alcohol.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:03 PM

@Joseph Lyons: ok so I guess it’s not just google, words and their meaning seems to be an issue for you too. Poor diddums. Where exactly did I say that?

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:04 PM

@Joseph Lyons: coal wotkers production down since trump took office . farmers worse of since Trump’s trade war , getting government aid now to buy there votes.
    In this country the economy is booming more minimum wage jobs rents and house prices though the roof do you think everyone here is benefiting.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:08 PM

@Pickles: have you been snooping round my gaff again stalker? Tis all a dream. U need to wake up and distinguish between reality (ur inevitably depressing life) and fantasy (the place where you know and get to touch me).

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:08 PM

@Joseph Lyons: How that happens? Generally through an erosion of workers rights and benefits, through a system where shareholder dividends are god. In fact it’s easier to get your economy booming if those at the lower end can be paid less or made work multiple jobs just for a living wage because it helps corporations post bigger turnover and profit. The wealth gap between nations is getting less but the wealth gap within nations is growing.

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:14 PM

@bmul: coal has been on the wane for years. It has been replaced. Nothing to do with a booming economy.
    Trade wars are not related to a booming economy. Farmers throughout the EU also receive aid. This is due to the low prices paid to them for their products. Do you think they would be paid more in a recession! Lol.
    The housing market in Ireland has nothing to do with the US economy. I’m Ireland there is a shortage of housing. We are still feeling the after effects of a massive recession. The demand outstrips the supply. People on minimum wage have jobs. Nothing stopping them from furthering their education to improve their lives.

There is no way that a booming economy is worse than an economy in recession. Anyone who thinks different is deluded and has a short memory.

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:15 PM

@GMCManning: you have lost the argument and any credibility you may have held “diddums” .

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:19 PM

@Joseph Lyons: again with the not understanding words Joey? Could do with grinds at this stage, I wouldn’t charge you too much. Like Kelly-Anne and her boss you can’t say things into being. Please articulate which “argument” I “lost”?

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:20 PM

@Joseph Lyons: Nobody said they’d be better off in a recession, I don’t know why you’re labouring that point.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:36 PM

@Joseph Lyons: your question was who was not winning with the booming economy I listed people but you just dismissed them and the answer well done .

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:54 PM

@GMCManning: you’ve lost. switching from somewhat reasonable”debate” to school yard level argument with a few light insults thrown in. It was always on the horizon once your ramblings were called out.

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:55 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: you are an innocent party. A different poster

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:02 PM

@bmul: I’ll rephrase. Coal workers ,farmers and people on minimum wage. According to you they are being left behind during an economic boom.
    So during a recession these people would be doing well?
    Is that correct?

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:17 PM

@Joseph Lyons: Yup, the US economy is doing grand at the moment, is that really down to Trump though? I only ask because every time I hear him talk he seems incapable of stringing a few coherent sentences together, kind of like someone just learning the language. Can he really be the mastermind behind it all?

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:23 PM

@Joseph Lyons: so nothing to do with actual facts and points made just cos you say so and your ickle feelings got bruised? Guess we can add “winning”, “losing” an argument to the list of words and ideas that you don’t understand.

Mute Tracy Moore
    Favourite Tracy Moore
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:32 PM

@Joseph Lyons: Trump has made the world a much more dangerous place with his hateful rhetoric, blatant lies and utter lack of a coherent foreign policy. Don’t even get me started on the Paris agreement!

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:42 PM

@Joseph Lyons: you said they are all benefiting they are not . Would they be better of in a recession if they kept there minimum wage job yes they would as rents house prices etc drop

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Favourite Patricia Mcnamara
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:57 PM

@John gaughan: that you cannot write English.

Mute Derek Emmett
    Favourite Derek Emmett
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:06 PM

@John gaughan: I know what your grammar tells me!

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:29 PM

@bmul: during a recession they wouldn’t have a job as businesses close or let staff go. Many people on minimum wage get government assistance to pay the rent in the form of Hap. During a recession this might not be possible. Many people get medical cards. During a recession medical cards would be stopped. Government spending on public services is drastically reduced. They would be much worse off.
    Ridiculous

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:30 PM

@GMCManning: you make no points.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:33 PM

@Joseph Lyons: did you not read the first line of my response ? The American companies in Ireland employed as many people in Ireland during and after the recession as before they just used it as an excuse to do away with any benefits and to drop wages as profits increased .

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:46 PM

@bmul: what happened to talking about people on minimum wage?
    Google, Facebook etc staff ain’t on minimum wage

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 4:18 PM

@Joseph Lyons: there were several made just scroll back Joey. Not my fault if you can’t read or understand em or if your blinkers just won’t let you.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:28 AM

Obviously better than Trumpy but there’s something seriously wrong with your democracy when you need the kinda money this lad has to have a decent chance of being elected. Cash and how you made it doesn’t make you a good nominee or president.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:33 AM

@GMCManning: obsessed

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:48 AM

@Seamus Mac: pot, kettle? Wanna try playing the ball kid? Hardly a winning strategy in relation to Trumpy but give it a go.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:50 PM

@GMCManning: this is your intervention graham, we are all very worried about you.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:09 PM

@Seamus Mac: appreciate your concern darling but you’re still missing the ball

Mute Joseph Lyons
    Favourite Joseph Lyons
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:03 PM

@GMCManning: same tactics again. Ramblings and confrontation.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:28 PM

@Joseph Lyons: yup just not as you define em. I made points that neither yourself nor Seamus countered. Yet you run off with your ball claiming victory while others sit around bemused cos no one was playing football in the first place.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:29 PM

@Joseph Lyons: and if you can’t handle some v gentle “confrontation” maybe a public comments section isn’t the place for you?

