You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Wire/Press Association Images

He once called the EU an 'evil empire' but Michael O'Leary thinks Brexit would be 'absolutely crazy'

The Ryanair boss also took a pop at Boris Johnson.

RYANAIR CHIEF EXECUTIVE Michael O’Leary has come out campaigning for Britain to remain in the European Union.

The airline supremo spoke to journalists from a stage inside a hangar at Stansted airport earlier today.

Behind him was a Ryanair plane emblazoned with the words ‘Stronger Safer & Better Off in Europe’.

Politicians from the Conservatives, Labour and the LibDems followed O’Leary on stage with the UK’s Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne saying that an expected £1 billion investment from Ryanair would be “at risk” if the country left the EU.

O’Leary, who has previously been a harsh critic of the EU’s aviation policies, told Sky News that the UK would be “absolutely crazy” to leave.

EU referendum George Osborne (centre) is joined by former adversaries Ed Balls (right) and Vince Cable (left). PA Wire / Press Association Images PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

He also took aim at Boris Johnson, the leading figure in the pro-Brexit camp.

“With the greatest respect to Boris Johnson, he’s never run a sweetshop,” O’Leary said.

When it was put to him that Johnson had been a Mayor of London for four years, O’Leary seemed unimpressed:

They don’t actually create any jobs being Mayor of London, business people create jobs. We’re the ones that have to invest in more jobs. Ryanair here will create more than 500 jobs in the UK this year. You’d be absolutely crazy to leave the European Union.

Ryanair’s bid to take over Aer Lingus was blocked by the European Commission in 2013 over competition concerns and O’Leary has previously described the European Commission as “the evil empire”.

Read: Hundreds of Irish passengers hit by flight cancellations as French strike continues>

Read: Ryanair to launch new private jet for hire >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

100 Comments
    Mute Orange Order Loyal
    Favourite Orange Order Loyal
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:39 AM

Now a price war is needed. Some outrageous prices for substandard services out there at the moment.

Mute Pat Snack
    Favourite Pat Snack
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:42 AM

€24.24 per month for “up to” 200Mb broadband isn’t too bad.

Mute Darren Doheny
    Favourite Darren Doheny
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:52 AM

I’m with upc the price and service are fantastic!

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Thesaurus
    Favourite Thesaurus
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:15 AM

If you have proof if that, the competition authority would like to hear from you.

Mute Petyr Baelish
    Favourite Petyr Baelish
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:29 AM

Unofficial = no written proof = tinfoil hat rumour mongering

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:29 AM

I see Mallow is the only place in north Cork getting it. That’s still half hour drive from me. I will believe all this when I see it. Unfortunately companies have a habit of making big bold promises they never deliver on time or ever.

Mute Petyr Baelish
    Favourite Petyr Baelish
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:00 AM

Be able to back up your point with factual evidence.

Otherwise it’s just rumour mongering and the only people who will belive unsubstantiated
    rubbish like that will be the niave.

Mute John Brennan
    Favourite John Brennan
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:01 AM

Eircom are all talk. I live 2 miles out from Mallow (my house is smack bang in the middle of the e-Fibre shaded area on eircom’s site). The best I could get out of Eircom was up to 1mbit/sec and in reality I was only getting a fraction of that along with incredibly slow ping times that made it unusable. Ended up going with 3 Mifi instead as it was the only option available to me.

Mute Life in no motion
    Favourite Life in no motion
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:01 AM

They were at one stage but I fear they’re slipping a little.

Horizon, their “revolutionary” service is rubbish.

The internet has been slower since getting horizon in. It’s barely fit for purpose

Mute robby rottenest
    Favourite robby rottenest
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:07 AM

Haha, haha, haha, haha, I’ve got to laugh. The greatest act of fiction since the bible. We’ve still got shit wireless broadband that breaks down on standard surfing and 2g phone.

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:42 AM

This article is pure ‘marketing’ nonsense… free advertising for Eircom.

‘Jam tomorrow’ has long been the tactic of Eircom to try and keep customers on rubbish and expensive services way behind other countries’ provision.

And as for promises for rural areas…. you would really have to believe in fayries if you think Eircom or much any other networks could give a monkey’s about you.

