You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin. Tom Honan/Julien Behal Photography

Level 5: Details of new restrictions confirmed for schools, creches, construction, travel and retail

Taoiseach Micheál Martin spoke at Government Buildings this afternoon.

LAST UPDATE | 6 Jan 2021

TAOISEACH MICHÉAL MARTIN said today that schools will stay closed for the remainder of this month with a review to be taken on when they will reopen.

Schools have not reopened since the Christmas break due to surging Covid-19 cases in the community and Cabinet decided today that they should remain closed. 

Martin said in an address this afternoon however that students in the final year of their Leaving Certificate cycle will be allowed to attend school for three days a week. The Taoiseach reaffirmed the government’s commitment to the State exams proceeding as planned this year. 

The Taoiseach also said that special education should remain open “with protections in place”. 

Speaking at a post-Cabinet briefing at Government Buildings this afternoon, the Taoiseach outlined a range of new restrictions on top of the Level 5 measures already in place.

Martin confirmed that all construction except that which is deemed “essential” will cease for the remainder of January, commencing from 6pm on Friday. 

The essential projects include health projects, schools and social housing with a list published on Gov.ie.

Martin also addressed childcare issues arising from the continued closure of schools, particularly relating to the children of essential workers. 

Childcare services will close generally until the end of the month, but can remain open for vulnerable children and the children of essential workers.

On retail, click and collect from non-essential retail outlets is no longer be permitted with immediate effect

Regarding travel, the current ban on travel from Britain and South Africa will continue until Saturday, at which point all passengers coming from those two countries will be required to be in possession of a negative PCR test that they acquired within 72 hours of travelling. 

This new mandatory requirement will be in place until the end of the month when it will be reviewed. 

Speaking about the decision that Leaving Cert students could attend schools for three days, the Taoiseach said it was “a difficult decision”. 

“Education is the great equaliser and it’s the single most important factor in the great progress that this country has made since its foundation,” he said, later adding:

“The issue is the mobilisation of people. There’s a big difference between 61,000 people coming in in a staggered way, 61,000 Leaving Cert students, as opposed to a million people which would involve the entire population of teachers and students.

“We know from last year the huge difficulty in terms of developing an alternative to the Leaving Certificate, and its importance for this generation of students.” 

In terms of supports, the government has also said that both the Pandemic Unemployment Payment (PUP) and Employment Wage Subsidy Scheme would remain at their current levels until 31 March. 

Virus spread

The announcement of even tougher Covid-19 restrictions comes as Ireland experiences a daily growth rate of Covid-19 cases that is outpacing most of Europe. 

Earlier today, it was confirmed that the number of people currently in hospital with Covid-19 eclipsed the previous peak of the pandemic in April. 

Speaking about the situation, Martin said:

We are in a battle against the deadly and ever changing virus, the lockdown we are introducing today is designed to reflect that stark and simple reality. Unless you were involved in absolutely essential work, you have no reason to be away from your home and you simply must stay at home.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

186 Comments
    Mute David Ronan
    Favourite David Ronan
    Apr 10th 2017, 12:50 PM

There is no need to tip in Ireland, unless the food and service is exceptional then I rarely tip. This is not the states, everyone working in the restuarant is on at least the minimum wage.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Apr 10th 2017, 12:55 PM

@David Ronan: that’s nice of you. Most wait staff are paid barely the minimum wage. It’s nice if you to go spend your money to eat in a restaurant with your principal that despite you clearly affording to eat in a restaurant, that minimum wage is enough for them.

Mute Shanners
    Favourite Shanners

@David Ronan: in Ireland I tip 5 to 10 euro in a restaurant. Not in a cafe or bar. Here in the US it’s around 18% on everything. After a while it becomes habit. It’s just what you do.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Shanners
    Favourite Shanners
    Apr 10th 2017, 12:58 PM

@John B: your comment is somewhat ridiculous. Tipping exists because service staff, bell boys, bar backs, dish washers in the states earn less than minimum wage and are subsidized by tipping culture. This is not the case in Ireland.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:00 PM

@David Ronan: big deal David so the workers are rolling in cash . You sound like a guy who don’t know how much that wage is.

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:07 PM

@John B: plenty of people survive off minimum wage and don’t get tips outside of the restaurant industry. People shouldn’t feel guilty if they decide to spend their earned cash on a meal out and should be expected to give tips for average or poor service. Plus some places now include a service charge on top of their listed menu prices

Mute James O Donoghue
    Favourite James O Donoghue
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:15 PM

Most Irish people don’t and I’d agree with you except when I’m in Dublin. Living cost so expensive there I always tip in Dublin

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:21 PM

@David Ronan: Tight arse

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:33 PM

@David: most commenters here seem quite stingy and mean. I always find it delightful in the US and elsewhere where staff rely on tips. They are genuinely pleasant and try to ensure you really enjoy your stay. It is of course because they rely on tips and cash is an excellent motivator. The wait staff in Ireland don’t know if one of you stingy lot will tip or not and therefore there is no motivation for them to be nice.

