You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
MICHEÁL MARTIN HAS said that Enda Kenny is wrong in his assessment that Fianna Fáil wrecked the economy describing this as “overly simplistic”.
In an interview with RTÉs Morning Ireland earlier, the Fianna Fáil leader again challenged the Taoiseach to a one-on-one TV debate.
But the Health Minister Leo Varadkar said he saw no reason why Kenny should debate Martin as he is “the leader of the third party”.
Martin’s comments this morning came after a weekend of heavy criticism at the Fine Gael conference in Mayo where Fianna Fáil was consistently described as the party that wrecked the economy and could not be trusted to take it over again.
Fine Gael sought to undermine both Martin’s party and Sinn Féin in a bid to convince voters that only the current coalition can be trusted to continue the economic recovery.
Speaking to reporters today, Varadkar said he didn’t really think Kenny should debate Martin one-on-one, saying:
“Fianna Fáil is the third party. It was the third party in the last general election. It’ll almost certainly be the third party in the next and is in the polls in the moment so I don’t see why Enda Kenny would go head-to-head with the leader of a third party.”
Leo says Enda shouldn't have to debate the leader of the third party. Is he suggesting debating Joan Burton then? http://t.co/Tbcr6x5x7x
Speaking to reporters this afternoon, Jobs Minister Richard Bruton said that Kenny already debates “twice-a-week, one-on-one with the leader of the main opposition” in the Dáil during Leaders’ Questions.
“That is where people want to see to the issues of the day debated and the Taoiseach is very adept at handling all of these issues and that’s what he’s offering. He’s offering fully open accountability.”
Listen to what Foreign Affairs Minister Charlie Flanagan had to say:
Earlier, Martin hit out at Kenny’s record in opposition saying that despite Fianna Fáil carrying out two-thirds of the fiscal corrections necessary under the Troika bailout agreement, Fine Gael had voted against many of these measures.
“He [Kenny] was not a force for stability and he attempted to undermine the then government at every step as it sought in the midst of a severe financial crisis to rectify that crisis through a series of budgets,” he said.
Martin also accused Kenny of delivering “a big political lie” in his Prime Time interview last Thursday, taking issue with the assertion that the current government had negotiated €50 billion in savings on its debt pile.
“This was a big political lie,” Martin claimed.
Finna Fáil has argued that €40 billion of this €50 billion is a result of longer loan maturities, and says that rather than actual savings the repayment of these amounts has just been pushed out to a later date.
Fine Gael hit back at Martin’s interview with this press release this morning:
“We replaced €9 billion of IMF debt last year with cheaper market debt and the intention is to refinance another €9 billion in the first half of this year. These early repayment transactions alone will deliver a saving of over €1.5 billion over the lifetime of the loans.
“We also restructured the promissory note, reducing the State’s borrowing requirement by €20 billion in the next decade or so. We have succeeded in gaining concessions from our European partners in the form of maturity extensions and lower interest rates.
“The maturity extension removes a market refinancing requirement of €20 billion for the period 2015-22 and the interest rate reduction delivers savings each year in the annual budget.”
Arrogance
Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams weighed in on the topic on Drivetime this evening, saying any debate should involve all three leaders.
Adams: Enda Kenny is notoriously shy about debate - he won't do it in the Dáil, he's very well handled by his very,very well paid advisers.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
I didn’t apply, for the same reason that I haven’t paid any of the bills. I genuinely believe this absolute mess will be gone after the general election. They can keep sending the bills if they like. Breakfast for the green bin is all they are.
Gerry unfortunately I disagree this mess will be gone after the election. If the polls are even off a bit FG looks certain to be in power again. That means FG will be all over the airwaves saying they have a mandate for Irish Water.
As Declan correctly points out when the electorate re-elect FG that will be an endorsement of Irish Water from the public even though it was clearly laid out in their previous election manifesto.
Gerry I understand what you are saying and totally agree with not paying, but our choice not to pay comes at the next GE, I we all truly believe this is wrong then we must vote these clowns out, that’s the only way we can send the message we are not paying, unfortunately if the Irish people are stupid enough to vote these dictators back in them we are all paying, our choice is now, vote them out and we win, simple,
Mick like a lot of people I am in no way happy about how Irish Water was established. The fact remains FG have a strong support and it looks like they will form another government which will be a mandate to have Irish Water in place fully. I would expect once back in government there will be many laws brought in to enforce collections of money owed. Right now they won’t want any bad publicity from irish water and most likely Irish Water were told to keep a low profile until after the election.
The total from my 3 bills to date is €9.
I really don’t get what all the commotion is. I pay far more in LPT and USC.
Most those whinging about water charges are just not used to pay taxes.