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:56 AM

Eircom are terrible and lied UPC are amazing

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Oct 28th 2014, 12:50 PM

“Orange Order Loyal” a contender for top comment of the week. King Billy would be proud of you.

Mute Páid Ó Donnchú
    Favourite Páid Ó Donnchú
    Oct 28th 2014, 12:53 PM

I’d say your with UPC all right; the marketing department.

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Oct 28th 2014, 2:17 PM

I got rid of Eircom, found them very difficult to deal with, customer care was very poor, hope they have improved.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:14 PM

Life in no motion, ask them for a separate router then. I have Horizon and it works fine. However when they installed it they placed it on the 20htz frequency. I asked them to place me on a different frequency (you could do this yourself with the old routers) and my speed doubled. There are many reasons for poor wireless speed. Have you tried connecting directly with an ethernet cable to check that you are getting the speed you are paying for? if you are getting the speed when directly connected then the problem lies with your wireless connection and there are various tweaks that can get things working again. Its all a pain in the backside though when you encounter these problems and UPC (like all providers) are not very helpful. They will check your speed from their end which is what you should be getting when directly connected but if the problem is the wireless connection then most providers don’t want to know as the problem could be caused by any number of factors. I feel your pain!

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Oct 28th 2014, 4:16 PM

eircom will always rob you eventually, they know nothing else. upc offer you deals the longer you stay with them. much better service. nothings changed here. they can stick it on the moon for all i care.

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Oct 28th 2014, 4:43 PM

I note they’re still using the phrase “up to 100mb”, a friend lives 1 mile outside a major town and applied for the fastest connection he could get, 24mb broadband. He was told however they’d only guarantee him 1mb, of course he’d have to still pay for the other 19mb too.
    Until we have a guaranteed minimum download speed then I’ll take all these claims with a pinch of salt. If they truly believe them then they should have no trouble backing those claims up with minimum guarantees, until then. Heard it all before.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Oct 28th 2014, 8:50 PM

So they can hide it away and cash in on the VAT???

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Oct 28th 2014, 8:51 PM

Just like the Government

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Oct 29th 2014, 8:34 AM

Up to

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Oct 29th 2014, 8:37 AM

Ye you gotta love the “up to” part ;)

Mute David Hanks
    Favourite David Hanks
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:52 AM

We have access to 100mb broadband. Had it installed and ended up with 55mb but it would drop the connection over 20 times a day. Eircom are brutal, ended up with 7mb that only drops 5 times a day. Waiting weeks for someone to call out

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:57 AM

That unusual, did you give them a call? It can depend on the profile you are on and you could have been assigned the wrong one. eVision limits your top speed as it needs a more stable profile.

E-fibre hasn’t been perfect but it’s generally alright and slowly improving I think. The routers are bit cheapy which is annoying but they wouldn’t be the first to do that.

Mute Ian O' Connor
    Favourite Ian O' Connor
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:59 AM

Consider yourself lucky you can get that it’s about 8 times faster than my 0.8 mb

Mute Fergal Barry
    Favourite Fergal Barry
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:02 AM

I’m having similar problems with them, my DSL signal cuts out nearly every hour. We had a technician come out to fix it and still the same, but when I ring eircom support, they don’t keep your history on file and I have to repeat the problem to a new uninterested person.. terrible service.

Mute David Hanks
    Favourite David Hanks
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:21 AM

Same problem, DSL cuts all the time. Had a technician out, he changed the socket and the router. Problem started as soon as he drove out so called eircom and they said there was a problem at the junction box on the street and they would send someone out in a couple of days, until then they would turn our speed down to 7 so we would have consistant broadband. Brutal customer service. Had a nightmare getting it installed in the first place. The previous tenant had an outstanding bill so they said it would take a few days to install the broadband. 4 weeks later and 10 phone calls we finally got it in after been lead around in cirlcles by all the different customr service people.

Mute Tess K
    Favourite Tess K
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:40 AM

Our DSL is constantly dropping too. We’ve rang Eircom numerous times and all we got was a new modem. No joy. It still drops 4 or 5 times a day. This must be a problem for them countrywide.

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:43 AM

Think a broadband tax will be in order so

Mute Pat Snack
    Favourite Pat Snack
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:45 AM

That’s what the broadcast charge will be for.