Mute Virtual Donal
    Favourite Virtual Donal
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:51 PM

@David Ronan: Very true David. Where staff are paid a wage tipping is the customer paying twice for the same thing. I prefer the Scandinavian model where waiters will even return your tips and tell you that they are paid properly.
    A US style tipping culture favors the bling gangster who is flashing cash everywhere. It is gauche.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:59 PM

@David Ronan: I agree, some of them charge ridiculous prices for their food and it wouldn’t feed a mouse. So now and then, I’d tip if they have been nice and served a reasonable sized meal. But other times, I expect my bill to cover all expenses and wages.

Mute Chrip Ramsay
    Favourite Chrip Ramsay
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:05 PM

@John B: the motivation for them to be nice is keeping their jobs. I worked for over a decade in minimum wage jobs, no one tipped me, and I didn’t expect to be tipped because I was being paid. It shouldn’t be different for waiters or bar staff. If the service is great, I’ll tip. If not, why should I?

Mute David Ronan
    Favourite David Ronan
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:06 PM

@John B, @Alan Scott, Actually, I used to work in the service industry when I was in school and college even before the minimum wage was introduced so I know exactly how it feels and how much they earn.

I still stand by my statement though.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:09 PM

@David Ronan: in the USA there is a lower minimum wage for staff that can be tipped.

So tipping is a way to bring those staff up to and above minimum wage. Notwithstanding that, the business still has to go up the pay to the higher minimum wage for staff who haven’t Got enough tips.

In Ireland there isn’t a lower min wage for staff that can be tipped. This tipping is sheep copying their American friends but for the wrong reason. This then becomes a social norm and a way to demonstrate your own generosity to inflate ones ego

Mute Martin Fahy
    Favourite Martin Fahy
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:22 PM

@John B: I tip but surely it’s up to an individual whether they rip or not, it’s a personal choice. So your mock outrage on the previous comment is not fair, it’s a free world, it’s his choice.
    Also if you had a really bad experience, whether service or bad food, of course you shouldn’t be expected to tip.
    Finally most staff except temporary
    Summer staff generally earn above the minimum wage, unlike USA, an entirely different culture when it comes to eating out.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:29 PM

@Martin Fahy: “mock outrage”? I can assure you my blood pressure is normal and my face is a nice irish arctic white. But still it is clear the the journal commenters are a miserly bunch, I’m surprised they even eat at restaurants.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:35 PM

@John B: I should remember to start tipping most of the clothes shop workers too. They usually earn minimum wage. Must start tipping the guy I pay the petrol to too, sure he’s on minimum wage as well.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:46 PM

@cholly appleseed: cholly I recognize it can be challenging to differentiate between occupations where the face of customer service impacts on the experience. But for me, when I get home with a new jumper that I like, the face of the grumpy cashier won’t affect the enjoyment of my new clothes. Clearly this is very different in a restaurant where unpleasant service can ruin a good night out.

Mute mad_fluffy
    Favourite mad_fluffy
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:37 PM

@John B: that really isn’t the customers concern..

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:41 PM

@David: Do you tip fast food workers? Of course not so stop being a hypocrite by calling others cheap.

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    Apr 10th 2017, 4:20 PM

@David Ronan: I agree!

Maybe we should tip the guy from I.T who fixed the printer this morning?

If restaurant owners are not paying there staff enough then why should the public have to almost subsidize there wages??

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Apr 10th 2017, 4:29 PM

@John B: John, you do realise that when this “miserly bunch” spend the money they have worked for in any restaurant or cafe or whatever that they are already contributing to the staffs wages? If those same staff are unhappy with their wages they should get a different job, that’s what I did anyway.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 10th 2017, 5:19 PM

@Eamonn Sheen: I rarely eat fast food. And I usually get it delivered when I do, the driver gets the change.

Mute owen kirwan
    Favourite owen kirwan
    Apr 10th 2017, 5:31 PM

@John B: most people who have meals out do so as a treat and are not all high earners Tip is the service they provide is good otherwise Don’t ,They get around €10 per hour and some but not all also get service charges too ,just because we might go to a restaurant doesn’t mean we have to pay twice

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Apr 10th 2017, 10:22 PM

@John B: and retail staff? You tip them I suppose?

