You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sinn Féin TD calls Micheál Martin the 'prime gurrier' of Leinster House

The status of the Provisional IRA was the subject of a tense and fraught debate in the Dáil earlier.

Updated 3.50pm 

MICHEÁL MARTIN WAS labelled “a gurrier” by a Sinn Féin TD as the Dáil discussed the findings of an intelligence review which has determined that the Provisional IRA still exists.

The Fianna Fáil leader told the Dáil that the British intelligence report had reached a stark conclusion in assessing the PIRA Army Council still exists and that Provisionals believe it controls Sinn Féin.

Addressing the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Martin said there needed to be assurances that the proceeds of organised crime being carried out by “alleged individual Provo republicans” are not finding their way into the political project of Sinn Féin.

MM quote marks

Off mic, Sinn Féin TD Padraig MacLochlainn was heard saying:

That’s shameful, that’s shameful. You’re a gurrier, you’re a political gurrier.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Martin referred to remark a short time later, saying he’d just been called “a gurrier” by MacLochlainn who, in the Dáil record, is recorded as responding:

That is because he is. He is the prime gurrier in these Houses… Deputy Martin is more hardline than MI5 and the DUP. He is worse than the DUP.

maclochlainn

Martin said it was the type of “intimidation that people engage in when they’re challenged”.

Kenny later condemned the remarks, saying:

Now I have differences of opinion with you on many matters, but I’ve never descended to the level of what you’ve just been called from the far side.

MacLochlainn was heard laughing loudly in the chamber as the Taoiseach spoke.

State of the Nation: Who runs Sinn Féin?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

170 Comments
    Mute Barry Vickers
    Favourite Barry Vickers
    Jan 31st 2016, 11:47 AM

“Think of something pleasant so you appear sincere” OR be sincere.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jan 31st 2016, 11:28 AM

You forgot to mention that Winston Churchill spent most of his life in an alcoholic haze. His famous “fight them on the beaches” speech sounds so belligerent because he was apparently 3 sheets to the wind . The nation thought that it was his fighting spirit that made him sound so resolute but in fact it was more probably the contents of a bottle of brandy that gave him that growling tone. The only thing he didn’t do was finish off his speech with “the fugging bashtrds, I’ll take ‘em all on!”.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:00 PM

…rewriting history there Brian, are we?

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:43 PM

Ya churchy baby loved the sauce, some of his hardest and best decisions were made late at night with a brandy bottle. He said that he got more out of booze than booze ever got out of him.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jan 31st 2016, 3:32 PM

The Dude, far from it. Churchill was a renowned drinker who had champagne for lunch and dinner followed by brandy and was rarely seen without a glass of whiskey by his side. He reputedly got sick as a young boy and his doctor advised him to drink sherry as a remedy only he neglected to mention how much and more importantly when to stop, This article http://www.telegraph.co.uk/men/thinking-man/11371641/The-day-I-tried-to-match-Churchill-drink-for-drink.html lays out what Churchill drank during the day. It would make most people completely useless by tea time but to someone who had being drinking for years it would be achievable.

Another notable person who was an working alcoholic for most of their life and still achieved success is Ingvar Kampard, the founder of Ikea https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ingvar_Kamprad . He reckons that he became an alcoholic by drinking large amounts of vodka while doing deals with suppliers and customers in Poland as he grew the business. He reputedly drinks 2 bottles of vodka a day but dries out 3 times a year.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Jan 31st 2016, 4:09 PM

It didn’t stop him from becoming the greatest leader of the 20th century!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jan 31st 2016, 4:50 PM

I never said it did. Although calling him the greatest leader of the 20th century may well be a matter for debate.