Mute #Wynner
    Favourite #Wynner
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:58 AM

LMFAO seriously we might have it by the time my youngest is 66

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:17 AM

Is your youngest 63 now?

Mute Michael O Reilly
    Favourite Michael O Reilly
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:10 AM

If you live in a urban and have fast broadband already you will get faster broadband, if you live in a area just outside a town or built up area your probably still fecked, somehow i think ill still be on my 0.7MB upload / 0.1MB download from eircom for quite some time yet…….

Mute Tom O'Shea
    Favourite Tom O'Shea
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:31 AM

Same speed as my own broadband Michael and I live just a few miles outside Killarney.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:16 PM

Michael, actually I think these new initiatives have a real chance of delivering fast broadband to most towns and villages. I still think there is going to be a problem outside of those towns and villages as the cost of fibre to the door is prohibitively expensive.

Mute Louise G
    Favourite Louise G
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:51 AM

Is Leitrim the only county not getting it???

Mute alpha_chaarlie
    Favourite alpha_chaarlie
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:59 AM

They’re being upgraded from 56kbps to ISDN

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:38 AM

Pretty sure Carrick on Shannon, on the border with Roscommon is marked on the map?

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:12 AM

An absolute joke, eircom told me the could not find my line even though my neighbour has eircom. Quality training there.

Mute Sinéad Leavy
    Favourite Sinéad Leavy
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:22 AM

I’m from the countryside in Dublin. It would be nice to actually get any kind of broadband here. Currently Eircom says they will maybe do it when upgrading the lines in a few years, but they have been saying this since 2007 so I won’t hold my breath. They will give broadband to the newly built houses in my area but not to their long time customers.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    Nov 25th 2014, 3:11 PM

I wouldn’t bet on Eircom providing any broadband, I live in a bit of a rural area in Dublin 15 too, and high speed internet ends about 200 metres away from our house, Eircom said, they could maybe provide us with 3 Mb/s but couldn’t guarantee it and wanted 60 €/month for this, so I’m using my mobile as router for my laptop

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:50 AM

RTE will love this. They will be getting a percentage of the tax – per data amount – through the new data tax.

They’ll take in more than the TV licence fee they are currently getting.

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Oct 28th 2014, 2:25 PM

Ye for services provided by Netflix and YouTube! Rte should have been privatised years ago. Keep tg4 and use it for public service broadcasting and radio one. That’s all we need.

Mute Keith Daly
    Favourite Keith Daly
    Oct 29th 2014, 1:11 PM

Per data amount? Can you clarify this? You’re hardly going to be taxed on the amount of data you send/receive.

Mute Michael Purcell
    Favourite Michael Purcell

Wow! This is almost as good as Pat Rabbitte’s promise of broadband available to every home & school by 2014!! We all know Pat’s as good as his word – he wouldn’t just ‘say’ something to get votes in an election, now would he!

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:43 AM

Was with Eircom for years and had nothing only unreliability. Would drop out about 3 or 4 times a day and customer service used to blame everything from congestion to weather.
    Years ago I moved to BT which is now Vodafone and have had no problems since. I’m paying 35 Per month for over 7 years with unlimited usage. It’s now down to 32.50 per month because I’m a Vodafone mobile customer too. It 100 mb fibre and i’m generally getting 70-90. Eircom ring me every couple of months still to change back. I keep asking them can they compete with 35 per month and they still can’t. I see Eircom are advertising 24 per month offers and the at the end of the ad they say it’s only for the first 6 months of an 18 month contract. After that it goes to 45. Unreal that they still can’t compete.

Mute Ross Donnelly
    Favourite Ross Donnelly
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:04 AM

Vodafone were by far the worst ISPs my family has been with nothing but trouble from them

Mute Rangertwozero
    Favourite Rangertwozero
    Oct 28th 2014, 1:58 PM

Vodafone ha I’m having nothing but problems with them since they took over utv customers lines slow speeds same bull every time I ring. Could count on one hand the amount of problems I had with utv in 10 years now vodafone service is bullsxxt.

Mute Eoin O'Hagan
    Favourite Eoin O'Hagan
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:27 AM

Intermittent 2 mb download and 340kbs upload. HELP !!!!!!!

Mute alpha_chaarlie
    Favourite alpha_chaarlie
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:58 PM

What’s that, the Africa bundle?

