You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA

Taoiseach travels to Brussels for crunch EU summit, but will take 'special measures' upon return

Martin will be tested immediately on return and again after seven days.

TAOISEACH MICHEÁL MARTIN is travelling to Brussels this morning for a special meeting of the European Council and will undertake “special measures” upon his return. 

Martin will be tested for Covid-19 as soon as he returns to Dublin this weekend and again seven days later as a precaution. 

He said his attendance at the meeting was “essential” given it’s the first physical meeting of all European leaders since the pandemic began and the “very serious implications” the summit’s outcome will have for Ireland. 

“I will have to take special measures. When I come back, I will be tested immediately, and will be tested seven days after I come back as well,” Martin told reporters on Wednesday. 

“There’s a range of measures specifically to enable me and ministers when important European Union meetings, in particular, recommence in a physical way, as the council is.”

The much-awaited ‘green list’ of countries for which people will be able to travel to without quarantining will be published on Monday. Despite this, the government is still advising against unnecessary foreign travel.

The Taoiseach has also promised increased staff at ports and airports to inform incoming travellers of their obligations to fill out a passenger locator forms and to restrict movements for 14 days.

Economic uncertainty

Martin will be joining fellow European Union leaders to wrangle over a €750-billion fund to help the hardest-hit member states weather the coronavirus crisis, as well as the EU’s long-term budget for 2021-2027. 

The virus fund would be financed through joint EU borrowing and consist mainly of grants. But the proposal is fiercely opposed by Denmark, Sweden, the Netherlands and Austria who want to rein in the spending and insist on loans rather than grants, making agreement this week uncertain.

Crucially, the fund has the backing of German Chancellor Angela Merkel whose own government has ditched its no-new-debt dogma to unleash €130 billion in fiscal stimulus for Europe’s top economy.

European Central Bank Chief Christine Lagarde said that although economic activity in the eurozone has picked up in recent weeks, “uncertainty about the overall speed and scale of the rebound remains high”.

Ahead of today’s summit, Lagarde urged EU leaders to do their bit and quickly agree on the huge recovery plan.

“A very large number of leaders are perfectly aware of the importance of not wasting time and of being able to signal… that there is a level of consensus and determination to invest together, recover together and support each other,” she said in an online press conference yesterday. 

The ECB said in June it expected the eurozone economy to shrink by a record 8.7% in 2020 because of the pandemic, before returning to growth in 2021.

Incoming data suggest a rebound is already under way as countries emerge from lockdown and consumption ramps up, but Lagarde stressed that the recovery was still in its “early stages” and “uneven across sectors and jurisdictions”. 

- Additional reporting from AFP 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments
    Mute Mary
    Favourite Mary
    Jul 17th 2020, 6:31 AM

Really he had better not put his nose outside his home for 14 days on his return and use his annual leave for this

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jul 17th 2020, 6:53 AM

@Mary: no need. It’s like someone getting a bus to work. He gets on the private jet, goes to a SD meeting and comes home. Although I’m sure lots of people will use it to score political points.

Mute Nioe
    Favourite Nioe
    Jul 17th 2020, 9:13 AM

@Mary: Lol. if he doesn’t you’d be giving out he was on the doss for 2 weeks getting paid and his pension etc etc

Essential workers are allowed to bypass the quarantine. If a truck driver can travel abroad for work without quarantine, surely the Taoiseach can for an EU summit. !

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 17th 2020, 9:37 AM

@Dave Harris: Martin would be the first to make a political point if any other political leader travelled. Personally can’t wait until he comes back to hear what u turns he has done.

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:31 AM

It’s OK folks they also tested mehole for honesty, integrity, ability, leadship and morals, and all came back negative, he hasn’t a trace of any of them including covid…..although we recommend as taxpayers he isolate from politics forever to be safe when he gets back never mind 14 days

Mute Santi Charlie Bravo
    Favourite Santi Charlie Bravo
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:20 AM

@Michael Patrick Newell: Must’ve been the same Doctor that tested Ryan for Sleep Amnesia lol

Mute Roger Dawson
    Favourite Roger Dawson
    Jul 17th 2020, 12:38 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell: Did You forget to mention the Entourage of Civil Servants and
    Special Advisors that do all the work in any event, but Meehole will take all the credit when all goes well otherwise
    Mistakes were Made
    Others will be Blamed

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:01 AM

He’s no more than anybody else. He should be made abide by the rules otherwise shut up preaching to the country about health policies.
    14 days solitary confinement on return and no excuses!!

Mute Munsterman
    Favourite Munsterman
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:16 AM

@Joe Toner: he’s the leader of the country, you hardly expect him to be treated like everyone else? No doubt he’d be lambasted for going on “holidays” if he was to take two weeks off? I suppose the rain is his fault too?

Mute Virus-free Turkey
    Favourite Virus-free Turkey
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:34 AM

@Munsterman: Rain benefits agriculture, food production and the national economy. How could he have anything to do with that?

Mute Hugh Corcoran
    Favourite Hugh Corcoran
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:00 AM

@Joe Toner: cope on. He is going to a European leaders meeting.