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Apr 10th 2017, 10:54 PM

@John B: at least they are paid the minimum wage. So are thousands of others who are not left tips. Change jobs if you want to earn more. If enough waiting staff left, the pay rate would have to increase—it’s called supply and demand.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter

We are slowly turning into the US where tipping is almost becoming mandatory. Tipping should be the exception rather than the rule where you show you appreciation for an exceptional service. It should never be expected by staff and their wages shouldn’t depend on it.

Once when I was in the US, I genuinely forgot to tip a bellboy who helped move our luggage a few meters into a lift. I was promptly reminded by him that tipping is expected. There are a lot of good things about America but can we please not emulate their tipping culture?

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:53 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: I totally agree, when I was last in US I met this young Irish girl working in a restaurants for $5:00 a hour, this was a pretty good restaurant, her was not that good an only could survive the work along with her tips. we are paying for a service that have to pay their workers, not exploiting them.

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:05 PM

I’m in a minimum wage job where we don’t get tips, so it has to be really good service for me to tip someone who’s getting the same or higher wage than me.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Apr 10th 2017, 5:22 PM

@Ariana: change to that industry if you’re going to moan about it.

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    Apr 10th 2017, 12:50 PM

It would depend on the service, entirely. I’ve been in places where you don’t even get offered water, or a cofffee etc. when you sit down. Then they leave you sitting there for 15 minutes and don’t take any sort of order. I’ve walked out of places like that too.

If they want a tip – they should earn it and it shouldn’t be a given. If you don’t get a tip then read between the lines, it’s because the service wasn’t that good.

However, I’m quite happy to leave 25% tip or more if the staff are polite, the service is good, and the food is properly prepared (not reheated shite from the day before – as there is a difference between reheated food and freshly cooked).

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 10th 2017, 12:54 PM

@Eugene Tyson: Are you sure you are not going into fast food restaurants waiting for table service.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:12 PM

@Eugene Tyson: should you tip more for a bottle of champagne rather than a pitcher of beer?

Riddle me that!

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:18 PM

@David: funny enough not a lot of people tip at fast food chains.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:23 PM

@kevin: If you tip a percentage then you would tip more for champagne. Unless you drink a very expensive beer.

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:23 PM

@kevin: I’d be happy to tip in either circumstance, however, if the service was particularly bad or either not chilled to the correct temperature then the tip calculator begins to slide towards zero. I just hope the person delivering the champagne does so with gusto and a smile rather than contempt and hatred. After all if i can splash the cash on Champagne then the server should know that I have more money than sense and be prompt and polite to ensure they receive a larger cash reward for perpetuating the job they were hired to do.

Mute mad_fluffy
    Favourite mad_fluffy
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:39 PM

@David: shut up

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Apr 10th 2017, 9:12 PM

@Eugene Tyson: 25% is charity.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Apr 10th 2017, 9:13 PM

@Lily Martin: err yes I understand %. I’m just pointing out the ridiculousness of % tipping

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    Apr 10th 2017, 9:22 PM

@kevin: and what’s won’t with that

Mute Pat Redmond
    Favourite Pat Redmond
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:16 PM

Shop workers are on minimum wage – shouldn’t they get a tip too?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:37 PM

@Pat Redmond: it makes about as much sense as tipping a waiter. I do tip and usually 10% but it’s just habit and basically expected. I still will but when you think about it, it’s not nessessary.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:34 PM

I never understood why people leave a % of the bill. IF I tip I leave a fiver, if there is a service charge, I don’t leave anything. This is not America where the tips are your wages.

Mute J.D. Finnerty
    Favourite J.D. Finnerty
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:43 PM

Tipping is as annoying as unpaid internships. Both culturally forced norms that allow employers to underpay (or not pay) their staff. Tipping especially is the company saying ‘pay for your meal or your hotel room or other service, then help us pay the wages of our staff.’

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Apr 10th 2017, 12:58 PM

Tip for good service that reflects the number of people served. If its a large group id be inclined to tip more.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:01 PM

It would be nice to be able to go out for a meal,but most family’s cannot afford it.struggle to get through the week and put food on the table at home.before anyone starts,I’ve been working from 12 yrs of age, consistently all my life.

Mute Andy Bennett
    Favourite Andy Bennett
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:36 PM

@@mdmak33: Most familys can’t afford it?! Struggle to put food on the ta leg at home?!
    Where are you getting this madness from?

Mute Andy Bennett
    Favourite Andy Bennett

@@mdmak33: *on the table

Mute Jonathan Mc Elhinney
    Favourite Jonathan Mc Elhinney
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:57 PM

Working now for 20 yrs and never got a tip from a customer yet. So i never give tips

Mute James Curtin
    Favourite James Curtin
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:29 PM

@Jonathan Mc Elhinney: maybe your an arsehole?