Mute Windom Earle
    Favourite Windom Earle
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:36 AM

Lol eircom said I will have e fibre in April then June then August then October then January 2015 now they don’t know.

Mute Will Hourihan
    Favourite Will Hourihan
    Oct 29th 2014, 10:44 AM

Sadly not coming to a Village near me!!

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:27 AM

Following the news that ESB are to provide Internet through the power lines, marijuana grow houses are expecting a smoking hot 200,000 gb/s speed.

Mute Ryan
    Favourite Ryan
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:46 AM

Load of shite, especially for small towns and rural areas across the nation. As for 1000Mbps, lol I’ll believe it when I see it but I’m calling bs on that. It was only 2 years ago Google announced 1000Mbps fibre and I doubt we’re going to get the same speeds this soon. The UK hasn’t even got 1Gbps (1000Mbps) speeds and I’m pretty sure their infrastructure is a lot better than what it is in this country.

Mute Ian Aston
    Favourite Ian Aston
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:02 PM

UK = FTTC (Fibre To The Cabinet)…. The last few hundred metres are over copper and in some cases aluminium still. What is being proposed here is FTTH which is capable of a hell of a lot more long term than 1Gbps. If Eircom are investing in this type of infrastructure it is nothing but good news. Even an up front cost to the consumer of a couple of hundred euro would be well worth it in the long term. Fibre into the home is a huge future proofing measure.

BT and Huawei have successfully proved data rates for broadband of 3Tbps using traditional fibre. The future is fibre.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:22 PM

Ryan the UK infrastructure is not better than Ireland. They have the same problems we do especially in rural areas. There are few countries that do not have these problems except those where either the state has massively subsidised investment (e.g. Sweden) or where they have large urban conurbations (e.g. Sth Korea and Japan). Of course we could have done this in Ireland if we hadn’t sold off Eircom to asset strippers. The key is fibre connectivity to the door. This is expensive outside urban areas and not commercially attractive. However, with the backbone now beginning to be put in place there will be opportunities for commercial operators to move into areas of Ireland that currently do not have broadband and to improve services where there is broadband. A lot of this is driven by simple old fashioned economies of scale which may be offset by new technological developments.

Mute Clau Emmett
    Favourite Clau Emmett
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:47 PM

True true. Fibre to the building or fibre to the home is totally different to the current fiber broadband offerings where the fiber stops in the cabinet and becomes copper once again. Looking forward to seeing the technology rolled out to all areas, will be amazing once its live!

Mute Kieran Barrett
    Favourite Kieran Barrett
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:39 AM

I’ll believe it when I see it

Mute Joe Howard
    Favourite Joe Howard
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:18 AM

I’m in Tralee and I get about 46 Mbps which is decent enough on a 50 Mbps line. It can be a bit odd sometimes but I’m happy enough with it. It’s eircom and I also a 4G signal on my Three phone. BUT it would be nice for there to be a pricing war which included phone, broadband and mobile for one rate. My mobile bill is €40 so that’s €90 a month.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke

Eircom offer different combinations of TV, mobile, broadband and home phone though. There are some decent deals.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:57 AM

Just getting my horizon box and new modem from UPC today, up to 200Mb from 120Mb and started with 50 2 years ago and all this in Sligo, couldn’t be happier.

Mute Rangertwozero
    Favourite Rangertwozero
    Oct 28th 2014, 2:21 PM

Nice oh I can only dream of it

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Oct 29th 2014, 8:42 AM

200mb your lucky if you even get 60mb don’t mind 200mb and don’t mind those speed test there all bullshit

Mute Diarmuid MacSuibhne
    Favourite Diarmuid MacSuibhne
    Oct 28th 2014, 12:48 PM

maybe they should focus on getting rural Ireland more than .1mb per second in the near future. I understand their computer says we have an 8mb line, but that’s not what actually happens. It’s insulting to be charged the same amount for our connection as the 1000mb people are paying. we should be charged 10,000 times less in fact. We should be paying 1c every 4 months…

Mute Adrian Sheahan
    Favourite Adrian Sheahan
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:25 AM

Before tgey go installing fast broadband for some areas maybe they should try and deliver national broadband coverage first???
    Excuse the expression, but”it all sounds a bit irish to me”

Mute Gareth Whelan
    Favourite Gareth Whelan
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:18 AM

Just back from Tokyo. Broadband there was shite so I wouldn’t get too excited about this.