Mute Thomas Harrington
    Favourite Thomas Harrington
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:06 AM

@Joe Toner: no he is more than everyone else he’s the Taoiseach – I’m sure he doesn’t want to get covid either – hopefully he does a good job for Ireland and gets back safe and sound

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:25 AM

@Hugh Corcoran:
    He’s going to be a health risk on his return. Wake up and see the light. Despite what you may think, he is not God.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:31 AM

@Munsterman:
    14 days quarantine…… No excuses…..

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:36 AM

@Hugh Corcoran:
    Do you mean “cop” on?…. I’m coping quite well thank you for your concern.
    Check your spelling before posting so as not to look silly.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:38 AM

@Hugh Corcoran: Did they ever hear of ZOOM???

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Jul 17th 2020, 9:25 AM

@Munsterman: A leader who bought his way to power

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 17th 2020, 9:39 AM

@Munsterman: Part time leader.. Wonder did Billy Kelleher go into isolation when he returned from Europe.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Jul 17th 2020, 12:02 PM

@Munsterman: listen you sleeveen ff hack he can transport the virus just like anyone else what about his entourage will they be self isolating , what does that tell you when a nurse coming from Australia to help out had to isolate in a closed hotel for 2 weeks in a room with food left at door, but this clown who commands 14% support can do what he likes, well if that’s the example he wants to give the rest of us so be it!!

Mute Le Schmoo!
    Favourite Le Schmoo!
    Jul 17th 2020, 2:23 PM

@Joe Toner: Well 8 days if the second test comes back negative – which is a fair compromise?

Mute Barry Buckley
    Favourite Barry Buckley
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:11 AM

If this can be done for him, why don’t they do it for everyone that returns to this country.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:26 AM

@Barry Buckley:
    Agreed 1,000 %

Mute Breedge
    Favourite Breedge
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:37 AM

Well how about giving everyone else that has to leave the country the same option test on arrival and seven days later instead of quarantine.

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:10 AM

Why is there one rule for him and a different rule for the rest of us

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:36 AM

Is he going to self isolate for 14 days off course not some joke

Mute Hugh Corcoran
    Favourite Hugh Corcoran
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:03 AM

Can the Journal introduce an IQ test for people to be allowed use the comments section. We really do have some contributors that pure thick.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:45 AM

@Hugh Corcoran:
    The Journal should introduce a grammar and spelling test for some contributors “who”… are pure thick.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Jul 17th 2020, 10:04 AM

@Hugh Corcoran: agree 100 percent

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:13 AM

This double test, is this counted as 1 test per person or classed on record as 2 separate tests? Is it the same for everyone the follow up test. If so does it mean the amount of tests carried out in total actually means we’ve only tested half the amount of people they say they’ve tested?

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:24 AM

@Anthony Whelan:

Not sure Anthony!

But suffice to know that our Micheal is off to Brussels not Magaluf, and that Boris won’t be in attendance to confuse things away from his home base.

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jul 17th 2020, 7:39 AM

@Rory J Leonard: sure with all the masks on display nobody will know who’s who, lol

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:57 AM

@Anthony Whelan: yes they’re counted and enter the counts as do the 2 swabs counts on swans graphs . If you go to “ our world in data “ you’ll see that the definition of tests are “ samples taken “ swabs taken or “ samples analysed “, aka actual laboratory tests.

There’s no point doing a test at day 7, a test on day two is quite enough. There’s a lot of Confusion between incubation period ( time you take to develop symptoms ) and infectious period ( from day one or two & pre symptoms )

https://ourworldindata.org/grapher/full-list-covid-19-tests-per-day

( you can click on add country and add Ireland or remove other countries to get a better view and click on lines for data points )

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jul 17th 2020, 11:05 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: thanks

Mute Le Schmoo!
    Favourite Le Schmoo!
    Jul 17th 2020, 2:29 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: I thought you had to wait more than two days for there to be enough virus in your system to trigger a positive result (but I am sure its dependent on the test being used)?

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:20 AM

And tax payer picks up the bill for the tests….should practice what he preaches isolation 14 days or shut up with the non travel mantra and let us take responsibility for our decision to travel and put the same test facilities at the airport for us all….

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:52 AM

Why not send the Minister for Foreign Affairs instead? I mean, he is suppose to be the Irish representative overseas or is this more about the Taoiseach massaging his own ego and trying to make himself seem relevant on the European stage to his 14% support base?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 17th 2020, 9:02 AM

@Jack Cass: the meeting is for prime ministers, to discuss the rescue package ( god help us )

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 17th 2020, 8:59 AM

And that’s all we want as well , a test on arrival .

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 17th 2020, 10:14 AM

Man arrested on Dublin to Cork train this morning for refusing to wear a mask.

Mute Thomas Claffey
    Favourite Thomas Claffey
    Jul 17th 2020, 12:22 PM

At last we see Martin in the mask, Or is that a old picture of him ,when FF sold us out to the German banks.

Mute Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Favourite Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Jul 17th 2020, 10:15 AM

I think if we can make travel exceptions for truck drivers, we can make exceptions for our Taoiseach. Too many SF BOTS trying to score silly political points out of this.

Mute John Dowdall
    Favourite John Dowdall
    Jul 17th 2020, 6:14 AM

Stay over there, your not wanted here