You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin on CBS News' Face the Nation. Twitter/FaceTheNation

It's all about vaccines as Taoiseach Micheál Martin embarks on US TV news blitz

Martin is under pressure to ask President Joe Biden to assist in Ireland’s vaccine roll-out.

TAOISEACH MICHEÁL MARTIN has said the EU will have to “learn lessons” from the mistakes made with the vaccine roll-out, stating that manufacturing and procurement of vaccines within the EU has been “problematic”.

Speaking to the Brookings Institute in Washington DC this afternoon, as part of the traditional St Patrick’s Day events that would usually be done in person, the Taoiseach said Europe has “done well”, but said there were “lessons to be learned”. 

When asked if the EU should have had its own version of the US Project Warp Speed, and broken through the bureaucratic red tape to roll out the vaccine, he said:

“In short, yes.”

However, he added: “Europe is not like the US.”

He said the EU should have “concentrated more” on the manufacturing side, stating that the greatest challenge EU member States face is getting the vaccine made and delivered on time.

Martin also told a US news network that the B117 variant “caught us” over the new year but that Ireland has seen a “dramatic reduction” in cases and hospitalisations due to the reimposition of severe restrictions. 

Martin is doing a number of interviews on US TV this week ahead of his virtual meeting with President Joe Biden on St. Patrick’s Day. 

The talks are instead of the traditional White House visit and are expected to cover combating Covid-19 and driving economic recovery. 

Martin is under pressure to ask Biden to assist Ireland’s vaccine roll-out by sharing some doses that are understood to be stockpiled in Ohio.

Yesterday, Martin told CBS News that he was “not aware of too many countries that are giving their vaccines away”. 

Speaking on CNBC this afternoon, the Taoiseach was asked about the impact of Covid-19 variants on transmission and the vaccine roll-out. 

Martin said that Ireland had seen a significant impact as a result of the so-called UK variant. 

“We essentially experienced it at the beginning of the year and it caught us to be frank, along with other issues, with a third wave, that was very, very difficult for us through the Christmas period into January,” the Taoiseach said. 

But we have managed a very dramatic reduction in cases, hospitalisations and severe illness through the remarkable response of the Irish people in adhering to severe restrictions on movement and in a whole range of categories. So much so that we’re down among the lowest rate of incidence again across Europe.

Martin said that the vaccine roll-out in Ireland has shown that they do offer “a significant degree of protection certainly against the B117 variant”, adding that the EU is investing in research to “develop modifications” to existing vaccines against other variants that may emerge. 

Asked about the decision by Irish health authorities to pause the use of the Oxford/AstraZeneca vaccine, the Taoiseach said he anticipated that the pause would be temporary. 

Germany has this afternoon become the latest country to halt the use of AstraZeneca’s vaccine following an alert from Norwegian authorities about four serious blood clotting cases.

Martin said there is “no causal effect established” by health authorities but that the pause is “a precautionary move”. 

“We anticipate that it will be temporary and that we can catch up fairly quickly in terms of the pause of the administration of the AstraZeneca vaccine. Bear in mind of course that we are continuing to administer to our over 70s population the Pfizer/Biotech vaccine and Moderna vaccines, and all of the vaccines have proven to be very effective,” he said. 

Brexit

The Taoiseach was also asked about comments made by Minister for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney who said the UK was demonstrating “perverse nationalism” by seeking to reach a trade deal with the United States before the European Union was able to.

Martin said that the UK and the EU had previously come to a trade deal. He added that the UK “was entitled” to make one with the US as long as it doesn’t impact on existing agreements. 

“The United Kingdom now will pursue a trade deal with the United States, it’s entitled to do that but obviously we want the UK to work with the European Union to safeguard and to underpin the Withdrawal Agreement and Brexit trade agreement that has been arrived at with the European Union. Particularly in terms of its application to the island of Ireland and to Northern Ireland as well,” he said. 

Speaking about Northern Ireland at the Brookings Institute event today, Martin said the Northern Ireland Protocol protects the Good Friday Agreement and that it was agreed by UK and EU.

He said US President Joe Biden has deep support for “rules-based organisations” and he believes that adherence to those rules is important.

Talk about a border poll following Brexit poll “was a mistake”, he said.

He repeated that there won’t be a referendum on a united Ireland in lifetime of this government.

The Taoiseach said he was also worried about the growth of authoritarianism in the world, and within Europe. He said it was undermining democracy, and stressed the importance of the freedom of free speech as a fundamental principle of any democracy. 

He also said he is concerned about the “intolerance” of other perspectives in today’s world,  and “the damning of a person for having a different viewpoint”.