Mute Tom O'Shea
    Favourite Tom O'Shea
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:28 AM

What a pity someone out there can’t sort out the rural broadband issue, I live one mile from the main Killarney to Tralee road and have broadband “speed” of 0.8mb, dark ages doesn’t begin to cover it. Have tried everywhere but can’t get decent coverage. Would go satellite but they have cap on monthly usage.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:31 AM

Ask them about the contract length. They never mention that in the sales pitch until the very, very end.

Mute Rocket Racoon
    Favourite Rocket Racoon
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:30 AM

This is great and all, but rural Ireland will be completely forgotten again. Living 10mins from Mullingar town and can’t even get a connection from eircom, never mind 100mb/s connections.

All we can get is 3 mobile broadband. Capped at 60Gbs per month and go 700mb over that and they charge you an extra 35 quid.

Mute Desmodromic
    Favourite Desmodromic
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:01 AM

AH SHTOP!

Mute Desmodromic
    Favourite Desmodromic
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:02 AM

Rolling out broadband, best little country in the world…

Mute Eddie Harkin
    Favourite Eddie Harkin
    Oct 28th 2014, 6:21 PM

Every county town? I look forward to seeing this in the county town of Donegal which is Lifford and not Letterkenny

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:43 AM

Here’s a link to a list of all the Eircom fibre-to-the-home sites for anyone who’s interested:
    http://pressroom.eircom.net/images/uploads/eircom%20FTTH%20Map.pdf

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Oct 28th 2014, 9:53 AM

Which is why evision for all the slating some give it now will be very successful in the long term.

IPTV is a technology platform which is cheaper and more flexible than Satellite. BT is probably going to overwhelm Sky in the UK eventually and they already have roughly as much Sport as Sky. eVision is cheap and good enough for those who don’t want to spend to much on TV. It’s improving bit by bit and the addition of an on demand service was nice.

It’s still a long way from a top notch system as you can’t control it over the internet with an App if you forget to schedule a recording. You also can’t sling content over the internet from your box at home to devices like a phone or tablet a la Slingbox yet. But it’s ultimately going to be more capable of those kind of things as an IPTV box than a Skybox.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Oct 28th 2014, 10:01 AM

Thanks for that.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:35 PM

oh no David Thank you – you inspired me to post a factual post that was removed – thus does Paddy learn the nerves of the beast !

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Oct 28th 2014, 1:05 PM

Heard all this BS before….. People in parts of rural Co. Dublin have speeds closer to dial up than Tokyo

Mute Tom McCarthy
    Favourite Tom McCarthy
    Oct 28th 2014, 12:48 PM

I feel as if I’ve read the same story and heard the same promises year on year for God knows how long. And to be honest, I think the outcome will be the same as it always is. Decent broadband available in a small number of central hubs, and the rest of the country are left to dangle with an (often crappy & overpriced) dongle or perhaps no coverage at all. As some have said in other comments, they’d be better pulling vast swathes of the country out of the last century rather than making empty announcements. It’s pathetic!

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Oct 28th 2014, 2:31 PM

No they wouldn’t actually. It would costs nearly 10 grand a piece to connect rural houses with fibre and people aren’t willing to pay that. The costs of upgrading urban customers to new technology are minimal in comparison.

If rural user wanted fast broadband they could have it a reasonable cost.
    http://b4rn.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/B4RN-Business-Plan-v5-2.pdf

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:07 AM

Isn’t this what they said a couple of years ago?

Mute Alex De Large
    Favourite Alex De Large
    Oct 28th 2014, 1:41 PM

Working overtime in the Spin department there David I see.. I hope eircom are giving you a nice xmas bonus or are the making you work xmas day like they are forcing some of their workers in the support section..

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Oct 28th 2014, 12:30 PM

So it’ll be close to 20 yrs since it’s inception and broadband may finally come to rural Ireland. I do wonder

Mute Gaz
    Favourite Gaz
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:13 AM

Excellent news. The Australians attempting this have brought fibre to the node after their government decided this would save money and time but ultimately would reduce the speed with the last section being copper. Completely defeating the purpose. Just home something doesn’t alter this grest project

Mute Rebecca Ní Smurchú
    Favourite Rebecca Ní Smurchú
    Oct 28th 2014, 1:39 PM

I’ll believe it when I see it.