If you believe, like me, that the grant is nothing more than a bribe to try blow life into the pocket stuffing quango that is Irish Water, if you take it….then you are helping to defraud the taxpayer. Don’t take bribes from this Government…..don’t be fingers fumbling in the greasy till.
… an endorsement of Irish Water from the public even though it was clearly laid out in their previous election manifesto…
Can you point out exactly where it mentions Irish water?
WATER
Safe, Clean and Secure
• We will ensure the necessary investment is made to provide everyone with running water that is clean
and safe to drink.
Grants for Group Water Schemes
• We will improve grants for group sewerage schemes to the same level available for group water
schemes. This will facilitate the prioritization of infrastructural development and the provision of services
in order to aid housing development in towns and villages outside the main population centres.
Sewage and Waste Water
• We will provide greater investment in sewage services and wastewater treatment throughout the country.
It should be a clear policy objective that all waste water treatment should be brought to the point where
waste water can be returned to the ecosystem without causing any risk to the environment or to human
health.
• We will establish a grant scheme to upgrade septic tanks in rural areas through the installation of
modern treatment systems. Priority will be given to vulnerable areas where existing tanks are causing a
serious threat to public health and the environment.
Yes that’s only the entry point to get you started, wait till they get going when they get it off the ground prices will rocket, I can’t understand how people can be so naive.
Private well or not Alan Nolan you are still paying for water through general taxation …
Vat, Paye, Motor tax etc ….
you contribute on avg €600 + a year to the central fund for our water infrastructure -or lack of it ….
This scam is a private company with the main shareholders kelly and noonan who want to privitise it and sell for billions while we the people will not be able to afford Our Basic human Right .. and considering that we the people OWN OUR NATURAL RESOURCES THOSE LEECHES HAVE NO BUSINESS TRYING TO SELL IT OUR OWN IT ……… Our water belongs to us and we pay for it Multiple times …..
Brendan, be it in the form of higher income tax (because somehow the LLA think paying a multiple of what is originally being asked is a victory), or the water charge or buying bottled water because you can’t drink what comes out of the tap, you will pay.
Just as well you do not need to produce a Tax Clearence Cert to tender for jobs Brendan. They will get you every way with the property tax but still haven’t worked out how to nab everyone with the water tax yet.
They will get you when you sell your house or if you pass it onto you children when you die and your children will pay a big penalty from daddy’s refusal to pay
I’m the same Daisy, had a great night out on the department of social welfare. Conserve water, drink beer :)
On a serious note, if Fine Gael or Labour are returned to power in any capacity then yes it will come from wages/pensions/welfare but let’s wait until we know for sure before making any bill payments!
Why is everyone calling it a water tax?!? If it was a tax then Revenue would collect it and not Irish Water. It is a charge for a delivery of a commodity!!!
I’ve had 3 bills and a reminder letter so far …. I will not be paying them. I haven’t applied for the ‘bribe’ as I’m not that easily manipulated. Go to hell Irish Water along with FG and Labour
Correct Keith Ryan we pay multiple times for our water ..
In fact we pay 1.7+ Billion per year average and that includes people with their own private wells … they pay for water through general taxation as well even tho some of them dont know that ,…
Billions wasted over the years and we still dont have decent clean water in this state..
Billions mismanaged by councils and govt officials for decades …
And they think we will pay this private scam to fund the gamblers …
Not happening EVER
No that would be dishonest because I didn’t register with IW, and never will either. Can pay, won’t pay again, I already do. So shove the lousy 100 euro where the sun don’t shine.
I will never pay thus voluntarily. And will never vote for Fg, FF or Labour. Funny how so many complain but will still vote for the same old cronies. History will repeat itself again and again. This nation is all talk, no action.
Why pay again?
I already pay through VAT & Tax…etc
In my book a hero to Entitlement would be…lets say…someone who asks for “loads of money” for pulling a few strings or maybe someone who prints 73000 calendars and expects the tax payer to pick up the tab.
I could go on & on & on but there is still half a bottle of cooking sherry waiting for me.
Hey MK76 couple of quotes for ya…can ya guess who said them.
“We are all equally entitled to call ourselves republican”
“I’m a republican, almost every citizen of this state is a constitutional republican and I deplore the name republican being abused by people who are involved in paramilitarism, crime, murder, extortion and racketeering,”
Here is a quick clue for ya…Joan Burton.
Listen fella enjoy the rest of the festive season, can’t wait to catch up with ya in the New Year best wishes.
So Joan Burton gave a completely different definition of a Republican and by doing so chastised SF for their deplorable view of the world, but yet you feel you’ve won some sort of victory?
Ata boy. Just showing yourself and your fellow “good republicans” up for what they are.
TTIP states in its 700 page document that each countries postal, health board and water services are going to be privatised, the 100 euro grant was to get all the people on the books before they privatise it.