Martin said such things undermines the encouragement of young people to speak their  minds

Martin is also expected to appear on CNN later in an interview with journalist Richard Quest.

With additional reporting by Christina Finn

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Mar 15th 2021, 3:56 PM

Amazing – -when he talks to us — it’s all gloom and doom, restrictions etc

But when he’s talking to the US, its getting better
    ==
    ” We have managed a very dramatic reduction in cases, hospitalizations, and severe illness through the remarkable response of the Irish people in adhering to severe restrictions on movement and in a whole range of categories. So much so that we’re down among the lowest rate of incidence again across Europe”
    ==
    MM – -go on RTE and just say that to the people of Ireland –

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:25 PM

@Dan: so do you think Martin should do interviews on international news saying it’s all doom and gloom over here in Ireland ? What good would that do?
    You would find fault with anything that he said methinks

Mute James Grant
    Favourite James Grant
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:34 PM

@Dave Harris: why lie about our current issues when they weren’t good enough in the first place from Martin
    Fianna Fail need to be removed from the government asap

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:53 PM

@Dave Harris: I only find fault as I see it –
    What I’m saying is that the news should be the same no matter what channel it’s on
    If he believes it –great – -just say the same news to us as he says to others so there are NO mixed messages

Feel free to have your own opinion

Mute longstrides
    Favourite longstrides
    Mar 15th 2021, 5:29 PM

@Dan: Christian Amanpour interviewed him a few months ago. Led off with Biden election, Irish roots.
    Segwayed into Mother/Baby scandal, report, Examiner front page.
    Closed w, at the time, Ireland’s world-record-breaking high CV-19 rates. He was like rabbit in headlights, and true to form, only tweeted Biden section of interview. FF head office had to eventually take it off social media, out of respect to Mother/Vaby scandal victims and CV-19 victims.

Mute Shiney
    Favourite Shiney
    Mar 15th 2021, 7:07 PM

@Dave Harris: I understood that he was saying that MM should tell us when we are doing well/ show some positivity, not the other way around as per your comment.

Mute Marky Mark
    Favourite Marky Mark
    Mar 15th 2021, 7:59 PM

@Dave Harris: I think what people are getting frustrated at is the double standards that our government politicians employ with an large element of spin and mixed messages to the Irish electorate, bordering on contempt.

Mute Daragh Hackett
    Favourite Daragh Hackett
    Mar 15th 2021, 8:02 PM

@James Grant: leo might help to achieve that if he continues to leak more documents

Mute Michael Kelleher
    Favourite Michael Kelleher
    Mar 15th 2021, 3:57 PM

An article where we actually post a comment! I’m not sure what to say?

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:20 PM

@Michael Kelleher: Just embrace the moment Michael.

Mute Dan Ryan
    Favourite Dan Ryan
    Mar 15th 2021, 6:02 PM

@Michael Kelleher: I don’t read articles that we are not allowed to comment on
    ( Legal reasons excepted)
    If the authors of those pieces are too gutless to allow people to comment then they are not worth my time reading .
    I won’t be making any more donations to the Journal while they continue to publish articles where comments are not allowed

Mute Padraic O Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O Sullivan
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:00 PM

Could we have a Face the Nation equivalent here like Question Time in the UK?
    Closest thing recently was Vincent Browne ripping a few spoofers apart.
    I suppose it’s tough to face a live audience and shine dodo and call it gold.

Mute Jules
    Favourite Jules
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:25 PM

@Padraic O Sullivan: Excellent suggestion

Mute Neil Neart
    Favourite Neil Neart
    Mar 15th 2021, 7:15 PM

@Padraic O Sullivan: Magic idea. it would also be great if we could ask NPHET a few questions on a regular basis because the press never seem to ask the questions that people ask each other every day, eg, why have you closed golf courses when walking in a public park with thousands of others is acceptable and after recently published USA studies showed no covid spikes after 300 protests involving millions across the USA with minimal social distancing but because they were all outdoors it is clearly safe to be outdoors, yet here we are being told every day by NPHET to stay indoors as much a possible without them sharing any science or logic for such advice.

Mute Aine Ryan
    Favourite Aine Ryan
    Mar 15th 2021, 3:57 PM

What has happened to quarantine plan??? How many flights coming in for St Patrick’s Day holiday??? Where is the quarantine plan?

Mute Mary Fitzsimons
    Favourite Mary Fitzsimons
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:08 PM

He should stop it. Right now. He’s making himself into a laughingstock.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Mar 15th 2021, 5:41 PM

@Mary Fitzsimons: how so

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:37 PM

Wonder will the part time Taoiseacht Michael Martin make a statement concerning the resignation of Varadkar now that the F.F.youth wing has called for his resignation.