Mute Jeremy Callan
    Favourite Jeremy Callan
    Oct 28th 2014, 2:35 PM

Now, if only I could get more than 2mb, that’d be nice.

Mute David McDonnell
    Favourite David McDonnell
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:48 PM

I’d be happy with 10mb! Never mind 1000mb!

Mute Patrick Ryan
    Favourite Patrick Ryan
    Oct 28th 2014, 5:20 PM

Two thoughts….
    For what’s being offered, the general level of speed, service and usage limit with Eircom is grossly overpriced.
    Many locations continue to wait for the last “round” of broadband/fibre/super-duper whatever to be installed/activated. This latest initiative will have some places – and generally it’ll be those places where employment and opportunity are limited – two steps behind.
    Is it beyond the comprehension or ability of the Eircom brain cell to aspire to the highest level of service for the entire country, install it, connect everyone and then press on with upgrading ALL the network, not just those same old locales?

Mute Seán A Haon
    Favourite Seán A Haon
    Oct 28th 2014, 2:15 PM

That’s only 125MBs. Not what I’d call super fast to be having a war over. South Korea have 10GBPs broadband. Now I’d nuke Eircom for that.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:26 PM

Sean let’s compare like with like. In South Korea you have an urbanised population living in apartment blocks. Ireland could not be more different. Simple economies of scale.

Mute David McDonnell
    Favourite David McDonnell
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:46 PM

What about places on the fringes of these towns? We can only get 2mb where we live.
    No doubt they’ll bring the fibre cables to the top of the road and call it a day!

Mute conny :]
    Favourite conny :]
    Oct 28th 2014, 12:07 PM

And none for Dublin one. Thanks.

Mute robbie fowler
    Favourite robbie fowler
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:21 AM

Are Vodafone not doing some similar with esb ???

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:30 PM

Similar but different Robbie!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:09 PM

Same crap from eircom as usual. There is a gigabit line into the village where my parents live for the last 2 years but it is restricted to 40MB for the whole village. 200 houses all linked to a gigabyte line that has a max speed of 40mb and eircom will claim that as a high speed “connected ” village.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:29 PM

Brian, in fairness to Eircom as a company they have been ripped off by their owners and haven’t been able to invest. Serious investment is now being made in their networks. They are literally rebuilding their networks. I expect significant improvements. No company makes this kind of investment unless they see Euros at the end of it.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:49 PM

John I see your point and you are right however the line is there its just that they won’t use .t.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 28th 2014, 3:54 PM

Brian that is ferociously frustrating. Hopefully they will use it once they get their new backbone up and running. I cannot see the logic of making an investment and then refusing to realise it! Best of luck!

Mute Neil Kelly
    Favourite Neil Kelly
    Oct 28th 2014, 1:19 PM

Eircom are leveraging a brand new transmission protocol called “g.fast” . it was first demonstrated in 2013 and is only now being adopted by telecoms operators worldwide. BT are currently trialling it in the UK. however its still a question of how far you are from the fibre end point. more than 250m and it wont be great. less than 70m and it’ll kick ass. see here http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.fast and http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2014/09/first-bt-trial-future-g-fast-copper-broadband-hits-nearly-720mbps.html

Mute Cormac King
    Favourite Cormac King
    Oct 28th 2014, 11:18 AM

No wee black dots on the north east!

Mute Graham Mace
    Favourite Graham Mace
    Oct 29th 2014, 12:14 PM

At the same time, only a few miles from the county town of the third biggest county in Ireland, Eircom cannot provide a reliable connection even at a meagre 1.5-2.0mb/s on their crappy infrastructure.
    More hype and bollocks as far as I’m concerned.

Mute Gerry Houlihan
    Favourite Gerry Houlihan
    Nov 24th 2014, 7:54 PM

We cannot even have a land line as there is an ongoing argument between Eircom and the council as to who should dig a 50m long trench to put the telephone line underground. 6 months ago Eircom dug a trench from the exchange box to the front wall and left it there.

Have contacted, Eircom, the council and the local politicians for votes with no luck in getting a result.