Mute Mono Official
    Favourite Mono Official
    Jan 31st 2016, 11:55 AM

Keep your hands out of your pockets as you shake someone’s hand. Solid advice

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Favourite Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:00 PM

Mono Official
    And politicians take note, – keep your hands out of other people’s pockets when shaking their hands…

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Jan 31st 2016, 11:24 AM

” 2. Reduce how quickly and often you nod. ” – Mary (headbangin’ to a ‘Whole lot of Rosie’.) Robinson take note.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:14 PM

‘Make people feel like they’re the most intelligent, impressive and fascinating person you’ve ever met’
    So.
    If you’re talking to some boring a**hole then you’re actually suppressing your rational intelligence and becoming a two faced duplicitous a**hole yourself in the process.
    Great.
    That really makes sense.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:44 PM

One sure fire way to become the least influential person in the world….

Tell people what you really think of them.

Mute Fred
    Favourite Fred
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:47 PM

That is the most intelligent, impressive and fascinating thing I’ve ever heard. Please, Oran, do go on…

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 31st 2016, 1:33 PM

Is that you Oprah?

Jan 31st 2016, 1:34 PM

Oran what if bullies read this and thing, yes we can bully someone and use these techniques against the victim they are bullying? By spreading lies about the victim to justify the bullying as craic or as excuses for the bullying by controlling the reasons for it or getting others to join in on it because they are stupid or immature not to know the difference?

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 31st 2016, 4:08 PM

……

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 31st 2016, 11:26 AM

Keep on noticing this trend: Take a common sense subject, go over think the subject for years & then write a book about it.

Mute John Mc Carthy
    Favourite John Mc Carthy
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:51 PM

No to FG/Lab/FF
    So what is the alternative ?
    A shower of misfits !

Careful what you wish for

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Jan 31st 2016, 11:48 AM

Seeing as it’s about being a false leader.
    Should we not ad.
    1 Be corrupt and willing to take back handers.
    2 Get wealthy corrupt backers behind you and be willing to forward their agenda no matter how vile it is.
    3 Loose all respect and love for fellow humans including your own family.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:01 PM

…and use a teleprompter.

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:18 PM

Johnneary
    And hire 25 personal assistants and staff to tell him what to say, – but heaven forbid that he takes part in any live debate, in case he’s found out…

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Jan 31st 2016, 12:47 PM

…I was referring to Hussein Obama

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Jan 31st 2016, 2:15 PM

Amen Guys.

Practicing all of the things in the above article won’t produce a charismatic/good leader.
    It may produce a bought out, false also-ran puppet pseudo leader, kleptocrat or crony capitalist.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jan 31st 2016, 11:58 AM

‘Think of something pleasant and a photo of Oprah underneath..bad call

Jan 31st 2016, 1:38 PM

This is a joke but did you mean… https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SOvZmVD1kQ

Jan 31st 2016, 1:26 PM

I use to get drunk and loved everybody then and I didn’t have a good time unless the other person had a good time as well.
    How about stopping this nonsense and become truthful to yourselves and to others, liking or loving people is the best way to becoming charismatic. Anything else just makes you a liar to yourself and to others.
    I do dislike this as it is a way to make people fake in other to get what THEY WANT and that is using people. Another name for people like this is sociopathic…

Mute Larry Whack
    Favourite Larry Whack
    Jan 31st 2016, 1:12 PM

13. Get confident, stupid!

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jan 31st 2016, 7:41 PM

Wave your hands all over the place whilst talking

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Jan 31st 2016, 8:50 PM

Is not meaning and believing what you say the most important thing not good acting.

Jan 31st 2016, 1:21 PM

You wha? “Think of something pleasant so you appear to be sincere.” Become an excellent listener by deliberately pausing and asking questions.” and “Combine your power with warmth to create a full, charismatic package.”

Congratulations, you are now becoming a sociopath?

Mute fusha2020
    Favourite fusha2020
    Jan 31st 2016, 1:27 PM

A bad handshake is the worst, men or women it doesn’t matter a limp,weak n slithering handshake has just ruined anything else you try to say! Also don’t touch me anywhere else when you shake my hand, my hand your hand end of,no shoulders, no elbows, no mid arm,no mid waist just the hand thanks!