Mute Ronaldo Blanc
    Favourite Ronaldo Blanc
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:21 PM

The man’s a genius. ‘ It’s all about the vaccines’. He’s either making snide remarks to the shinners in the Dail or stating the bleeding obvious. Why doesn’t the clown for once display some leadership skills and begin acquiring vaccines outside the EU like other European countries have done.

Mute Neil Neart
    Favourite Neil Neart
    Mar 15th 2021, 7:27 PM

@Ronaldo Blanc: The whole world has known for a long time that vaccines would always be the only escape and in spite of that vaccine approval bodies worldwide are duplicating effort by separately approving all vaccines. When it comes to bureaucrats and politicians, common sense ain’t that common, and accountability is a dirty word.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:02 PM

There isn’t a hope in hell that Biden is going to part with a single dose of the AZ vaccine. The Irish public once again waiting with baited breath while our head of state stoops to a new level of obsequiousness. It’ll be like Sandy’s girlfriends in Grease wanting to know if he has a car and did he get very far.

Mute Ken Faherty
    Favourite Ken Faherty
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:29 PM

If the US say no, there is absolutely no excuse for not purchasing the Russian version, subject to it’s approval. If he’s so concerned about our country and our citizens there should be no excuse for not doing so. Make a Government decision once and for all please.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Favourite Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 15th 2021, 6:45 PM

@Ken Faherty: Subject to approval? Russia hasn’t sought approval from the EMA.

Mute Gert McNulty
    Favourite Gert McNulty
    Mar 15th 2021, 9:02 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: we dont pay attention to whatever the ema say eg astrozenica

Mute Aine Ryan
    Favourite Aine Ryan

It’s a question for MM – why on earth has this process not commenced pre St Patrick’s Day – should be in operation 12 months!!!

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:54 PM

So embarrassing. Doesn’t mehole know that the usa only uses Ireland as a tax haven …..

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 15th 2021, 5:29 PM

@Eddie Michael: and to refuel

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Mar 15th 2021, 10:07 PM

@Eddie Michael:

Not forgetting inward Investment(stacks of it for decades creating many Irish jobs), and as a gateway for business throughout EU. (Billions of dollars worth annually, again for decades. And about to explode, now that Ire is only politically stable English speaking country in EU.

Take off the blinkers Eddie for a clearer view on our economic reality!

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:13 PM

Headline should read ” Its call about NOT having the vaccine in Ireland.

Mute billy bound
    Favourite billy bound
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:32 PM

Talentless

Mute Derek Ryan
    Favourite Derek Ryan
    Mar 15th 2021, 6:21 PM

So how come I can comment hear abt mehole and his tv appearances on usa networks but can’t comment on leo the leak about him being asked to step down because he is under investigation by the gardai. Funny as far as I’m aware there is no issue with people commenting on ongoing investigations as long as they are not part of the investigation team or being investigated for the offence. Censorship at it’s highest from the journal me thinks

Mute Aine Ryan
    Favourite Aine Ryan

It’s a question for MM – why on earth has this process not commenced pre St Patrick’s Day – should be in operation 12 months!!!

Mute D.B
    Favourite D.B
    Mar 15th 2021, 5:16 PM

pound shop leader

Mute Aine Ryan
    Favourite Aine Ryan

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:22 PM

@Aine Ryan: Just because you keep asking, doesn’t mean he’ll answer you ;~)

Mute Aonghus O Flaherty
    Favourite Aonghus O Flaherty
    Mar 15th 2021, 4:32 PM

Pointless human being

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Mar 16th 2021, 8:21 AM

@Aonghus O Flaherty: nasty comment . Dispute his politics yes, but personal abuse is just wrong. It brings debate and comment to a low.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Mar 15th 2021, 6:56 PM

If you can find out what the Taoiseach is doing about lockdown , the vaccines and the poor suffering locals while 10,000 enter this country every week …….will you tell him

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Mar 15th 2021, 5:35 PM

Who is this impostor and where are they holding the real Taoiseach?

Mute Aine Ryan
    Favourite Aine Ryan

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Mar 15th 2021, 7:25 PM

He must be one of if not the worst leader this country has ever seen. The man is nothing but a me feiner. I wouldn’t trust him as far as i could throw him .

Mute Maurizio
    Favourite Maurizio
    Mar 15th 2021, 8:53 PM

@Dave: & he’s not representing me!