The TiSA Agreement shows what else is up for privatisation “The Trade in Services Agreement (TiSA) is a proposed international trade treaty between 23 Parties, including the European Union and the United States. The agreement aims at liberalizing the worldwide trade of services such as banking, health care and transport.” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trade_in_Services_Agreement
Haven’t applied as I can’t be bribed. The media suggesting fg are on 30% in polls suggests that 70% of us want something different. Remember a vote for lab is a vote for the fg manifest, dont get fooled twice.
How did you come to that conclusion ? I’m sure there are many like me who paid and couldn’t claim because my letter got “lost in the post” and after multiple phone calls, and countless lost time on hold, I gave up.
But sure why have the poll at all? 400,000 of 2.6 million have not applied as stated in the article. Nonsense poll yet again , unless the figure of how many of the journal.ie readers who clicked on a particular water poll article and partaken is of use to anyone.
I wish with all my being that you are right but unfortunately there are more idiots and sheeple in this country. One thing is for sure I will not be voting for them.
Good girl Deborah. But if we want to make sure that we get rid of this bunch of corrupt vermin we need a big push from the young people, similar to what we had for the marriage equality referendum.
We should be encouraging people who are abroad to come home to vote, we can do it but we’ll have to work for it.
All taxation is ultimately by consent. There is no consent for regressive taxes like LPT, Water Tax and Irish (obscene) Car Tax, where the wealthy are subsidised by those who cant afford new cars and have to pay the high car tax – disgusting place to live. Regressive taxes fail to take account of inability to pay and will ultimately (watch the Polling Booths) fail for this reason.
Anto – you won’t be getting your money back & you don’t deserve to either. Those that have paid will in return get nothing other than a faulty meter & no improvement to their water quality or service. If this quango remains in place – expect very expensive bills in a few years & nothing else. It’s only the Danes, Denitos & MK’s who cheerlead corrupt ineptitude on this forum – if those chaps think Irish water is a good idea – you know it’s not. Looking forward to the demonstration on the 23rd. Don’t pay – do not vote this corrupt useless government back & Irish water will be history.
Unlike councilors and T.Ds i do not take bribes .i wont be threatened by demands to pay or false posts that revenue will take it from my wages . Water was never free we paid through road tax ,v.a.t. and continue to pay it with property tax ,pension fund . I stopped a meter going in at my house , I wont pay a fifth time for a service any politician or party that agrees with water charges will not get a vote from me .
I live in a rural area so I haven’t been getting my water and sewage services for free. This was the first bit of financial assistance that I ever got to pay for my water so I grabbed it with both hands.
Who gets their water for free? On a side note, I’m sure some of my tax is going to maintain the rural roads you travel on, which me and the vast majority of the population will never use.
Your choice to live in a rural area. If you didn’t want to have to pay for a well and septic tank you shouldn’t have. Don’t blame anyone else for your choice and the cost that comes with it.
You obviously have shit td’s where you live. Vote someone different next time and get the universal service like the rest of the country. The next thing they’ll get your area to pay for a group postal scheme.
Em why is it the so called ” right wing ” in Ireland have a problem when people complain on goverment interference.
I pay a hell of a lot of taxes as a single working young male with out taking from the gov. The rest of ye are on welfare
@george salter you were to one that assumed I was claiming children allowance(biggest fraud of the state) street lighting (which I pay pso) education (which i payed for) etc. I am saying is we have a vicious gov who are hounding the productive of society
No, I gave examples of the sort of things that people use. The PSO doesn’t pay for lighting, incidentally. I also am assuming, maybe incorrectly if you are an immigrant, that you benefited from children’s allowance. Unless you paid something on excess of €25k per annum, secondary and third level, then your education was heavily subsidised. You didn’t respond on the roads bit either…
I pay a lot of tax at top rate so I expect some services in return. But what services do I get. No bin collection, we pay to get a guy to cut council owned greens in estate. Pay road tax etc. So what exactly do I get for my taxes? Now after years of incompetence running water services into the ground politicians want me to pay to sort out that as well?? Supporters of FG and LAB, which I once was, are saying let’s pay more to these idiots to patch up problems caused by their stupidity and lack of any idea how to run the simplest of systems. So whats next for us to pay for that these morons bugger up? How stupid to keep paying for someone else’s incompetence? They know that there are enough idiots around to keeping coughing up more money for every thing these simpletons make a message of ..
If you pay that much top tax then voting for anybody orher than FG would be madness from your prospective……have you saw SF policies for people like you.
Voting indepndents only. I do not trust any political party anymore. All have a whip to make them vote like a herd of mindless sheep. I want a Dail that debates issues meaningfully and selects what’s best for the people not for “De Party” and themselves. I also despise liars which all Irish political parties are. They are parasites pure and simple.