Mute Ronan Walsh
    Favourite Ronan Walsh
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:46 AM

Great that’s exactly what we need another billionaire telling us how him not paying his fair share of tax will save the world….maybe he can pretend to care just enough to squeeze a bit more out of the middle.

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:56 AM

@Ronan Walsh: he never released his tax return on any previous races just like trump.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:36 AM

Why doesn’t this billionaire use his money to back a candidate who might actually represent the interests of those who suffer as a consequence of Republican policies?

Mute Kevin Finnegan
    Favourite Kevin Finnegan
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:16 PM

@alan: because he is cool with republican policies it scares him that he might have to pay more tax under Bernie

Mute Niall Bourke
    Favourite Niall Bourke
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:51 PM

@alan: He has switched from Democrat to Republican and back again. It looks like he changes party to suit himself.

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Nov 9th 2019, 12:22 PM

No more mega rich as world leaders. They are completely out of touch with the real world. Sad times.

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:09 PM

@Rebecca De Stanleigh: Maybe just more mega rich.

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    Nov 9th 2019, 11:55 AM

He is so rich he could give 500,000 people, 100,000 dollars and he would still be a billionare after. Yet he immorally sits on his treasure hoard. He has given 6 billion to charity over the years but he refused to release his tax returns in every race before now and is expected to have legally avoided far more tax than he ever gave to charity. Billionares really are such a leach of societies wealth

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:24 PM

For F..k sake, would the Journal please stop these futile daily pro and anti Trumpet debates where the same heads come on here with the same boring arguments, as if who shouts loudest will influence voters in the US.

Why doesn’t the Journal just go with a readers poll of who they believe will win the US presidential election, and be done with it?

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 9th 2019, 6:41 PM

@Angela McCarthy: You know you don’t have to read the articles or the comments right?

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:40 PM

Bloomberg to divide the democratic vote. But will the media accuse him of that or deride and insult him like they did Jill Stein. Despite what they have been telling us Bernie has been hosting town halls in red states some trump was elected. Working republicans will vote for him but the democrats and the media hate him. Something to do with taxing million and billionaires

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 5:32 PM

@Carlin Ite: he’d only divide the democratic vote if he ran as an independent which, as of yet, he isn’t.

Mute Jen Sandford
    Favourite Jen Sandford
    Nov 9th 2019, 7:46 PM

@Carlin Ite: Agreed! They’re getting the willies as Warren is talking about billionaire taxes and whatnot.
    Sure Bill Gates was all for a tax on the rich earlier in the year on Daily Show, but now in the past few days.. he’s crapping himself!
    Distraction techniques definitely!!

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Nov 9th 2019, 8:59 PM

@Jen Sandford: completely. Especially now that warren health care plan is fully out and it’s good. The upper echelons of the Democratic Party are trembling and the press are falling over themselves to take Sanders and Warren down. It’s actually disgusting to watch.

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Nov 9th 2019, 10:36 PM

@GMCManning: no he can divide the vote in the primary. He could screw over Bernie and Warren. He won’t win but he will damage the two front runners. Don’t forget washerman Schultz, Donna Brazile, Bill Clinton’s bus and security detail blocking voters and the amount of Sanders votes ignored in the Indiana and other primaries. They hate warren and Sanders, they ignore the public and would take trump over rocking the system. Bloomberg can definitely divide the votes or support. What ever term you prefer.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 9th 2019, 10:59 PM

@Carlin Ite: within the context of the nominee selection completely agree

Mute Red Pirate 71
    Favourite Red Pirate 71
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:13 PM

Is it a pre requisite of joining the American race for president to be old, white and minted?

Mute CryptoWilf
    Favourite CryptoWilf
    Nov 10th 2019, 3:06 AM

@Red Pirate 71: Yeah, just like that old white dude Obama?

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:01 PM

Why do they always have pensioners running

Mute CAMILA REMONA
    Favourite CAMILA REMONA
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:16 PM

This should be interesting ..

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Nov 9th 2019, 1:35 PM

Best of luck Micheal, get that disgusting racist out

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Nov 9th 2019, 2:56 PM

@Stevie Doran: a billionaire who supports trumps tax cuts for the rich is going to depose him. Let’s face reality he is there to split the votes of those who want to help the working class

Mute Kenneth Sheehy
    Favourite Kenneth Sheehy
    Nov 10th 2019, 9:36 AM

Underestimate Bloomberg at your peril. He is an incredibly savvy political operator and a master communicator, more so than many in the current White House realise. He doesnt enter a political arena with 2nd place in mind. He will burn Trumps world down, if he feels victory requires it. Rest assured, Trump is in for a healthy dose of reality in the coming months.

It might not be good for American democracy to have two alpha males fighting it out on live TV, but it will make one hell of a show! :)

Mute John Clair
    Favourite John Clair
    Nov 9th 2019, 4:38 PM

The ball game has changed

Mute Stephen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Stephen O'Sullivan
    Nov 9th 2019, 3:46 PM

You’re hired.