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:49 PM

The food here is too expensive in rip off Ireland. Tip already paid for.

Mute mad_fluffy
    Favourite mad_fluffy
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:41 PM

Nobody should or be forced to tip.it should be completely up to the customer

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:18 PM

When you think about it, the concept of tipping as they have it in the US makes no sense. Basically, as well as paying for the service from the business (a restaurant in this ase), you are also making a contribution to one of the business’s main expenses (the wages it pays its staff). Is there any other sector where this occurs? Why should the buyer be doing this? Business expenses are for the business to take care of. Not you.

I would tip only if the service was exceptional for some reason.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Apr 10th 2017, 12:51 PM

Fair play to that Australian rapper, ‘Buoys in the Hood’ stuff right there. To be honest, I don’t believe in tipping I just leave a kinder egg after every meal.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:39 PM

Nobody is getting an automatic tip from me. When it is included on the bill I won’t eat there. And yes I do ask when booking a table.

Only if I get a great service will I give a tip and I am happy to say that I do most times I eat out however some staff clearly don’t want to be there and this shows in the service they give so I give them nothing.

Mute jgc
    Favourite jgc
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:14 PM

Reservoir Dogs Mr Pink says…..

Mute Charles Martel
    Favourite Charles Martel
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:07 PM

I always tip the staff, even in take-aways, before my food comes up, also I tip bar-staff,
    They work hard unsociable hours & I feel they deserve tips, just like staff in fancy restaurants.
    Treat them with respect, & they treat you in a similar manner.
    Good feelings all around…

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Apr 10th 2017, 4:52 PM

More absolute nonsense, like other poster said THIS IS NOT THE USA, where some restaurant staff work for tips only, there are loads of people of people in Ireland on the minimum wage and don’t work in an industry where they get paid tips to top up there wages, go get yourself a better job if u need more money or work a second part time job, and another posters comment where they state that somehow because I can afford to eat out I am morally obliged to top up some strangers weeks wages, what complete bullshit

Mute mad_fluffy
    Favourite mad_fluffy

Tipping is bull shite. The meal and service would need to be exceptional

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:27 PM

That Australian should change his stage name from 2pec to 2pay…

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Apr 10th 2017, 1:27 PM

Always €2. I even throw one individual that’s begging the same.

Mute Tomasz Irlandczik Krótki
    Favourite Tomasz Irlandczik Krótki
    Apr 10th 2017, 8:28 PM

If the food is up to scratch I consider tipping. Whether I do or not depends on the quality of service. If the service is above par, prompt, and the staff courteous and friendly, I tip generously, a minimum of 10%. If it’s exceptionally good and if the staff are prepared to go the extra mile, I increase the tip substantially.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Apr 10th 2017, 9:46 PM

Don’t be daft this is not the US yet?

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Apr 10th 2017, 2:07 PM

Depend’s on the service bad service tip. 1 cent just to make a point without causing problems sure they get the message .

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen
    Apr 10th 2017, 5:07 PM

you lot on here, what a tight ungreatful bunch of miserable t w a t s every time you leave a restaurant or cafe and dont tip staff always comment to each other about you and will always remember the non tippers. as usually most people are nice and do leave something

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Apr 16th 2017, 10:32 AM

@David Cullen: lol u pompous ass, do u think we that don’t tip really give a shite if the restaurant staff “COMMENT” about us, and what have I to be go grateful for, I went into a restaurant ordered a meal and paid for it, it is up to the owner of the restaurant to pay his/her staff,they are not my problem, they are there to serve me and get paid by the restaurant owner, I owe them absolutely NOTHING, NOT 1 CENT

Mute Soft Wind Roses
    Favourite Soft Wind Roses
    Apr 11th 2017, 5:59 AM

Let the restaurant pay their wages.
    I’ll tip if I get good service.
    Usually a few euro.

Mute louis walsh
    Favourite louis walsh
    Apr 10th 2017, 6:17 PM

Shower of tight arses !, I tip all the time if the service is good from the person serving. Waiting jobs are one of the toughtest jobs to do running around 9 hours at most and not proper breaks especially in the hotel industry. I did it many years ago and I respect anybody who works in that industry.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Apr 10th 2017, 6:36 PM

The reason tipping started was because the Americans always tip barman or waitress because their wages would be very basic and the tips make the wage so the harder you work the better the tip if you have a lazy waitress or barman and you are not providing a service they will let you know with the tip .

Mute Thomas Martin
    Favourite Thomas Martin
    Apr 10th 2017, 3:40 PM

Would you like to live on the minimum wage?