Yes twenty years ago. Concil in Kildare DG o not cut grass in Celbridge. There is a council grant to the residents association which doesn’t cover half the cost. We are maintain someone else’s property…
I’ve always paid for my own water and in my taxes I’m apparently contributing to that “free” water that many others enjoy. I didn’t take the money because I don’t acknowledge IW rights over my own supply. I bet in a few years they will want me to pay them for my own water.
I need to ask I haven’t been paying my bill my landlord just registered me he never said anything to me and bills started coming in my name I’ve had three already
I have never engaged with this outfit, nor will I.
The days of ruling by fooling are OVER.
We all have a #right2change this and a #right2water that we ALREADY pay for.
Just because Phil Hogan stole the local government fund and gave it to money men in suits is NOT going to be my problem. Irish Water is a farce, set up for privatisation and the cronies in Fine Gael and Labour, just like the Fianna Fáil gangsters are hell bent on screwing ordinary people to feather their own nests.
Since 1922, these men in suits have been playing musical chairs with “power” and they and their friends have been the only winners.
This general election offers us all a once in a lifetime chance to CHANGE things and elect a people focused, progressive and fair government that will act in the interests of ALL citizens.
Strong support for FG in the poles?… Spin lads.
Remember the government here are sending their people to the uk to talk tactics with the conservatives on how to win the irish election.
The consensus among people I know is.. the only way they can get power now is to Fix the election.
Don’t know how… But be prepared.
Irish Water didn’t give out €100. The department of Social Protection gave out the €100 to households.
It was called the “Water Conservation Grant”. The word “Water” confused people and made them think it had something to do with Irish Water.
This from October:
They show that a total of 830,000 households are now paying their water charges, a spokesperson for Irish Water said. This represents 55% of the total customer base.
So now there are 2.6 million homes in Ireland? IW and FG/Lab, liars all the way.
Yep – I took the 100. It will be offset against all the other rip-offs Kenny and his traitors inflicted upon us, and I have no qualms about it. Why not? – - I am owed it.
Won’t be paying IW for water though – I already pay.
Its more equitable and fairer to tax the water depending on how much you use instead of from general taxation. Many households pay tax and didn’t have free water from a council. Its well within the right of the government to introduce the charge, its implementation was bad, but the principal is right.
I paid and I registered. If it’s repealed by the next government then I expect my money back. If they don’t intend to the I expect the AAA and the anti water charge brigade to campaign ferociously to get my money and the other million plus people’s money back, cause if they didn’t they would be total hypocrites.
Beachmaster I know there’s a lot of protesters coming on here and giving out about the charge whereas they have registered and paid all the bills and are not up front saying one thing and doing the opposite I had the same problem when representing my fellow work mates in the Union . You can never know who is paying and who`s not.
How am I a coward to expect equal treatment from elected politicians? Your argument is juvenile at best. Do you also blame the majority of voters for electing the current government that implemented the charges and call them cowards? And I suppose the people who trapped people who are only doing their jobs in a car heroes? And the people who assault IW workers heroes too? Get over yourself
What he means Anto is you go with the flow…….you don’t stand up for anything and if an the elected politicians decided to take your home……you’d roll over.
Register for your own money. If these parasites get re-elected, you can expect worse to come. Look at the state of the country with everything taxed or given away by corrupt politicans.
@Mc F Kevin the “entitlement ireland” thing come off the stage are you justifying that 100€ “cash back” that will end up benefitting a future private company socail justice?
Their are many people in Ireland that need that cash to help themselves. Then the poor middle class!
Two elderly relatives in nursing homes under fair deal scheme. Have to pay the water charges but they are not eligible for €100 water , conservation, rebate, grant or what ever election gimmick it was called
Never received a bill, I got text messages telling me bills were overdue but as I didn’t get any bills I didn’t get account details and therefore couldn’t apply for the grant. Strange how they got my mobile phone number but still couldn’t send a bill to the correct address.
I applied then was told I did not qualify. I even paid my annual bill upfront. Still nothing. Feels like a slap in the face by a company that is not ready to move forward. #IrishWater #NotPleased
Well can you tell me where I pay for street lighting? No because all that money goes back to the exchequer because our system is not transparent.
I don’t know if my own mother got CB or not. But it’s wrong! Plain wrong. My third level education came out of MY pocket. Road tax I don’t drive an Irish registered veichele.
Mick O'Dwyer, legendary Kerry GAA manager and footballer, has died aged 88
Updated
2 hrs ago
Live Blog
EU will try launch US tariff negotiations with Lutnick tomorrow, Commissioner says
Updated
17 mins ago
As it happened
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
13 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say